FB Twitter

HBC: The Owl House

HBC: The Owl House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 113 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Owl House at High Barn offers the height of luxury in a tranquil, secluded setting. With two delightful en-suite bedrooms on the first floor, you'll have lovely views over fields, meadows and farmland. The kitchen dining room is equipped to the highest standard and the separate living room, with floor to ceiling windows is bright and airy, whilst being warm and cosy, with the benefit of a log burning stove. Spacious, modern, totally comfortable - a super cottage to return home to.

A lovely long weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at The Owl House with my two daughters for a long weekend and it was our first time there. The cottage was lovely. It was very clean and well equipped with a beautiful nature enhancing garden. We were visited by rabbits and two deer that came up to our patio windows and bats in the evening. The owls in the owl box kept up transfixed watching them and it was such an honour that the first hatching happened during our stay. We didn’t watch anything else on the televisions in each of the rooms during our time there. We enjoyed the proximity to Bempton Cliffs for the birds, deer and hares and Flamborough for the multiple seals. The owners were very friendly and available by phone if needed. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Owl House and will certainly be visiting again.



Angela replied 40 days ago
We're just delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us and were able to see so much wildlife outside the Owl House. Over the years we've strived to farm commercially in conjunction with encouraging and caring for the wildlife and native species that live and thrive across our farm acreage. We're greatly encouraged by the results.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit, second to the Owl House and it didn’t disappoint. So well presented and with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Its close proximity to RSPB Bempton Cliffs is a bonus!



Angela replied 41 days ago
Thank you for returning to our cottages and for giving us such a splendid review.

Wonderful weekend stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at The Owl House, the cottage is set in a beautiful location and is immaculate inside. There was everything we could need and it is furnished to a very high standard and super clean, we felt very comfortable and relaxed here, a great holiday!



My birthday treat

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in the owl house a few times and always found it to be very clean, warm and comfortable. There are lovely views from the cottage and feel secure inside the grounds as there is a gated entrance. There is also a very good welcome pack. We hope to be going back again next year



Angela replied 99 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again, next time you have special occasion to celebrate.

Excellent as always

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Dec 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very comfortable, a home away from home. Very well equipped with a nice touch of homeliness with the artwork. Very peaceful and easy to get to from Bempton station. A great break to rejuvenate the senses.



Owl house

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place took Two 80+ with us and both managed fine will definitely stop again the owl cam was an added bonus



Angela replied 277 days ago
We're absolutely delighted The Owl House suited all members of your party.

Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location very good facilities
Very good cottage always very clean and very well maintained .
Stayed at the High Barn Cottages on many occasions and always enjoyed my stay.




Angela replied 333 days ago
We're always delighted to welcome returners such as yourselves. Thank you for your kind reeview

Amazing accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay at The Owl House.
Every detail for our stay had been carefully and thoughtfully planned.
From receiving an email prior to departure with everything we needed to know about our visit, to arrival, being warmly greeted by James, to the wonderful welcome hamper packed full of delicious produce.
The accommodation was first class, warm cosy with every detail being carefully considered.
Highlights of our visit were, watching life screening of the Owl nesting above us. Also what I'd hoped to see, Puffins at Bempton Cliffs just 2 miles down the road.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review. Thank you so much.

Impossible to find fault

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to one of the Heritage Escapes properties - once at Field House Farm and last year at The Spinney at High Barn - and it won't be our last! The accommodation was warm, comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The location is perfect for those who enjoy peace and quiet and is surrounded by fields. It's just a short drive to RSPB Bempton Cliffs, the main reason for our visit to the area, along with scenic walks along the coast at Flamborough Head. There are plenty of interesting places to visit in the area - the gardens at Sewerby Hall and Burton Agnes and the various sea-side resorts along the coast. If you don't want to self-cater in the well-equipped kitchen, good places to eat can be found within a short drive and the excellent welcome pack gave us several breakfasts and a nice chocolate treat. The owl-cam is a lovely bonus and this time we watched as the adult sat patiently in the nest, just occasionally giving us a glimpse of her 3 precious eggs. We will certainly be back and would be happy to stay in any of these properties.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you lovely review. We're so pleased our cottages at High Barn suit you and we very much hope you will stay with us again.

Fantastic short break

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is absolutely nothing to fault about the Owl House, it was very clean, very comfortable and had everything we needed for a lovely short break. This was just what we needed and we’ll be back the first opportunity we get.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope you will come and stay with us again.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our cottage was fitted out to a high standard and very cosy. Nice and spacious, high quality fixtures and fittings, very comfortable bed - all providing a relaxing stay. Location setting was very peaceful - view of fields and pond with the odd siting of birds and hares. Hosts were very welcoming - checking in on us to make sure everything was ok. Nice welcome hamper and the added bonus of watching the Owl on the web cam. All in all a fabulous relaxing break in an excellent cottage and location.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed staying in The Owl House and do hope you will come back in the future.

Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House is a stunning cottage in a superb location. I stayed with my two grandchildren & they loved it



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
A lovely review. Thank you

Just Occasionally…

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
….you step into your holiday accommodation and it feels just right; that’s how we felt from the moment we entered the driveway. Plenty parking space and very well maintained property all in a rural setting. The cottage itself was immaculately presented and speaks high quality from the entrance porch right through to the upstairs en-suite, it’s extremely comfortable and homely (there’s a lot of thought gone into the design) and included one of the most generous welcome packs we’ve come across all sourced locally. John dropped in for 10 mins (everyone’s very helpful and friendly) after arrival and told us the ins and outs as well as the channel for watching ‘Owl TV’ - amazing! There’s also a ‘resident’ hare and deer in the fields. The properties are accessed by remote controlled gate and there’s cctv too so you feel quite secure and so was my bike in a striking bike shed. We gave a 5 for location and vfm but that’s very much our personal view. We received a very useful HBC app a few days prior to arrival giving us a wealth of information on the property and the wider area. We couldn’t fault the Owl House; it’s among the best we’ve experienced in many years of self catering and have no hesitation in recommending to anyone!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
High praise indeed! We really enjoy reading our reviews, even though it sometimes takes us a long time to reply. Thank you for bothering to provide so much detail for anyone who might be browsing through the review section of our website. Hopefully, we might see you again sometime in the future.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved everything about The Owl House, everything you could wish for in the kitchen, felt as if we were miles from everywhere but didn't seem to travel far to get to all the places we visited. Our highlights were watching the owls,was addicted and eating outcast Salt on the harbour fabulous good and great staff. Oh and best of all we saw Puffins the whole reason for our visit! Hope to return soon, wish we had have booked for longer



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for troubling to post a 5 star review and hopefully, we'll be able to accommodate you again in the future.

Great Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday. The accommodation was superb. Lovely quality furnishings and everything catered for. Lovely countryside setting. Welcome hamper was really appreciated too. Would highly recommend



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always so pleasing to receive such a positive review as yours. Thank you.

This was our 3rd visit to High Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to High Barn (in a different property each time) and we enjoyed our stay as much as the previous visits. The facilities remain excellent and the welcome pack exceptional. The owl cam is strangely mesmerising, sadly the five eggs didn't hatch while we were there but it didn't stop us checking every morning and evening. We will return to try the other two properties.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
A lovely review and we really hope to see you again in the future.

Home from home. Great location for coast and towns in North Yorkshire.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The ‘owl house’ did not disappoint from the blurb. It has everything you need to feel ‘at home’ whilst away. Lots of lovely places to visit and a great location for RSPB Bempton Cliffs. Not bird watchers ourselves, but we are really impressed with the amazing sea birds. Even got to see an Albatross. And the bird watching doesn’t stop there with ‘owl cam’ in the house. Loved it! Defo recommend!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a a positive review and for your intention to recommend us to family and friends. Much appreciated.

A lovely comfortable retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Barn cottages are in a countryside location but within easy reach of Bridlington and Scarborough. We stayed in the Owl House and knew we would love it as soon as we walked in! A lovely cosy living room, well equipped kitchen ( we loved the green worktops) and comfortable bedroom. The welcome hamper which contained lots of goodies was also a lovely touch. All in all we had a really nice relaxing break and would have loved to have stayed longer...actually i could have happily moved in! Definitely would recommend.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's so pleasing to know that your first impressions were followed through with a lovely stay. Thank you for your super comments.

Comfort in the owl house

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another relaxing and comfortable week in the owl house. We have stayed in a few of the cottages at Heritage escapes and found them all to be of the same high standard. Hope to be back later in the year.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It is really gratifying to receive such a positive review as yours. Thank you.

Great

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous stay - great accommodation - great location - loads of coastal walks. Will return in near future



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to read your very positive review. we do hope to see you again in the future.

Excellent, relaxing & delightful

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House at Bempton was rare find for our Auttmn break. It’s position is outstanding - stunning East Yorkshire skies, a garden that encourages wildlife, whilst you can also watch the birds. Walking locally is excellent, given the position of the cottage.

It is spotless, carefully thought out accommodation with everything you need for a family stay. The owners were helpful and readily available if needed. Owl-Cam is a delight (even if they do sleep all day!)




Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Make sure to look at our social media for Owlet updates! All the best, John, Angela and James.

fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at the Owl House, though it has been 10 years since the first. Despite this, the place was just as we remembered it - immaculately kept, beautifully equipped and a real home from home. The owners had seemingly thought of everything one might need and also provided a generous welcome pack. The location was perfect for us, very peaceful among the farmland and nature, though it wouldn't suit everyone perhaps. we walked to Bempton RSPB reserve, which is a lovely spot and had a small cafe too. We also caught the train from Bempton station to Beverley and enjoyed looking round the town and Minster.

There were lots of leaflets for things to do ( some quite old though) but a few suggestions for places to eat locally might have been helpful.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us. We are developing an app through a system called Touchstay, which will have all the up to date information concerning restaurants, amenities attractions in our area. We had hoped to have this up and running for the summer 2021 season, but we have been waiting for the commissioned drone footage to be installed. We're nearly there and then leaflets will be less important. Just a point of information though- we have pages on our website suggesting restaurants, pubs, cafes in the local area.

Wonderful Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were fortunate find Owl House free for the exact dates we needed whilst checking out electric vehicle charging points in the Bridlington area, the property has one installed. The booking system was very easy to use and the arrival process well documented and easy to follow. We were asked to phone a few minutes before arrival and the security gates were open as we did so. We were met by John who answered all of our questions and ensured we were comfortable settling ourselves in, under the Covid precautions in place.

The Owl House is an excellent property with everything we needed, it's soaciou




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very positive review. We are pleased to welcome visitors, like yourselves, whose vehicles require EV charging. This is a growing trend and we now have four points on offer at Field House and at High Barn.

Comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Even though the comfort of the furniture was good I'm afraid I found the settees a bit too comfortable but that is because I have a bad back. The settees were also too low for me for the same reason.

Even though the chairs in the kitchen were firm enough there comes a time when a softer chair is needed particularly in the evening. One such chair in the main room would not have gone amiss.

Also it would have been nice if the TV was one which could have accommodated NOW TV by being able to download the app. The cost for subscribing to the app is always down to the viewer/subscriber and so would bear no additional cost to the owners of the property.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We have five cottages at High Barn and two, The Cake House and The Spinney are provided with an additional high backed armchair in the living room, placed for guests such as yourself who may struggle with lower sofas. On our booking form, we always ask for special requests and we would happily have directed you to either of these two cottages if we had known that seating might have proved a problem for you. Also, we are always on hand and, once arrived, had you requested a higher chair, we could have provided you with one. We do our best to ensure our guests are comfortable once we are made aware of any issue. Our smart TV's offer a wide range of programmes.

Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have never stayed anywhere as well maintained as The Owl House, both inside and outside were immaculate.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review! Thank you for your comments. It makes everyone on the team really happy to read such a positive review.

A return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to The Owl House for a short break, once again the experience was amazing - everything we needed, a lovely welcome hamper. Being able to watch the barn owls is a real treat! The staff we met were helpful and friendly. Really well positioned for visiting Bempton and other birding sites in East Yorkshire.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely and review and we're pleased you were able to explore the local sites. Please do check our social media for updates on the Barn Owls. We hope to welcome you back soon! All the best, John, Angela and James.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Owl House for 3 nights and found it an excellent place to have a very relaxing time. We found the welcome hamper a very nice touch and would certainly recommend it.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! All the best, John, Angela and James.

Ideal cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely high spec cottage, very contemporary and comfortable. Set in beautiful countryside with well maintained garden areas. Easy to walk to the local village or a bit further afield to a farm shop and cafe (about a half hour walk).



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon! All the best, John, Angela and James.

What a place!!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a very much needed holiday. The cottage is absolutely stunning. Set in beautiful grounds and near to lots of places that can be visited. It’s ideal for anyone. If you want luxury at an affordable price this is the place for you. You won’t be disappointed. We really loved the family feel from booking to getting there and during our stay. My children wanted to buy the house! :) Looking at when to book the next trip! Thank you for a wonderful stay Angela and John x



Such a special place

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this break because my friend is a keen birdwatcher who has travelled the world looking at rare birds. I’m not a birdwatcher and wanted a quiet luxurious self catering break away from lots of people, where we could relax, cook lovely meals and generally “get over” the recent times we have all been through

We were both delighted with the cottage. It is so spacious, smart, clean,cared for and well equipped as is the site itself. Everything has been done with the climate and wildlife in mind while making it the best possible experience for us humans.

Wildlife is literally on your doorstep - I watched a hare one evening and a pheasant couple and their two chicks one morning S troll down the mown path to our back door! And then of course there are the owls nesting above the owl house and streamed on a tv channel 24hrs a day to all these cottages. It was fascinating to see the two owl chicks develop rapidly over the 6 days we were there and finally one fledged as we left.

The cottages are quite close to Bridlington by car the other east coast resorts a little further away if you want seaside attractions and we enjoyed both Burton Agnes Hall and the RSPB at Bempton cliffs where we even saw a visiting Albatross soaring above the cliffs and sea.

A very special visit and we are already looking at next year!




Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you both enjoyed yourselves and were able to see so many different types of birds! We are very lucky to be situated by the Cliffs and we also have an Owl Cam that we hope you enjoyed. Please check out our Facebook and Instagram sites to get regular updates on the owlets. Thank you for your lovely review. All the best, John, Angela and James

Visit to Owl House - July 2021

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hugely enjoyed our stay at the Owl House. Became addicted to Owl TV, loved the outdoor gardens to relax in, were very well looked after by John and the team, and accommodation was top notch. Couldn't recommend it more!



Back again

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual the Owl House provides a comfy stay in a lovely environment. Beautiful hamper on arrival. Owl cam is brilliant to watch.
This is our 4th time back to the Owl House.
I would highly recommend this property.
Lots of things to do and see in the area. Thank you I am sure we will visit again.




Return visit

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely stay at High Barn, with super weather at the end of our week here as an added bonus. A clean and very comfortable cottage in wonderful surroundings, with a flower meadow teeming with wildlife just outside the back door. We loved watching the barn owl and the owlets (3) on "owl TV" too.

Thank you Angela, John and James, along with Fiona and her cleaning ladies who do such a great job too.





Fantastic break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing break at the owl house, its an amazing barn conversion in such a peaceful location. Would love to return soon and see more of the bueatiful North Yorkshire area



The Owl House - Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay with Heritage Escapes and the first at High Barn. Very comfortable property, excellently maintained with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The 'owl cam' is a unique feature which provided hours of entertainment! We were made to feel very welcome and hope to return for another visit.



Fab holiday!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spotlessly clean, with everything you’d need for a great holiday. Loved the surrounding, very well kept the owl cam was a lovely idea.




Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we're so pleased you had a wonderful time. We update our social media frequently in regards to the Barn Owls so please do take a look. All the best, John, Angela and James.

Stunning cottage in a lovely area

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This superb cottage is fitted out to a very high standard with top quality fixtures & soft furnishings.
Spotlessly clean, ample parking and lovely patio area overlooking a wildflower meadow. Very quiet & private surroundings.
A sumptuous welcome hamper was most welcome.
Lots to do in the area with coastal paths, RSPB at Bempton Cliffs & Flamborough Head close by. Also within easy reach is Scarborough, Whitby & North Yorkshire Moors.
Would recommend Sewerby Hall & Gardens & Danes Dyke Nature Reserve, both close by.
Would highly recommend a stay at any of these cottages and we will be going back.




Beautiful Cottages in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at High Barn Cottages a few times before but this was our first stay in The Owl House and we were just as impressed. Beautifully presented and spotlessly clean (with extra Covid measures in place) you instantly feel relaxed and settle in. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped. We were blessed with amazing weather so spent many evenings sitting outside watching the local wildlife in the wildflower meadow and enjoying the sunsets. Thanks for another great stay…we will be back again soon!



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
What a kind review and we are thrilled the weather was on your side for your stay at the Owl House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and also were able to enjoy the warmer evenings. Thank you again.

A lovely and tastefully designed property. It had every facility we wanted.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First visit to stay in the Bridlington area. Hall Farm Owl House was ideally located. Loved the walk from North Landing to Bridlington round Flamborough Head.
We will return.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope you return to our cottages at High Barn again in the future or our other set of cottages here at Field House Farm . (I've just put in both names of the properties, as there seemed to be some confusion in your review as to what we are called.)

A stunning place in stunning surrounds

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked at The Owl House becuase we had previously stayed in the owners flat in York and loved it. The Owl House did not disappoint, it was spacious, beautifully decorated and well equipped. We loved the way the barn had been converted and did not feel compromised by the other properties on the site. The owner greeted us warmly and showed us the property when we arrived and dealt with a minor problem during our stay very promptly. The outlook over fields was very relaxing and the Video Camera in the Owl nest above us (shown on channel 800 on our TV) proved to be a source of entertainment. Trips to the local sights in Filey, Scarborough and Beverly made the time pass all too quickly. We can highly reccomend the Owl House and hope to return ourselves.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for posting such a complimentary review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your 1st stay at High Barn. You might like to know that since you left, the Barn Owl has produced three eggs. We think they were late to arrive this year because of the cold Spring weather.

Great time at a lovely place

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our short stay because it was peaceful and comfortable. The welcome was very good and useful, helping us to make full use of the facilities and area. The bird sanctuary at Bempton Cliffs was terrific, as was Flamborough Head.
The Owl tv channel was clever and informative. In all, a great place and we expect to return.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a lovely review. Breaking news - the first Barn Owl egg of the season appeared this morning.

Fabulous few days!

Review submitted on Sat, 15 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So lovely to return to High Barn. I cannot recommend these cottages enough. Everything provided in these wonderfully equipped cottages. A real home from home. We will be back!..many thanks.



Amazing holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at the Owl House and was just as relaxing and enjoyable as the first. The accommodation is all beautifully arranged and fantastically comfortable. The beds are firm and just what you need after a long day at the coast or country. The lounge is perfect for relaxing with a lively (and lovely!) wood burner. The kitchen is equipped with just about everything you could need. Everything was clean and worked perfectly. The location is great; quiet and yet close to everything. We will be back and I'd recommend it to anyone. John and Angela are there for you. Thank you.



Glad to be back

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time back to The Owl House, we stayed in August.
Everything you need and more. The house is so clean and tidy, very peaceful, the bonus is watching the owls.
So much to do in the surrounding areas or you can just relax at The Owl House.
Extra care has been taken by the owners to make sure they are Covid secure in these strange times.
Thank you and I know we will visit again.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. it was lovely to have you back so soon after your previous visit.

The owl house

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous cottage!
I have stayed with Heritage cottages on several occasions and will continue to return.
Comfortable, warm, welcoming and great location overlooking the beautiful countryside and so close to the coast.
We also had the pleasure of watching film of a pair of nesting Owls, a camera had been installed in the roof space allowing all visitors to enjoy them.
I cannot rate these cottages high enough.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us in The Owl House. It's rather nice that the owls have stayed together as a pair outside of nesting season, which is unusual.

