FB Twitter

Bridge End Farmhouse

Bridge End Farmhouse

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Five star, four hundred year old, grade II listed Elizabethan Farmhouse with beautifully preserved features such as Jacobean court cupboard, oak panelling, oak beams, oak floorboards and flag stone floors. Incudes private walled country garden with southerly aspect, garden furniture, barbecue and glorious views

A perfect place to get away

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridge End Farmhouse was everything we hoped it would be and more, a beautiful place from which to explore the Lake District. The owners could not have been more professional and helpful with our booking and the Farmhouse has everything you need for a lovely break and then some... Special mention should be made of the cleaning which is exceptional. This is probably the cleanest place we have ever stayed and to achieve that in a farmhouse cottage is really showing a level of dedication to ensure that everything is as good as it can be for the visitor.

This was our first visit to Bridge End Farmhouse, but it certainly will not be our last.




Fabulous Stay to Celebrate My Husband’s 50th

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an Idyllic area and the cottages were fantastic, we stayed in the Farmhouse, Whillan Beck and Wrynose with group of family and friends. The experience was exceptional from making the booking through to the end stay. Highly recommend.



Beautifully looked after cottage in gorgeous location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully restored & looked after & in a stunning location. It is well furnished & very comfortable with everything provided that a family group might need including games & a barbecue & a well equipped laundry area next door. The self contained garden is lovely & perfect for the grandchildren to play in safely & for my daughter’s dog. The housekeeping staff were very friendly, efficient & approachable. A lovely place to stay looked after by an excellent team - we will definitely look forward to returning. Thank you to Greg, Amy & the rest of the team



Stunning location and lovely traditional Cumbrian farmhouse.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the charming Farmhouse which accommodated seven of us comfortably and even with the creaky floors (all part of the charm), was furnished and updated sympathetically to the age of the house. The location is absolutely beautiful and an ideal base for some amazing walks. Everything we needed during our stay was available to us and Amy was really kind in supplying us with extra items when we needed them. Ian was really helpful with an extensive knowledge of local history and advice on walks and places to visit during our stay.

I would thoroughly recommend staying in The Bridge End Farmhouse to experience a traditional Cumbrian holiday, superb walking and dips in the beautiful, albeit very cold, local waterfalls, tarns and river. The scenery is stunning and the locals friendly and welcoming as always in The Lake District. Thank you also to Greg for all your help and advice prior to our visit.





Week long family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the Farmhouse. The property was a real delight and provided excellent accommodation for six of us . We were restricted to six by COVId regulations . Location perfect for walks out over Muncaster to the coast , up the valley and over to Wasdale . We made good use of the pretty garden and BBQ helped enormously by fantastic weather. Highly recommend this property



The Lake District is still beautiful in a pandemic

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An old Lake District farmhouse, brought up to date with powerful central heating that was so warm we had to turn it down! It was spotlessly clean during the covid pandemic, and sadly this had necessitated some of the equipment being removed. Though the four bedrooms are all of a good size, I suspect it would feel rather cramped if 8 adults were to stay.

Situated close to one of the becks feeding the river Esk, the noise of the stream was a wonderful soundscape to fall asleep with. Within easy walking distance of three, and may be even four pubs, it is well positioned for the post-ramble refreshment, ( except during Covid restrictions!). We walked from the door on 5 days out of 6. Short daylight meant shorter walks in December, but it was well placed for more ambitious hikes too.




Greg Poole replied 129 days ago
Thank you for your kind comments about our beautiful historic Farmhouse. Our team do indeed have the highest of standards ensuring the cottages are spotlessly clean for our guests and the new boiler certainly pumps out plenty of heat without even having to light the log burner. Sadly the Covid restrictions meant you were there on your own without the friends who had originally booked to join you, so it probably was a little expensive for just a couple at Christmas but we are delighted you still chose to come on holiday rather than cancel or move to a smaller cottage. We often have 6 to 8 adults staying and it all works well. Christmas and New Year are a magical time of year in the Lake District even though the days are short. We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon. Best wishes from all the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages.

Wonderful week in West Lakes

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Farmhouse at Bridgend Farm Cottages was simply wonderful. We were a family of five (with older kids), and we had lots of space to enjoy our week. The Farmhouse retains many original features and has a lovely, homely ambience with attractive garden grounds. It is well equipped and extremely comfortable with a log burner providing extra warmth during our October stay. Bedrooms were spacious and beds very comfortable too.

It’s location is set in the quiet village of Boot surrounded by amazing scenery and walks on its doorstep. Boot has two good pubs serving great food.

Amy and Greg were very helpful and made sure we had everything we needed for our stay.

Would definitely recommend and would, indeed, return.

With so many choices of accommodation available in the Lake District, this group of Cottages stands out if you’re looking for original charm, a quiet location surrounded by amazing scenery, a high level of comfort and excellent service.




Autumn getaway with pals

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have to say the property is a real home from home with all you could wish for.
Stunning countryside with a fantastic local pub.




A short break in Boot

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the farmhouse for 4 nights , just two of us with our dog.
Lovely house & garden , the garden is perfect if you have a dog, as the garden is secure.
The house is nicely furnished , lovely kitchen & bathrooms , and good amenities.
It's in a great little village with good walks straight out of the door, amazing scenery , and two good pubs close by .





Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed with family at the farmhouse for five nights and can honestly say it was the best holiday I have had .From the moment we arrived it was amazing.The rustic charm of the farmhouse with the modern amenities made it comfortable and could not have wished or hoped for anything better.The enclosed garden was perfect with stunning views .The surrounding area was amazing and we explored beautiful places all within walking distance with small children and even with a pushchair .
Communication with the host Greg was brilliant from time of booking .arrival and leaving instructions .I will definitely be booking again in the hopefully near future.




Escape from lockdown

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One week after Greg was allowed to reopen his excellent cottages and farmhouse in Boot, we were installed in the farmhouse.

We have stayed here a number of times so knew we were in for a treat. We were a bit concerned as to how it would all go in Covid Britain and the welcome awaiting us but we needn’t have worried. The property was immaculate and sanitised thoroughly! Everywhere we went visitors were warmly welcomed.

We bought our dog with us which was a first for Greg having decided to accept well behaved dogs in a couple of the properties. All went well including a welcome pack!

All in all a great holiday and the perfect escape from lockdown. Planning our next visit already




Great house and location

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful characterful house, very well appointed and very clean and comfortable. Super kitchen and dining room with a log burner in the sitting room, 2 good quality pubs, walks high or low from the location made the car redundant. Friendly staff. Will certainly return



Beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at the farmhouse in the tiny village of Boot. We were delighted with the accommodation. It was beautifully furnished, comfortable and spacious. The owner was lovely and very helpful. Great Pub next door, serving lovely food. The scenery and walks were gorgeous.



Farmhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly fantastic house so full of character, charm and comfort. We lit the fire that added an extra level of enjoyment. The kitchen is very fully equipped allowing my wife to express her culinary skills. Two pubs in walking distance with excellent food and beer adds to the special nature of this place. Definitely coming back.



Lovely Christmas in Boot

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a really beautiful house in a fantastic location. We had a lovely Christmas away from it all.
Everything we needed in the kitchen to cook dinner.
There was a even a Christmas tree for us.
Select cottages was quick to respond to a couple of issues.
I would definitely think of coming back again!




Thank you

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very comfortable -everything to very high standard. Appreciated milk, biscuits and chocs. Would have liked it to be dog friendly.



Bridge End Farm replied more than 1 year ago
We think we actually gave very good service making last minute arrangements for your dog to stay locally when you announced the day before that you needed to bring the dog with you and could not make other arrangements for her. We explain in many places on our website, booking confirmation and arrival details that we are pet lovers but for our cottages we have a strict "no pets" policy. There was ample time between booking and arrival for you to make arrangements for the dog. We were rather put on the spot about the dog but we came up with a plan for you so you could bring her and she could stay just 50 yards away. We think that is excellent customer service considering the circumstances at the time.

70th birthday celebration.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great family long weekend to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday. The farmhouse was an ideal stay.



Perfection

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay. Everything about it was perfect. Highly recommended. Would definitely like to revisit again.



Long weekend stay in Bridge End Farmhouse with 6 people

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this accommodation for a weekend away for our group of 6 friends. All of us were very charmed with the place! Plenty of room indoors to relax, dine, cook and sleep, with a garden available for lunching outside. We loved the fact that the house has so many of the original components (wooden floors upstairs, ceiling beams, decorative woodwork downstairs). Pub right next door, plus the starting point for numerous good hikes right is in front of the house as well. Staff were quite easy to get in touch with and very responsive. Absolutely fantastic! We'd love to come back.



Bridge End farmhouse weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seven of us spent a long weekend in the Farmhouse during August 2019. The accommodation was excellent and comfortable with great social spaces and a well fitted out kitchen. It was so well equipped it easily catered for the number of people in the house. The garden was beautiful but unfortunately the weather prohibited its full use. Parking was fine with spaces for 3 cars. Location in Boot was excellent with local pubs/restaurants providing meals and beer of good quality especially the Brook House Hotel. Very peaceful and relaxing for this time of year in the Lake District with good access to walks and scenery right from the door. We quite happily spent 3 days here not needing to travel elsewhere.



Beautiful 500-year old farmhouse with modern conveniences

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Farmhouse is a wonderful place for a large family for small group. The quaint aspects of the 500-year old house have been maintained (including very small doorways - 6-footers beware) but it also has many modern conveniences in the house or adjacent, including modern kitchen and bathrooms, TV, washer/dryer (next door). Our two families (with four teenagers) found the house very comfortable and clean. It is also set is a perfect, quiet location with very easy access to many hiking/walking trails as well as two very nearby pubs (with good food and ales) and a third pub about mile away that is an easy walk. We highly recommend it! We were there 6 days and never moved our cars. It was just what we were looking for.



Charm with up todate facility's.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant part of the Lakes District to stay and explore.
The Farmhouse was very comfortable as well as keeping all the heritage features.




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Doug and Oweena, Many thanks for your kind review and lovely comments. It would be a pleasure to welcome you or your family back to Boot in the future and are glad you enjoyed your time with us! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm

Stunning farmhouse in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the farmhouse for climbing weekend in the Lakes with a group of friends. Everyone was very pleased with the choice and found the accommodation to be cosy and luxurious. The booking and support from Select Cottages couldn’t be faulted and we wouldn’t hesitate to book again!



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Catherine, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your weekend in the Lakes. We would love to welcome you back for your next adventure! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Beautiful Boot Farmhouse!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic, sunny Easter break at the Bridge End Farmhouse in Boot. It is a beautiful, historic cottage located perfectly at the foot of the Eskdale Fells and next door to a lovely pub which serves great food (especially the curries) and is very welcoming. The cottage has been modernised throughout with new kitchen and bathrooms yet retains heaps of character with old beams and vintage furniture. It is well furnished with all the mod cons needed including decent WiFi (which is better at the pub). The garden is lovely and perfect for sitting outside with a glass of something as the sun falls behind the fells. Lots of room for kids to play too. The staff were very helpful and the service excellent. They really helped my Mum out who was staying in a smaller cottage nearby and had a few questions and requests. There are walks right from the door up the fells to Scafell Pike and nearer ones to Eel Tarn, Blea Tarn and Burnmoor Tarn. There's also a nice walk to the local church and onto the waterfall. We also had a day out on the narrow gauge steam railway which is a ten minute walk from the cottage and takes you all the way down to Ravenglass on the coast (40 min trip). All in all a fantastic, very memorable break at a lovely historic yet modern cottage in a perfect location. Thoroughly recommend it.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a lovely review, we are really happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back in the future! Kind regards, Greg and the team at Select Cottages

So happy that we immediately booked a return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was an excellent location for our Perfect 10 Wellness Weekend. Our next booking is for a week.



Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Elaine, We were so glad to hear the Perfect 10 Wellness Weekend was a success and can't wait to welcome you back for the next one! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Booked a three night stay for my 61st birthday with my kids and grand kids

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival I was really pleasantly pleased with the presentation of the property in every aspect. The heating had been put on before arrival so was toasty warm.

Some thoughtful preparation work put into the house eg heating on, logs supplied. Accommodation comfortable and cosy. Kitchen very well equipped. Liked it so much we will definitely be back,

We were in three separate vehicles and mine being a large van made for limited space but the landlord from the Boot Inn next door told me to park in their car park which was great.




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Andy, We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed celebrating your special occasion at Bridge End Farm, thank you for your kind review. We can't wait to welcome you back! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

3 Night Family Week end Break

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful listed cottage in a delightful part of the world. Lovely friendly management team ( Mark,Bob & Marie) and a great pub 100 yards away !!
The cottage is ideal for families with 2 good sized Double Rooms (one with en suite) and 2 decent sized twin rooms, The kitchen is excellent with all 'mod cons' and good quality pans/crockery & cutlery and plenty of them.
If anybody wants a relaxing holiday in a cottage full of charm and history in delightful part of the world this is the perfect spot




Greg Poole replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rob, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and would love to welcome you back! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages