FB Twitter

The Old Schoolhouse Lochearnhead

The Old Schoolhouse Lochearnhead

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.6


A unique self catering holiday cottage, converted as the name suggests from The Old Schoolhouse in Lochearnhead. There is parking beside the property which is all on one level with a single step to the entrance. The Old Schoolhouse is furnished to a high standard with well equipped kitchen-dining room, a lounge with woodburner for those cosy nights after a long day sightseeing, one double en-suite bedroom and one twin bedroom with family bathroom. A great holiday cottage for a family of four. Sitting at the West end of the loch with stunning views down Loch Earn towards St. Fillans and our local Munro Ben Vorlich. In the heart of the of the Loch Lomond and Trossachs National Park, a good central base for touring the Highlands and enjoying the dramatic scenery of Rob Roy Country and the Trossachs. Close to walks, cycling, fishing. Lochearnhead hosts the annual Black Faced Sheep shearing competition and the Highland Games.

Ideal setting

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has a lovely view down Loch Earn which is a big plus. The cottage is generally well appointed and worked for us as a couple. It could do with some coat hooks as it is an ideal base for walking in the area either along the old railway line or for the suitably equipped up the local mountains. The old railway line is also a cycle route. The A84 is outside, however it’s not a major highway, although does get a fair amount of trucks as it’s one of the main routes to the Highlands. You don’t notice it normally although we live in London. The reverse out of the drive onto the A84 is not as bad as it seams, traffic will normally stop!

Ideal to explore the area, the National Park and west to Oban and Fort William. It has some lovely scenery all around. You may even see some red squirrels. The local pub is within walking distance and has a nice Loch side view. Killin is also not far which along with Callander has places to eat and shop for provisions. The village store has some essentials.

The WiFi is the right speed for video conferencing and system access as we worked part of the time.

Overall our second visit, good location and comfortable.




Matthew replied 56 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you had everything you needed in the cottage and enjoyed your stay in Lochearnhead.

Just lovely.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly, yes the cottage is next to a busy 30 mph road. If this might bother you then bring ear plugs but don't bring young children as the drive isn't gated. That said, as a family of 3 we loved this beautiful cottage. It's well furnished, has comfy beds, 2 bathrooms (one shower, one spa bath), a well appointed kitchen (according to the wife), and is warm and welcoming. It's only a short drive from places to eat and a short walk to the nearest general store. It's set amongst stunning scenery and we'd be more than happy to stay here again.



Matthew replied 249 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that your family enjoyed their stay.

Perfect getaway cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great cottage, with everything you need for a comfortable and well provisioned stay.
Modern and cozy at the same time.




Matthew replied 274 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

The old schoolhouse, Lochearnhead

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage with a view of Loch Earn. Super clean, freshly decorated and would definitely book again.



Matthew replied 312 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you had a good stay and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Third visit to Lockearnhead

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to The Old Schoolhouse and it was as lovely as our other visits. The house is well equipped and perfect for a relaxing and comfortable stay. It’s so handy as a base for visiting Edinburgh or Glasgow. I’m sure we will be back.



Matthew replied 351 days ago
Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit this year. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Charming cottage in great position

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a wonderful stay at the Old School cottage, attractive traditional exterior, with modern interior, providing every comfort we could have asked for. We stayed here after my husband had a knee operation, and it was the perfect spot to get away, with restaurants and the village shop near by.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Convenient for Lochearnhead Scout station, modern, clean accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely modern accomodation that served 4 adults well. Place was clean and had everything we needed. The property is directly on the main road however and the master bedroom only around 5 metres from this. It is heavily used by trucks (day and night) and so we found this quite disturbing (maybe a bowl of earplugs might be a nice touch?!).
Also the only shower is in the master en-suite - strangely there is no shower attachment over the bath in the other bathroom - this was really quite inconvenient as it meant the other 2 adults were in and out using our shower - this may cause a particular problem if you are not close friends with your house buddies!
We booked this accomodation as we needed to be close to the Lochearnhead scout station where we had a group of scouts visiting for the week - it was only a 5 min walk which was ideal.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review.

Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect from start to finish. The cottage is beautiful and finished to a high standard. It had everything we need and more. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Old Schoolhouse and Cooper Cottages.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Lochearnhead.

Satisfaction Guaranteed!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A big thank you to Cooper Cottages for providing such wonderful accommodation and such beautiful weather :) I found the cottage to be spotlessly clean on arrival, very homely, furnished to a high standard and very well-equipped; in my experience typical of the properties offered by Cooper Cottages (I've also stayed at View Cottage and Fern Cottage previously).

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Old Schoolhouse to anyone and am myself looking forward to a return visit, hopefully later on this year.




Cooper Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay here. It is very clean and well-maintained. The road noise is a bit annoying but we were out most of the day anyway.



The best cottage we have rented so far.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is hard to fault this cottage, so I won't!
We went when it was hot in May. The cottage was refurbished only a few years ago, and i think that it would be very warm and cosy in winter judging by the insulation on the stone walls, the under-floor heating and the log-burner.
We would like to go again with more than four guests. There is an upstairs bedroom which is locked, and i wondered why.




Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Old Schoolhouse. It was recently refurbished and is great to stay in Winter or Summer.

Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for the long Easter break and what a lovely place. The location is stunning, the house is amazing- so cosy and just so well put together. Wish we could have stayed for longer. The local shop is handy for all the essentials and we recommend Mhor 84 for a breakfast treat.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The Mhor 84 do do a good breakfast, don't they? We hope that you return again for a longer stay.

Cosy modern cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful modern cottage and spacious for four people. Loved the under floor heating and the log burner. Enjoyed cooking most nights, kitchen had everything needed. The cottage is in a great location for lots of walking and beautiful scenery. The only disappointing things were the sofas weren't very comfy and the bath could have done with a shower head over the taps, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay.



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and comments. We will pass these on to the owners.

Lovely property in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful stay with my partner at the Old Schoolhouse. The property is beautifully renovated and has a wonderful sense of comfort and warmth. It was well equipped and in a great location with lovely views across to Loch Earn. We will definitely be visiting again!



Matthew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Lochearnhead and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

a really nice stay

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very nice stay at the old school house. Everything was perfect. And we"d love to go back there. It would be even more perfect if there were more booklets or information on what's to do around.



The old Schoolhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in The Old Schoolhouse. The house itself is completely renovated, has all modern conveniences. From the outside it is cosy and authentic. The view on the Loch is breathtaking. It is located very close to some great trails. The distance to nearby villages is just a couple of miles and Edinburgh is about an hour away. The house quickly became our home away from home and we had a wonderful time.