FB Twitter

Kernewyck Cottage

Kernewyck Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Kernewyck was created from one half of the original large farm barn, it is a large holiday cottage that sleeps 4 plus a cot. It has an enclosed patio area ideal for our guests who wish to bring their dog on holiday.Being just ten minutes drive from Looe and Polperro and close to Fowey, the cottage is perfect for a family holiday or for those wishing to walk the coastal path.
The cottage is set in large open grounds, but has the advantage of an enclosed patio seating area.

Stay 3 to 10 Jun 18

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite honestly the cottage, surroundings and hospitality shown by Carl et al were A1.
Lovely place and really dog friendly. Would recommend to all.
Local village Pelent [pronounced Plynt] has a good Spar and another store/butchers (not pricey) as well as a pub - equal distance between Looe and Polperro with a good local bus service to both. Use bus for ease of access and to avoid car parking charges.
Liskeard is about 20 mins away by car and offers a good Aldis and Morrisons [with cheaper fuel]. Bodmin has Sainsburys and Tescos but is about 30 minutes travel by car.
Tallin Bay is quite close and has two nice coves with a suberb Cricket Club style cafe offering 1st class crab salads etc - ask Carl for directions!
Easy access to Eden Project; Helligan and NT properties - road signage lousy and satnav iffy!
When accessing the property enter Pelant and take turning to side of church [ Left from Looe - right from Liskeard direction]
follow road to T-Junction TR and follow lane to property,signposted Cartole Cottages on left. Very narrow road with passing points. Approx 5 mins from village.


Edward from Tadcaster stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Best Cottage we’ve stayed in

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a home from home for us. The cottage has everything you need and little touches that make it seem like a real home. The milk and biscuits greeting us on arrival were fantastic. We have a dog but I’m allergic to short haired dogs so I was hoping it would be clean. I needn’t have worried. Karl did a fantastic job and nothing is too much trouble. Lovely location and not far from anywhere.

Peter from Marlborough stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


5 night stay at Cartole Cottages - April 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at Cartole Cottages in what is becoming a regular haunt for us with the pooch.
Its located just outside Pelynt, secreted away from the touristy crowds in a peaceful and tranquil location but close enough to pop out to the wonderful places such as Looe & Polperro where you can dine. Its also less than an hour away from the main tourist places like Padstow, St Ives & Newquay so its ideally suited as abase to explore Cornwall.
The accommodation is always spotlessly clean and the new owners, Karl & Miles, are enhancing what was already a great place to stay. New patio areas are a great addition to each cottage so you can sit outside in your own little space and relax of an evening. The cottages have everything you need, even USB plug sockets so the kids can charge all their devices, and a welcome pack is a nice touch.
Great location, great accommodation, great price and 2 great hosts. Perfect for a mini break or longer. Give it a try, you won't be disappointed.


Kevin from Gloucester stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 5 nights in April 2018


Recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice grounds with an excellent play area and ride on toys. Very friendly and welcoming owners. The cottage was really clean and inviting with plenty of equipment. The laundry room was really useful also it had a choice if Dvds which was a nice touch. 7

Christie from Stourport On Severn stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Everything was fine.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was nice. Kids loved the place, especially the playground. Sheeps around and the doggie. Plenty of things to visit nearby.

Cornelia from Winterthur stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Children always love staying here, with our large play area and selection of ride on toys. The sheep grazing in the next field are always popular with guests. We hope you had a good return journey home to Switzerland.

Family hub stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cartole Cottage. Geoff and Steph (plus their charismatic dog Twinkle) were most welcoming and everything worked nicely for our young family.
I'd recommend it/them to anyone!
Thank you so much again


Guy from Leichhardt stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 5 nights in June 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are happy that you had such a great time here. Twinkle is very flattered by your description of her. We hope that your letter caught up with you at the hotel and that you had a safe journey home.

Small by perfectly equiped

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wecoming and helpful hosts. Well equipped cottage. Very cozy so best rented by a family who don't mind sharing. Dog walks ok if you don't mind road walking. Great facilities for kids.

Michelle from stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 5 nights in April 2017


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting your review. We are so glad that you found Kernewyck cottage to be so well equipped, we know how important things like a good set of knives and some decent cooking utensils are. We are sorry that you were disappointed with our local dog walks. We usually find that guests bringing their dogs are more than happy with a run around our four acre field or a short walk along our country lane to the village, but perhaps your two large Ridgebacks need more exercise than the average dog. We could have recommended some beautiful country walks or walks along the coastal path just a short drive from Cartole Cottages if we had only known.

A perfect autumnal get away in the beautiful Cornish countryside

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I simply do not know where to begin as there are way too many highlights to pinpoint. We booked 3 cottages (Kernewyck, Penny and Linney) as part of a nostalgic family trip. Our grandparents used to live close by and the natural, unspoilt beauty is what we particularly love about this part of Cornwall; we loved the fact that the location of the cottages makes the most of this.

