FB Twitter

The Byre

The Byre

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 93 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


High Kirkland is a small holiday development consisting of three high quality self-catering units converted from the house and buildings of what was previously a small croft approximately 1 mile from the attractive coastal town of Kirkcudbright, tucked away in rural South West Scotland.

Perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre has a beautiful unobstructed view to the South over rolling countryside, with grazing sheep and cattle. We saw a number of red kites, and we were planet spotting every evening.

The location is extremely quiet, but it's only a short walk down to Kirkcudbright. We walked down to the Selkirk Arms most nights for drinks.

Accommodation very good, and notably secluded, with loads of parking space. Wifi service and 4G on EE were all very good.

If you like your baths, The Byre has the best hot water supply of any holiday accommodation I've ever stayed in.

Highly recommended.




R&R

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is a fabulous property in a beautiful location. There are all the mod cons yet you are in the middle of the countryside. The skies at night are absolutely amazing. You have wildlife literally on your doorstep. The village 1 mile away as every think you could ask for. I cannot recommend it enough there are all the mod cons yet you are in the middle of the countryside. The skies at night are absolutely amazing. You have wildlife literally on your doorstep. The village 1 mile away has every think you could ask for. I cannot recommend it enough.



Another year at The Byre!

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 6th year of staying at the Byre in September. It's such a peaceful spot for a break, while being close to fantastic local amenities. The cottage is a home from home and has all you need for a great stay. There's lots to see and do in the region, or if like us you have a dog, there's lots and lots of walking and beach opportunities. We will be back in 2020.



Lovely holiday in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from the Byre and have had a lovely holiday. The cottage was in a very peaceful location with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. The Byre is a very spacious, well appointed and comfortable cottage and is in the perfect spot for exploring the surrounding areas. We had beautiful warm weather all week and had plenty of trips out. We hope to return in the future.



Great place to stay in Kirkcudbright

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really super communication - Donald was an immense help with all the requests we had. The property was excellent - for our two families and accessible for Kirkcudbright and Cardoness Chapel.



peace and quiet

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great location, very quiet and peaceful. Not even the sound of traffic in the distance. The cottage is clean and comfortable. very nice holiday.



Lovely stay in Kirkcudbright cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed everything. The accommodation was just what we needed. We think there's room for a bigger bed in the main bedroom in the Byre given the room is so big. Bathroom was particularly nice and everything was as good as we needed.



Simply wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at The Byre. This is our seventh visit and it gets more difficult to leave. Just the ultimate chillout with lots to do and see. Looking forward to our return.



Fantastic, well equipped cottage in a lovely rural location.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic, well equipped cottage in a lovely rural location. The Byre was very clean and comfortable and had everything and more provided for a lovely stay. We were travelling with two young children and found the cottage was well equipped for this also. The location was perfect just a few minutes drive out of the town and very handy to explore the gorgeous coast line and surrounding areas. When booking Donald was very attentive with making sure we had all the information for our stay and upon meeting him at the cottage made us feel very welcome. We will hopefully be returning next year for another holiday.



Another visit!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another stay at the Byre and the weather has been fabulous - sun didn't stop shining all week! The calves and bullocks have kept us entertained once again..lovely to see so many and if you are careful, they will come over for a nosey!

Great base to travel from - visited Glentrool, Portpatrick and Drumlanrig Castle amongst others. Also, close to town for groceries and a fish and chip supper at Polarbites!

Love this area for being so dog friendly too - so many places welcome a furry friend. Big shout out to Brambles on the A710 between Dalbeattie and Kippford, a small local business that provides quality food and great customer service.

Thanks again to Donald, Jim and everyone at High Kirkland for making us feel so welcome xx Hope to see you all soon (and hope Kirkcudbright will have restocked the prosecco!!!) Have a great summer!




Brilliant place for a family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked all 3 cottages for a family get together. Was a lovely peaceful location and safe for children. Cottages were clean and welcoming. Owners were very helpful from start to finish. Would definitely stay here again.



Fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at both Robins Nest and Herons View, the Byre did not disappoint, well equipped and nice decor and very comfortable. Stunning views what more can anyone want.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all three cottages - a fantastic location for my sisters hen do. So much space and beautiful location. Donald was SO helpful - with suggestions for pubs, activities, taxis and answered all our questions about logistics.
We would definitely go back for a group holiday and would highly recommend to others.




