FB Twitter

Shippen Cottage

Shippen Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Shippen is a very spacious cottage and has a generous lounge with a beamed ceiling and dining alcove, it is also the largest of our 2 bedroom cottages...

A warm welcome and a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first time staying at Cartole Cottages and we were not disappointed at all. The cottage was immaculately clean, very comfortable and cosy and in a perfect location for our day trips out.

The overall setting is very peaceful and tranquil, the grounds are extremely well kept and the kids play park is in excellent condition ( I say that because in the past we have been let down by tired equipment and facilities).

I couldn't recommend these holiday cottages enough, we will definitely be returning!

The Martins.


Duncan from stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Another perfect stay at Cartole cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve been here for holidays on numerous occasions, and enjoyed another great stay this year.
Shippen cottage is ideal for us, as it’s pet free, so no allergy issues for my husband and son.
The grounds are beautifully maintained, lovely rural and peaceful location,the cottage has everything you need, it’s super clean and we liked the new paved patio area.
It was lovely to meet Karl and Miles, always there for a friendly chat and keen to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. As they live on site, they’re able to sort any issue you may have, very quickly, professionally and with a smile.
Pelynt is just a few miles away from Looe and Polerro for the fishing towns- boat rides, shops and restaurants and also close to the amazing walks and beaches at Lansallos, Lanivet and the stunning Lantic bay. Easy access to the main roads too for trips further afield.
We can’t wait to come back next year and see the new games room and other additions Miles and Karl have planned.
Cartole Cottages always gets a big thumbs up from us!!!!!


Gayle from Liverpool stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Peaceful & Relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To book and chose a Cottage was simple and straightforward. On arriving at Cartole Cottages, we were greeted by the lovely owners Karl & Miles who gave us a tour of the beautiful Shippen Cottage and gardens. A good Welcome pack left in the Cottage was well stocked with everything required plus a guide folder with lots of information of surrounding attractions. The Cottage was very clean & tidy with all the technology needed, You really feel like it's a home from home. The area is so quiet with occasional bleating from the sheep in the next field, it's such an idyllic and tranquil place. ONE WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!



JILLY from Littlewick Green stayed at Shippen Cottage for 5 nights in July 2018


A lively week in Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the fabulous Carthole Cottages. We stayed at "The Shippen" which was perfect for our family. The cottage and the grounds were beautiful and really child friendly. The Cottages are a short drive from lovely beaches and towns and the countryside in and around is gorgeous. Our hosts were so helpful and kind. I would love to return.

Audrey from Thurles stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


A cosy cottage in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Shippen cottage was very enjoyable as we found the cottage to have everything needed for a relaxing peaceful few days away. The cottage was cosy and clean and the beds very comfortable. We were greeted by Carl on arrival and made to feel welcome but as everything (apart from the wifi) was perfect, had no need to contact him during our stay. The location of the cottage complex is great for days out. Will hopefully be visiting again next year.

Valerie from Bognor Regis stayed at Shippen Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


First class service

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped cottage with a dishwasher and all facilities.
Would recommend as goods customer service.


Guest from Weybridge stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we've had another great holiday down in Cornwall, staying with Cartole in the Shippen cottage.
The cottage is a home from home, the grounds are beautiful and the play area certainly keeps our son amused.
It's the ideal location to stay, lots of things to do nearby- beautiful beaches and coastal walks and you don't have to travel too far to experience the rest of Cornwall.
Steph and Jeff are always available to help and I'm sure we'll be back again next year. Thank you.


Gayle from Liverpool stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Very nice holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Got everything you need, a lot of toys for the kids, very nice environment and very nice people. The power of the wifi was very low but there was enough documentation to plan your day.

Wouter from Heist-op-den-berg stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Shippen cottage, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you found the wifi rather slow and hope it did not affect you plans too much.

First Holiday with Grandson

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A holiday cottage for grandparents, son and daughter in law and grandson. The cottage was perfect - spotlessly clean and comfortable with everything needed provided. Extra touches of soft toys on single beds - much loved by grandson, barn full of sit on and ride toys and fantastic, enclosed playground with big red tractor, playhouse complete with teaset, goalposts and balls, slide and swings. Outside cottage, seating lovely for al fresco meals. Nice walks around the grounds, very well maintained and pretty, and fields with pond, seating and willow arch for a relaxing stroll. In a lovely location with views and plenty of attractions on the doorstep - Monkey Sanctuary, Talland Bay with lovely café and café beach huts perfect for children and Coddy Shack for delicious fish and chips. All in all a lovely holiday well suited for three generations. Couldn't fault it, would highly recommend and would love to return.

David from Swadlincote stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you David for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your grandson in Shippen Cottage and had a great holiday in Cornwall.

An enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. It was very clean, comfortable and tidy. We enjoyed being able to chat to everyone in the other cottages & walking in the local area, it was a very friendly site and area

Guest from Abbots Langley stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that we were able to offer you accommodation at short notice and that you enjoyed the walks in our area. We look forward to your next visit.

A Very Enjoyable Break

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay at a rural location.

It was very quiet with no noise and good views

The accommodation was to a high standard, with excellent hosts, and good facilities.




Jonathan from Weybridge stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Recommended cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage with loads of space for kids to play in the grounds. Highly recommended for exploring south Cornwall. The cottage was spotless and had everything we needed for a home from home.

David from Danbury stayed at Shippen Cottage for 10 nights in August 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your 10 day stay with us and hope to see you and your family again.

Another great holiday at Cartole Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We know what we like and we like what we know, so Cartole Cottages are our favourite place to stay, which is why we keep coming back.
The cottages are perfect, like a home from home and Geoff and Stef are always there with friendly smile or a helpful suggestion.