High Barn Cottages provide us with the highest feeling of security and well being.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at High Barn Cottages four times - twice this year. If you want very smartly turned out accommodation in a safe and secure environment then these cottages fit that bill perfectly. There are superb cliff top walks and beaches in the district and we do appreciate the efforts that the coastal resorts and hospitality venues in this area are making to ensure you have that important feeling of security and safety in the current climate. It seems to us a perfect package of excellent cottages, great scenery, welcoming traders and abundant fresh air which is all very welcome and appreciated even more in these difficult times.



The Owl House

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable property in an excellent location for visiting the coast and the East Riding, or for just "chilling out" if the weather is not so good. Modern kitchen, very comfortable lounge and spacious en suite bedrooms. Ideal getaway for 2-4 people.



Best Self Catering We Have Used

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've stayed at many holiday cottages over the years and High Barn tops the lot. The cottage is extremely well equipped, is cosy and comfortable, and very clean. The location is fine, just away from the town bur no more than 6-7 minutes by car to get to restaurants / take-aways, and with plenty of scenic places to walk and visit nearby.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're very happy to learn that we have more than lived up to your expectations.

Wonderful break in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House is a well fitted out cottage with plenty of room for four people. The furnishings are of a high quality and there was a good supply of kitchen ware. Spotlessly clean and following Covid protocols.
Only shame was the owls have flown the nest!.
We will return as there is plenty to see and do.
The welcome pack was a surprise and very good.
Thanks to the owners who were exceptional




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of The Owl House and High Barn Cottages. Do come back, as you suggest you might - late spring or early summer is the best time to view baby owls on the webcam.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House is a fantastic place.
Everything is clean and tidy, welcome pack on arrival and beautiful surroundings.
It was lovely to be able to book somewhere which I new would be safe and clean after this years Covid 19, having stayed at Field House Farm twice before.
The house is beautiful and watching the owls come and go was great. You don't need to bring anything with you as everything is provided.

Thank you and I look forward to returning again in October.





Owl watching from the Owl House

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Owl House at the end of August 2019 and it was really hot. This year it was wet and stormy but we still enjoyed our stay, thanks to the comfortable and weatherproof house. The views over the orchard and fields at the back meant we could watch the outdoors and the hunting efforts of the newly-fledged barn owls without getting cold and wet. We were also entertained by the roosting activities of the crow colony at the end of the garden. The Foster family and their team have gone to enormous lengths to make guests feel confident: the house was absolutely spotless and small details like plastic coverings on the remote controls, the supplies of cloths and wipes etc, provided reassurance of the thought that has gone into maintaining the property at this challenging time. The welcome pack was particularly generous, with the most delicious home-made apple juice and the Side-Oven toasted muesli in amongst all the other lovely goodies. Despite the storms, we still got to watch the gannets at Bempton, managed a very quick swim at Dane's Dyke, and got down to the caves at Flamborough -- all within a few minutes drive of the Owl House. Thanks again for having us. Hope to be back soon.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Just delighted that your second stay was as good as the first despite some changeable weather. We were determined to make the cottages really cosy and welcoming and it's good to know we have succeeded in doing so. We hope to see you again

Owl House - prefect cottage stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has to be one of the best cottages we've stayed in so far with Premier cottages. The cottage was perfect in pretty much every way, plenty of space, rooms, lots of bathrooms, great for a family of 4, lovely well stocked kitchen. Shops a short drive for food supplies.

We had some rainy days and didn't matter one bit due to the comfort of the cottage. Added to that- the 3 resident owls (which you can also see by webcam) and abundance of wildlife directly on site (hares, pheasants, tiny bats at night, daily sightings of the owls hunting).
Clearly huge amount of thought and effort has gone into the design of these cottages making them perfect for a truly relaxing short stay.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and saw plenty of wildlife whilst you were on-site - it's wonderful that these creatures can co-exist so closely with the visitors to the five cottages at High Barn.

A safe and secure environment.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third stay, accommodation in pristine condition, all the space and fresh air that you need in this location.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to have you stay with us again. Thank you for a great review. We're reassured when our visitors tell us how safe and secure they find a stay in one of our cottages - we're lucky to have so much space.

Short stay at the Owl House

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House was perfect, comfortable accommodation, everything we needed. Owl webcam an added bonus.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing The Owl House so positively. It always pleases us greatly when we know our visitors have enjoyed staying at High Barn.

Perfect Country Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, beautifully appointed, immaculately clean cottage in a secluded location, in a particularly beautiful part of the world. Owls live in the roof, and one can become pleasantly obsessed with watching their antics on the webcam provided. For us, the EV charging point was an important additional benefit. It's impossible to praise the Owl House highly enough. We will be back in the future.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in The Owl House. It's good to welcome visitors back and know that they have found a cottage and an area that greatly pleases them.

Perfect hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect hideaway. The accommodation wants for nothing - clean, warm, inviting, well equipped, and tastefully decorated. The area was unknown to us but we found the secluded beaches and cliff-top walks just stunning.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're just delighted your winter break with us in The Owl House was a complete success.

Everything you could wish for in a property.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only thing I could moan about is that there is nothing to moan about. Wonderful comfortable cottage in a peaceful location.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for you review. Funny and positive. I must admit my heart sank a little when I read your first few words, then lifted when I finished the sentence. It made me smile.

Understated modern luxe in a traditional setting

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My ratings pretty well say it all. An extremely comfortable well laid out and equipped barn conversion (we stayed in The Owl House but all looked to be of the same standard) with luxury touches including a welcome hamper of both necessities and treats, quality bathroom products and even fresh flowers. Add to that a perfect location for exploring the coast and further inland. Plus, in our case, glorious if blowy September weather and our holiday could not have been bettered.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted everything went well for you and you enjoyed your stay with us in The Owl House.

The delightful Owl House

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After being unlucky with the weather during our planned holiday earlier in the summer we took the opportunity of three nights when the Owl House was free at the tail end of August 2019. We managed to make use of its fantastic location, so close to a choice of sandy beaches, and swam at Sewerby, Danes Dyke and Filey over the course of the three days. We also walked to Bempton Cliffs to see the gannets, an unmissable experience. We saw deer and hare in the back garden, glimpsed the resident owl in the trees and witnessed a kestrel invasion of the owls' premier residence. They were cross, I can tell you.
As well as its abundance of nature, the house is extremely well fitted out, with luxury ensuite bathrooms, a contemporary kitchen, and some very thoughtful touches (a chilled bottle of water in the fridge, lovely toasted muesli from a local supplier in the welcome pack). We were made to feel very welcome indeed and really hope to come back again.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely and very comprehensive review of your stay in The Owl House. We do hope you will return in the future.

