FB Twitter

Farthing Cottage

Farthing Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Modern, comfortable and very dog friendly cottage
  • One of a pair purpose built for holiday letting in the friendly village of Trunch.
  • Easy, open plan living space, underfloor heating and slate floor
  • Very secure garden with sold 6ft+ fence all round,
  • Very popular choice with multiple dog owners
  • Short walk to the dog friendly local pub
  • Few minutes' drive to many of the local, sandy and dog friendly beaches.
  • The owners are real dog lovers and are happy for any number of dogs to holiday here

Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a find! Farthing Cottage was a Home from Home experience. Comfortable, Very dog friendly. Secure back garden and large front entrance for your pet to roam around. The availability of a bath was a lovely surprise after the long days out exploring the Norfolk coast. A log burner added a relaxing and warming touch. Super fast internet service was great for our teenager. Overall just a lovely place to spend sometime away.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Comfortable and relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay and perfect for the dogs. Trunch is a really friendly and well located village with easy access to the seaside and the broads. We used the local shop, pub ,and even booked the car in for a service at the garage down the road :-) Farthing Cottage is very cosy and a real home from home. We have booked again with East Ruston but this time we are venturing to a different location after staying here twice

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!





Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the beautiful farthing cottage lovely friendly village lovely size house a real home from home. Sue was great made booking easy and made sure we had everything we needed couldn't ask for more thank you to sue and louise for making our stay wonderful. Should just say the dogs loved the garden xx

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a great time. The cottage is great, comfortable and super dog friendly. It was so nice to not have to worry about all the rules of what our best friend is allowed to do whilst in the cottage.
It’s set in a sweet little village where everyone is very welcoming.
We look forward to going again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Great stay in Farthing Cottage, Trunch

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, nice village, and some great walks nearby (as well as some good local pubs) - thanks for an excellent week!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Our first cottage holiday with our dogs

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole booking process was so easy and when we arrived at the cottage we were pleasantly surprised how welcoming it all was. The dogs immediately went for a good sniff and nosy round. The garden is totally enclosed so we felt confident there would be no escapees. The village of Trunch is very quiet with plenty of walks for humans and dogs and I managed to go running every day down the quiet country lanes. The beach isn’t too far away either. All in all Farthing Cottage was the perfect location for us. The cottage itself was definitely a home from home and I think we will be returning for another holiday.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



3rd visit

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd visit to this cottage. Very well equipped in kitchen. Tv's in both bedrooms. All linens and towells provided. Quiet village location with pub and shop. Ideally located for Mundsley beach a short drive.
Secure garden for dogs.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





A four-legged review

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every year our humum takes us on holiday, and this year was the bestest by far! Not only did we stay for free but we were also allowed on the furniture! (Bonus!!) We had our own secure garden...so no peeing on-lead (we hate that) and it was so peaceful we could sleep without being disturbed after a busy day at the beach or in the woods. Thanks to the Barking Buggle magazine Mum found loads of great dog friendly places to take us, we even rode on a steam train one day! Bacton woods were our most favorite place, we went there every day. We would definitely recommend Farthing Cottage to other furry guests. Woofs and wags, Ollie & Bruno, Elmo & Chip

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.



Home from home!

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time! The cottage is beautiful, clean and well kept. The location is perfectt. We loved all the welcome gifts. The home made dog treats went down well! Us humans and the dogs felt at home right away. The garden is perfect for dogs ours loved playing out as did my 8 year old daughter. Cant wait to book to come again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





An excellent break in a lovely area

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely brilliant break again at Trunch, ideal location with lots of beach and woodland walks for our 2 St Bernards. Will book again soon.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Last minute break in Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and well equipped with plenty of parking off road. It was situated in a quiet vliiage with a shop and pub within walking distance. Bonnie our golden oldie loved spending time outside on the grass in the very secure garden. There was dog beds, towels and accessories as well as welcoming treats for dog and humans alike.
It was a short drive to the coast and we loved going to the coastal times just for a walk round and coffee on the front as we were lucky to have good weather.
If you are feeling adventurous, drive about 14 miles South of the village to hire a day boat on the Broads and they also welcome dogs onboard.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



A lovely stay in nolfolk with the dog

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely cottage. Beautifully kept and perfect for taking the dog too! Would recommend for anyone looking for a uk break near the coast/beautiful walks.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Stay at Farthing Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property had everything we needed. Lovely and clean and welcoming. Have already booked to go again.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Brilliant dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super cottage well suited to families with multi dogs. All needs catered for with lots of extras. Very comfortable for humans as well. Kitchen well thought out with all the the necessary equipment to cater independently. Garden dog friendly and easy to keep clean. Would recommend cottage

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Wonderful little home from home!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous little place. Comfortable, well equipped and totally dog friendly! Ideally located for the beautiful beaches and nearby woodland areas.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





A dog friendly home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing Cottage is perfect for people with dogs. There is no limit to how many dogs you can take and there is everything there that you would need during your stay. We had a lovely week there with lots of walks around nearby areas. Highly recommended

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Excellent place beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We couldn’t fault the cottage it was lovely plenty big enough garden location is so near everything people are so friendly Cottage was very clean bed very comfy every thing you needed was there we will be coming again thanks fir every thing sue

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





An amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely Easter break at farthing cottage, greeted with cake and prosecco, and special home baked treats for the dog. Lots of room for the four of us. We used it as a base for exploring all the lovely spacious beaches in Norfolk.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





A nice place to visit

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Farthing cottage is spacious and comfortable with everything you need provided, plenty of games and books and even a dart board in the garage for those wet days. The rear garden is very secure so if you are bringing dogs it's no problem. The local pub is only a short walk away and has recently become a community run business very friendly and nice food but limited choice at the moment. We did have an issue with the heating / hot water as the boiler had lost pressure, this took a day and a half to get sorted as no one at East Ruston Cottages was responding to our calls or texts, when they finally did they called Louise the cleaner who came round with her husband Shane and they sorted it all out, they were very friendly and contacted the owner of the cottage who was upset that our much needed break had been spoilt. Despite this we would stay there again and recommend it to others. We have yet to hear from East Ruston Cottages.



An excellent break in a lovely area

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is ideal for walks in the local area or following a 5 min drive to Mundsley beach, a large expanse of beach. If you wish to venture further afield,then the coast to the North and South have lovely walks and dog friendly beaches. Many also have dog friendly cafes for a hot drink and food. The accommodation was an ideal size for 2 adults and 2 St Bernards, with a nice size garden for them to use. The village has a local shop and Pub both of which are a very short walk from the cottage. The Pub is dog friendly and offers food most days/evenings, they also offer various takeaway Pizzas, freshly made, we highly recommend especially on your first night saves cooking. The area offers a vast myriad of entertainment options covering every taste.
We liked the village that much we are now looking at retiring there in the next 12 months.





Perfect for a quiet break and a tour of Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very clean and comfortable and is supplied with everything you need. The underfloor heating and the log fire made it very snug in winter when we have stayed there.The garden is completely enclosed with a decent high fence so is dog proof. There are many walks from the front door across beautiful countryside,maps are provided. The village is very quiet and pretty but only 10 minutes from a larger town with all the amenities. It is also a short drive from many lovely beaches. East Ruston Cottages are not just dog friendly,they positively encourage you to bring your dogs and supply everything you need. Can't recommend them highly enough.



Terrific Holiday Coattge

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week's holiday over Christmas at Farthing Cottage in Trunch, Norfolk. This was our second visit to the cottage but it was our first visit to Norfolk in the winter. The cottage was perfect, very clean and welcoming and was very tastefully decorated for Christmas. There were even lots of presents from the cottage owners and the cottage company for our 2 Boxer dogs, a very nice gesture and much appreciated! There was also a nice bottle of Prosecco and a cake for us! There are good dog walks around the village of Trunch and brilliant beach walks not too far away. Trunch has a good local shop and a nice pub which is also dog-friendly.
This was a perfect getaway over the Christmas period and we have no hesitation in recommending it.




Break in the country

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weeks break in Farthing Cottage with 6 well behaved small dogs. When we arrived there was a welcoming bottle of prosecco chilling in the fridge which was enjoyed with our evening meal. There are many good pubs nearby which welcome dogs and have a good selection of ales. I can recommend Farthing Cottage and whoever stays there I'm sure will enjoy all the home comforts it has to offer .



Our First Stay in Norfolk

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved what we saw of Norfolk. Unfortunately we had awful weather and came home early. It was difficult to find places to shelter from the rain when out and about with two big dogs. The weather was dry at times and we explored some of the coast - I particularly liked Overstrand. The cottage was very cosy and warm, clean and well equipped.
A few suggestions:
some more hooks please in the hall and living space to hang coats and towels
bigger dog beds - we have two large greyhounds and what was provided wasn't really adequate especially as the sofas are quite small. We were a bit squashed on the two sofas!
Hooks in the bathroom please - there is nowhere to put bathrobes or clothes
the dining table is too big for the size of the cottage as is the coffee table. We rearranged the furniture to make it less cluttered. I suggest putting a smaller dining table against the wall but with leaves so that ir can be extended if required. I hope this feedback is helpful




really dog friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Farthing cottage is a really dog friendly place to stay. Totally secure garden.
Cottage so clean and tidy.
Great off road walk a short way from the doorstep and beaches a short drive away.
Everything you could possibly need was provided.
Really enjoyed our stay here.




Soooo Dog Friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful very dog friendly cottage. Everything provided for dogs and humans. The garden is perfect as the only access is through the cottage so no chance of escapees!



Lovely relaxing cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and comfortable. Welcome package for humans and hounds a nice touch, thankyou. Nicely situated for the beaches and national trust properties. Extremely dog friendly and we’ll be back. Our three dogs have come home for a rest



May half term break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
super location: quiet village, shop a few feet away, circular walk on doorstep, off set from road, quiet at night, close to many places to visit,everyone we met friendly and welcoming.
house: comfortable sofas, very comfy beds, well equipped, lovely garden, garage great for storing bikes, great extras like: dog beds, dog toys, dart board, DVD, ps2, BBQ, crabbing equipment.
improvements could include: more powerful shower (though Norfolk water pressure not great I know) Bath a bit damaged inside, sharper cooking knives, better placed mirror in bedroom for hair drying.
Cleaners arrived as we were leaving. A lovely warm and welcoming couple.
Thank you, we really enjoyed our stay.