FB Twitter

Robin's Nest

Robin's Nest

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 99 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


High Kirkland is a small holiday development consisting of three high quality self-catering units converted from the house and buildings of what was previously a small croft approximately 1 mile from the attractive coastal town of Kirkcudbright, tucked away in rural South West Scotland.

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely house, warm and welcoming. Spent a lovely few days there and was very sad to leave.

My only regret was the lack of a bath! Three bathrooms, no bath. I was even instructed to leave the sheets in the bath. I searched high and low. Was it hidden?

But it was marvellous in every other way. Thank you.




Daughter's 21at birthday celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked all 3 cottages at High Kirklands for a get together for my daughters birthday celebration. We all had a fantastic time. Cottages are really nice. All very clean and well equipped with all the essentials. Even a pint of milk. Sitting relaxing at night in the hot tub looking at the moon and the stars was amazing. Nice and quite rural location. But also not too far from town, about a 15 minute walk.
Would definitely be somewhere we all would return to.
The bottle for fizz left for my daughter was very kind. Thank you!




Lovely short break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property in a very interesting area, nice short walk/a few minutes drive into Kirkcudbright. Great galleries, NT property, walks, scenery. Lots of other places to visit around Kirkcudbright.



Lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and spacious and ideal for our purpose. We wanted a place to relax, walk and enjoy Kirkcudbright.



The Gill's

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fabulous property, well equipped, spotlessley clean and we all loved our stay here. Thank you.



Kelly hols

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good location varied family fun-sandy bays with in 10 minutes of cottage. Peter Pan experience in Dumfries-cocoa bean chocolate fun-farms and outdoor activities



Kirkcudbright visit

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visit the area each year and I think this is the best place that we have stayed so far. We are a party of 8. the house was spacious and well equipped. 4 Bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. It is situated in a very peaceful location surrounded by farmland so you often see lots of sheep and cows. It's a short stroll to Kircudbright passing a local woodland and park. The owner is very accommodating, helpful and responds to messages quickly. The views are stunning and can be enjoyed from the sitting room or the lovely garden. We had such a great time and will look to book again.



Wonderful cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed several times at Robins Nest and it is just ideal. Very comfortable, peaceful and yet only minutes from the lovely artists town of Kirkcudbright. The owner is most attentive and helpful. Lovely safe garden for small children, farm animals to keep you entertained and birdwatching from the comfort of the house. Full marks!!



Robins Nest

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very spacious ,well presented and comfortable, clean house. We loved the peaceful country setting with ample splendid views. It was lovely to sit in the window seat and appreciate these. The dining room was very spacious but the kitchen a little on the small side . The en suite bathroom is a bit underwhelming given its size. A lovely slipper bath would really set it off and would be welcome for relaxing in as would more up to date presentation. The other bathrooms were very good.



Peaceful location close to the centre of Kirkcudbright

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Peaceful, well equipped, cottage with enough space for 4 adults and 2 infants to relax and enjoy the beautiful Dumfries and Galloway countryside. The location, with great views of the surrounding area, was only a couple of minutes drive from the centre of Kirkcudbright.
Comfortable beds and what appeared to be a brand new walk in shower next to one of the downstairs bedroom.
Only negative was the rather dusty floors under the beds and settees.




Family weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great place to stay. Close to everything but enough space to feel relaxed. The house was great for our family and dogs. Great open garden for them to play in. We enjoyed watching deers in the field opposite. Luckily it was glorious weather and we enjoyed a bbq. Will definitely return.



Brilliant place for a family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked all 3 cottages for a family get together. Was a lovely peaceful location and safe for children. Cottages were clean and welcoming. Owners were very helpful from start to finish. Would definitely stay here again.



A short family weekend getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Robins nest was an ideal location for a family get together.
The cottage layout was perfect giving everyone enough space with a bathroom near each bedroom and a spacious living room and well equipped kitchen
There was plenty to do near the cottage to keep all ages amused
We had an extra benefit of being able to use the next door cottages hot tub because it was empty




Family Birthday Celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 8 adults and 7 children rented the 3 cottages for Easter weekend as a celebration of some special birthdays. We found the accommodation clean and comfortable with beautiful views and with lots of space both inside and outside for us all to enjoy. It was great being so close to the amenities in Kirkudbright and the hot tub was a great hit with all . Added to that the continuous warm sunny weather throughout our stay made this short break memorable.



Easter break

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break in Kirkland Cottages. The house was warm and cosy and had lovely views all around. Unfortunately it was bitterly cold outside but we wraoped up warm and made the most of our time with a visit to the Coco bean and Cream of Galloway.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all three cottages - a fantastic location for my sisters hen do. So much space and beautiful location. Donald was SO helpful - with suggestions for pubs, activities, taxis and answered all our questions about logistics.
We would definitely go back for a group holiday and would highly recommend to others.




Fabulous location

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd visit to High Kirkland .. we adore the area well located to visit all of Dumfriesshire & Galloway forest. So glad to see that Donald the owner takes notice of the feedback he gets to improve the cottages.
Thanks, would recommend.




Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here 9 years now and will keep coming back as it has everything we need and the area has loads to entertain the whole group



Excellent family weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family weekend staying in Robins Nest. It was a great base for exploring the surrounding areas. The house was a home from home, clean, very comfortable with all the essentials you would need. Thanks to Donald for his prompt responses when booking and all the information sent to me before we arrived. Thanks again.



