FB Twitter

The Walnut

The Walnut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


  • Beautifully converted, gorgeous single storey barn conversion
  • Wonderfully peaceful rural location, with views across the fields
  • Enclosed courtyard with hot tub!
  • Quiet and easy walks from the door
  • Local dog friendly beaches are just a short drive (or a longer walk) away.
  • Hares, deer, buzzards and owls can be seen and heard in the surrounding fields.
  • 4 dogs welcome, free of charge of course!
  • We can be flexible on numbers so please do ask.

Clean little pad

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and clean and very warm. Doggies paddock was very useful. Our dogs struggled with the floor which was described as dog friendly but was slippery so we had to purchase a few rugs to put down. Bonus property allowed 4 dogs.
The Arga was a bit of a challenge at first not very practical, we had to turn on before went out as it took 1 hour to heat up and only one large hot plate struggled with more than 2 pans.
Twin beds were small better as a double so used the sofa bed which was very comfortable.
We enjoyed our stay not as close to the beach as would have liked but most walks were a short drive and a lovely area.
Briefly met the owners who were very polite and helpful and not intrusive at all.
Looking forward to our next stay in Norfolk.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)



Perfect relaxing break for humans and dogs!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best week at the Walnut. It's a beautiful property in a lovely setting and great location. The cottage was very cosy especially decorated for Christmas. What made it so special were the thoughtful little touches for both us and the dogs. We had a lovely welcome hamper full of delicious goodies, a lovely candle, found a bauble on the tree with all our names on it, a dog advent calendar and so much more! Comfy dog beds, sofa throws, bowls and toys were all provided which saved us taking it all with us. The dogs didn't want to leave they were so relaxed!

There are fantastic beaches and countryside walks either from the door or a very short drive away, local pubs (sadly we didn't get to visit) and a nearby supermarket and farm shops so it's a great location for a relaxing week. The hot tub is lovely and looks out over the fields. The owners also very kindly let us check out late so we could have a relaxing morning and a good dog walk before our long drive back home.

If they could improve anything at all, it would be great to have a hot dog wash outside as they were always so filthy coming back from the beach or muddy walks and we felt bad hosing them in cold water! The Aga is also very pretty but a little impractical if you want to do a lot of cooking so just something to bear in mind.

We were so happy to have been able to come, given that we were immediately moved in to tier 4 on our return home, and hope to come back in the future!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul & Stella replied 128 days ago
Thanks so much for your comments following your stay at The Walnut - we’re really pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Plans for a warm dog wash are in the pipeline so hopefully when you return it will be up and running!

Wow

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Stella and Paul , the walnut was way above our expectations. Very comfortable felt like home, the welcome basket was just perfect thank you , the area was lovely and beaches lovely, Great days out walking George the schnauzer and his enjoying his advent calendar.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul & Stella - The Walnut replied 142 days ago
Thank you both, and George, for your comments. We're pleased to hear George is enjoying his advent calendar and that you all had a comfortable stay in The Walnut. We hope to see you again.

October holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic, Stella and Paul are very kind and caring, very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Would recommend The Walnut one hundred percent.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Stella & Paul at The Walnut replied 182 days ago
Thank you both very much for your kind comments; we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut.

Wow!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is beautiful, every detail for the comfort of human and canine guests has been considered. Super comfy beds, immaculately clean, delicious welcome pack and plenty of seating for humans and dogs both inside and outside and the hot tub is an added bonus! Walking from the doorstep, even to Cart Gap beach if you don't mind a short distance along a relatively quiet road.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied 219 days ago
Wow! Thank you both for your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to review The Walnut and we're very happy that you both enjoyed your stay; we shall look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut was a beautiful cottage with the added bonus of a hot tub, the property was fantastically decorated and very clean, the owners were very friendly without being intrusive and we were well based for the local pub, beaches and woods. This place is highly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied 226 days ago
Thank you both for such a kind review. We always say we appreciate people taking the time to let us know how much they've enjoyed The Walnut and we really mean it! So, once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again :)