The Byre

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had everything we required for our short break. It was clean, up to date and comfy. The location is excellent just outside of Kirkcudbright. Really enjoyed staying here. Hopefully back again next year if we can all get same holidays.



Great 30th Birthday!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked all three cottages for my 30th Birthday and had the a fantastic time! The cottages are spacious and homely with log burners in each, perfectly located with no neighbours to disturb but only a 20 minutes walk into the village. The views are breathtaking and the communication from Donald was excellent. We’ll be back, thank you.



Perfect place, central base for local wildlife and garden visits

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Several stays here now, always good. Peaceful location, lovely views and welcome cosy retreat from the predictably bad weather we always seem to catch!



Wonderful home from home!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth year holidaying at High Kirkland and staying in The Byrne. We cannot recommend it highly enough! It's a fantastic touring base; has easy access to local amenities; extremely comfortable with all you need.



Peaceful and restful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it here - the only real noise were the sheep and cows in the field next door, which shows how quiet it was. The cottage had everything you could need and the owner popped over the check everything was good, which was nice.

The cottage is just a 5 to 10 minute walk into central Kirkcudbright, depending how long you've spent in the Masons Arms, sampling over 200(!) gins or the Selkirk Arms for a wonderful meal! We also went into the Auld Alliance and that was a very nice meal - although do book as it's popular.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Peace perfect peace! Agreed, the short journey back up tot the cottages after a evening of indulgence can be a little more effort!

It was areally good experience

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My son and I had a week staying in The Byre three years ago so we knew what it was like. Everything was as good as we remembered...... the location, the comfortable sitting room and the well designed kitchen. Altogether it was the basis of a very enjoyable holiday



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you

5 star, super little cottage in an excellent location, we loved every minute of our stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please don't hesitate to book a stay at this cottage, it is everything and more you would look for, well equipped in a beautiful setting, you will find the accommodation welcoming and charming. Set within a farm, the views are stunning and there is nothing to disturb the peace except for the sound of some sheep and cattle, you will find yourself at home within minutes of arriving. The cottage is a great place to stay if you are touring around or sampling looking to relax. The owner Donald is a pleasure to communicate with, he keeps in touch to ensure you have the best stay possible and put us in touch with a local caterer who supplied us with the most amazing supper and formal dinner. I would go back myself and would strongly recommend these cottages to friends and family . We hired all three cottages for the weekend and all were of the same excellent standard and extremely well equipped, every single one of our party loved staying at High Kirkland. Thank you Donald you and your team provide a five star holiday experience at an excellent price, I hope to visit again some day.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to say with us!

Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage. very clean and comfortable. Cows and sheep a bonus to watch Ideal for a long weekend of walking



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Who needs Televisions when you have entertainment from the fields! I think the animals quite enjoy being centre of attention! Thank you for your comments

Sunny week

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a sunny week staying at the Byre. The cattle and calves provided the entertainment. Unlimited views everyday and a guaranteed uphill climb when returning after a bike ride! Plenty of room tho house all the bikes. Our friends were in the other cottage. The big bed was so comfortable and everything was good. After 21 years of coming to Kircudbright at that time of year we had no rain, hail or gales!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
At last, you got the much deserved summer weather! It's just glorious! Thank you, we hope to see you back in the future.

Back at the Byre!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accommodation in a fabulous setting - love this place and keeps me coming back!

So much to see and do in the local area including Dundrennan Abbey - we even got a guided tour from Glyn, the curator so I promised him I’d give it a mention! It’s one of those places that I usually drive through and not bother with but was an interesting visit and worth a stop.

Weather was mixed so a couple of afternoons were spent in the cottage with a cuppa - didn’t bother with the telly as the young calves kept us entertained for hours! Seeing them really makes my holiday complete.

The power cut affecting Kirkcudbright made for an interesting couple of hours but didn’t last long!

New bedroom furniture was very comfortable and hoping that new beds are on the cards for the twin room (slight jealousy from my friend staying with me!)

Sending our best wishes to Jim and family - he always remembers me and stops for a chat xx

Hope to see you all again soon xx




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It sounds like an eventful and most enjoyable week! Glad to hear the power cut spoil your holiday, it just adds to the experience! Thank you for the suggestions, we must visit Dundrennan Abbey, it's somewhere I visited as a child but haven't been back to in a very long time! We will certainly look into the single beds. Hopefully see you back soon!

Excellent short break

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic couple of nights away. Beautiful peaceful location with lovely views. Very clean comfortable cottage. Well equipt has everything you could possibly need. Nice walk into Kirkcudbright. Would highly recommend.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
The Perfect 10 year anniversary getaway I'd say! Thank you for coming!

Happy week at The Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at The Byre was, once again, very enjoyable. The house is well appointed, comfortably furnished, warm, clean and well equipped.
The setting is very tranquil, with a pleasurable view across the fields, enhanced by the chance of seeing a red kite or buzzard. A stay at The Byre can be highly recommended.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. The large picture window in the living room certainly seems to suit wildlife spotting.

A fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Byre and then Robin’s Nest. The facilities are good and it is in a beautiful rural location but close to Kircudbright (we walked several times!). The town has everything you need and we particularly enjoyed lunch at the Selkirk Arms.
I would like to thank Donald Dunlop as a fantastic host who helped with several extras that we needed for our baby twin boys. This cottage is highly recommended!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Glad we could accommodate you all. We enjoyed meeting you and your family. Many thanks for the wine!

Thanks.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very relaxing break in a lovely setting. Our first in Kirkcudbrigh. We shall return. 1234567



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, Kirkcudbright really is a lovely little town.

Lovely!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My weekend at the cottage was nice and relaxing and was very well equipped, with complimentary tea/coffee and shortbread for our arrival. As Kirkcudbright is my hometown, during my stay at the cottage it didn't even feel like I was still in Kirkcudbright and felt like i was somewhere different with all the wildlife around us! Will definitely be back again for another visit!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Gemma, glad to enjoyed a relaxing weekend!

Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent value clean comfortable cottage in a quiet location with lovely views would definitely recommend to friends and family



90th birthday and family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great value accommodation with great amenities, comfortable beds, well appointed kitchens and utilities.
Nice to be in a complex of 3 cottages as a family. Without having to live on top of each other in one cottage we were all able to gather together in Heron View for a sit down meal for 17.
Donald was easy to communicate with and made a special effort to help us with the party so close to Xmas.
We would recommend and will return.




Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage which was well situated. Close to the town and woods for walking the dog. Well equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge/dining area and beds



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are very lucky with our location. Glad the walks around High Kirkland can be enjoyed by all.

Autumn visit

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've now lost count of the number of times I've stayed at the Byre - in fact I had only been home 48 hours before booking the next visit!!

This is a fabulous place to stay - clean, comfortable and in a great location. We arrived just before Storm Ophelia hit and spent a lively night watching the weather unfold! However, warm and cosy within the thick walls of the Byre.

Lovely to see Jim again!

Only downside on this visit was the "debris" from the escaped cows left on the lawn - not easy trying to ensure that the dog didn't end up walking through it and into the cottage!

See you all next year!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
You are nearly part of the bricks Fiona, delighted you have booked your next visit already. We will try to ensure the cows are better behaved next time!!

My stay at the Byre

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay. Warm and comfortable. Great scenery. Highly recommend it. Very central...



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Yes, The Byre is a very cosy cottage, I am glad you found it so. Thank you for your recommendation.

Feedback

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our short stay in the cottage. The only comment we would make was that the ironing board cover was badly stained.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for letting us know about the ironing board cover. It has now been replaced. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable property in lovely quiet location with amazing views ( on a clear day !! ) of surrounding countryside.
Well equipped with general items but would benefit from roasting tins for chicken/ roast potatoes and a baking tray.
Excellent heating and hot water systems but lot of wasted hot water due to lack of washing up bowl ( sink uses much more water than bowl) Found water system noisy if toilet flushed during night.
Very good laundry facilities but needs new clothes airer as one provided would not stand upright
Owner very prompt with e mail queries and helpful when we had to amend our holiday dates due to personal circumstances- thank you.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return again if wanting to revisit the area.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we will certainly look getting a new clothes airer and we have now bought new roasting tins as Christmas is fast approaching! Thank you

Fabulous cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th year at The Byre. It's a fantastic cottage, with everything you need. The location is great; quiet, peaceful, lots of wildlife, but you can still walk down the hill into the town for shopping. Great touring base, loads to see and do. Also great walking base. We will be back for year 5!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We look forward to welcoming you back for a fifth year. Roll on 2018!

