FB Twitter

Harviestoun House

Harviestoun House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Harviestoun House is a totally refurbished 2 storey sandstone cottage in the heart of Dollar, a picturesque small town at the foot of the Ochil hills 13 miles east of the historic city of Stirling. Steeped in history, Dollar has all facilities including cafes, restaurants and shopping on your doorstep.

Wonderful house!

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kirsteen was a big help throughout the booking process and even whilst we were there. Harviestoun House is lovely. We stayed there as a group over new year's for a week and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The property is well furnished throughout and we'll maintained. Dollar is a very nice village with an excellent delicatessen, and ideally located close to Edinburgh and Stirling. The house was very warm and clean and has clearly benefited from a full modern refurbishment. It has a very sizeable kitchen, 3 modern showers, good sized bedrooms throughout, a log burner and a sizeable lounge. The only small point to make is you may need to bring another frying pan and baking tray if you're cooking for a large group, otherwise the kitchen is well stocked. We enjoyed our visit so much that we've booked the property again. Would definitely recommend the property and Stirling Self Catering!

Tim from Stockport stayed at Harviestoun House for 7 nights in December 2018


Casa maravillosa en un puello muy tranquilo

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pasamos una semana genial con base en esta casa de dollar. No perderse la ruta de subida al castillo de dollar. Cerca de stirling y de edimburgp

Juan from Sevilla stayed at Harviestoun House for 5 nights in August 2018


Two small quibbles, otherwise perfection!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is comfortable, spacious, and superbly appointed. It's a brand-new house INSIDE of a charming old stone one. Everything you could possibly need is there, and you'll have room to spread out comfortably. Would definitely book again on our next visit, and would HIGHLY recommend. First quibble: showers and tubs are very slick in Scotland (Ireland too). The slippery footing feels dangerous for elderly people, so we purchased a shower mat with suction cups, which made us feel safer. The house owners might want to consider providing non-slip mats. Second quibble: light from street lights is not blocked by the very attractive blinds on the windows. Room-darkening curtains or shades would be a nice addition. So, if you're elderly, have unsure footing, and have trouble sleeping . . . take a sleep mask and buy a non-slip mat for less than 3 pounds. But book this wonderful, superbly located house as your base in Scotland!

Nancy from Mancelona stayed at Harviestoun House for 7 nights in May 2018


Harviestoun House

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented Harviestoun House for 3 days as a base for my family and friends prior to my son's wedding.
The property provided everything we needed. good sized double bedrooms, ample bathrooms, good location.
Both the agent and the owner were very helpful during our stay and i would have no hesitation in recommending Harviestoun House for short term or longer stays.


William from Glasgow stayed at Harviestoun House for 3 nights in September 2017


SSC replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay for your sons wedding and found the House to be in a great location. We would live to welcome you back again should you find yourself in the area again. Best Wishes

We'll be back

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were attending a family wedding in the area. We arrived at the cottage, which was light, bright and airy, perfect for adults and the kids. Owner Brian had left some wine and shortbread as a welcome gift and information pack left on table with everything required. After everyone had picked their rooms for the weekend we settled in to eat in a kitchen that was roomy with everything that was needed to have family of nine meal. Facilities were great and better than we could have expected.
We discovered a small leak from upstairs bathroom, contacted owner and plumber was there to look at within hour. Fixed it while we were at wedding next day. Rooms were great size, beds comfortable and bedding brilliant white, soft and fluffy.
Two bathrooms and one en-suite ensured that nobody had to stand and wait. Great place to explore the area from and would highly recommend it. Deposit returned promptly. Great cottage,lovely location and the wedding was good too.


Chris from Banchory stayed at Harviestoun House for 3 nights in September 2017


SSC replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and such a good one at that, We are glad you you loved the House and found it spacious enough for all the family especially getting ready for the wedding. We are also pleased that any issues you had were dealt with promptly and fixed as soon as possible.We would love for you to come back and stay again in the future. Best Wishes

Great time in Scotland

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harviestoun House in Dollar. The house was clean and comfortable. A great location to venture over to St Andrews and Edinburgh or head west to Glasgow and all parts between. The Stirling Self Catering staff made the booking process easy and responded promptly to questions. We were very happy with our experience and highly recommend.

Donna from Enterprise stayed at Harviestoun House for 7 nights in August 2017


SSC replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review!, we are so glad we could make the process easier for your and we would love to welcome you back again in the near future. Best Wishes

Beautiful House

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with family and friends and had a lovely time. Highly recommend it. Would book again.

Evie from Tillicoultry stayed at Harviestoun House for 4 nights in June 2017


SSC replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best wishes

Top Dollar.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accomadation the only down side for us was the road noise. We live in the country so not used to traffic noise. This was a great house with every thing for a great stay we were never waiting for a bathroom or shower due to the three. The conservatory off the kitchen was ideal for a cuppa and a read. The closeness to the resteraunts superb we would recommend the deli. Great walks and would take our bikes next time. Thank you Bryan for the wine we found it funny about the alarms it shows they work but no one came. The folder with all the information was excellent, the facilities in the kitchen outstanding. This is a lovely cottage to stay would be wonderful at Christmas with the log burner on such a great conversion. I would give this house a 9/10.

