FB Twitter

Durstone Cottages

Durstone Cottages

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Set in rural Hereford ,with great views and countryside we can accommodate up to 22 people ,ideal for gatherings of families and friends.

large detached property situated in a peaceful location on a working farm at the end of a mile long track, on the outskirts of the pretty village of Pencombe. Popular with Stag and Hen weekends, the pub is within easy walking distance, there are no neighbours to disturb and there are several activity operators within a short drive. We also accept dogs.”

7/11/19 - 9/11/19

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for the weekend as my sister was getting married locally. It was perfect for all the family to stay together but also have some personal space if needed. We really enjoyed our time at Durstone Cottages and look forward to returning in the future.



Jasmine from Dursley stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in November 2019


Lovely place for a country escape

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seventeen members of our family ( with dogs) thoroughly enjoyed our weekend here. The rural setting is beautiful with rolling fields all around. All bedrooms have a beautiful view. The cottage is located about a mile down an unmade road so very peaceful. Cattle grids make the garden area safe for children and dogs to roam a little. The house has everything you might need for a self catering stay. Sarah is a great hostess. Can thoroughly recommend Durstone Cottages.

Richard from Shrewsbury stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in September 2019


Ideal for gatherings with lots of kids

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had five families getting together, with thirteen children under 10. We found that the house was big enough, bedrooms and bathrooms comfortable, kitchens well equipped. The outdoor space was great, and the kids could play freely around the property with no worry of traffic etc. Sarah was very helpful and it was great that she was laid back and the property was nice, but was not like a showhome, so we could be relaxed.
Only downside were the huge number of flies, but I think we were just unlucky with time of year/weather conditions there.


Alistair from York stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in August 2019


Great stay! Fantastic host, great communication

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5* service, great host that really helped. Definitely recommend and would stay again! The cottage is huge and fits over 20 people, a real star find. Difficult to get taxis for big groups so I would recommend booking them in advance. The cottage is fabulous!

Gayatri from Coventry stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in July 2019


Stag Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal venue for a stag weekend. Everything you need for a fun night in and not too far away from Worcester for a night out.

Tomos from Cardiff stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in June 2019


Excellent holiday let for large parties

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marvellous and comfortable house. Excellent location and hosts. Highly recommended for a party or group activity.

MARC from WINDSOR stayed at Durstone Cottages for 5 nights in May 2019


A truly excellent holiday rental

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of this house was absolutely idyllic.
The games room provided hour of entertainers to for everyone from the babies to adults. I was so impressed at the comfort and cleanliness of the house and would come back again.


Branwen from Greatham stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in April 2019


Comfortable stay in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a comfortable stay as a group of 13. All the facilities worked well and the location was very peaceful, surrounded by fields full of singing birds including skylarks.

Guest from Oxford stayed at Durstone Cottages for 7 nights in March 2019


Stag do weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for somewhere remote and these cottages offered exactly that. Sarah was brilliant in terms of initial contact and organising and also making us feel welcome. Games room with pool and table tennis was a welcome addition and not too far away from Hereford if you wanted to head out into a more populated area.
Everyone had a great weekend !


Chris from Nottingham stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in November 2018


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
20 of us stayed here for my birthday aged between 3 months and 86 with 2 dogs and the cottages provided everything we needed in a beautiful setting. The cottages are warm, clean and very comfortable, Sarah is very helpful and I would unreservedly recommend a stay here.

SARA from stayed at Durstone Cottages for 7 nights in November 2018


Child friendly

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with a group of friends with young children. The house was great for kids and lots of space to run around outside.
Large dining area was a bonus.


Guest from Lichfield stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in September 2018


80th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed the opportunity of celebrating our 80th birthdays with our family in this beautiful part of Herefordshire. The setting of the cottages on the top of a hill is wonderful with spectacular views. The accommodation suited our purposes and provided facilities for people of varying ages to enjoy themselves indoors and outside. Our young grandchildren could play safely without the close supervision of their parents. The second part of the week there were just 3 of us, but that allowed us time to recover, chill out and enjoy the peace and quiet that the location offered. We did not feel isolated, but enjoyed the peace and tranquility, and we appreciated Sarah's support and willingness to help if needed, but also that she respected our privacy. Thank you very much for making this a time we shall remember with pleasure.

Peter from Derby stayed at Durstone Cottages for 7 nights in July 2018


Diamond Wedding Celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sarah had provided everything we had requested for a fantastic weekend in this beautiful location in Herefordshire.

Nicholas from Bedford stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in July 2018


A fantastic family Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal place for a large gathering. It was so well equipped for our family of 19 and the dogs and really cosy. Sarah was so helpful throughout the whole booking and stay.

