FB Twitter

Poplar lodge

Poplar lodge

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 83 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.1
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


unrivalled location-stunning views - only 3 miles from the picturesque harbour town of oban

Lovely little lodge just right for a couples retreat!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for four days away! Very close to Oban for days out!! Accommodation comfortable and clean. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely little historic ruined castle nearby!


Emma from Barnard Castle stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in November 2017


Lovely winter stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely 1 night weekend stay in the 2 person Poplar lodge. Booked a Saturday night break last minute. The lodge was very nice and well equipped. The location wasn't far from Oban with lots of things to see and do. The bed was really comfy and the lodge well heated which was particularly good for visiting in November.

Our only complaint would be that their are 2 Poplar lodges joined together however only space for 1 car to park beside them.

There is a local pub a short walk away. The food was fantastic and it was busy enough for this time of year. Beware the walk though as you will need to make sure you have willies or walking boots to walk through the muddy field to get there and torches recommended. Failing that you can taxi there for £15 (we didn't get a taxi and braved the extremely dark and wet walk home which was quite spooky but fun!)

All in a great place just wish our stay was for longer to have seen more.


Karen from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 1 nights in November 2017


A wonderful 'get away from it all' holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay with our 2 collie dogs as it has all we need for a relaxing holiday. The lodges are in beautiful surroundings with plenty of good walks on the doorstep. We've always had a warm welcome, a spotlessly clean lodge having a bright comfy seating area with plenty of room for us and our dogs baskets. The bed too was comfy and there was plenty of hanging space and drawers for clothing. The kitchen is compact but has everything you need to self cater including a dishwasher, a must for us! The Barn pub is only about 10 minutes walk up through the fields and serves real ale and good food, again a warm welcome for us and our dogs. Although you're tucked away in the countryside it's only a short drive to Oban for its wonderful seafood restaurants, ferry to the islands, Oban whiskey distillery and all the shops including supermarkets.

Julie from Huddersfield stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in November 2017


Our stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cabins, spacious, in a great location just a short walk to the barn pub too, the land and lodges are well kept and lovely to stay in, definatley returning for our fourth year next year xxx

Leanne from Coventry stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in October 2017


Stunning location.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect and convenient if you wish to acquaint yourself with this area of Scotland. The lodge we stayed in (Poplar 1) was acceptable, well laid out and comfortable. However it was ready for a bit of 'sprucing up' - a coat of paint, new covers for the sofa etc. In short, some updating is necessary.
Overall though we would recommend (in fact already have) this lodge to friends.


Patrick from Norwich stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Short break with our working cocker spaniel

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The poplar lodge had everything we required for our first time visit to Oban. We couldn't believe the space inside and how well equipped it was. The setting was idilic great for the dog. The owner was very helpful and I would certainly recommend it to my friends and family.

Ian from Renfrew stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in September 2017


Clean, pleasant lodge but would benefit from an up-date.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, pleasant ledge but would benefit from an up-date. Ideally situated for Oban and the gate way to the Islands.

Guest from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Poplar lodge for 11 nights in July 2017


Ideal Location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is just outside Oban far enough away for peace & quiet but close enough for shopping/drinking etc.
The lodge was immaculate & has everything you would need for your stay.
As previously mentioned electricity is an extra you have to factor in, but it's only a few pounds extra.
If your visiting the west coast & looking to explore the islands this location is ideal and you won't be disappointed.



Alex from Aberdeen stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in August 2017


Upgrades in progress

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Present owner is very helpful and obviously working hard on necessary upgrades of kitchen appliances, bathroom etc. They are currently working on improving the WiFi, which is very poor at present. A lovely position and surprisingly quiet for a fully occupied site.

Angus from Farnham stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in July 2017


A Breath of Fresh Air

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was easy to find with Sat Nav, we got in and made ourselves at home straight away in the Poplar Lodge. It was clean and well maintained. The outside was nice with a beautiful view of a Loch. Shops nearby to do your daily shop. There was Wifi but with limited access which was good for us because we had a better experience and was away from all technology. Would definitely come back up again.

Alexander from Watford stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Lovely place to stay with my cocker spaniel:-)

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My cocker spaniel and I really enjoyed our short break. The area is great for walks and the lodges are clean and have all the necessary facilities.
Shame about the weather:-(


Peter from Oldham stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


A wet week in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately the week we stayed at Lagnakeil the weather was not good and we did not have full benefit of the excellent location. I think we had one pleasant evening when we strolled from the lodge toward the loch but otherwise the evenings were wet and we could not enjoy sitting outside enjoying the views. Although the lodge was adequate for our needs we did feel it was a little tired.

Howard from Beverley stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


need a makeover

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
In a lovely rural setting but lodges all look tired and in need of some tlc. They are the same inside and need a good clean. The bed was fine.

Guest from stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in June 2017


Well equipped lodge, comfortable and close to Oban

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was well equipped, comfortable, dog friendly and had everything we needed apart from a Cafetiere. It would benefit from a gate to stop dogs/small children escaping from the balcony - we had to use the dustbin. The Wifi was patchy so it was difficult to receive and send Emails. A warning to visitors to bring midge repellent & ensure the dogs get pre-treated for tics would be a good idea. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Christine from Brentwood stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in May 2017


Nice place

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good stay with wonderful scenery. Surrounded by nature which was wonderful. Lodge comfortable with everything you need

Guest from selangor stayed at Poplar lodge for 1 nights in May 2017


Excellent self-catering holiday destination.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, just outside Oban, beautiful countryside, pub/restaurant 10 minutes walk away. Chalet was clean and all we needed, kitchen was well equipped with a dishwasher cooker fridge microwave. We had a fault with the TV but Paul got it fixed quickly. He was very friendly and helpful.

Ken from Croydon stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in April 2017


Revival time!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a few days in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland. Just a few miles from the town of Oban in lagnakeil.Truly a magical place ,with stunning scenery on the doorstep The town of Oban has all the basic necessary needs ,but spend your time in superb countryside which will guarantee a complete recharge of your lifestyle batteries Wake up in the morning to the sound of silence in your Lodge with only the sound of birds and the occasional Deer wandering past.An absolute must is a visit to the wonderfull gardens a few miles away at Arduine (by car or bus) and other gardens.You won't be disappointed. A plus is your host Paul who is most helpfully.



Matthew from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in April 2017


An expensive self catering holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
For a small one bedroom cabin the price was excessive. Having to pay extra for electricity was unexpected and should have been included in the overall cost. It was reasonably well equipped but it needed a new sofa and armchair. The location has good facilities (,which we did not use ) .

Brian from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Excelent accomadation in stunning location.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed peace, tranquility and comfort in beautiful surroundings near the attractive town of Oban, with it's shops and varied activities. Welcoming owners, clean lodge and we will be back.


Peter from Milford Haven, Pembrokeshire stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in April 2017


Weekend break with the dog

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in Lagnakeil Lodges and will definitely be back in the summer months.

Brian from Kilmarnock stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in February 2017


A worthwhile stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely short break, fabulous views and scenery and lots to see. Nearby pubs, shops,restaurants and take sways. Beaches, forest and woodlands all there to explore. Would go for longer next time.

Jo from Liverpool stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in February 2017


Short break

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The site is on the outskirts of Oban (10mins) surrounded by lovely countryside. The lodge was spacious and well equipped. It had a large bathroom containing a lovely generous shower unit and bath. The site has a laundry room for use.
The lodge could do with a little updating decorating wise and some extra warmth in the bathroom needed to be considered as you currently pay extra for electricity. The issue of paying electricity needs to be clearly stated on the website or incorporated in the overall price. Difficult for the owners to calculate as this is their first real season. It cost £20 for the 5 days we were there and we were efficient in the way we used the power.
Oban is well provided with all the usual supermarkets and some lovely eating places. Most places were welcoming with dogs but it is best to check first.
The local pub (limited opening in the winter) is great, food is reasonable and the beer is good. The staff are very welcoming (dogs are welcome also).
The site is surrounded with some good walking. The owners of the site could not be more helpful and we would definitely return and recommend to friends.


Nigel from Northallerton stayed at Poplar lodge for 5 nights in November 2016


Get away from it all

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Nov 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
If you want to get away from it all then this is for you. We stayed late on in November for a few days and is was very cold but so picturesque . We found the sofas very uncomfortable but as we were only there for two days it was fine. We found it difficult to get a taxi from the number that was left for us so we called another one we found on the Internet and that arrived in fifteen minutes.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would like to go back when the weather was a bit warmer to enjoy the outdoor more.


Martha from Alexandria stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved it did not wanr to leave so peaceful. Although it rained all weekend we did not care we just chilled out and relaxed. Went to the Barn for sunday lunch which was good as well.

Anne from Bathgate stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


Pleasent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and i enjoyed our stay there and recomend anyone to stay.Close to OBAN and amenties,with good views locally

Alison from Westhoughton, Bolton stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


clean, comfortable and in a lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lodges weren't too far from Oban - if you want to get away from it all, this is the place to come
clean, comfortable and well equipped and dogs are welcome



Lorraine from Chorley stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in November 2016


Perfect Location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for a peaceful stay with breathtaking views and lovely walks. The location is well placed to explore the area and the owners were only too willing to look after their guests.

Sally from Cambridge stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


A most excellent experience...

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very easy to book your lodge, kept up to date throughout. A very warm welcome from Lauren upon our arrival. We were introduced to our lodge which had everything we needed to really enjoy our stay. It was comfortable and clean and in a beautiful location, very peaceful. The lodges are not far away from Oban allowing ample opportunity to travel the surrounding area, which is why we chose the lodges in the first place.

A huge thank you to both Paul and Lauren for our stay

I would most definitely recommend staying at Lagnakeil Highland Lodges and I myself would love to return in the near future.


Glenn from Co Durham stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in October 2016


Scotland in September

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable stay although the lodge was in need of updating. Wi-fi unreliable. Additional cost of electricity wasn't much but we have never come across this before when in self catered accommodation.

Frances from Clitheroe stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We we're only there for one night. The walk across the paddock to the Barn for dinner, was good fun. Plenty of parking and lots of things for children to do.

Louise from Esperance stayed at Poplar lodge for 1 nights in September 2016


A very relaxing and enjoyable 3 nights at Poplar Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed 3 nights at Poplar Lodge. We found the owners very friendly and helpful with anything that we needed for our stay. The Lodges are in a fabulous situation only 5 minutes from Oban, a very peaceful setting with lovely views. We enjoyed walking to the nearby Barn for drinks. If anything the Lodges need a little updating, but that didn't spoil our enjoyment at all.

Margaret from Wetherby stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


Excellent location for dog owners

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week with our dog and we loved it. It is self catering which we liked and it had excellent facilities in the cabins for cooking and storing food.
Dogs must be on lead at all times but that was fine as our dog would have chased the sheep in surrounding fields if she had the chance! There is a good local pub not far from the cabins by foot and Oban was a 5 min drive away and is a very scenic pretty town with good dog friendly pubs..the restaurants weren't that dog friendly though but did have seating outside if you did have a dog. There was loads of walks and things to do and I would recommend coming here for a few days. The area is very beautiful. Owners were helpful and on hand if needed but weren't in your face which was nice. Definitely recommend to people who want a holiday with their dog. Oh and the bed was very comfortable. You do have to pay for the electricity you use but it was very cheap.


Leanne from London stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


Great location but lodge needs some updating

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed the location which was really tranquil and close to some good walks, plus Oban just down the road. The owner Paul was friendly and quickly met me at reception on arrival.

The lodge itself needs some TLC - the towels were pretty worn and the kitchen possibly needs a new oven (the current one is so old the numbers on the temperature dial have worn away). The plastic tray in the fridge was cracked so we had to leave our milk outside to keep cold overnight.


Harriet from Leamington Spa stayed at Poplar lodge for 6 nights in August 2016


Relaxing time

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights and wish had booked
for more , everything was absolutely perfect, great welcome, beautiful lodge, close to oban, beautiful walks, great restaurants.....highly recommended.



Michael from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


Great break

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at the lodges, so peaceful and Oban was only a few miles away so easy to get there. Very handy having the pub/restaurant just down the road, would definetly go again

Andrea from Ballantrae stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in July 2016


Highland Lodges

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location with friendly hosts. Property needs some updates to furnishings and fixtures (handle fell off bathroom door). Wonderful location, close to Oban. Good local restaurant.

Jane from Boylston stayed at Poplar lodge for 5 nights in July 2016


Lovely lodge & location.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at a number of different lodges on other sites in this area many times in recent years. We found this one to be as good as the best we have stayed in. The location is excellent being only 8 miles from Oban & the views from all aspects were very nice. Lauren & Paul we found to be very friendly & helpful, I am sure we will be back again for another stay.

Helen from Coatbridge stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Perfect short break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break at Lagnakeil. The lodge was perfect for the two of us and our dog. The setting is beautiful and the site is immaculately maintained. We have stayed in the area several times but this was best. Will be back.

Andrew from Aberdeen stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in July 2016


A short stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed here for 3 nights. The customer service we found to be excellent. Paul met us on arrival and showed us to our lodge which was bigger than we expected and nice and clean. We were slightly disappointed that the lodge was not near a loch, but that's our omission for not checking. Around 5 minutes drive to the centre of Oban they are ideally situated as a base to the island ferries or for walking / cycling holidays. The site itself is well kept and neat and tidy. We particularly enjoyed watching the birds on the feeders on the windows.

Jacqueline from Consett stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in June 2016


A week away.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet site only a short car ride from Oban. Everything you needed.Well equipped kitchen and large comfy bed. Decent WiFi and mobile reception. Plenty of walks from the door and nice pub

Geoff from Bingley stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


A hilly site

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I think it needs/a certain updating. New kettle toaster etc. I was struggling with the slopes on site and no hand rail by the steps
On the plus side it was very peaceful and relaxing ther . Very friendly who settled us in and very near to Oban


Guest from East Yorkshire stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly staff in a beautiful quiet location. I would recommend this location to anyone looking for a nice relaxing break. The staff were very approachable and always went out there way to help. Thank You I had a great time.

Ray from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in February 2016


GREAT BREAK AWAY FROM IT ALL

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting. Fairly recent new owners who are upgrading an already very good chalet park. Our stay was very pleasant and but for the internet speed being a bit too slow to allow me to get some work done, my wife and I had a thoroughly wonderful stay. Paul, one of the 2 owners, is a lovely chap, as are the staff employed at the park.
Would most definitely recommend a visit.

Note: The owners are very aware of the internet issue and are looking into the options available to them to resolve/improve the situation as best they can, given the remoteness of the location.


Helen from Strathaven stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in June 2016


Lovely peaceful location

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a week and were delighted with our accommodation when we arrived. It has everything a couple need and a lovely big comfortable king size bed and a bathroom with a very good shower and a big corner bath as well! It is only a few minutes from Oban and it's many shops and restaurants and supermarkets. Paul is a very helpful host and is on hand every day and can suggest places to go and can arrange some trips if required.
We only had 3days of our week's stay as my elderly mother in Orkney had a heart attack and was flown to Aberdeen for a pacemaker so we had to rush home in a hurry. Thankfully she is home again and is doing well. We hope to return and continue our holiday near Oban when time and her health allows. We recommend this property unreservedly.


Maureen from Muir Of Ord stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2016


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lauren and Paul are excellent host's and could not do enough to accommodate our stay, Paul made a make shift gate on the decking to stop our Labrador for wondering around the site, they have a wealth of local knowledge. An excellent place to stay very close to Oban and the local bar was also excellent

Sara from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2016


Relax

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place, good country setting, peaceful and relaxing.having your own patio to sit out on is an added bonus. The Barn inn is only a short walk through a field which has a pathway is handy for a few refreshments and the food is good. We both enjoyed our stay here.

Sharon from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 1 nights in May 2016


Good quality self-catering accommodation in great location.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, feels like you're miles from anywhere but actually a very short car journey into Oban (5 mins). Poplar lodge was perfectly appointed for a couple and well equipped. Other facilities, e.g. laundry, available on site and Barn bar a 10 min walk if you don't fancy cooking. Furnishings are fine but a little tired and the shower is a little under-powered but adequate, (water is supplied from a spring so may be local limitation). Overall, we were very satisfied and would come again.

Angela from Pontypool stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Wee break

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed. The location is beautiful and could never be faulted. Ideal for a total chill out. The lodges are fantastic cosy with loads of space. It's been over 10 years since we stayed and I felt the bathrooms were now very dated and cold.
We would go back again
The new owners are lovely and wish them many years of success.


Lorraine from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in April 2016


2 night break

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay here, was excellent, peaceful, clean and so comfy, will defiantly return, just a wee reminder to watch when you go, if you have dogs, we were there when lambing season was on (fields all occupied), so we were limited to were our dog could be off the lead for a good run around, but it wasn't really a problem as got in car to open areas. Took ferry to Mull and loads of space for the dog to run around.
Excellent Cabins, you will not be disappointed .


Karen from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in April 2016


Lovely stay in Oban

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location. Would have been nice to arrive to a warm lodge but all windows were open so it took a while to heat up. Good facilities and very friendly and helpful owners. Would definitely stay again.

Guest from Brechin stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in March 2016


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice lodge in very quiet location. Nice manager who was very helpful when we arrived. Good pub 10 min walk with good food. Oban 5mins in car.would go back in future. £9 pounds for 3 days electric which was ok as we had heating on for the three days.

John from Kilwinning stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in March 2016


Wonderful get away from it all holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived with our two dogs to find everything we needed for our self catering holiday. The sitting and dining area were a good size with patio doors and a large window where we watched the many birds, some even feeding from the feeder that was stuck on the window. The lodge very quickly warmed up, essential as our stay was in March, with plenty of convector radiators although we only ever needed one on as they gave out lots of heat. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bedding. The kitchen was well equipped with sharp knives and non stick pans. The only one negative was that the bathroom was very cold even with the small fan heater on that was on the wall.
There are some wonderful walks from the lodges which was important having dogs, sheep are all around so they needed to be on a lead at all times. The walk to the very friendly pub, The Barn, took less than 10minutes. A welcome biscuit was always waiting for the dogs and real ale and food for us.
We would love to return for another holiday here.


Julie from Huddersfield stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in March 2016


Perfect for me

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked 1 month in a Poplar Lodge; stayed for 2! (Jan-Feb 2016) Unusually appalling weather kept me indoors a lot - no problem with the generous living/dining area and all mod cons. Only slightly negative comment was rather weak wifi. Paul and Lauren, the new owners since end 2015, were looking into improving this, perhaps difficult given the (lovely) location surrounded by hills. Note that the public library ten minutes away by car in Oban has an excellent free internet service. Paul, Lauren and their employees made me feel very welcome and I would recommend their chalets wholeheartedly.

Peter from Switzerland stayed at Poplar lodge for 30 nights in January 2016


Poplar lodge Lagnakeil

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great weekend here. Nice and peaceful and quiet, but near enough to Oban town centre
Pleasant helpful staff. Comfortable and spacous lodge with sattelite tv.


Guest from Largs stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in March 2016


lovley stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
stayed at lagnakeil lodges for two night wish we could have stayed longer the lodges are lovley and scenery stunning cant wait to go back not to far to travel in to oban

Shirley from Johnstone stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in March 2016


Love it

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dont wrighting reviewers about holidays us usually even if I was happy in overall always was something wrong. But no this time. I been at lodge in February 2016. Excellent service from owners. Very peaceful and quiet place. Perfect for families, dogs, romantic couples. Few minutes from Oban what could be handy. Extra charge for electricity but no expensive. I paid £5 for all weekend when heating was on most of the time. Really recommending.

Greg from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in February 2016


Great value

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really nice stay. The family we checked in and out with were so friendly. The lodge was spacious and comfortable. Perfect location with beautiful scenery

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in January 2016


Lovely setting with easy acces to Oban and surroungig area

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting with easy access to Oban and surrounding area- walking distance to beautiful little homely pub with excellent food and beer.
Would advise anyone to take advantage of these lodges for a relaxing break


Stuart from Dunblane stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in October 2015


A first class holiday break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very enjoyable stay in the 'Poplar' lodge, the location is first class, the accommodation was clean, comfortable, and well equipped.
I have no hesitation in recommending this complex to my friends and will be using again in the future.


George from Perth stayed at Poplar lodge for 5 nights in October 2015


lovely lodge, beautiful views and very quiet. perfect for a break.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely situation and very clean and comfortable. close to Oban and ferry to Mull. Plenty to keep you occupied or quiet enough for a good rest. The only small thing was we expected a view over water as advertised and the lovely bathroom (also advertised) but this was just a small complaint and didn't spoil holiday

Sandra from Eyemouth stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in September 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second holiday at Lagnakeil, as we found it suited us so well last year. The setting is idyllic and peaceful, but close enough to Oban for shops, boat trips and such.

Carolyn from Thornton-Cleveleys stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Fantastic 8 day

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have hoped for more. A fantastic time in Scotland all helped by staying at Lagnakeil highland lodges. I can't fault them. Great setting and quality lodges. Would i go back. 100% yes.

Steven from Rayleigh stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Lynn from North East

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable stay plenty to do around the area. Good for walking, we did not visit the nearby bar / eatery. Felt the environment was safe. The accommodation was fine if a little tired but we would stay here again in the future if we were in the area.

L from Shildon stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


great holiday:nice poeple;in nature but nearby town

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stay in beautifull chalet in nature but also nice town closebay (Oban). From Lagnakiel /Oban you can go to fort William, Tarbert, KillMartin , Inverarry etcetera etcetera, every two years we looking forward to come back.

Guest from Leusden stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a nice place to stay the location was stunning we had a long drive to get there we did arrive early but we were welcomed by the owner who is very nice.he took us to the lodge and he explained about the lodge which had everything we could need and told if we needed anything during our stay to come and see him all we needed was some advice on the local area had a great stay will be going back I can't wait what a relaxing holiday. the local pub is only a short walk away good food good beer.

Robert from Chelmsford stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Lovely place

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved our stay at Lagnakeil even though the weather wasn't great. Thought £695 was a wee bit excessive for a one bedroom lodge considering you have to pay for the electricity over and above that. The Barn just up the road is a great value for money place to eat.

Edward from Lanark stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


LAGNAKIEL LODGES

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was our 2nd visit to lagnakiel.we were made very welcome and found the Lodge very comfortable& well equiped. we hope to go back next year.we fond it to be an ideal place for walking ,hill climbing & fishing.Oban is just 5mins in car.

Guest from St. Andrews stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Average Accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The lodges are situated in a nice location. However, we felt our stay was slightly over-priced for the basic facility we were provided with. We were disappointed that we were then expected to pay extra for the use of electricity. The hosts didn't seem very inviting or enthusiastic towards us as guests. Therefore, we probably wouldn't stay there again.

Guest from Torphins stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in August 2015


Very enjoyable stay in beautiful surroundings and comfortable lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No complaints, we enjoyed our stay, the lodge was very comfortable, everything we needed was provided, the lodge was in a beautiful setting and it was no hassle having a dog with us. Very pet friendly. Ideal for Oban and surrounding area.