Perfect Peace and Quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was the perfect base for exploring Dumfries and Galloway, an area we had never visited before. The facilities were very good and the location stunning. We were looking for some peace and quiet after a busy few months and we definitely found this. The Byre was comfy and cosy and gave us the relaxing break we were looking for.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are certainly very lucky to live in such a scenic area with plenty going on. Very happy to hear you found the cottage met your needs. We hope to see you back someday, thank you.

Very Enjoyable

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable holiday. All necessary items provided. Very comfortable and great views. Been visiting for years.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you keep coming back to stay in our cottage. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place for anyone who has mobility issues as it is on one level although no walk in shower . Comfortable and ideal if other family in neighbouring properties



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you found the cottage comfortable and you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments.

Short break combined with work

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Return visit, not disappointed, lovely tranquil scenic setting with home comforts. Good base for birdwatching, photography and visitng the areas stunning gardens. Great to be able to bring our little dog too.
Very efficient booking, Donald very attentive. Shame its so far from our south coast Sussex home and that half the stay was for work!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to have you back. Hope the wifi and scenery made your work manageable! See you again soon, I hope.

Excellent weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent weekend away in High Kirkland's three properties: The Byre, Robin's Nest and Heron's View.

The location of the cottages is perfect; remote & beautiful and all three cottages are comfortable, with modern kitchens and it was the ideal location for our group get together.

Nearby there are plenty of outdoor activities too, so you'll never be short of things to do.

Highly recommended.




A Dog Friendly Gem in a Superb Location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent property in a beautiful location only a couple of miles from the town centre. The cottage is dog friendly with lots of space around it for a quick 'exercise'.

The cottage is in very good condition, just showing a slight fraying around some edges, particularly the light coloured lounge carpet - though hardly worth mentioning.

The place is well equpped with cutlery, crockery, cooking implements, etc although the frying pan was knackered! Bed linen and towels we plentiful and excellently laundered. The kitchen equipment was clean and fully functional.

The wifi was free and worked exceptionally well. There is adequate parking. The owner Donald was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The farm animals and wildlife were a delight.

Some might find the sound of the water pump and water heater a little noisy at night but it didn't affect us at all. Just conscious it was there, particulary the toilet tank filling in the night.

I'm sorry if this sounds picky because the cottage was absolutely ideal for us and our two geriatric dogs, in fact the best we have stayed in for many a long year. We will return!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you all thoroughly enjoyed your stay, dogs included. Thank you for your positive comments and we also value your suggestions for improvements. The carpet will be replaced this winter and we had no idea about the frying pan but a new one is now in its place!

Another stay at the Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the few places I have stayed where I can truly relax and enjoy my holiday!

This year, the surrounding fields were full of young calves (too adorable!) and I could quite easily have brought one of the bullocks home (not sure the dog would have approved!)

Thanks as ever to Jim for our morning chats as he feeds the bullocks - he always remembers me from previous visits.

The cottage is clean and comfortable and location perfect for the town and going further afield with its proximity to the A75.

Perfect, just perfect!! ❤️




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear, relaxing is what holidays are all about it. Jim will be delighted with his mention and I have no doubt you will see him again on your next visit! Thank you.

The Byre: fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Byre for 3 nights. The cottage is clean, with all the amenities and features you can possibly need for a long and a short stay. The big window in the living room facing the fields is the best feature. The location is also great, very close to Kirkcudbright but far enough for peace and quite, and nice views.

Highly recommended.




Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything up to its usual standard clean and comfortable, and well equipped .Owner extremely helpful. We'll be back hopefully!



The Byre Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I highly recommend the Byre. It is great value for money. Everything is perfect. Friendly people etc



Fantastic cottage and great value

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is an excellent little cottage and great value for money. Very clean and comfy inside with everything you'd need for a weekend away.



Fabulous Place

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it!!! What a great little cottage. OK the weather could have been a bit kinder, but it is January. Kirkcudbright is a beautiful little town and the people are really friendly. We're looking forward to our next visit already.



Excellent base for short break weekend and longer stays

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this cottage at short notice as I was undertaking a weekend's wildlife photography around Kirkcudbright. Communication with the owners was excellent and straight-forward. The cottage was very well equipped, stocked for the weekend, warm and perfect for my needs. It is in an excellent spot for a quiet break and handy to local facilities. Would definitely recommend.



chill-out capital.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our sixth visit to the Byre and it is just suberb. Wonderful scenery, great local attractions, great food. If you need chilling out this is the only place to go!



The Avril Pryor review

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything about the byre was excellent maybe the carpet in the lounge should be changed, it was slightly stained and looked grubby in places. Other than that we were very happy with the cleanliness and comfort in the cottage. Kitchen facilities were excellent and in the evening it was so quiet we slept like logs.



Perfect place to stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd year at The Byre. If you want a perfect touring base, this is it! There is lots to see and do in the region. Kirkcudbright is just down the hill for local shopping, eating, art, the harbour. The Byre has everything you need, is comfortable, and is so peaceful. We will be booking again.



Our holiday cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely comfortable cottage well equipped quiet and peaceful, a place to feel totally relaxed truly a place to visit again. All the wildlife and animals add to the pleasure of the stay.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are very lucky that we have a rural setting but we are close to many of Dumfries and Galloway's fantastic attractions. We hope to see you again soon.

Really enjoyed staying at the byre

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice house in lovely location. Minor improvement would be thicker curtains to keep out early morning light. Cattle in the field provided great entertainment.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. The only way to improve is by our guests informing us of issues. We will address this in the near future. The entertainment from the four legged (highly trained) wildlife comes for free!!

Spot on holiday cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at "The Byre" and nothing has changed, it is still as good as it was the first time. Really good accommodation in a lovely part of the country. Quiet and peaceful within walking distance of Kirkcudbright.
Plenty to see and do in the area, whether it`s walking, cycling,or golfing, and there are some really beautiful gardens well worth a visit as well.
I have a feeling this won`t be our last visit to High Kirkland.
Our only slight niggle would be when using the oven it had a tendency set of the Heat alarm in the kitchen when you opened the oven door, although we do realise this is a necessary safety feature.
For anyone who prefers to eat in, we would highly recommend the Steak Pies from Hall & sons, butcher in Kirkcudbright.

Thanks again Donald and Robin.




Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Jim, It's always good to see you. Thanks again for your comments. We have addressed the problem of the heat alarm and hopefully the next time you come there will be even more peace!

Chillout capital

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is without doubt the chiilout place to destress. Wonderful accomodation that has everything. Fantastic scenery, great people, great dining out. Lots to do for family with many great local attractions. Can't wait to return.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
John, Thank you again for your lovely comments. Dumfries and Galloway is not just the stop off to the Highland's anymore. There is so much to offer and we pride ourselves being a good base to do that from. We hope to see you soon.

Bank Holiday at the Byre

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, very peaceful, very spacious accommodation, short drive down to the village, fabulous surrounding country side, the property was delightful.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Ian, Thank you for your lovely comments. The countryside will hopefully start to blossom soon!!

Fantastic Break

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic short break highly recommend staying at the Byre. Cottage has everything you need and shops not to far away. Clean tidy perfect location. 2nd time here will definetly be back.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recommendation. It's always great to see someone returning! I guess we must be doing something right. We hope to see you again.

a lovely place a lovely place to stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been here many times and live it we normally stay in Robins Nest but this time there was just the two of us.
So we went for the smaller cottage. Which we new was just as nice as Robins Nest. We were not disappointed.
We have been going to High Kirkland for a few years now and we will carry on going well into the future. It's home from home but with a better view. Thank you.




Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, fitted and finished to a very high standard. Very peaceful setting, and lots to do in the area. Kirkcudbright is a lovely little place to explore. We would definitely recommend The Byre to friends and family. Thanks for a great stay!



Perfect Cottage and Perfect Location

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from The Byre and cannot recommend this cottage enough. Everything you need in the cottage and anything you forget can be bought 5 minutes away by car. The views are amazing and cant wait to go back.



A muddy wet week that was most enjoynable

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We greatly enjoyed our stay at The Byre. Kirkcudbright is a nice town and there are lots of places to visit. Great walk up the Cairngorm of Fleet eventhough we have almost been blown of our feet.



Immaculate cottage in good position.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not have been more pleased with the cottage. From the start Donald was good at communicating with me about the cottage (it was a fairly last minute booking). The cottage was well proportioned, well equipped and the immaculately clean. The position of the cottage was also good...just a mile or less outside Kirkcudbright.



Short stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owner very helpful and accommodating as cottage was booked at very last minute. Know the area very well as went to school in Kirkcudbright and was there to visit relatives.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We do try as a small family business to make the whole process as simple as possible. We hope to see you again.

Ideal photo trip base

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last minute trip booked quickly and efficiently with owner. Fabulous accomodation with all the essential home comforts (much appreciated after some wet days out) exceeded our expectations. Peaceful location, ideal base for photography events near Kirkcudbright plus days out to local nature reserves and Galloway Forest. Great for our dog too!
Jackie, Howard and Sweep from Sussex




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are very lucky that we have such a peaceful area but we are on the doorstep of your everyday needs when required. Four legged friends are welcome

A comfortable and convenient place for us to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were at High Kirkland last year but this time we stayed in the smaller cottage, The Byre. This we found to be comfortable, with the same good quality and cleanliness as before. The only thing we missed was the wood burning stove! High Kirkland is in a convenient location just a few minutes drive from Kirkcudbright.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review. We have though long and hard about siting a log burning stove and we will endeavour to and find its position!!

The Byre in October

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife, our two dogs and I stayed for a weekend. The property is in a peaceful location with live entertainment from the cows and sheep in the adjoining fields. It is a fantastic renovation, the highlight being the large window in the front room where the sunlight floods in. The Byre had everything we needed for our break.
There was a slight confusion on arrival as we had not been given notification on how to get in.
We would recommend advance notice about the electric fence or a sign on the fence, particularly for families with children who might be tempted to go up to the fence to see the animals.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your honest comments. We can only improve as a family with our guests feedback. I will attend to the issues that you have raised. We hope to see you again soon.

The Byre - October 2015

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd visit this year and just as enjoyable. Lovely to see some of the calves from my trip in June growing up and my boys still there! Very peaceful and totally relaxing place to stay and unwind. The only downside is leaving!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It's always great to see a friendly face. We have been trying to figure out why those calves have been noisy all summer, but it's clear now that they have just been missing you! We hope to see you again next year.

Another great stay at The Byre!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd year staying in the Byre. It's a perfect cottage, well maintained & stocked. It's a great touring base. It's so tranquil! It's quite possible just to walk down to Kirkcudbright for supplies. Highly recommend.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you again for your very kind comments. The variety of stock in the surrounding fields are the only part of High Kirkland that isn't peaceful. We wouldn't like you to get too lonely! See you next year hopefully

Great experience

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

In all honesty I could not find fault even if I tried. From the first contact with Donald to our short farewell chat it
was nothing other than a wonderful experience. We have been holidaying in Scotland for over 20yrs and this has been by far the " BEST" equipped cottage we have stayed in.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are so grateful for your lovely comments that you left for us. It makes all the hard work so worth while. It was good to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again.

A week in The Byre!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was just as good as it looked on the internet. The furniture was comfortable and the views from the big windows over the countryside was great. We enjoyed seeing the animals and a few birds. It is a lovely area and being so near the town was good ,for visits to art galleries and museum and church......altogether it was as good as I had hoped..



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Sally, Your comments are really appreciated. Our area is very much up and coming for things to do and see which is great. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Short Summer Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, comfortable cottage with panoramic views of the area. Kitchen equipment adequate for most meals, but small frying pan needed replacing. Welcome pack sourced local biscuits - nice touch.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate the comments and we will get onto replacing the pan asap. We hope to see you again.

Perfect for Children

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with our 2 year-old for one week in June. The property is all on one level so didn't have to worry about him falling down / climbing stairs. Amazing large picture window in living room looking out onto field of cows, sheep & bulls and a friendly wave from the farmer & his dogs every morning. Ideal location for exploring local & surrounding area.
The Clarke's From Cleveland




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are glad you had a good week and the extra entertainment from the animals is all part of the package!! Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Great for wildlife

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage is ideally located being in a beautiful rural setting but only a short drive from the charming town of Kirkcudbright. We particularly enjoyed the daily procession of wildlife. Stoats, foxes, pheasants, partridges, bats, hooded crows, swallows and goldfinches were all regularly seen close up. Red Kites and buzzards also flew over. Kirkcudbright is a great place to amble around and soak up the atmosphere. It is called 'the artists town's and lives up to that name.
The cottage itself was comfortable, clean and tidy. A really good place to come home to after a day out touring. If I wanted to be picky I would say that the experience could benefit from a more lavish welcome pack. Touches like that often make the difference. This was our first time visiting Dumfies and Galloway. What a beautiful part of the country and full of friendly people. Highly recommended as a place to visit.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your detailed comments. Kirkcudbright and surrounding area has a vast array of wildlife. We are very lucky to live so close to it all. We even lay on some animal noises free of charge at High Kirkland. Thank you also for your comment about a more detailed welcome pack. It is something I will look to expand on.

The Byre

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It has been nearly 30 years since I first stayed at High Kirkland with my late Mum - little has changed with regards to the peaceful and beautiful surroundings, however the Byre (which was quite literally a byre when I last stayed!) is now a fantastic place to spend a holiday. It is of an excellent standard - clean and comfortable with stunning views of the surrounding countryside.

The livestock get a 10 out of 10 for entertainment value (especially the boys!!) and I could have happily stayed at the cottage all day watching their antics. As a working farm, plenty to see with the sheepdogs rounding up the sheep for shearing and the odd lamb on the loose!

One thing to note for dog owners, the Byre does not have an enclosed garden so any dogs need to be kept under close control especially with livestock so close - the other cottages have a small fenced area so may be a better option for some.

Overall, a fantastic holiday with some great weather and am looking forward to a return visit at some point!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It is always great to see a returning customer. I remember the time when my Mum had a notion to keep goats in The Byre before it was converted. Needless to say they didn't last long with us as they ate everything from flowers to socks off the washing line!! Good memories. Thanks for your lovely comments

Holiday at Kirkcudbright - High Kirkland

Review submitted on Sat, 16 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first holiday in Dunfries and Galloway and we couldn`t have picked a better cottage than "The Byre" at High Kirklands, Everything was just perfect, the cottage was well appointed and very comfortable with lovely views over the country side.
The owners were very welcoming and made sure that all was to our liking, and should there be anything they could do we were just to give them a call. This is a prime example of what a holiday cottage should be.
Although High kirklands is situated in the country side we were within reasonable walking distance of Kirkcubright, which has a host good facilities. I would have no problem recommending this property to anyone, just spot-on.
I`m certain we will return sometime in the future.
Jim from Glenrothes, Fife.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are glad your first trip to the area was shared with us at High Kirkland. We are really lucky that we are situated in a rural quiet spot but we are very close to a variety of places. Thank you for your lovely comments and we will hopefully see you soon.

Best holiday in UK

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the wonderful holiday accomodation and local with everything you need to enjoy the ultimate chill out. The scenery is superb and there is lots to do. There is excellent eat out locally and the local people are very friendly and helpfull. This is my second visit and can't wait to return.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to Mr and Mrs Brown again. They now know the layout and we are very glad it works for them. We are looking forward to their return.

The Byre, Kircudbright

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this peaceful and comfortable cottage. The owner and the people of Kircudbright were very friendly. We were blessed with good weather and enjoyed some fine walks in the surrounding area.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We feel The Byre is a great base for the touring self caterer and it is a peaceful retreat after busy day! The people of Kirkcudbright are really quite sociable!! We hope to see you again.

Home comforts

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really comfortable and cosy cottage; well equipped with all you need for a relaxing stay. The quiet location is a perfect get-away, yet with all the conveniences of Kirkudbright nearby, and a good base for touring the area. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to be back.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We feel we have go a great recipe for a quiet getaway but also being so close to so many of our local delights, We hope to see you soon.

as allways very good

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Oct 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As always excellent xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Love The Byre!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for touring, or just relaxing. Fabulous facilities. Peaceful. You can walk into Kirkcudbright. Can't recommend highly enough. We will be back!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. One of the good things about High Kirkland is that although it is very quiet and rural, we are just a gentle walk from the town of Kirkcudbright. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Quiet and comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very quiet, comfortable and restful stay at the Byre. The accommodation is well-equipped, close to the town and well-located for days out. The setting is lovely and the views over the fields made us feel at home (we live adjacent to the family farm!) Our dog enjoyed the break too.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely comments! We have our livestock highly trained in making sure they are involved in making your break a success!! We hope to see you again in the future!

A place of relaxing heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had a wonderful relaxing feeling to it . There has been excellent provision of amenities gone into the cottage to give its guests a very comfortable stay. Thank you to the Highkirkland team.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your comments. We try to cater for all and on this occasion peace and relaxation seemed to be the recipe. We are pleased that this is what happened and we hope to see you again.

One of the best cottages we have stayed in!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has the perfect location in that it was very secluded but within walking distance of the town. It was extremely well-appointed with plenty of room, modern furnishings, comfortable accommodation and ideal situation. Peace, quiet, rest and recuperation - just what was needed for the tortured soul! We can thoroughly recommend it!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind comments. It was lovely to meet you and to hear about your past visits to Kirkcudbright and indeed knowing mutual friends of our families. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Relaxing holiday in quiet location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Apr 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at The Byre. The cottage is spacious and was fresh and clean with a 'recently decorated' feel to it. The galley kitchen is fairly well equipped but be aware that it has very limited worktop space - something to bear in mind if you're planning to prepare large or complex meals.

