FB Twitter

Pimpernel

Pimpernel

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 56 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Unique 5 star Gold award barn conversion, sleeps 4 but has a huge living room ideal for large groups to gather in.

Pimpernel has a king size wooden 4-poster, large log burner, corner jacuzzi bath and shower in the main bathroom, and en suite shower room in the double bedroom.

Family get-together

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oatfield was the perfect place our group meet-up. We had Meadowsweet and Campion as well as Pimpernel, accommodating 8 adults and 5 young children, with plenty of space for everyone inside as well as out.
There was so much to do just on-site and the children could play safely as they wished, enjoying the various outdoor toys (sit-on cars etc), football and simply charging about. The indoor games room was brilliant with loads of toys for children and a pool table and table football for adults.


Susan from South Croydon stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in August 2021


Lovely stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely five-day break in Pimpernel. I had originally booked it for Christmas, but this had to be postponed at short notice because of Covid/lockdowns etc. and our hosts were fine about this. The property was gorgeous, the beds comfortable, and the views beautifully green. The only sound in the morning was the birds singing, and as a country getaway this was perfect . My disabled son loved the wood-fired hot tub and so did I - lovely to have a tub not full of chlorine and to be able to hear the birds (again) while sitting in it. The sitting / dining room was grand and the kitchen well-equipped. We found lots of lovely places to visit all within a short drive of Oatfield Farm and all-in-all, it was a super holiday.

Andrea from Ramsgate stayed at Pimpernel for 5 nights in May 2021


Delightful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely converted barn in a beautiful location and very spacious. Really enjoyed our stay. Wanted to stay longer.

Sara from Rogiet stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in September 2020


Spacious barn great for two couples or family to share

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rustic barn, everything you need is there. Wood fired hot tub was great. Takes a while to heat up on the first day, but if ask the owners they will happily light it for you during the day so it is ready for the evening. Lovely apple juice, bread, jam etc left for us on arrival. Great customer service, they even took our food delivery in for us whilst we were out for the day(on our request!)

Andrew from Cheltenham stayed at Pimpernel for 4 nights in September 2020


Beautiful Family Escape

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was lovely, and the owners had done everything to make sure it was super-clean and safe post-lockdown. We really enjoyed our week in Pimpernel; family highlights included playing tennis and getting involved in "farm chores" feeding the sheep and goats and collecting eggs (thanks, Kate!). The house is close to the Forest of Dean where we ventured almost every day for nice woodland walks.

Josh from London stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in July 2020


Weeks stay in the Forest of Dean

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time at oatfield. The owners were friendly and helped out with suggestions of local dog walks. The hot tub was lovely coupled with a few games of tennis. The farm is set in a lovely location and very quiet for some very much needed time out. Thank you for a lovely visit. We will be going back.

Kerry from Milton Malsor stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in June 2019


A beautiful barn conversion very well stocked and with very attentive hosts nearby.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful barn conversion very well stocked and with very attentive hosts nearby. An idealist setting quiet for us as on this occasion we were the only people staying in the vicinity, but there are other connected cottages that are let out. The games room has a pool table and table tennis. The sauna looked in good condition.

Guest from stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in May 2019


A Perfect Haven

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 4 nights . Was greeted by the owners and blown away by this beautiful cottage. It’s a renovated threshing barn and massive with beamed open ceilings and a huge log burner with logs provided . There was an amazing welcome pack with local fresh produce and warm bread baked by the owner. The four poster bed was very comfortable and we woke to birds singing and nothing else. On the farm they have goats with kids 2 weeks old and pet sheep that come to you for some fuss . There is a tennis court , wood fired sauna and hot tub option which we took and sat facing the woodland watching the birds roost with a glass in hand . There are lovely walks from the farm itself or so much woodland and nature trails to keep you busy . I recommend you visit the mines and the ancient wood over the road that feels magical and has a tea room that serves a mean cream tea. There is even a play area for the kids.
The local takeaways in Lidney , 3 mins away, are both great and the Mexican is really nice . We went to The Cock Inn a few times they do food and plenty of non alcoholic drinks ! They even have a gin that tastes like gin which as I can’t drink at the mo was amazing .
I can’t praise this cottage and the area enough . I highly recommend for a nice quiet weekend or a week exploring the Forest of Dean and a ride on the steam train . Don’t think twice just book it , you won’t regret it !


Lisa from Weston Super Mare stayed at Pimpernel for 4 nights in April 2019


Stunning Property.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning property with every little detail thought of. From toiletries in the stunning bathrooms to a bowl for the dog and even dog biscuits for her. Fully equip kitchen, stunning family bathroom (and lovely ensuite too), stunning barn conversion and very comfortable, fresh flowers, fresh eggs from the owners chickens, (along with a welcome hamper of goodies for us) whats not to like! My family enjoyed the tennis court along with the log burning hot tub which they made it their mission to get warm enough to get in too (which they did, eventually!) There is a games room and an information office with leaflets and maps of the surrounding areas, which is a great idea. We were greeted on our last morning with one of the baby goats peering through the glass front door, very sweet.
Stunning location set in very a quite location, about a mile from the main road along winding country lanes.
Friendly, helpful owners and a lovely property.


Joanna from Gravesend stayed at Pimpernel for 4 nights in August 2018


Beautiful accommodation in a lovely area

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Pimpernel. Really lovely accommodation, beautiful furnishings, couldn't ask for anything more. The farm itself is so peaceful, the goats were a big hit with our daughter, the hot tub did take a while to warm up but it was a great achievement, and a game of tennis kept us entertained while we waited. Would love to return.

Sam from Southport stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in June 2018


Family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 4 cottages for a family get together. Welcome hamper for humans & dogs much appreciated. Well equipped playroom for children of all ages. Altogether an excellent weekend. Many thanks to Alison & Kate.

Guest from Solihull stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in July 2018


Property needs a bit of tender loving care.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beds very comfortable and clean. Ensuite bathroom looking tired. Lights bulbs needed changing. Dust down back of beds when I was changing table lamps around. Garden furniture needs updating. Kitchen very well equipped. Toaster very awkward to use. Couldn’t get grill on cooker to work. Really enjoyed fresh produce. Lovely spot. Drain needs sorting. Got really wet underfoot on grass. Patio area and tennis court need tidying and weeding.

Guest from Bath stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in May 2018


A wonderful, comfortable, truly lovely long weekend.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 friends and I plus one dog, had a truly superb long weekend in Pimpernell and the adjoining cottage. It was a special birthday event which needed a lovely setting and this place was perfect - also made wonderful by the excellent service from the owners. The location was perfect for our get together, our stops at local cafe and pub and some beautiful local walks made this a wonderful stay. We could not believe the spaciousness and grandeur of Pimpernell and the high standard of comfort offered in all the adjoining cottages. Pool table, table tennis, croquet, friendly little goats, a large jakuzzi, sauna , hot tub and firepit left us all feeling very happy and we all want to return again. Thank you so much. Alison

Alison from Bristol stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in March 2018


We had an excellent stay at Pimpernel. It was my 30th and there were 4 of us.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wee had a fabulous stay, really lovely relaxing weekend. The house was clean and cosy, and we had everything we needed. Thank you for the little goodies provided in the kitchen! The only thing that could've been improved was to have a way of having a rain-proof cover over the hot tub outside, and also an outside light. The log burner didn't work very well, and even when we burned wood for 4-5 hours, it still wasn't warm enough to get in - because of these things we couldn't use the hot tub, which is why we booked here.

Otherwise, our stay was great, made lots of fun memories.

Thanks again,
Elizabeth (stayed November 2017).


Elizabeth from Wakefield stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in November 2017


Very enjoyable and relaxing few days.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal location for our family break...........................................................................

Kelvin from Bristol stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in February 2018


Great New Year break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Oatfield- over New Year. We arrived to a fantastic welcome basket. Alison was very helpful and there was everything we needed, a very well equipped cottage. Really quirky and fun. There was lots of wood for the wood burner and the kids loved feeding the sheep and goats. We enjoyed cycling in the Forest of Dean. We would happily go back for longer.

Amanda from Ash Vale stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in December 2017


Stunning Property in Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Living/dining area of this house is stunning. Surprisingly warm and cosy, all aspects of this house make you feel at home. The location is great, with some very friendly pubs serving good home cooked food. I would return and recommend.


Kate from Toddington stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in October 2017


Short break in The Forest.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again,a fantastic short break,loved the rustic hot tub,,,,granddaughter thought it was amazing,,,enjoyed the tennis court,,dogs very happy and content.We have now stayed in all cottages,looking forward to our next visit,,,

Maggie from Stroud stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in September 2017


family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented all 5 cottages on this site and it was perfect for us all. This barn was great for family gatherings, meals for 16, and safe space for the little grandchildren. The whole site was perfect for all ages, plenty of toys, friendly animals, a playground, ping pong, a bountiful orchard with amazing ripe plums by the millions, and lots of outdoor space for enjoying the sunshine. It was especially good for the 3 - 7 year olds who could run free safely, and ride their bikes up the drive. It was very peaceful and special. The properties are quite close together and some sounds carry from one to another. For a large family gathering it was absolutely perfect.

Tessa from Calne stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in August 2017


6 night stay at Pimpernel cottage during the summer holidays

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend Oatfield farm highly enough (and indeed have already recommended it). The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful - we and our dogs were made to feel so welcome and it truly was "dog friendly". The accommodation was very comfortable and brilliantly located and in terms of price this was a bargain for peak season.
The little touches were absolutely lovely as well - help to get the fire going, picking fruit from the orchard, the little care package we had on arrival and just the array of well-stocked but often overlooked basics that the accommodation was equipped with.
Our only (slight) frustration at least to begin with is that the wood-fired hot tub is a real labour of love to make hot; but we got there in the end and the experience was probably all the better for the sense of achievement once we did!


Ramin from Bideford stayed at Pimpernel for 6 nights in August 2017


Short family break

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole complex was well kept and tidy. The setting and location was really pretty with only a short drive to many visitor attractions, e.g. Forest of Dean, Wye Valley. Everything was good, the only downside was the wifi which was very intermittent in the cottage, and the hot tub which we could not enjoy as much as we would have liked because it took well over 3 hours to heat the water to a decent temperature - which meant there was not enough time to use it if you had been out all day. Otherwise a really enjoyable stay. The enclosed back garden was excellent for our cockapoo Maisie as we could let her out without worrying about escaping! She was fascinated by the goats and sheep in the orchards.

We enjoyed our time at the Pimpernel and would go back to stay again.



Guest from Ipswich stayed at Pimpernel for 4 nights in July 2017


Perfect in every way.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, granddaughters (27 and 9) and I stayed for a week. All agreed we had never slept better. The cottage is so comfortable and peaceful. Everything is supplied and when we had relatives visit for a BBQ there was enough cutlery and crockery for 13 people with plenty to spare. Washing machine, dishwasher and all kitchenware were supplied too. My younger granddaughter really loved collecting eggs from the free range rescue hens and playing on the climbing frames etc. She was also taken by the hot tub which Insoon fired up quite often. My elder granddaughter and wife also loved it, as did I. The area is beautiful and there is so much to do within a few miles. There is no wifi in the cottage itself but it is available in the information office just a few yards away. When we arrived there was a gorgeous welcome basket with homemade bread (still hot), jam, free range eggs, organic apple juice and biscuits. Our dog also had a welcome basket!
All in all the cottage was perfect and we have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it.


Chris from Spalding stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in August 2017


Pimpernel at Oatfield

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just got back from a wonderful stay at Pimpernel cottage at Oatfield farm. The cottage was stunning, huge living area for the kids and us to relax in, the hot tub was excellent and the jacuzzi bath was a real hit too! The farm itself was excellent the play area was great for our kids (4&5) and we had lots of lovely walks in the surrounding area. There is loads to do in the Forest of Dean and so the location is excellent.

Joanna from London stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in July 2017


Fab Stay at Oatfield Country Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at Pimpernel Cottage with family and it was great. Lovely welcome basket on arrival. Great place to relax and chill out... we're very lucky with the weather too!! Lovely surroundings. Great pubs for meals out.
Would have maybe preferred an electric hot tub, but was still fun. Cottage was very well kitted out... would recommend and would go again if the opportunity arose!


Guest from Birmingham stayed at Pimpernel for 4 nights in June 2017


Fantastic family celebration. 22.stayed across all the cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage, amazing living space for a large group. Celebrated parents 50th anniversary. Well equipped with plenty of plates etc for larger numbers. Great log burner hot tub. Bedrooms very comfortable and enormous bathroom! Great venue and the whole site really well equipped, plenty of spaces to explore and loads foe the kids to do. Will definitely wamt to go again. Thanks to the owners.

Catherine from Windsor stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in May 2017


Relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has been our second stay to Oatfield cottages we enjoyed our first visit to the Campion that we had to come back. The pimpernel cottage is very spacious it has a large sitting room with a log burner as the centre piece of the room which makes the evenings very cosy. There is a Jacuzzi bath and wood fired hot tub which are both a must! The photos don't do the cottages justice for what they are. The cottages are very clean and Alison and Kate are very accommodating we had a welcome basket filled with freshly made bread, homemade jam and eggs from their chickens. The cottages are well furnished all you need to bring is yourselves and food. We brought our dog with us and she loves the walks around the cottages, they have mapped out routes for you to take one ended us out on the river severn which had stunning views. I would definitely recommend Oatfield to anyone who is looking for a relaxing break.

Steph from Basingstoke stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in May 2017


A family weekend where we took over all accommodation.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not fussy, down to earth, very amenable with animals and children. Great facilities, and an ambiance of relaxation. Limited WIFI coverage in accommodation but good access at one location, but a great thing as you will need to go near to the office location to use.
Good parking, easy access, and off the beaten track.


David from Farthinghoe stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in April 2017


Family break

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely place with excellent hosts
Very helpful at all times and very willing to involve themselves in ensuring that all was well
Will definitely return again


Ian from Speen stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in April 2017


Great place to relax - takes a while to warm up in winter

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Really enjoyed the cottage once it had warmed up. A bit over-priced & tired compared to alternatives we've been to given the time of year; great local pub a short drive away and friendly pig/goats on site.

Guest from Aylesbury stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in February 2017


Fantastic location for family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed over the Christmas period, renting 4 of the 5 cottages. Kate and Alison were very friendly and helpful on our arrival and although the weather was pretty miserable, we immediately felt comfortable. The Pimpernel was well prepared and welcoming with adequate room for large family dining. The only minor downside was the size of the kitchen which is ralatively small if catering for a large group, however with careful planning it did prove adequate. The children loved the animals and in particular George the pig who rushed from his pen every time food was deposited for him.
We have not reviewed the other accommodation we stayed in but found all to be comfortable, clean and well equipped especially when the log burners are kept stoked up.
Overall an interesting and quirky destination which we would recommend for families and couples alike. We certainly hope to visit again in the future.


Stephen from Yeovil stayed at Pimpernel for 5 nights in December 2016


New Year Stay at Pimpernel

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pimpernel is a beautiful building and provided a great central lounge and dining area for our group of 12 that stayed in the various cottages over New Year. It was cosy and homely but large enough for all of us to relax with space and eat together on the large long dining table. We felt at home and shut off from the outside work without feeling disconnected. The addition of wifi in the main building would have topped it off as phone signal was not great, but this was not a large issue at all. Would recommend to anyone.

James from Ware stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in December 2016


Amazing holiday thank you

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful converted barn with loads of space for children and very baby friendly. So nice having the animals on site and our toddler was given the have to bottle feed the lambs. Lovely location with many different things to do in the area. Great amenities on site and the owners could not have been more helpful and welcoming. We had a great stay and would love to return.

Ruth from London stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in August 2016


An amazing stay!!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 18 of us hired all 5 cottages on this beautiful site. The accommodation was superb and the welcome box was very welcome. The games room provided excellent entertainment all weekend with the variety of activities brilliant. The location was clearly signposted to get to these holiday cottages, arriving in the daylight is advised.

The location was excellent for a range of activities in the local area. Kate and Alison provided much information beforehand and they were extremely open to any questions that was asked before our stay.

Whilst on our holiday, the owners live onsite and they were extremely helpful printing off information for us and approachable. There were facilities for BBQ and gatherings in the Pimpernel cottage if required. The hot tub, sauna and tennis courts would keep any child or adult happy for long periods.

Overall these holiday cottages provided and excellent facilility for our needs and we will definitely stay again. Really impressed by everything, thank you!


Andrew from Derby stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in September 2016


Brief feedback

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay, cottage was lovely, home form home, extremely comfortable. Extras including towels, toiletries a nice touch which you do not normally receive in self catering accommodation

Wendy from Clitheroe stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in September 2016


Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in the Pimpernel cottage for a week with our two teenagers.
The cottage is very luxurious and the large vaulted lounge is a really nice feature.
There is everything you need st the cottage so we didn't have to worry about packing all the kitchen utensils etc!
We enjoyed the hot tub, it kept my son busy lighting the fire each day. We also made good use of the tennis court and games room which was very well stock with games/toys for all ages.
We found some great walks to take our dog with stunning views across the Severn. I can thoroughly recommend staying at this lovely cottage.


Lisa from Kenley stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in August 2016


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pimpernel barn conversation was fantastic. We had such a lovely stay. The owners couldn't do enough for you, the cottage was immaculately clean. The garden was beautiful and although the hot tub takes a while to get going it was a lovely touch. I can't wait to go again.

Richard from Newbury stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in June 2016


A perfect family get-together

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the 5 cottages at Oatfield for a family weekend in the Forest of Dean and found it wonderful in every way, the cottages have character and charm, lovely furnishings and everything we needed. The welcome basket and vase of fresh, local flowers were lovely, generous touches. Pimpernel, the largest of the cottages was perfect for all of us getting together in the evenings.

The outside space was also great, with a brilliant garden area - with fun sports equipment and toys available, and a large inside space with indoor games for evenings and rainy days.

The location is just fab with so much to do within short drives - along with beautiful riverside walks from the door. The owners were welcoming and helpful, but also discreet, so we really felt as though we had the whole place to ourselves - and an added bonus - we each were able to bring our dogs - with each cottage (bar one) having an enclosed lawn space.

We are now looking at booking Oatfield again to experience it again with my partner's side of the family.


Tracey from Tarrington stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in June 2016


Brilliant for all the family

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Pimpernel and took our cat with us. The owners provided a little welcome basket for the cat, as well as a litter tray, and the children even made a cat toy!

We also had a few essentials to welcome us - home-baked bread, eggs, jam and butter, tea and coffee. All the towels were provided as well as little bottles of shampoo and shower gel.

The cottage was spotless, warm and comfortable. The leisure facilities at the farm were brilliant. We played tennis every day, and made use of the games room to play pool, table-football and darts. It was great to come back after a day out and have all that available. There was also a wide range of DVDs to borrow, suitable for all ages, from Nanny McPhee to Iron Man.

Wifi was available in the information office, but not in the cottages. Actually that was a good thing for us - a break from the world. Mobile phone connectivity was also missing, but you can get a good signal if you stroll to the top of the driveway.

We had a lovely week, despite a bit of rain here and there. Our highlights were:
- Hiring bikes and doing the family cycle route
- The Sculpture trail
- Clearwell caves - interesting and good for a rainy afternoon, plus an excellent cafe.

We're planning on coming again next Easter.


Sandra from Amersham stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in April 2016


An excellent choice of cottage on this site for any length of stay

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was clean and comfortable. However for the size of cottage the kitchen was small. During our stay we had a dinner for the whole family (eighteen people) which was prepared by an outside caterer, Bensons Catering, on site. We are indebted to the owners of the cottages for supplying the china, cutlery and table cloths and for looking after us so well. Bensons did an excellent job of laying the tables, preparing the meal (using the kitchen in Pimpernel and Meadowsweet), serving the meal and clearing away afterwards. I would recommend their services to other guests. The grounds around the site were in good condition and we liked the freedom of having the site to ourselves. We hired the whole complex for our family (all eighteen bed spaces). The grandchildren particularly enjoyed seeing the animals and feeding the goats. We would recommend this cottage and the site wholeheartedly. The space in this cottage for getting together with friends and family either staying on site or elsewhere is excellent. We used this cottage as the hub for our evening activities.

David from Stoke Mandeville stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in March 2016


Oatfield Review

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented three cottages, including Pimpernel, for a family birthday get-together. We had a marvellous time and the accommodation was simply perfect. The owners couldn't have been more helpful in every way, which we really appreciated. Each cottage was cosy, welcoming and spotlessly clean with a gift of fresh eggs, apple juice, home-made bread and biscuits left for us all. On behalf of the whole family I can thoroughly recommend Oatfield holiday cottages - you won't be disappointed.

