FB Twitter

Ruby Gem

Ruby Gem

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 53 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


  • Sleeps 4 in a king size double bedroom and twin bedroom
  • 4 dogs welcome free of charge
  • Off road dedicated parking for 2 cars
  • Enclose grass and patio garden
  • 5ft solid fencing with planting in front
  • Dog House shed for lots of useful dog/beach extras
  • Short and easy walk to the dog friendly beach
  • Dog friendly pub - Fisherman's Return - on the doorstep
  • Short walk to dog friendly cafes, shop + fish & chip shop
  • Charming nautical themed open plan living area
  • Hard floors throughout down stairs
  • Dogs allowed in bedrooms (with guests' own bedlinen)
  • Single occupancy discount October - March

Wonderful winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruby Gem is in a brilliant location, next door to a very nice pub and a couple of minutes from the beach. It had everything we needed for a great weekend, both for us and our dog. It was so nice not having to pack a dog crate or other dog bits and bobs. This is a real dog friendly cottage, not just dog tolerant, and having stayed in places which allow dogs but then turn out to have gardens that are not escape proof or do not allow dogs on sofas, this makes a huge difference.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely cottage in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Dec 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We made a relatively late booking and found both East Ruston Cottages and the owners of Ruby Gem to be brilliant communicators, giving us everything we needed before, during and after our stay (the app is fabulous!).

We all enjoyed our stay, the dogs loved the cottage and are now trying to catch up on their rest after 6 days of beach walking :)

We recommend Ruby Gem.. and I've not mentioned the welcome pack including cakes and sweets and jam and honey and dog treats which we loved!


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





First time in Winterton

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay, exploring a new area . The cottage was lovely and quiet, close to all amenities.
Very well equipped.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





A Revelation!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For over three decades we have been holidaying in self-catering cottages. Post covid, we have witnessed prices going ever upwards and standards going rapidly downwards. This culminated in a stay in early 2023 (another company) where there was nothing in the cottage at all, not even a pint of milk. It was soulless, unwelcoming and disappointing. We began to reconsider going anywhere again with companies that have been taken over by large organisations. Fast forward now to our stay at the absolutely wonderful RubyGem booked through Sue at East Ruston Cottages. I can say with all honesty it is the most welcome we have ever felt in any cottage anywhere. The owner, Penny, had put up a Happy Birthday banner and balloons and made the most delicious birthday cake. She'd made the most outstanding millionaire's shortbread in the history of baking. She should be on Bake off! The welcome pack was absolutely amazing; everything you could possibly need, and that included the dogs too. There was so much stuff for them, from treats to poo bags and everything in-between. They were in doggy heaven and we felt they were truly welcomed too. They definitely did not want to leave and neither did we. Thank you so much Penny & Chris for letting is stay in your beautiful, cosy cottage by the sea.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Absolutely brilliant!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've never stayed in a better cottage. The welcome package was out of this world and so generous! Dogs and people want for nothing and the location is perfect. The area is friendly and welcoming and we met so many lovely people. Five minutes from the dunes and beach which was great for the dogs who could run around while their staff watched the seals. The cottage is so handy for the local dog friendly pub whose Boozy Beef Pie was terrific and also for National Trust properties to inject a bit of culture into your break.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Fantastic stay at delightful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing time at Rubygem. Fantastic lovely cottage very clean and well equipped. Dogs loved it too This is definitely worth a stay. Winterton is my home away from home

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect Birthday Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Ruby Gem. The cottage is clean and comfortable and perfectly located for the beach, pub and local shops.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





An excellent dog welcoming cottage.Great Location..Parking & Garden.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay. A very last minute booking and we were so lucky!
Extremely dog welcoming with everything provided for their comfort and ours!
Lovely garden to play or relax in. Walk to the glorious beach. Seal spotting.
We didn’t stray far it had everything we needed for a relaxing break. The owner’s attention to detail and welcome pack were the best we’ve ever had!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





100

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and lovely comfy bed. Easy access to beach and village. Lovely garden and decking to relax in. Every thing you need for relaxing holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





perfect stay for dog owners

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic welcome pack on arrival. Owners sent a nice message before, during and after our stay so we were made to feel welcome. Well kept accommodation and excellent guest book. Short walk to everything local in Winterton plus lots of other places visited locally. The furthest we drove was 25 mins away and still so much we have not seen. Will definitely return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Our Rubygem stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful dog friendly cottage. There was everything you would need for a comfortable stay and more, like the home baked cake, jam, honey and pickle and lots more. The village was beautiful and the beaches were great. We will definitely be back

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Fantastic stay at Rubygem

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Olive and Wilma whippets and their humans spent a week at Rubygem, it was honestly everything we could have hoped for - the cottage is spacious, very clean, extremely well equipped with everything the dogs and humans could possibly wish for.
It’s located within two minutes walk from Winterton beach and dunes which provide miles of excellent walking and seal watching. Right behind the cottage is a decent and very dog friendly pub, a fish and chip shop as well as a lovely little tea room are also right on the doorstep.
Penny and Chris are wonderful hosts, the cottage was wonderfully decorated for my partner’s birthday, there was a cake and a lovely card and present. There was also a lovely welcome pack with all sorts of goodies waiting for us.
I cannot thank Penny and Chris enough for everything they’ve done for us and for welcoming us to this true gem of a house.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Perfect Birthday Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was my birthday and my husband had booked a short break at Ruby Gem with our two small dogs. From the moment we got there and saw the birthday balloons and banner, the homemade chocolate cake and the fabulous selection of goodies and toys for the doggos we knew it was a going to be a good weekend and we weren't disappointed! The cottage is beautiful, tastefully decorated and absolutely spotless. We brought our own bedding because the dogs like to sleep with us but for anyone who doesn't do this, the linen they provide is good quality and very clean.
The cottage backs on to the pub car park but we heard no noise at all and in fact went to the pub a few times for dinner. The pub itself is incredibly dog friendly and the staff and locals so nice, we felt really comfortable there. Poppy's tearoom is also worth a visit for breakfast or tea and cake!
The beach is glorious and the dogs loved the grass dunes. We arrived home feeling relaxed and happy. A perfect birthday weekend, so good in fact that I've just booked it again for the husband's birthday in September!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



A lovely, comfortable stay with everything we needed for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ruby Gem from the 10th to 14th April 2023 and it was a brilliant holiday. Penny and Chris contacted us a few weeks in advance to see if we needed anything extra for our 1 year old, and as a result of that chat they arranged a travel cot, high chair and a box of toys. These things would have been really hard to fit in the car alongside the buggy, the family and the dog.

When we arrived there was a lovely welcome pack with treats for us (marmalade, honey, and home baked cakes) and for our dog Luna too (home made biscuits and a jar of gravy bones). Luna had everything she might need - food and water bowls, travel water bottle and a mud daddy in the shed which came in very useful!

The cottage was spotlessly clean, the sofa and beds were comfortable and the shower was really lovely too. Its location was perfect for us as Luna doesn't like travelling in the car too much, so the 5 minute walk to the beach was just right for her. The beach was large, so plenty of room for off-lead running around though you do have to keep an eye out for seals (dead or alive) which frequent the beaches. Winterton has quite a few amenities (fish and chip shop, tea room, brilliant pub and a corner shop) which was all we needed for our week away, but you might need to go further afield if you want more excitment (nearby Hemsby and Great Yarmouth have arcades galore) and Cromer is also 20 miles away.

We'll definitely be back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Definitely would recommend.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great property. They had thought of everything. Clean tidy and fresh feeling property. Well maintained. Good kitchen with everything you need. Induction hob cooker washing mach dishwasher. Longe diner was great, comfortable and well appointed. Bedrooms very comfortable double. Get location for beach and for for travelling around. Lovely owners dropped us a text to let us know we could arrive early. Definitely on the list to return. Highly recommended to all my doggy friends.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely Easter weekend in Ruby Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage with the best hosts!
Great location and treats left for us.
Both bedrooms a great size.
Thank you

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Ruby Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy cottage a 2 minute walk from the dunes and beach. Everything that ourselves and our dogs needed was in the cottage including home made treats for both humans and dogs! I would definitely recommend and will be visiting Ruby Gem again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





A lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Ruby Gem, we all had a lovely weekend enjoying the beach, the fish and chips and the dog friendly pub around the corner. We will visit again Xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage in a great location . The dogs loved having the garden ! Lots of welcome goodies including honey from the owners bees and eggs from their chickens . Really appreciated my Birthday bottle of wine too!

Right near the pub , beach and dunes , we will definitely stay here again .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





My happy place

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another amazing stay in Winterton and RubyGem cottage. It truly is a home from home with everything you could possibly need. The welcome pack is the best around with amazing homemade cakes (I need the recipes!) I can’t wait for my next visit….

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Ruby Gem short break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a last minute short break for over new year at Ruby Gem. The booking was all sorted quickly and easily, and we were delighted when we arrived. The cottage is clean and comfortable, with a small secure garden. The location is brilliant as you can get to the dunes and beach really quickly, so you don’t need to drive if you don’t want to. Penny had left a lovely welcome pack (our dog particularly loved the biscuits!) and was contactable should we need anything, which we didn’t as everything was so well prepared. The local chippy was great, Poppy’s in the village does excellent coffee and cakes. We would definitely recommend Ruby Gem and East Ruston Cottages!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful week at Ruby Gem, Penny and Chris couldn’t have been more thoughtful and helpful.
The cottage is very clean and well equipped with all anyone could want. The dogs were also very well catered for and loved the homemade biscuits left in a bag for each dog, also very thoughtful dog tags with the holiday address printed on them.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to any one.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





A home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely week was had by all. Every little detail/comfort had been thought about for both humans and dogs in the cottage. The welcoming gifts were the best we have ever encountered. The cakes were most appreciated by the humans and the biscuits by Luke. I had to phone the owner the first night as electric cookers seem to haunt me and I was completely stumped as how to work this one, but she was more than happy to explain its workings. Thank you. We were lucky that the sun came out on a few days and were able to take advantage of the sun trap that is the back garden.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Ruby Gem in Winterton is really a Gem of a place.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We throughly recommend Ruby Gem , it is ideally situated if you want a relaxing break from everyday life. The beach is a couple of minutes walk away and is great for walking the dogs as its very quiet. There are many other country walks in the area too right from the door. The house is very clean and homely with everything you want for a holiday. The goodies that were left for adults as wells the dogs was very much appreciated. Very clean and comfortable all round. A lovely little garden to sit in and fenced so the furries can't escape. The village has a couple of shops, pub, cafe, fish and chip shop and a cafe on the beach during the day.
If you want a holiday without using the car this house is ideal.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lovely cottage in wonderful locetion

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in this lovely cottage. The cottage was immaculate and had absolutely everything we needed, along with a fabulous welcome basket. The location couldn’t have been more perfect - 5 mins walk to a lovely beach as well as being in the village. We had great contact prior to the booking and were sent lots of information about the area, recommended restaurants, cafes, walks etc.

We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage or the company, to anyone as it was fantastic.

Thanks.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Great stay at Ruby Gem

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week staying at Ruby Gem.
The cottage was very clean and felt well looked after. The owners had left us a great welcome pack of cakes and jams etc which was a nice touch.
We all loved Winterton which has to be one of the most dog friendly places I have ever been to!!.Will definitely be coming back.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Beautiful cottage, a short distance from the beach.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very clean and well maintained. It had a secure garden for the dog and everything we needed, dog bed, hairdryer, well equipped kitchen etc. There was attention to detail though and it was great to find toiletries in the bathroom and gorgeous cake, jam, honey, and treats in the kitchen, along with milk, bread and butter. Even the dog had her own welcome basket of goodies.The location for walks was perfect. Close to miles of quiet beach but lots of inland places to walk to as well (including various pubs-all dog friendly.) A few paces away from the cottage is a pub and there is also a shop and tea room in the village as well as a good cafe on the beach.This is a perfect place to completely relax and an excellent place for dogs too.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Ruby Gem - July 2022

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, very dog friendly and only five minutes walk to a stunning beach. The owners left us some fabulous home-made goodies in our Welcome Pack and also checked with us on arrival to make sure all was OK. A great holiday and we loved Winterton - we will definitely go back!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Great escape

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, beautiful location. The perfect place for a dog - the cottage had toys at the ready and a welcome bag of treats for the small guy with four legs fur and a tail - with stunning walks on the doorstep. Would love to come again, will recommend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Penny replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the kind words and the fabulous pictures of Sundance it is all much appreciated.

Ruby Gem is a little Gem

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, welcome pack was lovely, nice an quite, dogs had a great time perfect beach hols.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Penny Harcourt replied more than 1 year ago
That was so lovely to hear that you all had a good time in Winterton, it is such a quiet relaxing place with very friendly people. Look forward to seeing you back in our gem.

Lovely Little Gem!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage, everything we needed.
We were so touched by the welcome pack. A whole tray of millionaires shortbread, what a treat! (Managed to get through it!)
We were very comfortable.
Customer service was exceptional.
The only thing was that lots in the village was closed off, much of the dunes, the road to the beach, the restaurant by the light house, the fish and chip shop, but none of this was the fault of the owners, after all.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Penny Harcourt replied more than 1 year ago
We appreciate your comments about the cottage and so glad you enjoyed the millionaires but were upset to see the low rating for location when we have no control over the fire at the restaurant, global warming affecting beach access, telecomm laying a new cable on the other beach access and your visit coinciding with the change of ownership of the fish and chip shop. A part from coastal erosion the other 'issues' are short term and will shortly be rectified.

Fantastic little cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful little cottage in fantastic location. Warm and cosy and has all you need for a break away. Only a 3 minute walk to the sand dunes for walking. For us it was perfect. Can’t wait to return

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage close to the beach which is perfect for dog walkers. There were fresh home made cakes and also home baked biscuits for each dog. Very nice pub and chip shop close by. Would definitely go again and recommend to friends.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Fabulous cottage in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After having to cancel two previous bookings due to government lockdowns, we finally got to stay in Ruby Gem in September.
The cottage was absolutely gorgeous and wonderfully clean.
We had a fantastic time and really appreciated the lovely goodie basket left for us with a birthday card and bottle of fizz left for my birthday.
We spent a lot of time in the garden as the weather was glorious and came back looking very tanned and healthy, just what was needed.
Highly recommend this cottage, the owners are lovely and so accommodating and we had the pleasure of meeting them on arrival.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



A true gem that I wish I could keep just for me!!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am a frequent visitor to Winterton and have stayed at RubyGem a number of times previously. This was my first stay since the new owners took over and to say I was impressed by the improvements would be an understatement (and I didn’t think there was even much that needed improving!)

The cottage is truly fantastic and kept to such a high standard - it really is a home from home. The treats and goodies that are left by the owners are lovely, from the bread and eggs, to the home made cakes, and not forgetting the homemade dog treats for my four legged travel buddy!

The customer service from both ERC and the owners was great, including emails with useful info on prior to the visit through to a text message on the day letting me know the cottage was ready and waiting for me.

I would love to keep RubyGem a secret from everyone so it is always available when I want it, but I can’t help but shout out about how great it is!

Thumbs up from me and paws up from the Meg dog!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Another Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used East Ruston Cottages before and as always the communication and service from them was excellent, it was lovely to hear from the owner of Ruby Gem this time too. It did mean when we had a slight problem with the cooker I felt comfortable contacting them and it was easily resolved.
The cottage is so comfortable, we had to motivate ourselves to go out. A few hours of rain one day gave us the excuse we needed to settle into the sofa and enjoy the delicious home made cakes left for us. A long walk was welcome when the rain cleared !!
We really loved the location, it’s great to stay somewhere where you don’t need to use the car to get out walking on the beautiful beach and dunes at Winterton and with a pub, shop and fish and chips nearby what more could you ask. Cannot wait to return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Penny Harcourt replied more than 1 year ago
It is not often I get to met the guests and more importantly, sorry, the four legged guest but Albus is a show stopper and it was a pleasure to spend a little time with him. Looking forward to having you all back.

First rate

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely brilliant from first booking to end of our stay. Attention to detail. Cannot fault anything. Welcome pack is excellent for humans and even doggies. Lovely warm welcome from Penny and Sue from East Ruston couldn't be more helpful. Our second visit and it certainly won't be the last.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Penny Harcourt replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you had another good stay in wonderful Winterton and hope to see you again soon. Fruit cake recipe is at the ready :)

Absolutely Beautiful Property

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruby Gem really is a "Gem". Perfect in every way. Brilliant location for the beach. Winterton On Sea has evrything we needed. Local shops, cafe's, chip shop and pub.

The cottage is cosy, warm, excellently maintained and super clean. It has everything for you and your dog. There isn't any need to worry about a thing. The welcome pack that awaits your arrival has everything to get you going and more. The homemade cake is to die for!!!

I needed to contact the owners whilst I was there and nothing is too much trouble they are so helpful.

I will definitely return to Ruby Gem. I can't think of anywhere else I would rather holiday with my fur babies.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Penny Harcourt replied more than 1 year ago
That was so lovely to read, it is always good to know that people enjoy the place as much as we do. Look forward to seeing you again.

