FB Twitter

Stanley Ghyll Cottage

Stanley Ghyll Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Romantic, cosy and bursting with charm and character, this detached stone cottage has oak beams, exposed stonework and doors leading to patio with garden furniture, barbecue and glorious fell views.

Great location and cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stanley Ghyll cottage makes the perfect cosy location for exploring Eskdale, great walks straight from the doorstep to Scafell and the water fall that gives the cottage its name. The cottage had everything we needed and was very comfortable as well as being full of character, we even had a red squirrel visit us! Greg and his team gave excellent customer service and information before and during our stay, highly recommended and will definitely be back again.



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location and lovely little cottage. Would have been nice to have enough dishwasher tablets, paper towel, toilet paper for a 7 night stay. Not very hygienic to have a quarter of a roll of paper towel. Village shop doesn’t sell any of these items. Bedroom smelled a little damp,




Soggy stay at Stanley Ghyll

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice cottage, parking a little tight, lovely area, but views from inside the cottage not great. Probably would have enjoyed our stay there a lot more if it hadn’t rained incessantly



Greg replied 52 days ago
We are very sorry you experienced a few wet days in the Lakes. By and large it's been a good summer so that was unlucky. We are glad you liked the cottage and area. If all our guests park correctly then it all works fine so apologies if someone got the parking plan wrong. We have views for all 4 aspects from inside the cottage but I guess if it's raining then that will have obscured the view and not allowed you to open the windows to enjoy the scenery. If it was raining, nor could you sit in our lovely gardens to marvel at the fells, mountains and greenery all around.

Perfect In every way, we will be back

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed little cottage with everything you needed. Lovely private walled garden with BBQ. Great local pub and stunning location. What more could you ask for
A perfect getaway in the west lakes.
Thank you




Boot

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We liked the cottage, just not the location. We felt Boot was very remote and the main road dreadful to drive



Greg Poole replied 101 days ago
We are delighted to hear that you liked the cottage and sorry to hear you felt our location was remote. We are in the quieter Western Lake District nestled in a pretty village (with great pubs) beneath mighty Scafell and with stunning scenery and mountains all around our little village of Boot could hardly be classed as a honeypot but that is why most of our guests come to us. We have the best hiking in the Lake District and Hardknott Pass - it's steepest road but there are other ways to get to us and these are on our directions. Most of our guests are happy driving our little lane to and from Boot, Eskdale Green village, Wastwater Lake and the other delights of the Eskdale Valley.

Fantastic place and area

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have never been to Boot or explored this side of the Lake District. What a little gem of an cottage with it’s own little garden tucked on the side. Had everything you needed and so quiet. The pub right next door served such great food and you can’t hear any noise from it. Walks to the waterfall was fabulous and to the Steam Train for a trip to Ravenglass. We had such a brilliant long weekend. Totally recommend.



Special Anniversary

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stanley ghyll Cottage turned out to be the perfect choice for our Diamond wedding anniversary. The location was ideal for walks high and low level, sightseeing and a a very good choice of Inns within walking distance Only used the car once which was a bonus. Having had a great holiday we have recommended the cottages to family and friends.



A Tardis in a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I asked my husband where he wanted to go for his 60th birthday. He said " away from everything and everyone." So I booked this cottage which seemed to fit the bill. It was a year later that we managed to get here due to Covid. Eventually I showed him a picture of Stanley Ghyll Cottage and he remarked "we're staying there?"
Well he loved it. The cottage is based on an "upside down house" with the TV lounge on the upper floor and bedroom & bathroom downstairs. It is suprisingly spacious. The Kitchen is well stocked and even has a dishwasher. We eventually got used to the induction hob! The bathroom is stunning and the shower had very good water pressure. I found the King size bed a little lumpy but despite that I slept very well. Could have been the mountain air! It was lovely waking up to the chirping chaffinches. We even saw a red squirrel bouncing over the wall outside the cottage. The garden was a suntrap on the good weather days and lovely to relax in at the end of the day.
I would throughly recommend visiting the 13th century Eskdale corm mill just around the corner from the cottages over the packhorse bridge. We also enjoyed the ride on the Eskdale to Ravenglass steam train starting from Dalegarth station down the road from Boot. Opposite way is Harknott Pass, the steepest road in Britain. Wast water is well worth a visit if you enjoy dramatic scenery. Unfortunately Stanley Ghyll waterfall itself is fenced off due to a rock fall ( opens June 2021?) This is a good excuse to come back!




Superb, as ever.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Stanley Ghyll Cottage and it was every bit as good as the first time. The cottage, location and surrounding area is fantastic and everything about our stay was great. Thank you to everyone involved for making us feel so welcome.



Perfect base for Lakes Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottage-had everything we needed, from pans and rice strainer to both oven and microwave. Thoughtful touches like fresh milk in the fridge, as well as usual coffee and tea sachets appreciated. We stayed in Stanley Ghyll. Loved the period look with modern fittings for convenience. Spring flowers around the doorways looked gorgeous in the sun. Shame the mill is still closed due to covid ,but we still had a wander around and watched the waterfall and local wildlife- cottage has a very pretty location. It is rather quirky and ideal for a walking holiday- plenty of pretty walks nearby and easy access to Wastwater and other spots if you are a brave driver on the steep twisty roads! Clean, quiet, comfortable and really charming. An ideal spot to get away from it all and just enjoy spectacular scenery. Perfect for photographers -we took loads. Highly recommended!



