FB Twitter

Aggie's Cottage at Higher Mullacott

Aggie's Cottage at Higher Mullacott

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Pretty three bedroom character cottage sleeping up to six. Aggie's Cottage located on the edge of Ilfracombe and close to the award winning Woolacombe beach is the ideal home away from home for couples or families.

Family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good to be able to rent this accommodation as we have a large family and we all did not fit into Dolly,s barn .
We enjoyed our stay and would like to go again.




Family getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here and Dolly’s for a big family break. Worked perfectly with children and parents in Aggies and rest in Dolly’s. Children slept undisturbed in the evening and adults in the morning. Good facilities and lovely play area. Will definitely be back.



Perfect cottage for our first family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having decided we wanted to go to Devon on our first family holiday, we set upon searching for a holiday cottage and we’re so pleased to find Higher Mullacott farm. We had great communication from Tina and Mark ahead of our booking and a helpful welcome email the week before our arrival.

Upon arriving at Aggie’s cottage we were really impressed with the cleanliness of the cottage and how much it felt like gone away from home. It had everything (and more!) that we needed.

The location was absolutely perfect. Although you can’t really walk anywhere from here as it’s off of a main road, it’s a 5 minute drive to Ilfracombe (where there is a great walk around the harbour and little town - perfect for pushchairs / wheelchairs etc and tunnels beach where we spent a lovely afternoon splashing in the tidal pool with our toddler .) 10 minute drive to Woolacombe (a fab family friendly beach where we enjoyed a couple of beach days) 10 minute drive to Hele bay (great cream tea at the Old Corn mill and a really interesting wander around that our 3 year old really enjoyed. Also Hele Bay was perfect for rock pooling!) 20 minute drive to Croyde Bay which we didn’t discover until our last day but definitely would have gone again (another lifeguard patrolled beach popular with surfers but again perfect for rock pooling or a lovely walk along the shore line splashing in the sea and building sandcastles.)
We would also highly recommend the sheepdog and falconry show at Borough Farm on a Wednesday evening. It’s only 5 mins down the road and initially we were a bit nervous about whether our 3 year old would enjoy it but upon arriving there, there were plenty of young children and they all happily wandered around whilst watching the bits of the display without being too much (I hope!) of a nuisance to other people watching.

We didn’t end up eating our very much as we it was so easy cooking in the cottage with everything we needed and we either enjoyed our meal in the cottage or out in the garden. The gardens were beautiful and fantastically maintained. The childrens equipment was a welcome addition and although slightly weathered, in perfectly useable condition which our 3 year old loved.

If I was being picky - the bed in the main bedroom could have been better. The mattress was potentially quite old and had quite a dip in the middle which wasn’t particularly comfortable. Also the shower wasn’t very powerful. But these two days things didn’t detract from our stay at all and we wouldn’t hesitate to book again. We thought it was excellent value for money and throughly enjoyed our stay.




A very well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful cottage has everything you could need for a brilliant holiday including body boards to borrow, outside activities for the children and even bits to BBQ with. Such a comfy cottage and the icing on the top was the cream tea that awaited us on our arrival :-)



A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was great and we had a lovely stay at Higher Mullacott farm. It was a good size and well equipped. The garden was fantastic for the kids and location was good for getting to the beach and we were really lucky with the weather. Only downsides were no dishwasher but for a week wasn’t really a problem! Overall it was a great stay and we’d consider going again.



A Magical Setting with Excellent Facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived, we were initially taken with the grounds and surrounding facilities for the children. However, on entering Aggie's Cottage it felt that we had been transported back in time. The cottage is beautifully presented and has a authentic quaintness about it. It is full of charm and character but has all the modern facilities you needed. I was extremely impressed in the level of detail and equipment available from the BBQ facilities to even a pretty pink cake stand ideal for my friends 40th Birthday cake to sit on! We had only booked the cottage for the weekend, but I could have happily stayed there longer. I would highly recommend Aggie's Cottage to anyone who wants that feel of luxury but homely charm. We loved it, and can't wait to return.



Family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay for 18 of us at ‘The Farmhouse’ and ‘Aggies Cottage’. Very easy reservations and check in process, great location, and friendly hosting from Mark, Tina and Jessica. We have already booked again for next year!!



Traditional, modern, wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful property balancing the traditional charm of a country cottage, with the modern amenities you would expect. The site is spacious and incredibly well maintained with wonderful planting and spacious grounds, including a fantastic play park. The cottage lacks for nothing - with all the utensils and items you may need, and is lovingly decorated with a wonderful traditional character. The location was perfect for beaches, coastal sites and attractions within a 10-30 minute drive.



A great trip away

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aggies Cottage was brilliantly located with easy access for Woolacombe and Ilfracombe. The cottage itself was a lovely space and really well equipped. The play area for the kids was a really nice area as well. A perfect base for exploring the area.



Family celebration break for Silver Wedding Anniversary

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Aggie’s Cottage is absolutely amazing ... very clean and comfortable ... the vintage decor is beautiful ... everything we needed.
The location for Ilfracombe and Woolacombe is perfect for the beach and walks.
The owners were friendly and helpful.




tasteful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
excellent character cottage with good facilities and cleanliness. wi-fi connection was only problem.



Perfect Holiday Home

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect holiday home with everything you need in the perfect location for Ilfracombe and Woolacombe.

The Devon cream tea to welcome was the perfect start to our holiday.




Aggies Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky setup in converted stables, upstairs bedroom had challenging roof. Downstairs bathroom rather old fashioned and flush temperamental. Kitchen equipment could be more refined. Hosts very friendly and obliging . Outside gardens/play area and equipment excellent as well as beach equipment. Recycling opportunities good.



Fantastic home in gorgeous setting

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time here. The grounds are immense and beautifully kept, and every kid’s dream to play in! On rainy days the cottage itself was beautiful with enough space but also a really lovely cozy feel to it. Close to all the local beaches and some much needed take-out food! Owners are lovey and very helpful- we’d absolutely come back!



Family Gathering

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect place for a family gathering,We rented both Aggies and Dolly’s for 5 nights over the New Year.
Both are lovely,very comfortable and tastefully decorated, they are very well equipped with everything you would need.
The grounds are Ideal for children to play with a Park,Football net,Basketball and Table Tennis.
Fantastic location as all local attractions are so easy to get to.




A good holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely base for walking, beaches, visiting NT properties and for Lundy.

Comfy beds and plenty of space.




Great for family holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated with good access to Ilfracombe, Woolacombe and Saunton beaches and shops. Accommodation clean and well equipped. Farm building setting beautiful and very well kept. Children’s playground on site also well equipped. Highly recommended.



Harry Roberts, Managing Director replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a wonderful holiday at Aggie's Cottage and that you all enjoyed the facilities onsite. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Brilliant week at Aggie’s.

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tim and Kathy were exceptional hosts at this very comfortable and characterful cottage. The children loved the play area and the adults loved the garden. It was very well placed within easy reach of several brilliant beaches. We would definitely stay at Aggie’s Cottage again.



Harry Roberts, Managing Director replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you had a good holiday at Aggie's Cottage and that you were able to make the most of its excellent location and the beautiful garden and grounds. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.