FB Twitter

Curlew Cottage

Curlew Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 81 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9



Curlew Cottage is a 4 Star Gold master craftsman renovated property set in it’s own private grounds, with a large garden and lawns running down to Eaton Brook.

This beautifully appointed single storey property has 4 double / twin bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. There is dining for up to 10.

Lovely complex

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It had everything we needed but I thought it was rather expensive for what it was.
Booking swimming was a great idea, worked really well.




Curlew

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay for a week with the family and 2 dogs
Could not find fault with anything customer service excellent
We would return
Thank you Eaton Manor Estate




A lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. The cottage was spotless and very comfortable. Nicola was very helpful. We were able to use the archery range and other facilities easily despite the Covid restrictions. The site was very peaceful and near to lovely walks and interesting places to visit but don't tell anyone, we would like to keep it for ourselves!



Excellent accommodation!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Eaton Manor but don’t think it will be our last! The accommodation had everything necessary for an enjoyable stay. Consumables I.e. hand wash, loo rolls, washing up liquid, dish wash tabs, cling film and kitchen foil were in abundance! More than in any other self catering property we have rented either in UK or abroad!! Our stay was for my husband’s 70TH birthday and Laura helped arrange things for the actual day! Everything went like clockwork! Helium balloons set in place on our return from our day out. The caterers arrived at the requested time and had all meal requirements in place! I didn’t have to lift a finger and was able to enjoy the day and even without concern! Thank you Laura!
Would love to return in the summer months when the swimming pool available. I would highly recommend Eaton Manor and the team!
Thank you!




Nichola Cariss replied 221 days ago
Thank you for choosing Eaton Manor for your special birthday delighted to read all the planning worked out so well. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

A fabulous short stay with family over Christmas

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we all live away from each other, in another country too, this was the ideal place for us to get together over Christmas.
We couldn’t have been made any more welcome. The cottage was lit up and cozy warm with everything laid out ready for afternoon tea, including homemade mince pies. My little 3 year old nephew had a Christmas present from Santa waiting there too!
It’s a beautiful cottage with absolutely everything you need to feel thoroughly at home. There are en-suites in each bedroom along with your own tv in each too. There was fresh milk and even a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge. The icing on the cake was that the cottage was decorated for Christmas with a beautiful big tree in the lounge.
I would definitely not hesitate to recommend this cottage and in fact the whole of the Eaton Manor Estate to anyone wanting a fabulous get away with family or friends.




Nichola Cariss replied 263 days ago
Thank you for your review, so pleased you all enjoyed your Christmas at Eaton Manor, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Great

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was used by the younger couples of a larger group but was very very comfortable and plenty of room for everyone.
For a longer review please see my review of Road Hall




Nichola Cariss replied 328 days ago
Great to meet you all, glad you enjoyed your stay and Curlew Cottage worked well for you, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

A little peace of Paradise

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most lovely holiday cottage which felt home from home. Friendly atmosphere and John and Nicola attended to our needs. Everything was just perfect for us and our dogs. Plenty of places to visit. Nice peaceful walks. Didn’t use the sports hall or pool but will do on our next stay. The best place in our view to have a fabulous human and doggy holiday.



Nichola Cariss replied 328 days ago
Lovely to meet you and your dogs, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you all back next summer.

Beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used Curlew cottage as our base cottage for my retreat guests.
The cottage was well equipped with everything we needed to enjoy our stay.
We were blessed with lovely weather so was able to get out and about and use the outdoor spaces which was just lovely.

Thank you Eaton Manor for a lovely weekend.




Nichola Cariss replied 328 days ago
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back next year for your retreat.

A First Rate Family Holiday Venue

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment of our arrival where we found a spotlessly clean and well organised property for our extended family we felt very much 'at home'. A very warm welcome from our hosts supported a lovely location and very good facilities which kept the children occupied either in the swimming pool or the games room both of which provided a number of hurs of distraction.

Well Done a most enjoyable holiday. Thank you!




Nichola Cariss replied 328 days ago
Lovely to read your review, I'm glad the children were kept entertained on site so everyone could relax and enjoy the holiday. We look forward to your return visit.

A week at Pendennis

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Originally we were due to stay at Curlew Cottage but due to building work next door to it we were upgraded to Pendennis. It is in a super location in the countryside, very quiet with lovely views. Six of us stayed at the bungalow, however there were beds to accommodate ten people. Two of the Party were children aged nearly 2 and 4. They enjoyed playing in the garden and running around on the grass. The swimming pool was next door and very handy. More family joined us for my partners birthday. The bungalow easily accommodated us all. We used the outside catering company which was recommended to supply a buffet. The food was excellent. We enjoyed visiting the town.



Nichola Cariss replied 328 days ago
Delighted to read you enjoyed your holiday at Eaton manor, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Toad Hall & Curlew Cottage so all our family could stay together during the week of our wedding. The quality of everything in both houses was excellent and we were all very impressed with how well equipped they were for things like: dish clothes, dishwasher tablets, bin bags, kitchen pots and pans, baking trays etc.. just all those little things that together make such a difference. We also hosted an evening dinner at Toad Hall for 20 people and a large BBQ one day and the staff were super helpful - bringing in extra chairs and then removing them the next day too. The online shopping order unpack was also great! Would highly recommend if looking for somewhere to stay in this area!



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing to have Eaton Manor as your venue for your family over the period of your wedding. Delighted it worked so well for you and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Great short break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage for 7 senior citizens ,all on one floor and very well equipped. Very close to other family embers elsewhere on site, no need to use car at all though some of us did to explore countryside.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and the peace of being able to retreat to Curlew Cottage while being close to the rest of the family.

Brilliant Easter break with the family

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Eaton Manor many times previously, this was our first time at CURLEW cottage. The family loved it everyone enjoyed their own en-suite bedroom, all very well equipped and a lovely private’s garden. Grandson made good use of the games room, dogs enjoyed their walks from the cottage, Weather superb, friendly and very helpful hosts



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Always great to welcome you back to Eaton Manor, great to read the family all enjoyed their stay too - see you again soon.

Can't recommend highly enough

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Doesn't the title say it all?

Everything is top notch - absolutely everything. Curlew Cottage was a pleasure to stay in, the area is lovely, the games room is fab... If you've not been before, go. that's all I can say.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! Thank you for your wonderful review, great to read you enjoyed your stay, hope to see you all again soon.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very well equipped cottage. Very generous with kitchen cleaning products, coffee, tea, etc.
The cake and wine was a lovely touch. Comfortable and very spacious beds! Lovely location for walks.
Enjoyed using the games room and archery with Tom.

Only downside was the garden was not enclosed securely and we were unable to let our dogs
off the lead in the garden.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry the garden was not secure enough for your dogs, as it is a great space for them to run. Please do let us know straight away if something is not working for you and we will do our best to help, you'd be amazed how often we can fix things and we always appreciate being given the opportunity. Lovely to read that Curlew Cottage worked well for you and you enjoyed the archery lesson with Tom.

Family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of six adults and two young children and Curlew Cottage suited our needs admirably. Eaton Manor staff were very helpful when we had a query and even allowed one family to arrive earlier than 4.00pm and use the facilities.

We appreciated being near to the Games Room as there was something for everyone and the large area beside the carpark enabled our two youngsters to run off some of their spare energy!




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to read you all enjoyed your stay at Eaton Manor and that the children had lots of fun in the games room.

Excellent customer service and very comfortable accommodation.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curlew Cottage offered very comfortable accommodation for our party of 7 adults. En suite bathrooms with every bedroom were great. The large private garden was a great bonus, sun lounger or similar would have been a welcome addition.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we do have a few sun loungers by the croquet lawn but I can appreciate that more would be great. Lovely to read you enjoyed the large very private garden.

Family Fun Time

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At the beginning of June, my husband and I, sister in law, daughters and respective partners stayed for the first time at Curlew Cottage, Eaton Manor. With busy lives and living in different parts of the country, we decided to spend a long weekend together in a location easily accessible to all. We booked Eaton Manor following a recommendation and were very excited at the prospect of time together.
We could not have asked for more. On arrival the refractory table was set out with tea, a beautiful home made Victoria sponge and wine.The setting was stunning, and as avid walkers we explored the beautiful countryside and Shropshire towns. One evening, we played in the activity barn, dressing up, playing snooker and generally fooling about ,I think we all lost a couple of years that day. We cooked up a storm in the very well equipped kitchen, and ate our breakfast pancakes and evening meals “al fresco”. To end our days we sat out with evening night caps and finally tumbled into huge, comfortable beds.
We all had a wonderful stay and hope to re- visit some time soon.
Thank you.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to read you had such fun with all the family. Thank you for your review you paint a lovely picture of your stay at Eaton Manor, we look forward to your return visit.

Celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful setting to celebrate my 70th birthday. We all had a great time, which was helped by good weather. The setting of the houses was so will done with plenty of privacy. The help given by the staff all added to make a perfect weekend. Many thanks



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your 70th birthday celebrations. Each property for three or more is set in it's own private garden, which does give all our guests privacy and space to enjoy Eaton.

Four couples on a walking holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we booked Curlew cottage everything was excellent.Nicola and her staff could not have been more helpful.
The location is perfect, the accommodation was exactly what we wanted everything that we needed was there..The rest of the property is excellent..the small swimming pool and the large games room are perfect for a rainy afternoon. The general location half way between Church Stretton and Much Wenlock is ideal for walkers and we made the most of it.
We could not find fault and almost certainly we shall be back.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
How lovely, we look forward to your return visit, the autumn colours are stunning here if you fancy seeing the area at a different time of year.

As always, a great little holiday cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my 4th or 5th time at Curlew. Loved every minute at Eaton Manor, it really is a lovely little find. There's a pub up the road a few miles called the Station which I would also strongly recommend.

Every touch is perfect, from the cake and bottle of wine on arrival, to the thick duvets and fluffy pillows.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Steve, we look forward to your next visit.

Lovely short break in gorgeous surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastically clean and tidy house, with everything you could need for a weekend away. Lovely to find a bottle of wine and a (really tasty) sponge cake waiting, and the whole place is set in some stunning countryside.
Also really impressed by the bathrooms and the very effective underfloor heating on cold mornings!
The only downside any of us could find is that there isn’t a pub within walking distance for the evening, but we’d still highly recommend the Green Dragon in Church Stretton. Just draw straws to find a driver! :)

Overall a wonderfully relaxing weekend and hope to be back again soon!




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Good to read you enjoyed your stay. You can avoid drawing straws for a driver by having a local taxi company take you to and from the pub. You can also have a delivery of local beers to your cottage if you fancy. You will still have to draw straws about which pub to go to, we have a number of excellent ones in the area including The Station at Marshbrook, The Green Dragon, The Ragleth, The Clive, The Horseshoes and the Three Tuns to name but a few!!

Great accommodation and facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really well appointed accommodation ideal for our archery training weekend.
Ideally suited to our requirements for separate unit for review and discussion and debate of shooting performance.
Good base to encourage teamwork development and give archers ideals and goals to set for the future.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read your archery training weekend was such a success, we look forward to welcoming you back.

EXCELLENT ACCOMMODATION AND GAMES FACILITIES

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Curlew Cottage together with Toad Hall for a family get together (15 of us). The two properties worked well together.
There was plenty of room in Toad Hall for us all to gather for meals and to see the New Year in.

We also enjoyed the games facilities very much - we always have a games tournament at New Year - so we used all the different sports equipment including badminton.

We had a lovely meal at The Clive, Ludlow on New Year's Day. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

We will be back.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, Toad Hall & Curlew Cottage work very well for a group booking; delighted you enjoyed your stay and for booking New Year 2019. We look forward to welcoming you all back.

Andy's 50th celebrations

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's our third stay at Eaton Manor. This time there were 20 adults so we chose Curlew Cottage & Toad Hall. Right from the initial email enquiring about dates Nichola & her team where on hand to offer help & lots of suggestions to make sure the weekend was full of fun & enjoyment. We were welcomed with wine, cake & all our deliveries put away. The properties were immaculate. All our guests were impressed with the attention to detail and the stunning location. Toad Hall was the ideal property for our evening meal with plenty of room to relax afterwards. We even had room to dance to Hijinx which was the icing on the cake to a fun filled day.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to welcome you back for Andy's surprise birthday weekend. Thankyou for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A great base for a three-generation holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curlew Cottage was a great base for us, staying with 4 teenagers plus my mobility-restricted Mum. Having wheelchair hire included was a huge bonus for us, and the cottage worked very well for our spread of ages. The flexibility on the beds was perfect as none of the children had to share a double bed, which so often happens in cottages sleeping 6+. I would say though if the children had been younger, and more into lively play, then the cottage may have felt cramped for that number of people.

The organisation, welcome and facilities on site were great for us, especially as we went out-of-season and had the games room and pool to ourselves any time we wanted them. The pool is small, but fine for a bit of fun. The site is beautiful, with a large games field, a beautiful croquet lawn (in addition to the large private garden with the cottage) , and surrounded by gorgeous countryside. Nearby there were historical sites, walks, gardens and many other places to discover, and we managed to find plenty to do that was accessible with a manual wheelchair.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, lovely to read that your holiday worked well for all generations - hope to welcome you all back soon.

Peaceful, beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Eaton Manor was enjoyable and we were particularly impressed with the service we received from the staff. It was very helpful to have the shopping delivery unpacked and placed in the kitchen cupboards before our arrival and the wheelchair requested for my husband was delivered on time. The afternoon tea was most welcome and the cake delicious.

The barbeque was greatly appreciated and the garden well kept, eith plenty of space for games. All in all, it was a most enjoyable stay.













Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciated being looked after by the team, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

A superb place to spend time with all the family

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location sheltered by Wenlock Edge and surrounded by golden wheat fields. We were content to stay on site most of the week, using the pool for the babies' first experience of swimming, strolling along the lanes and playing in the cottage's garden. So peaceful and quiet but not too far away from Church Stretton if we needed shopping. The meal booked from the caterers was a most enjoyable hassle-free treat and lasted us until the next evening! The bedrooms were perfect for us all and all the equipment provided for the babies was very good. Marvellous get-together with the whole family at the big dining table each night and our holiday will remain a happy memory for years to come. We were made to feel very welcome.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Wonderful - delighted you all had such a lovely time and have some treasured memories to go home with.

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a very relaxing family holiday, the cottage had everything we needed and was perfect for children. Everyone loved the games room. Had a great time and the area is wonderful. Many thanks.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read Curlew Cottage worked so well for all the family and that you all had a relaxing time.

50th Birthday party

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had guests staying up n Curlew cottage as part of a group of guests across 3 properties.
It worked beautifully & all our guests loved the cottage.
The facilities & environment were excellent & the homemade cake & bottles of wine were welcomed & generous unexpected additions. Thank you!




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing Eaton Manor for your special birthday celebration - great to read your guests loved the cottage.

Family week at Curlew Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable week with our children and grandchildren taking full advantage of the many excellent facilities, in particular the swimming pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to read the grandchildren enjoyed the swimming pool - maybe see you next summer.

Wonderful weekend at Eaton Manor

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 nights at Curlew Cottage and everything was perfect - cottage, location, facilities - we had the most relaxing time ever and will definitely return. The cottage itself was beautifully equipped, comfy, spacious... and the gardens were amazing. The huge games room and swimming pool are both lovely and we really needed more time there to make full use of them but we were so busy just chilling that the weekend just disappeared in a haze of relaxation. We can't thank you enough, and the extra effort that the staff there make... finding us the most unique sun-lounger in the world.... just topped it off.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to read that you were "just busy chilling" that you didn't get chance to make full use of the pool and games hall, hope to welcome you back soon.

Excellent bank holiday break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely area but you do need a GPS to get through the local lanes !! Great welcome with a fresh cage and a bottle of wine on the table and free wi-fi always helps



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we are at the end of a lane - there is no through traffic so I'm sure a GPS is very reassuring to know that you are on the right road to discover Eaton Manor.

