FB Twitter

Rooster Barn

Rooster Barn

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


  • Rooster Barn is one of our most popular properties and gets booked all year round.
  • Unlimited dogs welcome
  • At the end of a private drive
  • In the peaceful Norfolk village of Trunch.
  • Mostly on the ground floor with pamment floors throughout, underfloor heating and a gorgeous wood burner.
  • Outside there is a patio, an enclosed area of gravel and a large grass garden surrounded by secure fencing.
  • Trunch has a well stocked village shop/post office and a dog friendly pub (both only a three minute walk away)
  • A selection of sandy, dog friendly beaches are easily accessible a short drive away.
  • An ideal location from which to explore much of North Norfolk.

Another great Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location lovely walks and beaches , a few minutes walk to the local pub and shop , Accommodation was clean and comfortable everything there we needed , great garden for the dogs , would definitely visit again

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Dog Heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was amazing everything you could think of was there for you food, nibbles, throws and that's just for the dogs !!!! It was just like home the kitchen was equipped better than mine at home . Really secure garden dogs loved it . We will be back .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect relaxing winter break

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just enjoyed a very comfortable and relaxing week at Rooster Barn.
The barn is comfortable, clean and cosy and has everything you could possibly need. There was a good supply of essentials such as coffee, sugar, washing powder, logs and cleaning things, and additional logs were very reasonably priced. The garden was perfect in size and security for our three dogs. Customer service was excellent and very individual. I can't really think of anything that would have improved our stay. Thank you.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Stunning barn conversion

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time staying at Rooster Barn so that says a lot. It’s a beautiful barn conversion that has been very well thought out and is soo comfortable both in terms of humans and dogs. The garden is huge, safe and totally secure as well. Everywhere was spotless when we arrived and a fab welcome pack awaited us too. Can’t think of a single criticism! We love staying there. We’ve stayed at a number of East Ruston Cottages now and totally trust that we will have an amazing holiday whenever and wherever we stay. The cottages don’t just allow dogs to come on holiday with you but actually welcome dogs with open arms. To actually cater for the canine members of the family by providing throws, towels, poo bags, food and water bowls etc makes life so much easier for the human guests and it’s all these little well thought out touches that makes East Ruston Cottages stand head and shoulders above the competition.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Week with the dogs and a toddler in the rain

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we opened the door the barn was warm, welcoming and beautifully designed. A delight and for a couple with teenagers or a dog or two perfect. It is not a negative at all but just to note if you have a toddler and more than two dogs maybe there are other options to consider. The top bedroom, which is lovely, has to be accessed from a steep ladder. My mum in her 70’s couldn’t manage this so I and my four year old son stayed up there. This did mean watching his every move negotiating the stairs hence why I say teenagers. They would love it! We were also unlucky with the weather and it rained most of the week sadly. As there are no immediate walk on the doorstep this meant driving to all destinations. There is a brilliant walk down by the garage which takes you over fields and woods however but no quick half hour place to just let them off the leads and run about which would have come in handy.
I reiterate these are not negatives. So many wonderful places to visit near by we just didn’t have the weather for it. What kept us going though was that beautiful fire and an amazing rare breed butcher up the road. Thanks Sue for the scotch egg and sausages in our welcome hamper. They were our introduction!
Lovely company to book with, exceptionally helpful and indeed for the right family highly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Another fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just returned from a week at Rooster Barn Trunch Norfolk. Our third visit and every bit as good as before. Beautiful garden, beautiful Barn very warm and comforting. We and our six dogs loved every moment. Could quite easily live at Rooster barn and as with every ERC accommodation totally dog friendly. They are THE BEST !

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Rooster Barn. So dog friendly, beautiful location, extremely clean.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect doggie holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took our 9 ,mainly rescue dogs on holiday to Trunch Rooster barn. We have had a great time the beaches are quite .Bacton woods is ideal, we managed to all go at once because of quite places we visited .The barn itself is so comfortable,with a large garden we did a lot of relaxing as well ,it was just what we needed.Plenty of places to eat and visit.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Rooster Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Close to perfection.
We swam in the sea with our dogs.
Enjoyed family time and have already booked to return next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Great Holiday at Rooster Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a really good holiday in Norfolk staying for the first the at Rooster Barn. It was so relaxing and peaceful to return to Roosters after exploring the many areas of interest in the area. Roosters is a lovely place to stay and we have booked for next year. The service Sue at East Rushton cottages provides is excellent , a pleasure to deal with.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Perfect in every respect

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed a lovely week at Rooster Barn. It is immaculately clean and very comfortable. The fenced garden was a boon for our 2 Airedale Terriers who settled straight away. The welcome gifts were indeed very welcome to humans and dogs alike. This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Rooster Barn - East Ruston Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The photos and description are spot on but, no words or photos can truly describe reality of this place. Peace and tranquility. Brilliantly located for days out and perfect for just staying in, in the evenings as well. Chilling in the garden in the sun. It made us feel like we didn’t have a care in the world.... Re-booked for next year before we left.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Second of many more visits!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Feels like a home from home, well equipped, clean and cosy, Ideal location, very happy dogs and humans.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Fabulous Dog Friendly Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just returned from a wonderful stay at Rooster Barn. A beautiful period barn conversion with lovely large secure garden in a peaceful rural location. Wonderful walks from the front door and a short drive to lovely beaches. Highly recommended.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely holiday at Rooster Barn. Not only was the Easter weather excellent - lucky us - but a great welcome pack as always with the addition of an Easter Egg and Hot Cross buns which went down a treat.

