FB Twitter

Bridge End Farmhouse

Bridge End Farmhouse

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Five star, four hundred year old, grade II listed Elizabethan Farmhouse with beautifully preserved features such as Jacobean court cupboard, oak panelling, oak beams, oak floorboards and flag stone floors. Incudes private walled country garden with southerly aspect, garden furniture, barbecue and glorious views

Autumn getaway with pals

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have to say the property is a real home from home with all you could wish for.
Stunning countryside with a fantastic local pub.




A short break in Boot

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the farmhouse for 4 nights , just two of us with our dog.
Lovely house & garden , the garden is perfect if you have a dog, as the garden is secure.
The house is nicely furnished , lovely kitchen & bathrooms , and good amenities.
It's in a great little village with good walks straight out of the door, amazing scenery , and two good pubs close by .





Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed with family at the farmhouse for five nights and can honestly say it was the best holiday I have had .From the moment we arrived it was amazing.The rustic charm of the farmhouse with the modern amenities made it comfortable and could not have wished or hoped for anything better.The enclosed garden was perfect with stunning views .The surrounding area was amazing and we explored beautiful places all within walking distance with small children and even with a pushchair .
Communication with the host Greg was brilliant from time of booking .arrival and leaving instructions .I will definitely be booking again in the hopefully near future.




Escape from lockdown

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One week after Greg was allowed to reopen his excellent cottages and farmhouse in Boot, we were installed in the farmhouse.

We have stayed here a number of times so knew we were in for a treat. We were a bit concerned as to how it would all go in Covid Britain and the welcome awaiting us but we needn’t have worried. The property was immaculate and sanitised thoroughly! Everywhere we went visitors were warmly welcomed.

We bought our dog with us which was a first for Greg having decided to accept well behaved dogs in a couple of the properties. All went well including a welcome pack!

All in all a great holiday and the perfect escape from lockdown. Planning our next visit already




Great house and location

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful characterful house, very well appointed and very clean and comfortable. Super kitchen and dining room with a log burner in the sitting room, 2 good quality pubs, walks high or low from the location made the car redundant. Friendly staff. Will certainly return



Beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at the farmhouse in the tiny village of Boot. We were delighted with the accommodation. It was beautifully furnished, comfortable and spacious. The owner was lovely and very helpful. Great Pub next door, serving lovely food. The scenery and walks were gorgeous.



Farmhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly fantastic house so full of character, charm and comfort. We lit the fire that added an extra level of enjoyment. The kitchen is very fully equipped allowing my wife to express her culinary skills. Two pubs in walking distance with excellent food and beer adds to the special nature of this place. Definitely coming back.



Lovely Christmas in Boot

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really beautiful house in a fantastic location. We had a lovely Christmas away from it all.
Everything we needed in the kitchen to cook dinner.
There was a even a Christmas tree for us.
Select cottages was quick to respond to a couple of issues.
I would definitely think of coming back again!




Thank you

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very comfortable -everything to very high standard. Appreciated milk, biscuits and chocs. Would have liked it to be dog friendly.



Bridge End Farm replied 363 days ago
We think we actually gave very good service making last minute arrangements for your dog to stay locally when you announced the day before that you needed to bring the dog with you and could not make other arrangements for her. We explain in many places on our website, booking confirmation and arrival details that we are pet lovers but for our cottages we have a strict "no pets" policy. There was ample time between booking and arrival for you to make arrangements for the dog. We were rather put on the spot about the dog but we came up with a plan for you so you could bring her and she could stay just 50 yards away. We think that is excellent customer service considering the circumstances at the time.

70th birthday celebration.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great family long weekend to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday. The farmhouse was an ideal stay.



Perfection

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay. Everything about it was perfect. Highly recommended. Would definitely like to revisit again.



Long weekend stay in Bridge End Farmhouse with 6 people

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation for a weekend away for our group of 6 friends. All of us were very charmed with the place! Plenty of room indoors to relax, dine, cook and sleep, with a garden available for lunching outside. We loved the fact that the house has so many of the original components (wooden floors upstairs, ceiling beams, decorative woodwork downstairs). Pub right next door, plus the starting point for numerous good hikes right is in front of the house as well. Staff were quite easy to get in touch with and very responsive. Absolutely fantastic! We'd love to come back.



Bridge End farmhouse weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seven of us spent a long weekend in the Farmhouse during August 2019. The accommodation was excellent and comfortable with great social spaces and a well fitted out kitchen. It was so well equipped it easily catered for the number of people in the house. The garden was beautiful but unfortunately the weather prohibited its full use. Parking was fine with spaces for 3 cars. Location in Boot was excellent with local pubs/restaurants providing meals and beer of good quality especially the Brook House Hotel. Very peaceful and relaxing for this time of year in the Lake District with good access to walks and scenery right from the door. We quite happily spent 3 days here not needing to travel elsewhere.



Beautiful 500-year old farmhouse with modern conveniences

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Farmhouse is a wonderful place for a large family for small group. The quaint aspects of the 500-year old house have been maintained (including very small doorways - 6-footers beware) but it also has many modern conveniences in the house or adjacent, including modern kitchen and bathrooms, TV, washer/dryer (next door). Our two families (with four teenagers) found the house very comfortable and clean. It is also set is a perfect, quiet location with very easy access to many hiking/walking trails as well as two very nearby pubs (with good food and ales) and a third pub about mile away that is an easy walk. We highly recommend it! We were there 6 days and never moved our cars. It was just what we were looking for.



Charm with up todate facility's.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant part of the Lakes District to stay and explore.
The Farmhouse was very comfortable as well as keeping all the heritage features.




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Doug and Oweena, Many thanks for your kind review and lovely comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you or your family back to Boot in the future and are glad you enjoyed your time with us! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm

Stunning farmhouse in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the farmhouse for climbing weekend in the Lakes with a group of friends. Everyone was very pleased with the choice and found the accommodation to be cosy and luxurious. The booking and support from Select Cottages couldn’t be faulted and we wouldn’t hesitate to book again!



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Catherine, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your weekend in the Lakes. We would love to welcome you back for your next adventure! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Beautiful Boot Farmhouse!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic, sunny Easter break at the Bridge End Farmhouse in Boot. It is a beautiful, historic cottage located perfectly at the foot of the Eskdale Fells and next door to a lovely pub which serves great food (especially the curries) and is very welcoming. The cottage has been modernised throughout with new kitchen and bathrooms yet retains heaps of character with old beams and vintage furniture. It is well furnished with all the mod cons needed including decent WiFi (which is better at the pub). The garden is lovely and perfect for sitting outside with a glass of something as the sun falls behind the fells. Lots of room for kids to play too. The staff were very helpful and the service excellent. They really helped my Mum out who was staying in a smaller cottage nearby and had a few questions and requests. There are walks right from the door up the fells to Scafell Pike and nearer ones to Eel Tarn, Blea Tarn and Burnmoor Tarn. There's also a nice walk to the local church and onto the waterfall. We also had a day out on the narrow gauge steam railway which is a ten minute walk from the cottage and takes you all the way down to Ravenglass on the coast (40 min trip). All in all a fantastic, very memorable break at a lovely historic yet modern cottage in a perfect location. Thoroughly recommend it.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Greg and the team at Select Cottages

So happy that we immediately booked a return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was an excellent location for our Perfect 10 Wellness Weekend. Our next booking is for a week.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Elaine, We were so glad to hear the Perfect 10 Wellness Weekend was a success and can't wait to welcome you back for the next one! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Booked a three night stay for my 61st birthday with my kids and grand kids

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival I was really pleasantly pleased with the presentation of the property in every aspect. The heating had been put on before arrival so was toasty warm.

Some thoughtful preparation work put into the house eg heating on, logs supplied. Accommodation comfortable and cosy. Kitchen very well equipped. Liked it so much we will definitely be back,

We were in three separate vehicles and mine being a large van made for limited space but the landlord from the Boot Inn next door told me to park in their car park which was great.




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Andy, We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed celebrating your special occasion at Bridge End Farm, thank you for your kind review. We can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

3 Night Family Week end Break

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful listed cottage in a delightful part of the world. Lovely friendly management team ( Mark,Bob & Marie) and a great pub 100 yards away !!
The cottage is ideal for families with 2 good sized Double Rooms (one with en suite) and 2 decent sized twin rooms, The kitchen is excellent with all 'mod cons' and good quality pans/crockery & cutlery and plenty of them.
If anybody wants a relaxing holiday in a cottage full of charm and history in delightful part of the world this is the perfect spot




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rob, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and would love to welcome you back! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages