FB Twitter

Springfield Linney

Springfield Linney

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Stylish two bedroom holiday home with its own hot tub and wonderful views over the hills towards the estuary and out to the sea beyond. Located just a few miles from Barnstaple in Devon, Springfield Linney is ideally located for relaxing break in a quiet tranquil location and is within easy reach of the surfing beaches at Saunton (only a 15 minute drive away), Croyde and Woolacombe.

Overall excellent.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is in very good condition, in a splendid location and the owners are welcoming and helpful.



Springfield Linney

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd time here and as before a lovely holiday had by all. Just love this place. especially the hot tub with those beautiful views.



Lovely house and location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property and location. Property is very high spec with great attention to detail. Richard the owner couldn’t have been more helpful. A lovely stay, thank you.



Lovely cottage in a rural location in Devon

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage provided us with a lovely stay for a week’s break. It is comfortable and well equipped. Comfy beds, lovely hot tub, fab walks in the area and a well equipped kitchen. Fantastic view from the hot tub, out over the estuary. A thoughtful selection of goodies were left by the owners which was a lovely touch.
A couple of minor niggles only: The curtains in the bedrooms did not block all the light, however this did not bother us in winter. Also one of the bedrooms has a moderately loud noise from a water tank and pump housed in the loft space adjacent to the room which is disturbing if someone else runs water or you leave the dishwasher on in the night. Had trouble getting in to the property as the lock seems to have an issue with it, but host was responsive to help us immediately.
All in all a great stay and would return.




Lovely cottage with superb views

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week’s stay at this lovely converted barn with superb views across to the sea. We stayed over the Christmas week and the weather was dreadful but the cottage was cosy and very comfortable. It doesn’t mention this in the details, but there is a cafetière and an air fryer. It would be more helpful if there were a few more clothes and trouser hangers in the bedrooms and a second tea towel. Also, some extra food waste bags as only one supplied. Apart from that, everything was great! Regarding the hot tub, the winds were so strong that the lid blew off a couple of times and we managed to secure it with a strap that we found in the garden. We did manage to use the hot tub on one day and it was a real treat.



The views!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Springfield Linney! Gorgeous views. Great location for visiting the local beaches. Quiet and relaxing.



Modern barn conversion with hot tub and breathtaking views

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Springfield Linney is a modern barn conversion on a hill above Barnstaple in beautiful Devon with the most wonderful views. The house has been built a few years ago and everything is in good condition and clean. The hot tub (jacuzzi) outside is a definite plus.

Two bedrooms with decent beds and room for some hangers, but not a lot of storage. One bathroom with bath, another with shower. good hot temperature and excellent water pressure.

Parking next to the entry of the house, with about 5 steps down.

Spingfiled Linney have decent privacy but there is another house adjacent to the holiday home on one side. The other side, with the hot tub and magnificent views, is completely private.

The kitchen has all the basic equipment, including a washing machine. We received a basket with cider and the best apple juice we ever tasted. However, a bit more pratical things such as a kitchen towel, sugar, spices and oil would have been appreciated.

Did we mention the spectacular views yet?




Great family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Spingfield Linney. Weather was mixed so we spent a few evenings at the house and the kids loved the hot tub. The views are incredible and so amazing to wake up to every morning.
Perfect size for the 4 of us and was a great location for Braunton and Saunton Sands.




Very relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful quiet spot and handy for the great beaches in the area. Lovely holiday home for four people. Great living space, well equipped kitchen and comfy beds.
Some internal and external steps so need to be able to negotiate these. Helpful hosts who did not intrude and large enclosed gardens and walks from the door if you are bringing a dog. Plenty of places to eat nearby and a large Tesco about four miles away.




Lovely property

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, close to Barnstaple but also rural. Easy access to the beaches. Amazing views. Well equipped. We stayed in March and our weather was pretty wet so couldn’t use the outside facilities which would be fabulous on a summer’s day.



Stunning Views!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a relaxing time at Springfield Linney. We loved the cottage. The main living area is open and spacious with stunning views and the garden is perfect for dogs. Highly recommended!



Great accommodation in stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Springfield Linney and we will be back. It’s a perfect location for exploring the local area, the facilities at the accommodation are well thought out, lovely decor and everything you need for a relaxing holiday.



Fantastic week at Springfield Linney

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect house for our half term break in Devon. The kids loved playing in the garden and visiting the horses and donkeys in the field next door. The views are spectacular and the hot tub is an added bonus! Great location close to Barnstaple and Braunton - we visited Saunton Sands, Croyde and Westward Ho! beaches while we were there, as well as a trip to Watermouth Castle which I would highly recommend for kids.



Beautiful views, very clean and tidy

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant stay :) weather was lovely, and the host was brilliant when we arrived very friendly and informative, he came and checked the hot tub halfway through our stay

As the house goes it’s lovely the bed was very comfortable and the whole place was very neat and clean upon arrival, water pressure was amazing

There is a house directly next to the the bungalow but you don’t even notice they are there the whole place is very private

Nothing negative to say just a few things that could make the stay even better

Curtains or blinds that you can close in the living room on the sliding doors would be great to create a cozy atmosphere in the living room And to block out sunlight if you wanted to watch any afternoon tv

There is a big fly problem there which is to be expected in the sun and with fields surrounding full of cows and sheep however we felt an electric fly catcher/zapper would be a great help there as we did go through three bottles of fly spray to make it manageable there

Overall we had a really nice stay and wouldn’t think twice about going again




100

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best place we have ever stayed. Simply stunning location and such a perfect little home - a real gem



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful peaceful location with spectacular views within easy reach of many beaches. The house was perfect and done up well.



Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place set in a lovely location, we will be back, what more can I say…………………….. ……..…..




Bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was what it said on the tin................ excellent!! The owners were very attentive and helpful.



Wonderful Winter Escape

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Springfield Linney is a beautiful place to stay, so beautiful this was our second time!
Quiet, peaceful and lovely views! Whilst the weather was windy and rainy it didn’t ruin the stay! Clean and tidy throughout!
Couldn’t ask for a better place to stay!




Lovely cottage with beautiful views

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is just the place for a relaxing peaceful family break can't fault it .just booked again for next year.



A relaxing week in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful and located in a stunning spot with amazing views from the garden and the hot tub.
The cottage was warm and had everything that is needed for the perfect self catering holiday.
The area is lovely with lots to do around Barnstable with Lynton , Lynmouth, Clovelly, Hartland Quay and Hartland Point also within easy travelling distance.
The owners met us on arrival and made us feel very welcome. We were especially delighted with the welcome pack.
There are just a few minor things that could be considered to make the cottage even better. The kitchen was very well equipped but there was no washing up liquid. The bathrooms had spray so they could be kept clean but no cleaning cloths.
The bi-folding doors in the living room could benefit from some curtains especially during the darker nights to make it more homely.
We also had a serious issue with very large spiders coming in on a daily basis which was a little off putting particularly if you’re not a fan.
All in all a lovely cottage that I would recommend.




Lovely property, fantastic views

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week at Springfield Linney, was met on arrival by Richard who was friendly and showed us around the prooerty, some nice scones, jam & cream were waiting for us in the fridge, along with Apple juice and Cider, a nice touch, accommodation has lovely views towards the estuary and the hot tub was a real treat, dog friendly secure garden, nice amount of logs were also supplied for the burner. Fine for us as we were only travelling as a couple with a dog, but only one bedroom has any hanging space, main bedroom with ensuite has only a few drawers, we used second bedroom as dressing room, could also do with a bath mat in ensuite shower as floor is very slippery, overall a lovely stay. Please be aware this property is located next to an adjacent property which is nothing to do with Springfield Linney and we found the occupants rather loud, with a foul mouthed child and a mother who likes to start her Diesel car up at 8.00am and leave it running right outside the bedroom window until 8.15am when the kids appear and she drives them to school, we mentioned this to Richard and he was going to have a word with them so hopefully future guests will not have the same issues we did.



Beautiful, well presented, comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Springfield Linney, the cottage and location are perfect! The only thing to add is to list fully on the description what is actually included at the cottage mostly smaller electrical items ie toaster, hairdryer, iron, not a criticism just to assist future holiday makers. Hopefully we will enjoy another stay in the future at Springfield Linney.



Stunning scenery.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning scenery, we enjoyed using the hot tub but it wasn’t our priority for choosing this property,
fantastic weather, what more can I say.




Very enjoyable stay in tranquil location with excellent views. My only suggestion would be additiona

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay in tranquil location with excellent views. My only suggestion would be additional pillows for the beds as one per person was not what we were use to and was slightly uncomfortable.



