FB Twitter

Courtyard Cottage

Courtyard Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Courtyard Cottage, a deligtful two bedroom holiday home on the edge of Barnstaple in North Devon.

The best cottage we've stayed in (and there have been a lot over the years!)

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would definitely stay here again, we absolutely loved our holiday here and didn't want to leave. Beautifully arranged and decorated cottage in a great location. Breakfast every morning on the terrace outside the main bedroom enjoying the early morning sun, and drinks and dinner on the terrace to the side of the cottage watching the sun go down. Perfect!

Thank you to Mika and Mark for being so welcoming, friendly and helpful and for creating such a wonderful place to stay




Beautiful cottage with excellent amenities.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in lovely condition, with everything very beautifully coordinated. Beds were very comfy, as was the big sofa. We were made to feel very welcome, with bottles of cider, scones, jam and cream on arrival, and a personal welcome from the owners [ and their friendly dogs!]. There were lots of places around the cottage to sit and enjoy the view and there was a very comprehensive amount of useful information in the folder left for us in the cottage.
The little road up to the cottage is quite hard to find, but again, the owners gave very clear instructions on how to get there. There are quite a few steps down to the cottage, so taking luggage etc up and down was a bit awkward, but the quirkiness and lovely surroundings of the place was worth the effort. The provision of tea, coffee, shampoo, soap and shower gel was also appreciated.




Beautiful cottage in a good location

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a stay in this beautiful cottage. Our hosts Mika and Mark couldn’t have been more friendly and helpful. They contacted us before our holiday started and provided very detailed information of what to expect on arrival, what was provided and how everything worked. The cottage was very clean, spacious and light and airy and we felt relaxed the minute we walked in the door. It is obvious that a lot of thought and planning has gone into making this cottage a luxurious yet practical place to stay with everything you could possibly need and more.
The location was good too. Just on the outskirts of Barnstaple, which did concern us slightly before we arrived as we usually go for a more rural location but the cottage is up on a hill, surrounded by trees, fields and peace and quiet. We were lucky enough to have tawny owls hooting outside our bedroom window. It was also ideally placed to explore the North Devon coast from and perfect to nip into town for groceries.
We really appreciated the lovely welcome pack with lots of Devon goodies.
I’m sure we’ll be back for another stay before too long.




Beautifully equipped cottage in peaceful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Probably the best of all the cottages we have stayed in - beautifully decorated, equipped with everything that you could want, spotlessly clean and with owners that are around if you need them but invisible when you want privacy. The location is the ultimate in peaceful places, set at the end of a long private drive surrounded by fields and trees. No traffic noise just the bird songs to disturb the peace and yet you can be in the centre of Barnstable within 10 minutes by car. The cottage comes with the best sun-trap patio anywhere - just the place to sit with a long cool drink and soak up the sun and the peace and quiet. It's the sort of place that once discovered entices you back again and again.



A wonderful week in North Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at Courtyard Cottage and found it to be absolutely beautiful - we had a truly fantastic family holiday. It is easily one of the nicest properties we have ever stayed in. We had a very warm welcome from our hosts (fresh scones to kick off the holiday was a real treat) and they were so hospitable and thoughtful throughout, providing us with lots of helpful advice and checking we had all that we needed. The check in was super smooth and the pre holiday info was informative and clear.

The cottage itself was perfect for us as a family of four with two young children - it was extremely well equipped and spotlessly clean, with exceptionally comfortable beds and an abundance of outdoor seating areas dotted around, perfect for a read and a glass of wine. Parking was easy. The swing and garden area kept our children happy for hours. The lounge and kitchen area was really spacious and lovely to relax in.

Location wise, Courtyard Cottage was fantastic - there were some beautiful beaches within a short drive, loads to do with the kids and some great restaurants (we would also recommend the local fish and chip shop!) It was great to be able to get to popular places quickly and easily, but also to be able to retreat home afterwards to somewhere so peaceful and quiet, with stunning views of the North Devon countryside.

Courtyard Cottage is an absolute gem of a holiday cottage - we can't recommend it highly enough and would love to visit again one day.




Beautiful Cottage and Location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for one week in May 2022 and we could not have wished for more. The owners, Mika and Mark were on site to meet us and show us around and they made us feel very welcome. They recommended great places to visit in the area and we went to most of them. The accommodation was lovely with a large double bedroom opening onto a private patio area and a separate room with two single beds. Everythings was clean and tidy. The cottage is up a fairly steep single track lane but not for long then you reach your destination which is just outside Barnstaple. The surrounding gardens are lovely and there are views over Barnstaple to the estuary. We recommend this lovely cottage without hesitation and hope to return soon.



A hidden gem

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barnstable is an excellent base for exploring North Devon and Courtyard Cottage couldn't be situated better - a few minutes from the town centre (by car) but completely tucked away up a long private drive, high up on the side of the valley with great views over the town. The cottage is beautifully decorated and equipped and although situated in fairly close proximity to the owner's house and another neighbour it's not difficult to find a secluded spot on 1 of the 3 patios that come with the cottage. The best is the patio above the garage which is equipped with seats and catches the afternoon and evening sun - ideal for a G & T (or 2). The owners are very welcoming and friendly and willing to give advice on visiting local sites, pubs and restaurants but manage to not intrude on your privacy. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are sparkling clean and the showers give plenty of hot water when required. The kitchen is fitted with Neff equipment and is well laid out with plenty of all the necessary crockery, cutlery, cooking equipment and lots of nice little touches like a stained glass window that lights up from inside.
This is probably the best cottage we have ever stayed in and is certainly high up on our list of places we would like to visit again.




Fantastic week in stunning cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Courtyard Cottage in August 2021. The cottage is beautifully appointed and everything you need has been thought of. The rooms are generous sizes and the cottage feels spacious and modern - whilst at the same time feeling full of character and interesting features. The location is perfect for local interest - with lots of different beaches nearby plus the beautiful landscape of Exmoor. We were able to do very different things each day and kept teenagers and adults thoroughly entertained. We hope to return again - and Mark and Mika were fantastic hosts offering help and advice if needed.



Great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay for a week. The owners are very nice and friendly . The property is beautiful. North Devon is definitely worth a visit. Great beaches, drives and villages



Courtyard Cottage Barnstaple

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at the Courtyard Cottage, we were very impressed at the very high standard of accommodation.
Well situated above the town of Barnstaple with stunning views of the North Devon Countryside, it was within easy reach of the coastal resorts (15-20 minutes by car)
Mika and Mark were both welcoming and very helpful, full of information about North Devon, they were always on hand but never intrusive.
This is a little Gem situated in North Devon and we will definitely be back,