FB Twitter

Wrynose Cottage

Wrynose Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


A charming and spacious 1 bedroom cottage situated all on ground level to suit those with toddlers or limited mobility.

A great week in the Lakes

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to clean and cosy cottage, and we soon settled in.
We enjoyed the ‘easy’ walks, not very.




Fantastic early autumn weekend in beautiful Eskdale

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time I have stayed in Bridge End Farm Cottages and Wrynose is as charming as the others. The cottage is very cosy and also well equipped. Greg and the team could not have been more helpful with the arrangements, It was lovely to unwind there after a rather strenuous climb up Scafell from Upper Eskdale and a long tramp back into the valley via Stony Tarn and Eel Tarn.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage. Very comfortable all set in a great location. We are in our 70’s and this was our first stay here at Wrynose as we came with family who always stay at Hardknott cottage. A great recommendation and thank you to the Bridge end team for looking after us so well. We hope to return.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were wowed from the minute we arrived on the cobbles. Our little holiday house was beautiful, quaint and stylishly decorated. Amy was very welcoming. I requested a stair gate and after we returned on a first day out, it was fitted for me. The garden was lovely with the river running along the garden. The location was stunning just a few minutes walk to the local pub (make sure you book a table in advance) and the steam train 10 minute walk. Wrynose cottage was idyllic and worth every penny. Thank you so much for making our little trip so perfect.



Booked again

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of a group of properties in an idyllic spot.
Cosy cottage with everything you need. Surrounded by wonderful scenery. Amazing walking and a pub on the doorstep. We have booked again for next year




Beautiful location, great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 4 excellent days in Wrynose cottage. The cottage was very tastefully decorated and comfortable. Although connected to the other cottages very quiet and with a beautiful garden to have breakfast and evening drinks in.
The facilities all worked - lots of hot water, good internet and the laundry was a god-send. 2 pubs within 5 mins walk, and excellent starting location for walks around Eskdale, a shop 1 minute away and the Ravenglass & Eskdale railway only 10 mins walk away. Great location for adults and children.
For two of us the cottage was excellent and we definitely plan to return. On the website it says 2+1+baby could stay there. I think a bit small for more than 2+ a baby, but others may not share that view!!
Well worth visiting




Greg Poole replied 122 days ago
Thank you for those kind comments that you found the cottage excellent and we are delighted to hear you loved our wonderful location enjoying the pubs, shop, walks and train. Regarding numbers, we don’t actually get many guests with more than a baby staying but just occasionally we get a family with two young children - say a 3 year old and 1 year old. As we don’t have a 2 bedroom cottage - it’s either 1 or 4 bedroom, we try and provide this service. We do point out that it’s a one bedroom cottage so a bit of a squeeze and families with older children are better off booking a large cottage. It seems to work and like I said, it’s not often and probably only once a year that we get a 2 + 1 +1 situation. We look forward to welcoming you to our special part of the Lake District again sometime soon. Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very pleasant stay in Wrynose. The cottage was very clean and to a high standard. The only negative is due to the old building and only windows at one side of the property downstairs it is a bit dark in the living area downstairs (very light and airy in the lovely bedroom) so we were pleased for a full week of sunshine. It would be a very cosy cottage in winter. Great location and lovely garden space. Thank you.



Greg Poole replied 136 days ago
We are delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed lots of warm Cumbrian sunshine along with our gardens and special location. Regarding the light, we do have four big glazed windows at the front and also bring light from the bedroom down the stairs too. it is indeed a very cosy cottage. Perhaps you could come back and explore the delights of Eskdale in the winter months.

Ideal location

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great location Boot is and the cottages are situated in the middle of the village with walks from the front door . There are at least 3 restaurants and pubs within in easy walking distance and a selection of 4 or 5 more within 10 minutes by car. Great walking, friendly people and wonderful countryside!



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage set in a perfect location for hiking, or relaxing. Very comfortable, with everything you need for a great stay. 2 lovely pubs within a 2 minute walk, serving food and drinks. The garden at the rear providing picnic tables and bbq’s. Car parking can be tricky but only if others don’t park within the lines. Will happily return again and again if availability when we need it!



Lovely little cottage tucked away in a quiet corner of the Lakes

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely bright airy bedroom with a huge comfy bed and lovely views. Nice bathroom. Downstairs a little dark and poky as this isn’t one of the cottages with windows that overlook the communal garden. Kitchen had everything we needed although preparation space is limited. Tea/coffee/milk provided.
Perfect location nestled at the end of the quiet Boot valley. Would recommend.




Cosy cottage in the heart of Boot

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely few days away in Boot with our 6 month old daughter for her first holiday. The cottage was in a perfect location and was easy to access. Plenty of walks right from the cottage door and just a couple of minutes stroll from The Brook House Inn where you always get a warm welcome.
We already can’t wait to go back




Quality, comfort and what a location!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was just what we wanted - so clean and comfortable and the car could just stay parked as we enjoyed the stunning location. Real quality.



Good to get away somewhere different

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at Wrynose cottage with the intention of not using our car for the whole week. With an OS walking map and a train ride to Ravenglass, we found plenty to do. We ate out at the Boot Inn a couple of evenings. They were managing the current situation very well. We were very pleased with the broadband speed and although not mentioned in the property details, we appreciated the separate small freezer which was sufficient for our needs.



Very relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have visited and the cottage is a great place to escape to. Very well equipped and in an excellent location. Everything is of a high standard



Amazing!!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my fiancé had a fabulous stay at Wynrose Cottage we loved everything, location, amenities, was everything we could have asked for and more! The morning we left we booked to return in March, that speaks for itself!



A Lovely Place To Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful even if the weather wasn't for our stay. Every area was spotlessly clean which was very reassuring in these times. A minor irritation was that the central heating was coming on during the night and not at the daily times that were mentioned in the 'house literature'. We requested this be looked at and it was dealt with quickly so we had heating in the morning but still it came on at night. I would say it wasn't a major problem for us but something that obviously needs attention.
Another thing that may perhaps be considered is to provide some instructions for working the cooker. It is of a very advanced design and took us a little while to discover how to switch it on.




Felt very safe and well looked after

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were hesitant about going away at all, but the team were excellent at making us feel safe in the cottage. It was spotless on arrival, and instructions provided in advance for all aspects of checking in and out were very thorough.

An issue with the TV on arrival was sorted out first thing the next day, and everything else was well managed.

The cottage was ideal for our needs, quiet and right next to footpaths so we hardly used the car all week. A small shop at the end of the drive provided most of our lunches, and the local pubs are great.

The parking is challenging, and is reliant on other guests parking considerately, which was not always the case, but we managed even in our pretty wide car. I'd also warn any tall guests that the cottage has some low beams, so be prepared to duck a lot or expect some bruises otherwise. But everything within the control of the hosts was excellent.




Beautiful cottage in an incredible location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was well equiped and in a wonderful location with lots of walking, swimming and other activities right on the doorstep. It was great to not have to use the car every day.
Cottage was comfortable and just large enough for two.
There was lots of information available and communication prior to stay was very good.
I would definately recommend, and would love to return.




High standard

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely renovated cottages, high standard and quality fit. Although in a rather remote part of the lakes, two pubs in walking distance. Well stocked kitchen.
Beautiful walks and cycle routes from doorstep.




Wrynose

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent New Year here and had a fantastic time. The cottage has everything that you could wish, character but with all mod cons. Set in a stunning location it was a perfect way to start the New Year



A magical corner of Cumbria

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and 3 yr old son stayed at the beautiful Wrynose cottage one of several of Select gorgeous cottages, set on the back drop of Whillan Beck the most picturesque stream literally in the garden of the cottage with a little bridge at the end of it.
This is great for relaxing and great for kids to dip the feet in the stream and plenty of room to run about. Right next to the cottage is an old roman Mill and museum which has an abundance of history. Down the cobbled quiet road about a 100 yards are 2 different pubs serving great food and local ales. A five minute walk down from these pubs is Dalegarth station, The Ravenglass & Eskdale Railway is one of the oldest and longest narrow gauge railways in England, known affectionately as La’al Ratty meaning “little railway“. The views on this short 30 minute journey are spectacular and my little boy was spellbound on his little steam train. It takes you to Ravenglass where Muncaster Castle is situated. I could go on about the area and the various things to do but I cannot recommend Select Cottages enough, Greg and his team are A class and to stay in a truly 5 star luxury cottage at very reasonable prices is rare. The cottage itself has everything you’d need, the cleanliness is 10/10 the bed is so comfy you’ll be asleep in no time and if you can’t, well, there’s a skylight on the ceiling so you can drift off looking at the stars. Cheers Select, we will be back. A truly magical stay.
Many thanks
Chris, Becky and Keaton. X




Magical location

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic little cottage. Just perfect for 2 people. It’s small, but the way they’ve used the space is genius. The location is perfect - so much to explore from your front door!



Superb in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd stay in 7 weeks superb in every way can't wait for next time, fantastic area lovely places to visit great scenery lovely pub with great food close many thanks



A great cottage beautifully appointed. Thank you

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. Access slightly restricted by narrow drive and parking very tight. Apart from that everything was great!
We hope to make a return visit!




Superb in every way

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage in a stunning location beautiful surroundings a great pub close by that does lovely food plenty of local attractions couldn't praise highly enough.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jo, Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages