FB Twitter

Wrynose Cottage

Wrynose Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


A charming and spacious 1 bedroom cottage situated all on ground level to suit those with toddlers or limited mobility.

Cosy cottage, perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for us, cosy but plenty of space for two people. Kitchen was well equipped with everything you need. The location in Boot was beautiful with walking straight from the doorstep. A lovely little shop and two pubs within less than 5 minutes walk, with great food options. A fantastic stay!



wonderful place.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have been to many places in lake district but this particular cottage has been amazing itself and the location was superb.Cozy , great homely and safe feeling makes it the best place to
stay . my 4 years old daughter loved it. will
definately visit again and again.
thank you.




Great Stay for New Year

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved staying at Wrynose. All very good. Our only negative comments would be
. Car parking, but we appreciate not a lot can be done about that;
. A view would have been nice, but again we appreciate not a lot can be done about that;
. An extra heater would make the bathroom much more comfortable in the winter time;
. Interesting there was Sky TV. Fine if you’re into sport but it seemed what we wanted to watch, had to be paid for. Netflix would be more all rounded.




Halters weekend break

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage. Very clean and had every thing we needed for the weekend. It is in a beautiful spot and The Boot Inn was excellent for a pub meal.
However we did not sleep well. The mattress was very firm/ hard.
Also,I think we were unlucky. The adjoining property was let out for one night to a party of young adults. They were well equipped with lights and sound equipment. We could hear the base booming from early evening. They did turn it down following our request but we could still hear it until atleast 1am. We noticed a mess with cigarette buts and beer bottles outside the property the following morning.
Maybe enquire ages of all occupants on booking if you don’t want to be a party venue.




Greg Poole replied 226 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments about the cottage and our special part of the Lake District and of course the excellent pubs in the village. We have super heavy, high spring count 5 star quality mattresses and the vast majority of our guests love them. Some even ask where we buy them. Yes, they are medium firm and sadly we cannot cater for every taste. We erred on the side of medium firm as being better than soft for a good nights sleep. We will buy some toppers and leave notes in the house-book suggesting guests contact our housekeeper if they wish for a topper to soften the mattress a little. Regarding the adjoining cottage, this was very unfortunate indeed and was a one off. We were asked if we would rent for one night. We don't usually do one night rentals. The guest booked but deliberately ignored our questions about the make up of their group. We cannot be rude and assume they are going to be unruly, we have to give the benefit of doubt. The walls between the two cottages are between 2.5 and 3 feet thick so the music must have been very loud and we are extremely sorry that your weekend was disturbed by inconsiderate guests. We are not a party venue and more than 99% of our guests come for the enjoyment of the scenery and the hiking. We are also a no smoking establishment so it is disappointing that this rule was broken and that a mess was left by the guests. They are not welcome back at Bridge End Farm Cottages. We do however hope you can see that this was a really unfortunate one off experience and will come and enjoy the glorious Eskdale Valley with us again sometime soon. Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

A delightful cottage, and a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wrynose cottage is located in the small community of Boot, very close to the Eskdale Mill, adjacent to the Whillan Beck. It's a beautiful site, with a small local shop and several popular hill-walking routes starting metres from your front door. The Blea Tarn, Brat's Hill Stone Circles, the Stanley Ghyll Waterfall and St. Catherine's Church are all very close.

The cottage *is* very small, with a lounge, kitchen and (large) bathroom located downstairs, and a single 'open' bedroom up a staircase along the back wall. It feels more like a loft or mezzanine than a bedroom, but the bed is comfy and has plenty of storage. For a couple, it is perfect.

The cottage is very authentic (looks like a barn conversion), well maintained, cosy, has a 'basic' kitchen (fully equipped), and a WiFi that works "most of the time". For those that need it, there is a TV with Sky / Netflix etc. The entire Eskdale area has almost no telephone signal, so we used the WiFi to keep in touch with people.

Seascale, Wast Water, Scafell Pike, the Roman fort (Hardknott Pass) and even Windermere and Ambleside are within easy reach by car. And while Eskdale is relatively isolated (hence no phone signal), there are three pubs within walking distance, including the Boot Inn, Brook House Inn, and the Woolpack Inn at the foot of the Hardknott Pass, all of which provide meals. And several more are just a short drive away.

I highly recommend the cottage and the location. I have just one minor gripe – the parking is very tight if all the Bridge End Farm Cottages are in use. The owners provide a parking plan which leaves room for everyone. However, if one of the visitors ignores the plan, parking can be challenging.




Good location, poor living area

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2023
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for serious walking in the Lakes and very beautiful all around. Lots of pubs locally to go to but it is a long drive to any of the Lakeland towns like Coniston or Ambleside, so take everything by with you. The cottage was all fine apart from the living room which was cramped and dark with a poor outlook over a wall and other residents walking past. The dining chairs are the wrong size for table and the decor needs updating. We thought it was quite expensive because of this. I wouldn’t recommend this cottage but the others looked better as they face the shared garden, which is really nice and goes down to the river.



Greg Poole replied 329 days ago
Thank you for your positive comments about our stunning location, the beauty, the walks and great local pubs. We are in the middle of the Lake District National Park with mountains all around. This is why people come to us. Those wishing to be in Ambleside generally book near there. We are sorry that you found the living room cramped. Most people find the space perfectly fine and we have lots of great reviews from previous guests who were more than happy. Wrynose Cottage has probably the best views from the bedroom of all our cottages with a double aspect view of the fells and hills and also another view of the valley. It also has a large bathroom with slipper bath and large shower. Most of our guests love it. The cottage is ideal for couples bringing their dog as the dog will not see and bark at other dogs in our large paddock. There is a large apple tree in view from the living room which has bird feeders. No one has mentioned the dining chairs were unsatisfactory or the decor needed updating and we actually had the dining chairs re upholstered recently. Our Italian leather sofa is in pristine condition and purchased just before the Covid lockdowns so is actually not that old. In terms of price, July is a peak price period. The price is lower outside the July and August summer season. Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

Wrynose Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage rather compact and the view out against the stone wall was not inspiring. We thought we had a back entrance into the field but must have misunderstood that from your website. The most difficult thing was the parking. We have a large car and it was not easy moving in and out particularly over the bank holiday weekend when all the cottages were occupied.

My wife thought the kitchen could have been better equipped. The TV was a constant source of problems. We did not get the hang of using the controls. Whilst we were there the sets would not give the local news because they had transferred to HD. It was asking us to re-tune - but we did not attempt. Someone who understands what they are doing needs to set up on HD.

We enjoyed Eskdale and the weather was excellent. We walked 40 miles in 6 days so that was not bad.





Greg Poole replied 362 days ago
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed Eskdale and you certainly made the most of the excellent weather with 40 mils in 6 days. We are also sorry you found the cottage compact. Most of our guests love it. Especially the fell views from the bedroom and the large bathroom with large shower and slipper bath. No one has mentioned that the kitchen does not have enough equipment. If a guests suggests something, we generally buy it and add it to the inventory. If we knew what you wanted we could have added it to the cottage. We are sorry too that you found the TV difficult to work. Our manager Amy would quite happily have popped into the cottage and shown you how to use the remote and how to switch channels etc. The parking generally works well if everyone parks in their allocated bay but sometimes a guest does not keep to parking within the lines and this impacts the rest of the parking bays. Normally there is no problem. You cancelled your trip in the light of having Covid a few days before your holiday and we left no stone unturned to keep your reservation open in the hope that you would be Covid free by the date of your trip - or even a day or two into your scheduled visit. Many businesses would not have done this, they might simply have said the cottage is cancelled. We managed your circumstances extremely sympathetically, as we can do so, being a small family business and we did manage to reinstate your holiday when you were Covid free. A huge amount of effort and liaison went into this and some recognition or gratitude would have been most welcome. Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

