FB Twitter

Cnoc Fuar

Cnoc Fuar

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 58 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.1
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.3


Situated midway between Tobermory and Glengorm, this is the perfect base for the naturalist and the walker. Cnoc Fuar is set in rolling moorland, the haunt of red grouse, hen harrier and golden eagle. Red deer roam the hills above the cottage, while the volcano loch, Lochan 'S Airde Beinn, lies a 30 minute walk away.

2 week holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic stay at Cnoc Fuar. A lovely house to stay in a fantastic location. We would love to return again.

Bronwen from Barry stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 14 nights in June 2018


Comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely week in this cottage. It was clean and comfortable. As it was quite a cold week we enjoyed the log burning fire and the cottage was lovely and warm when we arrived. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed.
The proximity of the road to the castle was the only drawback with huge lorries carrying logs from forestry work down the road many times a day.
There was a lot more traffic on the road than we expected and much of it was travelling fast.
Young children would have to be closely supervised.


Susan from Glasgow stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in June 2018


A delight

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a week at Cnoc Fuar, seeing Mull in all its moods (as Storm Hector gave us a visit), and Cnoc Fuar served us perfectly - quiet, easily accessible with ideal facilities. We arrived to find the place clean and welcoming.

John from Frome stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in June 2018


Sounds of the cuckoo

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time visit to Glengorm different cottage. Blessed with good weather and plenty of wildlife. I have not seen a cuckoo for years then every day. Not a must see for everyone but a pleasant surprise. White tailed eagles. Hen harriers and Deer all from the cottage. The cottage itself was surprisingly large and had everything we needed. The Bakery in Tobermory has the best pies I’ve tasted for a long time. Will definitely be going back

Albert from Nuneaton stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in May 2018


A week on Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
A little far from Glengorm Castle
The view is not the same as we can see in the Castle site, no océan view


Richard from Bordeaux stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in April 2018


Pam MacColl replied 101 days ago
Dear Mr Nourry, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay in Cnoc Fuar. Could you please let me know where you saw photos of the cottage showing sea views so that I can change this, we certainly do not wish to mislead people. I have checked our website and cannot find any specifically showing sea views from Cnoc Fuar so would appreciate your help in sorting this problem. Kind regards Pam

beautiful location...cosy cottage ...

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Glengorm estate is breathtaking...Travelled all around Mull and visited Iona and Ulva from our base at Cnoc Fuar..Fantastic for watching wildlife cycling and walking..would love to return .

Clive from Buxton stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in April 2018


Cnor Fuar

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a delightful time at Cnoc Fuar. It had everything that we needed for a walking experience on the Ile of Mull. It is very warm and cosy and offers plenty of space and very good self-catering facilities. We had ready access to the castle estate and the surrounding areas of Mull and there were ample opportunities for walking close at hand or further afield. The staff at Glengorm Castle were extremely helpful and obliging, particularly Pamela, who assisted us when we had trouble getting to the next leg of our holiday in France when we were impacted by the French Train Strike, and needed access to a phone and internet. We would like to personally acknowledge the friendliness and support provided by Pamela. Our holiday on the Isle of Mull was wonderful and we would love to come back again some other time. One other good aspect of Cnor Fuar was that it is half way approximately between Tobermory and the Castle which meant that both locations were easily accessible, particularly Tobermory for supplies and organising excursions.

David from Perth stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 14 nights in April 2018


Another great holiday in Cnoc Fuar

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday despite a delayed start (snowed in at home by the Beast from the East). Cottage as clean and comfortable as ever. Very cosy and excellent location.

Helen from Insch stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in March 2018


Warm, cosy and comfortable.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just love this cottage. Warm, cosy & comfortable. Nicely situated midway between the Glengorm & Tobermory making it a nice walk into Tobermory. Although situated near the road there is little traffic to interrupt your peace and quiet.
Our 3 dogs love the outdoor space & their daily run up to the masts each day followed by a nap in front of the fire.
The only disappointment was having to leave at the end of our stay but knowing we will be back again made it more bearable.


Elaine from Kendal stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in February 2018


Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent views, like the remodelled outside area. Inside, everything you need while on holiday. Best of all, no people around, so very peaceful and very quiet. Completely unwind.
Maybe idea to have a rubbish collection; dust cart passes right by.


A from Fritchley stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in August 2017


An excellent break from the rat race in a a wonderful setting

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the Isle of Mull and also our second stay on the Glengorm estate. This time we opted for this cottage.
The cottage is very comfortable and has everything you would expect.
We wanted a family break away from the trappings of everyday life and Cnoc Faur did not disappoint! It is in a wonderful setting and the short walk up the hill to the transmitter station is well worth it for stunning panoramic views (it does get a bit steep toward the top).
Although situated at the northern tip of the island, Cnoc Faur is a very good base for a holiday on Mull.
Tobermory is only a 5 - 10 minute drive, so you have amenities and attractions only a short hop away. Our 4 year old loved the Aquarium there!
Also nearby is Aros Park, and this is worth a visit too, and of course only half an hour away is Calgary Bay - we could have spent all week there!


Glenn from Tuddenham St Mary stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2017


Cnoc Furar - relaxing haven!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful location, very relaxing stay on the Glengorm Estate.
Cottage cosy and comfortable - would recommend!


Guest from Coxhoe stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2017


Week break in Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Really nice location with good access to Glengorm Castle and the tea room and not far from Tobermory.

Only downside we found was that there was quite a bit of dog hair on the cushions in the living room and rugs and blanket on the bed. We didn't have a dog with us and fully understood this type of location appeals to those with dogs so can't criticize too much. When we went to Hoover on the last day, the whole cottage smelled strongly of dog.
That was our only criticism. Everything else was great, with the cottage being well kitted out and comfortable. It rained a fair bit of our stay so we spent more time in the cottage than we'd hoped but we were pleased with it.


Lorna from Dumfries stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in May 2017


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage well equipped warm and inviting the location is good if you want to get away from everything. The walks on the Glengorm estate are beautiful. I would say remember to take all the essentials with you as it is a good drive to tobermory if you've forgotten a pint of milk !

Deborah from Shrewsbury stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in April 2017


A nice wee cottage but in need of quite a lot of TLC

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
This cottage has seen better days and it is to be hoped that it is on Glengorm's urgent "to do" list. While the furnishings are in good condition, the fabric of the building is not. For example, it has elderly wooden sash windows which are held together with layers of paint, to the extent that some are painted open, one of which is in the kitchen, while the bathroom one is one of those painted closed. That latter defect coupled with an extractor fan which doesn't work leads to the room not being ventilated properly. The elderly electric storage heaters also appear to have a mind of their own. The extractor fan above the kitchen hob is also faulty. Some of these defects would not take a lot to rectify and I am mystified as to why the owners appear content to leave it in this condition.

With there being no formal check-in procedure (the cottage is left unlocked for you just to arrive and walk in), I visited reception at the castle on my first morning (Sunday) to introduce myself as the guest staying at Cnoc Fuar and to ask a couple of questions. The reception I got was decidedly frosty, a sort of "Why are you bothering us" response with not even the vaguest hint of a "welcome to Glengorm". My questions were answered though.

One other serious defect which needs to be highlighted is that the tap water has been condemned by Argyle and Bute Council as not fit for human consumption. A supply of bottled water is provided.

I visit Mull two or three times a year and this was my first time at Glengorm as my usual first and second choices were fully booked; I will not be back.


Alasdair from Livingston stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in May 2017


Perfect cosy retreat!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The day starts with an exercise session chopping logs to keep the fire going through the evening. Then following the days chosen activity around the Glengorm Estate or Calgary Bay Beach it is time to enjoy the delicious hand dived scallops from Salen or the Glengorm Estate beef. We were particularly fortunate to enjoy wall to wall blue skies and sunshine for the duration of our stay which combined with the remaining snow on the tops made for the most picturesque photographs. This was our 5th stay at Glengorm and Cnoc Fuar is a perfect cosy retreat.

Robert from Leyburn stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 4 nights in February 2017


Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was about our 4th stay at Cnoc Fuar. The cottage is warm and cosy and for us is ideally situated midway between Tobermory & Glengorm Castle, all in all making it our favourite place to stay.
Cannot wait until our next visit which we have already booked


Elaine from Kendal stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in February 2017


Cosy, comfortable cottage for a winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Cnoc Fuar in November. Just as we arrived in Tobermory the weather took a turn for the worse and hail and sleet came down heavily. The roads were Icy, it was getting dark and the landscaped looked bleak - and then pulled up at Cnoc Fuar, heating and lights on it was so warm and cosy, that we instantly fell in love with the cottage and the wintry view suddenly looked all the more appealing from the window. We were also fortunate that the weather improved just as quickly as it had worsened (nothing unusual about that in Argyll).

The cottage is well equipped, it's very comfortable and well maintained. It has some delightful character features and the choice of furnishings were well chosen, We were 2 people - and the cottage was ample for both of us. It could sleep 2 adults and 2 children comfortably. The location is great - around 10 minutes drive to the village (in wintry conditions) but remote enough to feel you are a world away from civilisation. The access road runs right past the cottage, it's single track and by no means busy but do expect a little farm and castle traffic- nothing too heavy. We never made it up to the the castle - the coffee shop was closed for the winter and the roads were icy so we decided not to venture further into the estate. I was worried about driving in Mull having been there twice before in the summer season - I knew some of the roads were a little challenging and I was worried about the driving conditions in the winter. It was not so bad. The main roads were gritted most of the time, other roads were not but Grit is left at the road edges for locals to spread when needed. The advantage of travelling in winter is that there is very little traffic and that makes driving on the single track roads a whole lot more pleasurable...

We were pleased to find that there was a mobile signal. I managed to get EE on the first few days but lost the signal for the rest of the stay. After that I switched to 02, Vodaphone was also good - helped by the mobile phone mast on the hill above the cottage (well worth a climb for the fantastic view).

We had a wonderful trip to Mull and highly recommend staying at Cnoc Fuar in the winter it is such a warm and cosy cottage with such a lot of atmosphere you will feel at home whatever the weather. Winter is also a fantastic time for wildlife watching. While many of the activities close down for the winter the wildlife tour operators work throughout the winter - this is a great time of the year to see wildlife - on the half day tour that we took we were rewarded with an amazing amount of wildlife: otters, sea eagles, red deer and a list of birds to fill an RSPB book....

If you are hovering over the "book" icon - go ahead. You won't regret it!



Fiona from Tarbert stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 5 nights in November 2016


Magical location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We will definitely return to this wonderful little cottage, it was in a magical location, lovely and cosy, a real home from home. Everything you need is provided, plenty of fire wood and just a quick walk up the hill provides the most amazing views. All in all we couldn't have wished for more.

Tony from Barnsley stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 4 nights in September 2016


Excellent house, but a bit far from the castle and the sea and no Internet

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Looking back at the site of the castle, I could have known. But when I booked, I didn't realise that this lovely cottage is actually several km away from the castle and the sea. It is located next to the forest, and a hill, and has the benefit of bringing deer into the garden in the evening. The house is fantastic, clean, quiet, well decorated. It has no Internet, though.

Peter from Den Haag stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2016


4th time and still just as great!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 4th time we have been to Mull, stayed on Glengorm and at this particular cottage.
We've been at different times of the year, and always great. Weather was superb, but it wouldn't have ruined it if the weather hadn't been so kind.
Each time we come, the cottage feels welcoming/homely, and perfectly situated. Close enough to Tobermory etc, but far enough away to feel like you're in the middle of nowhere.
Coffee shop at Glengorm was just as good, and the walks were too.
Each time we come, we find something else to do/somewhere else to go.
Love it!


Emma from Aylesbury stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in June 2016


Lovely stay near the castle

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time and it was easy to work with Pam. Snowed one day and really enjoyed the fire, great kitchen and coziness, as well as a walk to the castle. Don't miss the nearby isle of mull cheese shop ( the glass house) for ambience and a great meal or take away. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the isle!

Susan from stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 3 nights in April 2016


Weekend stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean, warm, comfortable and provided everything we needed. Had a great weekend. Calgary bay highly recommended, lots to do and great walks nearby.

Tom from Edinburgh stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 3 nights in April 2016


Beautiful Cottage, Perfect Location!!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is simply stunning, it's a short drive from Tobermory, Dervaig, Calgary, Salen and so the location is great! It's about a 2 hour drive to Fionnphort to go over to Iona but to be honest even that was OK. The cottage is very clean and has everything you need! Next time I go to Mull and need accommodation I will certainly be booking this little gem. The only misleading thing is the picture - all of those beautiful trees have reached maturity and have been chopped down so the view is not quite so picturesque, but that is a very small thing indeed.

The fire was all set for us just to light, the ice-cube tray was full, salt and pepper in the cupboard - small things like that really make all the difference (especially as we had forgotten the salt and pepper!!).


Fiona from stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 3 nights in April 2016


Magical

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property provides everything you need for a week on mull. It's warm dry and functional also pretty.

Location is great as we are big walkers. You can step of and walk for miles. It's close to tobermory for your local amenities.


Joyce from Wittering stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in March 2016


The best place to stay on Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been guests of Glengorm many times, we keep coming back because the cottages are excellent value, the location is wonderful and the owners and staff are brilliant. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
If you want to walk, wildlife watch or just relax look no further this is the place, if Cnoc Fuar is too small they have cottages that will suit.


H from Abingdon stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 14 nights in February 2016


Lovely

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a comfortable stay in the cottage, warm and cosy, log fire is great and it is really well fitted out. Definitely looking at coming back next year. Shame the weather cant be as welcoming but still got to walk around the estate and see fantastic sunsets over the sea. Thank you

Gayle from Edinburgh stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 3 nights in November 2015


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We weren't disappointed at cnoc fuar!
It's Very comfortable, warm and pleasant. Although it felt like we were miles from civilisation we were only 10 minutes by car to tobermory.
We would love to return next year, but may not be big enough for our imminent arrival.
I have only rated good on the customer service as only communicated via email prior to our visit, but that was very speedy and helpful.
Thank you glengorm!


Jo-Anne from Penrith stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 5 nights in October 2015


Another great time- 3rd at Cnoc Fuar!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's an amazing island, wonderful estate owned by Glengorm, cottage is just perfect for a walking/outdoor holiday or even just to relax, and all the amenities you may need in Tobermory, just 10 minutes away by car. And the Coffee Shop serves superb food too....
We've already booked our 4th visit for next year - that says it all.....


Emma from Aston Abbotts stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in September 2015


Cnoc Fuar Isle of Mull experience

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at Cnoc Fuar. The location and tranquillity of the cottage is outstanding, and we always enjoy our stay.
We have noticed that the cottage is now feeling the need for some TLC overall, if this was undertaken it would enhance the quality of the stay even more.

Thank you for letting us share in the beautiful Mull experience.


Guest from Fritchley stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in August 2015


Another fine holiday at Cnoc Fuar

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been visiting Mull for nearly 40 years, my first trip being when I was 12. All but two of my visits have been to the Glengorme Eastate. I have stayed in Cnoc Fuar 5 times now. The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and offers splendid views. Where else can you stay and see deer and eagles from your front window. It's a great base from which to explore the island. However, be warned, if you don't like peace and quiet this is not the place for you. If you want to get away from it all then, like me, you'll find yourself going back time after time.

Guest from Chester stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in August 2015


Pleasant stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really nice place to stay, good and cosy accomodation - we've passed a fine time there! What could be improved is the light in the bath, and some furniture for the outdoor area would also be great. A car is absolutely essential.

Guest from Zurich stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2015


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed here Mid July and despite the Scottish weather trying to be difficult we had a very pleasant and cozy stay at Cnoc Fuar.

Lovely location - but there is a road outside the house. Would imagine its great in Spring/Autumn with the log fire going but we didn't need it, it was toasty warm as it was!


Guest from York stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2015


Great Break

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful little bolt hole to escape the noise of everyday life. Very comfortable and clean. Great shower over bath. Only request would be to leave some instructions regarding the hot water system as it was a bit of a mystery and pot luck if the water was warm or not!

Guest from Cupar, United Kingdom stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2015


peace and tranquility that's the Isle Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle estate is the perfect location to explore this amazing island, well worth the time and effort it takes to get there ,all the attractions on this island are there for everybody to see.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in June 2015


Our best holiday of the year so far

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our second visit to Cnoc fur. It's perfect for us we know our way around. It's like home from home. Can't wait for our next visit. Hopefully next year the ferries will run a little more often.

Joyce from Wittering stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in March 2015


Comfortable & relaxing.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the second time we have stayed at this cottage. It is warm and comfortable, it has all the facilities expected. The cottage is ideally situated. Having 2 dogs there is plenty of open space for them and at night we would walk into Tobermory for tea, the distance just right. Will definitely book again for next year. We just love it.

Guest from Kendal stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in February 2015


Perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Feb 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd visit and when we walked through the door again it was like home... Even in beginning of Feb, it was just as amazing as our visit in September. Planning our next visit! Words and photos just don't do it justice....

Emma from Aylesbury stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in February 2015


Could be so much better

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Nov 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
To be clear we do love this cottage and we will return. Third year At Cnoc fuar and we feel it would benefit from some investment. The sofa, Hoover and kitchen bin require replacing. Serious draughts between floor boards and skirting boards need investigation. In addition the recycling facilities at the main farm should be clearly labelled and tidied up.

Donna from Brechin stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in September 2014


cnoc fuar

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed in cnoc fuar for a week in october, the cottage is very nice has everything you would require, furniture in the livingroom is a bit worn but the rest of the house is fairly new, what you dont see from the photos is the cottage sits right beside the road, however the road is quiet and not a problem, there is a log fire in the livingroom which is great but you need to chop more logs for yourself but well worth the effort, we managed to see and photograph the northern lights from the hillside behind the cottage which made it magical.

my only complaint is the game keepers shot six stags and dumped them right outside our cottage while they went up the hill for more, understand its what happens on highland estates but they didnt have to drop them outside a holiday cottage with kids staying,we spent the rest of the week looking at blood on the road any time we went for a walk.

would we stay again? yes already planning it


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in October 2014


Cnoc Fuar Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cnoc Fuar was in a beautiful, peaceful location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It did smell very 'doggy' on our arrival and it could have been cleaner, There were plenty of clean white towels, soap and toilet paper and washing up liquid, but nothing to clean the bathroom. Finding the sitting room fireplace set for a long fire was very welcoming, although we had lovely weather and didn't need to use it. Overall ,we were very pleased with the cottage and would certainly return.

(We didn't have any contact with Glengorm Castle during our stay so couldn't comment on the service, however, I can't submit this form without selecting a box so have opted for OK)


Guest from Guildford stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in September 2014


A great base to explore Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Cnoc Fuar cottage had everything we needed for a pleasant stay on Mull. The two bedrooms ( one double, one bunk ) were ideal for our family with two children (aged 3 and 7). The cottage had all amenities we needed during our stay. From the pictures of the cottage it looked as if there would be open space around the cottage for our children to run around in, however this was not the case as it is by the road and the terrain was not suitable. That was our only let down of an otherwise enjoyable stay.

Guest from Chelmsford stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in August 2014


Great little cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A well presented cottage in an excellent location for exploring the north of the island. The estate has excellent walks and coffee shop. Our children loved the nature room. The bathing pool is great for a low tide visit. Thanks and we hope to see you again.