First class accommodation with superb views

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to Robin's Nest, everything is as you would want it, home from home. Such a great space for a family or large group of friends. Plenty of walks on your doorstep and within easy walking distance of Kirkcudbright. Thanks again for a lovely stay, we will return.



Lovely quiet location, great views and peace.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want a cosy bungalow with great views, great countryside and friendly owner, this is for you.



Review of Robin's Nest , High Kirkland Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was clean and spacious with wonderful views from all the main rooms.
It was in an excellent location and very accessible to everything that South West Scotland has to offer.




Family celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cosy cottage.
Beautiful views.
Great to have the log burner.
Would highly recommend




Good value, lovely views and red squirrels down the road

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice spacious house for 3 families - the 6month old twins were tucked away with their parents in the large ground floor bedroom so didn’t disturb the rest of us at night! The toddler and parents had the upstairs rooms. Granny and grandpa had the downstairs twin room - not very comfortable mattresses ☹️. This has been mentioned in previous entries in visitor guide......
Kitchen and bathroom facilities very good.
The sitting room has amazing views but another sofa needed - where are 8 people supposed to sit in the evening?
We also had a bit of hot tub envy.




Country delight

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage ideally situated . Lovely furnishings and fittings. Kitted out to a high standard . Beautiful setting and in easy distance of town and surrounding countryside.



Fabulous, 5 star accommodation, enjoyed our weekend to the max, the entire party of 13 were thrilled

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please don't hesitate to book a stay at this cottage, it is everything and more you would look for, well equipped in a beautiful setting, you will find the accommodation welcoming and charming. Set within a farm, the views are stunning and there is nothing to disturb the peace except for the sound of some sheep and cattle, you will find yourself at home within minutes of arriving. The cottage is a great place to stay if you are touring around or sampling looking to relax. The owner Donald is a pleasure to communicate with, he keeps in touch to ensure you have the best stay possible and put us in touch with a local caterer who supplied us with the most amazing supper and formal dinner. I would go back myself and would strongly recommend these cottages to friends and family . We hired all three cottages for the weekend and all were of the same excellent standard and extremely well equipped, every single one of our party loved staying at High Kirkland. Thank you Donald you and your team provide a five star holiday experience at an excellent price, I hope to visit again some day.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Happy guests = Happy owners! Thank you!

A dream countryside location

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We as a group of seven have been several times to Robbins Nest. It is so comfortable, wonderful place for walks, birdwatching, enjoying a rural location with spectacular views on all directions. Every need is catered for. We will be back soon.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We enjoy having you and very much look forward to your return!The swallows are quite spectacular at the moment.

Fab holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at the cottage for four days and had a great time. The weather being great obviously helped. The cottage is a great size and had everything you needed (well maybe a hot-tub...lol). The cottage is in a great location for the various towns within the area and the information provided about all the local events was a great help. You are also only a short drive away from a great beach. What more could you ask for. Brilliant!!!



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Exactly, when the sun shines there is no better place to be! Thank you. So was it the Dhoon beach you went to?

90th birthday and family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great value accommodation with great amenities, comfortable beds, well appointed kitchens and utilities.
Nice to be in a complex of 3 cottages as a family. Without having to live on top of each other in one cottage we were all able to gather together in Heron View for a sit down meal for 17.
Donald was easy to communicate with and made a special effort to help us with the party so close to Xmas.
We would recommend and will return.




Lovely holiday house.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Robin's nest was ideal for our family get together, with plenty of space and good bathroom facilities. The furnishings were comfortable and kitchen well equipped. My favourite thing was the view, and although the weather was not kind to us, I could see how beautiful the sunrises and sunsets would be on a good day! It is dog friendly, and the hard floors downstairs made it easy to keep clean. Our dog especially appreciated the wood burner and the enclosed garden.
We would certainly like to return in the future.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear the log burner appealed to both the humans and the dog! The enclosed garden area has proven really useful. Hope to see you back in the future.

beautiful place to catch up

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in stunning surroundings. The kitchen was excellent and all the beds comfy. A spacious and warm cottage with a gorgeous window seat and the wood burner was greatly appreciated in November too. Donald was super helpful on the run up to our stay as we rounded up our gang from around the country. We'll definitely be back.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear the cottage was warm and comfortable, just as we would hope for this time of year. We look forward to having you back!

A great cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, clean, all we needed provided. A good sized garden for the dogs. A 10 min walk into town. Comfortable beds and nice linen. Cozy lounge with log burner. I’d definitely stay here again.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Katie, it's certainly getting to that time 'log burner' time of year. We are actually about to install one for ourselves! I can't wait!

Lovely cottage to watch the world go by, would not hesitate to re-book.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage and it's location are fantastic, within 5 mins of the town and 20 mins for either small beaches, chocolate/ice cream factories, children's play areas, etc.

I believe a couple of points could be looked at,
i) The shower room by the front door when in use gets very damp due to there being no extraction fan fitted.
ii) Each cottage has a clothes washing machine but they share a dryer, maybe a dryer in each cottage.
iii) The kitchen could do with more than one tea towel and requires possibly dish clothes.

To be honest these points are minor and in no way spoiled our week away, as I mentioned 'We will look to re-book soon'.

