FB Twitter

The Walnut

The Walnut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


  • Sleeps 4 in kingsize ensuite and kingsize/twin ensuite
  • 4 dogs welcome, free of charge of course! Flexible so please ask.
  • Single storey barn conversion, beautifully completed
  • Off road enclosed parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed courtyard with secluded hot tub
  • Courtyard wall height is 4ft +
  • Separate fenced paddock for use by guests
  • Wonderfully peaceful rural location, with views across the fields
  • Quiet and easy walks from the door
  • Local dog friendly beaches are just a short drive (or a longer walk) away.
  • Hares, deer, buzzards and owls can be seen and heard in the surrounding fields.

Wonderful Walnut

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at The Walnut and this time we came as a large family group, booking the new Peanut & Bumblebee cottages as well. Lovely, generous welcome pack on arrival with special touches for my niece's birthday which was much appreciated. The hot tub is amazing with wonderful views across the fields. We were lucky enough to see the owl, hares and deer. Well equipped kitchen and the whole cottage was very clean. Great location to visit all the nearby beaches and quiet walks from the door. The owners are on site and very friendly and helpful. Thank you for another lovely holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul & Stella replied 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review all three of the cottages after your family holiday. We're delighted you all enjoyed the cottages and the surrounding area and all it has to offer. You're welcome back anytime!

Lovely cottage and hosts!

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage that is beautifully appointed in a wonderfully peaceful location. Paul and Stella are friendly, helpful, but not intrusive. We were blessed with marvellous weather and had a very relaxing break!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul & Stella replied 211 days ago
We’re always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed their holiday in The Walnut. Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Our stay 5th -12th August 2023

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is a luxurious barn conversion. It is located in Happisburgh which is a quiet village in North Norfolk. The place is very comfortable, extremely clean and is the ideal location for a lovely holiday for humans and their dogs. Paul and Stella have made this location idyllic as they have provided everything you need to enjoy a relaxing stay in excellent surroundings.
The beds are really comfortable, the fittings are high end. Dog beds, bowls, toys and treats are provided. There is a fabulous paddock where the dogs can run free and they can enjoy their holiday while the humans can relax in a the hot tub.
Everywhere is spotlessly clean. We all had a wonderful relaxing time and would not hesitate to recommend as a superbly dog friendly location.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul & Stella replied 236 days ago
Thank you very much Cathy for your lovely review. We're really happy to hear you all enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you again one day.

Another Lovely week at The Walnut

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Walnut last year and had such a lovely week, we decided to book again. We knew exactly what to expect, its cleaned to a high standard and is so comfortable throughout, so ticks all the boxes for a really relaxing stay. The barn is beautiful inside and out. Its the little touches that Stella and Paul have made that make all the difference. The lovely welcome basket full of of local goodies, the fudge was so good and dog biscuits, we're much appreciated too! The lovely flowers on arrival. The hot tub is also a bonus and there are lovely robes too, everything is well thought off.  The paddock is excellent for zoomies, our dog absolutely loved it. Holiday tags are also provided for the dog, plenty of bowls, towels and dog toys. Also beds for the dog & a dog first aid kit.
There are lots of games and puzzles for everyone if the weather isn't so good.
We ate out at The Ship Inn, we also got a Chiense takeaway from Oriental Garden, definitely the best Chinese. We also got a pizza from Monzu (pizza van) at The Broads, would recommend.
We went to Bacton woods a few times.
We had some lovely walks from the door too. We saw the barn owl this time. Sitting in the hot tub taking in all the gorgeous views, you won't hear anything other than the birds singing, it's so peaceful, so makes for the perfect getaway. Every window in The Walnut has lovely views out across the fields.
We have had such a lovely time again, thank you Paul & Stella for being brilliant hosts yet again. Paul, wishing you well with your recovery. Thanks for sharing your beautiful barn.  Loki & Family.






How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul & Stella replied 315 days ago
Thanks for the review Loki, we really appreciate it. Glad you had a good time doing zoomies in the paddock and pleased to hear that your humans enjoyed themselves too. Happy zoomies :)

Wonderful week at The Walnut!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful week we all had at The Walnut. I have been wanting to stay here for ages & it didn’t disappoint! Delicious welcome pack & treats for the dogs.

Lovely fixtures & fittings throughout & I really enjoyed cooking in the purple Aga :-)

Beautiful views across the fields from every window & the enclosed courtyard. We were lucky enough to see the deer, owl, hares & birds everyday. A real highlight!

Absolutely amazing hot tub & great to have cosy towelling robes provided too.

Thank you Stella & Paul for being so accommodating & allowing us all to have such a relaxing break.

Another fabulous ERC property ticked off the list!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul and Stella replied 341 days ago
Really happy to hear you've all enjoyed your break in Walnut and thank you for leaving such a fabulous review. Hope to see you again soon.

