FB Twitter

Linney Cottage

Linney Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Converted from what is believed to have been the old cart shed, this holiday cottage retains some of the original stone work and has a beamed ceiling in the lounge and kitchen...

Better than 5* hotel

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location - short distance by car between Looe & Polperro. A warm welcome from owners, Karl & Miles on arrival. Home from home comfort - the cottage was squeaky clean, well equipped and tastefully furnished. Lovely outside patio area to sit in the sunshine. Children's playground, laundry room and more innovations in a few months time to ensure this location is the best in the area. The only noise is the sound of the sheep. For the stargazers this is the place to go.

Debbie from Kingsbury stayed at Linney Cottage for 3 nights in February 2019


50th birthday break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another short break at Cartole Cottages to celebrate the 50th birthday of my twin and our partners. As always Karl and Myles went the extra mile to make our stay that extra bit special.
Every time we've stayed the place has been spotless and the host are superb. The cottages are well equipped and have everything you need for your stay, if it isn't there Karl will sort it out for you.
We enjoy the location as its superb for popping to all the main tourist traps in Cornwall, its nice to stay somewhere off the beaten track but close enough to civilisation.
Can never fault Cartole cottages be it location, accommodation and attention to detail from the 2 great owners.
In the process of booking up again.


Kevin from Gloucester stayed at Linney Cottage for 4 nights in February 2019


Great weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend at Cartole, Cottage was very well prepared and equipped and was warm on arrival. Cottage was exceptionally clean and had everything we needed. The owners are on hand and more than happy to help with any questions / recommendations or just to chat. It has been a couple of years since we last visited but with new owners they have already started to make changes with all cottages having an outside seating area and the play barn has been demolished with works started to rebuild into a bigger and better family entertainment area. We will be back.

James from Gloucester stayed at Linney Cottage for 3 nights in January 2019


Pleasant Stays in Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place for a holiday in Cornwall. Convenient for many bays and attractions in locality. The accommodation was excellent. The Cottage was comfortable and well equipped with all that is necessary to ensure a comfortable stay. The hosts Miles and Karl did everything necessary to make us welcome. Nothing was too much trouble.
I thoroughly recommend Cartole Cottages for a break in Cornwall.


Duncan from stayed at Linney Cottage for 7 nights in October 2018


Linney Cottage :)

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks to Karl and Miles, for making us feel welcome and making our stay a relaxing experience.
We plan on returning next year :)


Richard from Dartford stayed at Linney Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


We really enjoyed our stay, cottage so well equipped and the owners made sure we had a great time.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend staying here, very comfortable cottage, everything brand new and best equipped cottage we've stayed in ever I think!
Great location for exploring the local area and beaches. Dog was made to feel welcome and the children really enjoyed the playground. Very pleased we found Cartole Cottages and we will be going there again.

Thank you so much.


Georgie from Gloucestershire stayed at Linney Cottage for 3 nights in August 2018


New owners at Cartole

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First return visit to Cartole since the new owners took over. Glad to say they’ve maintained the high standards. Place is always spotless and the welcome pack is highly appreciated.
Great location for visiting places around Cornwall. Looe is great for eating but can’t beat the Crumplethorne inn at Polperro for top sea food, scallops are awesome. If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, perfectly applied by the new owner Karl.


Kevin from Gloucester stayed at Linney Cottage for 4 nights in September 2017


Comfortable and peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here a few times now - no complaints. Well looked after and everything you need. Everything you need is catered for. Excellent customer service from the owners.

Stephen from Wellingborough stayed at Linney Cottage for 4 nights in September 2017


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice cottage in an original building. We liked the styling and details that made it more like a 'home'. Service was good: the house was really clean, towels and handsoap in the bathroom were provided and at our arrival we found everything to make us a cup of tea.
As there can be a bit of a moist problem, we had expected to find an extractor fan in the kitchen.


Robert from Apeldoorn stayed at Linney Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are pleased that you appreciated the homely styling of Linney Cottage and the fact that the cottage was really clean. We know how important really clean accommodation is to our guests. We are sorry that you had a problem with steam in the kitchen when you were cooking. We had not considered an extractor fan essential, as the cooker is located next to a double opening window, but perhaps we should review our decision.

A very enjoyable stay in a comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. Lovely welcome bag of goodies on arrival from friendly owners. Polperro and Looe very interesting and several coastal walks to try.

William from Droitwich stayed at Linney Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. It was lovely to welcome you back to Cartole Cottages again. We are sure you noticed many changes and improvements since your last visit and hope to see you again before too many years.

Wonderful Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Linney Cottage was probably the fourth, and probably ninth at Cartole. We always enjoy our stay here, it is perfectly placed out in the countryside, with every facility, particularly good for Children to explore and be themselves, perfectly placed for both Cornish coasts and the many attractions. Geoff and Steff are the ideal hosts nothing is too much trouble. Dogs are welcome, and we always enjoy the company of Twinkle (the little star) and Muffin. We have had the most relaxing holiday and will be back.

Jean from Northampton stayed at Linney Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. It is always lovely to see you again each year. We know how much you enjoy your visits from Twinkle, she is really missing you this week. We look forward to your next visit. Best wishes Geoff and Steph.

Excellent accommodation will definitely go back thanks June cowen

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 2nd time we have stayed in these cotrages and have nothing but praise for steph & geoff thank you so much for excellent & all we needed provided in The Linney would not hesitate to return thank you

John from Northwich stayed at Linney Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased that you could have all your family here at the same time and look forward to seeing Mally and Michelle again in August.

Another stay at Cartole

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As this was our second visit to Cartole Cottages we knew what to expect.
An immaculate cottage in a great location to explore Cornwall.
The Linney is compact but has everything we needed, it's well equipped, bags of information, and a wonderful welcome pack.
We will be returning again, love the place & Geoff is great.


Kevin from Gloucester stayed at Linney Cottage for 5 nights in June 2016


Excellent holiday venue for self catering.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Anyone needing a relaxing break Carole is the place.Welcoming owners and a lovely cottage.the Linney being on one level suited our needs perfectly.Would highly recommend and would hope to visit again.could have brought little Twinkle ( one of Geoff's dogs )home with us as our dog met her love match.

Valerie from Barnsley stayed at Linney Cottage for 14 nights in April 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Pete and Val Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful, peaceful place and many guests comment on how relaxing their stay is. Once again thank you for the wine and flowers, they were much appreciated. We hope to see you again and Twinkle sends her love. Best wishes Geoff & Steph

Short stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Needing to extend our stay in Cornwall, I contacted Jeff at Cartole Cottages.
I very impressed with the accomodation and grounds, also it appeared that care had been taken
with regards to Health and Safety issues.
The Customer Service provided was both friendly and efficient, the Cottage was comfortable,
and information was provided regarding local sights , restaurants, taxi tariffs, etc.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Cartole Cottages.


Keith from London stayed at Linney Cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Keith for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Cartole Cottages. We hope to perhaps see you again at some time in the future. Kind regards Geoff and Steph.