FB Twitter

HBC: The Spinney

HBC: The Spinney

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 106 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The Spinney, at High Barn offers the height of luxury in a tranquil, secluded setting. The Spinney is a ground floor cottage with two en-suite bedrooms. One of the en-suites is a wet room and is suitable for visitors with somewhat limited mobility.Spacious, modern, totally comfortable, The Spinney is appointed to the highest standard. Visitors love the view from the sitting room over the wildlife pond.A generous complementary Yorkshire Produce hamper showcases the best of the region's foodstuffs.

Excellent cottage and good service . Welcome pack appreciated.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good clean cottage and excellent service provided
Welcome pack appreciated
Need seat in disabled shower room , only problem




Angela replied 8 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Spinney. I don't know how our wires got crossed concerning the shower stool- our apologies - we'll make sure that doesn't happen again.

Lovely place

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this location and the accomodation is really great. The welcome basket of goodies is fabulous and the new app is very useful and works well. We will be back. Perhaps a tiny touch up with the paintbrush in a few places where things are a little scuffed.



Angela replied 169 days ago
We're always delighted to welcome returning visitors and would like to thank you for your very positive review and helpful comments. We've already planned to get into the cottages with our paint brushes now that some of them are free.

Brilliant Cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely well appointed cottage ,quiet in a beautiful location.There are many places to visit especially at the coast.



Angela replied 189 days ago
We’re so pleased you enjoyed staying at High Barn in The Spinney.

Lovely holiday at The Spinney

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 5th holiday with Heritage Escapes and our 2nd at The Spinney. The Spinney is spacious, well-equipped, clean and comfortable.
We were fortunate to have glorious weather and were able to sit outside in the evening and watch the resident Barn Owl leave his Box to go hunting. The Owl Cam is a really nice feature of High Barn Cottages. We really love this region and were lucky enough on this visit, to spot the dolphins at both Bridlington and Filey and seals basking on the beach at Flamborough Head. I’m sure that we’ll be back again next year!




Angela replied 216 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope to see you again.

for us it's a pleasure to enjoy 3 or 4 times a year.especially the owl cam with 5 eggs second brood

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoy the peace and quiet, the wildlife and the ease of getting to places of interest to visit.! :-)



Fantastic relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney was perfect for our much needed quiet week. We immediately felt relaxed in the beautiful barn conversion. There was so much to visit and do in the local area, but we also felt we could have had a great day just staying in the incredibly well provided for accommodation. The little touches made it feel like a hotel stay only better. Highly recommend, we are planning our next visit.



Angela replied 231 days ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your lovely review. We do hope to see you again.

Lovely cottage in peaceful location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our time at the Spinney.
The welcome pack was very generous and it was good to have the personal welcome. The cottage was comfortable and well appointed. We had everything we needed for self catering.
We had a problem with toilets not flushing but this was sorted quickly.
We chose the cottage because my husband has mobility problems and it would have been ideal if some of the furniture in the lounge was more appropriate. Higher and firmer seating for one person would have been good.
The setting was lovely and very relaxing.
We were prepared to have to travel to facilities as there were no shops or restaurants in walking distance.




Heritage Escapes, second to none..

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed with Heritage Escapes for several years now. All the properties are excellent, but the Spinney is our favourite to date. It is fairly roomy, comfortable and makes an excellent base for exploring the surrounding lovely countryside and coastal areas. It is a good retreat if needed should the weather be poor.

The owners are very friendly and helpful, but never intrude on your stay, unless you ask for help.

From what we have seen and experienced, all the Heritage Escapes properties are excellent.

Well recommended. - Mary and Paul




Angela replied 329 days ago
Thank you for your very kind review. It's lovely to welcome returners such as yourselves. When guests like yourselves come back, we know we must be doing something right!

wonderful reaxed break; beautiful place to stay near coast

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous week at High Barn Cottages. Beautiful well equipped properties in a fabulous location. We stayed in The Spinney again and loved having the pond by our patio to enjoy the visiting wildlife welll as having the opportunity to see the barn owls. The property was spotlessly clean and on arrival we were delighted to find a welcome basket of goodies as well as the practicals of milk, tea, coffee butter etc,,,thank you.. John popped in to welcome us. Lots of ideas and information available to enable visitors to get the most out of the area both places to go and eating out etc. Ideal location close to RSPB Bempton and other coast walks as well as Bridlington, Filey and Scarborough. Thoroughly recommend a week of relaxation at High Barn Cottages.



Angela replied 334 days ago
Thank you for your very kind review. We're so pleased you enjoy staying in The Spinney, with it's lovely outdoor space just near the pond.

Home from home!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great find! We had such a lovely short stay here! Waking up to a beautiful view of the pond and wildlife every morning. It has all the facilities you could need, the washing machine and dryer made our stay easier with two little ones! The most comfortable sofas and beds to relax after long days exploring! We loved watching the barn owl on the camera at breakfast and before bed. The welcome hamper was a delight of local food stuff and most welcome to save a trip to the shops! We look forward to visiting again one day and exploring more of the local area!



Angela replied 355 days ago
Thank you for a great review. We do hope you'll stay again some time in the future.

Our stay at the spinney

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always everything you need for a short break away “we are never disappointed with heritage escapes cottages John and Angela are wonderful hosts looking forward to returning in the future



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your kind review.

A comfortable relaxing week at High Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to High Barn, and our second staying in The Spinney. The fact that we keep returning shows how much we enjoy staying there. The Spinney was beautifully clean, nicely furnished and it is a joy to watch the Barn Owls on the webcam. The hamper of goodies waiting for us was the icing on top of the cake!
Many thanks to the Fosters for providing a beautiful environment to relax in.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your third stay with us and hope very much to welcome you again.

fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Spinney at the last minute. What an amazing place Angela and John have created. The property is truly beautiful. The five properties are all converted barns in a u shape. The site has electric gates for safety.
The Spinney has two en-suite bedrooms and an open plan living, dining kitchen with patio doors leading to the private space outside. All the accomodation is on the ground floor. It is very special.
Fresh flowers and a very generous hamper were left for us.
Well placed for visiting Flamborough Head, Bridlington and Scarbourgh. Cannot recommend highly enough.
We will return and stay at Field House Farm in the Garden cottage. Cannot wait to go back.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are absolutely delighted that we were able to accommodate you at such short notice and hope very much to see you again. Thank you also for your gift of roses - so unexpected! You are very kind.

My holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was fabulous we loved it very much the best we’ve been to well done it was great all of it my only complaint was no spare light bulbs but fabulous Thankyou



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a great review. If you visit us again, please do ask one of us for any spares you might need and we will readily provide them.

Wonderful place . Will be back

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney was lovely . Had stayed at High Barn before and will return for sure . Spotlessly clean , well equipped kitchen so easy to cook meals etc . Covid measures in place were reassuring and helpful .
So relaxing to sit out by the pond for meals with plenty of wildlife to enjoy .
Owners are friendly and available if needed and provide lots of information ahead of your stay if you don’t know the area . Great location for RSPB Bempton and the coast . Will recommend to friends for sure . Thank you Angela and family for a chilled out week .




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It is our pleasure to provide top class accommodation for our lovely visitors. Thank you for your kind comments, which make all the work put in by ourselves and the team totally worthwhile.

Recent stay at High Barn. The Spinney.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned from a restful and wonderful 10 days at The Spinney. Highly recommend this comfortable Barn, Everything is provided on arrival and we received a friendly and efficient welcome. Certainly a car is needed but very easy to reach the coast or countryside. Having the owl cam is amazing. We had a dew pond next to us and a wildlife meadow. Any one looking for peace and quiet should book. Certainly hope to return.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
A lovely review. Thank you. We do have a small select few visitors who choose to arrive by train and this is entirely possible as Bempton station is not far down the road. However, we would agree that a car is by far the easiest way of seeing what the East Riding has to offer.

Another lovely stay in "The Spinney"

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney is a lovely Barn Conversion suitable for wheelchair users as well as able bodied visitors. The "Welcome Hamper" and the extra clothes hooks in the "Wet Room" were much appreciated. The five Barn Owlets were a joy to watch. A quiet, relaxing holiday and looking forward to another stay next year.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased The Spinney suited the needs of your party. Glad too that you enjoyed the antics of our baby Barn Owls.

A comfortable stay in very pleasant accommodation. Just a few tweaks suggested!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We much enjoyed our week's stay at the Spinney. It is pleasant visitor-friendly accommodation, and as we are readers we were specially grateful for the good level of lighting - in our experience quite rare elsewhere. The kitchen/diner/sitting area is very pleasant, leading straight out onto a patio with the pond beyond. Lots of morning sun, and in the evening we often walked outside to enjoy the magnificent sunsets on the other side of the building. Beyond the pond is a busy-ish road, but this is well screened and we soon got used to it. Everything felt very secure, with the electronically operated gate, and there is plenty of parking. And a most generous welcome hamper; thank you! Lovely warm underfloor heating too - a luxury!
We had a query one evening about the dryer and John appeared straight away; thank you again! Our only reservations were (a) the size of the bedrooms and bathrooms: the double seemed a bit cramped, and seemed rather exposed, leading straight off the front door area .... Also (b) The bathroom windows seemed not to open (security on the ground floor, presumably) and (to us) this added to the cramped feel at the 'double' end of the accommodation. And a small point (c) but we weren't sure why the bath-tap controls were so inaccessible to anyone actually in the bath! Given that you need to stand up to alter the taps, an extra grab rail would have been welcome.
But otherwise all good, and thank you!




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are always interested in our visitors' comments and suggestions. We worked within the dimensions of the original buildings, as required by our planning application. We believe our publicity photos/floor plans/ walk through video footage all accurately portray the size and dimension of our cottages and allow potential visitors to make an informed choice.

Very homely

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an enjoyable 4 nights here. The accommodation was very comfortable and I was impressed at the standard of cleanliness and how homely it felt. It had everything we needed and the welcome basket of essential s on arrival was a lovely surprise. The kids loved the owl channel and ducks on the pond. Great location for coastal walks.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very positive review.

Gorgeous cottage. Very clean. Accessibility perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous cottage in one of our favourite locations. Cottage was very clean and well supplied. Lovely welcome hamper provided. Owners were very accommodating and welcoming. Truly relaxing break with all home comforts. Thoroughly enjoyed watching the live feed for the resident barn owl. I have already recommended this cottage to my parents.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your generous comments and also for recommending us to others. Much apreciated.

Been here several times and look forward to coming back.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is high standard accommodation in a lovely setting. We highly recommend it. The location is ideal for many local areas of interest



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review! We always enjoy welcoming you back. All the best, John, Angela and James.

Another beautiful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to this accommodation and another stay in such beautiful accommodation in a stunning location. We really can never ask for more when we stay here. Thankyou for a relaxing break away.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoy the property. We love having you return! All the best, John, Angela and James.

Seventh visit, they must be doing something right.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual, The Spinney was everything we've come to expect, it feels like a home from home.

The cottage is clean and well furnished, and with good, modern appliances to make the stay easy and comfortable. John and his crew are very helpful and approachable, they keep the place looking nice and tidy.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very positive review. It's very gratifying to have visitors return regularly to our cottages at High Barn and Field House.

A comfortable relaxing week at High Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to High Barn. For our first visit we stayed at The Cake House, and for our second we decided that we would like to be overlooking the pond, so stayed at The Spinney. Both were extremely comfortable, clean and welcoming. The hamper and flowers were a treat, and for us what made the properties extra special were the webcams monitoring the Barn Owls.
We are looking forward to another visit in the future.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a positive review. We're very pleased to have welcomed you again to one of our cottages at High Barn and we're glad you found The Spinney to be as comfortable and relaxing as The Cake House. We do hope to see you again some time in the future.

Home from home!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased to be back again in such a lovely property in such a lovely place. We highly recommend John and Angela's beautiful properties.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! All the best, John, Angela and James.

Great Place

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday in a great place within a convenient area.
Well equipped and nicely set out. Private garden area topped it off. Highly recommendable. Thank you.




Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back soon! All the best John, Angela and James.

A lovely peaceful and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As this was our first holiday since my husband suffered a stroke and he uses a wheelchair, we were apprehensive about how we would manage away from home. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Spinney The beds were really comfortable and nothing lacked in the kitchen. The Welcome Hamper was much appreciated and the brown bread was delicious. It would have been more comfortable for my husband if there had been a higher fireside chair as he was unable to sit on the sofas, other than this the accommodation was 5 star. The patio at the side of the pond was very accessible and we spent enjoyable hours just watching the wildlife, the bonus was watching the Barn Owl cam. We were lucky enough to see two owletts hatch before we left. We have recommend High Barn Cottages to a number of people and we hopefully will return in the future.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you both managed to get away and enjoyed your stay with us at High Barn. Please do know you can always ask for any extra furnishings and we will do our best to accommodate you. What a lovely treat to witness the owlets hatching! We hope to see you again. All the best, John, Angela and James

Excellent choice for a relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having not been on holiday for almost 18 months, we were looking for somewhere to provide us with a comfortable base for a relaxing staycation.
The Spinney more than fulfilled our needs and exceeded our expectations. Built around a courtyard with 5 properties, which form a little community, one can sit outside at the front or back to take advantage of the sunshine. It is spacious, well decorated, well furnished and well equipped. There were some very nice extra touches - fresh cut flowers and a welcome hamper including local produce.
We were welcomed by John who provided us with some good insight on what to see locally. The property is ideally situated for touring by car, with convenient access to the main road north. We went as far as Whitby and across to Castle Howard. Flamborough Head is a few minutes away and the RSPB Reserve at Bempton Cliffs is a must visit! We also visited Scarborough and spent a day at Filey - including a relaxing afternoon on the beach. If you want a day off from driving - take the train from Bempton Station which is just down the road. Bridlington town centre is only a few minutes away with access to supermarkets.

We were able to self cater using local produce, cooking in the well equipped kitchen, eating in a comfortable dining area, before settling down in the spacious lounge, relaxing in front of the tv with the added bonus of being able to watch owlcam from the loft of the barn, monitoring the rapid growth of the baby owls and the interaction with their parents.

Bathrooms are spacious and the beds comfortable. I don't think we could have asked for anything more!




Peaceful, high quality accommodation and a wildlife haven

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our break away. The first since Covid came into existence and we pleased to find everything so spotless and great safety measures in place. The cottage was beautiful with the jewel being able to watch the Barn Owls and their babies on the wildlife camera. We had everything we needed in the cottage. Correspondence with the owners was easy and they answered any questions we had beforehand. We have already recommended Heritage Escapes to several friends and family and intend ourselves to return next year.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time so much that you'd like to return. We update our social media regularly with information on the Barn Owls so please do have a look. We look forward to welcoming you back! All the best, John, Angela and James.

A super cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at the Spinney. The accommodation was very clean and well equipped. The beds were very comfortable. The garden was beautiful and we liked being able to sit out at both the front and back of the property. The nearby cliff top walk at Bempton was stunning.



Beyond expectations

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was stunning and the location beautiful. Everything had been thoughtfully provided the welcome pack and the flowers was a lovely personal touch.
Bempton Cliffs is highly recommended and the lighthouse at Flamborough.




Location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The reason we scored 4 and not another 5 for its location is simply that you cannot walk from the door.Other than that it’s location is excellent



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to have you back for your 4th visit to High Barn. Seeing you sitting in the courtyard, enjoying the sunshine and listening to where you had visited and walked to gave me real pleasure. The lockdown has been long and restrictive and we all know our visitors enjoy the freedom and the space of a holiday here. Walkers need to note both Newsham Hill Lane and the first part of Jewison Lane are without footpaths, but that's not unusual in the countryside.

Great for a staycation

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for somewhere to stay on the North Yorks coast for a family break now that Covid restrictions have relaxed. The Spinney was perfect - close to the seaside towns of Bridlington, Flamborough, and Filey, but away from the crowds. Danes Dyke Nature Reserve and Sewerby Hall and Gardens are only a few mins away. The house was immaculate and we would have spent more time by the pond if the weather had been warmer. We had a relaxing time there and had already booked our next trip to High Barn before we left!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always good to hear that our visitors plan to return and heart warming to know you have already booked your next stay. We look forward to seeing you again vey soon.

A wonderful break post lockdown

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With easing of lockdown measures we were able to grab a few days at this beautiful cottage. Everything was perfect. It was warm, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We were provided with a huge welcome pack of goodies. There is seating outdoors both at the front and the rear where you can watch the wildlife on the pond while having a coffee or a cocktail. You are within easy reach of the coast, both beaches and also cliff top walks. We hope to return soon.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope you will return to High Barn.

tranquility holiday every time

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite and peaceful,the wildlife is just outside,and the owl cam gives you⁣ a wonderful view of an owl family in the breading season. The cleaning of the accommodation by the friendly staff is superb. I have been here teens of times and will be coming back for more.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for giving us a top class review.

Excellent accommodation in a tranquil rural setting

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to a Heritage Escapes property and, once again, we were not disappointed.

Accommodation is to the highest quality, very comfortable and the quiet, rural setting was perfect.

As always, the owners came to check that everything was fine, and this personal contact is typical of the high standards set.

( As this was a single story property ( as are all on this site ) it is particulalry attractive to anyone who would prefer not to climb stairs )




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Its very gratifying to know that you have enjoyed another stay with us and we thank you for your lovely comments. Just for the record, only The Spinney and The Cake House are single storey properties, the other three have their bedrooms on the first floor.

Family Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we booked The Spinney for my 30th Birthday. Upon arrival we had a very good hamper waiting for us with all the essentials and more. The facilities were excellent and was spotlessly clean. There was even a webcam to the Barn owls nesting on site. The WiFi connection was very good too. It is central to plenty of places to visit which we did, whitby Bay, York, Wold Beer Tour to name a few. We had an amazing week away and would highly recommend to anyone thinking of booking here. You won't be disappointed



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your 30th birthday in The Spinney and we'd like to thank you for your lovely review.

Excellent stay at The Spinney, would definitely recoommend

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Spinney for 4 nights but wish we could have stayed longer. Very clean and comfortable, beautiful setting. Loved the welcome hamper and staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your short break and hope very much you will visit again.

Enjoyable family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second stay at The Spinney and it was as enjoyable as the first time. The cottage is beautifully renovated with all your creature comforts, including a good WiFi and Netflix, which the kids were delighted with in the evenings. It is also a great place to explore the East Coast from, with beautiful beaches such as Hunmanby and Fraisthorpe. It’s also a stone’s throw from Bempton Cliffs for you twitchers out there. We stayed just after lockdown and the cleanliness was exemplary. In summary, a really enjoyable break in a lovely cottage with lots to explore.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always good to welcome back returning guests and then to know that they have enjoyed themselves as much as the last time. Thank you for your lovely review.

Anothe Great Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a week with my grand-daughter and great grand-daughter. Excellent as always, quiet and peaceful, great location and one of the best holiday cottages in the UK.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Good to have you staying with us at High Barn. We're so pleased your holiday break worked well for you all.

Space to breathe!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and high quality accommodation. Everything has been thought of to provide comfort. Loved the owl cam. Lots of interesting places to visit close by. Recommend without reservation.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay at High Barn and it is lovely to be recommended without reservation!

Cc

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent but why make me write a review to submit the feedback bbbbbbbbbvbBbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at High Barn in The Spinney and were happy to welcome you there last week. We can assure you there is no compulsion to write a review, only a request to do so if you wish.

Fantastic property and location

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely break at The Spinney over New Year. The owners were very welcoming and the property was very well fitted out with everything we needed. Thank you for the welcome pack. The location was great - some lovely walks straight from the back door. We'd never been to this part of the country but loved it and hope to come back. Thank you The Carters, Macclesfield



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope you will return, perhaps at a different time of the year, to see the countryside at another season.

Lovely farm house getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A pleasant and cosy farm-house conversion plus extension building with everything you need for a relaxing getaway.
The owners are very nice and helpful so your stay will be supported by them as and when you need them.

Inside the cottage (The Spinney), it was very tidy and clean and well decorated throughout.

The log burner was a superb, so very soul soothing. You can fill up with logs which are stored in an outbuilding made of wood, similar to what people go 'glamping' in.

There are some decent local pubs however its probably bets to drive but it's just a mile or two into the local villages.

We hope to go back very soon to experience the cottages mind-soothing qualities.

Thoroughly recommended.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your short break and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second winter 'get away' break at The Spinney. We found all aspects of the accommodation to be first class. We have stayed in a number of cottages in Britain and the Spinney compares favourably with them all.



An ideal fit for our needs!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is extremely thoughtfully planned, particularly for visitors with mobility issues. Ideally planned wet room and grab rails. We very much appreciated the ‘welcome hamper’ plus milk, butter and pure water. A lovely touch was the vase of fresh flowers. The cottage is surrounded by farming land and in an ideal position to visit the many beautiful places on the east coast. The most obvious place to visit nearby is Bempton cliffs, a real treasure for bird lovers plus an interesting shop and cafe. Lots of information leaflets, maps and suggestions for nearby walks are available at the cottage.
Secure, spacious car parking is an additional bonus.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind and detailed review.

Comfortable week helped by excellent weather

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is well equipped and very clean. The welcome hamper was much appreciated. Everything worked! The adjacent road was a bit noisy at times.
Owl watching was fun.

It's a shame there is no footpath to Bempton village. Walking on the road is dangerous.

We enjoyed our stay.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review of The Spinney. We wish you had indicated you were keen to walk into the local village, as it is perfectly possible to reach it by walking along the margins of our fields, thus avoiding any local traffic.

An excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage, well equipped and comfortable. The Welcome Pack was one of the best I have received.
My only slight criticism is that the bed could have been a little softer for my aging bones, but other that that I really enjoyed my stay.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry you found the mattress a little firm for your taste - it's such a subjective thing, but we do stick to a brand and a firmness rating that seems to please the huge majority of our guests.

Short notice booking, absolutely fantastic service. My grandparents were wowed by the cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to John, Angela and James for providing such beautiful cottages. We were blown away when we pulled up as they look amazing, and inside the property is modern, clean and a beautiful home from home. The hamper upon arrival was a fantastic touch. My elderly grandparents came with us, grandad has mobility issues and this was well and truly catered for with no issue.
We have already recommended to all family members and would not consider staying anywhere else if in the area again.
Thank you for taking our booking at such short notice.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted to be able to help you out at short notice and knew your grandfather would manage well in The Spinney, which is set up to cater well for guests with slight mobility problems. We hope you all enjoyed the wedding.

Another successful visit

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our eighth visit to Angela and John’s properties which says it all. It was our first stay in the Spinney which lived up to all our expectations. It is a clean, comfortable cottage with high quality fixtures, fittings and furnishings. The setting is lovely and we particularly enjoyed watching the leverets eating the clover in front of the cottage each morning. The family’s care for the environment is in evidence everywhere. We love this part of the country and our stays at Field House Farm cottages and hope to be back soon.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review and also for the photos you sent to us of the hares just outside the cottages.

Short break away with family

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely comfortable place to stay. They really have thought of everything and it was ideal for mum who has restricted mobility. They really couldn’t do enough for us we shall definitely stay there again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope you will stay again.

Impressive

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Spinney, High Barn. We were hugely impressed with the lovely house, high quality fittings and fixtures and the excellent welcome pack. Everyone we met were charming and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. I've stayed in a number of self catering cottages and this is one of the best.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay in The Spinney and that it was comfortable and relaxing.

Best accomodation we have stayed at

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Probably the best accomodation we have stayed in regarding finish, whats provide, welcome hamper and location. Maybe a bit pricey for just one couple and bit of a mix up with the phone when we arrived. Accesable, no steps ect. Will be considering a future visit.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your good review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you both and talk about how we converted the buildings etc. If you are considering another visit, low season stays might be your thing.

Lovely cottage in rural location.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and the cottage didn't disappoint. Lovely rural location yet just minutes from Bridlington one way and Bempton Cliffs the other. The cottage is comfortable and beautifully furnished with the added bonus of 24/7 'Owl cam'. It was lovely to be able to watch mum, dad and baby Barn Owl on the one, cold, wet day of our break, from the comfort of our sofa. Fabulous welcome hamper just adds to the whole experience. First class!



In the top 10 of self accommodation places I’ve stayed

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage,in a lovely area,very relaxing.It was very well equipped with top quality goods etc.,an added bonus was the web cam Barn Owl box



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very positive review - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at High Barn. Baby owl is growing fast - I am just about to post a photo of him/her on out Twitter account @highbarncottage and on Facebook- High Barn Cottages.

Fabulous Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to a number of the properties owned by the Foster family both in York and in the Bempton area and we have never ever been disappointed. The quality and attention to the finest of detail is second to none. Simply everything is to perfection. Your personal comfort has been given such careful consideration and the family and their lovely staff are such kind and very considerate people. We had ordered an online grocery delivery and when we arrived even all the order had been so kindly placed away in the appropriate cupboards and fridges. One of the most important details for us are the beds, and these, as always, remain so comfy and with such beautiful crisp cotton linen. We cannot recommend any of their places enough. It is absolutely no wonder that they have once again won the top award for holiday accommodation. They totally deserve it. We LOVE going to their properties as we know we shall always get wonderful treatment and definitely come away feeling a million dollars!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Whatr can we say to a review such as yours, but thank you for such generous comments.

Lovely short break

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stopped in The Spinney for two nights and had a lovely stay, the cottage was spotlessly clean and provided everything you needed along with a few added extra touches. The grounds were well kept and it was nice to watch the barn owls. It was also great to see lots of eco friendly options and products being used in the cottage. The cottage was also well placed for exploring the coast.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your short break in The Spinney.

Fabulous Winter Break

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Spinney for Christmas 2018 and were more than delighted with the accommodation.
The barn had been decorated for Christmas, lovely welcome hamper and was furnished beautifully.
Comfortable beds, linen and excellent bathrooms.
Fascinated by the owl webcam too.
All in all, we couldn't fault it - thank you!




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us.

The Spinney

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation convenient for visits to Bridlington, Filey, Scarboro, Flamboror, Bempton etc.The Barn Owl cam was fascinating



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It is always very gratifying to receive such lovely comments as yours. Thank you

Wonderful cottage in a perfect location.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful short break in a perfect location. The cottage was the best we've stayed in and certainly the ONLY cottage with its own 'Barn Owl TV'. Beautifully appointed throughout with lots of thoughtful touches including the lovely food hamper which was especially welcome. A visit to RSPB Bempton, literally just down the road, was wonderful and we hope to return to the cottage early next summer to catch the Puffins, which we missed this time.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. We're delighted youenjoyed your first stay and really hope to see you again soon.

Great for Disabled Guests

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently visited with my elderly father who has impaired mobility and it was perfect for his needs. The accessible bathroom has a level access shower with grab rail and a stool and large non slip mat are provided. The cottage is spacious, super comfortable and warm. Wildlife spotting was an added bonus. We saw deer on a walk in the fields and were able to watch the beautiful barn owl in its nesting box in the eaves of our barn, both on the webcam and leaving the box at dusk.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad both you and your father enjoyed your stay in The Spinney.

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again, another outstanding stay at The Spinney. This must be our 10th visit as it's just so fantastic, you just want to keep going back. Excellent quality stay in beautiful surroundings and so much to see and do from your doorstep. Highly recommended, you need to see it for yourself. Thanks to John & Angela for making us so welcome. Hope to see you again soon.



AngelaIt is always lovely to welcome returners and to know that what we have to offer replied more than 1 year ago
It is always lovely to welcome returners and to know that what we have to offer suits them perfectly.

A Gem of a place

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth visit it the last 15 months which says it all. With having limited mobility it is difficult finding good 5* accommodation. The Spinney and Cake House ticks all the boxes. A good Yorkshire welcome by the owners and the fabulous welcome hamper. Don’t all rush, we need to get in for next year !!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad both The Cake House and The Spinney suit your needs Leonard. We do hope to see you ion the future.

