FB Twitter

Badger's Retreat

Badger's Retreat

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Colourful, spacious and well planned and self contained, single storey annexe
  • Sleeps 2 in a double bedroom
  • Full of character and style
  • Perfectly located for easy dog walking and cycling on the Weavers Way
  • Near many dog friendly sandy beaches and woods.
  • Only two miles from the market town of Stalham

Cuddle up in Badgers Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Badgers Retreat is a little gem. Terri and Richard have just taken over this little cottage and it was a pleasure to be their first guests. They a lovely, genuine people, who can't do enough to look after their guests.
The property itself is ideal for 2 people who want time out to chill out, but is also close enough to local pubs if you fancy some company.
We were extremely lucky with the weather, so we were able to go out every day. Not reallisure what you could do if it's bad weather, but we did choose to have a winter break, so you sort of expect it.
Badgers Retreat is only about 5 miles away from the local beaches, which are beautiful and extremely dog friendly in the winter. We more or less had the beach to ourselves.
I will definitely be booking for next winter.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



The perfect place to escape and enjoy peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely quirky cottage, super comfy sofas, log burner, well equipped, log burner, super views and enclosed garden perfect for your doggy companions. Only a short walk to join the Weavers way for excellent walks and dog friendly pub serving great food within comfortable walking distance. Surrounded by superb beaches, what more could you ask for ?

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Certainly will consider it.





Tranquil and beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved Badgers Retreat. The accommodation is really attractively and imaginatively decorated and fitted out and is part of a beautiful farmhouse in a really quiet position. No other houses nearby and looking out across fields and woods. At night there was zero light pollution and we loved that. The garden was really pretty and fully enclosed so we felt safe to let the dogs explore and use it. We came for quiet and we got it. It is all very private and warm and cosy with an excellent wood burner - as well as the central heating of course. Craig and Susan and their family were lovely. Very friendly and we always knew they were there to help, but they left us alone unless we needed anything. Delicious home made cake and flowers and all the basics like tea and coffee and some eggs and milk were all there on arrival. You can buy anything you need in nearby Stalham and this is a great centrally located place from which to explore the beautiful beaches, the amazing Broads and all of Norfolk. Has never been to Norfolk before and we absolutely loved it. A really unique landscape- it even has seals! Whom/which we saw close up! We did a lot of walking and a lot of relaxing. We will definitely return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Already booked!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Great stay at Badgers

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great week at Badgers Retreat (3rd). A lovely warm welcome from Craig and Susan – thank you for the milk, eggs and delicious cake
We really haven’t done much, but haven’t felt the need to. Our evenings have been spent cosily in the cottage.
Looking forward to our next stay at Badgers

Thank you Craig and Susan.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





Lovely Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm welcome from owners, delicious homemade cake.
Lovely cosy cottage with dog proof garden which is a wonderful sun trap.
Really enjoyed my stay.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!





A great retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very warm and welcoming little property, perfect for two people. Exceptionally dog friendly with a pretty, well maintained and secure garden for our two terriers and a wonderful spot to sit out and take in the open field views. On cooler days there is a very comfortable living room or conservatory to relax in. Hosts were very welcoming with delicious home made fruit cake and freshly laid eggs. Weavers Way is a good dog walk right on the doorstep or just a short drive away there are many sandy beaches, Bacton Wood or Pigney's Wood. This whole area is very dog friendly with cafes and pubs providing good quality food and Norfolk folks are always warm and welcoming. If you want a peaceful, relaxing holiday but within easy reach of good beaches, woods or The Broads then this can't be beaten.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!

How likely are you to return?
Would love to come back!



Brilliant break in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Badgers Retreat. Great location overlooking open fields but also near to the coast and easy shopping in Stalham.
Fantastic walks on the Weavers Way and super friendly and helpful hosts Susan & Craig. We left feeling very relaxed and our two beagles loved it , especially the lovely garden. Highly recommend and would definitely return.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Wonderful time, loved it

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We celebrated our Ruby wedding here , it was wonderful . The owners are lovely and made us feel very welcome . Plenty of room very comfortable in fact it was perfect . The weather even behaved for us ! Easy to get out and about and visit the tourist attractions, we also enjoyed the peace and tranquility around us highly recommend this, our two dogs loved the garden too thank you x

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Badgers Retreat holiday let

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Badgers Retreat was Great for us and perfect for dogs ,first place weve ever been to where the garden was really secure!
Sueand Craig were very helpful and perfect hosts we would recomend it to our friends


How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





Lovely quirky place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable place with lots of room although the bed wasn’t very comfortable. The conservatory had a very comfortable day bed & ideal for a relaxing read (although it was so comfy i kept falling asleep!) Great shower & roomy bathroom.
The garden was gorgeous and properly enclosed, ideal for our dog. Doggy treats, dishes, pooh bags & even a pooh bin were provided.
Lovely home made cake & fresh eggs were left for us. Freshly cut flowers were a lovely finishing touch.
We live in lincs so are used to farm smells but just be aware of manure & pig aromas from the farm at the back & down the road.
There is dog boarding kennels next to the farm house, which didn’t bother us as we’re always up early but you can hear the dogs barking.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Another enjoyable week at Badgers Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Enjoyed our stay at BR. A nice cottage with large, enclosed garden which our dog enjoyed. in good location for the Broads and several nice beaches.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Ok for dogs.





Blissful week away!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always badgers retreat was spotlessly clean on arrival and Susan had made a beautiful marmalade cake which was just perfect with a cuppa after a long journey. The cottage has everything you could need and is set in a beautiful location with a wealth of outstanding aytractions (both natural and man made)nearby.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!





badgers retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful holiday at Badgers retreat .The cottage was home from home, Excellent walled garden for the dogs. Went on long walks along weavers way and only a few miles away from quiet beaches where our fur babies had the best time . Sue and Craig were very helpful and friendly and thankyou for the Welcome pack Homemade cake ,fresh eggs and milk and doggy biscuits, . Cheryl Gerry and Pandora,Charlie

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!



Second stay

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at Badger's retreat and possibly not our last. The cottage is really cosy, clean and kept nicely. The owners sue and Craig are wonderful and there if you need them, Craig even made the effort to let us know about some passing wild dear so we didn't miss the beautiful sight. Perfect location for several beaches and there's loads to do around the area without venturing too far if you don't want. Only slight niggle is the shower is a little unpredictable with the water getting very hot at times.

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Never been anywhere so dog welcoming before!



Wonderful Norfolk

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, with such a great cottage in a fabulous location you can’t go wrong.
The owners are most welcoming and very helpful, nothing’s too much trouble.
With a well planted garden that is also secure you can relax in comfort knowing that your dogs are safe.
Excellent 5*

How dog friendly was this property for you?
Great for dogs!





Relaxing week at Badger’s Retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, lots of lovely walks on the doorstep. Beautiful, colourful garden, not totally large dog proof as jumpers could easily jump over the wall, but thankfully ours didn’t! Cosy and comfortable annexe, loved the conservatory and the day bed was a comfy place to sit and read or relax and look at the beautiful garden. Well equipped, we found the kitchen area a bit of a challenge as we cooked all our meals for the week, but the owners had obviously tried their best with the small space. Lovely cosy lounge with wood burner, comfy sofas and plenty of throws provided. Craig and Susan were friendly and helpful. We really appreciated the vegan flapjacks and the gorgeous fresh spring flowers when we arrived.



A good time had by all

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all (two adults, three dalmatians and an Irish Red & White Setter) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Badger's Retreat.The accommodation was clean, comfortable, warm and well appointed; in fact the sofas were so comfortable we wondered if anyone would notice if we strapped them on the roofrack! There were good walks nearby to exercise the dogs before breakfast, giving us time to plan the rest of our day at our leisure. The garden was secure (for dogs that don't jump; I imagine the 3-foot wall at the front would be no problem for some!) so the dogs could wander in and out without us having to worry about their safety. The provision of books, DVDs and games as well as TV and WiFi meant wet days were catered for as well. It would have been nice to have been able to walk to get the daily newspaper, but the wonderully rural location meant that wasn't possible. The dogs adored their daily runs on the beaches - a real novelty for them, living as we do in the centre of the country. Winterton beach was our favourite, and the food in the dog-friendly beach cafe was delicious. All in all, a very pleasant break for us!



Badger's Retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to book and helpful.
Enjoyed our stay with our 4 dogs
Good location. Walks from the door and a 15 minute drive to the coast.
Owners were lovely and very helpful.
The cottage was comfortable and well equipped.




Dog Friendly cottage in a beautiful rural location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this holiday, from first booking to heading home, was pretty much on-point. Sue at East Ruston is professional and courteous. Craig, who owns Badger's Retreat, was the perfect host. The little touches on arrival made us feel welcome (local produce, fresh flapjack, treats for the dog), and he kept that perfect balance of being close enough if we needed anything, and far enough away that we never felt put-upon.
The cottage is very well maintained and comfortable. We brought our rather shy rescue-dog along. He settled in immediately. The garden is secure, so your dog can wander around with minimal supervision.
North Norfolk is a beautiful place to tour, and there is plenty of tourist information leaflets in the cottage, if you prefer to make it up as you go along, rather than planning it all in advance.
All in all - a great place, and a great break. Would not hesitate to recommend.