FB Twitter

Old Stable

Old Stable

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Converted from the farm’s old stable, this holiday cottage has original exposed Cornish stonework and a character all of it’s own. With all rooms on the ground floor, it is ideal for those who find stairs a challenge...

Fab Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It started and continued amazingly. Karl let us in early, as we arrived in the rain. The field to walk our dog was just the same as home. Everything in the cottage appeared new and very clean everywhere. The power shower was lovely and the water is soft - we have hard at home and I forgot and used too much shampoo the first time. It is so close to everything, Looe being 4 miles away and the Eden project half an hours drive away. We will definitely be going again.

Denise from Dorchester stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in September 2019


Relaxing break with excellent facilities

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely peaceful location. Excellent facilities, thoughtfully provided. Really appreciated the information booklet which is comprehensive with photos of local beaches etc.

Guest from Shanklin stayed at Old Stable for 4 nights in September 2019


Just superb

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a superb cottage, hosts and location, every thing is thought about for the visitors comfort and relaxation, I would have no hesitation in booking again. Plenty of almost on the doorstep car parking, lots of amenities for every age group , even the use of a washing machine and drier. I just cannot imagine a holiday cottage that excels this one, a real credit to the hosts Miles and Carl.


Bruce from Chester stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in June 2019


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing, peaceful stay. The cottage was lovely and the surrounding gardens beautiful. Great for getting away from stresses of modern life.

Guest from Weymouth stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in May 2019


Christmas in Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow ! What a beautiful place. The stable was a fantastic base for our 7 day holiday. It was so clean and lots of thought had gone into the layout and decor. The welcome hamper was a lovely addition.We did not want to leave as it had that special effect of making you chill as soon as you walk in the door ! We will return.

Lindsay from Southampton stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in December 2018


Our Stay at the Old Stable

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The cottage felt quite luxurious with every possible convenience including under floor heating in the bathroom.
We and our dogs were very comfortable there.
Impressed with the well equipped laundry room near by and with the dog friendly outside area.
We were fortunate to enjoy warm weather during our stay .It may have been a bit problematic in wet weather with dogs, due to cream coloured carpet in lounge.
We plan to return soon !


Rosalyn from South Molton stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in July 2018


100%

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
EXCELLENT THANKS WOULD RECOMMEND TO MY FRIENDS,WOULD ALSO GO AGAIN IF IN THE AREA.
ALLAN & EILEEN MAURER.


Allan from Waterlooville stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in June 2018


Clean and comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our late April week at Cartole Cottages. The Old Stable is small but very clean, and fine for two people. The cottages are a good base for exploring the area too.

Felicity from Milton Keynes stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in April 2018


Our stay at Cartole

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
New owners very nice it would have helped if a courtesy call had been made re settling in ,but all in all there was nothing to compile about the WiFi code in book needs updating as no WiFi but it was nice to have a complete break .
All very relaxed .


Ray from Havant stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in October 2017


Cornwall Revisited

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After 15 or so years we decided it was time to return to Cornwall and, in particular, pay another visit to the Eden Project which had just opened the last time we were in the area. My wife came across Cartole Cottages in her WI magazine and it seemed to fit our requirements. Our cottage (The Old Stable) was ideal for two people, comfortable, well equipped and we have no hesitation in recommending Cartole - but you really must have a car unless you are avid hikers!

Richard from Norton In Hales stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in September 2017


A Cornish break

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday due to the relaxing surroundings and beautiful weather. Our little cottage had everything we needed and this enabled us to relax. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Stuart from Tadley stayed at Old Stable for 10 nights in July 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Old Stable. You were certainly lucky with fine weather for your stay. We hope your family staying in Kernewyck Cottage enjoyed their stay too.

The accommodation was excellent and the extra outdoor facilities i.e.. the play area is a good idea

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Stable was fine and the whole complex was most suitable for both families and grand parents alike. A good place for a mixed family holiday.

Anne from Clitheroe stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in June 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Great place to stay! Unbelievably calm

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal place for visiting some of Cornwall's hotshots. Loved the sheep and loved the tranquility. Cartole cottages provides fantastic escapism from city life.

Roseanna from stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in June 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing stay with us.

Great holiday cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic dog friendly holiday location ,easy to visit Looe and surrounding area ,very peaceful retreat have booked again. love it

Ray from Havant stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in May 2017


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you kind review, we are pleased that you had a relaxing stay and left refreshed and ready to look after your grandchildren. We look forward to seeing you again at the end of October.

A restful holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very restful holiday in this lovely cottage in a quiet location. We appreciated it being doggy friendly. The only slight negative was that the sofa was rather low for us oldies!

Jill from Gosport stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in September 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Old Stable Cottage. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to bring your dog on holiday with you. Many of our guests comment on our beautiful, peaceful location which is so convenient for many local beaches. We are sorry that you found the settee a little low for you, although it is a standard size, Marks and Spencer settee. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location. Perfect for couples and your pet pooch. The other cottages are great for families. Best holiday in a long time. We visited Looe and Polperro which are so close both fantastic places. Very quaint and picturesque. The weather was good for us most days and we found some lovely dog friendly places to eat. Some of the beaches nearby are god friendly too. The gardens are very pet and child friendly as not near a main road.

Julie from Leeds stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in August 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you had a great holiday and enjoyed your stay in Old Stable cottage. We hope to see you again sometime.

Our first holday in Cornwall.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy and immaculately clean cottage with good facilities for children (play area) dogs(field to run through, my dog loved it!) and washing/laundry room.
The owners and their dogs are friendly and helpful and provide a nice welcome pack on arrival.
The cottage provided a good base for our first trip to Cornwall, we will visit again.


Robert from Clackton on Sea stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in July 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Old Stable and that your dog enjoyed the field to play in. We look forward to seeing you all again.

The Old Stable Cartole Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting of the cottages is very picturesque, approached along a quiet Cornish lane. Geoff and Steph were very welcoming and hospitable. The Old Stable Cottage was immaculately clean and all fixtures and fittings were modern and well thought out. The garden surrounding the cottages is a particular feature, with a private outside dining space for each cottage surrounded by fragrant plants. The cottage is ideally situated for exploring the lovely Cornish countryside, towns and beaches. All in all this was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay in a bright and cosy cottage.

Pauline from Epsom stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in June 2016


Geoff and Staph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review of Old Stable Cottage. You mention the flowers outside of the cottage and in the grounds, it has been a very good spring this year and the flowers are stunning. Let's hope the weather continues to be kind to us. It would be lovely to see you again in the future. Kind regards Geoff and Steph.

Wonderful.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both my wife & i really enjoyed our stay at Cartole Cottages. We stayed in the stables along with our dog MIA. I was so peaceful and to just hear the Birds & sheep in the fields was lovely. We will definatly be going back.x.

Roy from Melksham stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in April 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you very kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Old Stable and thank you for leaving your cottage so clean and tidy. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

October in Pelynt ..................................................................................

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage .. . .. ...............................................................................................................................

Guest from Harrowden stayed at Old Stable for 7 nights in October 2015


Steph & Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Old Stable. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again before too long