Lovely cottage, will stay again.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice cottage. Loved the walled garden. Great position.
Only improvement would be more 2 more mugs, glasses, and set of cutlery so there is enough to cover a day so dish washer goes on once a day .




Staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for what we wanted. Quiet and beautiful location, absolutely charming and clean cottage with just the right amount of amenities and space. Cosy and cute! We are so happy we booked this as our honeymoon staycation.
We would have loved to have been able to swap towels halfway through our week without disturbing the contacts if possible but contacting the cottage managers was very easy regardless. Thank you for the perfect stay.




Perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a perfect location in the middle of a walker’s paradise and 2 minutes from a great pub.



Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the Stanley Ghyll cottage, it was our first visit to the lakes and we could not of picked a better spot. The cottage was lovely, it was nice being detached and on our own. The only thing I would say is there is not really a view from inside the cottage to sit and look at, we were lucky with the weather and able to take advantage of the lovely garden for our pre dinner glass of wine!
Being close to a couple of nice eating places was also nice, bit disappointed the Stanley Gyll waterfall was closed not the owners fault but a little update in the places to visit would have helped.
We would definitely book again and recommend to friends overall a excellent place to stay.




Idyllic winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location with access from the cottage to lots of wonderful walks and The Eskdale Trail is great for Mountain Biking across to Ravenglass. Cottage is small and perfectly formed, every detail is spot on. There are in fact a cluster of cottages surrounded by a lovely garden and plenty of outdoor space. Views are amazing, there's a restored working watermill two minutes walk away and the two village pubs are highly recommended; both less than 5 minutes walk away. We only booked the day before we arrived and had lots of emails too and fro from the owner to make sure we had all the necessary information, on arrival we got a very warm welcome. Would absolutely return to this stunning, unspoilt and very beautiful part of the Lake District National Park.



Very cosy

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very small but offered all amenities. Exceptionally comfortable bed. Very well placed for numerous walks from the door in all directions.



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent cottage in the village of boot. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Cleanliness was excellent and Greg was always happy to pop round and fix any issues we might have had.
The kitchen and bathroom were both modern while the overall character of the original building has not been lost.
Perfect for those looking to retreat into the lakes for a short break. Would definitely stay again!




Wonderful setting for a weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent setting with great walking from the doorstep. Gorgeous little property with everything you need for a very easy stay. Close to pubs.



A wonderful week

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with our stay in Boot. The cottage was unique and a very special place to spend a few days in peace and quiet. The standard was high and communication with the staff was helpful. Recommended!



Best stay in Boot

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Boot for over 10 years and can honestly say this was our favourite stay. The cottage was ideal for us as it was detached and the walled garden was beautiful. The property is well equipped and of a high standard. We're always quite fussy about the beds and have to say the bed here was great quality and firm. We met Greg who was very helpful. We will definitely return for longer than 6 nights next time. Thank you to the whole team.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kiran, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that this was your best trip to Boot yet! It was a pleasure meeting you too and it would be wonderful to welcome you back for longer next time! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm

Odd but very charming cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is so cosy it’s hard to picture until you get there. The walks around Boot are INCREDIBLE.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Renee, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed Stanley Ghyll Cottage and your stay in Boot. We are very spoilt with the walks around us, so it's fantastic that you made the most of them! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future. Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm

Boot Eskdale

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4 week stay in Stanley Ghyll cottage was exactly what we needed, it is a really unique and very cosy unit in a perfect location. Minimal use of a vehicle required, lots of great Inns within walking distance, great bike rides, walks and hikes of varying degrees of difficulty right out of the door, amazing scenery, great people in the neighbourhood businesses. With a long stay, we were glad to have chosen Stanley Ghyll cottage as it is a little separate from the rest and afforded great privacy. We loved it.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Fiona, Thank you so much for your lovely review and kind words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage just for 2 in a quiet location, lovely walks close by and a couple of pubs in the village. The cottage is very well equipped.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review, we hope to welcome you back in the future! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Brilliant little cottage in the Lakes!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really lovely cottage, in an ideal location for walking and exploring the Lake District. Nice and quiet, with it's own garden area, it was perfect for a nice romantic weekend away.



Another Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great stay, beautiful cottage, fab location including the river and views as well as the lovely Boot in next door. The cottage has everything that you need and the owners are very attentive at all times.



An amazing stay in the quieter side of the lake district

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stay at Stanley Ghyll cottage was everything as expected; stunning location and views close to scafell pine and the stanley Ghyll waterfall, staff were very helpful when needed and cottage was beautif



Beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage in beautiful location. Off the beaten track but enjoyed the 2 very local pubs for both something to eat and drink!



Location Village of Boot

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent accommodation and location
Stunning views
Great base for walks
Two great village Pubs,both serving nice food
Will definitely come back




Perfect base

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Short weekend break. Lovely cottage and good facilities. Perfect base for walks. Dined out at 2 local inns. Fortunate with sunshine and blue skies. Would definitely use again.