FB Twitter

Scafell Cottage

Scafell Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 17 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


This magnificent 4 bedroom 3 bathroom cottage is a stunning barn conversion with impressive entrance lobby, feature full height glazed former barn door, a plethora of oak beams and exposed stonework.

Can't fault this place!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage for a few days during the school holidays. We arrived and the cottage was spotless, usually with holiday accommodation you find something gross from previous people but this cottage was immaculate. Greg responded to my requests almost immediately and was super helpful. Everything was to a high standard and modern appliances etc. Really well done and we will be back.

One thing I would mention to parents is that the back yard was rather stressful - we have a 3 year old and there is a severe drop in to the river with no fencing. Whilst this is lovely to look at, if you have lively small children it is a constant worry that they will fall.




Greg Poole replied 43 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments. Our housekeeping team do indeed have amazingly high standards which everyone comments upon. We look forward to welcoming you back. With regard to the stream, we do have a fence along the highest part of the bank and also some large boulders and shrubs to act as a visual barrier in the middle section. It is only the little space beyond where our picnic area is that is unfenced and this is furthest from the cottages. It just would not look right to fence the stream. Instead we ask parents to supervise children in our large paddock.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, clean and comfortable (couches would have benefited from cushions but wonder if this is covid related)
Kitchen well equipped for dining but not so much for cooking
Beautiful setting and hosts couldn’t have been more helpful
Luxurious bathrooms and furniture - will definitely rebook thank you Greg




Greg replied 75 days ago
Thank you for those kind comments. We did have to remove cushions and other homely luxury items due to Covid. However, now that restrictions are lifting we are bringing these lovely finishing touches back out to present the cottage in all it's glory like pre pandemic days. We look forward to welcoming you again sometime soon. Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

Our 2021 lakes break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Scafell cottage in Boot, beautiful area and scenery, awesome cottage. Had a delightful week , chilling, bbq ing, swimming in wastwater, ambling in ambleside, initiated our 3 year old grandaughter into waterfalls, she loved Stanley Ghyll,,the men in the party did scafell . We loved the boot inn and icecreams from the local shop. Absolutely delightful, will be going back



Family summer holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely (quirky) cottage - we loved it. The location was perfect and quiet, walks/rides/runs from the door and great having the Boot Inn so close by for dinner. We would certainly come back and recommend.



Can't recommend enough!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful stay, will definitely be returning. Picturesque location and excellent surrounding area. Cottage itself is beautiful with a well equipped kitchen. The team were extremely helpful and friendly and made everything very easy for us.



Family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to the cottages and didn't disappoint. We stayed in Wrynose Cottage last year which is ideal for a couple and this year we stayed in Scafell Cottage which was very well equipped for a large family. We will definitely return in the future as it is a great location.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely comfortable cottage in a perfect location next to endless amazing walks , a great river in the garden and 20 metres from the best pub in the area!



Idyllic 2-night stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect base for a weekend in the lakes. Great facilities, everything we needed for a comfortable 8 person stay. Pub 30 second walk away with lovely food and ales. Car parking was a little tight with users of the neighboring cottages parking in the wrong bays but Greg and the team were accommodating and allowed us to park in the spare spaces.

Would definitely stay again, thanks all!




A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage full of character in a wonderful place. Beautiful walks from the door, 2 pubs within walking distance, a running water mill and a local shop. A short walk to Dalgarth Station to use “old Ratty” to Ravensglass means you can park the car at the cottage and let it rest whilst you explore on foot. The cottage itself is a delight, cleverly designed in a unique space. We were a party of 10 and there was plenty of room for all of us. The Company itself were brilliant, very responsive, available if needed and were fantastic when I discovered I had left something very valuable behind, it was safety retuned very quickly. Huge thank you to Greg, Amy and the team I wouldn’t hesitate to use this company again :)





Wonderfull experience, beautifull location and the owners and staff were very accomodating.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed both Scafell and the Farmhouse greatly having stayed in both this time. No complaints at all, great location, parking was adequate. We will definitely stay again.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was fantastic - clean and well equipped. We had a lovely stay. Lovely garden in beautiful location.



Unforgettable short break

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Scafell Cottage for 2 nights. We really enjoyed our time. The cottage is very clean and cozy. The garden is awesome. And the location is fabulous.



Lovely long weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely long weekend at Scafell Cottage. Check-in was easy (despite three groups arriving at three different times), and the cottage was well-appointed (especially the kitchen). With 8 adults, sleeping arrangements were a little tricky as some of the beds were a bit short for the taller amongst us, but we managed!
The cottage is wonderfully situated for walks up/down the Esk, Harter Fell, Hard Knott, and the Esk horseshoe (Scafell, Scafell Pike, and so on around to Crinkle Crags), but if one doesn't feel like going anywhere, sitting on a sunny day by the river that runs through the back of the property is equally pleasant.




Great stay in great location!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were quite a large party (4 adults and 5 children) but there is so much space in the cottage! It’s so well equipped with plenty of everything! Great location for walks, and the pub (2 mins away) is fantastic!



Magical weekend get away

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Travelling from London, we arrived at the cottage late afternoon. Once inside, the cottage was already warm and cozy. It was immaculate and clean, beds were comfortable and had all the amenities you could possibly need. Waking up in the morning with the sound of the river was just magical. Owners and staff have plenty of recommendations (both lakes and near by waterfall) which we took and they did not disappoint! Thank you so much for a great stay, will definitely be back again.



Family gathering of 12 people for Christmas 2018

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Parents live locally but each have houses (with their respective spouses) too small to accommodate the entire family when we all planned to come to visit Cumbria at the same time (6 adults + 2 teenagers + 2 small children) a week before Christmas.

Thus I was looking for somewhere that could accommodate 4 adults + 2 teenagers (to sleep there), and could allow for evening visits and Christmas meals preparation & serving for the full family when visiting - 12 people in total, for 2 nights.

I was NOT disappointed. The Cottage was perfect. The facilities and provisions and kitchenware required to prepare and serve such a meal was ideal. The atmosphere inside the cottage, with the lighting, exposed beams, facilities, comfort etc. all made the Christmas feeling so special.

Now that Christmas is over, I can honestly say the weekend we spent pre-Christmas in the Cottage helped to make it the best Christmas experience I've had since I was a Child, and each of the guests also commented on how fantastic it was.

I'd definitely recommend it to others if asked.




Birthday break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked a few nights with 7 people, all family for a birthday. Got great weather and the cottage was fantastic, couldn’t have asked for more. Munster Castle near by, worth a visit. Two pubs which both serve food within 5 minutes walking. Would recommend to anyone.
Will definitely return.