Being a family trip, we had members of our group across age ranges from 1-78! The amount of thought behind planning the area is really clear- the fact that the Linney is on one level made it accessible for our grandparents whilst the toy barn, bikes and endless play equipment was perfect for entertaining the little ones. The children absolutely loved the giant tractor, trampoline and the swings and every effort has clearly gone in to making these areas safe. Being October and getting dark early, we found the mini library of DVDs and books useful. There was also a selection of games and Cornwall magazines to read. Being October and muddy, it was also a Godsend having the laundry room to wash and dry clothes.

I loved waking up every morning to look out at the beautiful views of fields and often caught a glimpse of the sheep being rounded up in the field next to Penny's cottage. We also enjoyed a few walks around the grounds and managed to see the heron on the pond. It was also a highlight of the trip to bump in to the owner’s dogs- Twinkle and Muffin who were absolutely adorable.

Every attention to detail is clear when staying at Cartole Cottages and there isn't one thing I can think of that we needed but did not have, to name a few examples: plenty of towels, bedding, extra pillows and kitchen items. The lovely bag with Cornish biscuits and tea as well as the pint of milk in the fridge was very welcome after a long drive from Northampton!

The hosts at Cartole were welcoming and friendly without being too involved in our holiday. They were also helpful, particularly when one of our party had a first aid issue and needed advice- they even offered to drive us to hospital.
I could write thousands of word on this review- all positive. The only downside being the week coming to an end. Our family will remember fond memories and speak of our trip for a long time to come; we also hope to return in the future for more adventures.

Thank you so, so much for such wonderful hospitality and beautiful accommodation and surroundings,

Donna and family x


Donna from Northampton stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Donna and family, Thank you so much for your kind and very comprehensive review. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It always feels special to us when we see families get together, especially when they sometimes live many miles apart and do not get the chance to meet up very often. We feel very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the country and it gives us great joy to share it with others. We hope you will come again soon. Wishing you all a Very Happy Christmas and a Peaceful New Year.

Another enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Cartole Cottages and the Looe area and again we were not disappointed. The cottage was very clean and again Geoff and Stef were fantastic hosts. It's a lovely peaceful location and an ideal base from which to explore both North Devon and Cornwall and when the weather is good there's no better place to be. Thank you once again and hope to see you again soon.

Paul from Lancs stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Wonderful stay with perfect accommodation and services

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the place: peaceful, outdoor services for kids, plenty of visits and things to do in the close neighbourhood (landscapes, castles, gardens, villages...).
Hosts are very nice.


Noel from Antony stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us in Kernewick Cottage. Hope the rest of your holiday in England was good too. Look forward to seeing you all again in the future perhaps.

Stay at Kernewyck Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cleanest holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in! Highly recommended and excellent location, peaceful and quiet but a short drive to the bustling seaside town of Looe. Very friendly owners and ideal for children with a great play area and ride on toys/bikes etc. The short field walk down to the lake is recommended. We wouldn't hesitate to book again!

Guest from Sutton Cold Field stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. We make every effort to ensure that our cottages are clean and fresh for each new guest and it is wonderful to know that it is appreciated. Hope to see you all again before too long.

doggie heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay , good location for peace and quiet, very friendly ..doggie heaven with the fields may loved them Planning to revisit again ... Our battery on our car died and they didnt hesitate to help

Kath from Weymouth stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kath and Brian Thank you for your great review, we are so glad that you enjoyed staying in Kernewyck. Guests with dogs love Kernewyck's enclosed outside area and the convenience of taking them for their exercise in our field. We are pleased that it was just a battery problem with your car and nothing more serious. Hope it's still performing well. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards Geoff & Steph

Dogs Allowed

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Kernewyck Cottage on two occasions with our two dogs and had wonderful peaceful holidays. We can find no faults and our dogs love the paddock.

Mo from Stapen Hill stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mo and Geoff, thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Many of our guests say how they appreciate having the use of our field to exercise their dogs. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your birthday meal at The Plough in Duloe. Hope to seeing you again in the future. Kind regards Geoff and Steph.

A fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a short weekend stay at the cottage and we enjoyed every minute of it. The cottage was very well maintained as were the grounds, the owners were very pleasant and helpful and the cottage was positioned very central to north east Cornwall. All in all it was a very relaxing weekend and was really good for the dog having the field at the back of the cottages to run around in. We enjoyed it that much we are returning for a week later on in the year.

Paul from Lancs stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 2 nights in March 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Kernewyck Cottage. Thank you so much for your glowing review, we look forward to seeing you later in the year. Good luck with your boat renovations, we look forward to hearing more about when you return. Best wishes Geoff & Steph

our stay at new year 2015/2016

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we now stayed in nearly all your cottages know i have not been disappointed ,nice cottage ,good rooms, nice and clean, thanks steph and jeff, have a good 2016 thanks again steve and janine sutton surrey.

Steve from stayed at Kernewyck Cottage for 14 nights in December 2015


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Janine and Steve. It was good to see you both again. Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoy staying with us. Wishing you both all the best for the new year.