Guest from Hexham stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in August 2014


Great location but cottage leaves a lot to be desired on the cleanliness front

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Aug 2014
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Whilst overall we had a reasonably enjoyable stay at Cnoc Fuar we were bitterly disappointed with the standard of cleanliness and the poor state of repair of the cottage. The large rugs in both the lounge and hallway didn't look like they had seen a vacuum cleaner in weeks. Both were full of smelly dog hairs and there were also a lot of dog hairs on the sofas. (BTW the Henry hoover also smelt really bad when it was switched on!) The sofa seat cushions hid a multitude of rubbish and old food debris which was also in evidence underneath the sofas on the floor. There was a dirty, dusty old sock under the master bed which looked like it had also been there for weeks.

We were also disappointed that some of the locks on the windows didn't work, especially in the bunk bed room which is were our 2 small children were sleeping. Didn't feel that this was really secure enough. Overall the cottage felt it needed a bit of time and money spent on it to bring it up to standard. The windows looked really old and rotting, the skirting boards were all about an inch off the floor and we could see daylight underneath, some of the skirting boards looked rotten, the paint work outside was shabby and peeling.

That said, the size of the property was perfect for us (2 adults, 2 small children) The cottage was warm and there was always scalding hot water on tap in both the kitchen and the bathroom (odd size of bath in the bathroom though - fine for kids but comically small for adults!) Bath needs to have a bath mat please!! Very slippy in the shower! Beds were warm and comfortable, kitchen had everything you might need. Could have done with some outdoor furniture though. Difficult to make the most of light, warm evenings outdoors as there was absolutely nowhere to sit or eat outside.

Overall we would rate this property highly in terms of location, view, size and amount of hot water. But we wouldn't recommend it on it's cleanliness or condition. Both need serious attention from the owners.


Guest from Orpington stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2014


Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Cnoc Fuar cottage several times and we love it! it's really comfortable, cosy and well equipped. The only slightly negative aspect for us is the bunk beds in the second bedroom instead of two singles - while the bunk beds are no doubt good for children they are not really suitable for older adults. We would love our parents to come with us but can't really expect 70 year-olds to sleep in bunk beds. The space allows for two single beds and we feel it would have been a better option. As it is we would have to go elsewhere if our elderly parents come along which is a shame. Otherwise the cottage is perfect. (Hopefully, there won't be any more tree felling work spoiling views from the cottage!)

Guest from stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in July 2014


spring break.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great little cottage, fairly basic but comfortable has ever thing you need,, best suited for two people. Easy access to Tobermory and exploring the rest of the island.

Guest from Alnwick stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in May 2014


Cnoc Fuar

Review submitted on Wed, 07 May 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is remote but warm, comfortable and weatherproof. It's close enough to Tobemory for shopping and eating out, and its location in the Glengorm Castle grounds give plenty of choice of spectacular walking. A car would definiely be an asset there. We enjoyed our week there and would go back again.

Guest from Voorschoten stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in April 2014


Lovely stay at this cosy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time at Cnoc Fuar, the cottage itself is perfect for our small family. The views out of the master bedroom window were great to wake up to.

The cottage is very cosy and has everything you will need to make your stay comfortable. Especially the duvets, which seemed very expensive and meant a great nights sleep in a breezy April. Being an old cottage there were some draughts which the storage heaters couldn't cope with, but the extra heaters and log fire made up for it.

We went with our dog, while the cottage is dog friendly, the lack of garden or enclosure, and the road next to the cottage meant that when we let him out we had to go out with him to keep him safe, which wasn't great in the rain (that came in horizontally)...

The walking around Glengorm is top notch, with walks for all abilities, we recommend the Volcano walk which we did on our last day, it was breathtaking.

If you like some home comforts then I recommend that you take them with you as shopping is limited (Co-Op in Tobermory), and some of the produce is expensive (12 eggs nearly £3.00). Take the opportunity to get fresh bread from the Bakery in Tobermory, that was excellent.