Rooster Barn is an exceptional holiday barn - log burner to keep us warm on cold evenings, a lovely garden for our two Labradors to run and play in - lovely village shop where you can shop and get everything you need on a daily basis. What more could you want. Not much!!

I have put great for dogs which it is - but have to mention that next door have a reactive dog so advised before we went not to leave our dogs unattended in the back garden which is adjacent to the neighbors property. Ours too are a bit reactive so if a dog barks they will bark back but It did not spoil our stay at all but need to mention it. In summer when you want to sit out on the patio adjacent to the neighbors may be an issue if like us you have two soppy Labradors who will bark back at anything they do not see.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



A great week

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have had a great week at rooster barn. Wish the bed wasn’t quite so high or the quilt quite so heavy otherwise the whole place is perfect.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





rooster barn

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
East Ruston cottages provide really dog friendly accommodation. There are throws for the sofas so your dogs can cuddle up with you. It makes for a much more relaxed holiday when you don't have to worry about your dog jumping on furniture. Customer service is excellent. Rooster barn is very clean and comfortable and the enclosed garden is a real bonus.



Beautiful Rooster Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooster Barn is a beautiful barn conversion in the small village of Trunch.
The barn is set back from the road and has it's own parking area with grounds all around which are totally secure for dogs. The barn has absolutely everything you could need and is either dog or rooster themed! Everything is provided including tags for the dogs, throws for the furniture, bowls, and lots of information. The bedrooms are very comfortable. The Crown pub is a short walk away and they were very dog friendly.
Many thanks to Danielle for leaving the barn spotless for our arrival and for the welcome food and drink, especially the carrot cake and bottle of wine! Thanks to Sue also for answering all our questions and giving us such personal service. All communications were very friendly, professional and efficient.
I summary, I would have no hesitation at recommending East Ruston Cottages and Rooster Barn for a lovely holiday for you and your dogs. We have never stayed anywhere so dog friendly while still maintaining an incredibly high standard of accommodation. Thank you! We will be back.




Fabulous converted barn

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooster Barn has been very well converted into a comfortable and appealing holiday home. We loved it completely and our dogs loved the large and totally enclosed garden. Mostly on one level but with a second bedroom up in the eaves. The kitchen is well appointed and has plenty of crockery and cooking pans etc. The lounge and dining area are both well thought out and comfortable. The downstairs bedroom is lovely and cosy and plenty of storage is provided. There is an en-suite with a shower over the bath and there’s also a ground floor shower room - both modern and well equipped. The whole Barn has been thought out well and beautifully appointed throughout. We were lucky with the weather - who would’ve expected sunshine and warm weather in February!! Bit of a bonus is the fact that the village pub - just a very short walk away- has been recently taken over by a fabulous young couple who have revamped the place and now serve food. And they welcome dogs!



Fabulous February!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooster Barn provided me and my three labrador companions with absolutely perfect facilities for a fabulous February break. Everything was in excellent condition and the whole barn scrupulously clean. The addition of spare dog throws and towels is a really thoughtful touch and very much appreciated. I can't recommend the place highly enough. We had a really lovely relaxing stay (even the weather was stunning!) The welcome pack was especially wonderful - We will be back!



New Year Relaxarion.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time in Rooster Barn, and our first New Year, we were a little nervous about bringing a 5 month puppy. However, the facilities of the Barn were second to none for both humans and puppy, who settled in very well. We spent the week walking around Trunch and to neighbouring villages, going to the beach and enjoying the log fire, as well as festive food and drink. The Barn was a perfect space for a puppy’s first time away from home because of the space available, and the layout - both house and garden were manageable for keeping an eye, without having to lock him in a cage when we were in.
The attention to detail was wonderful and we loved the Christmas decorations, which were multitudinous.
It really is the perfect place to get away with dogs for those who love the rolling countryside, curving beaches and unique architecture of Norfolk.




Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooster Barn is a beautiful barn conversion in a quiet location at the end of a drive.
Every effort is made to make your stay as comfortable as possible together with the lovely double sided wood burner.
The garden is ideal for holidaymakers with four legged friends and many items are available for their use, i.e. dog bowls, towels, leads, toys etc as well as a lovely area for them to run and play in. We are lucky to have found it.




Perfect holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was the first time I had visited Rooster Barn and it definitely won't be the last. It really was a perfect home from home with everything for a very relaxed holiday. The dogs and I walked on a different beach everyday before returning to the comfort of Rooster Barn and the lovely log burner. Everywhere local is dog friendly which made everything very easy especially when you are on your own. The Barn had everything I could possibly need and the garden was excellent for the dogs. The location is very convenient to ensure you can be fully occupied without any major drives and the selection of dog friendly beaches are spectacular.



Lovely home from home.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Rooster Barn. The welcome packs for us and the dogs were excellent. The barn provided everything you could wish for and more. The dogs loved the freedom the garden provided and it is ideally situated for all the surrounding attractions.



Rooster Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooster Barn is a great place to stay with your doggies. Sue and her team have thought of everything and provide so much local information it’s unreal.



A great place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rooster Barn is a great place to stay, truly dog friendly in a wonderfully quiet location. This property has bags of character and a superb secure garden. The welcome pack is particularly generous, for both adults and dogs. The village of Trunch is ideally placed to visit the many dog friendly beaches, pubs and attractions in the area.



Amazing place!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit here, loved it so much we have already booked our return! Lovely well equipped accommodation, more like a home from home! The dogs loved the large fully enclosed garden and all the little extras left for them! As did we!! Would definitely recommend!



A very peaceful stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was very comfortable and quiet. There was lots of hot water. Also there is much very useful information which added greatly to our enjoyment of the area.