FB Twitter

Wastwater Cottage

Wastwater Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


A 500 year old grade II listed barn conversion, this splendid 4 bedroom 3 bathroom cottage has an enormous and stylish 40ft living room with baby grand piano, high ceiling and exposed trusses.

Pretty good

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location. Well designed cottage conversions.
Well equipped in all aspects.
Staff contact excellent.Impressed by Greg's direct management and responses.
Only criticism is polycotton bed linen, itchy and hot, and bedroom windows not opening much to air the rooms.
(I can see the safety issues)

Will probably use again and recommend to others, but shame about the bedding.
rob




A place of magic

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This wonderful cottage has my heart. It is set in the most beautiful location with everything you could possibly need. Sparkling clean and so comfortable, space, light and luxury.
Excellent kitchen and bathroom facilities and quality beds and bedding.
Every thought has gone into ensuring you can have a relaxing and fun break.
We stayed 5 days but easily could have stayed much longer and we never needed the car. There is so much within walking distance. Breathtaking scenery and lush green surroundings.
Thank you for making the break all we could have hoped and more. Easy booking and comprehensive information. We can't wait to return.
Highly recommended.




One of our favourite places

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to these beautiful set of cottages. They are set in a perfect location and met all of our holiday needs as a family of 5. We will return again!



Lovely, lovely break away

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the gorgeous Wastwater Cottage, so peaceful and everything at hand, what a place, accommodation and location, will definitely stay here again.



Wastwater Cottage - Perfect base for Eskdale

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location, well-equipped spacious cottage - highly recommended. Will definitely return in the future.



Wastwater Cottage is a definite yes

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning location and beautiful cottages. We stayed in Wastwater And Stanley Ghyll and each cottage was absolutely divine. High levels of comfort with everything you need. Beautiful gardens / paddock and views Stay here and guaranteed you will have the most amazing time We came for a family holiday . . Age ranges in our party 5 to 83 Everything exceeded our expectations from the cottages to the location in Eskdale Valley The Team at Select Cottages clearly work very hard to maintain high standards. . And they really do a smashing job. We will definitely be back.



The Great Escape

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back again in Wastwater. Really nice property and the perfect location for the great escape at Christmas. Thankfully we were able to come within the prevailing regulations. The cottage was immaculate and Boot as tranquil and beguiling as ever. Looking forward to returning soon



A stunning grade 2 listed barn conversion perfectly located to explore the beautiful Lake District

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful grade 2 listed barn conversion, full of character on the inside and perfectly situated to explore the stunning Lake District.



A beautiful cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully equipped and furnished, and we were delighted to find a piano in such good condition! The location is remote in terms of low tourist numbers but there are 2 pubs and many very well-marked walks in the immediate vicinity. We didn't actually meet our hosts, but key pick up was very easy and responses to queries were sent very quickly. We very much enjoyed our stay and hope to be back one day.



All good!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage with lots of character and great space. All rooms top quality and with comfy beds and with 3 bathrooms for the 5 of us was perfect.
Boot is small but with two good pubs and a handy little shop then we all enjoyed our stay and would have no problem to recommend.




A beautiful cottage nestled in such a stunning part of the Lakes; the wild swimming was fantastic!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful, relaxing time at Wastwater Cottage; a beautiful cottage nestled in such a stunning part of the Lakes. The walks, cycle-rides - for many, we didn't even need a car - were an absolute antidote and reset after lock-down. We loved the river at the bottom of the garden; the water bubbling was so relaxing ... One of the best discoveries was wild swimming. A truly incredible experience, swimming in plunge-pools, by waterfalls, the kids loved it too! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage, set right in the heart of the Eskdale valley, with so many outdoors activities on your doorstep. And at the end of the day, Wastwater cottage was a lovely, cosy yet spacious place to come back to... Piano was fun too.



2019 Highly Recommend

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely superb. Location, cottage along with the standard of cleanliness and quality of furnishings. Home from home. The management go above and beyond to ensure that we had everything that we needed. They even assisted with additional requirements to accommodate disabilities. If you want peace, tranquility and relaxation this is the place to chill. The best of both worlds as should you want sports, walking and hiking it’s on the doorstep with amenities of two public house in short walking distance with warm atmospheres and good food. We will definitely be back next year.



Perfection

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay. Everything about it was perfect. Highly recommended. Would definitely like to revisit again.



Wonderful family break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, excellent equipped in an idyllic setting. Will definitely return again! Greg and his team were looking well after the guests to ensure a great holiday. Thank you.



Absolutely Bootiful stay in Lake District!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at the cottage alot. The cottage set up is absolutely beautiful and comfortable, the piano and toys cuddly bear provided were brilliant. The tea milk and biscuits was so thoughtful and appreciated.

Boot is absolutely gorgeous and the people are friendly making this whole trip very enjoyable for us as it's our first time coming to Lake District and we were mesmerised by the scene, we live in an Urban Quarter so it was a complete contrast to where we come from.

Thank you very much for everything.




A perfect venue for a family reunion.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a family of octogenarian parents and four globally scattered sons we could not have chosen a better venue for our family get-together.
If it had rained all week we could happily have spent the time enjoying breakfasts cooked in the clean and well equipped kitchen and eaten at the adjoining table; sitting chatting in the comfortable settees; playing board games round the spacious coffee table or enjoying music played on the baby grand piano. I cannot comment on the TV as the week was so full we never felt the need to switch it on - a week of blissful escape from the cares and troubles of the world beyond.
In fact the sun shone and we were able to sit out on the pleasant lawn and enjoy the peace of this tiny Lake District village, far from the madding crowds of Ambleside and Windemere. The village shop just across the road from the cottage provided ice cream and sandwiches if needed.and we only had to walk a few yards to indulge in the good cooking and friendly hospitality of the Boot Inn. Not to be missed was a visit to the Eskdale Mill, literally on our doorstep, where its history and ingenious mechanisms were clearly explained to us by the friendly volunteer guide
In short, Wasdale Cottage offered everything promised in the brochure and more besides.




Splendid stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was magnificently located. The area we were in was beautiful. The cottage was really elegant and clean (there was a Piano and a humongous teddy bear ).
The kitchen was marvelously equipped. The back garden with the stream is brilliant.




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Khalid, Many thanks for your kind review and lovely words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our fabulous location, as well as the unique features of Wastwater Cottage. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Lovely stay in the Lake District

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Boot is a magical location to enjoy beautiful scenery and walks: mountains and lakes, babbling brooks, woods and waterfalls - a true escape to the countryside. We were blown away by the variety of stunning walks in every direction from the cottage and the charming Eskdale steam railway - which we took to the coast at Ravenglass - enjoying scenic views along the way. We enjoyed the close proximity of the Boot Inn, which was very welcoming and served us two very nice quality meals.
Wastwater Cottage itself is a comfortable cottage, set in a row of holiday cottages, along a cute cobbled street. It has a great open plan living area, which was a comfortable area to chill out after walks. It is a well stocked cottage and we liked that basics are provided - especially as shopping is a trip to the next town. We found the beds/bedroom/bathrooms comfortable - if a little small and dark downstairs.
The shared gardens are delightful and I can still picture myself sitting in the sun in the picnic area soothed by the Stanley Ghyll brook rushing past. We liked that the bird feeders attracted lovely birds such as Yellowhammers and enjoyed watching them come and go. A slight niggle is that the peace was disturbed for us by the renovation on the mill across the river - on times this meant that we couldn't fully enjoy the garden in peace but mostly we were out walking. While this is temporary, I would recommend checking out whether there is any building work going on. That said it wasn't a big issue and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely plan to come back. I would add also that the booking arrangements and care of the team was exceptional - every attention to detail being taken to ensure we had a great stay. Thank you!




So happy that we immediately booked a return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was an excellent location for our Perfect 10 Wellness Weekend. Our next booking is for a week.



A beautiful location and excellent comfort.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately I was given the wrong code to get my key when I arrived. After some panic I was given the correct code by Mark who happened to be at the Farmhouse. That wasn’t a good start- I also needed assistance to get the TV to work properly in both cottages. But the service was excellent and all resolved ver quickly.this is the fourth time I’ve stayed at these cottages. I love the location and the general comfort of the cottages is excellent. So overall, I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending the cottages to friends and family, both here in England and in Australia. This time I came from Australia just to be in Boot and at these cottages. I wasn’t disappointed. I’ll be back.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Margie, Many thanks for your lovely review and kind recommendations. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the cottages and we were glad Mark managed to resolve any issues you experienced upon arrival and that everything else lived up to expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boot again soon! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm