FB Twitter

The Shippen at Fowey

The Shippen at Fowey

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The pretty two bedroom Shippen in Fowey, Cornwall accommodates up to four, and is the perfect couple or family retreat. The dog friendly cottage is within easy reach of the beach and has been tastefully decorated throughout.

Home from Home- Warm and Welcoming in an ideal location for the Beach , Walks and Town

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Lawhyre Cottages over the last 20 years- the Cottages are comfortable and warm and we enjoy our walks through the woods or fields to the Cove and Beach and then our stroll into the Town. The Shippen was very clean, lovely condition and super setting/ we will be back.

Chris from Stafford stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in November 2021


Fantastic cottage to enjoy ones holiday in Cornwall

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay. Lovely outside area to enjoy eating outside. Enclosed so safe for kids and dogs. Also handy to watch your children in the play area. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and comfortable. Equipped with all you need.
We did have an issue with the television, but we were not on holiday to watch tellie. Walked to Fowey, and only 15 minutes away. So in a great location. Fowey is a lovely town with great scenery, restaurants and things to do. Don't miss out on a ice cream at the Game of Cones! Great beaches around the area, especially for dogs 5 min away. We had a lovely holiday. Thank you.


Jacqueline from Ash stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in May 2021


Our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
When we walked in it was very inviting we were so pleased it felt so homely . It was very comfortable in the lounge and also the bed was very comfortable . Good location and very quiet . Would definitely go back . Only one little criticism found the back step a little bit awkward needs a step put there but other than that would highly recommend it .

Philip from Bognor Regis stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in October 2021


FANTASTIC COTTAGE STAY HERE EVERY YEAR

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
GREAT STAY WOULD STAY AGAIN EVERY TIME
VERY CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE AND IN A NICE POSITION


Andrew from Brierley Hill stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in September 2021


All good, would stay again

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Who knew ‘shippen’ means cattle shed?! It was a lovely place to stay, just away enough from from the bustle of town . Easy stroll to readymoney beach and onto the coastal path, Fowey busy but great.

Lisa from Hove stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in August 2021


very good

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very quiet location, short walk into town and very comfortable and well equipped, would definitely stay here again.

Shaun from Swindon stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in August 2021


A very comfortable well located cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shippen was perfect for us. Well located with a path down to Readymoney Cove. Downhill to town and the Town Bus pulled in by the gate to bring us back. Lovely table outside for meals. Close to the playground for the children. Well equipped inside, including dishwasher. We would love to go back.

Ann from Matlock stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in July 2021


Cosy and attractive comfort in the heart of Cornwall, only a short taxi or bus ride from Par station

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shippen is like a home from home, only better, as its only a short walk to the centre of Fowey and also, to Readymoney Cove and onwards on the wonderful coast path. The situation is private and peaceful, set back from the Pontevillion Road.

Julie from Hertford, stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in July 2021


Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was just perfect for our holiday, it was well equipped and had everything we needed. It was very cosy and we felt at home straight away. Good outdoor space overlooking the fields, perfect for a morning coffee and an evening glass of wine. Also good enclosed space for the dogs

Jenny from Lincoln stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in July 2021


Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in beautiful location
Have booked it again very comfortable
and clean and detached ..


Andrew from Brierley Hill stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in June 2021


Discovery of Cornwall

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week at the Shippen. The cottage is beautiful,comfortable and sparkling clean. I was perfect for a week with my two children and our dog!
It is well located and part of a lovely estate.
We were welcome even under COVID restrictions.
The Shippen is a little gem!


Catherine from London stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 5 nights in April 2021


Christmas at the Shippen

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish , we had great customer support with our booking to stay at the Shippen for Christmas , from Christmas trees to the cottage being absolutely immaculate . Nothing was too much trouble , the location was great and perfect for dog walking down to the cove through the woods . The cottage was well equipped and the only suggestion we have is perhaps a new cutlery set , a very minor thought .

Fiona from Buerton stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 5 nights in December 2020


The Shippen

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in great location, very spacious With all facilities available. Also takes dogs too. We enjoyed it

Sharon from Wolverhampton stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in July 2020


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at The Shippen. The cottage is cosy, well maintained and well equipped. The walk through the woods down to the beach was gorgeous and Fowey itself is everything you would expect from a Cornish seaside town - culture, local shops, great places to eat.

Natalie from Colchester stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in October 2019


Great place

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second year here and we both plus our Labrador, Pippa love this place. The weather this year was not so great and the cottage is well equipped with tv and DVD player and the lovely big sofa is very comfortable to curl up on to watch a film. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. Sue, Kenny and Pippa

Sue from Bedford stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in September 2019


Wonderful Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed for a week with our dog. The cottage is all on one level and have a secure garden so we didn't have to worry about the dog getting out. Its positioned overlooking a small field and is lovely and quiet as no one passes by. Its about a 15 minute walk to the center of Fowey, you have a choice via the road or via St Catherine parade which is a beautiful walk.
The cottage was clean and had lots of extra bits and bobs to make your stay comfortable, we particularly liked the Alexa. We would suggest you bring a tin opener as we were missing one and our mushy peas didn't have a ring pull, but this was the only negative we could find.
Fowey has lots of lovely walks from your door step, ferry rides, restaurants, cafe's and pubs. We found everyone very friendly and would recommend the cottage and location.


John from Hinckley stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in September 2019


Great Place To Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to “The Shippen “ and we love the beautiful little gem tucked away, it’s got everything you need for a relaxing holiday including a very handy Alexa added since our last stay, we’ve been staying in Fowey for many years and you won’t find better!! Just my opinion of course!

Steve from Cheddleton stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in June 2019


A nice well placed cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Apr 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Small but cosy cottage well placed for Fowey via a pleasant woodland walk. Well equipped. Second bedroom is accessed via first bedroom but has lots of character. Ideal for families.

Andrew from Taunton stayed at The Shippen at Fowey for 7 nights in April 2019


Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Andy, thanks for leaving a review about The Shippen and glad you enjoyed your stay. Pleases remember to look at www.theshippenfowey.co.uk next time your look to holiday in Cornwall. Cheers Harry