FB Twitter

Great Western Lodge

Great Western Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Eaton Manor offers a cluster of family-friendly cottages sleeping 2-14, nestled in over 500 acres of beautiful Shropshire countryside. Alongside rural views and plenty of open space to explore, the cluster comes with a heated swimming pool (open April – October), play hall and thoughtful supply of baby/toddler gear.

As if all that wasn’t enough, the owners also offer a range of optional extras to ensure a truly relaxing and fun-filled family holiday. Guests can opt to take a break from the cooking thanks to the thoughtful meal delivery service and there’s even an option to hire a private chef. Perfect for special occasions or celebratory getaways. The babysitting service is a big hit too whether guests are hoping for a romantic night out without the kids or even just while they partake in a relaxing massage treatment which can also be arranged. Another great addition for larger groups is the choice of onsite activities. Guests can add on a range of experiences from private archery lessons to clay pigeon shooting. All in all, Eaton Manor is truly a special place to escape from the daily grind of urban living and enjoy a relaxing holiday in the country.

Accommodation Overview

Great Western is the cluster designated pet-free property and sleeps eight in four en-suite bedrooms.

The house has been awarded 5 Star Gold by visit England and is perfect for families as it comes with its own play area and sand pit.

Inside the house is light and spacious with beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. There is a large open-plan living area which has floor to ceiling windows on three sides and looks out over the valley. The lounge area is comfortable with sofas, a smart TV, selection of board games and books. The dining area seats 8 but can be extended to seat 12 with prior arrangement. This is particularly useful if travelling with a larger group and taking the neighbouring lodge sleeps three.

The kitchen is modern and fully equipped for whipping up family feasts. Among the usual suspects there is a cooker, dishwasher, fridge, freezer, microwave and washer dryer.

The four bedrooms are split over the ground floor and the first floor. The Stokesay bedroom on the ground floor has lovely views over the garden and can be set up as a super-king sized double or a twin room. It has an en-suite bathroom. The second room on the ground floor is known as the Montgomery room and can again be made up as a super-king sized double or twin room. This room has an en-suite shower room. The remaining two rooms are found on the first floor. The first, known as the Ludlow Suite, is a lovely large room with its own seating and dressing area. It has beautiful views over Wenlock Edge and can be made up as a super-king sized double or twin room. This room also has an en-suite shower room. The final bedroom, known as the Powys Suite, is again very spacious with views over the valley. It has a seating area and can be made up as a super-king sized double or twin. It also has an en-suite shower room.

Outside the house has a large and private garden but families should note it is not entirely enclosed and does have some steep slopes. That aside, it is a lovely space and offers a dining patio with a BBQ and outdoor furniture. There is a swing seat where guests can take in the views alongside a grassy area for little ones to play upon. The climbing frame, slide, swings, and sand pit are bound to be mini guests favourite part.

Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay at Eaton Manor. A spectacular location, super properties and first-class customer service.
This was about the sixth booking with Eaton Manor and we always enjoy it so much, that we’re heading back soon!




Nichola Cariss replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back very soon.

Lovely restful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a 4 night stay at lshort notice as my sister had already booked a week there already. The team at Eaton Manor we’re so helpful and the accommodation was lovely. The grounds are so pretty and the area is very quiet. The only thing we hadn’t realised was the distance between our cottage at Great Western Lodge And where my sister was staying at the Garden Cottage. It was a good 7 minute walk on the lanes to get there but was safe as the roads are quiet. Would love to go back again sometime



Nichola Cariss replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your review much appreciated and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I do find it a challenge to explain the scale of the estate at Eaton Manor which means that some of the properties are a 7 minute walk apart which in many cases is an advantage as even when all the cottages are full Eaton Manor still feels a haven of peace. Look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.

Our Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were part of a party of 21 staying at Eaton Manor to celebrate a 50th birthday. We spent the majority of our time at the manor house but we were very impressed with Woodpecker Way. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed. Would recommend.



Nichola Cariss replied 37 days ago
Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.

Great Place

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time in this area.
Super cottage and location. Great amenities.
Really nice welcome from the Owners
Even the weather was good.
Will definitely use these cottages if we are returning to this area.




Nichola Cariss replied 309 days ago
Thank you for the review, we look forward to your return visit.

short break not by the sea

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely peaceful stay in our well-equipped lodge. I liked the fact that the key was left on the table and we were trusted to do the same at the end of the stay. There was a small but beautiful garden, which was dog-proof and private. I also liked the rules re noise, or rather the lack of it. The estate itself is beautiful and put me in mind of a Scottish country estate we stayed at nearly 30 years ago.
Unfortunately, the flies were out in full force and although I used the spray, they kept coming back. This marred the holiday as I had to rewash all pots before use as there was only open shelving in the kitchen. Perhaps a wall cupboard could be fixed up. A fan might help too.
The Games room was good and there was plenty of dog-walking space.
Loved the dog treats and the cake!
Would revisit.




Nichola Cariss replied 309 days ago
Thank you for your review, sorry you had a problem with flies while you were here and we didn't know you would have liked a fan as we do have those available on request. Glad you liked the garden, the cake and the dogs liked the treat. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Great Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Great Western Lodge for a few days whilst running a yoga retreat at Eaton Manor. We stayed in The lodge and it was perfect. The bedrooms were fitted out perfectly, comfortable and a high standard. The living area was a great space and the kitchenette extremely well fitted out. We will certainly come again!... and have no hesitation to recommend.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Another Eaton Manor gem

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Eaton Manor. Great Western Lodge was exactly as expected and as described. We loved our holiday. The provision of a dog tag provided extra peace of mind and we were able to let our slightly over-excitable dog run free in the grassy field next to the lodge. Other doggy perks were an enclosed secure garden, a blanket, bowl and biscuits - and a warm water dog wash. There are fantastic walks on the estate and beyond. We used the archery range most days too. There is a great games room; our snooker skills were somewhat lacking though. We didn’t use the swimming pool, although there were plenty of available times and it looked well kept. We would definitely go back but we would probably try to pay the extra to be in one of the cottages nearer the archery range.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to meet you, glad you all enjoyed your stay and that your dog enjoyed the space to be able to have a good run in the fields.See you all again soon.

Archery England weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal base for the managers to retreat to in the evening away from the main group in the Manor House. Well presented and handy for the extra personal.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, look forward to welcoming you all back next year.

Excellent Property

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Eaton Manor Estate is to the highest standard, we had an excellent stay and have already made more bookings, our Dogs loved the Hot Dog wash what a clever idea.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, glad the dogs love the warm water dog wash.

Quiet rural idyll

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable stay in comfortable and very well equipped bungalow deep in the Shropshire countryside.
Games room a particular highlight and the swimming pool another appreciated facility.
No instructions for the oven and cramped shower cubicle are the only piccy minus points I can think of.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, great to read you had chance to enjoy the games hall and the swimming pool. We'll see about putting some instructions in the cottage for the cooker with the induction hob.