FB Twitter

Meadowsweet

Meadowsweet

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Lounge/diner leads to an enclosed garden. Upstairs is a double and a twin room, both with en suite bath and shower over.

Lovely property

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Meadowsweet and found it very comfortable. The cottage is very well equipped which catered very well to our needs. The games room on site added some competitive evening entertainment!
All in all very comfortable and would certainly recommend.


Richard from Cardiff stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in December 2021


The cottage was great value & in a lovely location, good walks & the Forest.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfectly situated in a peaceful location with walks from the door & the FOD a short drive away as were a host of other places. It was very well equipped with good wifi & everything needed for cooking, the laundry room & use of an airer & private garden was a great bonus.
My only concerns were that the exterior of the complex, the games room, sauna area, tennis court & grounds & the garden furniture needed maintenance. It’s a beautiful old place & with some TLC could be even better. There was a musty smell in the cottage & games room quite a lot of cobwebs which is understandable in an old place but I would felt more comfortable if this had been dealt with if it was possible.. overall though we loved it !!


Guest from Basingstoke stayed at Meadowsweet for 14 nights in September 2021


meadowsweet August 21

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked meadowsweet and all the other cottages as an extended family holiday. The location and facilities were perfect and allowed the toddlers the freedom to safely roam. The cottages were well equipped, bathrooms and kitchens were spotless and the house generally really clean. We made full use of the games room and football pitch and outside seating areas, which were just what we needed. I can't think of anything that could be improved apart from the minor mention of the low water pressure in the showers. I have already recommended the cottages to other family members and would happily stay there again. The 11 year old says- it was really fun as there was lots to do and we could just pop into other people's cottages and it was not too far away. We really liked feeding the goats and the plans to have a Harry Potter themed house.

Guest from Bedford stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2021


Lovely getaway for pets

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No pigs or woodland dell walk or duck pond anymore and lots overgrown but hardly surprising from a challenging pandemic year out of business. Remote and peaceful location ourselves and the catties loved it and wished we stayed longer

Robert from Richmond stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in June 2021


Beautiful Spot

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Apr 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent accommodation, great facilities and the perfect friendly hosts. We had a great stay at Oatfield. My kids particulary enjoyed the animals and the sports facilities and games room. Great access to walks to the Severn Estuary Purton hamlet and local village of Blakeney.

Carl from Newcastle Under Lyme stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in April 2021


Charming cottages with great facilities in a great location.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely, well decorated and well supplied. The only areas for improvement were:
- the wood burner, which was difficult to keep going and did not put out much heat (it would have been helpful to have instructions as to how to make it draw better without having to leave the door open letting smoke out).
- the fold out bed was very narrow and saggy and we ended up just putting the mattress straight on the floor.
Despite COVID it would have been nice to have a proper socially distanced welcome as we did not meet any of our hosts until departing which made it feel rather impersonal and left us to work things out on our own - although there was a WhatsApp facility that was answered promptly for one query.


Jane from Richmond stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in October 2020


A cosy cottage in a good location for sightseeing

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week in Meadowsweet. The owners were helpful and clearly took Covid precautions very seriously. We were left fresh eggs, bread and homemade jam. The cottage was very clean except for a few cobwebs here and there, and the kitchen was well equipped. There was also a nice garden with a bench for eating outside and playing boardgames.

The bed was comfy and there was a large bath which was nice. Slightly let down by the low water pressure in the showers.

The location for sightseeing was great, really close to the A28 which leads to lots of places. There's a couple of takeaways and pubs within quite easy reach but we cooked most evenings. Beware it is located down some narrow country roads which meant quite a lot of reversing for farm traffic.

Overall a pleasant stay, located on a lovely farm, and we felt very safe given the current situation.


Guest from Bicester stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in September 2020


Lovely accommodation in great location with welcoming hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in great location with welcoming hosts. A great place to explore the Forest and the Severn valley.

David from Bridport stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in September 2020


Relaxing stay in rural setting

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in Meadowsweet at Oatfield Farm. Alison and Ruth ensured booking and payment process went smoothly and were on hand to help with any queries. I appreciated the fact that they took covid precautions seriously and had modified some aspects of the stay accordingly e.g minimised contact by using WhatsApp group, provision of hand sanitizer, soap etc and check out procedure.

Meadowsweet is ideal for family of 4 with 2 separate bathrooms off each bedroom and a good sized lounge area. Kitchen looked recently upgraded and included dishwasher.

Kids loved outside space - tennis court and lawned area with goal post.

Accommodation would work really well if you are travelling as a group and can make use of all the different cottages and socialise together. It is in a very rural location - beautiful but you’ll need a car to visit places.


Jackie from Egham stayed at Meadowsweet for 6 nights in August 2020


A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Oatfield and we were again made to feel very welcome. It felt very safe this year due to all the additional measures taken to keep us all safe from Covid-19. It is a lovely area away from crowds but with plenty to do and see. Also a nice place to relax, feeding the very friendly sheep and goats, collecting eggs for breakfast and playing tennis. I highly recommend Oatfield as a safe and relaxing place to spend a holiday in these particularly stressful times.

Wendy from Darlington stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2020


Lovely stay at Oatfield Country Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay at a lovely, peaceful place. The hosts were amazing and made us feel so looked after. Thank you!

Belinda from stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in July 2020


Fantastic Family Break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfully peaceful location and homely cottages. Our daughter particularly enjoyed the very friendly pygmy goats. We will definitely be coming back!

Anthony from South Croydon stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in September 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us and two dogs had a lovely break here. Lovely cottage and excellent welcome pack. Gorgeous area and loads of excellent walks in Forestry Commission woods.

Stewart from Princes Risborough stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in July 2019


a quiet location

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a peaceful and quiet location, away from it all , on the edge of Forest of Dean
disappointing to find local footpaths, overgrown


Guest from St Martin stayed at Meadowsweet for 14 nights in June 2019


Rural charm

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in quiet location. Clean and comfortable and well equipped.
Welcome pack a nice touch.
Minor problem with TV reception and mobile phone coverage.
Helpful owners.


John from Sheffield stayed at Meadowsweet for 4 nights in April 2019


80th birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took four of the five cottages for our family of 16 to celebrate Peter's 80th birthday. It was the most perfect venue for us, being a sporty family with a wide age-range. Loved the hot tub, tennis, livestock, walks. Didn't really need the indoor games room as the weather was perfect. We lacked for nothing in the way of kitchen and dining equipment.
It exceeded all our expectation and we would certainly recommend the venue for family parties.


Peter and Jenny from Cobham stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in April 2019


The most wonderful set of cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented all the cottages for a group of us over Easter weekend. The standard exceeded our expectations, each cottage was lovely with a everything we needed plus wonderful welcome baskets.
The additional facilities were perfect; playroom, park, goats, sheep and a hot tub made it hard to leave the site. We did however manage to explore the woodlands, visited the river for a boat ride and lunched at a local pub.
Alison and Kate were friendly, welcoming and really helpful.
All in all we would highly recommend and intend to return.


Candia from stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in April 2019


Short stay at Oatfield

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Another lovely stay at Oatfield,our second visit this year.The grandchildren loved it,the setting is superb,very relaxing,very comfortable cottage.My granddaughter taught me how to play snooker in the games room,very impresse,looking forward to our next stay.


Maggie from Stroud stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in October 2018


Summer break at Oatfield farm cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice cottage, comfortable beds and good welcome basket with local products.
Enjoyed the farm atmosphere. The gosts were very friendly and had an entertaining character.
For guests staying for an entire week, it would be better if fresh towels were provided every 2 to 3 days.
Also if the cottage could be cleaned at least once midway during the week long stay.


Ramnath from Leeds stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2018


Short weekend stay in May

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fourth time we've stayed at Oatfield, love coming back to this part of the country and enjoying the accommodation Kate and Alison provide. We also love the interaction the kids get with the animals, they get so much from it.
Would recommend this venue to anyone that wants to explore this part of England - we'll definitely be back one day.


Rachel from Tonbridge stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in May 2018


Perfect place to stay with dogs we were made very welcome

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect place to stay with dogs we were made very welcome. Lovely to enjoy English countryside at its best. Thank you Kate and Alison.

Julie from Bonnemain stayed at Meadowsweet for 8 nights in May 2018


Stay on meadowsweet

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage, loads of character. Really lovely welcome items of fresh bread, eggs, homemade jam. Was great to have things like olive oil, tea, fresh coffee, tea towels, foil all supplied. God dishwasher. Good recycling bins available on site but only found food waste bin outside 48 hours into stay would really encourage owners to put recycle bins inside all cottages to encourage this more. Stayed as part of a group other cottages also hired.