Guest from Houghton Le Spring stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


did not want to leave

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
what a lovely spot just what we needed to unwind it was really quiet the satalite stopped working for the last day but we didn't care we still would have stayed longer if we could I would recommend it to anybody

Guest from Barry stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Enjoyed a good fortnight

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The lodges are in a lovely spot down a dead end road with a loch at the bottom. Inside the polar lodge is spacious for a one bedroom and has everything you need. The interior of the chalet is starting to get dated, especially noticeable in the bathroom. Outsides are very well maintained including grounds.

Washing and dryers in central laundry. Modern appliances and seem to be charged at cost. We had one problem with the dishwasher and this was resolved very promptly.

Would come back but we try and go somewhere different every year.


Guest from Colne stayed at Poplar lodge for 14 nights in June 2015


Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was stunning, the lodges were warm, clean and comfortable. I would suggest the bathrooms need updating as they were a bit basic, but we would go back again.

Guest from Gillingham stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was stunning, the lodges were warm, clean and comfortable. I would suggest the bathrooms need updating as they were a bit basic, but we would go back again.

Guest from Gillingham stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


LAGNAKEIL Poplar 1 cabin

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Bathroom needs a "deep clean" - wine glasses were needing washed! - sofa and chair were past their sell by date.

Not one of the best presented units I have used. Nice location shame about the weather!!


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Very cold and draughty lodge.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Electricity charge should have been included for the cost of the stay.
Extra blankets available within the lodge needed when colder, not at reception when you can't get them.
And a number provided or a message board for when no one answers reception.
Labels on power switch for shower to identify it from others would also have been helpful.


Guest from Kenilworth stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Perfect peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic woodland retreat. The log cabin was very spacious. The bedroom was very comfy. On an evening it was very cosy and warm if using one of the heaters. The kitchen is fully equipped with every you need on a self catering holiday. It was also a perfect for our puppy's first holiday.. The local pub was a fantastic little place and the food is also good

Guest from Hebden Bridge stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in May 2015


beautiful lagnakeil

Review submitted on Fri, 22 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a very enjoyable stay in the poplar lodge. beautiful location, very peaceful yet not far from supermarkets and oban. Lodge had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We had to pay extra for electricity and the weather was quite cold while we were there, so we had the heating on quite a lot and the bill only came to £8 for the whole week. We were moving on the following week further north so my wife was pleased to be able to do the washing in the on site launderette another bonus. The only downside was the internet very hit and miss but what can you expect in such a beautiful rural location. We will definitely return.

Guest from stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Excellent in every way.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I, plus dog, thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lagnakeil, nothing could be improved in any way except we would have appreciated a CD/radio/DVD facility,

Guest from Milford Haven stayed at Poplar lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


Lovely nice place.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice place and friendly welcoming. The lodge's size is perfect and comfortable.
If the kitchen stuff were cleaner, I would say everything is perfect. However, the kitchen needs more care and cleaning. The same goes to the lodge's flooring which would need better cleaning.
Despite all above, we spent unforgettable lovely days at the lodge.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in April 2015


Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we were looking for. A beautiful and peaceful retreat, just what we were looking from coming from the city. Lovely place and lovely people. Will definitely be back!


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Poplar lodge for 4 nights in April 2015


A great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely two days at Lagnakeil. Colin and Jo were perfect hosts and the lodge was everything we had hoped for. The surroundings were beautiful and the weather was very kind to us. We will definitely return.

Guest from Cumbernauld stayed at Poplar lodge for 2 nights in February 2015


Brilliant Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great long weekend and very relaxing. Ideal for walking the dog...lodge dog friendly and perfect sight. Colin very helpful and very approachable. Looking to book and return.

Elaine from Bonnybridge stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in February 2015


poplar lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Feb 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay at poplar lodge with our 2 labs.the cabin was comfortable and we had an enjoyable time and very relaxing which was what we wanted.the walks for the dogs could of been better as had to be on leads a lot because of sheep the walks that were suited for them werent clearly marked.overall the owner was pleasant and helpful and it is a nice place to stay.we would go back in the summer months definitly.

Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Poplar lodge for 3 nights in February 2015