FB Twitter

Penny's Cottage

Penny's Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Penny’s was converted from an old cow byre. It is a cosy cottage for four people and sits along side a large lawn with far reaching countryside views.

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth time at Cartole Cottages and our second stay at Penny's Cottage
Cannot fault anything
Beautiful cottage in amazing surroundings
Very friendly hosts


John from Buntingford stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


A week in Penny's

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage and the grounds - the cottage was well equipped and worked well as part of a joint booking with Caro's. We enjoyed the extensive grounds and the peacefulness of the location. There was lots to do in the area. Can't thank the hosts enough for giving us such a warm welcome and being so helpful.

Nicola from Nuneaton stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Another great stay at Cartole cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Cartole a few times and have always had a lovely time. The cottages are comfortable, clean and well stocked, with views across the fields. There is plenty of space for children to play safely and the location is central to explore the area.

David from stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Superb Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently spent a week on holiday here for my dad's 70th Birthday. We had use of 3 of the cottages and we had a wonderful time that suited our needs. The rural location was perfect for escaping everyday life and our little ones loved playing in the park and roaming around the open grass areas. The owners were a delight and nothing was too much trouble. Penny's cottage is a lovely little cottage. It was spotlessly clean upon our arrival and although small it is perfectly comfortable. The new patio area outside is also excellent. We would definitely recommend staying here and we look forward to returning in the future.

Kevin from Bedford stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place! Wasn't quite sure what to expect but was delighted to find it tucked away down a Cornish country lane in the middle of beautiful, peaceful farmland. Birds everywhere, butterflies, bees-the perfect antidote to fast living, and we really felt immersed in the countryside, it was so peaceful.

The cottage was really comfortable with some nice touches for the price such as good quality bed linen and a very well stocked kitchen, including digital kitchen scales and enough pyrex to sink a battleship. Our holidays revolve around mealtimes so for me this added that little bit extra value. Couldn't fault the cleanliness of the place on arrival-we even got a welcome basket of (mostly Cornish) goodies! Our cottage also had separate areas for eating and watching TV so we always felt like we had heaps of space-we spent most of the time outside but this would matter in winter or on rainy days.

We were lucky to have perfect weather while we were there and loved the private terrace/patio looking out onto the fields, looked around the other cottages and seems like all of them have their own terrace area. Even hanging out the washing was a pleasure in a paddock wading through knee-deep grass like something out of 'The Waltons' (we live in Australia where you only approach knee-deep grass in full body armour).

A surprise was the cottage 'welcome' folder-usually these are filled with breathtakingly dull or outdated information but this one included a lot of actually useful info such as current tide times, local beach information (don't miss Lansallos beach and Lantic Bay, they are a drive and then a walk but worth it-in fact just the walk to the beach is worth it, stunning) and, astoundingly, detailed info on what to look for in the night sky and times of meteor showers during the year. Impressive that the hosts have taken the time to get all this together. The restaurant and shopping recommendation also proved to be reliable with the ones we tested-make sure you try the sausages from the unprepossessing village store in Pelynt, they are sensational. There is, oddly, a butchers at the back of the shop. Go and check it out.

Also couldn't fault the custmer service. The hosts were really accommodating and always had time to chat despite seemingly in the middle of house renovations themselves. One day when the iron in the cottage stopped working they got a new one to us within hours. We could have done without an iron of course but the pleasant and prompt response was much appreciated.

In short, I highly recommend the place as somewhere to recharge as well as soak up the beauty of the Cornish countryside. We were there in the sweet spot of summer just before the school holidays start but the cottage seemed easily comfortable enough for a winter break as well. We'll be back!


DAVID from stayed at Penny's Cottage for 20 nights in June 2018


Perfect accommodation for our family

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate little cottage with everything we needed and more. Our two girls (4 and 2) were thrilled with the expanse of grass immediately outside the cottage where they could run around, and the play area is extremely well equipped. We (the adults!) loved how peaceful it is there, and it is a great base from which to explore that part of Cornwall. Very much hope to return!

Sarah from Basingstoke stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Another pleasant stay at Cartole Cottages!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a lovely stay at Penny’s cottage. We have stayed in three different cottages now and they are all clean, well equipped and comfortable. We met the new owners, Karl and Miles who were so friendly and are making lots of enhancements (including a family game room next year) to the already excellent facilities. We enjoyed meals at the Plough in Duloe (recommended by the cottage owners) and the Jubilee Inn in nearby Pelynt. I’d definitely recommend the Blue Peter inn in Polperro. We look forward to seeing all the new changes next year hopefully.

Angela from Epsom stayed at Penny's Cottage for 3 nights in April 2018


Cartole re-visited

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stopped at Cartole cottages many times it is the perfect location for us. Quiet, safe and extremely relaxing. Near to many attractions, not far from the North Cornish Coast. The play area is ideal for children with bikes provided and many toys, a safe and happy environment. Coastal walks, beach walks, woodland walks. Nearby Downderry Beach perfect for beach walks
with dogs allowed and wonderful flora on the cliffs, also good walk to Polperro from Looe on coastal path, with several beaches in between, and cafes hotel at Talland for refreshment. Not far from Fowey and within reach of the beautiful cities of Truro and Plymouth. Yes we will keep returning to Cartole and the warn welcome we always recieve from Geoff and Steff and the dogs.