New Year 2016 / 17

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit here and it won't be the last. Extremely comfortable property fully equipped with everything you would need from your stay. Beautiful area with lots of lovely walk and plenty to do. My family and a had wonderful break.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing Eaton Manor for your New Year break with your family, great to ready you love Eaton too; we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Xmas at Curlew Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a wonderful stay with family over Xmas. The cottage was very spacious and well-designed. The kitchen was very well equipped and we liked the fact that the sitting room was separate from the kitchen-dining area. We enjoyed the games room and the suggestions for short walks from Eaton Manor (on laminated cards) were really appreciated. A good base for visiting Ludlow, Shrewsbury and Ironbridge. We particularly liked Much Wenlock and Church Stretton. It would have been helpful to have local town maps provided in the cottage as this would have saved us trying to find local tourist information offices - especially for Church Stretton. Apart from that - could not find any fault. Would highly recommend Curlew Cottage and Eaton Manor.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for choosing Curlew Cottage for your Christmas holiday and for your review. We have a town map of Ludlow and I'll keep a look out for ones of Church Stretton & Much Wenlock to add to the collection. Great to read that the laminated walking maps were useful.

Pre Christmas family break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curlew Cottage was perfect for our stay. We were two families so it was great having the 4 bedrooms and 4 shower rooms. The cottage was really warm when we arrived which I liked as I get cold! The cake on arrival was very tasty. We walked from the cottage the first day up Jacobs ladder. We then drove and had lunch in Little Stretton at the Green Dragon - lovely food! The second day we drove to the National Trust car park at Carding Mill Valley and walked up to the waterfalls. We had lunch on the way home at Much Wenlock in the George and Dragon which was very cosy and staff were friendly. Would have liked more time in the area as lots to see and do. Would definitely recommend and would return. We took our dog and he loved the walks. Oh and the children loved the games room. If I had to ask for anything different it would have been to have a log burner (not because the cottage was cold). Thanks again Angela and family



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, lovely to ready you had chance to explore this stunning corner of England during your stay as well as enjoying your stay at Curlew Cottage.

40th Wedding Anniversary family celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the most amazing place. The accommodation was first class, you wanted for nothing. Adults stayed in this house and we booked Toadhall for our children and grandchildren. The Cottage had everything you needed for the 4 couples that stayed here. We were meet with a beautiful home made Victoria sandwich, a bottle of wine and before we needed to unpack, we could have a cup of tea with our cake because, tea, coffee, sugar and milk was provided! The kitchen was so well equipped, with plenty of crockery, well over the number you would normally expect. The linen was lovely and white and the towels were soft and fluffy. The garden is secluded and large, great for hide n seek! We could find no fault at all. The staff were just so friendly, what a great team.
Absolutely superb in every aspect.




Philippa Hillier replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are all delighted to read that your three-generation group had such a wonderful stay in Curlew Cottage and Toad Hall.

Lovely comfortable cottage, beautiful part of the country, friendly people.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped cottage, very comfortable beds, friendly people.This is a beautiful part of the country, lots to see and do. Much Wenlock is well worth exploring as is Church Stretton, with independent shops to browse and interesting buildings etc. Walks for all levels of fitness from the front door and plenty to do in the games room with full sized snooker table, table tennis and pool table. We were a group of eight friends and all enjoyed our stay. The Autumn colours were just wonderful and it was very peaceful and quiet even though there was a hen party there (they were fun to see and they also looked as if they were enjoying themselves!).



Philippa Hillier replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that your group enjoyed your stay, making use of the on-site amenities as well as exploring the local area. You chose a lovely time to visit and see the beautiful Autumn colours of the countryside.

See review of Toad Hall

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole group gathered and socialised in Toad Hall, but all comments about Curlew were full of approval. It was an advantage to be able to use the dryer in Curlew.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Good to read that Curlew Cottage worked so well for the additional members of your family.

Fantastic location and team

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay. The property was immaculate and the little touches like some coffee and biscuits really made it feel like home. Everything was really easy, including check in and parking.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read that your stay at Eaton Manor worked so well for you, thank you for tking the time to write this review.

Absolutely fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this cottage was fantastic and all the facilities too. We just had one small problem and that was because we had taken 2 medium sized Westies with us and the description says the cottage has an enclosed garden, unfortunately there are some fairly sizeable gaps and the dogs kept escaping into a compound at the side of the garden which we couldn't access. This was quite a big issue for us as we couldn't leave the dogs to roam free which was one of our main reasons for choosing Curlew Cottage.

Other than that one issue, the kids loved the pool and games room and the area the cottage is in is secluded and peaceful with gorgeous scenery.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
We’re delighted to read that you had an enjoyable to stay at Curlew Cottage and on-site amenities, as well as the local countryside. We’re sorry that we didn't know during your stay that you had a problem with your dogs escaping as we always appreciate the opportunity to fix a problem at the time, should one arise. For anyone reading this response , if you have any issue during your stay PLEASE let us know, we love the opportunity to be able to help our guests make the most out of their stay. Our aim is always to delight our customers.

Senior family weekend stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the first inquiry to the actual weekend we were impressed with the helpful and professional expertise.
The location was very good allowing visits to places of interest easily.
The games room and outdoor facilities were impressive.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, and your interest in booking for a larger group in 2018. We look forward to helping you plan this large gathering.

A fantastic retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic weekend at Curlew Cottage celebrating family birthdays. The cottage was amazing. From the booking process to everything else, we could not have asked for anything better. The booking process and the staff were so helpful from the ease of booking, the quality of the website and the additions of such things as providing a disability pack (to include toilet seat risers, shower chairs etc), toddler pack (includes booster seat, potty, bath toys etc) and the shopping delivery facility (order shopping online and the staff put it away for you before you arrive - extremely neatly too!). The cottage itself is in such an idyllic spot and the photos, whilst looking good, underestimate the size of the accommodation. We were 7 adults and a toddler and it was plenty big enough for us all. The accommodation is spotless and exceptionally well appointed. The kitchen is full of things you would not expect such as weighing scales and a hand blender in addition to the things you would expect to see. Items such as soap, shampoo, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets and washing powder are all provided with plenty for the duration of your stay. In addition to towels you are also provided with hair dryers in every room. The grounds are immaculate and beautifully appointed. The Games room is huge and full of things to keep all occupied whatever the age or ability. We also used the pool which you can book for your own party and whilst small it is plenty big enough for a swim and game of volleyball. All in all it was a super place to stay with a feeling that all your needs (and more) have been considered, and met, with facilities that are second to none.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! What a fabulous review - we do have a very dedicated team who take great pride in their work. Your review is a wonderful pat on the back for everyone. THANKYOU!

Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Words really don't do this venue justice. Its the second retreat we have held at Eaton Manor and every one of our 22 guests has LOVED it.

Thank you

Jerry




Perfect accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curlew Cottage is a truly lovely holiday let. We stayed Monday to Friday and could not fault the Cottage in any way. Beautifully maintained with lots of little touches, like cake and wine on arrival, to provision of basics like tea, coffee, condiments and spices, cleaning products, bin bags and dishwasher tablets. It was a home away from home. The locality is beautiful. As we were accompanied by older persons we didn't use it as a base for walking, but I am sure it would be spectacular. The children and my husband used the swimming pool and we all enjoyed the fantastic games room.
I would happily return.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Amanda, great to read you all had such a lovely time hopefully you can visit us again soon then you can explore some of the lovely walking in this area - at the moment there are carpets of bluebells and primroses, always a delight to see.

A great place to celebrate

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this cottage for my wife's 40th birthday weekend so we could celebrate with friends in style and we weren't disappointed. The cottage was immaculate and the beds so comfy. We ordered our shopping online to be delivered and when we arrived it was all unpacked with wine chilling in the fridge.
On the Saturday night we booked a chef to come in and cook for us, which is one of the services on offer, and it was amazing.

I would definitely return!




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Fab! Thank you for the great review - I've passed this on to our housekeeper and her team and to our chef. Great to read you had such a lovely time.

Great quality accomodation on an amazing estate

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Curlew Cottage as part of a Golden Wedding Celebration, with other guests staying in Toad Hall. The cottage was done to a very high spec, clean and comfortable - spacious too. The facilities on site are amazing, especially the huge games room! Surrounding area beautiful too.

We booked a pony trap ride and archery sessions for our group and both were very well done. The pony trap ride we shared between 8 people for an hour - and was enjoyed by all ages. The archery session had a great teacher and all standards enjoyed the 2 hours. Would thoroughly recommend arranging some extra activities.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read that you all enjoyed the celebrations and took advantage of some of the extras available at Eaton Manor. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Family Easter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival , plenty of car parking , the cottage was spotlessly clean and we were surprised to find a sponge cake awaiting us on the dining room table. The four en-suite rooms were ideal for our 3 families (including two children) and the lounge was very comfortable. In the well equipped kitchen there were ample supplies of tea,coffee,sugar ,cleaning materials . Outside the garden area was tidy with good seating and clothes drying facilities. On exploring the site we found the games room which was very well equipped , and was much used after we had carried out some of the local well documented walks , and visited the many attractions that the area has to offer.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your detailed review, so pleased you all enjoyed your Easter holiday at Eaton Manor. I've passed your review onto our housekeeper and her team who are always delighted to read that their work in preparing a property has been appreciated. Great to read that you also enjoyed the walks and the games room, the garden and all the little extras.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eaton manor cottages are great. It's the little things. They provide tea, coffee and milk. The towels are lovely and fluffy (and the bath sheet is huge!). The facilities are fab and the games room is great (full size snooker table, pool tables, air hockey, table tennis). I can't recommend this place enough. We have booked for next year already.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Happy guests! That's brilliant, lovely to read you liked the huge bath sheets which were changed from bath towels following requests from p[revious guests. Thank you for your booking for next year - hope you enjoyed the new beds too!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful. Outstanding accommodation in a lovely location.
8 adults, 1 baby, and 1 dog has a blissful long weekend, full of good food and long walks.
Would definitely recommend!!




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, delighted to read that you all had such a blissful weekend at Eaton Manor and we look forward to your return.

A Great Weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, very homely and comfortable. Everything was good quality from the soft towels to a huge fridge/freezer. All very clean. Fantastic!



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review - great to read you loved your stay at Curlew Cottage.

Fantastic weekend away for Archery!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are the Rickmansworth Archery Club from Hertfordshire and this is the second year that we have stayed on the Eaton Manor Estate. Our weekend stay in Curlew Cottage + full use of their 70m indoor archery range was superb and we will be booking again each year!



Fantastic weekend away for Archery!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are the Rickmansworth Archery Club from Hertfordshire and this is the second year that we have stayed on the Eaton Manor Estate. Our weekend stay in Curlew Cottage + full use of their 70m indoor archery range was superb and we will be booking again each year!



A wonderful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed our stay, including the things provided in the cottage, the swimming pool and games room. The setting is stunning and very peaceful.
The mattress in the cherry room was a little lumpy unfortunately, although did not distract from my stay.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, it was good to meet you all. We’re very sorry to read that the mattress in the Cherry bedroom was not up to standard, we have replaced this immediately. Whilst we can’t fix every issue during our guests stay, it is always worth asking, as on this occasion we could have fixed this while you were here. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to our quiet corner of England and that you had chance to make use of the games room and swimming pool too.

Lovely cottage and great customer service

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Curlew Cottage was perfect for a weekend with friends. In a beautiful location the accommodation is well equipped and maintained, and we had a comfortable stay. Although not available when we first arrived, Nicola popped by the cottage to make sure everything was OK which we appreciated.

Some of the party had booked treatments at the Wellness Centre. Unfortunately, the therapist was unwell and unable to arrange a replacement until the following day. As this wasn't convenient we cancelled the treatments, and were then pleasantly surprised to find 2 bottles of bubbly from Nicola as an apology.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to meet you and good to read you enjoyed your stay along with the bottles of bubbly.

Birthday surprise weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 of us stayed at Curlew Cottage Friday to Monday the cottage was perfect and fully equipped with everything you could want - home from home. The cake and bottle of wine on arrival was especially thoughtful. Facilities at Eaton was brilliant lovely walk for our dog. Laura had been brilliant from my initial enquiry up until we arrived. Would highly recommend this peaceful retreat.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, great to read you all loved your stay at Curlew and that the surprise birthday weekend was enjoyed by all.

Super Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay, everyone happy with their accommodation. Lovely, intimate cottage. We took three houses and didn't use the kitchen at Curlew so can't comment there.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to welcome you all back again, look forward to seeing you all again next year.

Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great long weekend with our family. Facilities were excellent. The property was very well equipped. Location was good,very accessible for long mynd and cardingmill valley for very nice picturesque walks. Games room,couldn't believe there was a full size snooker table plus much more, and a badminton court and swimming pool. All free. Thank you for a great weekend.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read you all enjoyed your stay and got chance to explore the area, the Shropshire Hills are quite spectacular. Thank you for taking time to write a review - good to read the games room was a big hit with everyone.

Curlew Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as 2 families in Curlew cottage and had a lovely time. The staff who met us were so lovely and the cottage iand garden were beautiful. I would though like to make a couple of suggestions which I feel would enhance the holiday for new visitors like ourselves. We had 2 smaller children, ages 7 and 11 and they became bored. The reason for this is that they are a little young for the snooker, pool etc and although it was nice to have a swimming pool ion reality it was very small. Our children would have loved an outside play area with swings and a slide. Taking this a little further if the cottages had an indor play area with simple bouncy castles with a disclaimer then that would I feel help rent the cottages through the colder months.. Overall we had a great time in a wonderful part of the country.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, its very helpful to read what works but also where we can improve. You are right the swimming pool is not very large but has proved ideal for wearing out children! The large private enclosed garden, croquet lawn and playing field are great for outdoor fun. Inside the games room the table football, air hockey, table tennis, toy box and dressing up box are fun for kids of all ages. It is definitely on my wish list to have some outdoor play equipment, at present we have details in the welcome folder of the local playground and tennis court in the nearby village - there's a photo on facebook of my nephew playing there recently. Eaton Manor works very well for multi-generational groups so we are always on the look out for fun things to do for kids of all ages. The teenagers who stay here love the good broadband we have recently had installed! As well as all the complimentary things to do we also have some extras you can book eg. magic show, pony and trap ride and archery lesson. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Quality accommodation in a very picturesque part of England with many interesting places nearby.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We used Eaton Manor, (Pendennis, Eaton and Curlew), for a family gathering of twenty-three adults and six children ranging in age from two to seventy. Eight of the more senior members used Curlew to take advantage of the en-suites and with a full house it was a trifle cramped. Pendennis was occupied by the children and their parents plus some others. They had a ball as the swimming pool was just across the enclosed garden and as we were the sole occupants of the complex for most of our stay we had exclusive use of all the facilities! (Games room, croquet law, playing field and the aforementioned pool.)
Eaton Cottage was the most palatial of our three properties, with its own swimming pool and very large garden with, pond, statues and gazebo. All of the properties are in good condition, and well appointed with all the kitchen equipment, crockery, cutlery etc. one could possibly need. The extensive gardens are also lovingly tended though some of the field walks, through the estate, are not used enough to prevent them from becoming overgrown and difficult to traverse. The welcome packs of milk, wine, cake, etc. were also much appreciated.
Church Stretton, ten minutes away, is a pleasant town with a couple of small supermarkets and nice eateries and Ludlow and Shrewsbury are within easy reach. We visited Llangollen, with its canal, aquaduct and steam train, the Royal Welsh show at Builth Wells, Powis castle, Ironbridge and the Edwardian farm. There were also many other places which we would liked to have seen but didn't have the time.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review, lovely to read how well Eaton Manor worked for all generations and that as well as enjoying Eaton Manor you had chance to explore South Shropshire.

Curlew Cottage, Eaton Manor Estate

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I speak on behalf of our group of 7 friends, following our holiday in June. Eaton Manor Estate is in a beautiful area with easy access to such a variety of places. There was something for everyone of all ages. It has been very thoughtfully planned and is beautifully presented. The grounds are delightful. Curlew Cottage has a lovely, private garden and the property itself was very clean and perfect for our group. My husband has reduced mobility, following a stroke, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the Eaton Manor team in order to ensure his comfort. They provided various disability aids and very quickly and happily provided 'elephant feet' to raise his bed and the armchair when we found them a little too low. We treated ourselves to Drop Off Suppers by Oak Apple Catering on our first night and these were delicious. On our last night we had the Dinner Party superbly cooked by Jane Wilde. A brilliant end to a thoroughly enjoyable stay at Curlew Cottage. Would happily recommend the property to others.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to read that Curlew Cottage worked so well for you all and that we were able to ensure your husband had everything he needed to enjoy his stay. Great to read that you enjoyed the drop off suppers and our chef to cook dinner fo ryou all on the last night of your stay, we look forward to welcoming you all back.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for my sister in laws hen do. There was 17 of us and I can honestly recommend Eaton Manor. Beautiful place, beautiful location, 100% fell in love with it.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read that your sister-in-laws hen do was such fun and that you like us have fallen in love with Eaton Manor.

An excellent stay, thanks very much

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Curlew Cottage with 7 adults and 1 baby. The cottage was lovely and clean and very accessible for my grandmother. The lovely big inside dining table, and the outside table, meant we could all eat together very comfortably. The washing line and machine was great with a baby, and the "toddler pack" meant we didn't need to bring lots of things with us, which was a huge help! Very welcoming (such as putting away a shopping delivery for you and providing a homemade cake on arrival!) and excellent facilities, such as a lovely heated swimming pool and badminton court. Ludlow was not far away and with a car lots of National Trust / English Heritage places were within an hour's drive. We particularly enjoyed the visit to Acton Scott Victorian farm, which is only about a 10 minute drive away. We had a great stay and would come back again.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you all enjoyed your stay at Curlew Cottage and had the opportunity to visit some of the local places. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal country cottage for a family holiday and safe for children to play in their own secret garden! The location was peaceful, relaxing and beautifully maintained.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review, Eaton Manor is a wonderful place for families so its great to read the children enjoyed it all so much. Look forward to welcoming you all back.

Fabulous hen weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property, equally charming garden & entrance. Good use of space & environment. En-suite to all bedrooms very useful. Useful instructions & directions etc.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Fantastic hen weekend - how brilliant. Laura and the team work with the organiser get everything set up before everyone arrives so you can all just relax and enjoy your stay - fantastic or excellent is what we aim for. Thank you for taking the time to write this review

Curlew Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very high quality accomodation. Amazing location. Great service. All top rated accomodation. No hesitation in reccomending this accomodation. This was our second stay and we hope to come back again.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to do this review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Curlew Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My second stay at Eaton Manor Estate - just love the Shropshire hills , brilliant walking , the original Church Stretton shops and the reduced number of cars in your area!

The Cottage was a joy to stay in , very well equipped, great showers, peaceful and wonderful for breakfast in the garden- in April :)

I will be coming to say at one of the cottages next year . My only other comments would be :

a) while the beds and duvet were very comfortable i think the quality of the pillows could be improved
b) the breakfast cereal bowls are rather small - after early morning walking. An option of bigger bowls would have been good
c) the air temperature in swimming pol was fine but the water temperature a little cooler than i expected/would have liked.

Looking forward already to my next visit !




Eaton Manor replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review, we are so pleased to hear that you found Curlew Cottage a joy to stay in and that you enjoyed your stay so much. We really appreciate your feedback as it is important to us that everyone has a great experience when they stay at Eaton Manor. We have passed your comments on to our housekeeping team as they have a regular schedule for reviewing and renewing items in each of the properties. The swimming pool temperature is monitored on a daily basis and is kept to a standard of 28 to 30 degrees Celsius. We look forward to seeing you again when you stay next year.

Great accomodation and facilities in a lovely setting

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely well looked after properties and excellent facilities. The games room is fantastic for kids and adults alike and the pool is fun. The valley the property is set in is lovely and there are plenty of local walks. The nearest town of Church Stretton is very nice with good shopping and is right next to the Long Mynd which has stunning views. Ludlow is just under half an hour away. Highly reccommended.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Our housekeeping team take great pride in keeping all the houses to a very high standard, its lovely to read this was appreciated and also that you got chance to visit the local area. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Family Gathering 1

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This and Eaton Cottage provided a base for a family get together over a long weekend. We chose Curlew for the 'oldies' as every room had its own ensuite. We were all very impressed by the quality of this accommodation. All of our catering needs were provided for, Laura couldn't have been more helpful.
Access to Wenlock Edge was immediate and provided an excellent walking experience. Church Stretton and Ludlow were near enough to provide an interesting shopping experience.
The games room looked tempting too.
We are all thinking of returning both as a group and also with others.




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to read that your family get together worked so well for you all and that you were able to enjoy the walks and see some of the local area. South Shropshire is rather an undiscovered gem.

Lovely, relaxing & cosy stay at Curlew

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely weekend away with the girls for my hen do.Cosy & relaxing & a great social property with the big table & cosy lounge area.Would go back :)



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to read you enjoyed your hen weekend at Curlew Cottage, which is often a big hit with girls weekends away.

Shooting weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent as ever! We arrived a bit early, but that was no problem and the team re-arranged an existing booking on Saturday to give us a full day on the archery range.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to welcome you back to Eaton Manor, thank you for your review.