Lovely property in a brilliant location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful property with amazing views across farmland and the estuary.
Everything is very new and there's everything you could need for a lovely relaxing holiday.
Some of the local roads aren't for the feint hearted and are quite narrow in places but you're only a few minutes from Barnstaple with all of the main shops/restaurants etc you'll need.
The view from the lounge and patio area are across beautiful countryside and the views from hot tub, on the other side of the property, are down to the estuary and as far away Hartland Point.
A very relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting.




Wonderful views

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable,bright airy house with fantastic views. The hot tub was a bonus. Fully enclosed garden



Best place we've found in years!

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

This cottage is so well designed, stylish and comfortable, we just loved it. The terrace is a perfect spot for gathering outdoors. The hot tub was popular every day. But best of all was the totally wonderful, restful, beautiful view.
We are so glad we chose this lovely cottage - best place weve found in years!




Fantastic cottage with superb views

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very well appointed cottage to a high standard of finish. Peter was very pleasant and couldn’t do enough. It has everything you need including a hot tub but the main feature is the fantastic view! The sunsets in particular are so amazing across the estuary and I sat with a glass of wine just watching the sun go down.
The accommodation itself was very modern and a nice place to be although both bedrooms had steps as had the parking area to the front door. The shower in the en-suite is very well set up and the overall experience was first class.
The directions were spot on with travel being required on some fairly narrow roads, but that’s Devon lol.
I’d not hesitate in staying again at this lovely cottage.




A wonderful, spacious, comfortable, high quality cottage, perfectly located in the countryside.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Feb 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Springfoeld Linney for two weeks. We found it to be very spacious, comfortable andwell-equipped.
The location is ideal for visiting the local area, including Exmoor, the beaches, Barnstaple and it was wonderful to be able to go for countryside walks along the footpath across the field, from close to the front door!
Richard and Anna are wonderful hosts, making sure we were comfortable and that we had everything we needed.
I highly recommend Springfield Linney!




Springfield Linney

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One word, Stunning!

Met by the owner when we arrived and he was brilliant showing us around and answering any questions we had. The pictures do not lie, it is an absolute gem, beautiful views, beautiful scenery, just a brilliant place to stay to just totally unwind and relax!




Weeks Break

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The hot tub and views are amazing and it's easy to get to most places. The interior is modern and stylish. Due to Covid there were no spare crockery and they asked we use the dishwasher which was fine but only 3 tabs provided and when there's 4 of you dishes need washing each time. There was also only 1 bin bag and no bag for food waste. The sofa was a little hard and low, but the biggest issue was the flies. We understand this is a bad time of year, but some fly traps need to be placed throughout. We would definitely go back but not at this time of year. The host met us on arrival and was very nice and checked the PH in the hot tub for us mid week.



Great Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful 2 week stay at Springfield Linney. Great spot, easy to get to all the local beaches even in August. The highlight of the cottage is it’s spectacular views and the hot tub. We all enjoyed our evenings watching sunsets, bats, owls and other animals from the tub. Even Dexter our dog loved the large garden and watching the cows and sheep in the neighbouring fields. Throughly recommend to all



August 2020

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome view of the Estuary and 30 mins to the coastline and beautiful bays. Hot tub was a bonus and a big hit with try kids. Owner was great!



Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Springfield Linney. Everything was perfect and the views are stunning. We will look forward to staying there again.



Relaxing beautiful luxurious holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky enough to be the first family to stay at Springfield Linney and we weren’t disappointed. The cottage has been beautifully finished and very modern. Heated flooring throughout the house and a wood burner kept us lovely and warm in the cold wet and windy weather we had for most of our stay. Richard was there to meet us on our arrival and was really helpful. We had a problem with the hot water on one day of our stay and Richard got it fixed ASAP which was great. Towelling, shower gel, hand soap, shampoo, conditioner, washing up liquid, dog biscuits, dog bed and towel and dog bowl, tea bags, coffee, sugar and milk and a couple of biscuits all greatfully received and also a bottle of Prosecco. I really could not fault a thing. Attention to detail was lovely. The hot tub was an added bonus even on the cold days. The views are stunning. Plus we got to see the sheep, cows and donkeys from just over the fence. The garden is lovely and big and enclosed all around. We did get a visit in the garden from the neighbours little dog. He squeezed under the fence. But your dog has got to be pretty small to get under there. We didn’t get to use the patio because of the time of year. But we can see come the warm weather it will be a sun trap and I’m sure people will enjoy many evenings sitting outside. All in all a beautiful luxury cottage and we would definitely visit again.