FB Twitter

The Granary

The Granary

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


The Granary - sleeps 3 people in 2 bedrooms. The roughcast plaster walls, high ceilings and exposed beams with patio doors leading out to the garden, give this open plan country cottage an airy and light feeling. All rooms are ground floor, so easier for those who are less able; there's a double bedroom and a single bedroom. The modern family bathroom has a bath with over bath shower. patio doors open onto the secluded little garden - the perfect place for breakfast, morning coffee or impromtu Welsh Black steaks on the BBQ. Popular with small families, this converted 19th century farm building has use of all Croft Farm’s facilities including the heated indoor pool, games room and Pets Corner in The Big Play Barn - a great place to make friends. This cottage is pet friendly.

Spring Break & Swimming Lessons

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the Granary on a Sunday and the key was in the front door as arranged. We quickly settled in - fabulous cottage. The place was lovely and warm and there were fresh flowers and a jar of Welsh cakes to greet us. We had a lovely stay and would thoroughly recommend The Granary for a peaceful, comfortable break.

Christine from Swansea stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in February 2020


Swimming Course at Croft Farm Cottges

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My reason for staying at Croft Farm was to do the "Swim without Stress" course run by Ian and Cheryl Cross which was excellent - two very skilled and patient teachers. The Granary was perfectly situated for this, in view of the pool but privately situated it was just a very short walk to the facilities. The pool was superbly maintained and perfect for lessons. The cottage was well equipped, cosy and comfortable. I was particularly impressed by the generous heating settings which were very welcome in January.

Hazel from Newark stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in January 2020


Sylvie replied 8 days ago
We're very glad that your stay was both warm and comfortable and that the swimming course was excellent. Thank you for your review

A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Croft Farm and Celtic Cottages, the first time in the Granary, and it was as good as ever. The Granary was comfortable, warm (this was deep winter) and suited our needs as a couple wonderfully. It is thoughtfully equipped and stylish. We made good use of the swimming pool with lessons from Ian and Cheryl Cross of Swimming Without Stress. We are very grateful to Andy, Sylvie and Charmaine for a much-needed relaxing visit once again.

Gillian from Basingstoke stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in January 2020


Sylvie replied 20 days ago
We're glad that you had a wonderful stay. It was lovely to welcome you here again.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, son and I absolutely loved our stay at Croft Farm and the Granary cottage.

Sylvie and the staff are friendly and very helpful. The whole place is immaculately clean and very well-appointed. Everything worked as it should throughout the facility; the pool is clean (not over-chlorinated for the little ones) and a perfect temperature, and the sauna was a nice addition.
The freedom of access to everything and implied trust with the guests is welcome. My son absolutely loved the soft play area and big play barn, which has some lovely touches like the individual play 'buildings' (the shop, garage, etc). There is a lot for the adults to do as well, such as the air hockey, table football, pool table, etc.

The Granary, as mentioned for the overall facility, is again very well-appointed; the kitchen has everything you need to cook (including sharp knives - a rarity!), pots, pans, crockery, etc, and a very efficient (and clean) oven. The beds and bed linen are super comfy and the heating is setup such that is pre-programmed with individual controls for the radiators and a manual override for when it's not on - very handy. The internet is also very good.
Our one piece of feedback would be to make the open porch area closed-off so that you can store coats, wellies, etc, as we had to stack these behind the sofa due to the weather (we couldn't store it outside as storm Brendan was in full flow!)

It is without a shadow of a doubt that we will be returning in the near future, and for longer this time!


Nicholas from Warminster stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in January 2020


Sylvie replied 26 days ago
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive review of your short break here. And thank you for the suggestion too.

70

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall I really enjoyed my stay but it was off a main road which I didn’t realise when booked. Great for my dog and everyone was friendly. The welcome refreshments were a nice touch and cleaning products.
Quite cramped inside and furniture dated but everything was there so fine.
Pillows were like postage stamps and the heating system in the main bedroom gave intermittent noises throughout the night so sleep was disturbed. The dryer in the utility room was full of fluff which I had to clean so daily maintenance had not been carried out.
Great for kids and I really enjoyed my stay.