Idyllic

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay with our lively grandchildren. The setting was peaceful, the cottage immaculate and our hosts so attentive. Everything had been thought of so carefully and all four of us enjoyed watching the baby owl on the webcam: what a privilege!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Just delighted to have you stay with us in The Owl House. Baby owl has almost completley fledged but will probably return to the safety of the nest for a good few weeks yet.

Excellent Holiday cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage we were in the Owl House and it was home from home .Location was extremely peaceful just want we had hoped for such a delight to stay there . The Owl House had a young owl that had only just began to leave the nesting box and to be able to tune in and watch the owl was very special . A great welcome hamper was thoughtful and very much appreciated . A brilliant holiday break so big thanks for the high standard provided.





Just a perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After receiving raving recommendations from a dear friend we arrived at the High Barn Complex with great expectations, from entering The Owl House we instantly recognised that this is just a rather special place to stay and we would not be disappointed, the cleanliness was outstanding, wonderfully appointed and laid out, the quality of the beds and bed linen is second to none.
Whilst in delightfully quiet rural setting it is perfectly situated for so much of East Yorkshire and beyond.
We are certainly missing watching live coverage of the nesting owl.
Providing there are vacancies for a future break on the East Coast, it would certainly be our place of first choice.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you forr your super review. We're always delighted to welcome new guests and hope thay will be as happy in our cottages as our regular returners.

Amazing cottage stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the cottage as a suprise for my wifes Birthday and its was an amazing experience we will be back!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you and your family enjoyed the surprise stay. We do hope to see you again.

There is no Planet B

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The schoolchildren currently taking the initiative about climate change are right. There is no Planet B. Field House Farm is taking several really significant steps on environmental issues. If only all landowners would respond in the same way! Our children and grandchildren will face a better future where people and wildlife co-exist. Field House Farm has 180 acres in environmental stewardship including partnerships with the RSPB.
We saw 41 bird species in 2 days. We saw several hares and the barn owls in flight as well as in the cottage. These cottages are in an amazing location with just a 2 mile walk to Bempton cliffs.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We just wish everyone, like yourselves, took a proactive attitude towards looking after their environment. We are commercial farmers, but we do a lot for wildlife and the two can work hand in hand.

A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in the owl house, even the weather was very kind to us. The cottage was everything you could ask for and more in a holiday cottage ,spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable and very stylish. We have stayed in a few of the high barn cottages and found them all to be of the very high standard.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Such a lovely review. Thank you. Come back soon.

Sort fall holiday break in a very nice and lovely appartment.

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owner John is very helpfull. The house is very comfortable. The nearby Bempton Cliffs are a must see!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It is always lovely to welcome visitors from the Netherlands and we were most surprised that you came from such a distance for a weekend's stay. We're very pleased you enjoyed your short break and managed to visit nearby Bempton Cliffs, which attracts so many visitors from abroad.

Always feels like Home

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our third return to High Barn Farm, but our first time in Owl House. Everything is so light, airy and welcoming at these beautiful ‘homes from home’. From the warm Welcome from one of the family to the delicious Welcome Hamper. Situated in a beautiful country setting, but within very easy reach of all amenities. Visit the Cliffs at Bempton
I guarantee that if you visit once, you’ll book again.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're pleased to welcome you back to our cottages and delighted you enjoyed your first stay in The Owl House.

Relaxing home from home stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd stay in this property and it never disappoints. Home from home comfort with a very welcome, welcome basket. It was an ideal base to visit the surrounding areas. Nice weather was a big bonus and we hopefully will stay here again in the near future.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to have you stay with us again, with the bonus of beautiful weather.

Beautiful cottage!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay here at Owl House.
The cottage is beautiful, with everything you could need, and spotlessly clean. The welcome hamper with local goodies was a lovely touch. We loved the owl cam too!
It is a very quiet location, with an easy walk to the local village where there is a pub that does decent food. The station is close by too, so you can travel without taking the car! Lots of places to visit locally, including Bempton RSPB reserve which we all loved.
We will definitely stay again!





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We'd like to thank you for your kind review. Hopefully, you will return to High Barn sometime in the future.

A second visit

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This second visit was every way as good as our first. We were very pleased by the high standard of the accommodation and the pleasantness of all we met. Would like to come again. Bill and Maureen.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased your 2nd stay with us lived up to your expectations. We do hope to see you again.

Best ever

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage - a beautiful, chic country cottage. Very comfortable with everything anyone could need.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
To be accredited as the 'best ever' is the perfect compliment. Thank -you

Wonderful Owl House

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we'd been to Yorkshire on previous occasions, this was the first time we'd stayed in East Yorkshire. We chose High Barn and the Owl House in particular with care, but at the same time hoping that the pictures wouldn't turn out to be a photographer's clever angle and that we'd be disappointed.

We arrived in Yorkshire much earlier in the day than arrival time and killed some time in Filey until we judged it might be ok for phone John to say we were on our way (timing it for 3pm arrival). We were told that other people were already in residence, so if you're a bit early my advice would be to phone to see if you can arrive a bit earlier. John told us that the cottage was ready and waiting for us, the gate would be open and someone would come and see us shortly.

In retrospect, a sign saying High Barn Cottages on the edge of the road by the entrance might be useful for new people who don't know where the cottages are located, but we found the place ok and parked our car on the gravelled shared parking area, which can be seen from all cottages. We walked the few yards to the far end of the U shape to find the Owl House at the bottom on the right. As soon as we walked in we knew it was going to be great, as our first impressions were good. The Owl House offered light, clean, spacious and comfortable accommodation and it was going to be all ours for the week. We unpacked and 20 minutes or so after doing so there was a knock at the door and James (the son of Angela and John) called to welcome us and to make sure everything was ok.

We liked the lovely double aspect lounge with the large window overlooking the wild flower meadow. Pathways had been cut through the middle to a small seating area and a few fruit trees had been planted too. In addition there was a paved seating area outside the back door of each cottage with a sturdy metal table (complete with parasol if we'd wanted to use it) and four chairs. The kitchen/dining area was large with an American style fridge/freezer (so plenty of space for provisions), and included a modern dining table and four chairs. The cutlery was of good quality as were the pots and pans - although we'd have liked to have had a proper non-stick frying pan for use on the induction hob. The Neff oven was nice and clean and worked as expected.

Upstairs we found two good sized bedrooms. We needed to have the windows open at night time due to the really hot weather, but we also needed the roman blinds down to keep out the light as they have security lighting at High Barn. There was more traffic on the road outside High Barn than we had anticipated, but even with the windows open at night it didn't disturb us at all, and the overall feeling was one of peace and tranquility. In addition to the TV in the lounge, TVs were provided in both bedrooms. We were lucky enough to be able to see and watch the behaviour of the resident barn owls in their nest box - spending time in the evening and the early morning doing so. Sadly, although two eggs had been laid earlier in the year these had been abandoned (James thought that this was as a result of the awful cold and wet weather earlier in the year), so there were no owlets to see, but that's nature of course.

