FB Twitter

Caro's Cottage

Caro's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Caro's a delightful cottage for up to six people. Ground floor double bedroom with en-suite shower room. First floor twin bedroom and bedroom with bunk beds. Far reaching countryside views.

Fabulous week in Caros cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous weeks stay at Cartole. Fantastic location , lovely accommodation very clean and comfortable and always a very warm welcome from Karl and Miles , can’t wait to return next year.
Carole , Chris and family x


Carole from Nr Wantage stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2021


Lovely stay - family friendly but also peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely stay at Caro's cottage. We were 3 adults and 3 children and we found that there was enough space inside for us but MORE than enough space outside. The play equipment particularly the trampoline was a huge hit with the children and the play equipment would also have catered well for for younger children. The cottage was well equiped and immaculately clean. Linen was clean and beds were comfortable, towels were provided so you only need to bring beach towels
We felt welcome was just right - welcomed and friendly but not intrusive in any way. We noticed the layout of the outside space meant that we felt a sense of privacy even though there are 3 cottages on the property.

Note that the phone reception isn't great in that part of Cornwall and to be aware that because of the thick walls the wifi might not work really well in all rooms. Good shops a few minutes walk or short drive away. It's a very quiet and isolated setting so you want peace, plenty of space and to be a few minutes from the beach in a comfortable setting you can't go wrong.


Rachel from Reading stayed at Caro's Cottage for 6 nights in July 2021


A beautiful location with welcoming owners.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Cartole Cottages. We rented two, Penny's and Caro, which are next to each other including the outside space. This meant we could eat and socialise together without moving too far. The cottages themselves we beautifully decorated and furnished. The gardens well looked after, with plenty of space for the children to run and play. A trampoline, swings, playhouse and pirates ship were played on everyday. The owners were friendly and very accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. They provided extra bedding when needed and the use of a washing machine was a godsend. Karl was quick to reply to any emails I sent and sent links to places of interest we might like to visit.I would recommend staying at Cartole Cottages 100%. It's a perfect location, close to Looe and beautiful beaches.

Rosemary from Wadesmill stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2021


Beautiful cottage .

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Cartole cottages . We stayed in Caro’s cottage which was beautifully decorated , well equipped in a fab setting. Ideal location for getting about the south coast of Cornwall. Miles and Karl our hosts were great and would not hesitate to recommend a stay here . 10/10 .

Andrew from Wirral stayed at Caro's Cottage for 4 nights in June 2021


Perfect week

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We should have been in the Greek Islands sailing for this week, but……Well, Cornwall seemed a good substitute. Little did we know we wouldn’t miss Greece as we had the most relaxing, special week ever. Carl’s Cottage is a home from home. All the comfort and practical aspects catered for, (even the things you didn’t know you would need). The furnishings, bed linen, kitchen facilities are all of an excellent standard.
The patio area and grass area made us feel we had own own patch of Cornwall to ourselves. We took our sun loungers with us, (we always do) and I would suggest if you are looking to have good weather they will add to your comfort.
Karl & Myles could not have been better hosts; there when you need then, not when you don’t. They made sure we were happy and looked after and they are great company too.
I rarely say any where is perfect, but Carl’s Cottage, for us, was PERFECT .
PS Great location to visit all the local area. We have e-bikes and cycled to Looe & Polperro.


Sue from Wimborne stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Week stay at Caro's Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed the stay, the cottage was great with a nice private outside area. Karl and Matt were very supportive and friendly (nothing was too much trouble for them). We hope to return at some point in the near future !

Dave from Coventry stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in June 2021


Thoroughly recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. Nothing was too much trouble for Karl and Miles, would thoroughly recommend (but don’t really want other people to know about it!!)

Catherine from Feltham stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2021


Carlo’s cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My son daughter in law and grandchildren stayed at this cottage in August.
Lovely cottage and big play area right outside the cottage to play football.


Sheila from Ashford stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Excellent stay and location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a family of 5 and a dog. The accommodation was very comfortable and the hosts were more than helpful. They gave us some good locations to visit and were more than helpful.

The accommodation was well equipped and although we are going through the current COVID-19 it didn't affect our stay accept for the play area being closed.

Although they are close to the village it feels like your in the middle of no where (dark, quiet and peaceful).

We liked it so much we have booked to go back in April 2021.

The only negative when we were there was a wasps nest close to the steps which was being dealt with.


Tim from Abingdon stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Fantastic week in Caro's cottage with our family

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from another lovely week in Caro's cottage along with our two grandchildren . Weather was fantastic, cottage very clean and comfortable and beautiful surroundings with lots of grass areas for the children to play. Karl and Miles are very approachable and helpful hosts who genuinely want you to enjoy your stay .
Looking forward to next year already .

thank you
Carole Moss and family
Oxfordshire


Carol from Wantage stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Recent Christmas break at Cartole Cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently returned from a wonderful week at Cartole Cottages. We stayed at Caro's Cottage - a cosy but spacious little house that was perfect for a family of 4 and our little dog. The thought that has gone into making this lovely house a 'home from home' was evident and we really appreciated all the little touches including a wonderful welcome hamper that greeted us on our arrival and the amazing folder packed with so much useful information about the area. The location is perfect - far away enough from getting away from it all, but close enough to the picturesque towns of Looe and Polpero. It is a beautiful spot and whilst we were only able to enjoy it during a grey and windy December, this place must be an absolute gem during the warmer months when the sun is out and one can really benefit from the outside space and the grounds. Ideal for a couple and a family, we have no hesitation in recommending Cartole Cottages and thank Karl for looking after us and welcoming us in such a warm and friendly manner.

Alexander from London stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in December 2019


Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage and location immaculately clean and very comfortable. The hosts were extremely helpful and friendly

Colin from Bracknell stayed at Caro's Cottage for 4 nights in December 2019


Great cottage complex

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well thought out cottage complex with plenty of amenities for dog lovers, such as a big field. The management team are helpful and clearly invest time and money to ensure everything is thought of, even to umbrellas in the cottage to providing wellies. Lovely and clean cottage. Five star stay!

Anthony from Cutthorpe stayed at Caro's Cottage for 2 nights in August 2019


Lovely holiday destination in beautiful countryside location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying in Caro’s Cottage. Always a warm welcome on arrival, comfortable and clean living and sleeping space. Surrounded by beautiful countryside, lovely for all family members of all ages.

Carol from Wantage stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Beautiful Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cartole Cottages are set in a beautiful location, stunning scenery with a lovely views and facilities. The cottages are comfortable and a free laundry room is offered. Karl goes out of his way to welcome you and is friendly and helpful. Ongoing works are planned for a play room and patio which will be wonderful when finished.
The only downside I could say is that there maybe isn't enough storage in the cottage we stayed in for clothes but the kids were happy to live out of the case lol Definitely didn't put a dampner on the holiday.


Julie from North Watford stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Fantastic summer holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet location, fantastic cottage ( Caro's ) plenty of space, fully equipped with everything we needed. Beds were comfortable with the added touches ( Soft Disney toys for the children on their beds ) that just made it like home from home. Lovely people which run an amazing place.
The children had plenty of space to play and with the added addition of the play storage we had lots of fun in the evening playing rounder, cricket and football. If the children wanted to make sure they were tired a bounce on the trampoline just did the trick.
Great location for all the attractions and the beach in Looe is beautiful.


Richard from Leicestershire stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Caro’s cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a pleasant stay at this cottage which was clean and homely and spacious. Kitchen was well equipped. The owners were really welcoming and helpful. The cottage was well situated to visit beautiful parts of Cornwall. Would definitely recommend this to family and friends.

Hannah from Brentwood stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Our week in Caro's

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation with wonderful grounds. The kids particularly enjoyed the play area and the green space behind the cottage. The hosts were very welcoming and attentive. The cottage was very well equipped and we found lots to do in the area. Wonderful stay, we'll be coming again.

Nicola from Nuneaton stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Highly recommended cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a week in the looe/polperro area staying in the cartole cottages in plenyt, the cottages and the surronding area are just the perfect holiday get away, lm sure we will be returning again soon.

Kevin from Bedford stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Cartole Cottages - a perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfectly situated within easy reach of lovely local beaches and plenty of activities for families. Everything in the cottage was immaculate, with every detail thought of.

Guest from Bristol stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


We liked it

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage in very good rural surroundings. Opportunities for eating out locally are very limited however the cottage kitchen is well-equipped.

Gordon from Sandown stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Gordon and family for your kind review of Caro's cottage. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Great place to stay with young children

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Cartole. The children loved the play area and the selection of bikes, scooters etc. Twinkle the dog was a very welcome visitor and kept the kids entertained. The cottage was well equipped and kept to a high standard. There are plenty of places to visit within a reasonable drive including the Eden project, Antony House and Lanhydrock. The local beaches were nice too. We really couldn't fault our holiday (except for a bit of rain!).

Catherine from Droitwich stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Caro's cottage. Our play area is always a great hit with the children and Twinkle, our little dog is everyone's favourite.

Lovely Cottages in a Lovely Location

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in Caro's Cottage. Its very spacious and comfortable with everything we needed provided for us. The children had great fun playing with all the toys provided and enjoying freedom to play in the space around the cottages.

Gill from Warwick stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Steph & Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Gill Thank you for taking the time to post a great review of Caro's cottage. We are glad that all your family enjoyed their stay with us. It's always great to see large family get togethers in multiple cottages. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Steph & Geoff

Excellent all round

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family have been staying here for many years. Geoff and Steph have excellent all round standards and are so welcoming. We have stayed in most of the cottages and all are exceptionally presented. Cartole Cottages are set in a beautiful place. They are a great place to get away from the pressures of life but near enough to some really great places to visit. We love staying. The cottages are simply fantastic.

