FB Twitter

Barn

Barn

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The Barn is the third cottage in the u-shaped steading conversion. On ground level there is an open plan kitchen, living room and dining area, a downstairs twin (zips together to make a super king) and a shower room. Upstairs there is a large bedroom with king size bed, twin bedroom and bathroom. It's ideal for groups or families. Wood burning stove with logs. Small south facing enclosed patio.

5⭐

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd family visit to Balblair cottages and will not be our last. Comfortable, clean accommodation. Great location for visiting local attractions. Warm welcome from Barbara. Perfect for a relaxing family holiday. 5⭐

Fiona from Lanark stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2021


Perfect place, brilliant accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although their system refused to accept my card or host found a way for us to pay. As a barn conversion it is excellent well decorated and the perfect place fo our needs. In the country but only 15 minutes from town.
If I needed to stay in Inverness I would definitely rent the barn again. The host was very helpful and accomodating.


John from Inverness-shire stayed at Barn for 14 nights in September 2021


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is in the perfect location for a peaceful holiday, but isn't too far from Nairn and inverness, and is a short trip to Loch Ness. The Barn is extremely well equipped and comfortable, we couldn't have asked for more.

Guest from Darlington stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2021


Family Summer Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week staying in the Barn. The accommodation was perfect for our needs (family of four). Everything was spotlessly clean. The little touches of toilet rolls, hand soaps, dishwasher tablets, laundry liquid and foil etc made a big difference when self-catering. The welcome pack was perfect, especially the Loch Ness Brewery beers! We were really lucky with the weather (end of august) and made the most of the courtyard garden which was sunny and sheltered. It was ideal for a pre-dinner drink. Out the front of the property were lovely views over open farmland with beautiful sunsets. In terms of location, although rural, there is lots to see and do within a short distance and drive (we would recommend hiring a car if flying). In the immediate vicinity are Fort George and Culloden, which are both excellent. A little further, although not far, are Inverness, the sandy beach at Nairn and Loch Ness. The Spey Valley (numerous distilleries and an enjoyable drive via Grantown) and Aviemore via the A9 are les than an hour away. We can recommend the Strathspey steam railway. All in all, a really comfortable base for a holiday which can suit all tastes and ages.

Paul from Reading stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2021


Lovely accommodation in a beuatiful part of the country

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd year we've spent a week here, and it's been perfect every time. The Barn is very spacious for 6 people and has everything you require and more. The welcome basket goes above and beyond!

Douglas from Renfrew stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2021


Fantastic stay can't wait to return

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had an amazing time Barn very clean and functional lots of extras like a welcome pack of beer cider tea coffee chocolate and irn bru electric whisk dishwasher and washer dryer beautiful views 5 mins from the airport easy to find 10 mins to Nairn or Inverness City Centre will be returning soon. Barbara and family are friendly professional hosts . Tesco delivery available I prebooked and no issues

Donna from Northfleet stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2021


Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely week here at the Barn. Barbara was the perfect host and was very welcoming and helpful.
The barn was very well equipped and spotlessly clean.
The fresh flowers and food welcome pack was a very nice touch.
Would recommend a stay here.


Alan from Coventry stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2021


Wonderful Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Balblair Cottages for 14 years and have always been met with a warm and generous welcome from Barbara and her family. The Barn is always immaculate and provides a spacious and relaxing base from which to explore Inverness and Moray. Can’t praise it highly enough, we will continue to come back.

Guest from Milngavie stayed at Barn for 7 nights in June 2021


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at The Barn, great location for exploring this beautiful part of Scotland. The Barn was extremely well catered and had everything you could need and there was a lovely welcome pack too. Barbara and her family were very obliging. Would definitely come back.

Guest from St Andrews stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2021


Excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is a beautiful property. It is very well presented, clean and extremely comfortable. In challenging times, Barbara has done a wonderful job providing a perfect 'getaway from it all' holiday cottage. A lovely welcome basket was provided and a socially distanced chat settled us for a week of calm and tranquility. The cottage is well situated for visits to Elgin, the Black Isle and beyond, Fort Augustus and Loch Ness. We had first class service from Barbara and will look forward to a return visit. Thank you, Barbara.

Margaret from St Andrews stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2020


Fabulous stay at the Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is beautifully furnished, spacious and spotlessly clean. Bedrooms are a good size with plenty of clothes space and the beds are very comfortable. It is such a lovely cottage and we enjoyed some sunny evenings sitting in the pretty garden. It is ideally located for visiting beaches and towns in this scenic part of Scotland. Barbara has followed all the government guidelines relating to the pandemic and we felt very safe whilst we were there. Would highly recommend this cottage and if we come back to this area this is where we would like to stay.

Lynn from Comrie stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2020


Home from home.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come back every year and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in this area of the beautiful Scottish Highlands.
The Barn is set in a very quiet and peaceful area, with lovely views from every window. It is spotlessly clean, very well stocked, spacious and comfortable. It has everything you could possible want from a holiday cottage and more besides. Barbara and her family are lovely - friendly, welcoming, helpful and full of knowledge about the local area.
The cottage is roughly in between Inverness and the lovely seaside town of Nairn; it is also close to the airport and main A-roads which makes discovering further afield very easy. There are also lots of things to see/do in the local area - Fort George and the beach at Ardersier, Cawdor Castle (although our favourite is Brodie Castle near Elgin), the gorgeous beaches at Nairn and not to forget the yummy Cheese Pantry (visit at the beginning of your trip, as you will definitely want to go back!). We also recommend a lovely evening stroll down to Loch Flemmington, which a great place for bird watching.
I really couldn't rate this cottage highly enough and (as Barbara knows!) would happily move up to the Highlands and buy The Barn if it was ever up for sale!!!
I could say more, but it would be more of the same praise and recommendation and I think you get the idea by now of how much our family love staying here!! :-)


Cathy from Brighton stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2020


A perfect October break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 4 nights in The Barn. We arrived to a clean and cosy property and loved the pamper of food goodies. As the nights were getting colder, we lit the stove one night which was lovely. The kids were entertained by the great range of games and jigsaws whilst I managed to sit back and relax. Highly recommend.

Rhona from Carnoustie stayed at Barn for 4 nights in October 2019


Great stay. Wished it could have been longer.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Four of us travelled up from Devon to spend a week exploring the eastern Highlands. Balblair Cottages was the ideal base for day trips around the area. The property itself was beautifully presented and Barbara couldn't do enough to ensure our stay was enjoyable in every respect. We all heartily recommend Balblair Cottages as THE self-catering place to stay.

Tj from Teignmouth stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2019


A lovely family holiday at Balblair

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was another lovely family holiday at Balblair and as always the accommodation was of excellent standard and well equipped. Barbara as always is so helpful and very warm and welcoming.
Look forward to our next stay which is testament that we recommend Balblair.


Deborah from Hayes stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


A very good place

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice place to stay.
Just a little thing : it will better if there is a second shower in the upstairs bathroom.


Bertrand from 91140 - Villebon Sur Yvette stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2019


just great, wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks to Barbara and her husband. Extremely friendly and helpful host. Barn Cottage was very spacious with high quality equipment. The environment is lovely and offers a lot of opportunities for activities. We had a great time there and the only problem was, to travel back home.

Rainer from Berlin stayed at Barn for 14 nights in July 2019


Barbara replied more than 1 year ago
Going home after a wonderful holiday is always hard! We are delighted to hear that you found the Barn very spacious and that there were lots of activities for your family. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your holiday. Best wishes, Barbara

A very pleasant stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well-equipped, spacious and comfortable. No needs not met! Fantastic kitchen and bathroom, friendly hosts!
A good base for people who plan to travel the highlands by car (1,5hours to Ullapool, close to Cairngorms and Black Isle) otherwise not close enough to anything on foot (so no small shop, beach or sights within walking distance). Cawdor Castle is very close though and well worth a visit.


Naomi from Lahntal stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2019


Great location, Comfortable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For the second year running we stayed in this beautiful cottage. My mum and dad who were with us are both in their 80s, so having a shower room and bedroom on the ground floor was a great help. Hopefully we'll be back in the not too distant future.

Douglas from Renfrew stayed at Barn for 7 nights in March 2019


Our Wonderful Stay At Balblair

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Balblair on a number of occasions and this time was the same as always. The cottage was as described (not always the case in other places we have visited}. Whenever we arrive there, it is spotlessly clean and tidy. It has all the facilities needed for a family holiday and it is in a lovely spot standing back from a very quiet road with very little traffic, often with a couple of Shetland ponies in the front field. It is easy to get to Inverness or Nairn where there are shops for supplies. Nairn beaches are wonderful and there is also a beach at Ardersier which is the nearest beach but is pebbly but has a walkway to Fort George and there are lovely views to the mountain beyond Inverness and to the Black Isle.

I should not really praise the place to highly as it might make it difficult for us to get booked into there the next time we want to visit the area!



John from Milton Keynes stayed at Barn for 7 nights in December 2018


The perfect home away from home.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn was the perfect home base for a week in Inverness. From the proximity to attractions, to the beauty and cleanliness of the cottage, to the hospitality of Barbara, the Barn proved to be our home away from home. The modern appliances and scenic surroundings (including the friendly horses) were a bonus.

We saved so much money by cooking warm dinners every evening and could pack much less thanks to the washer/dryer.

We would highly recommend the Balblair self catering cottages.


Kelly from King George stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2018


Simply Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed here 15 years ago and always said that one day we would bring any children we had to visit this beautiful area of the UK. In August 2017 we had saved up enough money to bring our 12 year old twin boys back to the Scottish Highlands and staying here again was the only place we considered - nothing could be better or more perfect. We were back again in August 2018 and planned to return every year, as we love visiting so much!
The Strachan Family are lovely - friendly and full of lots of useful information. We loved feeding the ponies and playing with Bob the dog. The Barn is stunning - glorious views, peaceful and quiet, immaculate decoration, brilliant well equipped, warm and comfortable. We all slept brilliantly well and it was a welcoming 'home' to come back to after a day of exploring!
I could go on, but I almost don't want to say too many wonderful things, in case it becomes too popular and we can't get a booking again for next year!!
Thank you Barbara and family, we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Cathy, Luke, Robbie and Jossie xxxx


Cathy from Brighton stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2018


Fantastic cottage in a perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have come so many times now to the Balblair Cottages and we (also our children) love each of them. The welcome is always warm and the owners are so lovely. Also the cottages provide everything you need on a really high standard. We highly recommend a stay at these cottages.

Giuseppa from stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2018


Such a nice place !

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is just wonderful and ideal for family. Everything has been thought to make sure you spend nice and comfortable holidays, in a very warm welcoming atmosphere. We had a fantastic time, we'll definetely come back! Thank you very much !

Frederick from Paris stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2018


everything you need plus new bathrooms

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barbara is a very friendly and caring host. The location is quiet yet close to the main road. The Barn at Balblair is a perfect home base if you want to explore the region. Thank you for your hospitality, Barbara :-)

Johann from Leopoldsdorf stayed at Barn for 7 nights in May 2018


A week at Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very comfortable week in The Barn at Balblair Cottages and couldn't fault anything. It is perfectly situated halfway between Nairn and Inverness and provides an excellent base for exploring the area. The cottage itself is very homely and maintained to a high standard with lovely surroundings. It was a wrench to leave after the week was over. Hopefully we'll make It back soon.

Douglas from Renfrew stayed at Barn for 7 nights in April 2018


Return Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second break at the barn and we loved every minute of it . The cottage is ideal for touring the Highlands and Speyside and for Shopping in Inverness. It’s very cosy with the log burning stove and is very well equipped with everything you need . We will return

Peter from Falkirk stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2017


Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is well-appointed, everything we needed was there. This is our second visit. As before, the property was very clean and comfortable.

Guest from Peterborough stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2017


Very comfortable accommodation in a lovely and historic part of Scotland.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received such a warm welcome from Barbara. She spent some time talking to us and gave us inside information about the lovely places we could visit in the region.
The house was immaculately clean and very well appointed. We felt totally relaxed there.
We would highly recommend Balblair cottages.


Raymond G from Manchester stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2017


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in a beautiful place. Clean, comfortable with everything you needed. Had a lovely week.

Garry from Scalloway stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2017


Fantastic holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great holiday in the Barn. The accommodation is equipped to a high standad and very spacious. Barbara was a very welcoming host. The location was great for all the sightseeing we had planned. Loved evening meals at the Cawdor Tavern.

Stephen from Glasgow stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2017


Just Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely time at the Barn, it was welcoming, warm(Scottish June weather). The welcome pack was appreciated. Loved the ponies outside the door. Spotlessly clean with everything you would need for your stay.

Stephen from Aberystwyth stayed at Barn for 7 nights in June 2017


Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Why go anywhere else when Balblair has everything. Barbara's standards are high. The place is spotless, comfortable,quiet. She will always go the extra mile for you.
I strongly recommend the cottages.


Marie from France stayed at Barn for 7 nights in June 2017


The Barn at Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is such a lovely cottage that we didn't want to leave. It's very clean and comfortable and extremely well-equipped. The welcome package of jam, marmalade, oatcakes and shortbread was a particularly nice touch, and not something you always get in self-catering cottages. I also liked the fact that there was a plentiful supply of household essentials. The wi-fi worked fine. There's also a selection of games and books for the days/evenings spent at home. The gardens are very pretty with roses clambering up the walls. The weather (end of May) even allowed us to sit in the patio garden and watch the swallows swooping about.

Balblair is very well-situated for Inverness airport and trips out to places like Fort George, Culloden Battlefield, Cawdor and Brodie Castles, the Black Isle and Loch Ness and Castle Urquhart. Logie Steading which has beautiful gardens, craft shops and a good restaurant is also worth a visit. Barbara has provided a huge information pack full of places to visit for those not well-acquainted with the area.

As it's part of a complex of three cottages, it's also good for family groups, which is what I shall be telling all the cousins who'll want to come up now. Many thanks to the Strachan family for making our stay such an enjoyable one.





Katharine from Chester stayed at Barn for 7 nights in May 2017


Tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 ⭐️. I am fortunate to travel to various luxury destinations for work purposes, though none affordable to me. SO to find this amazing cottage with all the comforts and cleaned to a very high standard its BLISS. To wake to the view over the Moray firth, no traffic or city nosies. WHY would anyone not want to be 10-15mins from the city. Where the prices are out rating themselves.
DO book a week or two and you will be glad you did.
A home from home, with everything you need and more and beauty on your doorstep. Within easy reach of all the local attractions.
I have already booked my return So book today or you will be disappointed


Marie from France stayed at Barn for 7 nights in April 2017


Review

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Probably the nicest holiday cottage we have stayed in. Great location, clean cosy , comfortable with a lovely enclosed patio and great views from bedrooms.

Helen from Blairgowrie stayed at Barn for 7 nights in April 2017


Great accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well furnished/presented. Efficient service and friendly hosts. Location is excellent and very authentic.

Colin from Inverness stayed at Barn for 3 nights in March 2017


Our Wonderful Stay At Balblair

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mine and my wife's stay at Balblair, with my daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren, was a wonderful time. Barbara welcomed us when we arrived and was very friendly, just like her mother used to be when she ran the cottages. She welcomed us with a gift of a basket of goodies. The Barn was spotless, had everything needed for our stay and with it's heating and fire proved to be a warm and cosy place to stay for a week in December that had the usual weather, from our arrival in snow, to a walk on the beach in Nairn in brilliant sunshine. Full marks for both Barbara and her lovely cottages.

John from Milton Keynes stayed at Barn for 7 nights in December 2016


Lovely cottage and a very warm welcome

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a great and very pleasant time at The Barn, a lovely cottage with everything we needed. We especially enjoyed the wood burning stove and would like to thank Barbara for a very warm and kind welcome!

Britta from Duesseldorf stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2016


fantastic self catering accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was our second stay in the barn, and it was as good as the first time. the owner is a really lovely young woman, her communication by e-mail is fantastic, and after we arrived she came round to ask if we had everything we needed, and if there was anything we wanted to know about the cottage, or local area. the cottage has everything you need, having stayed in many self catering accommodations, this is one of the best, if not the best equipped. the owner leaves a little basket of Scottish produced goodies, oatcakes and jar of jam and the best shortbread biscuits ever. the beds are really comfortable, and the cottage is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. there is a little courtyard area with seats, and a buddleia which attracts beautiful butterflies. the location is very good, 15 to 20 minutes to Inverness, and 45 minutes to Loch Ness and the Moray Firth beaches, and the Black Isle where dolphins can often be seen quite close to land. I would 100% recommend this property.

Janet from Sheffield stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2016


We love to stay at the Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love to come to Balblair Cottages. It is located in an perfect area to explore the surroundings. The Cottage itself is running by a very lovely and kind family. When we come to one of the Cottages it feels like coming home. A warm welcome with fresh flowers, a selfbaked ginger cake (thank you so much, Agnes, it was really delicious!) and small gift basket filled with oat cakes and a jam makes you feel as you were staying with good friends. The houses itself are very cozy and you can find in it everything you will need for a comfort stay. Although we are back in Germany since 2 weeks we already miss the Highlands, their people and "our cottage".
Can't wait to come back again soon!
Thanky you for everything!


Giuseppa from stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2016


Perfect stay near Inverness

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location near Inverness, close to Nairn, Aviemore, etc. Hostess is extremely friendly and helpful. We were a family of six (four adults, two children) and there is enough space for everybody, also equipment for the children (high-chair, etc.). Very clean place! Thank you for a perfect vacation!

Guest from Ingelheim Am Rhein stayed at Barn for 14 nights in July 2016


Great Location and great place!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barbara was awesome (and her folks!). Great location and centrally located! We walked to the Ozzy Inn for the first nights dinner after arriving late... decent food and good wine and beers.


Pat from Logan stayed at Barn for 4 nights in May 2016


Great short break

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. Cottage was as described and the real feature of the property was the log fire.

The cottage isn't right in the center of Inverness but is in easy reach with just a 10 minute drive.

Only point of criticism is the duvet covers were maybe a little thick for the time of year.

Would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends.


Ashley from stayed at Barn for 3 nights in April 2016


Weekend away at Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that I stayed in the Barn at Balblair Cottages. Everything had been thought of and the property was in excellent condition. It is is ideally situated less than 5 mins drive from the A96 and a short drive from the airport. Barabara was on hand if there were any problems and she made us feel very welcome. Great welcome pack! I would highly reccommend this.

Robert from Inverness stayed at Barn for 3 nights in April 2016


very pleasent cozy cottage...

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was fantastic, we really enjoyed our stay. The only negative thing I found about this cottage is the pressure of the ground floor bathroom shower which was very bad..

Rohith from Reading stayed at Barn for 3 nights in March 2016


Barbara replied more than 1 year ago
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your short break in the Barn cottage. Thank you for bringing the shower pressure to our attention. We have now replaced the shower to resolve the problem. We hope to welcome you back to Balblair Cottages in the future, hopefully for longer next time, so that you can enjoy all the local attractions. Best wishes, Barbara & family.

The Barn Croy The Highlands . A outstanding place to stay to tour the Highlands and Speyside, Great

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to the Barn for a weeks holiday and it was excellent, It was spotless , cosy and had everything in it . It's a great base for touring the Highlands and Speyside and we the kids loved the log burning stove that made the Barn very cosy at night, Will definitely recommend it to anybody


Peter from Falkirk stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2015


First time family visit

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Balblair and we were not disappointed. Excellent friendly welcome and support from Barbara. We'll be back next year which says it all.

Jennifer from Middlesburgh stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2015


A beautiful cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a disastrous holiday weather-wise in August 2014, due to the remnants of Hurricane Bertha in the USA, we returned to The Barn at Balblair for another try. It was everything a holiday should be: beautiful accommodation (6 persons) in a stunning location (view of the Moray Firth front the upstairs bedroom), fabulous weather pretty much all week and lots to see and do in the area both for adults and children.
Add to all of this the very friendly and helpful hosts and it's the perfect holiday. If you are a large group, there is also The Bothy (2 persons) and The Byre (4 persons) adjoined and yet private. And all are tremendous value for money.
If you are a 'townie', Inverness is a lovely place for shopping and eating out but conversely, if you prefer the quiet of the countryside and coast, there are many places to visit and eat along the north coast.
As the Visitors Book will testify, there are many families returning year after year, and from overseas, which absolutely speaks for itself.


Pam from Sutton In Ashfield stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2015


Simply Superb

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at many houses in this area and this one is superb amongst a very good crop. Highest quality and comfort, very spacious, wonderfully equipped. Hosts and location (chickens, cows) make it the very best place to stay. We will be back.

Martyn from Preston stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2015