The welcome hamper was more than generous with a selection of lovely Yorkshire produce in addition to the standard fare of butter, tea, milk and bread.

In conclusion, we enjoyed our time at the Owl House enormously. We have stayed in other Premier Cottages in the past, some of which have been disappointing, but we were agreed that this one was outstanding. We would certainly like to come back for a return visit! A lovely holiday, thank you.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for troubling to provide such a comprehensive review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House.

High Barn - The Owl House

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top class self catering accommodation. We could not fault it and it deserves the awards it wins. We look forward to staying there again.



Could not be better!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation, the welcome, the setting of this property could not be improved upon. Excellent. Location for nature watching, scenery, history is brilliant.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted that your holiday was a real success.

A fabulously well appointed holiday home in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is set in a U- shaped courtyard with loads of parking and wonderfully cared for garden. It's very quiet and peaceful. There is a small outside patio which is perfect for sunny outside eating. Inside three is underfloor heating which keeps it cosy and warm. The whole place is beautifully decorated with comfy sofas and a wood burning stove. The Wi-Fi is fast and reliable; essential for teenagers. Everything you could need is already provided. All in all provably the best holiday cottage we've ever stayed in.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted to be the best holiday cottage you have ever stayed in. Thank-you for a lovely review.

The brilliant Owl House

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House is a fantastic cottage, equally as good as the Granary where we stayed last year. The Owl was on her nest of eggs although we were not there when they hatched. One of our favourite places to visit for a break in the Spring, Field House Farm accommodation is always enjoyable with everything we could need and the Welcome Hamper is always something lovely to look forward to.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So good to have you back at High Barn and in a different cottage! the all have their own special charm. thank you for your lovely review.

High Barn an excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th visit to the owl house at High Barn, greeted as usual with a superb Welcome Hamper and then Angela the owner welcomed us back and informed us that the Owls we in the nest box so we were able to watch them on the television,also we were informed that a small bird(possibly a linnet) had nested in the Shrub by the front door. All the staff that we have had to deal with and nay family members are always very welcoming and informative and the place is always spotless, managed to walk to Bempton Cliffs this time to see the Puffins as it was the right time of the Year



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Its always a great pleasure to welcome back returning guests and we hope to see you again.

1st class self catering

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Owl House exceeded all expectations, we have self catered for a long time and this property is in the very top of the list we keep for future reference.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Superb

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a rest in a peaceful location. We found it for sure. Great property with everything you need at hand. Could not fault it. I have no hesitation in recommending the property whatsoever.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
THANK YOU FOR YOUR VERY POSITIVE REVIEW. WE HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN

Peace and quiet with the odd hoot to enjoy.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stopped in the Owl house for nineteen days whilst our bungalow underwent renovations. Parking is very generous and secure. The electric security gates are substantial and easy to operate, they were opened for our arrival. Upon our arrival, John, the owner had lit the log burner which was lovely. There was a very luxurious hamper with lots of goodies and practical things like nice bread, tea, coffee and even milk in the fridge. Then we got a good explanation of the facilities available. The property is everything it advertises. It is spacious and everything is well maintained. It is spotless and well equipped. The heating is controllable to your liking, upstairs and down are separately controlled, through underfloor and radiator sources. You choose your ideal temperature, unlike some properties we have stayed in where it is on timer, controlled to be economical for the owner ( your comfort is then secondary). We only used the bathroom with the bath and overhead shower in, the fittings are top notch with hot water galore. For getting in and out of the shower there is a very solidly affixed hand rail. The floor is nice and warm too. The towel rail is very well affixed and large. The provided towels are good quality and big enough. The fan over run in here is only a few minutes so does not disturb your sleep. The bed is excellent, I am six feet two and sixteen stone so I like a good sized firm bed. This fits the bill and the bedding is superb with plenty of spare blankets, pillows etc if you need them. The wardrobe is generous as is the dressing table. My wife spent a good deal of time at the dressing table painting watercolour flowers. ( after covering up the fixtures) The Wi-fi in the bedroom is strong enough to run google Chromecast and nowtv on the tv. (We brought them with us from home for the football and films.) You can hear the owls hooting in the fields on a night which was lovely. It is not the barn owl in her nest above you because she is out “shopping” every night, she usually left around dusk ( 6pm ish) sometimes after her partner had “visited”. Watching the owl on the owl cam in the lounge was fascinating and she will be likely to have chicks because of her partners “visits” when we go back in late April. The stair rail is solid and well fixed. The kitchen is grand, everything works well and the view over the dew pond with the moorhens, the field / orchard / trees with the buzzards, kestrels, rooks, pheasants, wood pigeons and many more was smashing. The chairs are comfy and solid. The table extends if you require. The American fridge freezer packs loads in. We took lots of our food but I believe at least Tesco would deliver. We used the washer dryer which was great for recycling our clothes. There is a handy downstairs toilet off the kitchen. The lounge is spacious and bright with good quality furniture. Owl cam here on the smart tv is entertaining. Views outside were, for February very nice, especially when it snowed and was frosted over. In spring and summer it must be even more beautiful. I set up my spotting scope and camera in here and enjoyed the wildlife even more. The log burner was one of the reasons I rent cottages and a few hours most evenings it was the focus along with a good book. The Wi-fi is very good. My football on the bt app played flawlessly through my Chromecast on the tv. There are lots of spare plug sockets for plugging in chargers for phones etc.
We toddled around the field quite a bit ( my foot is playing up so I can’t walk very well) and the emerging plants and flowers were nice to look at. As were the views over farmland and the various trees. There is a road near the property ( Newsham Hill Lane) but it is not very busy and the noise is unobtrusive. All in all this was a lovely relaxing break which we were sorry to end. It is a lovely property, obviously well cared for and loved by the owners and staff. It is safe and secure and we are looking forward to returning this April.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted The Owl House lived up to your expectations and provided the tranquility you sought.

New Year Break

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From our arrival to departure we couldn't have had a better experience! A beautiful property, well maintained and had everything we needed. The welcome pack was a lovely treat. Being able to watch the live feed from the barn owl box was amazing, one of the reasons we picked the owl house.



Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay in the Owl House was a total success.

Lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The barn was immaculate and very warm and welcoming. John met us and was very friendly. The owl cam was amazing being able to watch the owls whenever you wanted to. Started off with 1 owl then one eve had surprise when 2 were in there.
Everything you needed and more was supplied.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased The Owl House lived up to your expectations and that you enjoyed the owl cam.

