FB Twitter

Priory Cottage

Priory Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Priory Cottage is a quirky, stylish and comfortable cottage with a wood burning stove and a private entrance. This luxurious five star-rated property provides the perfect place to escape to and enjoy the peace and quiet. Situated on the banks of the River Coquet, this semi-detached property is part of the historic Brinkburn Estate and was originally of the groom's accommodation and hayloft.

The Space

Priory Cottage is part of the historic Brinkburn Estate in Northumberland. It is a semi-detached stone built property, traditional in style but boasts a modern, luxurious interior. It is ideally situated in the heart of Northumberland with easy access to the coast and Castles, Cheviot Hills, Northumberland National Park, and Hadrian's Wall. All our guests also have access to 30 acres of wood land the river and fields. Brinkburn Priory and Manor House are also just on your doorstep.
The spacious living area has a dining table and chairs and large comfy sofa. There is a flat screen digital TV, DVD player and a library of DVD's and books. Free Wi-Fi access is available. The whole of the ground floor is heated by underfloor heating, enhanced by an efficient wood burning stove for the cooler months, for which an initial supply of logs are provided

There is a contemporary style kitchen with electric oven and ceramic hob, larder fridge with icebox, dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, espresso coffee machine, toaster and kettle. A highchair is available for an infant upon request.
A spacious 'wet room' shower room, comprising a large walk-in shower with ceiling-rose shower head, toilet and wash hand basin is also downstairs. Complimentary toiletries and towels are provided.
Upstairs is the former hayloft which makes a delightfully quirky and romantic loft bedroom, with a kingsize bed and chest of drawers. There is a raised platform, perfect for storage of luggage. A wardrobe with hanging space is located in a walk-in cupboard next to the bathroom.
A cot can be provided upon request for an infant not yet walking (the stairs of the cottage are not suitable for a toddler). For those with impaired mobility there is the possibility of providing a bed downstairs.

Guest Access

There is ample free parking on site, and a idyllic outdoor seating area. There are also lots of beautiful walks nearby if you’d like to explore on foot.

Brinkburn Priory Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our brief stay at Brinkburn Priory Cottage, and particularly the peace and sunshine of the riverside walks. All the equipment and kitchen equipment were efficient, and we were happy to meet the owner and WHO.

We had not realised that access to the loo from the bedroom at night involved a steep flight of stairs, with an awkward step down at the top. We suggest that you produce a detailed accessibility statement for people with disabilities (as one of us was), pointing this out. We also found the duvet heavy and awkward to move about.

For a longer stay we would want to have more than one tea-towel, and a few cushions would be welcome. Nowhere to hang clothes, as in many similar cottages however.

We can recommend Bewick’s Coffee shop and restaurant in Rothbury - try their Roast Grouse!




Relaxing retreat in beautiful Northumberland

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the fantastic Priory Cottage for a week and very much enjoyed our stay. The Cottage's setting is stunning - right by the English Heritage priory and river - and the Cottage itself is well-equipped, and well-maintained. We had plenty of peace and quiet at the Cottage, and it's well located for the local sights: Cragside, Dunstanburgh Castle, the coast etc. Would definitely return and recommend to our friends and family.

We stayed in late summer 2020, during the COVID-19 crisis, and it was good that the Cottage was spotlessly clean, with plenty of soap, hand sanitiser etc provided.




Overpriced, underwhelming and fell for the photography.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Ok here goes:

Oven light not working.
One bulb out on the extractor fan.

A mixing jug would help as there was nothing to measure with or mix gravy in.

The firefighters were open and left out which leaves a paraffin style smell in the property. Bag them and leave them in the fire with the vents closed.

The oven is too hot when opened and the hob needs updating to a flat digital for ease of cleaning.

More tea towels needed.

More bin bags.

A recycling or composting box.

An understanding of the underfloor heating would have helped.

The upstairs radiator needs bleeding.

The interior door lock needs adjusting as it catches.

There were no bath robes!

The water pressure went off for a day so we couldn’t shower!

The wet room is a complete no no. To fix it... move the head left and put a larger screen from left to right giving access from the right only and save the room from getting soaked as the run isn’t good enough to take the water away.

Put up a hook for towel and robe.

Put something in for soap to stand in.

Needs a bigger extractor fan.

Bedroom is a no no accessing the bed from the beam side as you constantly bang your head.

Drawers situated in front of radiator.

Nowhere to hang or store clothes.

DVD advertised but missing assuming everyone has access to a digital channel.

Door missing from washing machine looks cheap.

Swap the pictures in the front room and they will balance the space better...

Table is impractical as it needs sealing so grease and wine stains don’t show.

Access is bad as we came in a soft top with lowered suspension which doesn’t work on the path down.

Opening and closing gates X 3 in total became a pain.

Taking rubbish up in car to the bins not acceptable.

Garden foliage needed cutting back to access cottage which was done on the wednesday.

The mattress was fantastic!

All in all there are too many things that just weren’t right about the property to justify the money you charge.

It is pretty basic and although the setting is nice on the first drive down, you feel a little intrusive on the visitors of the priory.

We are both only 54 but having to go downstairs to the loo in the night wears a little thin after a few days.

Think that’s it!

Ps the Helvetica framed print appealed as I am a typographer... every cloud




Great unique location

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely unique location for a relaxing holiday next to the old priory by the river.

The was perfect and cottage had everything that we needed for a great week away.




Priory Cottage July 2020

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. Liked the style/furnishings such as the wood burning stove and coffee machine plus the welcome hamper was lovely. Location by the river and next to the Priory was amazing and enjoyed the outdoor seating area. The bathroom is stylish but the shower area could benefit from some re-grouting as mouldy in places and this would improve the overall look.



Priory cottage for two

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been here 7 years ago and the place is breathtaking, great for local activities for kids and adults alike and visits to the coast (40 mins away). So much to do your doorstep and for your four legged friends too. The cottage is lovely spacious and has everything you need. Will try and comeback again....



Peaceful Getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Priory Cottage was cosy and welcoming the location was very tranquil and all the amenities were first class. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it if you’re looking for a few days away from the hustle and bustle. All the extra little touches were most welcome and added to the comfort of our stay.



Son and Daughter in laws wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The priory cottage was amazing and of course a great location for the wedding... which was the best wedding I have ever been to!

The cottage was a little small for 4 people but overall it was lovely! The little welcome hamper that we received was gorgeous - the brownies went down very well!

Overall a great stay and would highly recommend it. The area and the grounds are beautiful and are very well kept. The smell of the flowers around the cottage and stables are to die for.

Thank you xx




An amazing stay for our daughters wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was lovely to be so close to the the wedding venue and the main party in The Stables and have our own space at the end of a very memorable day.
The cottage was excellent, comfortable and warm. The breakfast hamper was delicious... I particularly enjoyed the croissants whereas others thought the brownies were just the best!
Thank you to Brinkburn for our fantastic stay. X




Excellent all round!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Priory Cottage is in a delightful location next to the river and Brinkburn Priory and Manor House - both of which you should take time to see and soak in the atmosphere of an 11thC monastery. There are plenty of paths to walk your dog. The cottage itself is also delightful - immaculately clean, beautifully fitted out and very comfortable. The only down side might be that the shortest person should sleep on the right side of the bed or you'll bump your head on the ceiling getting in and out! The cottage is furnished with absolutely everything you could need or wish for, especially the coffee machine! Hand and shower wash are provided and in the kitchen you'll find a hamper of the most delicious goodies - local fresh bread, croissants and cakes (the brownies were huge and very yummy!) and butter in the fridge. The owners are really friendly and helpful although we didn't need to ask for anything - it was all there. We thought it was very good value for money, considering the quality.



Priory Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful few days with family over the Christmas period - we stayed in Priory Cottage which was a perfect place to be - beautifully presented and everything you needed ,
The main bedroom was cosy and the bed very comfy-very luxurious shower room too.
One suggestion would be that a mattress topper for the sofa bed would help as my girls found mattress rather uncomfortable !

We have all said we would love to come back again and explore more of the beautiful surrounding countryside




Lacking in basic kitchen utensils

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice, warm, clean cosy cottage but no kitchen utensils. Nothing to stir the dinner or serve the dinner with, no chopping boards, cheese grater or any pots to warm food up in the microwave. No wash basket for wet washing, no utensils to clean out the wood burner after use. Could have been 9/10 but sadly we would only give 6/10 very frustrating when trying to cook an evening meal. Not a luxury cottage. No Wi-Fi even though it is advertised as having wifi.



Beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Priory cottage is an adjoining property next to the Stables and was excellent place to stay when attending recent family wedding. Can’t fault anything about the property, it was a charming place to stay and had everything we needed.



Beautiful Priory cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, beautiful location. We really enjoyed our stay at Priory cottage. Will definitely be back



Priory Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfortable and cosy...........................................................................



Good base for exploring the Northumberland area

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good base for exploring the Northumberland area. Lovely peaceful location. Welcome hamper was a nice touch



Convenient, quiet & comfortable.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful find for a short mid-week break. Well appointed and tastefully decorated, with a decent shower and log burner for colder days. Ideally placed for the activities we wanted to undertake (Hadrian's Wall, Farne Islands, Cragside, Craster) with the additional foodie benefits of Rothbury close by. The instructions for using the cottage facilities were clear.

As this is in a rural area, be aware internet access and phone signals are sporadic. This is not in the owner's control but we understand BT are working on installing internet access by the end of Sept 18. There is tourist information at the property to get you started.

We have already recommended this cottage to friends who are planning to visit the area and will continue to do so.




Beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for my wedding and it was amazing. The cottages and grounds are beautiful and the staff are great. Couldn't fault.



Weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful little cottage! Visited in February with our baby and the cottage was perfect for our 3 night stay, with travel cot provided. The welcome pack was lovely, over and above what we would expect. Underfloor heating was a touch of luxury and kept the cottage wonderfully warm, despite it being only a few degrees outside. We will definitely be visiting again!



Wonderful place but some aspects disappointing

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This beautiful property is in a stunning location but we were still a little disappointed. The cottage was freezing cold when we arrived although it quickly warmed up. Despite advertising it as having WiFi there was in fact no reception at all. Although it was stated that there were leaflets and maps there were in fact no maps. With no maps and no WiFi sorting out local walks became impossible. The welcome pack was also disappointing as it contained a bottle of frozen milk and none of the promised wine.

It felt as though we had arrived unexpectedly!!

But don’t be put off. It really is a glorious place to stay.




White room wedding

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our wedding was wonderful and all went according to plan with the great help of Jan and team. Thank you so much for making our day special and run like clockwork. Happy New Year and all the best for 2018.
Richard & Sarah




beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I stayed in Priory Cottage for three nights over the weekend of our daughter's wedding. The accommodation was clean, comfortable and full of character. It was also in a beautiful location.



Priory Cottage feedback

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used Priory cottage to accommodate two colleagues who attended a series of business meetings that we held in The Stables. The accommodation is very comfortable and the customer care was great. The only negative feedback was that the internet was virtually non existent. This may not be of importantce to holiday makers, but for business purposes it was a problem.



Stay At Brinkburn

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Small quiet cottage tucked away near a river. A car is needed as it is fairly remote. Good for a relaxing stay. There is no phone signal which can be good or bad depending on your point of view. Unfortunately during our stay we had no wifi access either which may be a problem for some.



Cosy cottage in an enchanting setting

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We adore Brinkburn Priory and were delighted to be able to stay on its grounds for a few days. The cottage is adorable and very cosy. Ahead of our stay, Mark and his team were so helpful in answering our questions, and we felt very welcome once we arrived. Thank you for an altogether charming week!



Cottage review

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accomodation only drawback is the stairs as they are very steep and narrow.
Great food hamper on arrival all local produce, bread soo good we had to go and buy more to take home.
Dog friendly with good walks nearby in the woods, a small gate at the beginning of the path would have been beneficial as we could have let the dogs out without them wandering off, great stay would recommend it to anyone.




Short stay in Northumberland

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent location in a luxury cottage by the river. Lovely local walks and easy access to the coast.



A wonderful find in a beautiful, tranquil and idyllic location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well proportioned for two people, and fully kitted with high quality furniture, kitchen utensils and machines and bedding. The log fire is an additional boon, but the cottage is cosy even without (and in sub-zero temperatures outside). The surroundings are so wonderful - the priory, fields, river, access to walks and the coast. If you like outdoors and the country, you will love this place.



outstanding

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
above says it all :-) low water pressure was the only let down


and having to write a 100 letters in this review




Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage tucked away from everything. Good standard of furnishings and excellent welcome basket on arrival. Close location to Brinkburn Priory but were not present at the cottage during opening hours to know if it was busy enough to disturb the cottage. Would need a car.



Great location and cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice roomy cottage in a great location.

A couple of constructive comments; more hanging hooks in the bathroom would be good (a hassle given the bedroom and bathroom are on different floors and the shower flooded easily), heated towel rail wasn't working (which meant towels never dried).




Mark Fenwick replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your comments . I have looked into the towel rail and shower drain. The towel rail has a switch in the cupboard under the stairs this had been turned off. We have amended our welcome letter to include this information. We have also cleared the shower drain. We encourage our customers to let us know in the office if anything is not right and we are happy to fix it as soon possible. We were sorry that we were not able to rectify this during your visit, as it only became apparent after you left.

FUSSY PEOPLE

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we are very particular about where we stay. we would stay here again & would recommend it to friends/family. enough said.



Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fabulous hidden treasure although we were the only booking for the cottages, beautiful little gem in a glorious location
would certainly recommend.
Beautifully appointed and the welcome treats of cake, fresh bread and croissants an inspiration.




Wonderful stay at Priory cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Priory cottage which is adjacent to Brinkburn Priory and is located at a bend in the river surrounded by woodland. The cottage itself has been beautifully renovated and is very comfortable. The owners live at the top of the long drive down to the Cottage and Priory and are very welcoming and helpful.
Our dog came too and loved the place.