Jean from Northampton stayed at Penny's Cottage for 14 nights in May 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jean and Trevor, thank you so much for your lovely review. It's always great to see you each year when you return to Cartole and to hear that you love it here as much as we do. We know how important our safe environment is to families with children and the adults appreciate the peace and quiet needed for a relaxing holiday. Best wished Geoff, Steph Muffin and Twinkle.

Penny's in spring

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the family enjoy another great stay in penny's cottage,we all enjoyed watching the bats flying around at dusk and we have never seen so many tadpoles in the pond on our evening walks.The children love playing in the play area in a safe and friendly environment .We can't wait to return soon.

Jeremy from Templecombe stayed at Penny's Cottage for 4 nights in April 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Jeremy and family for leaving such a wonderful review. It was great to see you all again and to see the children having fun on the bikes. The weather has certainly been good this Easter and we think all those tadpoles you saw will soon be turning into frogs. It's quite a sight when they all start to leave the pond. Looking forward to seeing you all again later in the year. Best wishes, Geoff and Steph.

Martyn and Sue Anker

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Happy Days in Cornwall. A lovely stay at Penny's Cottage. Good location for touring this part of Cornwall. Cottage immaculately clean and well equipped. Impressive range of play equipment, barbecues etc. ... even GUEST WELLIES! Very stylish! Grounds just right for our dog to exercise. We will be back.

Martyn from Litchfield stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Sue and Martin, thank you for your 'glowing' review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Penny's Cottage and that you found the wellies useful. We hope to see you again before too long.

A peaceful haven

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a break away from it all and this is just what we got. The cottage really was home from home, very warm and comfortable. It was lovely to lie in bed and listen for the "silence" and hear the owls at night. The location was perfect for Looe, Polperro and surrounding areas, our longest drive was about 30 minutes! The whole site was thoughtfully planned out with a play area for visiting children and a field for dogs. We couldn't have asked for more.

Neil from Northampton stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many of our guests comment on the peacefulness of our site and appreciate getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The autumn is a particularly lovely time of year to stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

A very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay, my son loved the dogs, would recommend. Close to nice beaches, plenty to do for my young son. Geoff was very helpful in sorting out Eden Project tickets and lending me a small screwdriver to build my son's model.

Andy from Portsmouth stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review. It was good to see your son enjoying himself on the red tractor, it kept him entertained for quite a while. We hope that you come back and see us again.

A wonderful week in penny's cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we returned to Cartole Cottages where we have stayed for many years, we always enjoy returning here as we know it's always kept to a high standard,cottages are comfortable and homely and Geoff & Steph are fantastic hosts and always on hand to offer advice on you stay in Cornwall. Our children love the play park and bikes that are available for there use.We can't wait to return again for another fantastic stay .

Jeremy from Templecombe stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Perfect cottage for a Cornwall holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Penny's is a very clean and comfortable cottage. Situationed at a big lawn. There are bikes and a playground for the children. The beds were maked up. Tea and cookies on the table as a warm welcome.
Good situated: Looe and Polperro are nearby, but we have also visited Land's End.


Gerard from Hoevelaken stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Penny's Cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

This was our 3rd time at this location and will come back again

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd time at this location and will come back again and tells you enough about how satisfied we are.
The owner's are very helpful and friendly and our dog loved the daily runs in the field with a special mowed track at the back of Cartole cottages.
Location is just perfect for daily sightseeing for most of Cornwall sights. Furthermore golf at Landryhock and at Looe golfclub nearby made it a very enjoyable holiday.



John from Dordrecht stayed at Penny's Cottage for 14 nights in June 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We were happy to see you back again and look forward to your next visit.

a perfect place to be and enjoy

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the cottage was excellent, everything was perfectly clean and we enjoyed our holidays in Pelynt. Steph and Geoff where very kind and helped us with all our issues. We where impressed by the securitiy features like fire alarm, fire extinquishers and safety light, better standard than in Germany - perfect.

Heiko from Bavaria stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Heiko and family, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed a beautiful sunny week for your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you got to the airport on time for your flight to Germany and would love to see you again in the future. Kind regards Geoff and Steph.

Perfect Penny

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, very peaceful and quite. Well equipped cottage in excellent decorative order and very clean. Excellent hosts who were very accommodating.

Dhana from Pewsey stayed at Penny's Cottage for 4 nights in February 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Dhana, thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Penny's and hope to see you again. Why not visit again in the summer, to see it at it's best.

Why do we need to input this twice. My only complaint!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage, its location and the welcome received from the owners. It would be a brilliant place to stay in the Summer. I think it fair to say we will return at some point.

John from Ryde stayed at Penny's Cottage for 7 nights in February 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Dear John and family, thank you for your wonderful review of Penny's Cottage. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be lovely to see you all again. Perhaps come during the summer and enjoy dining al fresco on Penny's large lawn, as you suggested. Kind regards Geoff and Steph.

Short stay this time

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a very quiet comfortable stay in very pleasant surrounding's. Always a pleasure to stay at Cartole cottages as you feel relaxed as soon as you arrive.

Glenn from Hazlemere stayed at Penny's Cottage for 3 nights in February 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It was great to see you again and we hope that your house purchase runs smoothly.