Diane from Ripley stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in December 2019


Sylvie replied 41 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your recent short break in The Granary. We are sorry that there were a number of issues that negatively impacted your holiday and we're looking into these, correcting all we reasonably can. Our pillows are all standard sized - they're hardly postage stamps. We appreciate that you would still recommend our cottages and facilities.

Perfect stay at The Granary

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at The Granary. It is spotlessly clean and very thoughtfully kitted out with everything you could need for a lovely week. We had a very warm welcome and felt right at home immediately. I had swimming lessons in the gorgeous pool onsite, which were amazing. Cant recommend Croft Farm enough.

Paula from Stourbridge stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in November 2019


Sylvie replied 69 days ago
We're so glad that you loved your recent stay in The Granary and that your swimming lessons went so well. Thank you for the high recommendation

A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister & I stayed at the Granary for 5 nights as we were booked on the Swimming without Stress course. We had such a great stay and were lucky to have lovely weather. The entire site of Croft Farm and Celtic cottages is really well designed, beautifully maintained and an easy place to find in a lovely location. The pool was perfect (and I did learn to swim!), the laundry facilities are great and there’s a real emphasis on recycling which was made very easy. We loved exploring the beaches and lovely towns nearby, especially St Dogmaels on the day of the farmer’s market. We enjoyed it so much we’re hoping to go back next year with our partners and maybe even consider it as location for a big family get together sometime.

Gillian from Southwell stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in October 2019


Sylvie replied 117 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay in The Granary. We delighted that you had a wonderful stay and learnt to swim :)

My second visit to Croft Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit to Croft Farm and to The Granary and it didn't disappoint. The cottage is really well equipped, especially the kitchen, and it's clean and comfortable. Having the use of the pool is fantastic. I loved visiting the animals too, especially the donkeys! Would definitely return if looking to stay in the Cardigan area again in the future.

Alex from Malmesbury stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in September 2019


GRANARY COTTAGE AT CROFT FARM JULY 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Granary cottage that me, my wife and Oscar the dog! comfortable,well equipped,clean and peaceful. I could take Oscar on his leash to the far paddocks where there were not any livestock and let him off to have a run around and for a short while he had a run around with another dog called Tan who was staying with his owners in another cottage.
We enjoyed swimming in the pool in the cottage complex and was impressed with the adults only sessions between 7.00 & 9.00 PM thus allowing lane swimming for fitness.
The cottages are a large part of the hamlet of Croft which is on the crossroads of the A road linking Cardigan with Fishguard,this is in Pembrokeshire which is a very rural part of Wales but very scenic. The nearest supermarkets are down the A road just on the top side of Cardigan ,Tesco, Home Bargains opposite one another and Aldi a further few hundred yards away. Cardigan has many small shops as well as smaller well known high street names.
I would recommend the Pen Y Bryn arms pub just over a mile away from Croft, excellent value for money meals and a warm welcome from John and Jen and barman Aneirin. Also try the Ferry Inn at St Dogmaels just over the river from Cardigan. a little more sophisticated than the average pub food and with views over looking the river Teifi. Go to the local produce market in St Dogmaels on a Tuesday morning, we bought wine, savoury and sweet bakery products, eggs, Ewes milk cheese and dressed crab. Poppit beach was excellent, car park ,toilets and a good cafe but wonderful miles of estuary beach to walk and let Oscar the dog loose on.
I would recommend staying at Croft Farm and Celtic Cottages and exploring South west wales.


Christopher from Barnsley stayed at The Granary for 13 nights in July 2019


Sylvie replied 196 days ago
Thank you for your lovely chatty review. We're so glad that you both enjoyed your stay - and Oscar too :)

Week with swimming lessons

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at croft farm in the granary. What a great place to bring children, we were here for Swimming without Stress lessons with Ian and Cheryl who were brilliant and so calm and patient. Lovely beaches close by too.

Roger from Solihull stayed at The Granary for 7 nights in May 2019


Sylvie replied 265 days ago
We're glad you enjoyed a lovely week recently in The Granary and that you found the swimming lessons with Ian and Cheryl were 'brilliant '.

