FB Twitter

Diana's Cottage

Diana's Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.9
Location
4.1
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


Diana's Cottage - a family and pet friendly holiday cottage close to Braunton.

In need of TLC and tidying up outside- very run down !

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2024
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We wanted a cottage that was cosy, warm dog-friendly and in a good location for a short break over New Year. From photos and description as well as existing feedback, Diana's Cottage seemed to fit the bill. However in our opinion it fell some way short of our expectations.
Firstly, on approaching the cottage and searching for the parking, we passed a derelict stone building with open storage area piled full of rubbish, open to the elements. This was not only unsightly, but a hazard, given it was on a farm. Directly next to this was the 'parking' - a small tight stone barn barely big enough to park a small car, let alone reverse and park a large 4x4. Having unloaded our 2 spaniels and found the key, we soon realised there was no entrance area/ porch to dry our dogs. The weather was terrible during our stay (we had prepared for that) and the entrance may be OK in the summer for dogs, but not in the wet muddy weather. So we tried our best with towels to keep dogs clean and dry, but a beige carpet from the entrance door into the lounge was not in my opinion, dog-friendly!
From a positive side, it was a spacious and reasonably well equipped kitchen, but we were looking forward to using the Aga to further warm the house and try as we might, it would not turn on. The rest of this rather quirky cottage is heated only by electric heaters. Luckily it was relatively mild, so we weren't too cold but if it was during a colder period, it would have been freezing, especially in the loo which had no heating and an old fashioned plastic fan which made a racket in the wind! Bathroom was large but poorly furnished/ sparse but at least had a warm shower. We did not use the spare room....it was dark and freezing - very creepy too!
Outside it was clearly not well kept - from kitchen window we noted a view of a septic tank, ramshackled sheds with a door hanging off and overgrown grass. The cottage garden was down the lane and over the road and again was not well tended. This was the only safe place to let our dogs roam which seemed a shame since the area to the back of the cottage could be so much tidier and a good space to use.
All in all we felt it was rather run down - the curtains in the main lounge didnt fit ( about 4 inches too short!) and lack of attention to detail. We had a nice bottle of Prosecco and chocs on arrival which was very nice, but felt it could have looked a bit more 'Christmassy' - a small tree as in the photo would have been nice, for example
If you are charging a prime rate for high season time, then please give us value for money!




My Favourite Cottages replied 107 days ago
We are sorry you did not enjoy Diana's Cottage. We have unfortunately, had some of the worst wet weather in December and this has meant that very little has been able to be done to keep the gardens and grounds to the same standard as the summer months when the grass is regularly trimmed and flower beds weeded. Although we would love to offer the garden directly to the front of the cottage to guests to enjoy privately, as it is a semi-detached cottage it would not be possible to fence this securely, so the garden for Diana's is just across the small farm track and is a good enclosed space to let dogs off safely, it also gives families lots of privacy in the summer. We feel the photos of the cottage on the adverts and website do provide a true reflection of the cottage, there is no mention or photo of a porch and guests do enter directly into the cottage. The parking is undercover and is a traditional stone building, it may seem awkward but has housed tractors in the past so should easily accommodate a 4x4. The bathroom has also been recently refurbished with a new Burlington bath and basin. We wish you had let us know about the AGA not working as we would have tried to help you or provided some extra heaters had they been needed. Also, just to confirm the septic tank referred to is actually the oil tank.

Summer holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A quirky old style little cottage if not a little dated within walking distance of Braunton town. Directions to the property good and easy to follow. Properly well provided for and spacious. Could have had a few small bowls for peanuts/crisp and a water jug.
Nice enclosed private garden space to use. Very comfortable.
Great morning views and a sunny bench spot outside the front door.




Beautiful hidden gem

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented and spotlessly clean period cottage hidden away in Braunton, just under 20 minutes drive from Woolacombe beach. There was Prosecco and a cream tea to greet us on our arrival, with vases of fresh flowers around the cottage, which is light and airy. Appliances all top notch, and frying eggs on an AGA always makes then taste better! Lovely big walled garden with games for the children and outside seating. The covered parking space is rather tight to manoeuvre into from the sloping farm track, but there's plenty of space once you're in! Hoping to come back next year.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and warm with great views. The electric AGA is a real bonus. Plenty of hot water. Super beaches within 10 minutes drive.



Quirky and historic

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely small touches such as flowers, fresh scones, generous shampoo & conditioner etc - in a rather compromised location. I’m interested in history so it was fascinating for me to see the untouched elements of the old farm but we missed immediate access to a garden “on the doorstep” and didn’t use the space provided though we could see it would be useful and well set up for young active children. Second bedroom needs some love and prettification as it’s rather bleak and creepy. Main bedroom was very comfortable. Very nice touch having a cookery book in the well equipped kitchen. Garage was very hard to access given the pothole in road outside which can damage the car on reversing, we used the field. In time, if money allows, a coat of paint might make the exterior more attractive but we could see the owners were trying hard and grateful for those generous touches. Please provide advice for recycling!!



Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed here with my mum, husband and our two little boys.

The cottage was very well equipped and the owners were super speedy in providing a new tin opener, and replacing the broken bbq for us.

It’s a really charming, quiet and peaceful spot (more so now we’ve come home again!), the house is a converted farm building, it’s quirky and feels really homely.

The garden is just a short walk away (10seconds) , I was concerned this would be an issue with two boys aged 5 and 7, but it was absolutely fine.

The cottage is only a short drive from Saunton sands, especially if you turn right at the main entrance to the farm and take the country lanes rather than going through Braunton.

Would thoroughly recommend. Thank you for a lovely stay




A very peaceful cottage in the countryside located not far from the coast.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying at Diana’s Cottage and found it a very peaceful place. It is close to Staunton Sands and the coast which was convenient. The beds were very comfortable and the cottage was well equipped.

Fiona was on hand to help with the queries we had.




Devon not Portugal!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After having had our holiday to Portugal scuppered, I went about trying to find an alternative. I spent most of the day searching the internet to no avail. Of course, everywhere's going to be booked! No one can travel abroad. What was I thinking? The Sun and the stars or whatever the saying is must have all been in alignment for me that day. I spotted Diana's Cottage. It looked perfect! After emailing My Favourite Cottages. The lovely Amanda replied within the hour. Happily, As the cottage was new to the market it was available, we were going to be Diana's Cottage's first official Guests. We were on our way! :)

Diana's Cottage is set on a historic site full of character with wonderful views over the North Devon countryside, close to Braunton and Saunton sands is only a short drive away.

From the moment we arrived, Diana's Cottage felt like home!
It was warm and welcoming mainly due to the fabulous AGA in the kitchen, and the lovely scones and fresh flowers left by our hosts What a lovely touch!
The Kitchen is well equipped and includes a regular cooker but we enjoyed cooking on the AGA (first time for everything) even if we did make the odd mistake, this is where we all congregated for a drink or to plan what we were going to do the next day. Stretching out like cats in front of that AGA.
The sitting room was very comfortable with glorious views over the garden and a glimpse of the valley. The bedrooms were equally comfortable. Crisp white linen and comfortable beds with ample storage. We were lucky enough to have good weather and spend most of our time on the beach (Saunton Sands roughly 2 miles away) so it was great to return to the large family bathroom with a super hot power shower and fluffy white towels!
The secret garden is accessed via the gate marked 'Diana's secret Garden' Enclosed mainly by a high hedge with a high wall to the front. A delightful outside space with beautiful views over the stunning countryside and safe so children can run free. Equipped with BBQ and garden furniture the perfect place to enjoy a drink or a meal.
We all enjoyed our stay at Diana's cottage very much and wished we'd booked for longer. One thing for sure we are all agreed we're definitely going back!