FB Twitter

Byre

Byre

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


The Byre is the middle cottage in the u-shaped steading conversion and faces towards the Moray Firth and Black Isle. On ground level there is a kitchen, living room with dining area and bathroom (shower above bath). Upstairs, an open gallery bedroom is reached by a cast iron spiral staircase located in the living area.

Home from home but in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have spent many holidays at Balblair cottages and hope to visit many times more.
The welcome from Barbara and her family is always warm and so friendly and nothing is to much trouble, always able to suggest places for meals or visits not that the amazing visitors pack and information file is not full of idea's.
Its difficult to explain how comfortable you feel at Balblair and the location is very central for both shopping and visiting so many of those lovely and interesting places.
Balblair is somewhere that is lovely to visit but difficult to leave.


Richard from Preston stayed at Byre for 7 nights in May 2018


Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Admirably clean, well-appointed, warm and welcoming. Well placed for exploring this fascinating area. Ideal, too, for a rare 3-generation family reunion with younger members next door at The Barn and the oldies snug at The Byre. We'll be back!

Christopher from 34390 Olargues stayed at Byre for 7 nights in March 2018


Visit number 2 to The Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On my 2nd stay at The Byre it was as expected, excellent. It is home from home and has everything you could possibly need for your stay. It is cosy, comfortable and clean. Beautiful views, quiet and peaceful and seeing a couple of friendly Shetland ponies in the front field grazing was an added bonus for me. I would highly recommend this cottage for a holiday stay, you will not be disappointed.

Denise from Worcester stayed at Byre for 7 nights in November 2017


Welcoming fire.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice cottage and very quiet, despite being on a farm it's a very peaceful location. The cottage its self was well equipped and conferable. The log fire really makes the place very coze and is very welcoming after a long day out walking. The two settees are very nice as it allows you both to stretch out and relax in front of the aforementioned fire. This was our second stay at Balblair and I doubt it will be our last.

Steven from Tayport stayed at Byre for 7 nights in October 2017


Return Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love this cottage and location and have returned so often that it is almost like going home.
It is so restful that it should be on the NHS
We will be back


Frank from Kilsyth stayed at Byre for 7 nights in October 2017


Like home from home.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned to Balblair for our second stay in the Byre and have in past years stayed several times in the Bothy. What we really love about Balblair is the friendly relaxed stay we enjoy there, the welcome from Barbara and her family is just so nice hence its a home from home. The cottage is well planned and so cosy with the very thick walls and a wood burner, not that its has been cool enough to use it often. The area offers so many beautiful places to visit we are never bored and really enjoy revisits to places that to us are quite special and the information files that are in the properties always point us in the direction of something we have yet to visit. We are looking forward to next visit already.

Richard from Heanor stayed at Byre for 14 nights in September 2017


Another wonderful and relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors, as it's a great place to stay, well equipped, well kept and
very comfortable Barbara and her family are lovely and there's always a warm welcome.

See as much or as little of the area as you like, as it's great location makes that
so easy . Don't know where to go or what to see? There are a great selection of leaflets on the various attractions and places to eat in the area.

I am barely unpacked and am already planning my next visit.


Valerie from Forfar stayed at Byre for 7 nights in August 2017


Blanca & familly from Spain

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
La casa, el entorno y la atención de Barbara, fenomenal!! Como si estuviéramos en nuestra casa!! Un merecido 10/10.

Rafael from San Antonio De Benageber stayed at Byre for 7 nights in August 2017


Great accomodation for a great holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is a great accommodation-a home from home! Very cosy and comfortable and with such a lovely view on the Scottish countryside and the Moray Firth! Our only regret: not being able to stay longer. A highly commendable place!

Jean-luc from Neuilly L'eveque stayed at Byre for 7 nights in July 2017


wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, cozy and exceptionally well equipped. The shetland ponies were charming and the wood burning stove made it warm and snuggly during the cold and rainy days.


Henry from Green Cove Springs stayed at Byre for 7 nights in July 2017


It was a warm, very kind welcome

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a warm, very kind welcome.
Everything was very clean and nice.
Much information about 'what you can visit around'.
Perfect. We will come back if possible.


Doris from 01 Arnum stayed at Byre for 7 nights in July 2017


A lovely warm and cosy cottage, would book again.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation had everything we needed and was spotless. The only tiny little request might be for a coffee table in the living area but apart from that a very charming cottage.

Colin from Amersham stayed at Byre for 7 nights in June 2017


A lovely place to stay in a beautiful quiet location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our accomodation was equipped with careful chosen items of a very good quality. It was also well equipped for self catering. It was homely and comfortable. Barbara was very welcoming and has a lovely friendly spirit. The three cottages overlook the Moray Firth and the Black Isle in the distance. We would return there if in the a rea again.

Brenda from Poulton stayed at Byre for 7 nights in June 2017


Another Return Visit

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our latest of many visits to the farm.
The beauty and peace of the venue lends to a wonderful holiday.
The location has many lovely places to visit and many fine eateries.
We cannot wait for our next holiday in Balblair


Frank from Kilsyth stayed at Byre for 7 nights in April 2017


Great stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ever since coming to the Inverness area for business purpose this was my first stay at the Brye cottage.
The cottage is spacious absolutely clean and warm. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen had everything you need. It is in a quiet location and the view from the cottage is very nice.
Barbara is taking great care and is such a lovely person.
I am looking forward to coming back. Thank you!


Gernot from Maple Ridge stayed at Byre for 3 nights in March 2017


Quiet Cosy Clean Country Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My parents had a wonderful relaxing week at the Byre Balblair. The cottage was equipped with everything they could possibly have needed. Beautiful views could've admired from a bench at the front of the cottage and a sun trap patio was located at the rear. All in all a fantastic cottage in an easy access location to Inverness or Nairn. They will definitely be back.

Catriona from Inverness stayed at Byre for 7 nights in March 2017


A Great Stay at BalBlair Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at The Byre. Everything was clean and the small welcome basket was a pleasant surprise. We particularly like the quality of the cookware and the lighting. Sometimes it is hard to find a good place to sit and read in a self-catering cottage due to the lack of good lighting. Not here. Also, all the cookware was relatively new and in good shape, including the non-stick pans and utensils. The wood stove and dry firewood were most welcome on one rainy, cold day. Quiet, peaceful setting. Hostess very responsive to our needs and open to suggestions. Enjoying the birth of two calves was an added bonus. We would definitely stay here again.

Richard from Beavercreek stayed at Byre for 7 nights in September 2016


Beautiful and Amazing Place

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time. The cottages were outstanding. We felt as if we were at home it was so comfortable. They had everything one would need. The owners of the Cottages.....What can we say other than they felt like old friends. We loved the whole experience and would do it again in a heart beat. JUST GO..

Eric from stayed at Byre for 7 nights in September 2016


Another great stay at Balblair.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome from a lovely family.

The Byre has very comfortable and well appointed accommodations, with everything you need for your stay. A great jumping off point for all the attractions and things to do in the surrounding area. But equally a cosy place to stay in and chill out.

This was not our first visit and it certainly won't be our last. We are planning the next one right now.


Valerie from Forfar stayed at Byre for 7 nights in September 2016


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic cottage with beautiful views,so peaceful,it was like a home away from home, we had everything we needed,ideal location, would highly recommend it.

Michelle from Mablethorpe stayed at Byre for 4 nights in August 2016


Our Highland Home

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our most recent of many visits we yet again felt that we were returning to our Highland Home.
Our hosts treated us as family and made us feel very welcome.
The house, as always, was spotless and the welcome pack was lovely.
There is so much to do in the area that our two weeks was not long enough.
We look forward very much to our next visit.


Frank from Kilsyth stayed at Byre for 14 nights in August 2016


Golfing and sightseeing Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this delightful farm cottage. It is quiet yet easily accesses all sightseeing locations and great golfing venues. The cottage is fully equipped with all mod cons and is beautifully kept. Farm animals outside the front door and friendly, helpful landlords make this holiday stay very easy to return to.

Marlene from Cape Schanck stayed at Byre for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely accommodation in an ideal location.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Balblair cottages in July. The property is charming with all the modern amenities and ideally located for exploring the Nairn, Inverness and Moray areas. We particularly appreciated the fact the cottage was located in a quiet area next to a working farm. The cottage itself if very private with a small, well appointed garden area however when you venture out the front door you can see cows grazing in the distance, and if you are lucky, the two resident ponies may trot up to the fence to see what you're about, or in our case, if there was a carrot to be had.

Mary from Oakville stayed at Byre for 7 nights in July 2016


Scottish Highland Holiday Accomodation At Its Best

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned to Balblair after a break of a few years having previously stayed here a number of times in the past, and wow did we realise how much we had missed our visits.
The cottages are lovely and provide all the comforts you could require, they are spotlessly clean, warm and very comfortable and what more could you ask after a long journey but to have your beds made up ( which they are ) its really lovely. The information pack provided in the cottage is both comprehensive with regard to equipment within the cottage and fully updated tourist information. There is also a nice treat left in the kitchen, thank you Barbara who is also great at suggesting area's to visit.
Will we be back OH YES.


Richard from Preston stayed at Byre for 7 nights in June 2016


Excellent stay in a very well equipped and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spent a very enjoyable and comfortable week here. The cottage was quiet and well equipped. There are some lovely beaches and interesting places to visit in the area. I would certainly consider staying here again if I came back to this area. Barbara and her family were very welcoming and responded quickly to any requests.

Kathy from Bromsgrove stayed at Byre for 7 nights in May 2016


Excellent base for our holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barbara provided us with a warm greeting, assorted provisions and clean, comfortable, accommodation which was ideal for our needs and which we would certainly recommend to others looking for a base from which to explore the surrounding area. Ideally placed for Inverness Airport.

Mike from Frampton On Severn stayed at Byre for 7 nights in April 2016


parfait

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gite parfait tres bon accueil de la proprietaire tout est parfait
propre bien agencé tout equipé
Proche inverness
Nous avons aimé les quelques nuits
Bravo


Guest from St Jeannet stayed at Byre for 4 nights in April 2016


Everything about the Byre Cottage was wonderful.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every need of a guest had been anticipated. the cottage was well stocked with necessities such as linens, toiletries, washing detergent, dishwash soap, all the cooking and kitchen supplies needed including staples like salt, pepper and sugar. We simply supplied our own daily food needs. Our hostess and her family were most gracious. I cannot say enough good about our stay. We hated to leave. It really felt like home away from home!

Larry from Selbyville stayed at Byre for 7 nights in March 2016


Christmas Shopping Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another wonderful stay at Balblair Self Catering Cottages. We will most certainly return.
We always feel so welcome and so comfortable.
Our thanks again to Barbara.


Frank from Kilsyth stayed at Byre for 7 nights in October 2015


A fantastic place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balblair is a great base to explore the Highlands. The accommodation was beautifully clean and the facilities were great. Having stayed a couple of times before, it was great to come back again. Thank you.

Ian from Exeter stayed at Byre for 7 nights in October 2015


Another excellent stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to Balblair cottages and again we have an excellent stay and lovely holiday. The cottages are in a very good location for exploring the Highlands. As always the cottages are maintained to an excellent standard and Barbara and her family give a warm welcome and always happy to help with any questions we may have regarding places to visit.
We will definitely be returning again for more holidays at Balblair cottages and has been good to go at different seasons in the year.



Deborah from Hayes stayed at Byre for 7 nights in October 2015


A truely delightful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed three nights at the cottage and could not have hoped for better accomodation. Everything we needed was provided including a lovely wood fire. All very cosy. The location was probably not the best for the travelling we did but that was our miss management & lack of planning. The cottage itself was located in a delightful rural setting.

Maggie from Vic 3070 stayed at Byre for 3 nights in October 2015


Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great location to explore the area. The bedrooms were comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. I especially liked the wood burning stove. I would recommend it and look forward to visiting again.

Iain from stayed at Byre for 3 nights in June 2015


Lovely cottage to stay in

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay - accommodation very clean and comfortable, has everything you need for a relaxing stay.
Owners provided a very warm welcome and offered helpful advice on places to visit and explore.

Many thanks for a great week.


Anne from Orphir stayed at Byre for 7 nights in June 2015


A fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
About 7 years ago we have visited Balblair Cottages for the first time. Now we visited the cottage again and again we have really enjoyed it. It's a good and nice cottage with a beautiful view in a quiet surronding. Several interesting places are nearby, a car is needed. The owner of the cottage is nice and friendly.

Guest from Vijfhuizen stayed at Byre for 7 nights in August 2015


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the most beautiful cottage I have stayed in in Scotland. Everything was perfect. It was very clean, it was quiet and the owners were nice and helpful.

Wenche from Bergen stayed at Byre for 7 nights in August 2015