Great little cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at the Ruby Gem. Fantastic array of goodies for us and our two dogs - much appreciated. Loved the short walk to the beach (so did the dogs). Location is good for going out and finding other places to visit. Hope to go back soon!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Home away from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at Ruby Gem and it’s nothing short of perfect. From the little touches to the comfort of the whole cottage it really is a gone away from home.
The hosts have really thought of everything and East Ruston ease of booking and communication has been great. I don’t want to give it a 5 star review as no doubt it will be booked up for the rest of the year but it is fantastic. Great location and a great cottage.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely cottage which is in walking distance to the dog friendly beach.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice week in Ruby Gem which is situated in the center of Winterton. Every morning we walked our 2 dogs on the beach and the sand dunes. There is a fish and chip shop in the village where you can order over the phone thus no need to queue.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'll keep this brief but Ruby Gem was perfect. Very clean, in good condition, everything works and the owners go our of their way to make sure you have everything you could need. The location is ideal for the gorgeous Winterton beach, walks on the dunes, local pub & shops. I cant recommend highly enough.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Very dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Ruby Gem. What a lovely cottage in a really good place with a dog. A few minutes walk from the dunes and beach and very accessible for other places to visit in Norfolk. We really enjoyed the lovely welcome pack too. We’re looking forward to visiting again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Penny Harcourt replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review and thank you for coming to meet us at the end of your stay, it was particularly lovely to meet Hector. We rarely get to meet our guests and so it is good to put a face to a name after all the communication.

A delightful cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rubygem is a real joy to stay in. It's very comfortable, ideally situated, is super dog friendly and prettily decorated. The owners could not have been more helpful and the amazing welcome basket was stacked with bread, cakes (seriously delicious), jam, butter, milk, marmalade, chutney and home made natural treats for the dogs as well as temporary 'on holiday' dog ttags.We would definitely stay there again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





A real gem

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruby gem was a perfect holiday home for both of us and our
dog. Winterton is such a lovely village and is generally dog friendly but Rubygem was the best we have stayed in. Cleanliness and welcome provisions were the tops. Would love to stay again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous cottage, very comfortable, every possibilitie catered for especially the dogs. Fantastic welcome pack including a bottle of red for us and homemade doggy biscuits. Beautiful beach and miles of dunes for the dogs to run freely and enjoy meeting other doggies.
Throughly reccomend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome pack was brilliant. Home made cake! The cottage was clean and welcoming. The garden was perfect for our dog. There are easy walks to the beach and dunes. Just a really nice place to relax. The owners were very helpful and friendly.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Penny replied more than 1 year ago
So glad that you had a great time and I hope Sasha continues to recover.

Ruby Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage, wonderful welcome pack from Penny, great communication on when we could enter the property (early) local weather forecast etc. Very comfortable in every way and great location ... have no hesitation in recommending

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Penny replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for that stunning review but more importantly we are pleased you had such a good time in the cottage.

Amazing Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it short break at Rubygem in Winterton. The cottage was perfect with a great location near the beach which was good for dog walking. All in all highly recommended especially if you have a dog.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Cosy Comfortable Clean

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3/9/2020 -9/10//2020
A lovely 6 nights at Ruby Gem, well equipped, comfortable beds, clean and fantastic welcome pack. Was a little concerned might get noise from nearby pub, but that didn’t happen. Short stroll to fabulous Winterton Beach for a walk, coffee and cake at the Dunes Cafe. Shame it wasn’t quite cool enough to light the newly installed wood burner. Here’s wishing Chris and Penny a full booking calendar for what’s left of 2020 and into 2021.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





A Winterton gem by the dunes

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ruby Gem....the clue is in the house name. It's a gem in a quiet backstreet of central Winterton, with ample off road parking out front, a well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge, spacious bathroom and two bedrooms big enough for a family of four. Functional dog secure garden for morning coffee, but with the dunes and beach on your doorstep I can see why. Ample WiFi and Sky TV for those who want to veg in the evening....especially if you have teenagers as well as dogs. I'm rather reluctant to tell others about the delicious home-made cake, biscuits and jams that were waiting for us on arrival (along with fresh eggs), less they book and prevent us from returning!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



100%

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location lovely and clean. Welcome goodies a real treat and delicious. Great for our dog..

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!