Gayle from Liverpool stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are so glad that you had a great holiday with us and enjoyed some lovely sunny weather. We're sorry that we missed you leaving on Saturday and hope that your car didn't give you any further problems on the way home. Looking forward to seeing you all again.

A wonderful cottage for a family holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shippen Cottage was very clean, comfortable and smart. Our children enjoyed the playground. Everything was well kept and the owners were very friendly.

Matthias from Darmstadt stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Matthias, for your kind review. We hope that you will come and stay with us the next time you visit the UK.

Excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcome, clean cottage, with beautiful surroundings. The playground for the kids was a big win! 10 minutes from Looe with its little shops and lovely sandy beach. Ideal location for exploring.

Gemma from Birmingham stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Gemma, for taking the time to review Shippen Cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it quick and easy to reach the local beaches. We know how important it is to our younger guests, to have a good play area to let off steam. We hope to see you again in the future.

A wonderful cottage in a beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in the shippen cottage. The cottage itself is very well equipped and beautifully decorated. Also the gardens are magnificent, every corner is worth a picture. The kids were overwhelmed with all the outside toys, bikes, tractors etc. And Steph & Geoff are very helpful. A perfect location for discovering Cornwall.

Katelijn from Gent stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and the children enjoyed all the play equipment. Don't forget that if you come back to Cornwall within 12 months, you will be able to reuse the Eden tickets that you bought through us. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Yeovil and managed to visit Bath before your return home.

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 11 nights and had such a lovely time at Cartole Cottages. The out door facilities were perfect for the children. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the location was peaceful (just what we wanted). Geoff and Steph were really friendly offering anything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Our two young children took a huge shine to Twinkle and Muffin (the resident dogs). We would recommend the cottages to young and older families. The only improvement that would make life a little easier is better wifi as we struggled to upload websites when looking for days out in Cornwall.

Our best holiday yet, and we especially look forward to staying again next year with my parents. Can't wait! :o)


Rebecca from Southampton stayed at Shippen Cottage for 11 nights in June 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Rebecca, Andy and family for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.Twinkle and Muffin are always a great hit with children, we think we should get Twinkle her own Facebook page. Sorry to hear about your problems with the internet, We know that we do not have the fastest speed but we do not usually have any problem downloading websites. We are wondering if perhaps you inadvertently logged on to the signal from the other cottages which could have accounted for your problem. Next time you come we will check it out with you. Have a good summer. Best wishes Geoff & Steph

A home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A truly wonderful setting. We have stayed in the cottages before and each time have not been disappointed. The cottages are situated just outside Looe and are ideal for exploring Cornwall

John from Buntingford stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review John. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Fantastic Week at a fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed during a week in June, and the cottage itself was immaculate! The kids could not believe the fact that there were toys to play with outside, including bikes and ride on's. The park facilities were also fabulous and the kids loved that also. The cottage itself was furnished to a high standard and it is very well look after. There was everything that you could want, and Geoff and Steph were very accommodating. I cannot recommend these cottages highly enough.

Neville from Galley, Cheadle stayed at Shippen Cottage for 8 nights in June 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your glowing review. It was lovely to see the children enjoying themselves on the ride on toys and in the play area. Hope to see you again soon.

Idyllic holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for our holiday. It was clean, tidy and furnished to a very high standard. I brought so many 'essentials' with me and found they were all there, ie towels, loo paper, kitchen towels, paper towels, dishwasher tabs, dishcloths, soap and so much more. We received a lovely welcome after a 9 hour tiring drive. The farm the cottages are on is so pretty and beautifully laid out and peaceful. It is an ideal place for exploring Cornwall. I would definitely recommend cartole cottages to anyone.

Martin from Chelmsford stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Martin and family, thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shippen Cottage and that you appreciated all the little extras that we provide to make life easier for our guests. We are so lucky to live in such a beautiful area and many of our guests comment on how peaceful it is here. We would love to see you all again sometime. Best wishes Geoff and Steph.

Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location for spending some quality time in a rural area. The Shippen cottage is a spotlessly clean and tidy place to stay. Plenty of space for children to play on the property. Absolutely recommendable.

.


Udo from Bavaria stayed at Shippen Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Udo and family Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved Shippen Cottage. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Geoff & Steph

The ideal cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very warmly welcomed. The cottage was lovely. Comfortable, clean, well-equipped and very tastefully furnished. In charming surroundings, we would have loved to spend much longer and can't wait to return. Thank you!

Wayne from Helmsange stayed at Shippen Cottage for 3 nights in May 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Wayne Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Shippen Cottage and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Geoff & Steph

Very peaceful

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family short break. Very peaceful and quiet location, beautifully kept grounds. An ideal place to relax, while the children can make use of the very well-equipped play area. Definitely a home-from-home; it felt like it was someone's home, rather than just a cold empty holiday house!

Gillian from Beaworthy stayed at Shippen Cottage for 2 nights in April 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was good to see your two boys enjoying their game of football. We understand that it is difficult for you to take a long break, so if you wish to come again for a short break please get in touch.

We keep going back

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've now been three times. We love it and will be back again soon. Geoff and Steph are very welcoming hosts and their dogs are much loved by our children. Perfect spot for countryside views and beaches close by, we particularly like Talland.


Claire from Bristol stayed at Shippen Cottage for 3 nights in December 2015


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Claire for your wonderful review. It was great to see you and your family again over the Christmas period. It was a shame that the weather wasn't better but it was good to see your children enjoying the ride on toys. Twinkle says thank you for her picture, it take pride of place on our fridge door. Thank you also for leaving the cottage so clean and tidy, it is much appreciated. Hope to see you again later in the year. Happy New Year to you all, best wishes Geoff, Steph, Muffin & Twinkle.