FB Twitter

Sunnycliffe House

Sunnycliffe House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Sunnycliffe is a stunning three bedroom holiday home in Woolacombe. Sleeping up to six, this modern cottage is within walking distance of the beach and has some of the best views of the award-winning beach.

Short distance to a fabulous local beach. Views are excellent.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2024
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sunnycliffe has fabulous views and it is in a great location.
Money spent on the property could bring it up to a very good standard. Unfortunately there were a few things that caused unnecessary issues.




My Favourite Cottages replied 56 days ago
We are sorry the guests encountered some issues whilst at the cottage. We understand mid-way through their stay there was an issue with the heating and hot water but an engineer was there within a few hours to rectify the problem (a fuse had blown). Hopefully, we can welcome them back in the future.

Superb Position

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2024
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really glad we booked Sunnycliffe House. The position above the Watersmeet Hotel is superb, in a quiet location even in the high season, but only a 10 minute walk into Woolacombe. There is a bus stop at the bottom of the road with reasonably regular services into Braunton, Ilfracome and Barnstaple.

Very nicely appointed, clean and pretty spacious, although the third twin bedroom is a bit tight on space but adequate.

There is a very nice patio area out front with the views when the weather is ok.

If we had any gripe, it would be the wi-fi. Speed etc., is very slow and we ended up mainly using our mobile data instead. But given where you are and the fact you're there to explore and be out n about it wasn't too much of a problem,

We had a very relaxing holiday here, would happily return and would highly recommend.





Great location and kitchen, could maybe be more homely!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed twice and would again. Really well equipped kitchen, good accommodation including downstairs loo and a truly brilliant view. Could be more comfortable with fewer hard surfaces and furnishings, and some softer lighting options. Garage really useful for bikes, surfboards etc.



Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time walking the coast from this beautiful property, and to see and hear the sea constantly from our home for the week was a dream.



Lovely house

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house with beautiful views of the beaches.

Would be helpful if info supplied on nearby doctors, hospital etc. Also places of attraction as well as recommended eating houses as not all visitors are surfers




Sun at Sunnycliffe!!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a great week, the views are truly stunning and plenty of outdoor areas for us all to enjoy!
The weather helped...sun all week!
Sunnycliffe was a perfect property for the 5 of us to enjoy, good kitchen with all you need for cooking.
Overall a lovely stay in a great property with the perfect location.




Fantastic views

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location between Woolacombe and Mortehoe so we did lots of walking. Fantastic views in all directions with lots of outside space to sit and appreciate them.
The kitchen is well-equipped and the beds are comfy. If I were being picky, the sofas and pillows could be more comfortable and the table needs a tablecloth but otherwise perfect holiday despite the weather.




A few minor improvements and it would be excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice property in a fabulous position, however, there are a few things which let it down, the main thing being the sofas which are hard and uncomfortable. Fortunately during our stay the weather was really good so we didn't have to spend much time inside.




Location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived first impression was very clean & comfortable
Everything about the booking was really good
The location was situated between Woolacombe & Mortehoe which was really good for us
All in All we were very pleased




Lovely house with amazing views!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay. You could spend all day just taking in the amazing views. The sunsets can be beautiful too.The side balcony is my favourite place to sit!
The house itself is well equipped and very comfortable including the beds.
You have to mention the fact that to get the views, you have to go up, and the drive and slope to the steps could be hard work. We are not the fittest but we manage okay with a few puffs!! We always use the garage which is ok for a small, narrower car but there's room for you and the neighbours on the drive with a bit of manoeuvring. But believe me it's worth it for the views alone.
Highly recommended .




Wonderful stay at Sunnycliffe

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from fantastically unprecedented weather in Woolacombe. Sunnycliffe is a wonderful house, perfect location with sea views, easy walking into Woolacombe, Mortehoe and the beach, there are two lovely outside spaces to take sit and relax on. All 3 bedrooms are very comfortable. The sofa wasn’t 100% comfy but that really is the only niggle we had. We would have no hesitation in returning but the price has gone up a lot for next year, shame.



Needs a little more comfort.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sunnycliffe is almost the perfect place to stay for beautiful views and location but needs a little more help to make it comfortable. The sofa’s in the lounge need cushions.
There needs to be a table cloth.
The parking arrangements need to be clearer before booking as nightmare to manoeuvre.




Amazing view

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great stay at Sunnycliffe house. The view was amazing and it was so relaxing to be able to sit outside and hear the sound of the waves.
The driveway and steps up to the property were steep but you would expect this with the location of the property.
The house had everything we needed, though some operating instructions for the oven and hob wouldn’t go amiss!
It was about a 10 minute walk in to town. Lovely and peaceful, we didn’t want to leave and would definitely recommend this property to our family and friends.




Amazing views and great location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a fantastic location and has the most amazing views, Having a side balcony and a front garden ensures when the sun shines you can get it all day! As for the cottage itself, it is well equipped and was exceptionally clean. Leather sofas not the comfiest for relaxing on an evening in our opinion but wouldn’t stop us re booking.



A lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second holiday here,wonderfull views over woolacombe bay,glorious sunsets over Lundy island ,house was very clean with all facilities .hope to holiday here again



Great Views

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at many properties over the years but this property had the best views we have ever had, absolutely stunning ! The property itself was clean, functional and comfortable and situated perfectly to explore the surrounding areas. We had a fantastic stay.



A dream holiday location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning views from the property which has good quality furnishings. Exceeded expectations and we are already planning to return next year.



Lovely property, brilliant location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is in an excellent location on the border of Mortehoe and Woolacombe, 15mins easy walk into Woolacombe and a 15mins uphill walk to Mortehoe, a short walk to the coast path. To get to the property you need to walk up 26 steps which is a bit hard going when you are carrying luggage, shopping etc, but worth it for the beautiful views.

My only disappointment was didn't find the settee very comfortable, after a long day walking would have been nice to have had a more relaxing settee to sink into!!!




Family break

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation located close to the beach. Quite a steep incline to get from the car park to the front door of the property but lovely views over the bay once you arrive so worth the effort. Lovely outdoor seating area to the side of the property that is a real sun trap. Good size rooms that were very clean. My only criticism
is there were no lamps in the living room so lighting was a bit harsh for my personal taste.




Stunning location, comfortable property

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay...just one or two details- a dryer would be a bonus as would some plastic plates and tumblers for children to use. The towel rail in the main bathroom wasn’t working(we had to use the other one to air some washing as we couldn’t get radiators to work either). Excellent to have downstairs toilet and separate utility room. Comfortable furniture and beds.



Fantastic stay in a lovely sea view cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing house with spectacular sea views . Very comfortable, clean & well equipped. Thanks for a great stay!



Fantastic views

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have had a fantastic weeks holiday in this lovely house.the weather was fantastic so we could walk to the lovely beaches overlooked by sunnicliffe house.we walked around headland as far as lighthouse straight from house ,also can walk to pubs and restaurants within 15 minutes walk.the house has glorious views over woolacombe bay ,as far as hartland point and Lundy island.treated to glorious sunsets every evening.



A relaxing November stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in a great location. Excellent walks from the door.
The views from the property are stunning!




Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A haven in a wonderful location. The sea sounds, the views, the location for walks. Would definitely return without hesitation.



Warm, comfy accommodation with a view to die for!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Sunnycliffe and it is a little gem with stunning views 24/7. It was spotlessly clean when we arrived and very comfortable with a lovely large bed where you go to sleep and wake up looking and listening to the sea. The only small negative is the leather sofas were a little uncomfortable to relax on - but to be fair who wants to sit on them when you have all that walking, scenery and fresh air to take in! We have booked for 2021 and can't wait!



Great house

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely clean house in the perfect location. The weather wasn’t great but couldn’t stop looking at that view. Have booked for next year.



Great holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a fantastic week at Sunnycliffe. The cottage is in a perfect location, close to a range of different beaches and only a 10 to 15 min walk from the centre of Woolacombe.

The cottage is comfortable and has everything you need. The view from the balconies is amazing. Loved sitting their with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine!




Great position could be cosier

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely stay at Sunnycliffe, the position and view could not be beaten. The house was very clean except for the towel rails in both bathrooms which needed some serious cleaning, but the housekeeper came straight over to do them when I mentioned it to her.

It is a very well equipped house with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen.
The beds were ok and comfy, mattresses were rather soft but that is a personal preference.

We had an unfortunate run in with the neighbour who was extremely aggressive, I hope never to see him again. You would have thought that he was the owner but I don't think he was??

The house is mainly laid to laminate which means that it is spotlessly clean but maybe a little clinical with the leather sofas as well, it would benefit from maybe a rug and more cushions to soften it up and maybe some standards lamps so that the lighting can be softened in the evenings.
I'm not a big fan of leather sofas but again personal preference, I think that there are very cold but I am sure make a practical choice for rentals.

Fantastic views from both balcony's and lots of coast walking right from the door.

My only other criticism is the choice of carpet for the entrance hall? Not very practical, surely this should also have had laminate.
It really smelt in the entrance, and again the housekeeper was very quick to come and clean the carpet but the smell remained and I had to wash all the coats that we took when we returned home as they had absorbed the sickly smell while hung up out there.

Apart from this had a great week staying at Sunnycliffe and a fantastic New Years Eve at the Watersmeet hotel dinner and party.







Harry Roberts - MY FAVOURITE COTTAGES replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sarah, thanks for your review and glad to hear you had a good stay at Sunnycliffe. Obviously everyone has their own preferences about interior design and I know the owners take a great deal of time and effort to try and get things right for their guests but it is a holiday let by the sea so they also have to be practical. The carpet you refer to in the hall way is in fact a fitted door matt and we have never had any complaints about the smell before so perhaps it was coming from something else. The towel rails probably do need replacing as what you refer to as dirt is actually flecks of rust. As for the angry neighbour, it must have been a guest staying in the house as the owner is a lovely man and incredibly polite and mild-mannered so I can't believe it was him. Anyway, I passed your comments onto the owner and they will look at the issues you have raised. Thanks again Harry

Views to die for.......

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location, Location........Wonderful views from virtually every window, deck and balcony. More steps than expected, and a steep slope, but if you are fit and healthy that should be no problem, and obviously necessary to get such fabulous views! The cottage has most things you could need whilst on holiday, though it could benefit from a tumble dryer, as it was extremely windy (and rather wet) for most of our stay, so we could not put the clotheshorse outside at all and it was not great having wet washing hanging about indoors. As it was so windy whilst we were there, it also made us aware that some of the double glazing could do with replacing (draughty and noisy), but all in all, we had a great stay in a lovely cottage in such a terrific location - great beaches, nice walks, etc.



Stunning location, beautiful views.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful holiday at Sunnycliffe with everything you need to make it a perfect break away.
The views are amazing and waking up every morning to the stunning setting was so lovely.
The property is comfortable and airy with great balconies to enjoy the sun and that glass of wine!




Family holiday for 6

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Sunnycliffe has a brilliant location over the road from Combesgate Beach and with fantastic views over the beach and towards Woolacombe. Combesgate Beach is excellent for swimming and surfing with golden sands although it can only be used three hours each side of low tide.

Sunnycliffe has a great balcony which is a sun trap with great views, At the front is some further outside space which can be used for dining and again providing great views. Sun sets are especially good from the property

The property offers three good sized bedrooms and the living space is enough for 6 people. Overall the property and crockery etc are in some instances a little tired but no real issues. We were 6 adults so the third bedroom with twin beds was a little compromise, which we did know when booking, although the bedding choice in the twin room of "love bugs" was perhaps a little odd and might benefit from reflecting a beach location theme instead.

Our real grumble was the lack of recommendations about local amenities and information about recycling at the property which we found surprising in these environmentally awareness times. There was a recycling box but no mention of what can be recycled which was all too evident when opening the communal landfill bin where there was every sort of waste including bottles, cans and plastic.

Overall a very good holiday base/cottage and unbeatable location




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Vicki, thanks for taking the time to leave what was overall a good review. The owners asked me to respond to your comments; We made the decision to stop giving local recommendations about amenities as Google (et-al) are far more up-to-date, plus they give reviews making them less subjective. Recycling - there should be a sheet on this very subject in the information pack, I'll have to check if it's gone missing. Communal Bin - as this is shared with other cottages (not of our ownership), and other guests, in practice it is impossible to advise or police what is put into it. To make matters worse, we have been plagued by ad-hoc "fly-tipping" and passers by depositing their rubbish in the bin, which only exacerbates matters. We are in discussion with the other owners to see if some kind of lock can be fitted that is both practical for holiday makers and amenable to the council for refuse collection. Thanks again for your comments they are taken seriously. Regards Harry

Fantastic house in a much loved, stunning place

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Sunnycliffe House. Spotless, comfortable and homely. And beautiful views! Thank you!



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Laura, thank you for leaving a good review and happy you had a great time. Regards Harry

Sunnycliffe House

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 generation holiday in Sunnycliffe House and we’ll book again for next year. Lovely to have a welcome pack. Could be improved by having a stair gate and a tumble dryer for inclement weather since one bedroom is obviously furnished for children and a good travel cot is available(our party included a baby and a toddler). Also no hairdryer provided. Toilets slow to refill and therefore flush. Lovely to have different sitting out areas, fantastic panoramic views and parking for two cars.



Fantastic relaxing and comfortable break!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous location with stunning views of Mortehoe and Woolacombe beaches. Very comfortable and clean accommodation. We had a very relaxing break and was the perfect place to unwind and watch the waves roll in and out!



Fantastic Location!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house in a stunning location! Excellent standard of accommodation. The only draw back is the limited and tight parking.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Stewart, glad you enjoyed your stay at Sunnycliffe, the location is pretty amazing isn't. Look forward to seeing ou again soon. Remember to look at www.sunnycliffe.co.uk. Cheers Harry