Elizabeth from Avoch stayed at Harviestoun House for 3 nights in October 2016


Kirsteen Barr-Kearsey replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Harviestoun House. The road is generally not a busy one however I can understand that coming from the country you may have found it slightly nosier than what you are used to. Hope this detract from an enjoyable stay! Hope you can return ( perhaps one Christmas) when you can fully benefit from the atmospheric log burner!

Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is all you can wish for when travelling. Very modern interior, very clean, peaceful, we'll equipped... I hope we'll come back soon.

Boris from Zagreb stayed at Harviestoun House for 3 nights in October 2016


SSC replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Were pleased you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Nice House

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable, nice living room. Beds were nice, comfy. Near town, easy walk. Co-op convenient and nice hours. Good base to do day trips from. Kitchen had all of the necessities, well equipped. Enjoyed are stay to northern Scotland.

Banee from Arvada stayed at Harviestoun House for 4 nights in September 2016


Stirling Self Catering replied more than 1 year ago
It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Harviestoun House and found the house to be comfortable, and handy for everything in the surrounding area! Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future!

Harviestoun House

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is spacious, clean, and blends traditional build with modern fixtures. Stirling Self Catering were professional in every regard. We plan to return. Many thanks.

Guest from Vienna stayed at Harviestoun House for 6 nights in June 2016


Stirling Self Catering replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Harviestoun House. It is a popular property for the reasons you have given, and we always get great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful house set in quiet pretty village. All amenities in easy reach, large supermarkets in Stirling. Well appointed and nicely refurbished. Plenty of room, warm, comfortable. Recommended.

Guest from Sunderland stayed at Harviestoun House for 6 nights in March 2016


Stirling Self Catering replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Harviestoun House in Dollar, and enjoyed the setting and accommodation. Hopefully we can welcome you back to one of our properties again in the future.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited for a weekend with a group of friends. Lovely clean house which was comfortable and cosy. Kitchen was well kitted out. We were provided with excellent information regarding directions plus things to do in the area. We had 2 babies with us. 1 travel cot and high chair were provided and the house was great for them.
A couple criticisms: a neighbour complained to us about parking ooin front of the house (we were advised to do so). We were asked to strip the beds on departure which wasnt the nicest way to end our weekend.
But overall, a fantastic stay and we would come again!


Rosie Croft from Glasgow stayed at Harviestoun House for 3 nights in October 2015


Stirling Self Catering replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Harviestoun House. It is a great property when you are getting together with friends! Following your experience with the parking, we have now changed our advice in the directions email, and folder advising guests to park around the corner by the garage. This will avoid any future problems when there are multiple cars for guests staying at Harviestoun House. As all our properties are self catering, we ask all guests to strip beds on departure. The owner of Harviestoun House has now decided that he will no longer ask guests to do this. Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review and hopefully we can welcome you all back again in the future.

Nice stay at a comfortable place

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Harviestoun house for 7 days. It was an immaculate house with everything we needed to spend a relaxing time at a place we didn't know. The house is well located, close to Stirling and many other touristic places. We even had a castle at a walking distance- the Campbell Castle. Don't miss it!
I would like to recommend the owner to put a sign or a better mark at the house for foreigners to be able to find it. We spent over 30 mins trying to find the house and we were standing in front of it! Not even the neighbors were able to help.
Once we found the house, all our experience changed. We were able to cook, relax, barbecue, enjoy evenings with wine and peaceful nights.
I am not giving an "excellent" to comfort because the sinks in the bathrooms were extremely small. Very difficult to wash your hands or for the guys to shave. We also had two occasions when the water had low pressure and came yellow not clear. During those times we couldn't used the bathroom on the second floor. Not sure if this was a city problem.
The owner was attentive when I called him in regards to the water quality.
If we go back to Scotland, we will stay in the Harviestoun house again!


Guest from Houston stayed at Harviestoun House for 7 nights in August 2015


Stirling Self Catering replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for leaving us a review. It sounds like you have had a lovely relaxing holiday and obviously got some nice weather to allow you to BBQ and sit outside in the evenings! Thank you for your comments regarding the sinks - we have not had any negative comments before, but I will pass your comments to the owner. Hopefully we can welcome you back to one of our properties again in the future.

Great little house

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is a great place to stay with friends or family. It's very well looked after and provides a modern homely feel to it - very cosy! There are instructions and contact details in the kitchen if needed and all kitchen utensils are provided. We were very impressed with the house and would definitely consider staying here again. The housing agency - Stirling Self Catering Ltd were very helpful and were always willing to help with any queries i had. I would recommend both staying at this house and recommend using Stirling Self Catering again.

Guest from Middlesex stayed at Harviestoun House for 3 nights in May 2015


Stirling Self Catering replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving us such a great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Harviestoun House - it does combine the old cottage feeling with a modern finish really well, and is a great base for spending time with family and/or friends. Hopefully we can welcome you back to one of our properties again in the future.