Archery weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 of us stayed for an archery weekend with sole use of the range. The accommodation at Curlew Cottage was excellent, the ensuite shower rooms were generous, beds were really comfy and the welcome was wonderful oh and the cake and bottle of wine went down very well. Thank you for a fabulous weekend and we were so impressed we've booked up again next year.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
It's always a pleasure to welcome archery groups to Eaton Manor, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Great weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Met for a long weekend with friends - great location, good value for money and superb facilities both in the cottage and with the games room too. Thanks!



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to ready that you all enjoyed your stay at Curlew Cottage and made good use of the games room, thank you for your review.

A warm welcome.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Curlew Cottage. The cottage was beautifully presented and well equipped, lovely and warm. Lots of little touches made it even better. We had a great time celebrating mums 90th birthday.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased Curlew Cottage worked so well for such a special family celebration.

Another Great Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Curlew Cottage, a lovely sized cottage with 4 bedrooms, each with their own bathroom, lounge, dining room and kitchen - plenty big enough for 8 of us staying the week with archery kit.

The open plan kitchen/dining room works well, there is plenty of room for 8 of us around the dining room table and the kitchen is well stocked with pots/pans/cutlery, it's great to be able to do a supermarket shop, have it delivered and packed away before you arrive.

The bedrooms are nicely decorated and contain a small wardrobe, there is an en-suite bathroom with a good shower and towels are provided. The only thing I can find a small fault with would be the bed that seems to want to roll you into the middle but to be fair I've found this in a lot of places I have stayed.

For us who are on an archery training week the indoor range is only 30 seconds walk away and allows archers to shoot up to 70m.

The staff at Eaton Manor are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble.





Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to welcome you all back to Eaton Manor. So pleased to read your archery training week went so well and that Curlew Cottage worked so well. Thank you for the feedback about the bed we'll check this out. Good to read you appreciated the grocery unpacking service and the very well equipped kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you all back next November.

Golden Anniversary Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We occupied 3 of the buildings at Eaton Mannor - I made sure as the person who booked them that I went to each house to check that everyone was happy with the accomodation and comfortable.
Curlew Cottage was fully occupied and all the guest staying were very pleased witht he faciltities and the comfort of the accomodation.

Many Thanks Rachael Grundy




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, so pleased everyone enjoyed their stay for such a special celebration.

An excellent gathering of friends.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay at Curlew Cottage. The drop-off supper and Chef Edward's dinner were absolutely delicious and enjoyed by all. Hope to return some day. Joyce & friends



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Great to meet you all, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Curlew Cottage and the private dinner prepared and served by our chef.

A nearly perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
There was a very welcoming bottle of wine and a cake awaiting us when we reached Curlew Cottage and all the rooms were beautifully clean and well stocked with toilet rolls,washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, foil, cling film bin bags etc and even a first aid kit. All the equipment was in good working order and the linen was good quality and there was plenty of it.

There were only 2 points that we were not entirely happy with. Although the cottage accommodation was very good the garden was not completely safely enclosed for the dog- he could get out in the far corner on the party wall side! the other problem was the booking system for the swimming pool did not work very well- there was supposed to be a sheet on the wall for the next day and it was not there even at 6.30pm in the evening.This was OK for people in the houses next to the pool building but not for Curlew Cottage where we had a 10min walk to the pool building..




Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, our housekeeping team will be very pleased to know you appreciated all their work in preparing Curlew Cottage to be spotlessly clean and well stocked with all the essentials. Thank you for drawing our attention to the hole in the fence at the bottom of the garden. We will check this out and block up the hole your dog had found as we know guests do appreciate being able to let their dogs out in the garden safe in the knowledge that they will stay within the grounds of the cottage. Our housekeeping team clean the swimming pool each morning and change the booking form all ready for that day, we’re sorry to read that this system didn’t suit your group but thank you for the feedback. Our aim is to provide the highest of standards for our guests and we take on board all feedback we’re given to ensure we achieve this. .

2nd stay the year

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we as a group have stayed at Eaton Manor, the group is made up of visually impaired and blind people and a few carers. Culew cottage is across the way from Toad Hall so We put people who have trouble with mobility in it so that we are on hand if needed, all the bedrooms are ensuite and it has a small kitchen the garden can be closed off if needed it has a nice cosy living room with TV. The rooms are all nicely furnished and the beds are very comfortable, towels are provided as is hand soap and shower gel. The estate as a whole us well thought out it even has a warm water hose for washing down the dogs when they have got muddy . We didn't use the crochet lawn this time due to the weather but we did use the games room which has snooker, pool, table tennis, air hockey and other games to play and there is a badminton court as well.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Janet It is good to read that Curlew Cottage worked well for the members of your group who had problems with mobility, and that you all enjoyed the games room, Look forward to welcoming you all back. Nichola

A top drawer property

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent property which is the best I have stayed in anywhere in the Country. Large bedrooms which easily took our family of eight. Excellent communications and facilities. Highly recommended.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
What can I say but thank you. We've had a real win lately with communications, we now have fast broadband on site in all the properties which is relayed here by radio, an amazing upgrade from copper cables.

Excellent Service

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Oct 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
More than anything our enjoyment of the holiday was down to the level of attention to all our extra requests by Laura and her team. It really made the holiday extra special.



Nichola Cariss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We do our best to make sure everything is all organised before guests arrive so that everyone can just relax and enjoy their stay knowing that everything that has been requested will just happen. Laura is on a well earned holiday this week but I know she will be delighted to read your review when she returns. Nichola