FB Twitter

Tolsta

Tolsta

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Tolsta is a three bedroomed semi-detached house,sitting in a unique position near Loch Tay, Killin. Part of a conversion of a 200 year old stable block within a courtyard. The garden on three sides of the property also holds the blocked-up entrance to an old tunnel which led to the old Auchmore House and was used by servants to get to and from the stables without being seen by their employers. Many birds, red squirrels and the occasional deer visit can be seen from the sun room and the patio.

Tolsta Cottage, Killin - 3rd Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Tolsta Cottage, Killin for 1 week commencing Sept 30, 2023, our 3rd stay at the same property. As keen hillwalkers cottage is in an ideal location with multiple Munros and Corbetts within easy reach. As this area, in common with other mountain areas, is subject to wet conditions at time it's great to have opportunity to dry clothes, far superior to camping! The property was in excellent condition, clean and tidy and we aimed to leave it that way at end of our visit. All facilities more than adequate for our needs and kitchen v well appointed. Internet connection more than adequate and partly made up for the lack of mobile signal in the property (which having been twice before we were fully aware of). Definitely plan a return visit next year.



Leah replied 262 days ago
Thanks so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Tolsta and managed to get some walks in. Thanks for choosing Cooper Cottages and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

GReat value for money accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was in a lovely quiet location in beautiful grounds and red squirrels.. It had a well equipped kitchen, comfortable bed, good shower. It's a bit dated in decor but that didn't matter really. It was cleaner when we left than when we arrived. A few extras like stock of dvds, cards etc would have been nice but it's good value for money.



Stunning place

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
TOP location, fine house, fabilous area, super place to stay.
Many walks in te area, Fine pub with good food.




Daniela replied 309 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you had a lovely stay.

Wonderful peaceful place

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Tolsta was like coming home. It is very well equipped, clean and peaceful. We enjoyed seeing red squirrels and a stoat in the garden whist relaxing in the sun room. The loch is a 10 minute walk away where we swam. There are lovely walks and only a short walk or drive down the track to Killin. Donald and Margaret nextdoor are very helpful. We will be returning.



Daniela replied 337 days ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you had a joyful return visit. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tolstoy is very comfortable and in a great location with amazing views. The cottage is well equipped and the sun room is a real bonus.



Almost perfect.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 6th visit to Tolsta for weeks winter mountaineering adventure.
Hope the track gets fixed soon, otherwise a perfect place to be based for the Central and Western Highlands




Daniela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your return visit.

Perfect quiet family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Took a leap in the dark when booking Tolsta; no idea about the local area, not familiar with that part of Scotland but blown away on all fronts. Plenty to see and do for outdoorsy young familys along the shores of Loch Tay, and Tolsta made a very comfortable base for us, with beautiful scenery straight out of the back door. Helpful folk at Cooper Cottages too, honouring our repeatedly scuppered booking attempts through the pandemic. Recommended



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and exploring the local area and glad that you finally managed to make it away on holiday after the disruptions.

Outstanding!

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb in every way which made our stay very enjoyable, relaxing with no issues whatsoever. I can't stress enough how pleased we were to have stayed in "Tolsta". Thank you for opening up this wonderful place for all to see and use.
Terry and Lynnette




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Spacious and comfortable

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tolsta is a very comfortable holiday home in a very peaceful setting. The sunroom was an added bonus, great for watching the red squirrels and the lovely large garden was perfect for the grandchildren to play. Yes it’s a rough and narrow Lane to access the property but you just need to take it steady and it’s not a problem. Killin is a great location with lots to see in the surrounding area. One of our ‘must do’ things to do when we visit Killin is the drive to Bridge of Balgie for lunch, amazing views from the mountain pass and lots of wildlife to look out for.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you review. We're pleased to hear you had a comfortable stay at Tolsta.

Wonderful house, great location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house, full of personality, distinctive, very well equipped and in a fantastic location. Lovely remote atmosphere yet close to Killin for amenities. Great base for accessing hills, from Glen Lyon to Crianlarich.



Tolsta

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was comfortable and well-equipped, with everything we could have wanted. We enjoyed the fine country and mountain views from the conservatory and garden.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tolsta. The views of the mountains from the garden are unbeatable.