The Perfect Package

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut offered everything we could want for a dog and teen friendly holiday. We love this part of Norfolk but usually visit in the winter for a short break. This time we were there for our two week main summer holiday rather than go abroad. Everyone enjoyed the hot tub, which was lovely. The little courtyard area is a lovely sun trap with comfy furniture to relax on and enjoy the view. Smart TVs and free fast wifi were much appreciated by the teens. Every comfort (for dogs and humans) was catered for in the accommodation. The dog paddock was also much appreciated by the dogs. There are lovely walks across the fields in all directions from the door and beautiful quiet (even in the height of summer) beaches and Bacton Woods are all just a short drive away. You can also walk to both Cart Gap and Happisburgh beaches either along quiet roads or on a combination of public footpaths across the fields and a few roads. Stella and Paul were perfect hosts - there if we needed them but unobtrusive otherwise. The Star Inn at Lessingham is a short walk along the road, or you can make it a circular route using mainly public footpaths, and is very dog friendly and welcoming. A short drive away, you have Stalham with a Tesco and also a vets (which we did use and they were very good). What's not to love about The Walnut? A lovely time was had by all.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Stella and Paul replied 246 days ago
We are really bowled over by your lovely review; thank you very much! We're so pleased you all had a great two weeks in The Walnut and our quiet little corner of Norfolk. We hope to welcome you back one day.

We will certainly be back!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property itself is absolutely beautiful and you wouldn't know how welcoming they are to dogs! Everything was spotless, the owners were lovely when we met them and we had everything we needed. Its such a beautiful area and what a bonus to have a beautiful hot tub to enjoy it from. Can't recommend it enough!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Stella and Paul replied 266 days ago
Thank you both for such a great review - we really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you all back to The Walnut in the future.

Perfect peaceful retreat, close to beautiful beach

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is beautifully appointed, with attention to every last detail and Stella and Paul are really wonderful hosts.
We were lucky enough to enjoy a week in Happisburgh at The Walnut, which is a very short drive to the lovely, dog-friendly beach. The property has all the amenities we could have wanted...lovely seating area (looking out over the fields) to enjoy drinks and meals in the sunshine, a paddock for our little dog to run around in and the added bonus of the hot tub! So much care has been taken in the design and decoration, and the property is very comfortable and cosy. A lovely welcome basket awaited us - complete with handmade dog treats. Our little dog was a little anxious being away from home and Stella and Paul couldn't have done more to help make her comfortable, they are really lovely people. Thank you for a lovely stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul and Stella replied 269 days ago
A super review from some super people - thank you very much. We look forward to meeting you again one day.

Pawfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for another great week at one of the ER Cottages, this time Walnut Cottage, an absolutely super property and lovely hosts Stella and Paul. As our first staycation following lockdown we were impressed by the lengths that had been gone to in order to ensure everyone was safe and the standard of cleanliness was excellent!
What is so brilliant with ERC is how you really nail the dog friendly elements of a holiday cottage (no long lists of don’t do this and don’t do that) which is so important for a relaxing break, along with some fabulous properties for their owners, just “pawfect”!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Stella and Paul replied 272 days ago
Thank you both for your pawfectly kind review. We're really pleased you enjoyed yourselves and The Walnut and look forward to seeing you again :)

Walnut Cottage 2nd visit

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at the Walnut Cottage and it didn’t disappoint. Paul and Stella are lovely hosts who have thought of everything to make the stay welcoming and comfortable for both us and our canine family.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied 290 days ago
A lovely review from some equally lovely guests! Thank you for your kind comments Dave and Sue - we're so pleased you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday, everything was absolutely perfect. We can’t wait to stay again, we didn’t want to go home . First class cottage and will be recommended it to all of my friends xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
That is such a lovely review, thank you very much. We really appreciate your comments and we’re delighted you enjoyed yourselves. See you again xx

Our stay at the walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the walnut was wonderful. From the friendly owners Stella and Paul and their lovely dog that also greeted us on arrival. They also left some lovely goodies for us and the dogs which was a lovely gesture.
The cottage was very well decorated and well presented. Comfortable beds and sofas. The enclosed patio area had a hot tub which was excellent especially after a long day walking the dogs.
It was in an ideal location to access most places and very close to Happisburgh beach. Our dogs had a wonderful holiday and it is so dog friendly. We will definitely return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a lovely review of The Walnut; we're really pleased you and the dogs enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you all again :D

A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at The Walnut over New Year and it was fantastic!
A beautiful place to stay; immaculate, everything you needed, comfortable and the hot tub was amazing. It was really dog friendly with a enclosed paddock and throws, blankets etc provided.
The local area is lovely with plenty of beautiful beaches to walk the dog.
Paul and Stella the owners were really friendly and helpful. I’d highly recommend the Walnut

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Amy, we’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Walnut.

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is wonderful. It's like a better version of your own home. All the appliances are the fancy versions of the ones you wish you could have at home. Every little thing that you could possibly think of is provided for you and even more. The dogs are so well catered for with gorgeous cosy beds, toys, blankets so they can snuggle with you and even poo bags and bowls. The hot tub was fantastic and really was the cherry on top of this little slice of heaven. Stella and Paul are incredibly kind and thoughtful people too.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Stella and Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Georgie for such a fantastic review of The Walnut. We’re really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Great holiday accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday accommodation, lovely location, all requirements were catered for, layout was superb, hot tub excellent (even in November) great base to explore from. Hosts were perfect

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut.

Fabulous Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Walnut, it has been renovated to a very high standard. It's exceptionally dog friendly (we took 6) and Paul and Stella were very helpful and friendly. Lovely listening to the owls at night but weren't lucky enough to see any. If I had 1 criticism it would be get rid of the little aga (not a patch on a proper one) and put a normal cooker in!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your feedback; very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut.

Modern and charming, great for dogs

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the generous, personalised welcome basket to the relaxed and friendly check out on our last morning, staying in The Walnut was a delight. The place felt spacious and cosy even with our three large dogs roaming about, they especially enjoyed having a run in the adjacent paddock. The interior is completed to a high standard but never loses any charm through modernity. Very highly recommended and we're already planning a return visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Olivia and Simon for such a lovely review of The Walnut - it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Wowed by The Walnut!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at The Walnut - a beautiful converted barn with a hot tub. Brilliant service as always from Sue at ERC who always goes that extra mile, and from Stella and Paul, the lovely barn owners. The barn is in a great location and is really well appointed with lots of little extras which add to your stay and both dogs and humans have everything needed for a relaxing break. Our dog settled in straightaway and was more than happy to curl on the sofas whilst we enjoyed the (extremely well maintained) hot tub - which was a great way to relax after walking and cycling around the area. The peace of just sitting and looking at the fields and wildlife whilst in the hot tub or on the outdoor sofas was just perfect. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary whilst there and were extremely touched by the personalised touches which Stella and Paul (and Sue) provided. Exceptional pub, The Star, with great food within walking distance. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a wonderful review, it is much appreciated and we're very pleased you all enjoyed yourselves and chose us The Walnut to help celebrate your 30th Anniversary. With best wishes from us both.

The Walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is perfect in every way. Tasteful decor & well equipped accommodation, lovely enclosed courtyard, fab hot tub & a safe enclosed paddock - nothing negative to say about this property 10 out of 10.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a brilliant review. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

The walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in the Walnut, the owners were so welcoming and friendly. The cottage was amazing so well equipped really comfortable and such a lovely peaceful location. It is really dog friendly and have in the paddock was an added bonus. I would recommend any of my friends to go and have a holiday there as it was so relaxing and the hot tub is a great luxury.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for that fantastic review - we really do appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Thanks again, Paul and Stella.

Fabulous home from home!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Walnut as a family of four with our two whippets. Being all on one level made it perfect for our young children and the enclosed courtyard meant that no dogs or children could escape!! The cottage was absolutely spotless - not a dog hair in sight, you wouldn’t have known that any fury friends had been there before. The owners (Stella and Paul) were so friendly, kind and thoughtful. It was my birthday when we were there and Stella helped to make it really special.
Booking with ERC was so simple and Sue gave it such a personal touch - any queries or questions we had she dealt with immediately. We have already booked to stay with them again next year!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We're so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves (with no escapees!) in the Walnut. We hope to welcome you back one day. Thanks again, Paul and Stella.

A nice, clean, welcoming cottage in a relaxing area of the country

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage and well thought out - comfortable beds and sofas (would have been nice to have black out blinds in main bedroom).

Hot tub great and very easy to access - with robes available for use too!

Very welcoming for the dog and great to see she was allowed on sofas (with throws) - made her feel at home quickly.

Had use of paddock for exercising the dog or playing ball games. I prefer cottages in rural locations and didn't realise this was as close to the Peanut holiday caravan and the owners home (although neither caused any issues).

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Victoria. Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Walnut. We always greatly appreciate feedback. I was a little concerned to receive just a 3 out of 5 for Comfort. No other reviewer has given comfort less than 5 so I do hope there wasn't an issue during your stay though you state that the beds and sofas were comfortable, which are the key items for comfort. The Walnut is surrounded by fields on 3 sides and a quiet country lane on the 4th side and is situated a way off this, down a private track. The noise is minimal and we can hear little more than owls, foxes, deer and birds in the surrounding area. We do like our guests to be aware of exactly what they are coming to so we state clearly on the website in the 'Please Note' section that the parking area is shared with the owners' property and that The Peanut is on the far side of the shared paddock which is completely separate from The Walnut. From this information guests can make a decision as to whether the location is suitable for them. The Peanut was empty the week you stayed and the owners have full time jobs, keeping them out of the house for the week. Thankfully, as you state, there was no issue for you. We would have been very happy to have a discussion about cleanliness and service, had there been any issues, to raise the score to 5 to keep in line with all our other reviewers. We are pleased you enjoyed the hot tub (and robes) and that your dog had a lovely relaxing time. Once again, thank you for your review.

Peaceful dog friendly oasis

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we arrived till we left a week later we were made to feel like friends instead of guests. Nothing is too much trouble. The cottage is an amazing standard and everything u can think of is provided for you and your dogs. I will definitely be going back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Janine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Perfect Location,beautiful accomodation

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved this place the minute I walked through the gate to the patio garden.
The barn was clean,well equipped and beautifully appointed with a tv that my partner was thrilled with!
The hot tub was fabulous and the peace and quiet with just the birds singing was glorious.
WIll definetely be back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for your review Vicky; really happy to hear you enjoyed the peace and the quiet (and the TV!) - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A beautiful, peaceful place to stay...

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful, peaceful place this is to stay. Stella and Paul are so welcoming and friendly - nothing was too much trouble, although we really didn’t need to trouble them because they had thought of everything!
The self-contained courtyard was perfect for our two greyhounds - the ideal place for them to lay out and enjoy the fresh air and for Jill to stand up at the gate and ‘talk’ to Paul and Stella’s dogs when they were in the paddock. Both Jill and Dennis loved getting into the paddock. The perfect enclosed space for a bit of a blast!
We humans were well catered for too. Everywhere was pristine, everything to make use of and finished to a wonderfully high standard, The Walnut was ideal for us two and our dogs, as well as for my elderly mum as everything is on one level. The hot tub was a real luxury that we made the most of - quite magical at night under the stars.
So many thoughtful touches, including the welcome hamper, the fresh flowers, the handmade doggie treats - the perfect start to our stay. We loved it so much, can’t wait to go back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much Marina; we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

The wonderful Walnut Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Greeted by the lovely owners with s totally unexpected hamper of local produce. Great customer service, an amazing hot tub and a property that anyone would be proud to stay in. Will definitely return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





The Walnut - A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut was so clean, comfortable and well equipped. Paul and Stella were very friendly and welcoming. Having a hot tub was a luxury, and it is cleaned after every stay and the water checked daily. My dogs loved the use of the paddock to run around and sunbathe with secure fencing and gates. I loved the décor of the newly converted barn and all the finishing touches were lovely, they really have thought of everything! I had a relaxing week, there are some nice walks nearby and a dog friendly pub at the end of the lane was fab and only a short drive to the beach. The weather was amazing for April and I actually came home with a tan! Thank you for a lovely holiday, I would highly recommend and will definitely be booking again in the future!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



WOW! ...... Just WOW!!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A true Gem in the Norfolk countryside, we really couldn't have found a more wonderful peaceful retreat. Just beautiful.

This was an incredible experience from time of booking to arriving back home following our holiday.
Thank you Sue in the first instance for all your help and to admin for rectifying my boo-boo!

The Walnut is superbly located in the most stunning scenic location. Paul and Stella were there to greet us and then left us to our own devices.
Detached cottage with outside secure patio for our hounds and our peace of mind as 'Houdini' aka Josie the Basset, is a true escape artist ....not this time!! Parking right outside the property for ease of access and a secure dog field for early morning playtime and sniffs. Stunning open views across the countryside, completely dark at night for incredible stargazing.

What a first impression, a real credit to Stella and Paul and to ERC for having this on their books!
On entering, we were surprised they were Dog Friendly....it's unlike any other dog friendly holiday we've had. The property is beautifully decorated, stunning fixtures and fittings throughout, luxury for all and to think they actually welcome dogs!
A delightful welcome pack for both hoomans and hounds - delicious.
All our needs were met with sumptuous linen, towels and decor whilst the hounds had their own stash of towels, toys, throws and treats...even poop bags too.
Thought of everything and we so appreciated this, in the past we have settled for mediocre accommodation as we always take our dogs but this was something else.
Great walks from the doorstep, the beach is only a good walk away or 5 mins in the car, easy access to supermarket and ideally located for touring around.
We love birdwatching and visited several sights, glorious sand dunes and extensive marsh land, walks along the various broads, couple of woodland walks too (Bacton Woods is out of this world and is minutes away by car - take a picnic)
Couple of really lovely food pubs close by, the Lighthouseand Star Inn both lovely food and great service. There are takeaways too in the local village.
We are so lucky to have had the privilege of spending time here .... completely flawless.
Huge thanks Paul and Stella xxx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A fantastic, luxury holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Literally we could not believe this beautiful holiday home was ‘dog friendly’ ! It’s simply immaculate and stunning in the most tranquil setting, everything you could possibly need has been thought of by the lovely owners, who are on hand if needed but not intrusive in any way, perfect peace and quiet, we highly recommend.



A Relaxing Week At The Walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I and our four dogs (three Greyhounds and a Pointer) had a lovely stay at The Walnut. Right from the moment you drove through the gates, you could see The Walnut ahead of you and what a fab property it is. The owners Stella and Paul should be extremely proud, especially Paul who did the build. The booklet showing the transformation of an old farm building to The Walnut was very interesting.

Paul even had USB power points added around the property and there are plenty of sockets (you can never have too many sockets). The beds and Egyptian cotton bedding were divine. The whole property had lovely touches of style and everything was high spec.

Stella and Paul were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I had requested a summer duvet and a fan and both were provided.

The welcome hamper was scrummy and the dogs loved their biscuits.

Our dogs relaxed the minute we put the supplied throws on the sofas. At one point we thought we would have to sit on the floor.

If you want a beautiful property, in beautiful quiet surroundings, then The Walnut is for you.




What a great cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is a great cottage in such a peaceful location. The owners Paul & Stella gave us a lovely warm welcome, they were on hand if needed, but not intrusive. The property has been converted to a high standard, with lots of extra thoughtful touches. The courtyard has some lovely garden furniture and of course the hot tub. Its good to know that Paul changes the water completely in between guests and tests the water each day. Our dogs loved having a run in the separate paddock/field, before setting off for the beach each day. There are so many beaches, all within a short drive. If you want to go further afield, there's Great Yarmouth or Gorleston. The welcome pack was one of the best, and set us up for a lovely relaxing break.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is lovely, having only been there half an hour we had decided we needed to book another week!
Excellent cottage, lovingly decorated and laid out with beautiful views across the fields and a hot tub to relax in. The owners were very welcoming and friendly.

Can’t wait to visit again soon