Many thanks

The Brown's




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and we very much appreciate your suggestions. The constructive feedback is really useful and helps us 'get it right' for all our customers. The bathroom fan was on our list for winter improvements so it should be in place for when you visit next! And we can certainly offer more tea towels. Thanks again, hope to see you back here again.

Superb Family accommodation in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Robin's nest is setup perfectly for a large family / group holiday .. we had a party of 6 here and also friends staying at Heron View... providing plenty of room for everybody. The large garden was great for children and the views as always for this area are stunning. The communication from Donald from booking up to the actual holiday was first class and we wanted for nothing.

Having visited this area for many years we have found that this was one of the best cottages we have stopped in for location.. a few minutes drive away from Kirkcudbright helps tick the boxes of getting the daily shopping done and yet you feel that you the property is so private and remote enough to enjoy the peace and tranquility of a remote property..

The area has beaches, woodlands , hills etc to explore all from a perfectly located base that we enjoyed a week's worth of nights with great friends and family.

Thank you for helping us to have a great holiday !




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. Group bookings are becoming popular and we feel the two houses really compliment each other, between space and facilities. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Excellent spot for a family gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was well equiped and comfortable . We had a family wedding and the space at the adjoining properties allowed us all to be together without feeling squashed. The owner was very obliging and we had a fantastic time with good garden space for social times .



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Yes, the outdoor space really asset- we just need a little more control over the weather! Delighted you could get outside and enjoy it. Thank you for your positive comments.

Great weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent weekend away in High Kirkland's three properties: The Byre, Robin's Nest and Heron's View.

The location of the cottages is perfect; remote & beautiful and all three cottages are comfortable, with modern kitchens and it was the ideal location for our group get together.

Nearby there are plenty of outdoor activities too, so you'll never be short of things to do.

Highly recommended.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear all 3 families thoroughly enjoyed their stay. We are very lucky to have such a variety of local attractions. We'll hopefully see you back someday!

Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really great location and an excellent stay. We hired Robins nest and Heron view for our whole family to go away for a week. The properties were super with all the facilities we needed and more. The location was great for the local town of Kirkcubright and for mountain biking at the various local 7 Stanes sites for the really big kids; for the younger kids the local beach at Brighouse was super.
Sunsets over the town were super and the local partridge family that visited several times was a bonus.
We would definitely recommend these cottages.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you explored the local area. We are very pleased you found the cottages comfortable and well equipped. Thank you for your review!

Back to my roots!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having grown up in the area but moved to New Zealand 9 years ago we wanted somewhere to stay to base ourselves as we visited friends and relatives in the area. High Kirkland was perfect being in the country with beautiful views but just outside my old school town of Kirkcudbright. Donald and Vicki have decorated Robin's Nest to a very high standard with some lovely touches. The cottage was well furnished with everything we needed including free wi-fi. We also met Deborah who cleans these cottages until they are spotless and the towels on the end of the bed folded in the shape of elephants or swans were a big hit with the boys! Donald called in to make sure we had all we needed and even left bikes for the boys. We also met the local farmer who was so helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. We will definitely be back.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your fantastic review. Delighted you could stay with us and get caught up with everyone! Haste ye back!

Cycling holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plenty of room for our group of six. Large utility room housed the bikes. The owner was obliging and hope he attended to the problems we found with the lack of hooks behind the doors and drawers in some rooms. Kitchen was very spacious and views from the large garden were outstanding.



Home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peacfull location for family chill out . Robin nest is really big enough for two families .totally loved it esp the living area with such a nice window sil with cushions
Great place




Family Easter holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had a wonderful stay in Robins Nest, the weather was great which always helps just a couple of rainy mornings. The owners had made a few changes this year and definitely improved the comfort. Would recommend these cottages to anyone who wants peace and quiet, comfort and great location to visit lots of lovely local places.



Family break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful weather, and a lovely relaxing holiday at Robins nest. A great venue for a group holiday as all had our own space but able to meet up for meals and chat. Easy access to Kirkcudbright and surrounding area.
What a beautiful part of the country....why does no one know this......Come to Dumfries and Galloway the Scottish Riviera.
Thanks will be back.




Great cottages in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired both the Robin's Nest and the Byre so between them they provided a perfect base for a weekend away for our group of 12. Both were very clean and comfy and well kitted-out with everything we needed.



Homely and spacious in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well presented property but with homely feel. Nicely decorated and in a very beautiful spot in the hills above the town. The views are very beautiful and on a clear night to star are beautiful.

We chose this cottage for the wealth of things to do and see in the area and although many were closed for the season there was still enogh to do to keep us busy for the week.

The house was easy to find as we were given the directions when it was booked. It was well equipped and had almost everything you would have at home. We had a 60th birthday celebration whilst there and the house was big enough for all my family to enjoy it. It was a good base to vist many of the surounding towns with a good road network to places large and small.

I would certainly go again and would recommend it to others.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It was good to meet you all! High Kirkland lends itself to family gathering whether it's small or large! Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again.