The Byre is part of a complex of 3 cottages but we were barely aware of the others who were staying. The main view is across open countryside and away from the other buildings so it feels like you're on your own.

The fields surrounding the cottage were full of sheep (with lambs) and cows (with calves) when we were there, and there were partridges and pheasants running backwards and forwards under the windows. We saw one Red Kite flying over, although on a trip to the Kite Trail near Galloway Forest Park we saw several of these impressive birds. Other venues for days out include the Mull of Galloway, Logan Botanic Garden, Threave Estate, Whithorn, Wigtown and Gatehouse of Fleet.

We would stay again.




A Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Byre on several occasions in past years and can honestly say it is our favourite holiday destination. We are able to take our dog with us and enjoy the many lovely walks around Kirkcudbright and the surrounding district, we are also within walking distance of the shops, and, yet far enough away from the rest of the world to feel able to properly unwind and relax. The Byre is always clean, warm, cosy, quiet and welcoming and we have no hesitation in recommending it to others who are looking for the simple pleasures in life as part of their holiday.



A real home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd short stay here and it felt even more like a home from home this time around. You start to relax and chill out within seconds of walking through the door at this cottage. The scenery is gorgeous. Kirkcudbright is a lovely little town too. I took a couple of bike rides this time too and there is so much to see its unreal.

Big thumbs up from us once again.

Thank you




Excellent relaxing break in the byre

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage easy to find, warm cosy and relaxing. Great window seat that our wee dog loved to sit on and watch the sheep in the nearby field. Kitchen facilities .

Ann and Ian watson




Just perfect - exactly what I had hoped for when booking

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once I fought my way through the fog, rain and darkness I uncovered this little gem of a cottage. Brilliantly refurbished cottage in beautiful countryside - what's not to like?

Loads of room; comfy and cosy and views to die for. Local sheep all of whom have now been named by my kids :-)

I will be booking again the next time I am up as it worked brilliantly for my short stay - think I may bring my bike up though next time and get out and explore properly.

Regards

Jez and family




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are always striving to improve and we are hopefully moving in the right direction.

Great stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage which provided excellent facilities - especially for cyclists, as we had a secure lock up for our bikes and washing and drying facilities to cope with any muddy rides. Red kites flying in the neighbouring field was an added bonus. We hope to return in the future.



our stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very comfortable stay thank you and our dogs had lots of walks to go on It was lovely seeing the animals so close and the cottage was very well equipped and lovely and warm. The only thing that bothered us was, one day when we were out we left the dogs in the cottage. When we got back we were told that some one had entered the cottage to fix something. We could tell that the dogs were stressed out by a stranger entering the cottage with out my husband or myself being there. We did see a man out side the cottage before we left and we asked him if he needed to get in to the one we were staying in before we go because we have dogs in there. He said no so we carried on. But apart from that it was a lovely stay.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. My reply is to clear up the issue of entering your cottage when you weren't there. I actually arrived that morning and I had a couple of essential jobs to complete in The Byre. I made the point of asking your your friends/family who were staying Robin's Nest if it was ok to carry out these jobs. Alan (I believe is your brother in law) said it would be fine and actually came across to attend to the dogs. It was just to clarify that we did not enter the cottage without permission.

As allways my stay was as good as the rest I have been staying at hidh kirkland for about 8 years

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
see above aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb ccccccccccccccccccc cccccccccccccc cccccccccccc ccccccccccc ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccddddddddddddddddddddd dddddddddd ddddddd ddddddddddddddddd dddddddddddddddddd



Good location for exploring Galloway

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location is good for exploring Galloway especially the gardens and forests surrounding this area.
The Byre is all on one floor and easily accessible for all, there is an outdoor area for youngsters to run around and a picnic table available, parking is easy and can take 2 cars with no difficulty.
Facilities are ok - no dishwasher and only 1 tea towel provided. The quality of the towels provided is below the normal at this price and we had to search the laundry room - it was very disorganised - for some washing up liquid and black sack for the bin.
Owners were available by phone and did solve a problem with a window that would not shut - definitely needed fixing as there was a gale blowing!
The rooms are large and furniture comfortable and clean.