FB Twitter

Sunnycliffe House

Sunnycliffe House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Sunnycliffe is a stunning three bedroom holiday home in Woolacombe. Sleeping up to six, this modern cottage is within walking distance of the beach and has some of the best views of the award-winning beach.

Great position could be cosier

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely stay at Sunnycliffe, the position and view could not be beaten. The house was very clean except for the towel rails in both bathrooms which needed some serious cleaning, but the housekeeper came straight over to do them when I mentioned it to her.

It is a very well equipped house with everything you could possibly need in the kitchen.
The beds were ok and comfy, mattresses were rather soft but that is a personal preference.

We had an unfortunate run in with the neighbour who was extremely aggressive, I hope never to see him again. You would have thought that he was the owner but I don't think he was??

The house is mainly laid to laminate which means that it is spotlessly clean but maybe a little clinical with the leather sofas as well, it would benefit from maybe a rug and more cushions to soften it up and maybe some standards lamps so that the lighting can be softened in the evenings.
I'm not a big fan of leather sofas but again personal preference, I think that there are very cold but I am sure make a practical choice for rentals.

Fantastic views from both balcony's and lots of coast walking right from the door.

My only other criticism is the choice of carpet for the entrance hall? Not very practical, surely this should also have had laminate.
It really smelt in the entrance, and again the housekeeper was very quick to come and clean the carpet but the smell remained and I had to wash all the coats that we took when we returned home as they had absorbed the sickly smell while hung up out there.

Apart from this had a great week staying at Sunnycliffe and a fantastic New Years Eve at the Watersmeet hotel dinner and party.







Harry Roberts - MY FAVOURITE COTTAGES replied 47 days ago
Hi Sarah, thanks for your review and glad to hear you had a good stay at Sunnycliffe. Obviously everyone has their own preferences about interior design and I know the owners take a great deal of time and effort to try and get things right for their guests but it is a holiday let by the sea so they also have to be practical. The carpet you refer to in the hall way is in fact a fitted door matt and we have never had any complaints about the smell before so perhaps it was coming from something else. The towel rails probably do need replacing as what you refer to as dirt is actually flecks of rust. As for the angry neighbour, it must have been a guest staying in the house as the owner is a lovely man and incredibly polite and mild-mannered so I can't believe it was him. Anyway, I passed your comments onto the owner and they will look at the issues you have raised. Thanks again Harry

Views to die for.......

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location, Location........Wonderful views from virtually every window, deck and balcony. More steps than expected, and a steep slope, but if you are fit and healthy that should be no problem, and obviously necessary to get such fabulous views! The cottage has most things you could need whilst on holiday, though it could benefit from a tumble dryer, as it was extremely windy (and rather wet) for most of our stay, so we could not put the clotheshorse outside at all and it was not great having wet washing hanging about indoors. As it was so windy whilst we were there, it also made us aware that some of the double glazing could do with replacing (draughty and noisy), but all in all, we had a great stay in a lovely cottage in such a terrific location - great beaches, nice walks, etc.



Stunning location, beautiful views.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful holiday at Sunnycliffe with everything you need to make it a perfect break away.
The views are amazing and waking up every morning to the stunning setting was so lovely.
The property is comfortable and airy with great balconies to enjoy the sun and that glass of wine!




Family holiday for 6

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Sunnycliffe has a brilliant location over the road from Combesgate Beach and with fantastic views over the beach and towards Woolacombe. Combesgate Beach is excellent for swimming and surfing with golden sands although it can only be used three hours each side of low tide.

Sunnycliffe has a great balcony which is a sun trap with great views, At the front is some further outside space which can be used for dining and again providing great views. Sun sets are especially good from the property

The property offers three good sized bedrooms and the living space is enough for 6 people. Overall the property and crockery etc are in some instances a little tired but no real issues. We were 6 adults so the third bedroom with twin beds was a little compromise, which we did know when booking, although the bedding choice in the twin room of "love bugs" was perhaps a little odd and might benefit from reflecting a beach location theme instead.

Our real grumble was the lack of recommendations about local amenities and information about recycling at the property which we found surprising in these environmentally awareness times. There was a recycling box but no mention of what can be recycled which was all too evident when opening the communal landfill bin where there was every sort of waste including bottles, cans and plastic.

Overall a very good holiday base/cottage and unbeatable location




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied 203 days ago
Dear Vicki, thanks for taking the time to leave what was overall a good review. The owners asked me to respond to your comments; We made the decision to stop giving local recommendations about amenities as Google (et-al) are far more up-to-date, plus they give reviews making them less subjective. Recycling - there should be a sheet on this very subject in the information pack, I'll have to check if it's gone missing. Communal Bin - as this is shared with other cottages (not of our ownership), and other guests, in practice it is impossible to advise or police what is put into it. To make matters worse, we have been plagued by ad-hoc "fly-tipping" and passers by depositing their rubbish in the bin, which only exacerbates matters. We are in discussion with the other owners to see if some kind of lock can be fitted that is both practical for holiday makers and amenable to the council for refuse collection. Thanks again for your comments they are taken seriously. Regards Harry

Fantastic house in a much loved, stunning place

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Sunnycliffe House. Spotless, comfortable and homely. And beautiful views! Thank you!



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied 249 days ago
Hi Laura, thank you for leaving a good review and happy you had a great time. Regards Harry

Sunnycliffe House

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 3 generation holiday in Sunnycliffe House and we’ll book again for next year. Lovely to have a welcome pack. Could be improved by having a stair gate and a tumble dryer for inclement weather since one bedroom is obviously furnished for children and a good travel cot is available(our party included a baby and a toddler). Also no hairdryer provided. Toilets slow to refill and therefore flush. Lovely to have different sitting out areas, fantastic panoramic views and parking for two cars.



Fantastic relaxing and comfortable break!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous location with stunning views of Mortehoe and Woolacombe beaches. Very comfortable and clean accommodation. We had a very relaxing break and was the perfect place to unwind and watch the waves roll in and out!



Fantastic Location!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house in a stunning location! Excellent standard of accommodation. The only draw back is the limited and tight parking.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied 292 days ago
Hi Stewart, glad you enjoyed your stay at Sunnycliffe, the location is pretty amazing isn't. Look forward to seeing ou again soon. Remember to look at www.sunnycliffe.co.uk. Cheers Harry