Julie from Earby stayed at Durstone Cottages for 5 nights in December 2017


Just what we wanted

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage for a large group to stay, We had a 50th and could not fault the cottage, spacious, comfortable, large dinning/communal room and a games room! What more do you want. Oh yes, set in beautiful countryside.

Michael from Bristol stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in October 2017


Family celebration at Durstone Cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location in every sense for our family get together...beautiful countryside and the opportunity to be together for meals,games and chats -but with space for me time and a chill out if you wanted it.We particularly enjoyed the games room-its a chance to let your hair down and have a go at table tennis, pool and table football -who cares if you haven't a clue about the rules?there were 20 in our group-youngest 13mths...most senior 87yrs-the rooms and facilities were just right for us all.
I appreciated the friendly help and advice from Sarah before our stay,we went to the 'Plough' for a birthday meal before setting off for home on her recommendation.The nearby Queenswood Country Park made a lovely day out for us all..and its free!
Jill from Somerset


Jill from Bridgwater stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in September 2017


Brilliant house for big groups

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house met all of our needs, great big dining hall for group meals and a games room which kept us all entertained. The place itself was clean and spacious and in an amazing location, only a short walk to the local village pub.

lily from stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in August 2017


Perfect rural getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Thank you for a lovely weekend away. The house was extremely comfortable and the location stunning! We were a group of 17 - seven couples and three singles and the house felt cosy yet spacious. We loved dining together at the large table, looking out onto the beautiful views. Having such a private and secluded setting was ideal too, meaning we didn't have to worry about noise levels and could enjoy the weekend to the max.

Katy from Richmond stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in July 2017


90th birthday celebration.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful weekend with family. The first time we have all been able to meet. No worries about neighbors complaining about the noise - from the adults as well as the great grandchildren. Two kitchens were very useful to cater for a very mixed company of adults and children.

Joan from Basingtoke stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in April 2017


RAF Reunion

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent..couldnt fault it in any way.
Will book again for next year.
Everyone had a fabulous time.
Thanks again


Neil from Bridgend stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in March 2017


Lovely large cottage. Good value for money!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
24 humans and 3 small dogs stayed at Durstone Cottage for a family reunion. The accommodation was plenty big enough for everyone and was very warm and comfortable with fresh clean white bedding.
Surrounded by fields allowed for good walks with beautiful views.
Very good value for money. A return visit is planned!
Thank you Sarah (owner).


Caroline from Horsham stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in March 2017


Stag party.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was perfect for our stag party. The house was very clean and very big which was good in fitting us all in confortably. We used many appliances and had no problems with any as all worked well. We really enjoyed the games room and the fact that the house was secluded so noise was not an issue. Sarah was really helpful with booking the house as well as extra things I needed to think about e.g coach hire and takeaways. Everyone really enjoyed it and I would defiantly recommend this house to others. Thanks again for having us

Guest from Reading stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in March 2017


Lovely setting, rural and remote....

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rustic property, needs updating in certain areas, some bedrooms better than others. Wi-fi very poor. That said, we had a great time, the owner was very helpful.

Guest from Cardiff stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in December 2016


Amazing accommodation for family of 21

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family has stayed here for a few years - there is a great dining room which seats us all together.

Guest from Bristol stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in November 2016


Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really great time here. Great space, with a lovely pub (Wheelwright Arms) within walking distance. 10/10

Jack from London stayed at Durstone Cottages for 3 nights in October 2016


Ideal for all my family and 11 grandchildren to holiday together

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottages worked very well for our four families, with the two kitchens connected by the long dinning room table to seat 22, where we ate meals, played games. When one dishwasher didn't work, someone came to check within an hour, and new one fitted the following day. 11 grandchildren aged 3 to 15 played happily around the property and in the garage with table tennis. The mile long drive too rough for bikes and sometimes could smell the pig farm. Would have helped to have a tumble drier. However the weather was good and views fantastic and a lovely holiday was had by all.

Heather from Market Drayton stayed at Durstone Cottages for 7 nights in July 2016


Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent family weekend celebrating my wife's birthday with 7 adults and 6 children aged 1yr to 10yr. The location was perfect with lovely views, and the cottages provided plenty of space for adults and children alike. Situated far enough away from the roads to allow the children to run free, and in the evenings, the games room was a brilliant facility that provided endless fun, although noticeable that it must have been used a lot over the summer, and showed signs of needing a bit of a rest.
The house facilities had a good starting supply of cleaning products (dishwasher powder, washing up liquid etc) and the use of both kitchens was a bonus on the first night when we ate in.
Village pub was a little too far away for the children to walk, and the path too rough for push chair, but provided adequate "pub grub" for all on the second night.
All in all, an enjoyable time, and would definitely return.


Andy from Rothwell stayed at Durstone Cottages for 2 nights in September 2016