Nice break.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed 3 days at Croft Farm in May for pleasant walking and sightseeing. Well-run establishment with welcoming hosts.

Hugh from Wigan stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in May 2019


Sylvie replied 265 days ago
Thank you for your review

The Granary, February 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The kitchen was very well appointed, and the property was scrupulously clean, and comfortable. Ditto the swimming pool area

Guest from London stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in February 2019


Sylvie replied 348 days ago
Thank you :)

Great weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eleven of us stayed at Croft Farm, two in Granary Cottage which is a beautiful, well equipped cottage. Had a wonderful weekend.

Elaine from Bridgend stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in February 2019


Sylvie replied 356 days ago
We're so glad you it worked well for you all.

The first of hopefully many visits!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, fabulous hosts, stunning surroundings. Beautiful beaches, great pubs and cafes, amazing castles... all with added cat! We loved being adopted by Sooty.

Stephanie from Clevedon stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in February 2019


Sylvie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you - we really look forward to welcoming you here again :)

Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is no fault to be found in The Granary. It is comfortable, warm, clean, and well equipped. If you think there is no washing up liquid it’s because it’s on the windowsill and you have pulled down the blind. If you think there is no vacuum cleaner it’s because it’s behind some folding baby stuff under the single bed. There are lots of coat hangers, you can just relax and turn up because everything is covered. If you want to let Sooty the cat in he is well behaved and asks to be let out when he wants to go. I went for Swimming Without Stress lessons with the hope of learning to float. Mission accomplished! V happy.

Deborah from Lincoln stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in January 2019


Sylvie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're really happy to read you accomplished your learning to float goal too - well done :)

Great cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay. Very comfortable and well appointed.
Swimming lessons were great and super to be able to use the pool.


Julia from Nottingham stayed at The Granary for 4 nights in October 2018


Sylvie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review about your stay in the cottage and your swimming lessons. :)

family "get together"

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Suggested by Iz to meet up with Nick and grandson Thomas for "Christmas"as we couldn't be with them in Dec.cottages were close together and lots of room.The pool and farm animals were brilliant to keep a small 3 year old happy .Little Evie just3 months old enjoyed the pool We had time to go to Aberaeron and Cardigan. Highly recommend

Alison from Callington stayed at The Granary for 3 nights in November 2018


Sylvie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay as a family get together and for your high recommendation. We hope to see you again :)

All good, could have been cleaner

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Enjoyed staying in the Granary and was mostly spotless with a few grimy exceptions- like the revolting door seals in the washing machines, and some nooks & crannies in the kitchen.
Struggled with the site map as it’s incomplete- the cottages are on there but not the pool or hot tubs or animal kitchen and I never found the rabbits & guinea pigs.


Rachel from London stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in December 2018


Sylvie replied more than 1 year ago
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay Rachel, but we are very sorry to read that the washing machine seals were in such a bad state and that despite being mostly spotless there were nooks and crannies in the kitchen that were unclean. We have now addressed these issues with the cleaning staff who work consistently extremely hard and rarely slip up. We are sorry that you found the site map incomplete. We provide our telephone numbers should you have any queries and in this way we helped you find the pool for your swimming lessons. Sadly there is no hot tub for those staying in the Granary. The animal kitchen opens on to the yard just behind The Granary as does the small pets shed. We are very sorry you missed these places especially as we saw you daily and you never asked us their whereabouts. We do hope the points you raised wouldn't prevent you from returning for further lessons in the future. Sylvie

Autumn Break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Granary cottage has all amenities. The cottage was spotless and very cosy and well laid out. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom has a power shower and a bath. Easy access into Cardigan which is a lovely town, also Poppit Sands a nearby beach is ideal if you have children . It’s also dog friendly.
The owners couldn’t be more helpful. All in all I really enjoyed my stay and hope to return in the near future.


Frances from Leeds stayed at The Granary for 5 nights in November 2018


Sylvie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely account of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Croft Farm in the near future. Sylvie :)