FB Twitter

6 - Orchid Lodge

6 - Orchid Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


  • Large luxury 4 berth lodge
  • Fully equipped L shaped kitchen with
  • dishwasher, microwave, fridge/freezer
  • Wet room with grab handles
  • Wheel chair accessible with ramp to door
  • 1 double and 1 twin bedroom
  • Central heating to radiators, double glazing
  • Beds made up for your arrival, towels provided
  • Great views over the sea with glass front decking
    & outdoor furniture
  • Spacious lounge and dining area
  • 40" HD TV/DVD and Freesat
  • Group bookings not taken

Magical Luing Island

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we travel across the quirky ferry to Luing all our worries fade away. This was our 3rd visit to Luing and Sunnybrae site, within a year and we’ve booked again for May.
I can’t explain how the views and the tranquility of the Island make you feel, I can only say try it for yourself!
For the first time we’ve seen bottlenose dolphins and sea otters! Magical!!!!




10 days in September

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th visit and that says it all. Love the location, love the lodge and the Owners (Mike & Jen) are very helpful and friendly without being intrusive. Its an excellent break and if you have EE, there is some data signal for the first time which a bonus. The weather was so - so, but even so the views just from the lodge balcony is lovely and its always a wrench to leave.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth trip to Sunnybrae. This year we stayed in Orchid for the first time and we loved it. All rooms are spacious and the veranda is awesome - we were very lucky with the weather. Luing itself never disappoints - beautiful.



A fabulous retreat!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sunnybrae is situated in the most beautiful spot. We enjoyed 9 days of peace and seclusion which is just what we needed after months of anxiety due to Covid.
Sitting out on our decking was sheer joy; watching boats sail by, a variety of bird life and glimpses of grey seals.
Orchid lodge is well appointed, immaculately clean and has everything you would need for a self catering holiday.
We will certainly be coming back.




Not far short of perfection!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Orchid Lodge and it was amazing! Spotlessly clean, very well equipped (pots, pans, utensils, etc) and perfect for sitting and watching the water! Seals visited most days and we saw dolphins once. The island is totally unspoilt and I was impressed with the care Mike takes with recycling, composting and eco friendly detergents. He genuinely cares! The Bothy had a vast array of DVD’s but we were more than happy to watch the wildlife and scenery. The site is perfectly situated for walking and exploring the island. We didn’t want to leave and will definitely return! I have never felt so relaxed in all my life!



Visit Sunnybrae - you will not be disappointed.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely relaxing stay in Orchid lodge, just as good as last time but with cycling and swimming. Very beautiful place.



Second time on this site

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best site we’ve stayed on we where there in 2019 then had to delay for a year because of COVID but was worth the wait had a great holiday thank you Mike & jenn



Lodge with a fab view

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in the lodge was great and comfortable. The weather was good which meant we could sit on the balcony and watch and listen to the water lapping. the views from the lodge were tremendous and we were lucky enough to see the dolphins .
The owners are friendly and very approachable.




Relax, unwind and enjoy the here and now.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing views from the decking of the clean, well equipped, comfortable Orchid Lodge. We had a lovely relaxing holiday, with walks, wildlife & spectacular scenery. Very special place to spend your time off. Only constructive feedback would be that the water pressure is a bit low which made the shower less powerful, but this is a small point for us and has not stopped us rebooking.

Must visit the Atlantic Centre in Cullipool which has an outdoor area to dine if the weather allows, serving beautiful fresh produce.




Outstanding caravan and lodge accommodation, Spectacular scenery.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This holiday was my 2nd visit to Sunnybrae and I’ve booked again for the Orchid lodge. This says it all.



Fourth holiday on Luing staying at Sunnybrae

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks to Mike and Jenn during this difficult time. Sunnybrae is very well run, and offers first class accommodation
on Luing. Mike and Jenn both care about the environment employing their beliefs in many ways throughout the site, and
are winners of awards that recognise their work in this area. I look forward to going back as soon as possible.




Fabulous socially distancing luxury week at this fabulous place

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting this amazing island for well over 20 years, Sunnybrae is a little piece of heaven ...



October Break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommidation, beautiful area, and friendly service from the owners. I would not hesitate to reccommend.



Great place for a short break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sunnybrae caravans, and in particular Orchid Lodge, is a great place for a short break.
The team there are working hard with their cleaning procedures and distancing protocols to make sure that both residents of Luing and visitors to Sunnybrae are kept Covid free.
The lodge is very well maintained and supplied, nothing was tired or needing replacing. The lodge was also immaculately clean and cleaning products and vacuum were on hand for us to keep it that way.
The enclosed surround deck was the real winner for us. It meant that we could open the sliders with our morning coffee and watch the sunrise without getting out of our pjs! And our dog was enclosed and safe too.
So this lodge is also great for families with small children.
We hope to return another time and have already told friends and family about Sunnybrae and Luing




September - returning visit

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this in June after our USA holiday was cancelled. We have been to Sunnbybrae before and know what to expect. We have stayed in Caravans 1,3 & 4 but this time we booked the Orchid lodge.

The lodge is quite a bit larger than the others and whilst the other caravans are all good, the lodge definitely felt "home from home". It even had a dishwasher and a large 40inch TV with freesat.

The views are to die for - we were blessed with good weather on some days, not a cloud in the sky, but other days usually Scottish drizzle, but even so, you could sit on the balcony and look out in total peace and quiet and admire the scenery, the sea as its changes the tides and spot nearby wildlife - which included sea otter, buzzards, seals and many birds.

The park is not a huge park, its not aimed to be, but its quiet and very well run. Mike and Jen leave you to enjoy your holiday, but are friendly and helpful at all times.

Despite this being a 300+ mile trip to get there and well over 6 hours, we will continue to go back and would encourage anyone wanting a well appointed, tidy, clean caravan to go. In this covid-19 concerned times, the extra work that Mike and Jen do it very much welcomed, at no point did I ever feel unsafe or concerned.

Finally, cakes are available and takeaways from the Atlantic Centre on selected days (see their website) and the food is very nice - especially the Belgium Buns!




An oasis of peace

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous lodge equipped with everything you could wish for. Superb levels of cleanliness. The lodge has the most idyllic view out to water and a comfortable seating area outside. The internet would not work for us onThree network but apparently EE and vodaphone work better. An away from it all break... the island has a well-stocked shop open for the mid part of the day and the walks or cycle round the cycle is lovely.
Took a while to get to Oban ...about 45-60 mins dependent on ferries but lovely scenic drive.




Amazing !

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Orchid Lodge as a family of 3 over New Year
The lodge was immaculate inside and had everything you could want we could t fault it. The beds were comfortable and cosy and the lodge was centrally heated so we were never cold even in December
The attention to detail was excellent along with the booking confirmation and travelling instructions
The location is beautiful just off the ferry and you are there , the island lovely to explore also
Our friends (3 couples ) also stayed in the caravans that are located right on the waters edge having a view out to the sea and mountains spectacular !
Any complaints?
Yes only one that we had to leave and come home
Well done Mike hope to see you again




Third visit to Luing and Sunnybrae

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Step back in time, take the five minute ferry from Seil over the Cuan Sound to Luing and breathe a sigh of relief. The island has a special atmosphere, a rhythm all of its own and it is quite addictive. Sunnybrae is a perfect base on Luing, the accommodation is all recently new and maintained to a very high standard, six large caravans and Orchid Lodge. Orchid lodge is new this year and larger, with room to spread out. Enjoy the wrap round balcony overlooking the sea. Fishing boats,sailing boats , small motor boats and more can be observed. Seals and Otters make regular appearances too.The views are always changing.
Mike and Jen make it look easy which is the sign of professionals. They are welcoming and keen to help in any way, but not
intrusive. Perfect hosts.




Return to paradise

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These places are very few and far between, easy to get to, peaceful, with NO on site bar, music and disruption! Total relaxation, magnificent views, first class help if required ,and the feeling when it's time to go ,you really want to stay..



Thankyou Mike at Sunnybrae & the island of Luing

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb destination looking over the water, for just "switching off, watching the world go by and recharging the batteries". Plenty good trails for hiking, running or cycling too. and the accommodation had all you needed...and more.



Tranquil setting

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location. Myself, my husband, our 10 year old daughter & our dog throughly enjoyed our week here. The site provides everything you need. The views from our caravan (Otter) were absolutely stunning, especially if you caught the sun rising. Our daughter loved watching for seals. We also enjoyed watching all the boats go past. We would definitly stay here again, if we were visiting the area.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just exactly what the kids and I needed. Very friendly and will definitely be recommending to friends and family, we will also be staying again.



Amazing place!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we say, if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle then here it is! Sunnybrae and Luing are the most perfect place to just sit back and watch the world go by. Yachts, seals, otters, amazing birds and stunning scenery. The sound of the waves at Cullipool are just amazing. Black mill bay is haunting and stunningly beautiful. The cows are hilarious! There's no hurry to get anywhere. No traffic lights. Just the sheep and cows that rule the roads. Our 4th visit there and won't be our last. Atlantic Islands Centre is a huge new bonus, lovely food and a bit of island history. All this and yes, it rained a lot. Did it matter. Not a jot! Reluctant to tell anyone to go because we want it to be our secret heaven but that would be selfish! Go, go, go! You won't regret it! Thanks to our hosts, as ever the caravan was lovely. Perfect position to watch the fascinating tides and for seal watching. The Bothy is a great wee entertainment centre. The caravan park is lovely, quiet and wee run. Looking forward to next year already!



Excellent position

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed as soon as we arrived, and shown our caravan. All the caravans were positioned to provide each with maximum privacy whilst securing a good view over the Sea. We loved the one we had chosen.
The owners were friendly and helpful but not obtrusive.
The site is ecologically managed with clearly signed facilities.




Short lovely break on remote Isle of Luing

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely short stay. Not so great weather, so we didn't do the long bike ride we'd intended but it didn't really matter given the views which are lovely. We managed a walk around the north side of the island which was wild, empty and utterly gorgeous. Will definitely go back.



All good

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and clean caravan with all the equipment you could possibly need. Superb location. Would recommend



Back Again

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a pleasure no mater what time of year, I hate to give good revues because I feel that the site might become to popular.