5* plus!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything here is 5* plus, and I mean everything. Comfy beds lovely linen, beautiful bathrooms, amazing welcome pack, great location, a truly relaxing experience.



A very inmpressive cottage. One of the best if not the best we have stayed in.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is little to add beyond the comments made so far. The cottage had all the best qualities to accommodate us with the impressive use of environmentally friendly living.



Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic, we are looking forward to returning! A very comfortable, quiet and relaxing stay. The accommodation is of a very high standard.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a lovely review. We look forward to having you stay again.

Beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time staying in The Owl House. A luxurious cosy cottage, very comfortable and highly appointed. The welcome hamper was a real treat. There were lovely views of the wildflower meadow and moorhens on the pond. A very tranquil, relaxing location to get away from it all. Thank you.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House. Hopefully, you might decide to come again.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay at Owl house was perfect in every way. Beautiful, relaxing surroundings with easy reach to Beaches, Cliff walking, birds watching, good restaurants etc. The Owl cam was icing on the cake, which we spend hours watching. We can not wait to go back.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
To have a stay in The Owl House as 'perfect in every way' is deeply pleasing to both us as owners and all our fantastic housekeeping and maintenance team. Thank you.

Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Owl House was just perfect. It was very clean and had everything we needed. Best welcome hamper we have every had. Ideal location for touring the East Coast. Did not want to come home !! This was our first visit but will not be our last.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to The Owl House. We hope to see you again.

A great cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third property we have stayed at under the Field Farm House 'umbrella' and once again we were not disappointed. The property is first class and had the added attraction of the web cam operating on the Owl Box. Better than watching the TV.!
Thanks again Angela, John, and James.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted to have you back and hope to see you again.

A very enjoyable few days

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most comfortable stay in a well equipped 'Owl House' with an excellent 'welcome' basket'.
It was lovely to look out onto the wildflower meadow and to watch the antics of the barn owl family on the webcam.
High Barn Cottages iare situated most conveniently for exploring this area of Yorkshire and we were thrilled to see puffins at Bempton Cliffs.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House , watching the growing owl family on webcam and mum hunting over the wildflower meadow.

Superb Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our second stay at The Owl House and it was just as good as the first visit five years ago. The property is very well equipped and furnished, comfortable and relaxing. The location is excellent, particularly for Bempton Cliffs only a six minute drive away. So much wildlife literally on the doorstep, including Barn Owls nesting in the roof, so captivating being able to watch them in their nest on the TV. The warm welcome from John and the generous hamper were much appreciated. Definitely a place to revisit again in the near future.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's great to have returning guests and your review of The Owl House 5 years down the line was lovely. Our aim is to keep our cottages in pristine condition, so that they are 'as new' to every new and returning guest. We hope to see you again in the future.

Well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equipped, cosy accommodation. Good sized rooms for 4 adults. Good quality fixtures and fittings. Near to coast and coastal towns.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House.

A fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Visiting the area for the first time as an adult, it was wonderful to find such a nice place to stay for our family break. Beautifully restored barns with clean, modern furnishings/kitchen and lovely to come back to after a day's sightseeing. The location was perfect for getting out and about to lots of places of interest by car and the hamper on arrival was filled with lots of delicious goodies, particularly the muesli and the farm's own organic apple juice. The owl-cam was fantastic and mesmerising! Highly recommended.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're always delighted when visitors come for the first time and enjoy the cottages, the location and the wonderful owl-cam. Six baby owlets this year is a record and they are all thriving.

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in . Great peaceful location , surrounded by fields and wildlife, loved the owl cam ! Lovely hamper on arrival , could not ask for more



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House and hope to see you again in the future

A short break with friends to catch up and relax

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Owl House. For 2 couples it was ideal with 2 double rooms each with en-suite facilities. The apartment is beautifully furnished and equipped and has a clean modern feel but is also very comfortable. The kitchen is spacious and great for cooking and eating in. The large hamper of mainly local produce that was waiting for us on our arrival was a real treat, including wine, beer, apple juice, biscuits, marmalade, to name just a few items.
We enjoyed exploring the surrounding area. Coastal walking was lovely; Sewerby Hall (within walking distance) was well worth the visit and Bridlington Old Town was interesting to see (used for filming of the recent Dad's Army film).
We also enjoyed keeping an eye on the videocam linked to the owls nesting above the apartment. With 6 owlets in the nest we anxiously counted for 6 pairs of eyes in the white huddle we could see each day! We watched as mum flew off at dusk each evening returning frequently with tasty treats for her young! It would be lovely if all 6 survive to fledge.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for troubling to write such a positive and comprehensive review. We really appreciate that. I'm glad you enjoyed your recent stay and found the six! baby owls as fascinating as we do. Hopefully, they will all fledge and add to the local thriving Barn Owl population.

We were b OWL ed over ......

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first visit to High Barn Cottages and the Owl House... We were immediately welcomed by Fiona and our first impression of the cottage was that it was very high spec, spacious and created a warm feeling. The cottage has everything you need and caters for all age groups - we had each end of the spectrum and our little one in particular fully enjoyed making friends and running in the open crop fields at the back of the cottage ( all very safe) looking for the wildlife that surrounds the cottages. We were lucky enough to share our cottage with the resident owls in the roof and the webcam which is installed to watch their progress is a really unique touch and had my nature loving husband spellbound for the three days!

The cottage is extremely well kept and offered everything we needed with a great location between the towns on the Yorkshire East Coast so we would not hesitate for one minute in recommending the cottages to others and we will definitely be re-booking soon. We really loved the little community feel the other visitors created which made all the difference. Thank you very much for a lovely stay and well done on the individuality you have created in all of the barns.

Gail Weathers




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed staying at High Barn in The Owl House and that you are happy to recommend us to family and friends. We hope to see you again in the future.

A wonderful spot!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit for us. (Something we don't often do.) We find the accommodation to be of a high standard, it is well located for visiting locations on the coast and the small complex itself is a little countryside oasis. There are lots of wildlife spotting opportunities on the doorstep. The camera for the barn owls is a true joy. We got to see chicks hatch and begin to grow in our week plus see "dad" deliver "take out" for the mother on her eggs and owlets. The welcome hamper is filled with good quality local produce and has what you need for that immediate collapse after arriving. Now that our children are getting too old to share we will be considering the larger property in the owners other location.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. The Barn Owl webcam is always at its most interesting when baby owlets appear. They have quite a long growing season, so should stay put and give pleasure to our visitors for the rest of the summer.

Excellent weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location, and the property itself, are superb. Every bit as good as we had expected from the website pictures and descriptions, and thoroughly recommended! Very very comfortable, very peaceful, and very well appointed. The OwlCam is a nice touch too! We loved it...thanks!!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
High Barn works well for a weekend break - just getting away from noise and bustle is a tonic. We're so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and hope you will return. Thank-you for your lovely comments.

Short stay for wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at High Barn and Field House before and the cottages are always in pristine condition, spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. The location is great, being only a few minutes drive from the North Beach. Lovely holiday choice!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're always delighted to have you return to our cottages. We hope to see you again in the future and thank-you for your kind review.

Owl House Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our recent stay at the Owl House part of High Barns complex we had a wonderful relaxing break with excellent facilities and standards of accommodation. Everything is well thought out and cannot be faulted. Spotlessly clean with very comfortable beds and every amenity you could wish for. Would certainly thoroughly recommend without hesitation and hope to return again .



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review. It's always a great pleasure to welcome returning visitors and we hope very much we will see you in the future.

Faultless.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very high standard in every way. We were surprised that the barn is in its fifth letting year.The condition of the fixtures and fittings indicated that it was in its first or second year. Full marks for that. The "countryside conservation" ethos is a great plus and convinced us to join the RSPB at Bempton!

Bridlington has the now near standard decaying UK resort centre, but Sewerby is enough of a draw with its cliff walks to ensure that we will re book.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your carefully considered review of High Barn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and intend to return. We are lucky to be sited between Bempton and Sewerby, close to the RSPB Reserve and the lovely cliiffs and scenery of Flamborough Head and Sewerby . On a positive note for Bridlington, the town has begun a long-term, long awaited plan of regeneration and has nuggets of gold- The Spa complex, both north and south beaches (long walks, 7 miles of sand) the newly opened East Riding Leisure Centre, The Spotlight Theatre and several excellent cafes, restaurants and bars. We're happy to point you in their direction on a return visit.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm, comfortable and spacious cottage with everything you could need. The quality of everything was first class and the views from all windows help to relax. I found the rookery fascinating and the owl cam addictive! One of the best cottages I have ever stayed in.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for writing such a super review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Owl House and took pleasure in the surrounding wildlife. The rookery at the foot of the paddock is indeed interesting to visitors. We hardly notice it, as it has been there as long as anyone can remember! The Barn owl webcam is a special favourite, especially when her chicks arrive.

Owl House

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage, very welcome food hamper, beautiful surroundings. Had a problem with heating and hot water but John arrived promptly and fixed it. Thank you



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive review. We hope to see you again.

Fantastic cottage in a lovely location for a perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed in many holiday cottages but rarely have we found a cottage so faultless as the Owl House. We were able to relax from the first second we arrived and we stayed that way until we left.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay this February at High Barn in The Owl House. Our intention has been to make them as welcoming a place to stay in winter as in summer and hopefully we have succeeded in doing so.

The Owl House

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation at The Owl House, everything was catered for from the very generous hamper of local goodies to the most comfy beds, peaceful location, well equiped kitchen and a resident owl! What more could you want? We would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you and your family enjoyed your holiday in The Owl House. The Barn Owl is a big attraction at High Barn and she seems very happy there in her nest box. She's interesting to watch on the webcam. we hope we might have the pleasure of meeting you again.

Extremely high spec!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owl House cottage is extremely clean and comfortable, very warm, well set out in a private and sympathetic way. The fixtures and furnishings are of a very high specification and everything you need is provided. There is even a welcome basket with things you might not have brought with you. There are fresh flowers in the hallway. Little touches that make you feel at home!

The gardens are well stocked and look very beautiful. The car park has plenty of room for everyone staying. There are walks straight from the cottage in the beautiful surroundings. You always get a warm welcome from Angela and John.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay in The Owl House proved successful and that you enjoyed the surroundings and the comfort of the cottage. It pleases us greatly to have happy, contented guests . Thank-you for your lovely comments.

Fabulous time at Owl House

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at Owl House. A party of 4 (mum, dad and 2 daughters), we spent such a lovely time at High Barn.
The cottage was excellent, very comfortable and everything that you could need. Good location, easy access into Bridlington.
Angela and John were very welcoming and very helpful. It was a wonderful week and we hope to return.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are glad you enjoyed your time in The Owl House. We were grateful you pointed out a couple of housekeeping slip-ups. this helps us keep on top of our game.

Luxury Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at the The Owl House and it never fails to deliver. It is very cosy, but with all the luxuries. We have had a very relaxing, comfortable stay. The luxury hamper with the milk and butter was a big plus, as we forgot to bring a couple of staples. It is has been very quiet and the weather has been kind to us too. We will recommend this cottage to all our friends and family



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm glad you liked The Owl House enough to return a second time. I think it is cosy too. Thank-you for recommending to family and friends - much appreciated.

The best ever!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in. The wildlife was amazing and it was ideal having 2 bathrooms and two kingsize rooms. Maybe 1 dog in 1 cottage?



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I think to receive the accolade of 'the best ever' is incredibly heartening to ourselves and our very loyal staff. We have thought long and hard over the subject of dogs and have decided to keep High Barn dog free. The surroundings have a very healthy wildlife population, which we like to encourage and which, we think, would be deterred by the presence visitors' dogs.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a lovely location. The owl webcam was an added bonus. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be recommending High Barn Cottages to friends.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you, Susan for your very positive recommendation of The Owl House. I'm glad you liked the cottage and its location. Our Barn Owl webcam is of great interest to most visitors. No eggs that hatched this year, but she is still in residence, so if she finds a new partner, we have high hopes for 2016. The baby owls are a joy to watch.

Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our first stay here. Like the indulgence of a luxury hotel combined with the space, convenience and independence of self catering. Loved the wild flowers from the front door; the owl on the webcam; the well stocked kitchen; the tasteful decor; and high quality over all. A lovely stretch of coast on the doorstep that we hadn't explored below. The relaxing break that we needed.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Although it was posted some time ago, I would like ( belatedly) to thank-you for your lovely comments about The Owl House. We hope our cottages are restful and rejuvenating, providing a perfect place for a getaway.

Heaven!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent, homely, comfortable property set in a beautiful and peaceful location which lived up to all our expectations. The fixtures,fittings,furnishings, bedding and kitchen equipment were all to a very high standard and we received a lovely welcome pack, the bread was fantastic! We had a lovely relaxing break which we all thoroughly enjoyed and we will return in the future as this fabulous East Yorkshire Coast is the best place in the world! The only disappointment was that we did not get to see any Owl chicks, due, unfortunately, to 'Mother Nature' not the owners!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Your review was most kind and wholly appreciated. We too think the East Yorkshire Coast is truly spectacular and is special whatever the season.

An enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Owl House very much indeed and found our hosts to be helpful in every way. We would certainly recommend High Barn Cottages and very much hope to enjoy more time there in the future.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
A long overdue reply, but no less heartfelt for that. Thank-you for your kind review and we'll be delighted to see you if you can return in the future.