Lesley from Wareham stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in March 2016


Can't recommend enough!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oatfield is a great place to stay, we hire all cottages and use it as a big family gathering. It works really well. The only problem we experienced was an issue with the heating overnight and in the morning. But other than that it couldn't be better. Alison and Kate are really friendly and helpful and are there when needed but just leave us to enjoy being at Oatfield.

Becky from Colchester stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in November 2015


Excellent property in a wonderfully rural location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent property in a wonderfully rural location, comfortable, nice owners, plenty of space. Rooms were very nice, beds very comfortable, all in all we had a great weekend!

Mark from Lydney stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in November 2015


Pimpernel at oatfield

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Disappointed in the eco friendly hot tub. Where it was situated was directly in front of the lounge window. Not enough privacy between the cottages. Thought it took a long time for the property to heat up saying that one if the radiators in the lounge was not working. Very well equipped and lovely fresh bread in the welcome pack. Thought it was a bit expensive for what it was. Also thought that the Hot tub was for our sole use.

Lesley from Aberystwyth stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in September 2015


We had a great stay ,!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant couple of days here , so quiet and relaxing , friendly clean and comfortable,, excellent . We had great fun using the hot tub feeding the pig called George and relaxing around the cottage , walking in the surrounding area and cycling around and into the Forest of Dean .
Truly a lovely place to stay


Claire from Northampton stayed at Pimpernel for 4 nights in August 2015


Excellent holiday in the baronial barn

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Oakfield Farm in Pimpernel for two weeks. It is certainly impressive and in a perfect location. Peaceful yet within reach of so many places of interest including some beautiful trails through the Forest of Dean, historic abbeys,great little villages and larger towns, cities and of course the River Severn and Wye. We visited Oakfield as a couple in the older age bracket but the farm has attractions for all. George the pig was a favourite with everyone . Don't expect internet in Pimpernel but connection can be found only minutes away in the information room. This room also holds various outdoor games equipment and a host of leaflets with local information. Mobile phone reception is not great in some of the area but we found success at at the end of the drive
Kate and Alison were great hosts and when we found ourselves without the expected iron were quick to rectify the matter.
The kitchen was completely adequate with all the necessary equipment one might expect but perhaps a tad jaded. This however was made up for by the rest of the barn ,in particular the lounge and raised dining area which had a definite " baronial " air about it. The Jacuzzi bathroom was well used but as it is not at the same level as the bedrooms ( a couple of steps up) it would not be suitable for wheel chair users . This also applies to the ensuite .
It was exciting to stay in Pimpernel and we thoroughly enjoyed our entire stay.


Guest from Chester stayed at Pimpernel for 14 nights in August 2015


A fantastic family break.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from Oatfield and had a wonderful time. The farm is dog and kid heaven with farm animals to befriend and countryside to explore. The accomodations (we had 2) are clean, homely and very well equipped. We will definitely return. xxx

Guest from Barking stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in July 2015


A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely place to stay, full of character. The main room is very large with a wonderful high ceiling. Having access to the tennis court is fantastic. The farm is in a lovely setting.

Guest from Fleet stayed at Pimpernel for 6 nights in August 2015


A beautifull cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Pimpernel is a large old cottage with lots of luxury. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We were welcomed with selfmade marmelade and bread. Everything was a great succes. The only negative as also positive thing was that the cottage is 2 miles from the nearest village and busstop. For our two teenagers that was too far but we enjoyed the quiet surroundings. The teenagers enjoyed the tenniscourt and hottub. We missed the putting green, but all in all had a most wonderful stay.

Anna from Utrecht stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in July 2015


Excellent week

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pimpernel was an outstanding property, we had an excellent and relaxing time there.
Everybody enjoyed feeding the pig. The goats were entertaining too.
The log burning hot tub was difficult to get to the right temperature, but we enjoyed it when it was.
The tennis court was also good fun.
The wi-fi only works in the games room and not in the cottage.
The kitchen and en-suite shower room could do with some tlc.


Guest from West Malling stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in July 2015


Pimpernel Accommodation review June 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property with very accommodating owners ! It is a little dated on some aspects ( games room - ball missing off the pool table, darts missing for the board).I believe it is expensive for a couple on their own. No mention about the Sauna being available ( I had to ask ! And when I looked - it was brand new - never used ! And would take a while to heat up ! Hot tub took 4-5 hrs to get ' hot ' on the first night and it was too hot on the second night , but we had the local rave in the nearby property that we could listen to whilst we filled buckets of cold water to cool it down ! The accommodation is beautiful in pimpernel and we enjoyed the stay / welcome package ( lovely home made bread and preserves)and Tennis Court ! We had 3 dogs with us which we kept in our garden or on a lead .... Shame no-one else did ! Jack Russell was a regular visitor to our garden and sent our dogs off barking every time, as well as a lab who came into the cottage to say hello and jumped up at us ! Nice muddy paws !
So as much as the property was lovely , I don't think we will be back unfortunately !


Michelle from Stafford stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in June 2015


Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really great time and would definitely recommend this lovely place, hopeful I will visit again in warmer weather. So quite and tranquil.

Booking a meal to be ready for us to cook when we arrived was a really gem.
Thank you


Guest from Colchester stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in March 2015


Outstanding cottage to rent

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is perfect. The living room/diner makes for a very grand and impressive room which is comfortable and spacious. The bedrooms are very nice, beds and comfy and bathrooms are luxury. We all loved all the old farm tools, frames and the tapestry that are hung up on the high walls. The welcome basket of freshly baked bread, fresh eggs and homemade chutney is delicious. And tonnes of fun things to do and explore in the local area.

Guest from London stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in December 2014


A great weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired all the cottages for a weekend birthday celebration and had a fantastic time. Pimpernel offered the perfect base for hosting the group - we all got round the table and enjoyed two wonderful evenings.

The nearby pub has great food and locally produced beer / cider / perry and is a good walk away.

Local area offers great cycling.

Alison and Kate were very accommodating and made the stay really enjoyable.


Nigel from Oxford stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in December 2014


I didn't want to leave!

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family and I hired the whole complex and it was perfect. Pimpernel was great for gathering everyone and the other cottages perfect for escaping! All the cottages are individual and beautifully decorated and equipped. Next year's gathering has already been booked there!

The kitchens were well equipped with everything you might need and I'd love to visit in the summer too to be able to utilise the outside areas and play tennis! I would really recommend Oatfield to anyone that is arranging a group holiday.


Guest from Colchester stayed at Pimpernel for 2 nights in November 2014


A great weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a brilliant weekend with a party of 17 in all 5 of Oatfield's cottages. Pimpernel has a huge sitting and dining area and a really well equipped kitchen and so we cooked, ate and socialised in there. All the cottages were of a high standard with good central heating and comfortable beds. Our teenage boys appreciated the games room and the younger girls loved the pigs and goats.

All the attractions of the Forest of Dean are in easy reach and a handy information room had maps and leaflets galore (as well as wi-fi for the teenagers!). Some lovely views and walks are available right at the end of the farm drive.

The owners were welcoming but left us to get on with the weekend. Any questions or (very minor) snags were dealt with promptly and efficiently.

All 4 families would definitely recommend.


Guest from London stayed at Pimpernel for 3 nights in October 2014


Hidden gem - Wonderful stay at Pimpernel (Oatfield Country Cottages) - September 2014

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I almost hesitate to write this review and reveal what is perhaps a truly hidden gem in terms of suberp quality, friendly service, and a fabulous experience for both young and old at the Oatfield Country Cottages in Blackney. We stayed at Pimpernel which is a listed 17th century barn and from the moment we entered the expanse of vaulted ceilings, exposed oak beams and rafters were truly breathtaking. The property was exceptionally clean, well and tastefully furnished and the only comment I have for improvement is that the hot water for the showers was unavailable on the last day of our stay - a minor issue given the 6 fabulous nights we had. Our hosts Kate and Alison were very friendly and our young son (3 years old) thoroughly enjoyed the farm and adjoining playground. The property is located within an easy drive of all of the attractions in the Forest of Dean, not to mention a short trip to the Cotswolds and Bath to the South. It was a shame to leave after only a week and I definitely will plan to come back again.

Guest from Den Haag stayed at Pimpernel for 7 nights in August 2014