FB Twitter

Barn

Barn

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The Barn is the third cottage in the u-shaped steading conversion. On ground level there is an open plan kitchen, living room and dining area, a downstairs twin (zips together to make a super king) and a shower room. Upstairs there is a large bedroom with king size bed, twin bedroom and bathroom. It's ideal for groups or families. Wood burning stove with logs. Small south facing enclosed patio.

everything you need plus new bathrooms

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barbara is a very friendly and caring host. The location is quiet yet close to the main road. The Barn at Balblair is a perfect home base if you want to explore the region. Thank you for your hospitality, Barbara :-)

Johann from Leopoldsdorf stayed at Barn for 7 nights in May 2018


A week at Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very comfortable week in The Barn at Balblair Cottages and couldn't fault anything. It is perfectly situated halfway between Nairn and Inverness and provides an excellent base for exploring the area. The cottage itself is very homely and maintained to a high standard with lovely surroundings. It was a wrench to leave after the week was over. Hopefully we'll make It back soon.

Douglas from Renfrew stayed at Barn for 7 nights in April 2018


Return Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second break at the barn and we loved every minute of it . The cottage is ideal for touring the Highlands and Speyside and for Shopping in Inverness. It’s very cosy with the log burning stove and is very well equipped with everything you need . We will return

Peter from Falkirk stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2017


Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is well-appointed, everything we needed was there. This is our second visit. As before, the property was very clean and comfortable.

Guest from Peterborough stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2017


Very comfortable accommodation in a lovely and historic part of Scotland.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received such a warm welcome from Barbara. She spent some time talking to us and gave us inside information about the lovely places we could visit in the region.
The house was immaculately clean and very well appointed. We felt totally relaxed there.
We would highly recommend Balblair cottages.


Raymond G from Manchester stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2017


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in a beautiful place. Clean, comfortable with everything you needed. Had a lovely week.

Garry from Scalloway stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2017


Fantastic holiday home

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great holiday in the Barn. The accommodation is equipped to a high standad and very spacious. Barbara was a very welcoming host. The location was great for all the sightseeing we had planned. Loved evening meals at the Cawdor Tavern.

Stephen from Glasgow stayed at Barn for 7 nights in July 2017


Just Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely time at the Barn, it was welcoming, warm(Scottish June weather). The welcome pack was appreciated. Loved the ponies outside the door. Spotlessly clean with everything you would need for your stay.

Stephen from Aberystwyth stayed at Barn for 7 nights in June 2017


Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Why go anywhere else when Balblair has everything. Barbara's standards are high. The place is spotless, comfortable,quiet. She will always go the extra mile for you.
I strongly recommend the cottages.


Marie from France stayed at Barn for 7 nights in June 2017


The Barn at Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is such a lovely cottage that we didn't want to leave. It's very clean and comfortable and extremely well-equipped. The welcome package of jam, marmalade, oatcakes and shortbread was a particularly nice touch, and not something you always get in self-catering cottages. I also liked the fact that there was a plentiful supply of household essentials. The wi-fi worked fine. There's also a selection of games and books for the days/evenings spent at home. The gardens are very pretty with roses clambering up the walls. The weather (end of May) even allowed us to sit in the patio garden and watch the swallows swooping about.

Balblair is very well-situated for Inverness airport and trips out to places like Fort George, Culloden Battlefield, Cawdor and Brodie Castles, the Black Isle and Loch Ness and Castle Urquhart. Logie Steading which has beautiful gardens, craft shops and a good restaurant is also worth a visit. Barbara has provided a huge information pack full of places to visit for those not well-acquainted with the area.

As it's part of a complex of three cottages, it's also good for family groups, which is what I shall be telling all the cousins who'll want to come up now. Many thanks to the Strachan family for making our stay such an enjoyable one.





Katharine from Chester stayed at Barn for 7 nights in May 2017


Tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 ⭐️. I am fortunate to travel to various luxury destinations for work purposes, though none affordable to me. SO to find this amazing cottage with all the comforts and cleaned to a very high standard its BLISS. To wake to the view over the Moray firth, no traffic or city nosies. WHY would anyone not want to be 10-15mins from the city. Where the prices are out rating themselves.
DO book a week or two and you will be glad you did.
A home from home, with everything you need and more and beauty on your doorstep. Within easy reach of all the local attractions.
I have already booked my return So book today or you will be disappointed


Marie from France stayed at Barn for 7 nights in April 2017


Review

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Probably the nicest holiday cottage we have stayed in. Great location, clean cosy , comfortable with a lovely enclosed patio and great views from bedrooms.

Helen from Blairgowrie stayed at Barn for 7 nights in April 2017


Great accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well furnished/presented. Efficient service and friendly hosts. Location is excellent and very authentic.

Colin from Inverness stayed at Barn for 3 nights in March 2017


Our Wonderful Stay At Balblair

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mine and my wife's stay at Balblair, with my daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren, was a wonderful time. Barbara welcomed us when we arrived and was very friendly, just like her mother used to be when she ran the cottages. She welcomed us with a gift of a basket of goodies. The Barn was spotless, had everything needed for our stay and with it's heating and fire proved to be a warm and cosy place to stay for a week in December that had the usual weather, from our arrival in snow, to a walk on the beach in Nairn in brilliant sunshine. Full marks for both Barbara and her lovely cottages.

John from Milton Keynes stayed at Barn for 7 nights in December 2016


Lovely cottage and a very warm welcome

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a great and very pleasant time at The Barn, a lovely cottage with everything we needed. We especially enjoyed the wood burning stove and would like to thank Barbara for a very warm and kind welcome!

Britta from Duesseldorf stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2016


fantastic self catering accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was our second stay in the barn, and it was as good as the first time. the owner is a really lovely young woman, her communication by e-mail is fantastic, and after we arrived she came round to ask if we had everything we needed, and if there was anything we wanted to know about the cottage, or local area. the cottage has everything you need, having stayed in many self catering accommodations, this is one of the best, if not the best equipped. the owner leaves a little basket of Scottish produced goodies, oatcakes and jar of jam and the best shortbread biscuits ever. the beds are really comfortable, and the cottage is spotlessly clean and very well maintained. there is a little courtyard area with seats, and a buddleia which attracts beautiful butterflies. the location is very good, 15 to 20 minutes to Inverness, and 45 minutes to Loch Ness and the Moray Firth beaches, and the Black Isle where dolphins can often be seen quite close to land. I would 100% recommend this property.

Janet from Sheffield stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2016


We love to stay at the Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love to come to Balblair Cottages. It is located in an perfect area to explore the surroundings. The Cottage itself is running by a very lovely and kind family. When we come to one of the Cottages it feels like coming home. A warm welcome with fresh flowers, a selfbaked ginger cake (thank you so much, Agnes, it was really delicious!) and small gift basket filled with oat cakes and a jam makes you feel as you were staying with good friends. The houses itself are very cozy and you can find in it everything you will need for a comfort stay. Although we are back in Germany since 2 weeks we already miss the Highlands, their people and "our cottage".
Can't wait to come back again soon!
Thanky you for everything!


Giuseppa from stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2016


Perfect stay near Inverness

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location near Inverness, close to Nairn, Aviemore, etc. Hostess is extremely friendly and helpful. We were a family of six (four adults, two children) and there is enough space for everybody, also equipment for the children (high-chair, etc.). Very clean place! Thank you for a perfect vacation!

Guest from Ingelheim Am Rhein stayed at Barn for 14 nights in July 2016


Great Location and great place!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barbara was awesome (and her folks!). Great location and centrally located! We walked to the Ozzy Inn for the first nights dinner after arriving late... decent food and good wine and beers.


Pat from Logan stayed at Barn for 4 nights in May 2016


Great short break

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. Cottage was as described and the real feature of the property was the log fire.

The cottage isn't right in the center of Inverness but is in easy reach with just a 10 minute drive.

Only point of criticism is the duvet covers were maybe a little thick for the time of year.

Would definitely stay again and would recommend to friends.


Ashley from stayed at Barn for 3 nights in April 2016


Weekend away at Balblair Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that I stayed in the Barn at Balblair Cottages. Everything had been thought of and the property was in excellent condition. It is is ideally situated less than 5 mins drive from the A96 and a short drive from the airport. Barabara was on hand if there were any problems and she made us feel very welcome. Great welcome pack! I would highly reccommend this.

Robert from Inverness stayed at Barn for 3 nights in April 2016


very pleasent cozy cottage...

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was fantastic, we really enjoyed our stay. The only negative thing I found about this cottage is the pressure of the ground floor bathroom shower which was very bad..

Rohith from Reading stayed at Barn for 3 nights in March 2016


Barbara replied more than 1 year ago
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your short break in the Barn cottage. Thank you for bringing the shower pressure to our attention. We have now replaced the shower to resolve the problem. We hope to welcome you back to Balblair Cottages in the future, hopefully for longer next time, so that you can enjoy all the local attractions. Best wishes, Barbara & family.

The Barn Croy The Highlands . A outstanding place to stay to tour the Highlands and Speyside, Great

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went to the Barn for a weeks holiday and it was excellent, It was spotless , cosy and had everything in it . It's a great base for touring the Highlands and Speyside and we the kids loved the log burning stove that made the Barn very cosy at night, Will definitely recommend it to anybody


Peter from Falkirk stayed at Barn for 7 nights in October 2015


First time family visit

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Balblair and we were not disappointed. Excellent friendly welcome and support from Barbara. We'll be back next year which says it all.

Jennifer from Middlesburgh stayed at Barn for 7 nights in September 2015


A beautiful cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a disastrous holiday weather-wise in August 2014, due to the remnants of Hurricane Bertha in the USA, we returned to The Barn at Balblair for another try. It was everything a holiday should be: beautiful accommodation (6 persons) in a stunning location (view of the Moray Firth front the upstairs bedroom), fabulous weather pretty much all week and lots to see and do in the area both for adults and children.
Add to all of this the very friendly and helpful hosts and it's the perfect holiday. If you are a large group, there is also The Bothy (2 persons) and The Byre (4 persons) adjoined and yet private. And all are tremendous value for money.
If you are a 'townie', Inverness is a lovely place for shopping and eating out but conversely, if you prefer the quiet of the countryside and coast, there are many places to visit and eat along the north coast.
As the Visitors Book will testify, there are many families returning year after year, and from overseas, which absolutely speaks for itself.


Pam from Sutton In Ashfield stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2015


Simply Superb

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at many houses in this area and this one is superb amongst a very good crop. Highest quality and comfort, very spacious, wonderfully equipped. Hosts and location (chickens, cows) make it the very best place to stay. We will be back.

Martyn from Preston stayed at Barn for 7 nights in August 2015