FB Twitter

Kittiwake Cottage

Kittiwake Cottage

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
3.9
Condition
4.0
Location
4.5
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.1


Kittiwake Cottage is a stunning two bedroom self-catering property in Braunton, North Devon. The dog friendly cottage has off road car parking and a large private garden stretching down to the stream.

Great stay at Kittiwake Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at this lovely cottage. There was a lovely welcome pack and the house was spotless. A great location to explore north Devon. We will return!



Perfect Bolthole

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous, stylish and perfectly located little cottage. Everything we needed in the cottage. The garden is enormous which was an unexpected bonus. Loved it



Kittiwake

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Kittiwake Cottage and as enjoyable as the first, even though the weather was not very good all week. The cottage has everything you need and the two ensuites are great. The local beaches are amazing and the dog had a lovely time too running on the beach and among the sand dunes. Plenty of places to eat locally. One suggestion I thought would be useful, and only a minor idea, would be a welly rack outside the front door where you could put your boots upside down before stepping into the cottage. This would save a lot of sand from ending up inside the cottage hallway.



Good location, 2 good ensuites

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This really fitted our needs with two walk in showers. The spacious ensuites are lovely with space for toiletries, so often ignored. The cottage is warm and cosy. We slept well. Good off street parking. It felt a safe calm area.
The garden at the rear is a quiet haven to read and relax in. We had great weather.
The cottage is close to the villages lovely restaurants. Several takeaways. Lots places to walk. Tarka trail walk/ ride. Interesting walks at Crow point. The village heritage walk was good plus the friendly locals. Loved Woolacombe and Putborough beaches.
Recycling in Braunton seems unusual but varies everywhere.





our week at kittiwake cottage,Braunton

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were very happy with the location of the cottage.Lovely and quiet but right near the shops and amenities.Just a couple of
things,egg cups would have been useful.The step outside the back door is very steep,so I found that a bit difficult as I have arthritis.I think young children would fall easily---maybe worth putting another step there.The welcome pack was a nice touch! My husband and I ended up in a double bed each as we are both tall and had more room.




two week stay at kittiwake

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cute little cottage in a great location,providing off road parking which is a bonus in Braunton...



Overhaul required

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Although the cottage has potential to be very nice, the place seems to be neglected. The furniture was shabby, and not as the pictures in the website, there were several lights not working and no replacement bulbs, the oven was dirty, only two wine glasses for four people (and three flutes), one of the tumblers had a large crack in it, the outside furniture and the barbeque were rusty and unusable, the icebox lid in the refrigerator was broken, the small bedroom not suitable for a double, and when we tried to use both showers at the same time they both became unusable. There were other issues, but I think that I've made made my point.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied 157 days ago
Hi Geoff, thanks for your comments although I think you have been extremely harsh. This is the first negative review we have had in 5 years but we have received several 5* reviews. I passed on your comments to the owners and housekeeper who was genuinely upset as they pride themselves on providing a quality product. We will of course look into everything you have raised and make any required repairs. Thanks Harry

Centrally located modern barn conversion.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A clean well presented holiday home. Plenty of off street parking with a large enclosed garden. Great location for walking into Braunton. Sauton Sands and Croyde just a short drive away.
The beds were very comfortable, and both bedrooms had lovely on suite bathrooms.
Natasha had kindly left a goodie basket with wine and nibbles, and popped round to check everything was ok. She was easy to contact and very helpful with her responses.
A few points to note. The steps leading to the front door are quite high. No cleaning products other than washing up liquid, and dishwasher tablets. No torch (or candles) if a power cut occurred. Also a torch would be useful for the garden at night especially if you have a dog(s).
A lovely holiday and our dog loved the garden.
Than you.




Harry Roberts replied 283 days ago
Hi Jane and John, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and so glad you had a good stay at Kittiwake Cottage. I'll pass on your comments about cleaning products and a torch. If you ever want to come back please remember www.kittiwakecottagedevon.co.uk or www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Thanks Harry