FB Twitter

The Lodge

The Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.5
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The Lodge is a detached, single storey conversion finished to a very high standard and sleeping up to 4. In a very quiet part of East Ruston village, it's well away from the lane but very close to great walks on the Weavers Way. Lots of light and an enclosed garden with decking make it a great summer choice whilst modern heating and insulation make it cosy in winter too. It is wheelchair friendly and has a young and flourishing vineyard next door.

4 dogs and us

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything had been thought of for both humans and dogs. A lovely location and comfortable, clean accommadation, nice secure garden, not even little ones could get out.
Hopefully once everything is back to normal we'll be able to visit again.
I would highly recommend.
Thank you.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Quiet location

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely quiet place to relax, we was lucky with the weather, but it is a bit to remote for me, still had some nice walks, would recommend for people who don’t want a shop or pub to walk to

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)





Beautiful lodge. Immaculate inside. Everything you could need.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the lodge. Immaculate inside. Very comfortable and everything we could possibly need.
Would recommend

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)





A great stsy

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous break. Made to feel very welcome, including the dogs! So we'll equipped for all holiday needs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Jo replied 78 days ago
So glad you all enjoyed your stay with us.

Great location, very dog-friendly, fab accommodation.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit to The lodge for a short break to recharge my batteries. The accommodation is clean, well thought out, very comfortable and cosy. The location is handily close to the Weavers Way. beaches are 15 minutes drive away.

Just a fab place to stay!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Jo replied 82 days ago
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you again soon

Immaculate and very comfortable accommodation, well placed for exploring the area

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After a long and difficult drive in the aftermath of Storm Ciara and the onset of Storm Dennis, we were delighted to finally get into the warmth and comfort of The Lodge. It’s a well designed, well equipped and beautifully decorated cabin with everything you could possibly need, and plenty of space for the two of us and our staffie, Jackson. The inclusion of the sofa bed also meant a friend could join us for a couple of days with her pupper, Roxy.
The village of East Ruston is quaint but provides nothing but a pub (The Butchers Arms - dog friendly, decent food, massive portions) and a couple of honesty boxes, but the closest town, Stalham, a few minutes drive, has a fabulous butchers and a good sized Tesco for any provisions.
There’s a basket full of leaflets with info on everything that you can do in the area but, sadly for us, the weather was not kind so exploring opportunities were limited. That said, we visited four beaches, all of which were fabulous. Happisburgh is the closest at around 10 minutes drive but would be walkable in better weather; a half hour drive away is Overstrand where you can walk up to Cromer and beyond, then come back along the Norfolk Coastal path; in the other direction, Winterton and Horsey have a large seal colony but they weren’t around when we visited.
After our wet and windy walks it was lovely to come back to the Lodge and just relax in the peace and quiet. The clear skies at night provided amazing star gazing opportunities, if that’s your thing.
Whilst I would highly recommend this property, it’s unlikely we would return purely because of the distance from our home in Lancashire - over 6 hours to get there and 7 to get home!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Not again (but do please let us know why)



Jo replied 82 days ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry that your journey was took so long

Our stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me, my husband, my dog and cat booked a 4 night stay at the lodge for my birthday. The booking was simple to do and sue stayed in contact throughout the process.
The lodge itself was clean and comfortable with brilliant bed. It had everything we needed. We all enjoyed our relaxing stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Jo replied 97 days ago
So glad you had a relaxing break

Peace and quiet required over Bonfire Week

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have a rescue GSD x who, although a big boy, is very frightened of fireworks! I have previously stayed at an East Ruston cottage in the summer and so discussed where best to go in November and they suggested The Lodge. The Lodge is indeed quiet. We heard some fireworks but they were too far away to cause distress. I'm afraid that this review won't help anyone looking for a firework free 2020..... cos I have already booked for next year! I am so looking forward to repeating the long walks on the beach and along the Weavers Way footpath and just chilling out x

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay in comfortable beautiful accommodation. Everything needed was supplied. Secure garden. Easy parking. Great location. Highly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed the holiday. Made all the better having a base such as the lodge which we found to be excellent. Very clean, spacious, everything you were likely to need was there. The flowers were lovely, the food welcoming pack was excellent. And the wine washed it down nicely.
The location was ideal with plenty of places to visit within easy reach. The weavers way was 5 minutes walk away, Bacton woods was about 15 mins away. Large woods where dogs could run all day in safety chasing squirrels, rabbits, and muntjac.
The beaches were good, clean sand and plenty of room. Winterton on sea was particularly good with the option of being able to walk for miles in the sand dunes.
Everywhere we went was accessible with the two dogs, all the restaraunts ,cafes, which we visited daily to re-fuel with all the walking we did. We have to active collies but come the end of the day they soon settled down on their beds.

For us, a successful holiday, will do it again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Lovely week at The Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying at The Lodge. Fab location for The Broads, lots of beaches and various walks as well as handy for supermarket etc. The Lodge itself was comfortable and clean and in a very quiet location. We loved the welcome pack we received when we arrived and ended up buying some more treats for our dog as she loved them so much. We also received lots of useful information on walks and best local chippy before we went which was equally really helpful

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Ideal for dog lovers

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our second stay at the lodge, suits us very well, clean, quiet and homely. Only thing that would improve is to be able to have a blind on the skylight in the bedroom, bright sunshine woke us up most mornings far earlier than required!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





My review

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan


















an excellent place to stay, especially if you need extra care. I would have found it better if the seats on the settee were
higher
I personally have had a stroke and although it was very comfortable there were things that would have made it easier for
me. eg things were to high up and although the bed was very comfortable, for me personally it was difficult.








How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at The Lodge. It’s perfect for just the two of us and the dog and had everything we needed for a great holiday. The welcome gifts were lovely and the dog particularly enjoyed the biscuits! It’s only about 10 minutes drive to fantastic beaches and yet so quiet and peaceful for just sitting on the decking and relaxing.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Dog friendly quality accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay. Spotlessly clean and comfortable and very well equipped and very dog friendly.
East Ruston cottages never disappoint.
Brilliant!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Another lovely holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third time at the Lodge and it felt like coming home! The booking process was as efficient as ever and we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The level of cleanliness was impressive, given this is a popular ‘doggy’ holiday venue and we really appreciated the little extras (flowers, bread, milk, etc and treats for the dog). The Lodge is such a calm and peaceful retreat - we hope to be able to stay again soon!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Second time around

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is perfectly located for a quiet getaway. Beautiful beaches nearby for a stroll with the dogs. For me the dog friendly Lodge is ideal as I feel my dogs are welcome and they are my family. The Lodge is a beautiful place to stay, modern, clean and well equipped, that's why I'm going for a 3rd year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





The Lodge at East Ruston

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always love coming back to The Lodge after staying here over the past few years, however as the hedging has grown around the small garden, although providing privacy, has now become quite claustrophobic.
This bathroom cabinet has been removed, and there is now nowhere to store personal things in the shower room.
Safe and secure small garden, and so near to lovely walks, it still remains a homely place to return to.



How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Jo replied 313 days ago
Hello Geoff and Ginny Have taken note about the hedge and it will get a good cut when the birds have finished nesting. Replaced bathroom cabinet as it had sustained too much water damage. Will keep looking for a suitable replacement. Regards Jo

Brilliant time

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time staying at the lodge and we have had a fantastic time, everything we needed was there, like home from home, the standard was excellent, lovely and peaceful and the garden very secure for our dogs. It was a good base to explore Norfolk, would highly recomend this property.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Sue at East Ruston Cottages replied 315 days ago
Thank you Christine! What a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to leave it. John and Jo will be thrilled, I am sure! Hope to see you back again for your third visit? :) Sue

Great place for pooches and us

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful week at The Lodge and visiting North Norfolk. Having a bad knee I wanted a place that accommodated that and I wasn’t disappointed. The two dogs were in their element and enjoyed being able to wander into the grassed garden when they wanted. We did learn that our 9 month old lab puppy could jump the decking gate though, which was a surprise! Luckily she did not run off but we had to keep an eye on her. Lovely welcome gift from the owners and flowers which brightened our arrival. We were so impressed with the super king size bed that we have been inspired to get our own, the mattress was so comfortable! No backache for a week! The Lodge has everything you could want or need for a stay and we would certainly recommend. The addition of the dog shower was a brilliant idea.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



The Lovely Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th visit to The Lodge and once again we were not disappointed. It is very comfortable, modern and convenient for walks, beaches and shops whilst being in a quiet country setting. Dogs are made particularly welcome with beds, bowls and towels provided and a large, safe garden to run around in. We particularly appreciated the new hot and cold doggy shower outside. The welcome hamper, including dog treats, is also appreciated. For a quiet restful holiday or a base to explore North Norfolk, I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



The Lodge - East Ruston

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Lodge in East Ruston. When we arrived we did have a problem with the hot water boiler and it was sorted out very quickly as well as some cracked wine glasses which were replaced.

This is a lovely spot and very nice to relax here and explore. I just wished there was a little more in the line of cookery utensils. i.e. pots and pyrex dishes and cooking implements as I hate to keep using the dish washer all the time. Also there were no dog toys which was a little disappointing as we love to throw balls for our dogs on the lawn area and this would have been amazing.

The weather was fabulous and we were able to sit out on the lovely veranda and enjoy this as it is a wonderful sun trap.

We did have a little problem with the shower unfortunately this has happened before. It does right itself if left alone.

Would it be possible please to have more dog throws and dog beds as we felt a little awful to have our dogs on the lovely sofas.

Thank you we really appreciate this.


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.



Our third visit and there will be a fourth

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My disabled sister, me and our three dogs have spent three lovely weeks at The Lodge and are hoping to return next year. It’s comfortable, warm and has a nice enclosed garden. It’s close to the beach, Bacton woods, Weavers Way and some dog friendly pubs. What is there not to like.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Back at the Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yes back again . An excellent place to stay for dogs and humans alike .
Always very clean and welcoming .
Thank you all for your efforts .
Malcolm & Sandra ( May 4th to 11th ) .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Late April stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having arrived at the Lodge with our three dogs we were immediately able to settle in and looked forward to this short break. Nothing disappointed us from the warmth of the interior to the peacefulness of the surroundings. Welcomed with provisions and treats for our three girls we were at ease straight away. Following advise from the owners and other previous occupants we booked a couple of meals out and travelled on recommendations to Blickling Hall to see the beautiful bluebells, Sheringham Park, Blakeney Island boats to see the seals and walked locally from the lighthouse at Happisburgh to cart gap where we enjoyed the small but well provisioned cafe. The Lodge gave us the capability to entertain and accommodate my brother and his wife for a couple of nights during our week long stay and at no time did we feel cramped. Ample hot water allowed us all to shower and the outside provision of a warm shower for our sand covered dogs saved the interior from becoming beach like. The accommodation has been well thought out and throughout all items were clean, modern and working. Even the provision of local eggs and other products i.e. milk, tea, coffee, jams etc was a perfect touch. The enclosed garden area with side gate was perfect for the dogs too. We highly recommend this Lodge and will be looking to rebook on a regular basis.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Very relaxing quiet countryside retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved the peace and tranquillity. Very comfy large bed.Secure rear garden for our dogs was a plus and the decking was a great suntrap and used on the sunny days, but it needed pressure washing! Great place for dog walks on Weavers Way and beaches nearby all dog friendly plus good pubs. The only things that would have turned this into the perfect holiday are a bigger and better television and the sound was out of sync and a more comfortable settee for nights in.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





The lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful relaxing time and the dogs loved the garden. 5 star . I would highly recommend this company



Lovely Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I really enjoyed my stay at the Lodge. Ideal for me & my two dogs. The garden was secure. It made for a very comfortable stay & an ideal base for exploring the countryside & beaches.



Lovely ,will reccomend

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice place ,will recommend to friends ,lovely close to beaches ,dogs loved it.will be back to Norfolk soon



Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our week at the Lodge. It’s got everything you need and is ideal for dogs, they enjoyed playing in the secure garden and sleeping in the provided dog bed. The Lodge is close to some great places to visit and Norfolk as a whole is incredibly dog friendly. Definitely recommend it



Review The Lodge East Ruston

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location, very quiet, great for a peaceful holiday. Surrounding area very interesting. Lovely dog friendly pubs and cafes. More hooks for hanging coats would have been appreciated. We found the window blinds extremely difficult to operate. Otherwise everything else was great. Whole cottage was very well presented and ideal for two people with or without dogs. It would be lovely to go again.



Perfect location and accommodation for dog lovers!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is a great facility for staying on holiday with your beloved dogs. Barley and Daisy loved their stay and it was relaxing for us all as it really is set up for dogs and owners alike to enjoy their holiday without adhering to a long list of do's and don't's. The facilities in The Lodge are very good and the location is idyllic. The garden is a lovely place to relax too without worrying about an escapee! All in all a great holiday was had by us all.