FB Twitter

Bothy

Bothy

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The Bothy is the first cottage in the u-shaped steading conversion. On ground level there is a kitchen, living room with dining area and bathroom (shower above bath). Upstairs, an open gallery bedroom is reached by a cast iron spiral staircase located in the living area. Small south facing enclosed patio area. Wood burning stove with logs.

Lovely cottage in a great area

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at the Bothy. The accommodation is very comfortable, perfect for two people. All the facilities are top quality, with an excellent kitchen and bathroom. The outside area is a pleasant place to sit and eat in fine weather. The location is very good with easy access to fabulous beaches at Nairn and shops etc in Inverness. Some very interesting places are just a few minutes away, e.g. Culloden battlefield, Cawdor castle, Fort George. The customer service is spot-on - Barbara is friendly and helpful and the perfect host.

Nick from Kirkby Lonsdale stayed at Bothy for 14 nights in June 2018


Inverness Adventure

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the cottage was warm and extremely comfortable Barbara was an excellent host making us feel at home .the location was in easy reach of the airport and inverness we enjoyed touring this area and would happily stay with Barbara again .We would recommend this cottage to friends

Ian from stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in June 2018


A perfect home from home.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in the Bothy, the owner even went to buy a brand new gardenset when one of the chairs collapsed.

John from Capelle Aan Den Ijssel stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in May 2018


Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cosy cottage for two, well thought out and everything provided for your stay, loved the log burner in the evenings as we visited beginning of April. The owners were really friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay, highly recommended.

Guest from Ilkeston stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in March 2018


Wonderful!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visit balblair cottages every year, and as always it’s s Home away from home. Ideal for anyone wanting a central base to explore the highlands.
Barbara and family are wonderful hosts.
Planning next years trip already


Nicki from Conwy stayed at Bothy for 14 nights in October 2017


perfect highland getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super cottage for two, very well appointed with everything you need. Great location with easy access to some lovely places. Ullapool under an hour away, great beach at Lossiemouth

Fiona from Biggar stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in October 2017


Excellent, comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at The Bothy! Barbara made us very welcome in this cosy but well equipped cottage. Enjoyed every hour there - esp. log burning fireplace and location. Would love to return!

Petra from Herxheim stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in September 2017


Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dies soll für alle Schottlandfans aus Deutschland sein, deshalb auf deutsch:

Wir waren jetzt (seit 2006, oder so) zum vierten Mal im Bothy, 2 x bei Agnes und Bruce (die Eltern von Barbara) und 2 x bei Barbara und Familie (die dann das Cottages-Steuer übernommen haben). Jedes Mal, wenn wir wieder ankommen, fühlen wir uns fast "wie zu Hause". Das sagt eigentlich alles, oder? Die Betreuung ist zurückhaltend aber sehr, sehr herzlich, individuelle Wünsche werden sofort erfüllt, das Cottage selbst ist sauber, freundlich und mit Liebe eingerichtet. Insbesondere die Gespräche mit dem "alten" Hausherren und Councelor von Loch Flamington, Bruce sind immer wieder ( trotz unserer bescheidenen Englischkenntnisse) sehr unterhaltsam. Na, und die Umgebung ist natürlich Traumhaft! Die Nordsee ist gleich um die Ecke, die Highlands fast vor der Tür und die Westküste mit dem Atlantik mit dem Auto in greifbarer Nähe. Bei schlechtem Wetter gibt es in Inverness oder Nairn genügend Anlaufpunkte....

Alles in Allem können wir die Balblair Cottages nur wärmstens empfehlen und wir werden bestimmt wieder kommen!!
Viele Grüße an die Strachans und die Bariskans

Barbara und Horst Giesau aus Dresden



Horst - R. from Dresden stayed at Bothy for 14 nights in September 2017


A perfect place to be

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would highly recommend the whole package there was so much to do within a very distance loved the fire

Angela from Fearnan stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in August 2017


Happy return.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time we have spent a week here in the middle of a month trip to Scotland. Had time to relax and see things we missed the first time around. Nothing had changed in the past four years which is a very good thing

James from Reno stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in August 2017


Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at the Bothy and it's excellent all round, would definitely recommend it! Love the ponies as well!

Tom from New Mills stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in July 2017


Everything we needed for our week visiting an elderly aunt

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been travelling up to Inverness for the last 50 years and cant believe we had never seen this little gem before. Perfect for the 2 of us and home from home .
Thank you Babs and family


Doris from Cannock stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in June 2017


A wee hideaway!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy provides an excellent wee spot to relax in peace & comfort. It is perfect for solo travellers or couples & the facilities are of a very high standard. Once you add in a warm welcome, a few complimentary goodies & outside space for a morning coffee it is, overall, highly recommended to others. The 2 other cottages do not face you so you can have as much privacy as you like, in other words I had my outside coffee in pyjamas! It's ideal for a base to tour from as well as having everything you may need in Inverness.

Rona from stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in April 2017


Back again

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are three cottages of different size in this conversion. We have stayed four times in the Bothy and once in the Byre. All excellent. Need I say more!

Elizabeth from Newtonmore stayed at Bothy for 4 nights in March 2017


Great accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well furnished/presented. Efficient service and friendly hosts. Location is excellent and very authentic.

Colin from Inverness stayed at Bothy for 3 nights in March 2017


Stay at the Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Balblair Cottages. It is always a pleasure to return here for a holiday. There is always a warm welcome and Barbara is really friendly and helpful. The facilities in the cottages are excellent and have everything you need to make you're stay enjoyable. It is a really good base for exploring the north of Scotland, but also lots of places to see nearby if you don't want to travel far. Always sorry to leave and wish we could stay for longer.

Julia from Treswell, Retford stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in September 2016


The standard of hospitality at Balblair Cottages could not be any higher.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time at Balblair cottages, it was outstanding. The cottage was so clean and lovely. Barbara and her family could not have been more welcoming. We would recommend it to everyone. Simply first class. We had a brilliant time.

Elaine from Derry stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in August 2016


A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing and warm little cottage on a farm in the Scottish countryside. The owner was lovely and made us feel very welcome and there were a few welcome treats of local produce when we arrived. Well kitted out. Only issue we had was no local pub, the nearest is a 3 mile drive in Cawdor, but it is a good old traditional tavern that we liked. Recommend Rose Isle beach for walks on the sand up to burghhead (beware the local cafe only serves food till 3pm)

Guest from Lochwinnoch stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in August 2016


A little gem

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have had a fantastic week at Bothy Cottage, great hosts, very clean, good location, very quiet. The hosts provide lovely towels, tea towels and cleaning products. There was also a welcome basket when we arrived. A great place that I would recommend.

Janet from Nottingham stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in August 2016


A cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This Cottage is spotlessly clean, very warm and well equipped. The only downside, and it is a small comment, is the armchair is rather worn, could do with new seat cushion, but settee is very comfy. We would recommend this Cottage.

William from Ferndown stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in July 2016


Excellent stay in the Bothy.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in the Bothy and our every need was catered for. The family are very welcoming and friendly. The property is immaculate, clean and well heated with plenty of hot water. A pleasant small garden, good views towards the Black Isle. A very comprehensive information pack provided.

David from Carlisle stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in June 2016


Nice cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in The Bothy. It was a good place to visit interesting places.We would recomend it to other people.
Barbara gave us a very warm welcome.


Guest from Wijchen stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in June 2016


Well located and very comfortable.

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage on a working farm, with ponies at front door and great views to the Moray Firth. Our hosts offered us an upgrade to the 2 bedroom flat, which was very spacious and comfortable. We also got to view the one bedroom unit which was also lovely. So much to see and do on area. Culloden is a few kilometres away. Cawdor Castle is also worth visiting. Great place to explore Lock Ness from, and the other sode of the firth, We also. enjoyed the megalithic tombs.

Walter from stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in May 2016


Central accommodation location in Inverness

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was well presented and had everything we needed for a four day stop. It was located centrally so we could do day trips east, south and north.

Pamela from stayed at Bothy for 4 nights in April 2016


Fantastic weekend getaway!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Bothy during a weekend break in the Highlands, and it was everything we wanted. It is cosy and clean, and we loved the log fire! It's a great spot from which to explore the Highlands, and the owners made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to come back for a longer stay, and would highly recommend this place to everyone!

Laura from Dundee stayed at Bothy for 2 nights in January 2016


Regular

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been back and back and back and back. And we're picky!

How much recommendation do you want?

Colin and Liz


Colin from Newtonmore stayed at Bothy for 3 nights in November 2015


A great week!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a most enjoyable week at Balblair staying in the Bothy cottage. The cottage was immaculate, comfortable & extremely well equipped. We were warmly welcomed by Barbara & the family who were close at hand had we needed any help. The location is central for the numerous attractions available in this part of Scotland.
We would have no hesitation in returning to Balblair & hope to do so in the future.


G. Ian from Aberdeen stayed at Bothy for 7 nights in September 2015


Best few days ever

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most amazing stay, owner couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, nothing was too much trouble. If you needed anything you just asked.

Boothy was clean and homely. Nice touches with the coal fire. Was beautiful.

Would 110% recommend you stay here.


Sandra from Blantyre stayed at Bothy for 4 nights in June 2015