A wonderful short break in an area we had not really explored before!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful barn conversion. Immaculately clean and well-equipped with very comfy beds! Resident barn owl was a delight. Sad to leave and would definitely stay again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in The Spinney and have 'discovered' East Yorkshire. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Relaxation at its best

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation. Part rustic part modern. All you need for relaxing few days. Nice hamper especially the bread. Owl watch nice addition. Quiet location but not far from civilisation if you wish.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Just delighted that your short break offered you a relaxing and happy stay.

Five star accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Barn is very comfortable, has excellent facilities and the welcome hamper is first class. This is our second stay in another part of the barn, all equally impressive.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very glad you to have welcome you a second time to High Barn and delighted your stay in a different cottage was just as pleasing.

A beautiful sanctuary to recharge your batteries

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was faultless and felt very much like a well loved home and not a holiday let. The owner John and his son James met us to show us round the house and help us with our luggage etc as my husband is disabled. They couldn’t have been kinder and immediately we felt relaxed. The property around the house was so peaceful and beautiful and obviously much thought and care had gone into the design of the wild garden. All in all a very beautiful place to stay and unwind.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So glad the cottage worked well for you and your husband

A perfect short break in peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I travelled with my elderly mother for a midweek break in July, at the height of the heatwave. On arriving hot and tired we were immediately put at ease. The arrival instructions had been very clear, we were met on arrival, and were soon settling into the Spinney. The cottage is warm and cheerful, packed with everything you could possibly want in a home from home, and immaculately clean. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, each with ensuite, the kitchen has absolutely everything, and the comfortable lounge/diner is a great place to relax. The ensuite 'wet room' would have been perfect for a disabled guest because there is nothing to climb into or step over, and no doors or shower curtains.The guest information is comprehensive and thoughtful. Obviously the wood stove wasn't needed but I can see what a lovely snug place it would be in the winter. The welcome hamper is a lovely touch and much appreciated. The location is beautiful, surrounded by fields in a secure setting, and the green aspects and sustainability are fascinating. The Spinney even has a pond right outside the patio doors. There is no end of places to visit. Bempton RSPB and Sewerby are just a few minutes away in the car, with Bridlington and Flamborough 10-15 minutes. Filey and Scarborough are just down the road. All in all, a really relaxing and enjoyable stay and I'd most definitely return.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Do accept my apologies for not replying sooner. I'm so glad you and your mother enjoyed your stay in The Spinney . Hopefully, you will return to High Barn at some future date.

Beautiful, comfortable Barn conversion offering all the comforts of home.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney was absolutely what we were looking for as I had my 87yr old mum and a young man 56 with severe learning and physical disabilities to care for. The wet room was ideal and was well stocked and thought out to meet most needs.
The Barn is in a fairly quiet position away from the farm so no bad smells and only the occasional car going by. I am a light sleeper and was never woken by external noise, only my Mothers snoring.
The Barn is also very close to pub restaurants, co op local stores and a highly acclaimed fish and chip shop. It is easy to travel to many local beauty spots by car, bus and foot.
I was pleasantly surprised by thoughtful extras that were available that we didn't need to provide such as all cleaning detergents, bathroom well stocked with loo paper and nice toiletries. Little notebook and pen that came in useful on side table in lounge.
A large TV in every room that lets you have a secret view into the nest box of a mating pair of barn owls as well as free tv and some smart tv apps Iplayer. There is also a small pond outside the lounge doors with ducks just by the patio. It is also very private.
The owners and staff were really friendly and very helpful when required.
I would genuinely recommend this holiday venue. It is a 5 star stunning property and we had a great time there. Thank you to the Fieldhouse team.




An ideal holiday get away

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this accommodation for myself and my 89 year old Mum, the accommodation was like a five star hotel and was excellent for someone with some mobility difficulties. it was a most relaxing place to stay.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay in The Spinney proved to be an ideal choice. thank you for your lovely comments.

A Happy New Year

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay in a clean cottage with everything you need to enjoy your stay. An easy booking process and the small issue that arose during our visit was sorted quickly and effectively. Booked our next visit whilst we were there which says it all.



Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you had a good time in The Spinney over New Year and so glad you have booked to come again.

2nd visit this year

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked a repeat visit to coincide with our anniversary and not disappointed, everything spot on as usual,will certainly come again next year



Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your 2nd visit and we do hope to see you again

Excellent stay at The Spinney

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from a stay at The Spinney. We had a lovely time. We found the cottage to be excellent accommodation, very quiet location, cleanliness and furnishings to a very high standard. The cottage was open on arrival and after letting the owner know we had arrived, she came long within minutes to welcome us, which we felt was a lovely gesture. She was able to give us lots of useful info about the cottage and some places to visit. There is loads of information in the folders with ideas of how to fill your days. Although the location was quiet, we had to drive everywhere. It was just a bit too far to walk to the nearest hotel/pub in the evening for a meal, or to the nearest newsagent in the morning. It may be ok for younger people, but we felt we needed to take the car. Our only minor negative remark, but otherwise excellent accommodation. Thank you.



A very pleasant stay at the Spinney

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a very relaxing and quiet stay at the Spinney. The accomodation is very good equipped. The owners are very kind and helpful.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're always delighted to welcome guests from the continent and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
great place to stay easy to get to places of interest .very comfortably place to be in friendly people altogether a great holiday.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in The Spinney

Lovely well equipped property and very helpful owners

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a property with good access for my mobility impaired mother. This cottage was ideal, all on one level and with good fittings in the bathrooms. The owner was very helpful, provided raised toilet seat and shower stool, and set up the beds so that my mother had easy access to the wet room. The finish of the property was to a very high standard throughout. The owner also gave us lots of help and advice prior to the booking. Also, the welcome pack (food, wine) was the best we have ever seen!

We thoroughly recommend this property and will be back.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So glad your stay was a success.

Fab-u-lous

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One word three syllables, fab-u-lous. Peaceful location, equipped and furnished to a very high standard with lovely bed linen. Welcome hamper and fresh flowers were a nice touch and much appreciated. Just one, perhaps negative, comment about the bathroom mirrors which were difficult to see yourself in, even when lit. More a problem for men who may want to shave I think and certainly not something that would put me off returning. Highly recommend High Barns and hope to return in the not too distant future.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're just delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in The Spinney. We do hope to see you again.

Amazing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner had a fabulous stay at The Spinney, total relaxation from start to finish. The place is amazing spotless and so peaceful. The location is also fab. We loved every second and can't wait to book to visit again!! Thank you so much for the welcome hamper, a lovely touch.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Than uou for your lovely review. We do hope you stay with us again.

Quiet, lovely property

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property was well lied out and equipped, in an ideal area for exploring the coast and inland. Lovely welcome hamper on arrival. With a secluded patio area overlooking the pond on site. Only downside was there was equipment noise from the other side of the wall in main bedroom, during the night. But overall very nice property.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We wish you had informed us about the noise you experienced and we would have investigated immediately.

weekend celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place to stay. Pity it could not have been for longer. I will be booking for longer next time. Everything was excellent plus being able to watch the barn owl on her nest live very exiting for the children. You have thought if everything to make our stay the best. See you again soon. Have already recommended to friends. Thank you.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you all enjoyed your stay at High Barn.

An excellent Christmas break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent Christmas at the Spinney with elderly parents. The accommodation was perfect and the attention from John and Angela was just right. Lovely walks along the prom at Bridlington in the crisp winter sunshine and plenty of great places in easy reach for longer and more challenging exploration. The quality of the fixtures and fittings in the Spinney is excellent and the family history and story of the barn conversion is a lovely unique touch. We hope to be back in another season to do some proper walking.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We very much hope to meet you again in the future.

Cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully comfortable, cosy, well-equipped cottage in lovely surroundings. We chose it because it was accessible - small issue with the shower being an overhead fixed one and maybe a few more grabrails would come in handy, but otherwise it was perfect and we really liked the way the place is so eco-friendly. Really pleasant owners and very generous welcome pack. Fabulous!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Spinney. We are investigating a 2nd head on the shower to make it more user friendly.

The Spinney

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a lovely setting. Everything we wanted in the cottage and all in great order. We had a lovely stay at The Spinney and the Owl Web Cam was wonderful (far better than TV!) A great thing to do just wish we could still see those beautiful owls.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and very pleased you were able to watch the Barn Owls.

Exceptional quality

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's extremely difficult to find good quality holiday accommodation for those with limited mobility but this cottage is by far the best we have stayed in. My mother had no problem getting around and there is good wheelchair access. The quality of the furnishings, fixtures and fittings is exceptional. The welcome pack provided was extremely good with some wonderful produce. We would love to stay again next year.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the cottage to be mobility friendly, which is what we intended it to be when we designed the layout.

Perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney was everything it said it was and more...and we loved it. The secluded outdoor area overlooking the dew pond was an added bonus. It was delightful to watch the owls and their fledglings on the tv.
Thank you.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
No greater compliment than to be awarded 'perfect'!

Excellent accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good weekend at the spinney. Facilities first class my arthritic knees would appreciate a higher seat but thar was only a minor issue in an otherwise excellent experience



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you found The Spinney to be 1st class accommodation. We happily provide a high-backed firm armchair if requested, either before or on arrival.

A comfortable stay in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent barn conversion offering all the home comforts you could require. Very well equipped and really comfortable with excellent facilities. Peaceful rural setting yet close to all amenities.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted The spinney lived u p to your expectations.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed this lovely cottage and John and Julia could not be of more help. Being able to keep an eye on the Barn Owls was so good and I was completely fascinated.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
John and I are delighted you found The Spinney to your liking. The baby owls on the web-cam are certainly worth watching.

Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed three times at another property owned by the owners of The Spinney it was no surprise how perfect the cottage and place were. We highly recommend this idyllic lovely place. The owners are delightful and cannot do enough for you. They have been amazing to us. There are wonderful touches too - fabulous crisp white linen on very comfy beds, a lovely hamper filled with delicious food and drink, and a webcam which enthralled us as we had the privilege to see inside the life of two beautiful barn owls. Perfection indeed.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Spinney as much as your stays in our York apartments. We think High Barn is a special place - tranquil, private and extremely comfortable. We agree the Barn Owls on the webcam are fascinating to watch.

An excellent facility for those with restricted mobility, conveniently located to explore E.Yorks.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney is an accessible ground floor cottage in an attractive complex near Yorkshire's East Coast. It is very comfortable and well equipped in a quiet rural location.
The Spinney also has a very pleasant outlook over a small pond inhabited during our stay by a pair of Mallards.
We enjoyed a great holiday in beautiful part of the world.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. As you say, The Spinney is an excellent choice for someone with slightly restricted mobility.

A wonderful stay in an exceptional property with owls. We loved it.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you John and Angela for producing such an exceptional holiday property. It was just what we needed. Carol loves wildlife especially owls and to have the privilege of watching the barn owl caring for her eggs and her mate bringing food for her was a massive treat. I fleetingly saw a hare. It must be 30 years since I saw the last one. Very exciting! The dew pool right outside our door was great. Constant flashes of blue and one early morning having a male mallard for company whilst I had my morning tea made me very happy.
The Spinney is extremely comfortable and everything of top quality. We have no hesitation in recommending this property at any time of year in view of the novel heating system. Thanks again.
Ken and Carol Walton




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review. We think the wildlife is a huge bonus for holiday-makers. As you say, most people rarely see hare, barn owls, deer in close proximity and we have all these and far more to view from the comfort of superb accommodation. We hope very much to welcome you again.

A home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation, with excellent facilities, features and equipment. Tastefully furnished and decorated my wife and I felt it was truly a home from home. The webcam of Betty the Barn Owl was a real bonus! We will be back!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted that you both so enjoyed your stay in The Spinney. Our barn owl is still sitting pretty on her 3 eggs, so we have high hopes of a clutch of babies in the near future.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Mother (aged nearly 89) and I had a week staying at The Spinney and although it was dry the NE breezes meant we used the accommodation more during the day so it needed to be quiet, comfortable and convenient for short drives out in the afternoon.
It is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. The facilities and the furnishings made it a joy to come back to. The conversion, layout with the attention to detail of the design made it very easy for someone of my Mum's age to get around and she had no fears in using the wet room which had underfloor heating and sufficient grab rails for her safety.
I can HIGHLY RECOMMEND this cottage to any couple or to two couples as the accommodation is sufficiently generous not to feel on top of one another - it is the sort of place I would love to own myself.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad your holiday with your mother in The Spinney was a success. We were sorry to miss you on Sunday morning - I think we arrived just minutes after you had left.

Bowled over from North Yorkshire

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met on arrival and walked through the property to ensure that we knew where everything was and that we were happy with all the facilities. We spent a wonderful weekend In The Spinney. High Barn is certainly somewhere that we shall return to again, hopefully soon.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for posting such a positive review. We do hope you'll be able to stay with us again.

A terrific short break in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, two kids and I stayed here for a short break at the end of March. We were delighted with the accommodation which is a gorgeous two bedroom barn conversion with wood burner and large living area, which has a high standard of fittings and fixtures throughout. There is a double bed en suite and a twin en suite and there is underfloor heating throughout. The barn was very cosy and it is in a great location to explore the East Yorkshire coast. The owners were very helpful too and offered to show our five year old daughter the new born lambs. There was also a basket of goodies / essentials on arrival, which was a nice touch. All in all, a fabulous stay, helped by he good weather.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased your short break was enjoyed by you and your family. Thank-you for your very positive review.

spinney easter

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay in the spinney and our 7th stay at high barns. Needless to say we love it here. Everything you need is catered for, John, Angela and team are always extremely helpful if any problems, of which there have been few. I`m sure if they could organise the perfect weather for your stay they would do that too.















































Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your very kind review. It's always lovely to have visitors return and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

The Spinney

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I just love this place. It's extremely tranquil and peaceful. I've now stayed here twice and will definiately be going back. I would highly recommend it.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We were so pleased to have you return to The Spinney and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Our Wonderful Stay at The Spinney

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney is a faultless place to stay, not just for its proximity to Yorkshire's coastal nature reserves, or for its first class, contemporary interior and trail blazing building design, or even for its efficient, flexible and friendly owners, but more so for its wildlife promoting ethos which is embedded in every aspect of its being. A model for the future tourist industry.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We thank-you for your generous review. We aimed to make High Barn energy efficient and wild-life friendly, alongside the comfort and quality chosen for the interiors. We're so glad you appreciated our on-going efforts

4-11th September stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed our week stay here in comfortable and restful surroundings. It was particularly well appointed for my mother who has mobility problems and was located well for enjoying the local coast and the Wolds/Moors further afield.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Julian for your very kind review. We are glad The Spinney suited well the needs of your mother in particular

Our new favourite cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After many stays at Field House Farm Cottages , this was our first time here. Lovely quiet position , fabulous cleanliness, quality and luxury with own patio. The welcome Yorkshire hamper was lovely and most welcome. We had a lovely time with so many places to visit. Angela and John are very welcoming and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. We hope to continue to visit for many years to come.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Darryl for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed The Spinney for this last visit. It always pleases us greatly to have returners, such as yourselves.

Amazing cottage, great location, friendly owners - complete package!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous long weekend at this amazing cottage! It is beautiful, comfortable, warm and charming! The owl camera was a great hit with our kids! The location was great and easy to get to coast. Very quiet and peaceful! The owner, Angela, was very friendly and gave us some lovely suggestions for places to eat. She also left a beautiful welcome pack for us! It was the complete package! I will definitely recommend this cottage to my friends!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased your time spent in The Spinney lived up to your expectations. I hope you enjoyed a memorable birthday weekend.

Our stay at the Spinney

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first thoughts were wow, we really felt at home at the spinney. The little touches were lovely, things like the hamper on arrival, cleaning products etc. The space itself was brilliant for our disabled daughter who could get round the spinney with no problem. The spinney was very clean and comfortable. Looking forward in going back in the future.



Wish we were still there....

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of a small cluster of lovely cottages, away from it all but with the option of visiting nearby villages, beaches and other attractions. A lot of thought has been given to the detail which made our stay a relaxing and very comfortable one.



Wish we were still there....

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of a small cluster of lovely cottages, away from it all but with the option of visiting nearby villages, beaches and other attractions. A lot of thought has been given to the detail which made our stay a relaxing and very comfortable one.



The Spinney

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable and well equipped cottage situated in an area of outstanding beauty and interest surrounded by open fields creating a calm and peaceful holiday venue.



Sue from Reading

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time in The Spinney. The cottage was absolutely superb, very clean and well equipped. The camera in the owl box was just the icing on the cake for my mum. She was constantly asking me to check to see if the little owl was still there. The cottage is in a lovely location, very quiet but easily accessible for Bridlington, Flamborough, Filey, etc. Over all a superb cottage and we will definitely be going back.

Sue from Reading