Amazing location, lovely cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic location. No need to drive anywhere really, just enjoy the unspoiled remoteness. Walks in all directions from the doorstep. If you are feeling energetic you can walk over the fell to Wasdale and then attempt Scafell Pike. A long day but amazing experience. The River Esk walk was lovely. The Boot Inn did a delicious Sunday lunch wasked down with Cumbria Way ale. One tip would to bring plenty of food for the week. Other than the pubs there's nothing really close by for every day eating especially if you are on a budget. Highly recommend cottage and location..will be back.



The perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really can’t recommend these cottages enough, very clean and a perfect location. Very friendly to deal with during booking and the staff we encountered during our stay couldn’t do enough to help. Lots of helpful information and directions provided before we traveled, we will definitely be back, thank you again!



Short Birthday Break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our host Greg was wonderful and helped give great directions for some lovely walks.
Wrynose cottage was charming, comfortable and clean.
We loved every minute of our stay.




Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location, clean property, very nice for a Christmas getaway and dog friendly, bit pricey for what you get.



Very nice place great location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at Wrynose cottage in Boot. The location is perfect with walks from the door step we only used the car once in a week. Pubs that do food within walking distance and a shop; steam railway; and working water mill. It's truly a lovely place to stay. Can't fault it!



A week in Eskdale

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was perfect for two of us. It had everything we needed for a great week, and was also very close to two excellent places to eat.



Wrynose Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Wrynose Cottage. The location was perfect although parking a little tight. The Boot Inn and the Brook House Inn are both to be highly recommended. We had a slight issue with there not being enough hot water to fill the bath after a long walk, but this was quickly sorted out with the help of a lady who was doing the laundry. Cottage had everything that we needed, the bed was very comfortable and our dog loved playing ball in the paddock.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Wrynose Cottage, the cottage had everything we needed and was very clean and comfortable.
The location is ideal for a lot of lovely walks and also for the two local pubs. We used the Boot Inn both nights as it’s the closest and the weather was bad - it was beautifully decorated for Xmas, the food was great and the staff friendly and welcoming.
Like I said the weather was awful the first day but it’s December and the country had just been bashed by storm Arwen, we were grateful for the heating and the movie Chanel’s once we dried off! The second day we managed to get out properly and it was lovely although we couldn’t get to the waterfalls because of the storm.
We had a lovely stay and I’d like to thank Greg for being so accommodating with my check out requests. The customer service was fab and we have no complaints - in fact we’d love to stay again in the summer,




A great week in the Lakes

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to clean and cosy cottage, and we soon settled in.
We enjoyed the ‘easy’ walks, not very.




Fantastic early autumn weekend in beautiful Eskdale

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time I have stayed in Bridge End Farm Cottages and Wrynose is as charming as the others. The cottage is very cosy and also well equipped. Greg and the team could not have been more helpful with the arrangements, It was lovely to unwind there after a rather strenuous climb up Scafell from Upper Eskdale and a long tramp back into the valley via Stony Tarn and Eel Tarn.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage. Very comfortable all set in a great location. We are in our 70’s and this was our first stay here at Wrynose as we came with family who always stay at Hardknott cottage. A great recommendation and thank you to the Bridge end team for looking after us so well. We hope to return.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were wowed from the minute we arrived on the cobbles. Our little holiday house was beautiful, quaint and stylishly decorated. Amy was very welcoming. I requested a stair gate and after we returned on a first day out, it was fitted for me. The garden was lovely with the river running along the garden. The location was stunning just a few minutes walk to the local pub (make sure you book a table in advance) and the steam train 10 minute walk. Wrynose cottage was idyllic and worth every penny. Thank you so much for making our little trip so perfect.



Booked again

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of a group of properties in an idyllic spot.
Cosy cottage with everything you need. Surrounded by wonderful scenery. Amazing walking and a pub on the doorstep. We have booked again for next year




Beautiful location, great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 4 excellent days in Wrynose cottage. The cottage was very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Although connected to the other cottages very quiet and with a beautiful garden to have breakfast and evening drinks in.
The facilities all worked - lots of hot water, good internet and the laundry was a god-send. 2 pubs within 5 mins walk, and excellent starting location for walks around Eskdale, a shop 1 minute away and the Ravenglass & Eskdale railway only 10 mins walk away. Great location for adults and children.
For two of us the cottage was excellent and we definitely plan to return. On the website it says 2+1+baby could stay there. I think a bit small for more than 2+ a baby, but others may not share that view!!
Well worth visiting




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for those kind comments that you found the cottage excellent and we are delighted to hear you loved our wonderful location enjoying the pubs, shop, walks and train. Regarding numbers, we don’t actually get many guests with more than a baby staying but just occasionally we get a family with two young children - say a 3 year old and 1 year old. As we don’t have a 2 bedroom cottage - it’s either 1 or 4 bedroom, we try and provide this service. We do point out that it’s a one bedroom cottage so a bit of a squeeze and families with older children are better off booking a large cottage. It seems to work and like I said, it’s not often and probably only once a year that we get a 2 + 1 +1 situation. We look forward to welcoming you to our special part of the Lake District again sometime soon. Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very pleasant stay in Wrynose. The cottage was very clean and to a high standard. The only negative is due to the old building and only windows at one side of the property downstairs it is a bit dark in the living area downstairs (very light and airy in the lovely bedroom) so we were pleased for a full week of sunshine. It would be a very cosy cottage in winter. Great location and lovely garden space. Thank you.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed lots of warm Cumbrian sunshine along with our gardens and special location. Regarding the light, we do have four big glazed windows at the front and also bring light from the bedroom down the stairs too. it is indeed a very cosy cottage. Perhaps you could come back and explore the delights of Eskdale in the winter months.

Ideal location

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great location Boot is and the cottages are situated in the middle of the village with walks from the front door . There are at least 3 restaurants and pubs within in easy walking distance and a selection of 4 or 5 more within 10 minutes by car. Great walking, friendly people and wonderful countryside!



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage set in a perfect location for hiking, or relaxing. Very comfortable, with everything you need for a great stay. 2 lovely pubs within a 2 minute walk, serving food and drinks. The garden at the rear providing picnic tables and bbq’s. Car parking can be tricky but only if others don’t park within the lines. Will happily return again and again if availability when we need it!



Lovely little cottage tucked away in a quiet corner of the Lakes

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely bright airy bedroom with a huge comfy bed and lovely views. Nice bathroom. Downstairs a little dark and poky as this isn’t one of the cottages with windows that overlook the communal garden. Kitchen had everything we needed although preparation space is limited. Tea/coffee/milk provided.
Perfect location nestled at the end of the quiet Boot valley. Would recommend.




Cosy cottage in the heart of Boot

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely few days away in Boot with our 6 month old daughter for her first holiday. The cottage was in a perfect location and was easy to access. Plenty of walks right from the cottage door and just a couple of minutes stroll from The Brook House Inn where you always get a warm welcome.
We already can’t wait to go back




Quality, comfort and what a location!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was just what we wanted - so clean and comfortable and the car could just stay parked as we enjoyed the stunning location. Real quality.



Good to get away somewhere different

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Wrynose cottage with the intention of not using our car for the whole week. With an OS walking map and a train ride to Ravenglass, we found plenty to do. We ate out at the Boot Inn a couple of evenings. They were managing the current situation very well. We were very pleased with the broadband speed and although not mentioned in the property details, we appreciated the separate small freezer which was sufficient for our needs.



Very relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have visited and the cottage is a great place to escape to. Very well equipped and in an excellent location. Everything is of a high standard



Amazing!!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my fiancé had a fabulous stay at Wynrose Cottage we loved everything, location, amenities, was everything we could have asked for and more! The morning we left we booked to return in March, that speaks for itself!