The best yet!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this property because of the hot tub (miss mine when I’m away) and the paddock for the dogs but it offers so much more than that! It’s so luxurious from the AGA cooker, the beds and bedding, beautiful bathrooms and high spec tv. Stella the owner was lovely, even texting me one morning to let me know the Barn owl flying in field next to property. The paddock is great for the dogs to run around knowing they are completely contained and safe. The welcome pack was amazing and much more than we expected. The property is definitely bigger than it seems in the photos, we were 2 adults and 2 bulldogs but there was easily room for double that. We will definitely be returning after summer.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Stella and Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review Stacey and we're very happy to hear you all enjoyed yourselves and you'll be coming back to enjoy Walnut and its beautiful surroundings again. Thanks again and see you soon xx

The Walnut

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot fault anything about my stay at The Walnut. Even the Norfolk weather was kind to us in February! The owners are to be congratulated for the decor and immaculate condition of the property considering they allow multiple dogs to stay.Although we didn’t make much use of the hot tub as my grandchildren only stayed for the weekend, it was the icing on the cake!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Stella and Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for The Walnut and we're really pleased that you all enjoyed yourselves. Thanks again :)

Lovely property

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The walnut is a really lovely compact cottage with every thing you need for a relaxing break. Good location. Lovely hosts and close to many great beaches

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review. We really appreciate it. See you soon :)

A lovely week!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely week at the Walnut with our dogs. Beautifully presented accommodation in a great location. We made use of the dog paddock and the hot tub, both such a bonus to the holiday. The owners are really helpful and are friendly and without being intrusive. I’d recommend this lovely place and hope we’ll be back there ourselves.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you all again soon :)

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In wonderful surrounding, very quiet and peaceful. Owners are brilliant if you need them. Lovely hot tub, all amenities in the house to have a wonderful time, which we did.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much. We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed yourselves in The Walnut. Hope to see you all again :)

Great location and very dog friendly

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just got back from our stay at The Walnut. A beautiful cottage surrounded by fabulous farmland views and a short walk or drive to gorgeous dog friendly sandy beaches. The hot tub was a real treat!

The owners were very understanding about our anxious dogs and kept their dogs away for the whole stay. It’s very hard to find such understanding which made our stay so relaxing. We would definitely recommend The Walnut for this alone!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review of The Walnut; we're really happy you all enjoyed yourselves. Hopefully see you again one day :)

A relaxing week

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Staying at The Walnut was the highlight of our year so far. It was very relaxing and the hosts were friendly and helpful. The hottub was a treat for us and being able to not worry about the dog as he had his own treats was lovely. We really loved the surrounding area and hope to be back soon.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Clean & comfortable, in a great peaceful location too…highly recommended

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just returned from a week in the Walnut and it was fabulous.
Spotlessly clean, with everything that you need for a relaxing holiday.
The addition of the enclosed paddock was great for the dogs to run off some steam and for my old dog to safely bumble around in.
The hot tub is lovely to relax in after a day out walking with its peaceful view across the corn field.
Overall highly recommended, amazingly dog friendly.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for such a cracking review. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

The "Cracking" Walnut!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I could gush about this beautiful property all day long. Beautifully presented, private, comfortable. Paul and Stella have gone above and beyond and we will book again without any doubt.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
We say it every time, but thank you for taking the time to review The Walnut. We love reading them, especially when they're like this one :) Hopefully see you again soon!

The Walnut - Absolute bliss!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at The Walnut.
I had high expectations for The Walnut and I can honestly say, it didn’t disappoint.
The barn is stunning, inside and out and very well looked after.

Stella & Paul met us on arrival so we knew where they were if we needed them. They are a lovely couple, and we enjoyed meeting Mister and Biff too. We had a long journey and asked if we could use the paddock when we arrived as we have a young lab, and this definitely helped burn of some energy- the earlier arrival helped us and our dog settle - so thank you very much for allowing us.

The front porch is brilliant for bags and storing shoes, beach bags etc, there is plenty room. The outside area is great, enclosed the courtyard with the hot tub and seating area and all fully secure, so you can totally relax knowing your dog is safe. Open the gate and you have access to the paddock outside. The paddock is brilliant, so much space for zoomies and great after a long drive. Our lab loved it, it was definitely a bonus for us to use.
Our stay was totally private and so peaceful, the only thing you will hear are the birds.
Beautiful views outside each window to be enjoyed and you are not overlooked whatsoever. Outside is so pretty at night too, the lights in the paddock on the tree and outside are lovely and makes it feel so homely.

The hot tub was a real bonus too, we enjoyed relaxing with the beautiful views across the fields. The robes for the tubs were great, nice to have these provided for the stay.

The Walnut is beautiful, its absolutely immaculate inside and so much care has gone into everything inside to make the stay comfortable. There were four of us and our dog and it wasn't cramped at all, it really makes for a comfortable stay.
Plenty of room in the bedrooms and hanging space, drawers etc, and both bathrooms have good showers too.

Stella & Paul & ERC really do get dog holidays, just because you have a dog and want dog friendly accommodation, it doesn't mean you should have to compromise on where you stay or the type of accommodation offered, The Walnut is dog friendly without doubt, but it is beautiful and such care has gone into the detail in the barn and its very clean throughout.
The welcome hamper was fab, plenty of treats for the humans & dog! The flowers, such a lovely and personal touch and nice to sample some local goodies - thank you, they were very much appreciated.

Holiday tags for collars were also provided. Also a dog first aid kit in the property too. Plenty of dog towels, toys, bowls and throws .

Plenty of games and puzzles, cards etc, to work your way through, when the weather isn't great. Tesco is a short drive too, which is good. The location is great.

We mostly ate out but had a takeaway from Oriental Garden in Bacton, it was really nice.
We also ate at The Star in Lessingham (very dog friendly) and the food was lovely, would definitely recommend, Its a twenty minute walk from The Walnut too!
We also ate in The Swan Inn, in Stalham, nice food and dog friendly.

The beaches are great, so many to choose from and all lovely sandy beaches, plenty of space and dogs! You can get to the beach in the car under ten minutes or walk, it took us an hour but was a nice walk.
We had such a lovely time, and it was so relaxing. The Walnut is a great base, close to the beaches and pubs and great for our lab who can be a bit reactive to noise, you literally cannot hear a thing outside whatsoever.
We have loved every bit of our stay, if it was available this summer we would have booked to stay again! We didn't want to leave and neither did the dog.
We have booked for next year and so glad we have that to look forward too.
We would highly recommend The Walnut, you will not be disappointed.
Thank you Stella & Paul, for sharing your beautiful barn and being so accommodating during our stay. We cannot wait to come back next year.
Love Loki & Family.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Wow!! Thank you very much for your brilliant review of The Walnut. We're delighted you enjoyed yourself Loki and your family too and we very much look forward to seeing you all again next year xx

A gem of a hideaway dog friendly retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the most dog friendly cottage I have ever stayed out and it was such a relief to stay somewhere that we actually felt our dogs were welcomed. Beds, treats, blankets, towels and toys were all provided, saving valuable car space! There is a small patio area, but just across from the cottage is a lovely paddock where the dogs can run and let off steam. Not that they really needed to do that after days out walking on the fabulous dog friendly beaches in the area. But it wasn't just the dogs who enjoyed their holiday. Humans are very well catered for and absolutely everything is provided. The welcome hamper was lovely and included lovely scones and cream, biscuits, bread, jam, fudge and treats for the dogs. All the kitchen equipment we needed was provided and they aren't stringy on things like loo rolls. I know that sounds a bit trivial but I've stayed in several cottages where there's only half a loo roll left and they haven't left dishwasher tablets or soap and it's really annoying. Here, everything is thought of. The cottage is beautifully decorated throughout and immaculate. Just shows that you can still have luxury when you allow dogs. And the hot tub finishes the place off perfectly. We really enjoyed our holiday. It's in a peaceful quiet location with just the sounds of birdsong to wake you. Bliss.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you :) We have always strived to make The Walnut welcoming for both dogs and humans with a bit of luxury thrown in too and we're really happy that you think we've managed to achieve this (with a bit of help from the beautiful Norfolk countryside and the local wildlife). We hope to see you again one day.

The ideal cottage for a quiet getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've been on many cottage holidays throughout the UK, but I can honestly say this is one of the nicest cottages I have ever stayed in. This is the first time I have ever gone to a cottage and felt fully relaxed and rested by the end of the week.

The welcome basket upon arrival had the basics such as milk, bread and eggs, but also some very nice treats all sourced from local companies. And of course, not forgetting that four legged family members who also had their own welcome basket packed with local treats too.

The cottage itself is extremely well decorated and was immaculately clean. With high speed internet and also a large smart TV, we were able to access our usual streaming services for those nights where we just wanted to chill out and relax. The hot tub is great addition to the cottage and sets it apart from other cottages.

But the best thing is definitely the location. It was easy to travel to other locations around Norfolk, but the cottage itself was in a very quiet area, which for anyone with reactive dogs this is ideal. The paddock just across the parking area was also ideal as it was enclosed and the dogs could be left to run around freely without worries of them getting out. For one of our dogs who is unable to walk very far, this was fantastic and I would definitely say that she enjoyed this holiday.

Paul and Stella are also great hosts. Happy to spend time talking with you and provide advice on local walks, shops, etc, but also happy to give you space if you want to keep yourself to yourself.

We loved it that much, we didn't want to go home and we have already booked for next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, thank you for such a brilliant review of The Walnut. We're thrilled you were able to relax and enjoy yourselves and we're really happy that Skye enjoyed herself; what a character she is! We look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Truly super property with a very warm welcome

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Walnut . The property is beautifully finished and extremely comfortable . High quality furnishings and beds and a beautiful electric Aga is a stylish touch. A great location only a few minutes drive from the beach ( or a longer walk) and so peaceful with beautiful views all around, with deer and hare in the fields. Probably the best welcome hamper we have ever had, and a wonderfully warm welcome from Paul & Stella who were helpful to a fault but not intrusive . Having two bathrooms would make it ideal for two couples and the enclosed dog field is an absolute boon .
Highly recommend and would definitely return. Thank you.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you taking the time to leave us such a kind review. We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut and look forward to seeing you again one day.

Great stay at the Walnut

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the walnut in Happisburgh with east Ruston cottages. Lovely comfortable and clean cottage hot tub was brilliant. Beds were so comfortable. Owners were lovely. Fabulous welcome basket of goodies left for us and home made dog biscuits for the dogs. Great location wonderful beach nearby which the dogs loved. East Ruston cottages go that extra mile very professional nothing is too much trouble. It’s the extra little touches that really mean a lot and enhance your holiday. They even arranged for and paid for a wonderful afternoon tea to be delivered on our wedding anniversary. I can’t recommend east Ruston cottages enough super dog friendly take multiple dogs excellent value for money.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



An amazing holiday cottage, perfect for dogs.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned on Saturday from an amazing stay at the Walnut.
Level of cleanliness was outstanding and the standard of accommodation was exceptional.
Everything provided you could possibly need-supply of tea, coffee, tassimo pod selection. Welcome hamper including-bread, milk, cheese, scones and biscuits. Of course also a welcome bag of dog treats for Daisy and Mable.
Very comfortable cottage. 1 double, 1 twin. Children really enjoyed it. Hot tub was real treat.
Brilliant for dogs. Hose was very useful for cleaning them up. Everything you could possibly need provided.
Can’t wait to return next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Helen and family for taking the time to review The Walnut and we're so happy to see that you all enjoyed yourselves. Mister was especially pleased to see a certain young man again and will look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Perfect for Dogs, ideal for Humans.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at the Walnut, this time with another couple so two bathrooms is ideal. The farm, surrounded by fields, is fully enclosed with the Walnut having it's own fenced off patio with a hot tub! We're allowed access into a large, well fenced off paddock giving the dogs the ability to practice their zoomies - most impawtent for a Springing Spanner! And there is an outside hose for dirty dogs - as if a Springer gets dirty! The Walnut is purpose built as a holiday let so has absolutely everything you need including a very generous Welcome Basket - bread, butter, milk, scones, cookies, tea, coffee (nice Tassimo Coffee machine with pods) and of course, Dog Treats.
We stayed in most nights and cooked, the kitchen has everything you need including an Aga - read the instructions they've been printed large and laminated so no excuse, if all else fails the combination microwave does everything. Its very nicely decorated with comfortable beds.
Stella and Paul, the owners are charming and couldn't be more helpful - thank you. We're definitely going to book again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Stella & Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review The Walnut. We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and Charlie and Wally enjoyed their zoomies! See you again :)

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, spotlessly clean and well equipped. Great location for us as we could walk the dogs to the beach. Very tasteful decor and soft furnishings, thoroughly recommended. Added bonus of a hot tub as well

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of the Walnut, much appreciated, and we’re very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Stunning place, exceptionally clean home from home. Close to dog friendly beaches & off lead walks.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just begrudgingly returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at the Walnut. Spotlessly clean, fresh smelling, comfortable beds, linen and towels. You would not know that this was such a dog friendly property, it is absolutely immaculate and finished to such a high standard. Paul and Stella were very welcoming and on hand to answer any queries. The hot tub is fabulous to sit in with uninterrupted views over the fields and great for star watching at night. The hot tub was maintained beautifully throughout the 2 weeks we were there. Our 2 dogs enjoyed having the paddock to run around in and it was so useful to have a crate and dog beds provided saving a lot of room in the car. Walks straight from the door along miles of public footpaths through the fields and close to dog friendly beaches which even in the summer holidays were quiet. The welcome hamper was amazing. We’re missing the Walnut and Happisburgh already. Book the Walnut, you won’t be disappointed. We will be back. Thank you Paul and Stella.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
And we're missing you all too and your funny, beautiful dogs and the sound of laughter and merriment - would you consider adopting a couple of ageing holiday-cottage owners ;) Take care of yourselves and see you again.

Welcoming Walnut!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a fabulous week at The Walnut, Happisburgh.
We cannot praise this place enough, a warm friendly welcome from Paul, Stella and their dogs, spotlessly clean, secure patio area, with hot tub, lovely paddock for the dog to have some freedom, unspoilt views and exceptionally peacefull.
Both human and dog hampers go beyond the expected.
We will definetly return.
Steve, Michelle, and Oliver

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Steve and Michelle for taking the time to leave such a glowing review for The Walnut. We're so pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. And special thanks to Michelle for leaving The Walnut so sparkling :)

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut surpassed our expectations on every level. The welcome hamper had wonderful treats for us and our dogs. The property is finished to a really high spec, and spotlessly clean. Beautiful quiet location, with a fab hot tub for evenings looking out at the view. A short hop to lovely long dog friendly beaches. Plus a couple of pampering treatments from Sonya and her daughter, made for the perfect escape. Happy dogs and happy humans - we’ll be back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Sarah, thank you for your kind comments. It means so much to us when people take the time to review The Walnut and it's especially nice when you enjoy yourselves and your holiday and Norfolk and, of course, The Walnut. See you again :)

Wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Walnut, everything was perfect and the owners are lovely. We can’t wait to come back and stay next year. 5* dog friendly cottage

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Stella & Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Vanessa and Jim, thank you for your review of The Walnut from a couple of 5* guests. You're welcome back anytime :)

Clean little pad

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and clean and very warm. Doggies paddock was very useful. Our dogs struggled with the floor which was described as dog friendly but was slippery so we had to purchase a few rugs to put down. Bonus property allowed 4 dogs.
The Arga was a bit of a challenge at first not very practical, we had to turn on before went out as it took 1 hour to heat up and only one large hot plate struggled with more than 2 pans.
Twin beds were small better as a double so used the sofa bed which was very comfortable.
We enjoyed our stay not as close to the beach as would have liked but most walks were a short drive and a lovely area.
Briefly met the owners who were very polite and helpful and not intrusive at all.
Looking forward to our next stay in Norfolk.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)



Perfect relaxing break for humans and dogs!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best week at the Walnut. It's a beautiful property in a lovely setting and great location. The cottage was very cosy especially decorated for Christmas. What made it so special were the thoughtful little touches for both us and the dogs. We had a lovely welcome hamper full of delicious goodies, a lovely candle, found a bauble on the tree with all our names on it, a dog advent calendar and so much more! Comfy dog beds, sofa throws, bowls and toys were all provided which saved us taking it all with us. The dogs didn't want to leave they were so relaxed!

There are fantastic beaches and countryside walks either from the door or a very short drive away, local pubs (sadly we didn't get to visit) and a nearby supermarket and farm shops so it's a great location for a relaxing week. The hot tub is lovely and looks out over the fields. The owners also very kindly let us check out late so we could have a relaxing morning and a good dog walk before our long drive back home.

If they could improve anything at all, it would be great to have a hot dog wash outside as they were always so filthy coming back from the beach or muddy walks and we felt bad hosing them in cold water! The Aga is also very pretty but a little impractical if you want to do a lot of cooking so just something to bear in mind.

We were so happy to have been able to come, given that we were immediately moved in to tier 4 on our return home, and hope to come back in the future!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul & Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your comments following your stay at The Walnut - we’re really pleased you enjoyed yourselves. Plans for a warm dog wash are in the pipeline so hopefully when you return it will be up and running!

Wow

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Stella and Paul , the walnut was way above our expectations. Very comfortable felt like home, the welcome basket was just perfect thank you , the area was lovely and beaches lovely, Great days out walking George the schnauzer and his enjoying his advent calendar.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul & Stella - The Walnut replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both, and George, for your comments. We're pleased to hear George is enjoying his advent calendar and that you all had a comfortable stay in The Walnut. We hope to see you again.

October holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic, Stella and Paul are very kind and caring, very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Would recommend The Walnut one hundred percent.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Stella & Paul at The Walnut replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both very much for your kind comments; we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut.

Wow!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is beautiful, every detail for the comfort of human and canine guests has been considered. Super comfy beds, immaculately clean, delicious welcome pack and plenty of seating for humans and dogs both inside and outside and the hot tub is an added bonus! Walking from the doorstep, even to Cart Gap beach if you don't mind a short distance along a relatively quiet road.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! Thank you both for your comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to review The Walnut and we're very happy that you both enjoyed your stay; we shall look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut was a beautiful cottage with the added bonus of a hot tub, the property was fantastically decorated and very clean, the owners were very friendly without being intrusive and we were well based for the local pub, beaches and woods. This place is highly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a kind review. We always say we appreciate people taking the time to let us know how much they've enjoyed The Walnut and we really mean it! So, once again, thank you and we look forward to seeing you again :)

The Perfect Package

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut offered everything we could want for a dog and teen friendly holiday. We love this part of Norfolk but usually visit in the winter for a short break. This time we were there for our two week main summer holiday rather than go abroad. Everyone enjoyed the hot tub, which was lovely. The little courtyard area is a lovely sun trap with comfy furniture to relax on and enjoy the view. Smart TVs and free fast wifi were much appreciated by the teens. Every comfort (for dogs and humans) was catered for in the accommodation. The dog paddock was also much appreciated by the dogs. There are lovely walks across the fields in all directions from the door and beautiful quiet (even in the height of summer) beaches and Bacton Woods are all just a short drive away. You can also walk to both Cart Gap and Happisburgh beaches either along quiet roads or on a combination of public footpaths across the fields and a few roads. Stella and Paul were perfect hosts - there if we needed them but unobtrusive otherwise. The Star Inn at Lessingham is a short walk along the road, or you can make it a circular route using mainly public footpaths, and is very dog friendly and welcoming. A short drive away, you have Stalham with a Tesco and also a vets (which we did use and they were very good). What's not to love about The Walnut? A lovely time was had by all.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Stella and Paul replied more than 1 year ago
We are really bowled over by your lovely review; thank you very much! We're so pleased you all had a great two weeks in The Walnut and our quiet little corner of Norfolk. We hope to welcome you back one day.

We will certainly be back!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property itself is absolutely beautiful and you wouldn't know how welcoming they are to dogs! Everything was spotless, the owners were lovely when we met them and we had everything we needed. Its such a beautiful area and what a bonus to have a beautiful hot tub to enjoy it from. Can't recommend it enough!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Stella and Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a great review - we really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you all back to The Walnut in the future.

Perfect peaceful retreat, close to beautiful beach

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is beautifully appointed, with attention to every last detail and Stella and Paul are really wonderful hosts.
We were lucky enough to enjoy a week in Happisburgh at The Walnut, which is a very short drive to the lovely, dog-friendly beach. The property has all the amenities we could have wanted...lovely seating area (looking out over the fields) to enjoy drinks and meals in the sunshine, a paddock for our little dog to run around in and the added bonus of the hot tub! So much care has been taken in the design and decoration, and the property is very comfortable and cosy. A lovely welcome basket awaited us - complete with handmade dog treats. Our little dog was a little anxious being away from home and Stella and Paul couldn't have done more to help make her comfortable, they are really lovely people. Thank you for a lovely stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
A super review from some super people - thank you very much. We look forward to meeting you again one day.

Pawfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for another great week at one of the ER Cottages, this time Walnut Cottage, an absolutely super property and lovely hosts Stella and Paul. As our first staycation following lockdown we were impressed by the lengths that had been gone to in order to ensure everyone was safe and the standard of cleanliness was excellent!
What is so brilliant with ERC is how you really nail the dog friendly elements of a holiday cottage (no long lists of don’t do this and don’t do that) which is so important for a relaxing break, along with some fabulous properties for their owners, just “pawfect”!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Stella and Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your pawfectly kind review. We're really pleased you enjoyed yourselves and The Walnut and look forward to seeing you again :)

Walnut Cottage 2nd visit

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at the Walnut Cottage and it didn’t disappoint. Paul and Stella are lovely hosts who have thought of everything to make the stay welcoming and comfortable for both us and our canine family.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
A lovely review from some equally lovely guests! Thank you for your kind comments Dave and Sue - we're so pleased you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to seeing you again.

Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday, everything was absolutely perfect. We can’t wait to stay again, we didn’t want to go home . First class cottage and will be recommended it to all of my friends xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
That is such a lovely review, thank you very much. We really appreciate your comments and we’re delighted you enjoyed yourselves. See you again xx

Our stay at the walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the walnut was wonderful. From the friendly owners Stella and Paul and their lovely dog that also greeted us on arrival. They also left some lovely goodies for us and the dogs which was a lovely gesture.
The cottage was very well decorated and well presented. Comfortable beds and sofas. The enclosed patio area had a hot tub which was excellent especially after a long day walking the dogs.
It was in an ideal location to access most places and very close to Happisburgh beach. Our dogs had a wonderful holiday and it is so dog friendly. We will definitely return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a lovely review of The Walnut; we're really pleased you and the dogs enjoyed your stay and we will look forward to seeing you all again :D

A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at The Walnut over New Year and it was fantastic!
A beautiful place to stay; immaculate, everything you needed, comfortable and the hot tub was amazing. It was really dog friendly with a enclosed paddock and throws, blankets etc provided.
The local area is lovely with plenty of beautiful beaches to walk the dog.
Paul and Stella the owners were really friendly and helpful. I’d highly recommend the Walnut

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Paul and Stella replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Amy, we’re very pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Walnut.

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is wonderful. It's like a better version of your own home. All the appliances are the fancy versions of the ones you wish you could have at home. Every little thing that you could possibly think of is provided for you and even more. The dogs are so well catered for with gorgeous cosy beds, toys, blankets so they can snuggle with you and even poo bags and bowls. The hot tub was fantastic and really was the cherry on top of this little slice of heaven. Stella and Paul are incredibly kind and thoughtful people too.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Stella and Paul replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Georgie for such a fantastic review of The Walnut. We’re really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Great holiday accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great holiday accommodation, lovely location, all requirements were catered for, layout was superb, hot tub excellent (even in November) great base to explore from. Hosts were perfect

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review; we're very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut.

Fabulous Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Walnut, it has been renovated to a very high standard. It's exceptionally dog friendly (we took 6) and Paul and Stella were very helpful and friendly. Lovely listening to the owls at night but weren't lucky enough to see any. If I had 1 criticism it would be get rid of the little aga (not a patch on a proper one) and put a normal cooker in!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for your feedback; very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut.

Modern and charming, great for dogs

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the generous, personalised welcome basket to the relaxed and friendly check out on our last morning, staying in The Walnut was a delight. The place felt spacious and cosy even with our three large dogs roaming about, they especially enjoyed having a run in the adjacent paddock. The interior is completed to a high standard but never loses any charm through modernity. Very highly recommended and we're already planning a return visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Olivia and Simon for such a lovely review of The Walnut - it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Wowed by The Walnut!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at The Walnut - a beautiful converted barn with a hot tub. Brilliant service as always from Sue at ERC who always goes that extra mile, and from Stella and Paul, the lovely barn owners. The barn is in a great location and is really well appointed with lots of little extras which add to your stay and both dogs and humans have everything needed for a relaxing break. Our dog settled in straightaway and was more than happy to curl on the sofas whilst we enjoyed the (extremely well maintained) hot tub - which was a great way to relax after walking and cycling around the area. The peace of just sitting and looking at the fields and wildlife whilst in the hot tub or on the outdoor sofas was just perfect. We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary whilst there and were extremely touched by the personalised touches which Stella and Paul (and Sue) provided. Exceptional pub, The Star, with great food within walking distance. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we hope to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a wonderful review, it is much appreciated and we're very pleased you all enjoyed yourselves and chose us The Walnut to help celebrate your 30th Anniversary. With best wishes from us both.

The Walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is perfect in every way. Tasteful decor & well equipped accommodation, lovely enclosed courtyard, fab hot tub & a safe enclosed paddock - nothing negative to say about this property 10 out of 10.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for such a brilliant review. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

The walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in the Walnut, the owners were so welcoming and friendly. The cottage was amazing so well equipped really comfortable and such a lovely peaceful location. It is really dog friendly and have in the paddock was an added bonus. I would recommend any of my friends to go and have a holiday there as it was so relaxing and the hot tub is a great luxury.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for that fantastic review - we really do appreciate it and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon. Thanks again, Paul and Stella.

Fabulous home from home!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Walnut as a family of four with our two whippets. Being all on one level made it perfect for our young children and the enclosed courtyard meant that no dogs or children could escape!! The cottage was absolutely spotless - not a dog hair in sight, you wouldn’t have known that any fury friends had been there before. The owners (Stella and Paul) were so friendly, kind and thoughtful. It was my birthday when we were there and Stella helped to make it really special.
Booking with ERC was so simple and Sue gave it such a personal touch - any queries or questions we had she dealt with immediately. We have already booked to stay with them again next year!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for such a lovely review. We're so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves (with no escapees!) in the Walnut. We hope to welcome you back one day. Thanks again, Paul and Stella.

A nice, clean, welcoming cottage in a relaxing area of the country

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage and well thought out - comfortable beds and sofas (would have been nice to have black out blinds in main bedroom).

Hot tub great and very easy to access - with robes available for use too!

Very welcoming for the dog and great to see she was allowed on sofas (with throws) - made her feel at home quickly.

Had use of paddock for exercising the dog or playing ball games. I prefer cottages in rural locations and didn't realise this was as close to the Peanut holiday caravan and the owners home (although neither caused any issues).

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Victoria. Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Walnut. We always greatly appreciate feedback. I was a little concerned to receive just a 3 out of 5 for Comfort. No other reviewer has given comfort less than 5 so I do hope there wasn't an issue during your stay though you state that the beds and sofas were comfortable, which are the key items for comfort. The Walnut is surrounded by fields on 3 sides and a quiet country lane on the 4th side and is situated a way off this, down a private track. The noise is minimal and we can hear little more than owls, foxes, deer and birds in the surrounding area. We do like our guests to be aware of exactly what they are coming to so we state clearly on the website in the 'Please Note' section that the parking area is shared with the owners' property and that The Peanut is on the far side of the shared paddock which is completely separate from The Walnut. From this information guests can make a decision as to whether the location is suitable for them. The Peanut was empty the week you stayed and the owners have full time jobs, keeping them out of the house for the week. Thankfully, as you state, there was no issue for you. We would have been very happy to have a discussion about cleanliness and service, had there been any issues, to raise the score to 5 to keep in line with all our other reviewers. We are pleased you enjoyed the hot tub (and robes) and that your dog had a lovely relaxing time. Once again, thank you for your review.

Peaceful dog friendly oasis

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we arrived till we left a week later we were made to feel like friends instead of guests. Nothing is too much trouble. The cottage is an amazing standard and everything u can think of is provided for you and your dogs. I will definitely be going back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Janine. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Perfect Location,beautiful accomodation

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved this place the minute I walked through the gate to the patio garden.
The barn was clean,well equipped and beautifully appointed with a tv that my partner was thrilled with!
The hot tub was fabulous and the peace and quiet with just the birds singing was glorious.
WIll definetely be back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for your review Vicky; really happy to hear you enjoyed the peace and the quiet (and the TV!) - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

A beautiful, peaceful place to stay...

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful, peaceful place this is to stay. Stella and Paul are so welcoming and friendly - nothing was too much trouble, although we really didn’t need to trouble them because they had thought of everything!
The self-contained courtyard was perfect for our two greyhounds - the ideal place for them to lay out and enjoy the fresh air and for Jill to stand up at the gate and ‘talk’ to Paul and Stella’s dogs when they were in the paddock. Both Jill and Dennis loved getting into the paddock. The perfect enclosed space for a bit of a blast!
We humans were well catered for too. Everywhere was pristine, everything to make use of and finished to a wonderfully high standard, The Walnut was ideal for us two and our dogs, as well as for my elderly mum as everything is on one level. The hot tub was a real luxury that we made the most of - quite magical at night under the stars.
So many thoughtful touches, including the welcome hamper, the fresh flowers, the handmade doggie treats - the perfect start to our stay. We loved it so much, can’t wait to go back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Willow Tree Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much Marina; we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Walnut and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

The wonderful Walnut Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Greeted by the lovely owners with s totally unexpected hamper of local produce. Great customer service, an amazing hot tub and a property that anyone would be proud to stay in. Will definitely return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





The Walnut - A beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut was so clean, comfortable and well equipped. Paul and Stella were very friendly and welcoming. Having a hot tub was a luxury, and it is cleaned after every stay and the water checked daily. My dogs loved the use of the paddock to run around and sunbathe with secure fencing and gates. I loved the décor of the newly converted barn and all the finishing touches were lovely, they really have thought of everything! I had a relaxing week, there are some nice walks nearby and a dog friendly pub at the end of the lane was fab and only a short drive to the beach. The weather was amazing for April and I actually came home with a tan! Thank you for a lovely holiday, I would highly recommend and will definitely be booking again in the future!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



WOW! ...... Just WOW!!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A true Gem in the Norfolk countryside, we really couldn't have found a more wonderful peaceful retreat. Just beautiful.

This was an incredible experience from time of booking to arriving back home following our holiday.
Thank you Sue in the first instance for all your help and to admin for rectifying my boo-boo!

The Walnut is superbly located in the most stunning scenic location. Paul and Stella were there to greet us and then left us to our own devices.
Detached cottage with outside secure patio for our hounds and our peace of mind as 'Houdini' aka Josie the Basset, is a true escape artist ....not this time!! Parking right outside the property for ease of access and a secure dog field for early morning playtime and sniffs. Stunning open views across the countryside, completely dark at night for incredible stargazing.

What a first impression, a real credit to Stella and Paul and to ERC for having this on their books!
On entering, we were surprised they were Dog Friendly....it's unlike any other dog friendly holiday we've had. The property is beautifully decorated, stunning fixtures and fittings throughout, luxury for all and to think they actually welcome dogs!
A delightful welcome pack for both hoomans and hounds - delicious.
All our needs were met with sumptuous linen, towels and decor whilst the hounds had their own stash of towels, toys, throws and treats...even poop bags too.
Thought of everything and we so appreciated this, in the past we have settled for mediocre accommodation as we always take our dogs but this was something else.
Great walks from the doorstep, the beach is only a good walk away or 5 mins in the car, easy access to supermarket and ideally located for touring around.
We love birdwatching and visited several sights, glorious sand dunes and extensive marsh land, walks along the various broads, couple of woodland walks too (Bacton Woods is out of this world and is minutes away by car - take a picnic)
Couple of really lovely food pubs close by, the Lighthouseand Star Inn both lovely food and great service. There are takeaways too in the local village.
We are so lucky to have had the privilege of spending time here .... completely flawless.
Huge thanks Paul and Stella xxx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A fantastic, luxury holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Literally we could not believe this beautiful holiday home was ‘dog friendly’ ! It’s simply immaculate and stunning in the most tranquil setting, everything you could possibly need has been thought of by the lovely owners, who are on hand if needed but not intrusive in any way, perfect peace and quiet, we highly recommend.



A Relaxing Week At The Walnut

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I and our four dogs (three Greyhounds and a Pointer) had a lovely stay at The Walnut. Right from the moment you drove through the gates, you could see The Walnut ahead of you and what a fab property it is. The owners Stella and Paul should be extremely proud, especially Paul who did the build. The booklet showing the transformation of an old farm building to The Walnut was very interesting.

Paul even had USB power points added around the property and there are plenty of sockets (you can never have too many sockets). The beds and Egyptian cotton bedding were divine. The whole property had lovely touches of style and everything was high spec.

Stella and Paul were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I had requested a summer duvet and a fan and both were provided.

The welcome hamper was scrummy and the dogs loved their biscuits.

Our dogs relaxed the minute we put the supplied throws on the sofas. At one point we thought we would have to sit on the floor.

If you want a beautiful property, in beautiful quiet surroundings, then The Walnut is for you.




What a great cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is a great cottage in such a peaceful location. The owners Paul & Stella gave us a lovely warm welcome, they were on hand if needed, but not intrusive. The property has been converted to a high standard, with lots of extra thoughtful touches. The courtyard has some lovely garden furniture and of course the hot tub. Its good to know that Paul changes the water completely in between guests and tests the water each day. Our dogs loved having a run in the separate paddock/field, before setting off for the beach each day. There are so many beaches, all within a short drive. If you want to go further afield, there's Great Yarmouth or Gorleston. The welcome pack was one of the best, and set us up for a lovely relaxing break.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Walnut is lovely, having only been there half an hour we had decided we needed to book another week!
Excellent cottage, lovingly decorated and laid out with beautiful views across the fields and a hot tub to relax in. The owners were very welcoming and friendly.

Can’t wait to visit again soon