Second visit, we still love it here

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Robin's Nest, we are two families with children ranging from 3-16 and we love it here. It is a home from home, very comfortable, lots of room for us to be together or apart, beautiful views, so peaceful. There is so much to do (or not if you choose) in the surrounding area, Kirkudbright is on your doorstep with everything you need but far enough away to make you feel like you are wonderfully isolated. Donald is great, really friendly providing any help/advice needed, there are other cottages on the site but the walls are so thick you wouldn't know there was anyone else there. Our second stay, we will be back to 'our' lovely cottage.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you again fro your comments. It makes it all worth while to have great returning customers. I do try to help in any way I can to make their stay better. I wouldn't want them to miss out on all the good things we have in Dumfries and Galloway. Plenty more to see or as you say, just relax at base!!

Christmas stay

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well decorated and furnished throughout, including decorations and a real tree. Clean, comfortable, plenty of accommodation and seating for eight people.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We feel we are in a great central location for exploring our area. From activities at Laggan Outdoor, Cream o' Galloway or Cocoa Bean Chocolate Factory to exploring our beaches and forests. Also the dark skies in The Galloway Forest Park is a fantastic natural attraction! Hopefully we will see you again in the future!

Enjoyed every minute!!

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A family get together to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday and we had an amazing time at Robins nest. Plenty of space for 8 of us, home from home but with stunning views from every window. Very frosty outside but cosy cottage with wood burning heater..ideal! We will be back!



Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect break in a rural location. Everything you needed was available at the cottage. Would definitely return.



7 stanes october holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose robins nest again because we had a great holiday there 3 years ago. We returned to have a cyclying holiday, knowing that we would have a great house to relax in after our exertions. Also , the house is idealy situated for visiting 5 out of the 7 stanes.



Yes Very Nice.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious lounge and separate dining room which seats 8, plus good sized kitchen. Bedrooms good size.
Lovely extensive views from windows.
Nicely decorated.
Every possibility that we will visit again.
But we will take a bathmat for the shower.
The mat well at front door needs a proper door mat to fill the space as its been a trip hazard for us.





Great 90th birthday family get together

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great week in all 3 of the cottages with family members, kids and dogs to celebrate dads 90th birthday. We were in Robins Nest. It's spacious, clean and comfortable. Fantastic views from every window too. We booked a lovely meal with Michelle (ask Donald) and she came to the cottage and cooked it, served it and even cleaned up afterwards. Fantastic! The town is a nice downhill walk and has just about anything you could want. The uphill on the way back is a bit of a killer though! We used cars to pick up the walkers! Good restaurants and take aways in the town too. Difficult to find a dog friendly pub nearby - the one in town had a very small public bar that couldn't accommodate all of us, so we couldn't use local facilities with the dogs. Great trips out though - beaches nearby, and a bit further out is the Isle of Whithorn with a great, very dog friendly pub called the Steampacket inn. Great food there, really lovely staff. The garden area outside Robins Nest is safe for dogs and perfect for them to run around in. Heating good, showers really good, decor great. Wifi tended to be hit and miss, but was fine most of the time. Facilities are everything you would expect and more. Good place to be, even for a week.



An excellent location for family and friends get together that has great facilities.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage with plenty of room and facilities. Robin and Donald very helpful and accommodating. Great location, easy walk into Kirkcudbright. Plenty of things to do in the town and surrounding area.



Perfect for large family get together.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accomodation throughout. Well equipped, clean,tidy and spacious. Great secure garden area for dog and kids with great views of countryside. Owner of property very helpful and price excellent. Would definately use again and recommend to others.



A clean & comfortable rural property close to Kirkcudbright

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a rural property only a few minutes drive (or a comfortable walk) into Kirkcudbright. As there were five of us travelling, which required four bedrooms, the property was ideal, particularly as there are three bathrooms. The property is very clean and comfortable and has everything needed for self-catering. The deer, cattle and sheep add to the quiet and relaxed rural atmosphere.



(The name of the reviewer is "Roy (Alderton) from Melbourne Australia")




A week at Robin's Nest with family, ages ranging from 6 months to 70.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Robin's Nest is in a really beautiful, peaceful location with wonderful views from all the windows of open countryside, the grazing cows and sheep and yet only a short drive from the nearby town, Kirkubright. Also some of our party found a footpath to the town.Perhaps information could be left in the cottage re this route. The house is very light, airy and spacious.Another shower in the downstairs bathroom would be helpful, ie over the bath, and a slightly bigger double bed in the downstairs bedroom (the one which also has a single bed). The nearby town of Kirkubright is very pretty, especially the old town: we learnt a lot from the evening 'History Walk' on the Tuesday.Many interesting galleries, museums and events within a short distance and beautiful coastal and forest scenery.The garden is simply laid out, mainly to lawn but a really lovely place to sit and have a drink or eat a meal.



Wonderful stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth time we have stayed at Robins nest , and it gets better every time. We were attending a painting course and v it was ideal for our needs.



Kirkudbright Jazz Festival visit ...

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited with 3 friends for the local Jazz Festival weekend. Robins Nest is one of 3 adjoining units, about a mile out of town but on a decent road, on the hills above town. The property itself is lovely ...well furnished & a delight to stay in. The owners took the trouble to check with us first day & last day that all was ok. A very peaceful location ...we sat out at the picnic table, taking in the countryside & its fresh air. Local shops are just at the foot of the road up to Robins Nest ..Tesco & the good local shops & cafes. Highly recommend this property to any group or family.



Excellent spacious cottage in super location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was very well equipped, lots of space, very clean and great for a family. Location is nice and quiet and yet only a few minutes away from Kirkcudbright. This was our second visit and hopefully not the last!



Fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a long weekend away with nine other family members and our dogs. We stayed in all three cottages and couldn't say which was the best - they were all ' AMAZING'! They are very well equipped for cooking, dinning, cleaning, entertaining and relaxation.
All ten of us ate together in either 'The Heron' or 'Robins nest'. The views from every window are wonderful - the only neighbours being the woolly sheep, that come to check on you now and again. The town of Kirkcudbright is only a short walk ( or ride in car) back down the steady hill, and has a harbour, shops and places of interest.
All three cottages are really dog friendly - easy to sweep or mop muddy doggy paws. There is a garden area to the side of Robins nest (which is accessible from the other two cottages, via gates,) it is all fenced in for your dog to have a wonder. Although as our neighbours were sheep and our very well behaved springers 'could' of jumped the surrounding stone walls, they were not left alone in the garden.
We were visited by the landlord, who was a lovely gentleman, he was checking that we had everything we needed, and helped with places to visit and eat. It was good to see him as we were able to let him know how amazing we thought these cottages were, and we asked about booking again
We have booked to go back next year and are already counting down!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Tim, Thank you so much for your lovely review. It's make our day to see that we are producing a good environment for our guests. Living in this area certainly helps. I will pass on the comment to my Dad that he has been quoted as being a gentleman!!! He will love that! Look forward to seeing you next year.

Lovely holiday cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a lovely cottage in an excellent location! rural yet close to lots of things to see and do!
Great, powerful showers and a bath! The owners were very helpful and nothing was a problem!
Overall an excellent stay just wish we could have stayed longer!




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. After all the great walks we have in the area a good shower or bath is necessity! We will hopefully see you again.

its like going home.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jan 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been several times before and will continue to keep going. We love the property and where it is situated in a quiet open area with lovely views from all the windows. It is one off three and this house being the biggest of the three properties with its own nice lawned garden. Plenty of parking. It's like going home for us. its clean warm and tidy well presented. But not over fancy so you can relax and enjoy and put your feet up and feel at home.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks once again Martin. It is definitely a home from home for yourselves and its always good to see a friendly face

Great family break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, well equipped for a family break, so much so that we spent most of the weekend in the cottage with nice food, playing board games and watching DVD's. One small thing that the heating wasn't great, although there was a mini electric heater provided which helped. 10 mins walk from local amenities including some nice restaurants. Plenty in the area to visit, the Coco Bean Centre is fantastic for kids.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped cottage with everything you needed. Robin and Donald were very helpful and we would reccommend the house to friends and family and hope to return.



Great stay in lovely house

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay and found the owner to be very helpful with booking arrangements. The house was very spacious and lovely and warm. The kitchen had ample utensils and crockery, etc. for cooking and a huge table to get together to eat. The log burner was very nice and warmed up the house quickly. There was plenty of space and seating in the living room with a huge window seat which we all enjoyed. One of the downstairs bedrooms was at the opposite end of the house and so this might seem quite a way from the rest of the family for people with small children, but ideal for two groups, grandparents or older children. We really enjoyed our stay and will return when we visit the area again. Thanks.



Very comfortable, well equipped accommodation conveniently located

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Robin's Nest for a long weekend in October. With only four of us we had ample accommodation on the ground floor, without having to use the bedrooms and bathroom of the upper floor. The kitchen is extremely well equipped - the only other thing I would have liked would have been a colander to pour rice/pasta - but overall probably the best kitted out kitchen I have used on holiday. The rooms are all a good size and the drying room next to the bathroom as well as the porch/laundry area would have been great for drying laundry if we had been staying longer or had been visiting when it was wet weather.
Location wise Robin's Nest is probably a mile or so outside Kirkcudbright - we walked there and back easily with a 6 and 8 year old on the Sunday morning. It is only about 3 miles from the Chocolate Cocoa Bean factory and maybe around 10 miles from Cream of Galloway and Laggan Outdoor centre so brilliantly located for family activities.
Robin's Nest is situated in open countryside, with two other cottages in a courtyard setting. There are lovely views and you could walk for miles in any direction. We didn't hear any noise from the other properties close by.
Overall I would not hesitate to recommend Robin's Nest and we hope to return for another visit.




Ideal for a family reunion.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located the property easily as the website instructions are very good. We visited as a party of seven adults and Robin's Nest proved to be the ideal location for our celebration weekend. Perhaps for a longer stay another easy chair would be useful especially if eight adults are staying. There is a large grassy area with a picnic table for fine weather dining. The kitchen equipment is all OK with a good sized fridge and reasonable freezer. The three bathrooms are all a good size and the two showers are very good. We all found the beds comfortable.

Altogether a super cottage with great views.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Matthew, Thanks for the comments. If we are to improve then we need the feedback from our customers who can find the small detail that is required to create that better standard. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Great. LOVELY place.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
PERFECT cottage for us. We had a lovely time. Minor quibble, and it is minor. Mattresses and pillows could have been
more comfortable. The view is wonderful. Evening sky magical and owls lovely to hear. And Kikrcudbright is surprisingly just
down road. So shopping and cooking more than possible with minimum effort. Cottage is well equipped. Bathrooms work.
Cosy sitting room with burner. Would recommend without hesitation.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are very lucky where we are situated as the dark skies need to be seen to understand how beautiful they are! We are located in a quiet spot but still on the doorstep to such a variety of activities and places to visit. We look forward to you visiting again soon.

Lovely house, great location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week in August 2015. The location is great to explore the surrounding area and the house was really well equipped with modern appliances. When we arrived, there was a welcome pack with tea, biscuits and a pint of milk in the fridge. The house was immaculate and there were plenty of towels provided as well as toilet roll and hand washes in all the bathrooms.
Upstairs there is a large master bed with a huge ensuite and a spacious twin.
Downstairs there is a good sized double and at the end of the extension , a further room which is huge with room for a double and single.
The lounge is comfortable with a wood burner and the kitchen and dinning area are modern with a large dining table that can seat at least 10.
There are two utility areas which are useful for storing outdoor gear. Wifi throughout the house was of good quality.
The house is about a mile from the centre of Kirkcudbright and in a really quiet location with great views over the fields.
We were lucky to get a cancellation rate so it was really good value.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Damian, Thank you for such a detailed review. this is the only real way we can evaluate whether we are going in the right direction. We try to make sure that we are catering for the modern day holiday maker. Thanks again and we hope to see you again.

Grand week even in the rain.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything for a very good stay . spacious and well set up for 6+. Wi fi excellent ,and helpful due to rain . À washing line would have been helpful the days the rain stopped.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. The Wi-Fi is definitely a must when our weather is being very unreliable! We hope to see you again in sunnier times!

Happy Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Robins Nest with five children under the age of 5 and having three bathrooms - two accessible from the living/dining areas was a definite bonus. The garden is safe, being totally closed in and there is the added attraction of the sheep and cows in the adjoining field. The area has lots to do for children even if the weather is not the best - the family swim on Sunday at the local pool was ideal and the Cocoa Bean Factory got a second visit. Kirkcudbright has a good mixture of shops for anything you might need. The owner was really helpful and we would have no hesitation in recommending High Kirkland to others.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all. Robin's Nest is ideal for having young children as there is plenty of living space and a large garden. Our area is increasingly becoming a very popular place with a big variety of activities. Hopefully we will see you soon.

Fantastic home and setting

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place for a large family gathering. Home (especially kitchen) fully equipped for your every need. Beds and pillows very comfy. Clean soft towels. Setting with views over Dumfries & Galloway were absolutely stunning. Will definitely return for next family gathering. Many thanks xx



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your comments. They are appreciated. We can only get better if our great customers continue to give us back positive feedback. We hope to see you soon

Robins nest

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time of staying,lovely place,this time was our 7 mth old first time, was idea as big enough not to disturb the rest of our family, owners very helpful,hope to come again love it.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It is great to see a returning customer. We must be doing something right although we will not stop in trying to improve. Thanks again

Awesome views, great for wildlife.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped cottage, loads of room, ideal for more than one family or friends sharing, outstanding views, we had brilliant weather so an outside lounger would've been appreciated to soak up the rays , but I know that is a little too much to ask? I booked Robins Nest because my elderly mother can't climb into a bath so this cottage fits the bill with the downstairs shower room..a word of warning you will not want to get out..fabulous showers, bags of hot water & a beautiful warm cottage which is another bonus the the older members of the family, with all the radiators having individual thermostats it was great.
I've asked for an enclosed garden so I can return with my dogs & Donald the owner is obliging which is superb..
I can see from past reviews that he takes it all on board & accommodates to the wee details.If you like to see the area then this cottage is fantastic as you are so central ,1 week is not nearly long enough...thank you we had a great stay




A lovely stay home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been to Robins Nest a number of times and have always loved our stay there, the property is large there is only three of us (we like space) but Robins nest will accommodate 9 people and there will be plenty of room for all. lovely area with nice views fro most of the windows from open rolling fields to wooded area in front where you can see the wildlife from from the four legged kind to the two legged with wings, plenty to see and watch.
Yes the property is a large farm house with down stairs double bedroom, there is a shower and toilet, easy access from there to the lounge and Kitchen/dining room so ideal for people with slight mobility problems the rest of the bedrooms are accessed via stairs. The property is well equipped.
This is a lived in and comfortable property where you can feel relaxed and at ease and its not a show house filled with frills and things a you are scarred to touch or move. We love it and the other propertied with in the complex.
Thank you the Dunlop family.
Plus they take dogs which is great in this day and age




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It is always great to see the Dawson's! They have become a good friend of High Kirkland. As well as striving to be a quality self catering business we do feel it's important to make sure our guests are at home. We hope to see you soon.

Family holiday in a fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday in the perfect cottage to suit all 8 of us. A lovely, comfortable, well equipped cottage with everything we needed for our stay. The new born animals were a delight and the amount of different birds in the garden and flying by was great to see. The children enjoyed themselves and had a good morning searching for Easter eggs in the garden. It was nice to see the dark sky and watch the stars and we were lucky enough to watch the International Space Station. We were able to have a look inside the other two cottages, The Byre and Herons Reach and would highly recommend any of these cottages to anyone. A good place to be to visit some great beauty spots, beaches and forest walks and not far from a lovely town where you can buy most essentials. The weather was kind to us most days being sunny and bright andwe didn't have any rain which was a bonus. We will definitely be staying here again.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks very much for all your great comments. It was a pleasure to meet all the generations. It is a good central location for visiting lots of local beautiful spots. We are looking forward to seeing you again, and don't worry the sun always shines in Kirkcudbright!!

