FB Twitter

Lighthouse Cottage

Lighthouse Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.9


  • A lovely, beautifully fitted out single storey barn conversion, part of a small group on the same site.
  • Two luxury double bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms make this ideal for 2 couples or older failies
  • Secure walled courtyard outside for dogs and a shared enclosed paddock space.
  • Plenty of parking on our dedicated and enclosed gravel car park - from here just a ramp or two small steps will lead you to your cottage door.
  • Easy access to the dog friendly beaches on the coast, the Norfolk Broads and plenty of countryside walking.
  • Guests have exclusive access to the cottage and the dedicated yard area at each one
  • here is a wooden garden table set in the courtyard as well as a rattan sofa and coffee table set, parasol and a gas barbecue.

Stunning cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Lighthouse cottage for my wife and our two friends plus our dogs
Very well appointed barn conversion with everything you might need catered for
This is a 5 star hotel for dogs with well behaved humans Invited
We will return

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday, I highly recommend this cottage and they go above and beyond. It’s all about the dogs, everything you need and more , enclosed field, doggy shower , safe garden and beautiful accommodation. We did not want to leave and have already booked for another holiday . 5 Star ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





A very special place

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, cannot think of anything that was not provided for us or dogs, so thoughtfully thought out, such as dog tag to put on collar with details of where we were staying. Owners are great we felt very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely welcome pack and card and birthday cake for Roger. Thank you so much. Can’t wait to stay again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect for us

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always Lighthouse Cottage does not disappoint and we appreciate all the work that the owners put in to keep adding extra facilities to make it exceptional year on year

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Family holiday daughter,sister and me

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage very clean everything in it you could need for the dogs as well. Dogs loved it especially the big field to run in. Would really recommend this cottage and we would love to come back next year.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we expected on our return visit and more. The enclosed field was an additional bonus. Well done.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Everything we could wish for

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay. The location is very convenient. The accommodation, welcome, cleanliness, facilities, decor - everything were perfect. We couldn't wish for anything more. Fantastic value for money. At the same time it was very dog friendly and we weren't on edge all the time worrying about the dogs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





lovely cottage, lots of things to do near by

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the cottages, there was plenty of information provided for places to explore locally. We took both our dogs with us and thoroughly enjoyed having an enclosed feild on site. Plenty of blankets, dog toys and treats were provided as well as tasty snacks for us humans as well. The cottages were a short drive from the shops as well as being close to several beaches and woodlands. Best dog friendly holiday we've ever had.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Amazing

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolutely amazing cottage. On arrival we had lovely welcome goodies for us and the dogs. Facilities for the dogs is excellent. Flooring was non slip for them and carpet in bedrooms. Spacious outdoors with patio and communal grass area. The exercise field was brilliant with toys and shower provided. Lovely area with some gorgeous quiet beaches. Could not fault this for a relaxing holiday. Highly recommend.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Excellent cottage and the owners are always around to offer help and advice

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lighthouse Cottage. It has been decorated to a very high standard and they have thought of practically everything you could possibly want - plus a very generous welcome pack! The large field was very handy to give the dogs a bit of an extra exercise, but you also have the shared courtyard (grass) for them to do any "business".

It's very close to Happisburgh and Sea Palling beaches (plus others) which were both dog friendly. We'd recommend the Poachers Pocket, The Lighthouse pubs and The Star at Lessingham which are close by.

Also Bacton Woods and Pigney's Wood are a short drive away and excellent for walks.

We'd liked it so much we would definitely come again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Very dog friendly

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely relaxing week away in the most dog friendly place (other than home) that I have every visited, let alone stayed at! We had a welcome pack for the people with everything we would need to enjoy a cuppa and a great cooked breakfast the following day and, for the dogs, beds, treats, towels, toys and a spare collar and lead in case, plus throws so they could go on all the furniture. A lovely place I would highly recommend

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Perfect cottage, amazing owners

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lighthouse Cottage was perfect for our week’s stay away. Close to the coast and the beach walks we and the dogs love and a warm comfortable base to come back to. The secure paddock is ideal for short bursts of exercise for the dogs and the warm dog shower perfect for an after beach rinse. There are also hoses outside the cottage front and back and a small shared grass area behind the cottage. Everything we could possibly need in the the cottage was provided, towels and throws for the dogs and lovely linens and towels for us, a fully equipped kitchen and welcome packs for both dogs and humans.

We had an ‘interesting’ week though!!
On our way to the cottage we received a text saying that the power had just gone out, the weather was very wet and windy so we weren’t surprised but we weren’t very concerned. We prepared our first meal that evening on the gas hob fully expecting power to be restored that night. The whole of NE Norfolk was peppered with power cuts due to the weather, the wind was from an unusual direction. We received regular text updates from Lauren about the power as well as checking for ourselves on the power networks website. We were all equally frustrated that the time for our power to be restored kept being pushed back, in all the power cut lasted 55hours!! Lauren and her husband Chris were absolutely wonderful, they set up a generator the next day so that we had power for light, sockets and the heating, just no oven. For the next two days, while we were still without full power, Lauren came and took our prepared meals, cooked them in her Aga in the farmhouse and returned our ‘meals on wheels’. We also had an incident at the beach with our older dog when he cut a foreleg, I sent a text to Lauren, she gave me contact details for her vet and we were able to go straight there to have him checked over. There were of course vet details in the comprehensive information folder in the cottage but I hadn’t transferred the vet’s number to my phone, a lesson learned, I really should know better with Spaniels! When we returned to the cottage there’s were ‘get well’ biscuits on the mat for Scamp, a lovely gesture. Lauren also checked in with us after we got home for an update on Scamp.

The measure of customer service is how problems are handled and we could not fault Lighthouse Cottage and the owners, in really difficult circumstances they were calm, efficient and helpful, we felt they really cared.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!



Dog and Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weeks holiday 3 generations 11,12,62,79 and 82 plus 3 dogs, the cottage was lovely and had everything we could possibly needand things we han't realised we wanted.
The welcome package for humans and dogs were brilliant so thoughtful.
The atmosphere was very peaceful and lovely to sit out on the patio and the fenced off paddock for the dogs to run about in is great, wish we had one close by at home....
We used Cart cap beach as we found it was the easiest for those of us slightly more unstable on our feet to go down to. Also the beach is very dog friendly (although ours never went as 2 of them are terrified of water) and happier staying at home with one of use out on the patio soaking up the sun. To be honest we didn't do much sight seeing as the weather was so hot all week it was lovely just to be on the beach or the patio.
Look forward to hopefully booking up for another visit, So thank you so much for an amazing place that makes dogs and humans feel so welcome

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Dog friendly Luxury

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful little cottage, perfect for 4 guests plus dogs. Extremely comfortable, stylishly furnished and very clean and nothing has been forgotten. Superb welcome packs for two and four legged guests, how lovely to have the owner’s hens eggs for breakfast on the first morning! The cottage is perfectly positioned to explore the beaches of the Norfolk coast and there is always the safely fenced paddock to give the dogs an extra run. In it’s super tranquil setting, we have returned home relaxed and refreshed. We will definitely return to Lighthouse cottage!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lauren replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Amanda, Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We hope to see you again soon :)

5* all the way

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Right from start of drive we could see this was going to be excellent, neat and tidy and well lit. Cottage was super clean, underfloor heating on so warm on arrival, amazing welcome packs, bedrooms luxurious and cosy and the shower hot and powerful.

Owners so friendly and helpful if you need them, but you are left alone to relax if you don't.

Walls aren't very high, our greyhound jumped up to be nosy but didn't attempt to get over but if you have an acrobatic dog, they may do but grassed area fully safe and they couldn't escape so we didn't worry leaving them out. The fully paved area was brilliant for keeping paws clean too and hose provided to wash down back and front.

Everything you need was supplied, body lotion as I forgot mine was very thoughtful!

The paddock area high secure fencing and the dogs adored running in there, a real bonus. Tap, poo bags and toys provided too!

Cannot fault these cottages, best we have stayed in for cleanliness and cosy comfort! A real credit to their hard working owners.






How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lauren replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Karina, Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. We have made a few changes since you last came, including a new heated doggy shower by our enclosed field which we hope you will like. We hope to see you again soon.

Beautiful barn conversion

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all loved it here (4 adults and 4 dogs) It is very dog friendly, good outside space that is enclosed and a field which you can use just at the top of the drive (we used this every night for their evening walk)
The accommodation is 5*, it was so comfortable and we all felt relaxed very quickly. Although there is other holiday accommodation you would not know it's very peaceful and quiet.
The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you need (we cooked Christmas Dinner). I really cannot recommend this place enough.
Also Lauren is always avaliable if you have any queries.
Will definitely return x

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Lauren replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Stuart, We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas Break with us. Thank you for such a lovely review. We now also have an outdoor heated doggy shower next to the field which we hope you will like. We hope to see you again soon.

Last minute break.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this cottage as a last minute getaway. Lovely cottage decorated with Christmas tree. Lovely hamper for humans and dogs. Comfy beds. Throws provided for sofa and beds.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lauren replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Dorothy Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our Christmas decorations. We hope to see you again soon.

Pawfect

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time, everything was perfect and they were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We would highly recommend this lovely cottage and will be coming back soon .

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lauren replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Alison, We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely review. We have made a few changes since you were last here, including new comfy sofas and an outdoor heated doggy shower. We hope you come again soon.