We will return to Glengorm as soon as we can, although for the dogs sake we will probably look towards Sorne Cottages next time.

K


Guest from Stillington stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in April 2014


a great escape

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I was born and brought up on the isle of Tiree, and spent most of my childhood on the island. However I had never realised how diverse the isle of Mull is. My wife and I and our German Shepard spent a week on the Glengorm estate. We walked ran and drove the length and breadth of the island, taking in such a vast array of wild life. I think we were aided by arriving before the season started and having some great weather throughout our time on Mull. We will most decently return to Glengorm as it is such a lovely estate, and an amazing location.

Innes from Peterborough stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in March 2014


Cnoc Fuar

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy, comfortable cottage in excellent location on Glengorm Estate, always clean and well-appointed. Good base for exploring Mull. We have been four times in four years which says it all.

Guest from Insch stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in March 2014


Cozy place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Mar 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've got a great discount for March, and had a very good time during our stay in Cnoc Fuar. The house could have been a bit warmer, but it has a very cozy atmosphere (both inside and outside). It is also very well located in order to drive around the Isle. Highly recommended for a relaxing holiday far from the noise and speed of daily city life!

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in March 2014


Great week-end at Cnoc Fuar

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic ! We had a very relaxing time at Cnoc Fuar; the cottage provided a very snug and welcoming base for us to return to after trips around Mull.

Guest from London stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 4 nights in February 2014


Did not want to leave

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We chose Cnoc Fuad for the location. From the moment we arrived everything was as we expected. The cottage was so cosy and comfortable, could not fault.

Guest from Kendal stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in February 2014


Remote and near comforts at the same time! Perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Absolutely loved this self catering cottage. It's only 2 miles north of Tobermory, where you can get groceries or sit in the chocolate shop or wander the bay, but in those 2 miles you feel you've gone a hundred, and the cottage sits on a hill with amazing views. Walk up to the radio tower nearby and much of the northwest edge of the Isle of Mull is opened up to you - absolutely glorious on a dry day. Extremely windy when we went up (and watch out for peat bogs if you stray off the path!!), but glorious. Cottage itself is just right - looks small but very spacious, a tiny wood fireplace that works well (wood included), and a spacious kitchen considering how it fits in to the front of the cottage. The whole place stays very warm, even on freezing, windy, wet, or snowy days (or days that combine them all, which we had!). Definitely recommended.

Guest from Airdrie stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 3 nights in February 2014


Mull Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cnoc Fuar is an great hideaway on Mull. It's ideally located in a secluded area of countryside, yet still handily close to Tobermory. The cottage is clean, cosy and well looked after. All in all we had a thoroughly pleasant stay there.

Guest from stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in December 2013


Beautiful, Remote Location!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our 3rd stay at Cnoc Faur due to the wonderful location. We have stayed at many other cottages on the island, but prefer the Glengorm properties.

My only real critism was reported to the manager and that was the double bed was totally at the end of its life. The springs could be felt through the cover due to the fillings breaking down. We have holiday cottages and one of my main priorities is to make sure the beds are of a high standard.

Overall I would recommend this cottage to anyone who enjoys peace and quite, watching the wildlife, yet still within 10 minutes drive of Tobermory!

Best wishes,

Dave & Sandie Lloyd


Guest from stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in November 2013


Family getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all loved the cottage and the area and are already planning a return. I would move to Mull tomorrow, the walks and peacefulness made it so special.

Paul from Bickerton stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in October 2013


Cnoc Fuar Review

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The aroma from the wood fire on an evening was delightful. The bellowing mating stags in the distance added to the whole experience living on a country estate.

Enjoyed our week very much, this was our second stay on the Glengorm estate and it will not be the last time.

Thankyou to all concerned,

regards Dave and Heather Gallagher


Guest from Middlesbrough stayed at Cnoc Fuar for 7 nights in September 2013