FB Twitter

Hardknott Cottage

Hardknott Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


A very popular and delightful open plan cottage with a lovely spacious feel, glorious fell views and romantic galleried bedroom.

Another great stay at Hardknott

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this cottage many times now and it’s consistently great. The location and comfort of the cottage set you up for a fabulous holiday. The team are on hand to help with any issues so just can’t fault this place. Don’t think twice just book! You won’t be disappointed.



Autumnal break

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Hardknott cottage was excellent ! The location was perfect and we achieved what we set out to do hike the Fells in a beautiful remote unspoiled area of the Lakes. Definitely recommend the Boot Inn the food was superb and you never left hungry we ate there 4 out of 5 nights.
A memorable holiday in Boot !!




Great cottage in Eskdale

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything in the specification was accurate. Highly-recommended and we plan to return. The owners gave some information that we needed in a timely way. Any visitor must be prepared to share space in the lovely garden by a small river.



Perfect for outdoor activities.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. We only used the car once. Great outside space. Basic inside. Red squirrel seen.



Greg Poole replied 43 days ago
We are delighted you felt our location was excellent and sorry you felt the cottage was basic. Most guests are very happy with the accommodation. The kitchen is modern, the bathroom too, the bed has a 5 star quality mattress and our Italian leather sofa is large and comfortable. The cottage is quality graded 4 star by Visit England. Great to hear that you saw a red squirrel, they are so cute.

Ideal Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed staying in this cottage. It met all my needs and enabled me to relax--having the garden and stream outside was an added bonus. There were people staying in the neighbouring cottages but I did not feel intruded upon. Lots of lovely scenery and easy walks nearby. Best to stock up at Booths in Ulverston before arriving-there are no supermarkets anywhere near.
Lovely well kept place




Lovely cottages and location for walking

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is well appointed and away from the crowds. Boot is not easy to access by road, so the cottage is ideal for leaving the car parked and walking from the door.

The cottage was clean, had everything we could need and comes with very thorough instructions. The only improvement I can think of would be new pillows.

We had a relaxing, peaceful week with lots of fresh air.




A home from home for us.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This must have been our 4th or 5th stay here at Hardknott Cottage and we’re due back in September! We can’t recommend this place highly enough. Through these difficult times this is a place we trust where the safety of customers is put first. Extremely comfortable beds (and we’re fussy) and everything you could wish for in a high end property.
Stunning area we have been visiting for almost 20 years. Great pubs on your doorstep and beautiful walks to suit all. Don’t think twice about booking!




Character cottage in perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages contain character off a cobbled driveway, yet Hardknott cottage was also very practical with all the amenities you require, including a modern kitchen with good oven, hob and dishwasher. The gardens are beautiful alongside the Whillan Beck river and we made use of the BBQ and an outside evening meal. The main advantage of the cottage, however, is its location right on the trailhead of some excellent walks/hikes. We parked up for the 4/5 days there and did not need the car. We walked up Scafell, the Wastwater ridge past 4,000 year old stone circles, the Eskdale valley walk and past the Hardknott Roman Fort and Lingcove Bridge and Falls back through Hardknott Forest. There is plenty to do from the door.



Sunshine and Scafell

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Hardknott Cottage for a long weekend in April 2020. It was the perfect antidote to a year of lockdown. Bridge End Cottages are located in the perfect position by the River Esk. Hardknott Cottage is extremely comfortable and well appointed. The kitchen was modern and well equipped. The shower was powerful (a rarity in the Lakes in my experience) and the whole place was spotlessly clean. Can't wait to go back.



Lovely small mezzanine cottage in end Winter-early Spring

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a fantastic short week stay (4 nights) to discover with our 2 young kids (1 and 3.5) the beauty if this quiet valley that is Eskdale (at least at this time of year).
The service was perfect, the cottage superb, that is on a par with this West part of the Lake district that we were discovering for the first time. Definitely motivates us to come back.




A perfect escape

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Hardknott Cottage after speaking with Greg directly, I found the property first on booking.com but I chose to book through Greg as his friendly and fast replies helped me make my mind up. It’s daunting booking anywhere to travel right now, even within our own country, so I wanted to know what their Covid 19 policies were. (By the way, the answer to that is excellent - they have extra cleaning training certificates and flexible Covid 19 cancellation policies)

We stayed in Hardknott for my partner’s 30tg Birthday. He absolutely loved that the property was like a little hobbit cottage! And the scenery surrounding it...well that speaks for itself.

We had the most magical weekend and made memories we won’t forget. After a very hard year, it was just what we needed.




Another great stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay with Select Cottages and I am happy to recommend them. The cottages are first class and the location is stunning.
If you want to get away from it all then this is the place for you. Access to beautiful scenery a step or two over the threshold.
We had one query on arrival and it was sorted within minutes so thank you Amy!




It doesn’t get any better!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to this valley for over 15 years and this is the very best place to stay!
High end cottages with superb beds (which we’re fussy about) a high level of cleanliness and just all round top notch comfort.
Don’t think twice, honestly just book. It’s Ideally located for walking and pubs too.
Well done to Greg and his whole team!
Hardknott cottage is our favourite and we hope to be back next Feb.




Best holiday ever

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hardknott cottage is truly a little gem in the beautiful village.It is so comfortable with everything you need for a perfect stay.It was spotlessly clean. The back garden is huge shared with the other cottages and leads to a stream.The views are amazing with some of the best walks I have done in all my years of walking in the Lake district.
Communication with host Greg was brilliant from booking to arrival arrangements and leaving. We didnt want to leave and will definitely be back.
I would recommend the cottages and farm house as a perfect place to stay and spend time in a beautiful location and make amazing memories as I have.




Excellent spot for a peacful weekend.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been here before and were really happy to be going back, its a beautiful, peaceful setting, the scenery is stunning, plenty of walking , cycling and of course the steam train to Ravenglass. The Boot Inn in the village served first class food, and they were excellent on social distancing , we are defiantly going back. Joan and Bob



Hardknott Cottage - Boot

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We are a returning customers which tells its own story. The location is excellent with the facilities clean and tidy as always. Provision of maps and guides to the local area is also very thoughtful and useful.



Beautiful, peaceful and romantic getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I travelled to Hardknott cottage for our honeymoon. The location was beautiful with a peaceful garden and a river just outside the cottage. There is plenty to do in the local area as well as interesting places to visit a while away. The cottage is well equipped with everything that you could need. The shower in the bathroom is awesome! The cottage was immaculately clean and there’s free use of the laundry room to wash and dry clothes after a long hike. The only bad thing was that we had to leave! We can’t wait to go back. Thank you!



Amazing location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely gorgeous place, totally recommend anyone to stay. We did walks straight from the cottage so no driving anywhere, would recommend the coffin trail although very boggy walk so go well prepared! The Boot Inn is literally next door and the food was incredible there and the staff so very friendly. The little shop has everything you need and will make you sandwiches for your walking journeys. Would come back in a heart beat.



Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Hardknott cottage. Location is perfect for some lovely walks straight from your door. Cottage is beautiful with lots of character, warm and cosy. Would highly recommend



Hardknott

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. Walking from location so no need to use the car and two pubs to choose from for food and beer. Highly recommend it.



Superb location for exploring the lakes

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hardknot cottage is ideally located in the stunning lakes and is suitable for a couple. The bedroom is located above the sitting room on a mezzanine floor. The accomodation is very compact but well thought out and works well. I wouldn't describe the place as being cosy due to the lack of an open fire or log burner. Also, the dining chairs and sofa are rather hard, especially if you have back problems. Parking can be a challenge if your neighbours don't stick carefully to their allowed space!
All things considered a good place and with the benefit of a decent pub within 50 metres.




a wonderful week in the Lakedistrict

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the Lakedistrict.
The idea came from Greg Poole, when we met in La Garenne , Brittany, last year.
We have no regrets, but are overwhelmed.
We will be back!
kind regards from Heidi & Heiko / Rangsdorf, Germany Countryside from Berlin




Wished we could stay longer

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is exceptional and wished we could have stayed longer to enjoy the cottage. Great location and perfect amenities.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind words and lovely review. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back for longer next time! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Cosy comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is beautifully maintained and very comfortable. Situated in Eskdale, this accommodation is first class: it is close to wonderful walks in varied scenic landscapes, the Ravenglass - Eskdale quaint little steam trains and within walking distance to two very hospitable inns which both have delicious food and a very old world atmosphere. This is the fourth time I've booked a Bridge End Cottage and each time I've thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I'm always delighted by the whole experience.



Lovely cosy hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely, cosy little cottage near Scafell. Warm and comfortable. Lovely bathroom with rainfall shower over the bath. The bedroom is under a sloping roof on one side, but plenty of room overall. Everything seems new and clean and the cottage is situated within a one minute walk of a lovely pub with good food.



A few nights away in February

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hardknot cottage is located in a beautiful peaceful part of the lake district. Great walks and fantastic scenery from every view. Two pubs that serve food within walking distance which was an added bonus for such a quiet location.