FB Twitter

The Crib

The Crib

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Our beautifully comfortable family house in Happisburgh, right at the end of Beach Road so a very short walk to the dog friendly beach. Really well thought out for the comfort of humans and dogs alike! Very popular with everyone who has stayed there.

A perfect setting for our Honeymoon

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a place where we could truly relax with our dogs. If our best friends are not welcomed we don't go there that's our rule. We found the perfect holiday for us all that's for sure. The Crib is outstanding and there is nothing that the owners' haven't thought of to make a perfect holiday. My only regret is that the time passed so quickly. The short walk to the beach, the beautiful countryside, the friendly people, the wonderful welcome pack, the super comfy bed for humans and dogs, cosy open fire, the super-secure garden with room to run around, an endless supply of doggie towels and blankets. I could go on and on and on!
We had a wonderful holiday and have already booked for next year. Our three dogs didn't want to get into the car to come home. I am trying not to tell too many people about this gem as I am afraid it will book up too fast.
Thanks to all involved that made our honeymoon so memorable.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Want to live there

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THE most dog friendly place ever. It was absolutely perfect for three sighthounds, all with different needs. Our elderly whippet cross loved the raised beds and going o the pub. The middle aged saluki loved the giant memory foam bed and zoomies on the beach. The podenco loved the throws on the sofas and exploring the clifftops.
Can not wait to rebook!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





The perfect place for our 'Magnificent Seven'.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Crib really does provide everything dog owners could want! Our party consisted of 3 human friends + our 'Magnificent Seven' (lurchers) & we truly couldn't have asked for anything more. ... From dog beds and holiday tags, to doggy shampoo and poo bags, everything our hounds needed was provided, and the 'Boot Room' full of dog towels was just the icing on the cake!

As for us humans, the cottage was rustic yet cosy, with all the mod cons we could have wished for (decent shower, dishwasher, wifi, Netflix etc.) and once again, all 'essentials' (soap, kitchen roll, dishwasher tabs etc.) were provided. ... But it was the open fire and wonderful collection of canine art that made it really special. (As well as the close proximity to a dog friendly beach and pub, of course!)

Big thanks to the owners for allowing us to share their little piece of paradise & special thanks to East Ruston Cottages manager, Sue, for the warm welcome and top notch customer service. ... We'll be back, for sure!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Wish we had longer!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at The Crib. As most other people have said, the photos don't do it justice - it was beautiful, so cosy and completely immaculate. We spent the first evening in wonder at how well equipped it was - especially for the dogs. The lovely doggy themed art made it so homely. We loved the lounge with fireplace and the dogs all curled up in front of the fire each night. It's so nice to feel that the dogs are actually welcome there and not just tolerated - loads of fleece blankets available so they can be up on the sofas and the beds where they want to be. The garden is perfect and wonderfully secure. The beach is so nearby it's just a quick walk and loads of other super places to walk just a short car drive away. We only had a weekend so we left feeling like there was so much more we could have done, we will have to come back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage, we really enjoyed our stay in this "home away from home". It was completely dog friendly, our houndies enjoyed it as much as we did. Really well equipped with everything we needed. Loved all the houndie art work! Would recommend to anyone

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Fantastic Holiday retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
East Rushton Cottages was recommended by a colleague I work with. She told me that it was more than a holiday from home as you could let your dogs be with you. We requested a crate to let our dogs have their own space which was perfect as it catered in size for the two dogs to sleep together as they like there crates to go in and out off, when ever they wish, so even they felt at home and very, very happy. The garden was really good and a nice size to play with your dogs if they like balls. The boot room is fantastic as you have a place to dry of your dogs and yourself in rainy weather. Towels and throws provided for the furniture, so you could sit comfortably on the settee cuddling your dogs. The beach is a mere 5 minute walk from the cottage and all the people are really nice and welcoming and chatty. We went out around the Happisburge historic village. We fully enjoyed going to Horsey Beach to see the new born seal pups and we also visited Winterton Beach where it is great for the dogs to run around.

We really felt at home and relaxed the cottage was so comfortable a real home from home and the bed and pillows were so comfortable you just slept. There was an added bonus of a gift of goodies from the area which were very enjoyable and welcoming.

My husband thought the kitchen was fantastic with everything you need to cook. We would recommend visiting and we intend to be back there next year for our holiday but would like to stay longer than a week, I enjoyed it so much and it was the first time I was upset to be leaving as I am usually ready to go home.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



All the home comforts

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at The Crib and both humans and hounds found it a really relaxing experience, and a real home from home. I don't think we've stayed in such a well equipped holiday cottage before, and absolutely everything was to hand.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Our September stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been using ERC for several years and have never been disappointed. This was our first stay at The Crib and we were impressed by the cottage.

The kitchen was large and well equipped. And the Welcome Pack was brilliant!

I liked the artwork!

The local books and leaflets were helpful.

The best bit for us was the location. We could walk down to the beach in 5 minutes.

Very dog friendly.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





The Crib

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have booked with Sue on numerous occasions and never been disapointed help if needed is always there

We had a really lovely time so dog friendlly we will be back again next year
Cannot wait

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Crib is a beautiful huge cottage. It has 3 decent sized bedrooms and huge kitchen and sitting room, with plenty of chairs. Everything you need in a lovely holiday cottage is provided. The garden is massive, perfect for dogs.
Located within a 10 minute walk from Happisburgh beach, a pub, the lighthouse and a little post office that provides milk bread etc. Plenty of lovely walks around.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





The Crib - What a lovely place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a week with my partner and our two dogs... Boerboels (80kg and 60kg)
We had an absolutely fantastic time, every aspect has been thought through meticulously, from the boot room allowing you to clean up dogs before entering the cottage, through to the robust furnishing with plenty of covers/throws provided...
They even had towels available for wiping paws on the way in!

The decoration is dog themed throughout, and has a lovely cheerful feel.

We particularly liked the location to the beach, it couldn't have been more convenient...
During the stay - on a couple of days, the temperature was a bit too much to take the dogs out during the day, but the very large garden provides plenty of shady spots to just chill out & pant a lot... and more than large enough for them to run around like lunatics chasing each other...which they did frequently throughout their stay - they LOVED it...

All in all, I cannot think of what else you could ask for... if the crib can accommodate our two beasts, I would say its big enough to deal with almost ANY dogs.

We loved it...and re-booked for next year before we even left.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Crib is a wonderful holiday cottage.It had everything we needed for our 2 weeks stay with our 3 rescue greyhounds.The garden is brilliant for the dogs,totally secure with plenty room for running and also areas for them to snuffle around in.The cottage itself is very comfortable and homely.The village is small and quiet ,with a nice pub that does food ,village shop ,beach 10 minutes slow walk away.Really everything that us 2 oldies and our dogs wanted without having to use the car.We have already booked 3 weeks next summer.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Your doggies will LOVE this place! .. and so will you.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Crib is a really beautiful, well-equipped and comfortable place to stay. The enclosed garden is absolutely wonderful for all the dogs to run and play in. I can highly recommend you and your pooches give this lovely cottage a try and I don't think you will be disappointed.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Fabulous pet friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you have dogs and want a relaxing holiday, then this is the perfect place. So very dog friendly, you and your four legged friends will want for nothing. The Cottage is just perfect and very well equipped for both self catering or situated in a great place for walking out for meals at the local pub. The beach is just along a small lane and dog friendly too.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Another brilliant experience with East Ruston Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from our holidays - 4 times we’ve traveled to Norfolk and every time we’ve stayed in one of the beautiful cottages with East Ruston Cottages.
This time we’ve stayed in the Crib and we weren’t disappointed: a very beautiful and extremely comfortable cottage in the perfect location. Very happy customers (including the dog)!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Amazing, wonderful, perfect dog friendly cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A,axing, wonderful, perfect dog friendly cottage, it’s quirky and so much care has been put into making the cottage simply a favourite. We loved it xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





The Crib

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is right at the top of my places to stay. Everything and anything is provided and the cleanliness is noticeable. You don’t feel the need to ‘clean’ anything before Customer service is of paramount and you feel like a part of a big family

Happisburgh is a great little village but it is heart breaking to see it vanishing a little every time you visit and hear the locals stories





WOW, Fantastic!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful comfy cottage we felt at home as soon as we walked in.
Everything you need and more besides.
Our 2 'Westies' loved the daily conversations with their fellow doggie buddies next door
(not to mention the supersize Orvis bed) which was great for dreaming about the day's adventures.
we was all sad to leave, can't wait to go back!




Definitely recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the house and garden from the moment we arrived. The house is really well thought out with everything you could ever need and our 2 dogs loved the garden. Unfortunately our week was a little wet with strong winds but we made use of the open fire a couple of times which was lovely. We didn't want to leave at the end of our week.



Love The Crib

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious airy cottage. Extremely well equipped, the owner has thought of everything. Very comfortable and very clean. Dogs loved the dog beds provided, very dog friendly. None of us wanted to go home!
Even had good weather for February. Lovely area with great beaches and walks.
Can’t recommend it highly enough.




Perfect winter retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, we loved The Crib. The owners have clearly put a lot of thought into equipping the cottage and it is SO dog friendly. The garden is huge and it was a real treat to be able to see the dogs be able to chase a ball.
We had lovely cosy eves with the fire roaring and the dogs all tired and snuggley.
We’re going to book for a week next year, we can’t wait!!




The Crib

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage. Equipped with everything and more. Totally dog friendly. Amazing time had by all.



Very comfortable,home from home.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jan 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely weekend in Happisburgh staying at the Crib. It a very clean well equipped property in a good location. The Hill pub just up the end of the village was so dog friendly and with good homemade food, we were made to feel very welcome.
It is a shame that you can not access the beach from the village, like we did a couple of years ago, due to the coastal erosion.




Sue Allen of East Ruston Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Susan Glad you enjoyed The Crib, one of most popular properties! Sorry that the ramp was off limits while you were there - obviously it is out of our control and recent weather has had an impact on it. NNDC do have plan to restore it so hopefully next time you visit you will be able to enjoy access at that end of the beach. At Cart Gap, a little further along, there is the concrete ramp used by the lifeboat.

the wonderful crib

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely cosy cottage, very dog friendly. Very well equipped ad decorated beautifully throughout, in the middle of a small and pretty village.very relaxing ,the perfect place to chill out.



Staying at the Crib.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay at the Crib . Lovely house and the amenities were brilliant very well thought out. Would definetly stay again .



Doggy Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely bliss. The cottage just couldn’t have been more perfect for dogs and their owners. It was really well equipped and spotlessly clean as well as being a very short walk to the beach and a dog-friendly pub. We were all so sorry to leave but we’ll definitely be back! This was our second stay at an East Ruston cottage and I can’t recommend them highly enough



Home comforts

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving at The Crib was just like arriving home. It was clean, super comfortable, and in such a great location. The garden was very safe and secure for our three dogs, which is a huge plus, so we could let them outside and not worry about them. Everything had been provided for guests (human and canine) - and more! I was particularly impressed that they provided hand wash at every sink, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets - and even coffee pods for the Nespresso machine! So thoughtful - and also very practical as it means less stuff to pack and bring with us! We are already looking at dates to return in 2019!



A lovely dog friendly cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best dog friendly cottage that we have stayed in. The cottage was clean and comfortable, many things were provide for our dogs, toys, beds, towels and holiday dog tags.
The position of the cottage was ideal for the sandy beach at Happisburgh, the garden was large and secure. The village pub was dog friendly as were others in surrounding villages.




So good we didn't want to leave

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are not new to East Ruston Cottages, but this was our first stay at The Crib. We have to say it was incredibly comfortable, beautifully furnished and dog friendly and really just a home from home.
The little touches like the super king bed, the Nespresso machine, the hi k9 dog beds and the gorgeous pieces of art just made this place extra special.
Obviously, the location is perfect for dog owners, only a two minute walk to the beach and coastal paths, the same for the Hill House Inn pub and Nero's Kitchen dog treats. My dogs were in heaven.
If it's your first time in the area I can highly recommend The Crib for your holiday




The Crib Happisburgh

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both humans and dogs were extremely well catered for. As vegans we were surprised and delighted to receive a delicious vegan welcome pack. Lots provided for the dogs, welcome biscuits, comfy beds, towels, raised feeding bowls, coats, tags, throws and a large crate. The dogs loved the large, well fenced garden. Lovely cottage in a perfect location.



Memorable holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From first entering the house we felt at home. There is everything you could wish for, especially for dogs - you really only need to take their food!
The house was spotless ( thank you Danielle) and it has a lovely long garden for relaxing or playing throw the ball etc.
The house is only a very short walk to the beach via the beach ramp where you will also Burgers at the beach - much nicer than it sounds! My favourite was the bacon burger with all the trimmings and chips!
We only visited the pub once but if was very friendly and the baguettes were delicious.
The beach was uncrowded ( even for May half term) and Molly had a wonderful time chasing her ball and playing in the sea.
A marvellous healthy holiday!