Helen from Bury stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Geoff and Dteph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your glowing review. It was great to see you all again at half term. We are so lucky to live in this beautiful part of the country and we know are guests appreciate staying it too. We look forward to seeing you all again next year. Kind regards Geoff and Steph.

Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy with our cottage and the friendliness of Geoff and Stef, the only downside was that the wi-fi was at times quite slow and at other times we had no wi-fi at all. We were glad to have a dishwasher, a recordable hard drive recorder for the living room to record tv programs would be a nice touch. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to staying at Caro's again.

Guest from Stroud stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Geoff and Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It was good to see you all again. We are so glad that you appreciated all the changes we had made to Caro's since your last visit and will take on board your comments about a recordable hard drive next time we are upgrading the TV in Caro's. Sorry about the problems with the internet. We are experiencing issues with EE and BT at the moment but hope to have it all resolved shortly. Hope to see you all again before too long.

Great September Break

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Caro's cottage was a very comfortable, exceptionally clean cottage, within a beautifully quiet area.
The only sounds at night were the hooting of owls and other various wildlife. The owners were very friendly and accommodating.
The area is great for walkers, and there are plenty of places of interest. Do your research before you come down as we could
not get onto the internet via our tablets or laptop, though we could get intermittent 4g through mobile. Trebor garden worth a
visit, dogs and children made welcome. We would recommend The Kitchen in Polperro for a meal out.


Gordon from Trowbridge stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Geoff and Steph Bowyer replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the Internet, if only you had told us, we may have been able to help. Our internet connection is not the fastest in the world, but does not usually cause problems. We hope to see you or the rest of your family in the future.

Perfect holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would highly, highly recommend Coartole Cottages as a Cornish holiday destination. If you are looking for somewhere relaxing to stay near the coast you will not find anywhere better. It is the perfect destination for people with children and/or dogs. However the quality of the facilities and furnishing also make it perfect for people without children or dogs! The cottages are beautifully presented and immaculate. The layout is such that each cottage is very much private and the peaceful, quiet setting is lovely. We were made to feel so welcome and the children were delighted to find teddy bears in their beds when we arrived. We have been on several UK holiday cottage holidays and this has been by far the best place we have visited. On previous holidays we have found there to be no hand soap/bin bags/washing up liquid/basic condiments/tea bags/kitchen foil/food wrap and so we brought all of those things to find they were all provided and more! Geoff and Steph are such kind people and really care about making sure that everyone is happy. They are always affable and go out of their way to help. Our three year old did not stop talking about Geoff all week! It is very clear that Geoff and Steph love the cottages and care about the comfort of their guests. The travel cots have extra fitted mattresses and the bedrooms have black out curtains so all three of our three and under year olds slept through from day one. The cottage had everything we needed in the kitchen - it was like being at home. The furnishings are high quality, the sofas and beds are comfortable and the bed linen is lovely. We stayed in Caro's cottage where the master bedroom is downstairs and at the opposite end of the cottage to the upstairs rooms where we put the children. We set the baby monitors up in the lounge and so we had no problem hearing them in the master bedroom if they needed us but they were not disturbed by any TV noise etc made in the evenings. The children loved the play park, the field walk and the pond. You could stay at the cottages all week never leaving the premises and the children would be happy! Every time you wander around you notice new things to explore such as the willow dome by the pond. The field walk is brilliant for dogs or just for a lovely stroll. There is a path mown through the field with no mud in sight and you don't have to go on any roads to get to it. The local area is great; rural but with all the amenities you could need and so much to do on days out. We managed to see a lot of Cornwall during our stay; the location of the cottages enabled us to get to lots of places of interest easily. We had two particularly lovely days out in Launceston at the steam railway and the Hidden Valley and closer to base we had a wonderful time getting the passenger ferry from Polruan to Fowey. We thought the value for money on this holiday was incredible and won't be going anywhere else for our future UK holidays.

Michael from Andover stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
What a wonderful, comprehensive review. Thank you so much for putting in the time and effort, to describe your stay with us. It couldn't have been more perfect if we had written it ourselves. It was great to see your two boys enjoying themselves on the ride on toys and in the play area. It's good to know that it will be a holiday they will remember. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Brilliant base from which to explore.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and myself loved our stay at 'Caros', we were very impressed with the high standards around the site and its perfect countryside location.
Situated between Looe and Polperro, the cottages were ideal for exploring the many beautiful beaches and coastal walks plus many other nearby attractions.


Andy from Northwich stayed at Caro's Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Geoff & Steph replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent review, we are so please that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great that your family were able to all come for your annual get together. Weren't you lucky with the weather, lots of opportunities for barbecuing. Hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards Geoff & Steph