Katrina from Bath stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in May 2018


Absolutely brilliant

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place! We had a wonderful stay - the cottage and farm were fantastic and had everything our family could ask for. The owners were so friendly and helpful. What a peaceful, relaxing place to stay yet with plenty of fun for our 2 young boys. And spring lambs in the fields - very cute! Its location is perfectly situated so you can take in as much or as little of the local area as you like. We can't wait to come again!

Nicole from London stayed at Meadowsweet for 4 nights in April 2018


Weekend away

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Facilities first rate. Great walking on the doorstep or short travel. Friendly welcome and welcome box. We will return as so much to enjoy we barely scratch the surface of.

Jim from Blandford Forum stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in February 2018


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Meadowsweet, the farm itself had lots to entertain our family and the surrounding area has plenty of fun things to do too. All in all, a lovely stay. Thanks.

Tessa from Calne stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2017


A green island of peace and beauty

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a large family reunion of all ages, occupying the 4 largest cottages, this was a wonderful place to be. Kate & Alison so helpful. Plenty to do on site, and access to so much activity in beautiful places away from it. Lack of mobile signal might be a problem for some, as it involved a short walk up the drive!

Elizabeth from Barrow-upon-Humber stayed at Meadowsweet for 10 nights in July 2017


We had a great mini honey moon

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great short mini honeymoon here. The owners made us feel very welcome and we were delighted with our gorgeous welcome hamper.
They were extremely helpful with walks to go on and pubs and restaurants to visit and the cottage was very homely.
We had a problem with our oven and the owners were very helpful when the electricity was off and they let us move into another cottage temporarily. My only little concern was that after the electricity was back on, they advised us to continue using the oven but having seen a spark come out of the control panel, I'd advise they get that fixed or replaced.
That shouldn't detract from what was on the whole, an amazing experience.


Daniel from Hereford stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in June 2017


Big family celebration so had all the cottages.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped cottage, kitchen a little tight, it would be great if the fridge opened the other way in the kitchen to make access easier. Comfortable beds and linen. Great having ensuites foe both rooms. Shower in twin room ensuite not as strong. Lovely touch with thr flowers and fresh goods on arrival.

Catherine from Windsor stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in May 2017


A family weekend where we took over all accommodation.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not fussy, down to earth, very amenable with animals and children. Great facilities, and an ambiance of relaxation. Limited WIFI coverage in accommodation but good access at one location, but a great thing as you will need to go near to the office location to use.
Good parking, easy access, and off the beaten track.


David from Farthinghoe stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in April 2017


New Year stay at Meadowsweet

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Meadowsweet was well maintained, clean and very welcoming when we arrived. The decor was great and the property was more than big enough for 4 people to relax and enjoy comfortably. The welcome hamper waiting for us was a lovely addition also and made us feel at home. Would recommend a stay to anyone.

James from Ware stayed at Meadowsweet for 2 nights in December 2016


Idyllic location

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic cottage in a idyllic countryside setting, so peaceful and relaxing.
My only criticism is lack of Wifi which was only available in the information office, not the cottage.


Fiona from Morpeth stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in September 2016


3 night stay for a wedding weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights in early September and the kids had a fantastic time with lots to see and do, they especially enjoyed the animals. Alison is a terrific host and made us feel very welcome. Sadly there is no internet access in the cottage and cellphone reception in the general area is poor which made it very difficult to connect with the outside world.

Dipo from Houston stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in September 2016


An enjoyable stay at Meadowsweet

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Meadowsweet. It was ideal for our family holiday. Our young daughter loved being at Oatfield, she quickly made friends with the children of other guests and together they would feed the goats, lambs and of course George the pig. They also made full use of the games room and also all the outdoor toys provided, although we also brought our own. It was reassuring to know she had a safe area around the cottage to play in. We liked the seclusion of Oatfield, the surrounding single track roads leading to it meant that we never heard any traffic noise, and we could just sit outside and enjoy the birdsong and the children enjoying themselves. Meadowsweet was very comfortable and homely. The kitchen was compact but was acceptable for a holiday let and very well equipped, although it would have helped if the fridge door had been hung the other side. Yes we could hear people in the other attached properties, but this was not an issue as we all seemed to have the same body clocks with no night owls or party animals next door (although we did hear genuine night owls outside!) Kate and Alison were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble, In fact Kate would often lead the children around the farm Pied Piper like when it was animal feeding time. And thank you for the lovely welcome pack on arrival. Fresh flowers, milk, eggs, local butter, home made jam even a decanter of sherry. Kate apologised that the home made bread wasn't ready! We came home feeling relaxed and suntanned, thanks to the good weather we had. And look forward to returning to Meadowsweet again!

Mark from Chessington stayed at Meadowsweet for 14 nights in August 2016


Good stay but shame about the noise from adjoining cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Noise carries very easily between the cottages, and this was a problem particularly at night for sleeping in the master bedroom. This is a shame because Meadowsweet is a lovely cottage, and we enjoyed using the tennis court and other games. Location is a little isolated, accessed via a narrow road, but this is fine if you know what to expect. Most of the main tourist attractions within the Forest of Dean are within easy reach. Overall, a good holiday, but I would not recommend Meadowsweet cottage unless you know the people who will be staying in the adjoining cottages, or don't care about a noisy TV and bathroom fans when you are trying to sleep.

Guest from Whitley Bay stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2016


Highly recommended accommodation with everything

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Meadowseet for one week in August 2016. Small family group including nine year old. Had a fantastic time. Five star rating all round.

Pre-stay communication friendly, efficient and informative. Good pictures in marketing material but don't do justice to reality of great site with lovely cottages set in idyllic rural landscape including well maintained spaces for playing and relaxing, various animals and facilities for guests.

Alison, Kate and family provided a really warm welcome, were around when needed and engaged, offering children opportunities to join in feeding the animals, play games and explore the extensive site. Communal facilities including kids games room, tennis court, croquet lawn, playground, sauna and adjoining wood provided great opportunities for a variety of family fun and time with other guests if wanted.

Cottage was well appointed with good balance providing feeling of quality but homeliness that allows for enjoyment of space and time inside/garden with views.

Surrounding area is great with lots to do within touching distance, food and drink. Stand out attraction though is Forest of Dean with plethora of cycle trails and great facilities including Go Ape, cafes and picnic areas etc.

Wifi available in communal information room which gave opportunity for various (mainly blokes) to chunter to each other daily about need for access to emails and Internet but probably did us all a favour and encouraged interaction! So on that basis I would resist cries for connection in cottages.

All in all had a really great time, and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of booking.


Gavin from Manchester stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely relaxing setting

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely relaxing setting perfect for a few days of peace and quiet. Farm animals and playground were perfect for toddlers! House was immaculately kept and very homely.

Tim from london stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in July 2016


Lovely secluded rural setting well worth a visit.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We where so impressed with this lovely accommodation, everything about our stay was positive, it makes an ideal base for visiting so many of the local points of interest plus those a little further afield.


Glynn from Oldham stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in June 2016


A stay in The Forest,,,

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love coming to Oatfield,children and dogs made very welcome,,,we have stayed several times now,will be back again this year.Always feel really relaxed and comfortable,our granddaughter had a fantastic time.

Maggie from Stroud stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in April 2016


An enjoyable Easter stay only marred by the noise from Celandine at night

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was clean and comfortable. However the living area was generally cold. This is probably caused by this particular cottage receiving very little sunlight. However with the wood burning stove going we were able to make it cosy. The grounds around the site were in good condition and we liked the freedom of having the site to ourselves. We hired the whole complex for our family (all eighteen bed spaces). The grandchildren particularly enjoyed seeing the animals and feeding the goats. The only downside was after the rest of the family had left the complex after the Easter weekend and new guests moved into Celandine. The new guests kept extremely late hours and the noise of their conversation could be clearly heard in our four poster bedroom until 3:30 a.m. This occurred on a regular basis and made it extremely difficult to get to sleep. For this reason we would not recommend this particular cottage but would recommend the site.

David from Stoke Mandeville stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in March 2016


Can't recommend enough!

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oatfield is a great place to stay, we hire all cottages and use it as a big family gathering. It works really well. The only problem we experienced was an issue with the heating overnight and in the morning. But other than that it couldn't be better. Alison and Kate are really friendly and helpful and are there when needed but just leave us to enjoy being at Oatfield.

Becky from Colchester stayed at Meadowsweet for 2 nights in November 2015


Excellent property in a wonderfully rural location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent property in a wonderfully rural location, comfortable, nice owners, plenty of space. Rooms were very nice, beds very comfortable, all in all we had a great weekend!

Mark from Lydney stayed at Meadowsweet for 2 nights in November 2015


meadowsweet

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
good location - nice and quite
the animals kept the kids happy

only downside was a disturbed nights sleep due to the economy 7 heating making a lot of nose. Owners kindly changed the timer.



Guest from Brough stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2015


Lovely cottages!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We recently spent 3 nights at Meadowsweet. The cottage was lovely and worked well for myself and husband in 4 poster double bedroom, my grown-up daughter and elderly mother in twin room and our large german shepherd who slept in the very pretty living room overlooking a small garden.

We also had the 2 bedroom Celadine cottage which is right next door for the rest of our family - this worked really well.
Lovely weekend!


Guest from Welwyn stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in August 2015


meadowsweet cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Meadowsweet cottage was very lovely and oldy worldy ....its the perfect place for peace and quiet and country dog walks in the forest of dean....nice for older children with a playroom with pool table darts and table tennis and outdoor tennis badminton boules and croquet. Some animals to see as well This is our 2nd visit and we will definitely go back.

Martin from Chertsey stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2015


A wonderful break near the Forest of Dean

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week staying in Meadowsweet Cottage. The cottage was full of character with oak beams and stable doors which is very different from our home. We had our own small enclosed garden so the puppy could thankfully not escape, which overlooked fields and plenty of time to sit and enjoy the views. When we felt more active we played tennis and when the weather was slightly damp we used the facilities in the games room,(still hopeless at table football).
The cottages were quite isolated and accessed by single track roads but there was little traffic and fairly easy access to all the local sites. Great for country walks with plenty of amazing views out across the River Severn. Easy access to the Forest of Dean, Chepstow, Monmouth and Ross on Wye.




Guest from Reading stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in August 2015


Very peaceful ,great location .

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oatfield farm is a little gem. Perfect location to the Forrest . Clean,tidy and well stocked with everything you need. Very dog friendly. Will go back.

Guest from Bognor Regis stayed at Meadowsweet for 6 nights in July 2015


Lovely family week

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (2 adults and 2 boys, aged 7 & 4) had a lovely week staying in the Meadowsweet cottage at Oatfield Country Cottages. The country location is very quiet, whilst being an ideal base from which to explore Gloucestershire and with a handy Tesco in nearby Lydney for all of our grocery shopping.
The cottage was very clean and there was a lovely welcome basket waiting for us upon arrival. There is a games room on-site and a handy information room, which contains leaflets and maps for most of the attractions in the area and provides wi-fi access should you need it, although note that the wifi (and mobile phone reception in general) is not available in the cottage. But just unplug for the duration of your stay, you'll surprise yourself how much you enjoy doiing so!
Also on-site are a play park with fort/slides and swings and some very friendly goats, sheep and a pig, whom my boys loved to feed and stroke.
I would definitely recommend the site and cottage to anyone planning to stay in the area an it will be at the top of our list if/when we ever visit the Forest Of Dean again.


Guest from Porthlethen stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in July 2015


Lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd time we've visited and loved it even more this time! A great cottage in a lovely part of the world with absolutely loads to do for families and Oatfield providing the perfect base. Would recommend it to anyone!

Anthony from Bury stayed at Meadowsweet for 7 nights in April 2015


A family Easter Break

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
15 members of my family descended on Oatfield farm and we had a fantastic stay. The three cottages we booked were fantastic and the large lounge and dining space in Pimpernel provided an excellent communal space. We did do trips to local attractions, but most of our time was spent at the cottages, which are excellently equipped for family fun activities. Thanks so much to Alison and Kate - I would highly recommend the cottages.

Guest from London stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights in April 2015


Excellent facilities, beautiful location. Wonderful.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay. The cottage was very clean, warm and extremely comfortable and welcoming. Everything we needed was provided and we were very happy with our choice. The welcome box of eggs, jam, biscuits, milk, juice, fruit and freshly made bread was a lovely gesture and delicious!

Guest from Dorchester on Thame stayed at Meadowsweet for 2 nights in February 2015