Review of Robin's Nest

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was booked for a long weekend stay so that we could enjoy a bird watching break in this lovely area.
All correspondence was dealt with promptly and good advice was given.
The property was clean and spacious and in a lovely location.
It was so relaxing to observe buzzards, herons, partridges & pheasants from your window.
After a long days visiting many local reserves such as Ken Dee, Mersehead, it wasnice to come back and have a long relaxing hot shower.

I would certainly use this property again




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your comments. We are very lucky that we are surrounded by such natural beauty, and an abundance of wildlife. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely holiday cottage for a family get-together of six adults and two kids. Plenty of room, warm and comfortable, well equipped and beautifully presented. Thanks go to Donald who was very friendly and helpful, promptly sorting out a couple of minor unexpected problems. The location near Kirkcudbright was excellent. Calm, peaceful and great stargazing on a clear night. Definitely planning to return sometime.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your comments. As you say Kirkcudbright is a great place for a relaxing break which will get you away from the full on city life. We as a family try to help in any way we can if possible. We look forward to seeing you again.

Break from the city with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was perfect for us. Very cosy with a stove in the living room. Donald the owner was also really great with giving us some recommendations too.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for the lovely comments. I can imagine it will and ideal way to get away from the full on life in the city! It was a pleasure trying to help. We hope to see you again!!

Break from the city with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was perfect for us. Very cosy with a stove in the living room. Donald the owner was also really great with giving us some recommendations too.



Break from the city with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was perfect for us. Very cosy with a stove in the living room. Donald the owner was also really great with giving us some recommendations too.



we just love staying there its coming homelike

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in two of thier properties and have always enjoyed them. lovely area great setting with great views and scenes of wild life. Clean and tidy, home from home, comfortable with out being over the top fancy. We love High Kirkland roll on 2015. Thank you



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Martin, you have become a good friend of High Kirkland and we really appreciate your comments. We are looking forward to seeing you in April again. Thanks

Relaxation personified

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean,cosy, well presented and comfortable. The window seat was relaxing and quirky. Plenty of space for two families without being on top of one another.
The log fire a bonus. Lots of games and DVDs if you need them. Kitchen well resourced and nothing lacking.
Would definitely return. Price for weekend very fair considering standard of accommodation.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We try as much as possible to create everything that a family would need on a self catering break. We can only improve from our customer feedback. We hope to see you again.

Robin's Nest is the best so far.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many holiday cottages in Dumfries and Galloway throughout the years and we found Robin's Nest to be the best so far. The location is ideal if you have a dog as Barhill Woods is only about 1/2 mile down the road and Kirkcudbright town centre another 1/2 mile which has a good range of takeaways, bars and restaurants and general shops also a Tesco supermarket is good for supplies. The property has a lovely spacious and well equipped kitchen/dining area and the living room provides that home from home feeling with a large television and a stove for nights by the fire, it also has plenty seating. The two bedrooms we used were very clean with comfortable beds and the ensuite in the main bedroom had a large shower in which we had a nice hot shower after a walk. The only criticism would be that the garden is not fully enclosed if it was it would in our view be perfect.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your very kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we will hopefully see you soon. Your point about the garden not being totally enclosed will be addressed early in the New Year. We are, at the moment, doing some ground works to the garden so we will be erecting boundaries forthwith.

robins Nest

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean ,comfortable and had everything we needed for a family holiday.It is in a pleasant location .Quiet, peaceful, but only about a mile from the town of Kirkcudbright



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are close enough to all you need from Kirkcudbright but we do enjoy the peace up at High Kirkland. We hope to see you again.

Robin's Nest

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a very comfortable, convenient and attractively presented cottage. Remarks made by previous guests had been acted upon and this gave the impression that the owners wanted their guests to have a pleasant stay. The location of the cottage meant that peace and quiet was enjoyed indoors and outside in the garden. The provision of garden furniture was much appreciated too.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your helpful and kind comments. As you have pointed out we do try to act upon suggestions made by our guests. This is vital for us to keep improving. We hope to see you again.

Great venue for a family reunion!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our two families travelled from north and south and this was an ideal meeting point. Even though there were only five of us, the accommodation in the cottage is really well laid out and could have accommodated another three people quite easily. Good bathrooms - one bedroom en-suite with shower, another separate shower room serving two bedrooms and a third with a bath that all could use if required. All the beds were comfortable.

The kitchen is well equipped and everything worked. We were impressed too that so much was provided, toilet rolls, soap etc. We bought tablets for the dish washer and washing machine detergent, but very little else was needed. The little "welcome hamper" with tea, coffee, sugar and shortbread, and milk in the fridge, was a really nice touch.

We loved the peace and quiet (with the odd exception of a couple of very noisy cows!). The only thing other potential visitors should be aware of is that Robin's Nest is actually joined together with the cottage next door, Heron's View. We were there on our own so it was no problem but I'm not sure if there had been six people in this cottage that things would have been quite so quiet!

But we loved it and will be back!





Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your comments and explaining your thoughts fully. We do listen to the very important feedback that our customers leave. We believe the little touches are a huge part of the process! Thank you once again and we hope to see you again

wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful location for our family to be together for a wedding. Plenty of space and bathrooms! Good facilities. Would definitely recommend and stay again. One or two small tweaks needed, but didn't detract from stay.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are happy that High Kirkland could host a bringing together of your family from all over the country. After speaking to you regarding the 'tweaks' we will take your comments and use them to improve our standard. Thanks and we hope to see you again.

Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideally situated, surrounded by fields with animals, awoken by lambs. Short walk to kirkcudbright, off very quiet road, good for walking. Excellent facilities, very comfortable, spacious rooms, well equipped kitchen. 3 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms was excellent. Helpful friendly owner. The information file should mention the tumble drier in the drying room and how to reboot the wifi! We had a wonderful holiday with good weather and would definitely recommend it. Look out for the different prices on other websites for same cottage!



Painter's heaven!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Robin's Nest, and it was even better than the first time. Lovely cottage, very comfortable and clean. We will be back!!!

Anita and the painters.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It is always great to see a friendly face back at High Kirkland. The weather was wonderful which adds to the whole experience. Thanks for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.

Robin's Nest

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was larger than we expected and as a result no-one felt crowded even though there were 2 energetic children.
We had brought items with us as we did not expect it to be so well equipped. We could have done with a couple more tea towels as we did a lot of washing up which did not involve the dish washer.

We received prompt, friendly responses to queries and emails.

It was nicely situated for visiting the region and we could easily go into Kirkcudbright if we wanted to.

We hope to use it again in the future.




Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are passionate about what we are trying to achieve at High Kirkland and we value these comments very much so we can endeavour to improve as a family business. We hope to see you again soon.

robins nest

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a well situated brilliantly equipped cottage. It is huge and sleeps 8 very comfortably.
3 bathrooms, well heated and plenty of hot water.:) a home from home




Beautiful and quiet

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Apr 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here before and love the property. There was only three of us so loads of space as it sleeps 8 or 9 plenty of room to move around, Ample bathrooms/loos etc lovely views and very quiet area a short drive or a longer walk to the town of Kirkcudbright better going than coming back as its up hill, since we were there last year there has been some improvements after suggestions from previous holiday makes which made it even nicer, This is a lived in property and you feel you live there and its not a show piece, it warm clean and comfortable plus they allow dogs which is a bonus now a days, the cost of our stay was good. The family very friendly and only visited the following day to make sure you were settled in, contact numbers for any problems were to hand, they were flexible with bookings obviously more so out of seasons. we shall return as its our place of heaven in Kirkcudbright.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments and it is great to build up a relationship with returning customers! We hope to see you again soon.

Everything you need for a self catering stay

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Used for a return visit early season long weekend break was great value for money. The cottage is spacious, clean and well equipped (with stuff that works) with stunning views. Details such as shortbread on arrival and staple stuff such as washing up liquid, tea, coffee etc were also thoughtful. Dealings with the owner were easy and flexible. We'd go again and some of our party plan to do so soon.



Robins nest review

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and surroundings excellent. Centrally located for area. Ideal area for walking dogs loved it. We had fab time will definitely use again.



Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. We are very grateful for your feed back and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nice wee break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here for a long weekend with friends (4 adults, 4 children under 5). The accommodation was set in lovely peaceful surroundings and the kids loved being able to speak to the sheep in the surrounding fields.
The house was spacious and worked well with 2 families - one had their own space upstairs with another taking the downstairs rooms. The main bedrooms were lovely and roomy (especially the downstairs one with the patio doors) but the kids rooms were also absolutely fine too. We loved the log burner especially when the kids were in bed and we sat in front of it with a cheeseboard.
The cottage was well stocked for things like bin bags, dishwasher tablets,logs and there was a handy welcome basket on arrival. And good to have the owners checking everything was ok once you'd settled in.
Kirkcudbright is a lovely town and we visited the nearby Galloway Wildlife Centre, Threave Gardens and the Cocoa Bean Company, which were all perfect for families. Really felt like we'd had a proper holiday after just 3 days away. Would highly recommend and return. Thank you




BACK AGAIN

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is 5th year in row we have stayed at this time of year. We love the cottage and have seen it develop over the years. Our children feel at home when we arrive and it is a race round to see if there are any changes. We will be returning for many years to come and would recommend a meal at The Selkirk Arms in Kirkcudbright and The Chocolate Factory in Tynholm.



Winter Weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to Robins Nest in February to get my son away from electronic gadgets for a while and he loved it. The weather was typical February nastiness but cottage, with it's log burner, was the ideal place to shelter. When it did stop raining, we explored the area and all its beauty.
The cottage itself has all mod cons and wants for nothing. All the previous moans of no this or that have been addressed and everything is of a high standard.
I would recommend this place as a base for anyone exploring the area.




October 2013

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Nov 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic week's holiday at Robin's Nest. It was excellent value for money and a lovely cosy cottage to come home to after a day exploring the area. Ideal for a three-generation family get-together The window seat in the lounge and the wood burner were great features. We would love to come back.



September 2013 review

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location and great layout. However, towels should be provided or at least guests should be informed that no towels are provided. Insufficient amounts of toilet roll, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, etc. The dishes were not all clean and needed to be cleaned before we could use them. The flue from the wood burning stove was blocked, so when we lit this the living room filled with smoke. The external gutter needs fixed too as this is leaking quite badly. However, the owners did respond very quickly to the problems we alerted them to, and were very friendly.