A Lovely Place To Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful even if the weather wasn't for our stay. Every area was spotlessly clean which was very reassuring in these times. A minor irritation was that the central heating was coming on during the night and not at the daily times that were mentioned in the 'house literature'. We requested this be looked at and it was dealt with quickly so we had heating in the morning but still it came on at night. I would say it wasn't a major problem for us but something that obviously needs attention.
Another thing that may perhaps be considered is to provide some instructions for working the cooker. It is of a very advanced design and took us a little while to discover how to switch it on.




Felt very safe and well looked after

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were hesitant about going away at all, but the team were excellent at making us feel safe in the cottage. It was spotless on arrival, and instructions provided in advance for all aspects of checking in and out were very thorough.

An issue with the TV on arrival was sorted out first thing the next day, and everything else was well managed.

The cottage was ideal for our needs, quiet and right next to footpaths so we hardly used the car all week. A small shop at the end of the drive provided most of our lunches, and the local pubs are great.

The parking is challenging, and is reliant on other guests parking considerately, which was not always the case, but we managed even in our pretty wide car. I'd also warn any tall guests that the cottage has some low beams, so be prepared to duck a lot or expect some bruises otherwise. But everything within the control of the hosts was excellent.




Beautiful cottage in an incredible location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was well equiped and in a wonderful location with lots of walking, swimming and other activities right on the doorstep. It was great to not have to use the car every day.
Cottage was comfortable and just large enough for two.
There was lots of information available and communication prior to stay was very good.
I would definately recommend, and would love to return.




High standard

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely renovated cottages, high standard and quality fit. Although in a rather remote part of the lakes, two pubs in walking distance. Well stocked kitchen.
Beautiful walks and cycle routes from doorstep.




Wrynose

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent New Year here and had a fantastic time. The cottage has everything that you could wish, character but with all mod cons. Set in a stunning location it was a perfect way to start the New Year



A magical corner of Cumbria

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and 3 yr old son stayed at the beautiful Wrynose cottage one of several of Select gorgeous cottages, set on the back drop of Whillan Beck the most picturesque stream literally in the garden of the cottage with a little bridge at the end of it.
This is great for relaxing and great for kids to dip the feet in the stream and plenty of room to run about. Right next to the cottage is an old roman Mill and museum which has an abundance of history. Down the cobbled quiet road about a 100 yards are 2 different pubs serving great food and local ales. A five minute walk down from these pubs is Dalegarth station, The Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway is one of the oldest and longest narrow gauge railways in England, known affectionately as La’al Ratty meaning “little railway“. The views on this short 30 minute journey are spectacular and my little boy was spellbound on his little steam train. It takes you to Ravenglass where Muncaster Castle is situated. I could go on about the area and the various things to do but I cannot recommend Select Cottages enough, Greg and his team are A class and to stay in a truly 5 star luxury cottage at very reasonable prices is rare. The cottage itself has everything you’d need, the cleanliness is 10/10 the bed is so comfy you’ll be asleep in no time and if you can’t, well, there’s a skylight on the ceiling so you can drift off looking at the stars. Cheers Select, we will be back. A truly magical stay.
Many thanks
Chris, Becky and Keaton. X




Magical location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic little cottage. Just perfect for 2 people. It’s small, but the way they’ve used the space is genius. The location is perfect - so much to explore from your front door!



Superb in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd stay in 7 weeks superb in every way can't wait for next time, fantastic area lovely places to visit great scenery lovely pub with great food close many thanks



A great cottage beautifully appointed. Thank you

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. Access slightly restricted by narrow drive and parking very tight. Apart from that everything was great!
We hope to make a return visit!




Superb in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage in a stunning location beautiful surroundings a great pub close by that does lovely food plenty of local attractions couldn't praise highly enough.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jo, Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages