FB Twitter

FHF: The Roost

FHF: The Roost

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 126 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Roost is a totally ground floor cottage, with easy access and two en-suite bedrooms, one twin one kingsize. One of the en-suites is a wet room and the second has a bath with shower over. The spacious open-plan living/ dining kitchen area is absolutely delightful and has the benefit of a log burning stove. Furnished and fitted with the utmost care, The Roost can't fail to please.

A lovely Yorkshire break

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Roost after it was recommended by the host to fit our needs. We were 2 couples on our way back to Sussex and Devon requiring a break in our journey from the Scottish Highlands. When we arrived we were greated by the host who explained all relevant details plus we also had the very informative app provided by the hosts with all relevant facts at our fingertips. We will certainly return to the Roost if we are in the area again. A really lovely setting very quiet with the added advantage of only being 10 minutes away from supermarkets, shops, restaurants, etc.



Angela replied 22 days ago
I'm so glad staying in The Roost met with your approval and fitted your requirements as a half-way house between Scotland and the south of England. We were delighted to have you here.

Quiet, clean and welcoming place to stay close to Bridlington and Bempton Cliffs

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 days with our 14 year old. The Roost had everything you could need and was very comfy. The site is quiet and there is space for kids to play (away from cottages so as not to disturb !). We loved the cows and even saw a deer one morning next to the pond. Nothing to not like....



Angela replied 39 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Roost and hope we might see you again some time in the future.. We often have deer in our surrounding fields, so I'm pleased you spotted one near the pond.

Peaceful, warm & comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at The Roost. It’s perfect for a small family. My children enjoyed the space and freedom (and the play park!) and the layout inside is excellent, with an extremely comfortable living space between the two bedrooms.

It was clean, light and warm, with everything you need on hand. Everyone slept well as it’s so quiet and cosy at night. Will definitely come again.




Angela replied 56 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad The Roost suited you and your young family.

Lovely cottage in former farm buildings

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed and comfortable. Helpful hosts.
Ideal for a few days near the Yorkshire coast. We saw puffins among other sea birds, and seals on the beach at Flamborough lighthouse.




Angela replied 71 days ago
Thank you for troubling to post a review and for your very positive comments. We are so glad you saw some of the wildlife we have in this area.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful long weekend at this cottage. Was very comfortable, clean and a great base for exploring the Yorkshire coastline. We’d definitely return — and for longer next time.



Angela replied 140 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope very much to see you in the future.

Perfect. Will be back

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely wonderful. Everything to .
the highest standard.
We were a party ex nurses occupying 2 cottages for our yearly reunion. Not a mean achievement as we are now all in our 80s, and we all agreed it was the best venue ever.
Thankyou especially for the.use of the trampoline. We have some hysterical videos to prove there is life after 80.






Angela replied 274 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review, which made me smile! I thought you were joking when you told me you had ventured onto the trampoline. We're so pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us.

The Roost - Disappointing

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although it was situated in a lovely quiet area, surrounded by beautiful countryside and only 4 miles from the coast, the accommodation itself was a little disappointing for the money we paid.
The Roost was advertised as 5 star accommodation, but we felt it was in need of a few small improvements to warrant that status.
The sofa and chairs looked old and had definitely seen better days, and the TV was a disappointment because we were only able to access terrestrial channels. The Wi-Fi was very slow and most of the time we had little or no phone signal.
The welcome pack was also disappointing, and not as advertised.
On arrival there were lots of cobwebs in the corners of the rooms and ceiling areas, and if you don’t like spiders then do not contemplate staying at this property. The freezer had obviously not been cleaned.
The kitchen, however, was okay and we were very satisfied with the appliances and equipment.
We have stayed at a lot of holiday cottages in the UK over the last 10 years and our experiences have always been very positive, unfortunately this property did not live up to our expectations.




Angela replied 279 days ago
We were sorry and surprised that you found your stay in The Roost to be disappointing. We take great pride in our cottages, maintain them in top condition and have a record of excellence. Addressing your comments: we have a rolling programme of replacements throughout our cottages and review all items of furniture on a yearly basis. Whilst the suite in The Roost is not new, it is a quality item, showing very little wear and is extremely comfortable. It will remain in place for now. Re the TVs: we do, on this coast have an issue, during certain weather patterns, whereby the signal from the continent can disrupt the signal here. It affects everyone in this part of The East Riding and there is, sadly, nothing that we can do about it. In a normal year, it might manifest itself 2 or 3 times but this year has been especially bad with it going on for days at a time, because of the continuous high pressure weather system Putting everything on a satellite dish might alleviate some of the worst, so we're told, but we don’t really want dishes on the buildings and it’s normally a very rare occurrence. Our Wi-Fi operates at a strength of 20, which is good for this area and we have received no other reports of a poor phone signal. We use O2 which is considered to be one of the most effective in this area. Our website is structured to display all our holiday cottages and apartments and we try to carefully state what is on offer at each site. The cottages at Field House have a welcome tray with tea, coffee, milk, sugar, biscuits/or cake and home produced apple juice, whereas the cottages at High Barn have a Welcome Hamper with additional items. I am sorry if you found this confusing. Our cleaning team do a 1st class job. They are mortified that the freezer had been overlooked and I apologise on their behalf. The buildings at Field House are Victorian converted barns with very high beamed ceilings, old exposed chalk and brick walls and lots of nooks and crannies! I can assure you eradicating cobwebs, spiders and other insects is part of our weekly cleaning routine, but at this time of the year when they are so active it is all but impossible to be 100% successful.

The Roost - 3rd stay (also stayed in Dairy twice)

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay at The Roost again, this is the 3rd time we've stayed here, also stayed on The Dairy twice, love the cottage and its in a great location. We'll definitely be back and would love to stay in some on the other cottages too. Very spacious and well equipped.

We've not scored it as well as we would have liked as unfortunately the cleanliness wasn't up to the usual standard. We made a last minute booking as it looked as though someone may have cancelled and the cottage was also free the week before we arrived. When we arrived there were cobwebs everywhere, strung across doors, corners of the rooms, from the furniture. We spent the first half an hour getting rid of spiders. We would have happily vacuumed all the cobwebs up, and understand the cleaners don't get a lot of time, but the vacuum didn't work very well & hadn't been PAT test since 2014!! There had also been a slug in the bedroom that had left trails all over the carpet, luckily we found it before going to bed. We understand this is a rural property, we too live in an even more remote area and we've stayed at more rural properties, but this was just poor cleaning and it hadn't been checked properly before we arrived. The only other point to mention were the curtains in the twin room (disabled access room) they are about two foot too long and trail across the floor so are a trip hazard.

Despite these problems we still had a great time, its a lovely property and we would love to stay there again.




Angela replied 310 days ago
I am so sorry your stay in The Roost was disappointing in some aspects. As you know from your past two experiences with us at Field House, we have very high standards of cleanliness and would never deliberately leave a cottage uninspected before our guests' arrival. As you have suggested, with a free (empty) week before your late booking, the usual final inspection was inadvertently overlooked and not put on the list. I can only apologise. I have been away from much of the work for the last 6 weeks, recovering from an operation and so my customary double checking has been spread around the team. As The Roost is adjacent to our farmhouse, I do wish you had spoken to one of us immediately on arrival and we would have dealt with the problems you encountered. Our local electrician conducts regular PAT tests. Occasionally a vacuum from our house is brought into use in an emergency and it would seem this was the case in this instance.

Great Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time, our little boy loved seeing the cows and chickens each morning. Accommodation was great and very clean.



Angela replied 328 days ago
Thank you for your super review.

The roost

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall a lovely place to stay, great location with everything you need for a short stay- would recommend



Angela replied 333 days ago
Thank you for your positive review

Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything that could be done, was done. This was an outstanding property and location. We had a great time.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

First class accommodation in a superb location.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay in "The Roost", and it is quite simply the best self catering accommodation we have experienced. We always avoid the school holiday times and it was blissfully quiet, with just Ambrose the cat , the chickens and the cows for company. Dogs are not allowed in "The Roost" which for us, is very much appreciated.
Every need in the property is catered for and those little extras provided are a bonus and the hosts are welcoming and always available if required.
First class in every respect.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing such a super review. It is always a great pleasure to welcome back returning guests such as yourselves.

Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Regular visitors to the area and this is by far the best accommodation we’ve had, fitted and equipped to a high standard. Can’t really fault it. We’ll certainly be returning.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We do hope you'll make a return visit.

Short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd stay with Heritage Escapes and it won’t be our last ! Highly recommend 5*all the way everything you could need is provided and a warm welcome from the owners !



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It was our pleasure to have you to stay a second time and we hope you will return.

Peace and quiet, ideal location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were told about theRoost by family members who stayed previously, glad we took their advice, location perfect for the walks along the cliffs and not to far from the moors. After a day sightseeing it was nice to put you our feet up outside in the setting sun.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in The Roost. Please thank your family for their recommendation.

Lovely Accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time in the Yorkshire coast and so pleased we chose to stay at Field House Farm. The accommodation is excellent and so we’re Angela & John.
We stayed in the Roost, the beds are vey comfortable and we slept well. There are a number of cottages on the site, as they are converted barns but despite being close to our neighbours we couldn’t hear them next door. The Roost is well equipped with everything you need, or could want, including cling film & tin foil! The welcome pack was also really appreciated.
Outside we had a seating area and There’s a play area for children, chickens to collect eggs, and a dog walking field. You can wonder around the farm avoiding the cattle. I have to say they are the nicest looking cows I’ve ever seen!
The location is fab, we did venture into Bridlington on the first night for fish & chips, which was probably a mistake, it wasn’t the best, it had been a hot day & it’s clearly a popular stag & hen party location on a Saturday night! We didn’t go back.
Having said that the beaches either side are lovely especially the south side which stretches for miles.
Our favourite locations were Bempton Cliffs RSPB site, it’s just fabulous even if you’re not an avid bird watcher. We loved Flamborough Head light house and North Landing beach is a very sheltered cove with rock pools and caves to explore at low tide. We also ventured into York one day, which is about an hour away and a fairly easy drive.
If we come back this way again will be more than happy to return to field house farm.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay in The Roost was a success.

Our week at The Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a very comfortable stay at The Roost. It had everything we needed for a home away from home. The ping pong table was enjoyed by our teenage children as well as by us! It's the first time we have visited this part of the country and it did not disappoint. The owners living on-site means they are near if you need anything. We went on recommendation from Parents and we would definitely recommend to others.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
thank you for your kind review. It is always gratifying to have a booking like yours that is made following word of mouth recommendation.

The Roast

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable week. Host life on site so where accessible if needed. Beautifully clean and we had everything we needed to make an enjoyable stay. Filey beach only ten miles away , lovely and sandy and had designated area for people with dogs and one for people without. Good access to all local attractions and only an hour from York and Castle Howard. Will definitely go back



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We're very pleased you enjoyed the cottage and the local area.

As Wonderful as Ever!!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost is an excellent base to spend a weeks holiday on the Yorkshire Coast.
It is well equipped - the best I’ve ever seen and the beds are comfortable. Cleanliness is excellent and it is value for money.
The owners are kind, considerate and helpful; and whilst they leave you to your privacy they are there immediately if you need them, which is very reassuring.
We will always return because we know that we are guaranteed good accommodation as the base of our holiday.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very positive review.

A lovely holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in The Roost in June. The cottage was immaculate, comfy and homely. We enjoyed watching the Swallows in the barn and visiting the farm animals. The area is great for exploring the East Coast and North York Moors.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. The swallows in the early summer are a delight for both ourselves and our visitors.

"The Roost" - A1 in every respect.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at "The Roost" and we have already booked our next stay there.
That says it all really.
Everything about the property is ideal for us. It's quiet, spacious, very well appointed, equipped and maintained, indeed everything one would need for a relaxing stay, out of the school holiday seasons.
Ambrose the cat, and the cows and sheep on site on our last visit, were a real attraction for my wife and the wood burning stove was the best bit for me !
Of prime importance to me though is the 'no dogs' rule for this property, as I am allergic to anything 'doggy'.
We have found it increasingly difficult to find properties with 'no dogs' rules so this is another reason why "The Roost" is our No 1 choice.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Roost. We keep most of our properties dog free, only allowing dogs in three of them. This way we can accommodate almost all enquiries and be of great assistance to those with dog allergies.

Short holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely few days in a real home from home cottage. Have stayed many times in these cottages and never been disappointed.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review and we're pleased you had another lovely stay! All the best, John, Angela & James.

Fantastic Cottage in a quiet, peaceful location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has been superbly renovated to a very high standard. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings and well appointed. The open plan kitchen/dining room/lounge is plenty big enough for four people. The kitchen area has everything you would need to cook main meals. The dining table is situated by the window and there is also a seating area outside. The log burner is impressive and made the autumnal evenings very cosy after days out. Both bedrooms are of a good size and our bed (the two twins zipped together) was extremely comfortable and really big!! This is a lovely cottage and we would highly recommend!!

Just perfect!!

Bridlington is only five minutes away by car and there are plenty of other beautiful areas nearby.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!




Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words and we're so pleased you had a wonderful autumnal break! We are pleased you were able to explore the beauty that the East Coast of Yorkshire has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, John, Angela and James.

An Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third time at The Roost.
We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was superb, our hosts were wonderful and if you had an issue or query, they try their very best to help.
I have already booked twice for next year as we are very impressed.
It is very much home from home.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your vey kind comments. We're glad you enjoy staying in our cottages.

A very comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost was very comfortable and in a very good location for looking at places in East and North Yorkshire.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very positive comments. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal property for 4 friends with 2 en-suite bedrooms and a good space for the kitchen and sitting area. The Roost is particularly suitable for those who want accommodation on one level. We were returners and appreciated the warm welcome we received. A very good location to access the East Yorkshire coast.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay again with us. We hope you were able to explore the Coast and that we will see you again! All the best, John, Angela and James.

A happy return

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the Roost after staying in four other cottages at Field House Farm and it did not disappoint. comfortable and with all the facilities you need for your holiday so relaxing to return to the peace of the farm after a days outing. Thank you all once more for making us feel so welcome. we look forward to returning in October this time staying in Hinds cottage.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in October. Thank you for your kind review and we're pleased you enjoyed the East Yorkshire Coast. All the best, John, Angela and James.

Beautiful barn conversion

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really pleased to find this property at short notice after having to cancel a booking in Scotland. Lovely property, very well equipped.
We struggled a bit to find pubs/restaurants to eat at in the evenings as everywhere was either fully booked or finished serving food early - most places seemed to finish by 7.30/8pm
The local coastline from Danes Dyke round Flamborough Head and up to Bempton Cliffs is stunning. We were sorry to have missed the puffins but the Gannets at Bempton were excellent entertainment.




A delightful experience

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at The Roost. The accommodation is excellent. Really home from home with a super king bed, and modern kitchen. Beautifully light and airy with the high ceilings in the living area, and so many books! The location is peaceful and yet handy for local beauty spots like Flamborough Head, Danes Dyke and Bempton Cliffs. Lots of good walks to be had.

Can highly recommend.




Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased your stay at The Roost was a lovely one and that you were able to explore the many sites East Yorkshire has to offer. Thank you for your review and we're happy you were so comfortable in the cottage. All the best, John, Angela and James.

The Best Accommodation I have stayed in

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost is wonderfully accessible and it is so comfortable with a home from home feeling. Well equipped.



Peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay if you want to explore the coast north of Bridlington, Excellent & comfortable cottage with everything you need supplied. Our second visit & will probably return again.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased you enjoyed your returning visit and you were able to have such lovely weather on the coast. Thank you for your kind review!

Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The wow factor when u open doors ... Didnt have much to do with the owners due to covid .a small matter was raised with them next day all sorted ... For a old barn done a brill job



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely comment to leave, thank you! We are pleased that the Roost worked well for you and enjoyed your time at Heritage Escapes.

Great Accomodation!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay here! Great accomodation in a beautiful quiet setting! Very friendly hosts, nothing was too much trouble.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you had the weather on your side for your stay in The Roost!

Perfect Yorkshire Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
4th visit to Field House Farm and, as always, a brilliant base to enjoy all that this area has to offer. The cottages are very cosy, well equipped and, even in these somewhat anxious times courtesy of COVID, the level of cleanliness is very reassuring. Another thoroughly enjoyable holiday. Many thanks to Angela, John and James.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to have you to stay with us once again.

A comfortable base from which to explore the East Yorkshire coastal area - especially EV owners.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idealy placed for visiting the East Yorkshire coastal area, the accomodation was very spacious, well equiped and the welcome tray, generous. The EV (Type 2 - 7Kw) charging point was an extremely convenient facility. An impressive range of books was available for bad weather days.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost. It's great that we can accommodate owners of electric vehicles now that we have chargers on-site.

Lovely cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting. A friendly welcome from the owners. Lovely well kept cottages and a good location for exploring the coast.



Sarah-Jane replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to explore the beautiful coast East Yorkshire has to offer. Thank you for your kind review!

A Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I lost my Mum on Christmas Eve last year. She was supposed to be on this holiday break. After the harrowing time of lockdown and grief, I continued to plan for this holiday with a friend. It was fantastic. The weather was lovely for this time of year. The accommodation was superb. I felt relaxed as soon as I entered the property. Every room had been fully thought through, well equipped and comfortable. I will certainly return!!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you've found us and look forward to your next stay which you have already booked.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently returned from a brilliant 5 day break at Field House Farm with my family. We stayed in the Roost which was spacious, clean and felt COVID safe. Our granddaughter loved the play area, watching the tractors, the herd of cows and chickens in the shed. The farm is ideally placed for Sewerby Hall and it’s mini zoo and Bridlington. We will definitely return.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased all the family enjoyed staying here and we really hope to see you again.

The Roost was a lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday there, the Roost was a lovely place, lots of character but all mod cons. It was clean and had the personal touch like a welcome tray and fresh flowers. The farm was so peaceful and our 18 Month Granddaughter loved the animals and the swing ! Would recommend it.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost and thank you for your kind review.

Our stay was superb

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we loved this property well equipped clean and comfortable only 2 worries we found the lounge very dark due to the lack of windows and the water in th3 shower was almost cold



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We do wish you had told us about your difficulties with the hot water in the shower during your stay. We live next door to The Roost and would have gone in immediately to deal and fix with whatever problem there was. This is one of the benefits of having the owners living on site. The Roost has floor to ceiling windows in the living /dining area, facing into the courtyard and has plenty of ceiling lighting and side lamps.

Great short break

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at the Roost & areas we visited. Weather was fantastic, all places were friendly & conscious of Covid rules



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed The Roost and East Yorkshire's lovely countryside.

An Excellent Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another enjoyable stay in this well maintained and comfortable cottage. The owners are very friendly and if needed I’m sure they would promptly attend to any issues. We will certainly return to this cottage in the future and would have no hesitation in booking any of their other properties.

Marilyn G




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Very good to have you back at Field House Farm Cottages and we look forward to seeing you again.

Our second stay at Fieldhouse Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An enjoyable week staying at Fieldhouse Farm. This is the second time I have stayed and would not hesitate to recommend. Attention to detail throughout the property. Thoughtful welcome pack with biscuits and wine plus flowers in the living room. Very clean and welcoming property. I hope to book again next year. Thanks for a lovely week.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted to have you back and look forward hopefully to seeing you again in the future.

A most enjoyable stay with excellent hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at The Roost. The property is very comfortable and spacious with a fantastic kitchen, living, dining space. Bedrooms were very comfortable and bathrooms good too. The hosts are on site and very helpful. There is a nice patio space outside for dining etc. Parking is convenient too (right outside the property). There are also good facilities to keep kids entertained (playground and farm animals to see). Would definitely recommend. Very relaxing and peaceful and a short drive to beaches etc.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It was our pleasure to have the three generations of your family staying with us and we're delighted you all enjoyed your holiday.

Amazing venue, amazing hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a week post lockdown and it did not disappoint.

The farm itself is ideal if staying with children – the playground, collecting eggs in the morning and the football net around the back provided a lot of distraction and entertainment.
In terms of accommodation, it was brilliant. The apartment was clean, provided all necessities (even things that I thought I would need to bring) so it made staying her easy and welcoming (loved the fact that tea, coffee, biscuits, wine and fresh flowers were all waiting for us).
The hosts at Field House Farm went above and beyond at every opportunity and it was the personal touches, even in this current climate, that make you want to return.

This was our first staycation and it will not be the last, we are coming back next year and bringing the rest of the family with us.

Highly recommend if you want to explore the east coast and all the beautiful beaches.

Thank you to John, Angela and James.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Tara for such a wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you to stay in The Roost at Field House and we look forward to seeing you and your lovely family in the future.

Absolute Bliss. The best ever self catering accommodation. I cannot recommend it more highly

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want a beautiful base for exploring the Yorkshire Wolds and the rugged coastline from Bridlington to Whitby, this is the place to stay. Fabulous, cosy, luxurious accommodation with wonderful hosts. No expense has been spared on the fixtures and fittings. I brought a group of fellow artists who’d had little or no knowledge of the area. We had glorious weather in September that culminated in an art exhibition March 2020 in Gallery 49 Bridlington. (The old town of Bridlington has several galleries.)



An excellent, relaxing break in a perfect cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the weekend for a relaxing break and we were not disappointed. Everything about The Roost was perfect, from the initial booking right through to the end of our weekend. We have stayed in many cottages in the U.K., in Europe and further afield and it's safe to say that The Roost was one of the best, if not the best. It was immaculate - clean, warm and exceptionally comfortable. John and Angela, the owners, were most welcoming and made us feel at home straightaway. All in all our weekend was a most pleasing experience - one we hope to repeat in the future.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Being told by our visitors that our cottages are perfect brings a smile to all our faces! Thank you for your super review. We do hope you will return for another visit.

Short but welcome stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful stay we enjoyed in late February. The cottage was all we could asked for and more, especially in terms of accessibility and hospitality from Angela and John. Would definitely go back.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your February stay was a complete success.

Lovelyjubbly

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our son recommended this holiday accommodation so we had pretty high expectations, which were met and more.

The Roost is both stylish and comfortable - a real home from home.

Angela, John and James have clearly tried to think of everything and have succeeded, even down to having a charging point for our plug-in hybrid car!

We were very impressed with the whole experience, and will certainly re-visit before too long.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope very much you will return to one of our cottages.

A relaxing New Year

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a thoroughly relaxing time at The Roost and can't recommend the properties on site enough. The cottages are comfortable, warm and cosy (just what we wanted over the cold New Year) and well equipped with everything you might need. The Roost provides a range of information outlining some local walks and and information about the farm itself and its development over time - fascinating stuff to be honest. This has been a great base from which to explore the local area and we have returned home feeling relaxed and rejuvenated for the year ahead.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review. Thank you. We hope all our guests feel as relaxed and rested as yourselves after a stay in one of our cottages.

Highly recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay. The cottage was very well equipped and had everything we needed. It is situated in a beautiful, tranquil setting. I will definitely visit again and will recommend to family/friends.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to have you stay with us again.

Fantastic property and location.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay in fantastic location.
The property is excellent, very clean.
The children loved the playground.
Very peaceful location.
Throughly recommended.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review.

Tranquil Haven Near the Sea

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended. Lovely location. Excellent Cottage, with everything you might need supplied.

For local attractions, make sure you visit Sewerby Hall, just down the road.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of The Roost. We 're so pleased when our visitors enjoy the peace of the location.

A Monsoon Break.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought overall the cottage was good. There were one or two features not good, the glass hob cover dangerous at head level both of us cracking our heads! The boiling kettle leaked, and the wet room although not used had a drain smell. We did however have a nice week at the cottage and John was most welcoming.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for troubling to post your review. We're sorry you were with us when the weather was most unseasonal over the whole of the UK - we agree it was a really rainy time. We do wish you had told John about the kettle and asked to have it replaced, which he would have done easily. Before you arrived, we were unaware of a stale smell in the wet room. Sometimes, with little or no use for several days, the u bend dries out - just running the shower always takes care of this. Lastly, you mentioned the extractor hood was low for you. It is set to the industry standard height.

Lovely stay in a high quality property

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in lovely surroundings Very peaceful and close to countryside yet only a short distance from lots of places to visit. Quality of amenities in cottage top notch, great attention to detail, all very clean and well maintained. Tastefully decorated in keeping with its history of a old farm stables. Being all on one level it suited us perfectly, having two double bedrooms and two bathrooms, one of which included a wet room style shower was an added bonus. The owners were around but not intrusive....friendly and there to say hello and if needed for any problems - which there were none. Would highly recommend a stay here.
My only small negative is that we both found the beds a little firm.... lovely quality beds and bedding but took some getting used to ....




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review. It is much appreciated. We are always happy to provide soft mattress toppers for those who prefer a softer surface to sleep on. If you return, please request them before you arrive.

Enjoyable stay at a comfortable venue

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming. A quiet place to stay. All on one level , so ideal for anyone with disabilities.

Well equipped cottage with a homely feel.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very positive review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay.

lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our weekend at 'The Roost', Field House Farm Cottages. Cottage very comfortable, warm and well equipped. Owners on site if needed (fortunately we didn't need anything) but never intrusive. Have stayed at High Barn and The Hop Store (York), also owned by John and Angela. Standard of accommodation very high at all properties. No doubt we will book another short break soon.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. I'm really happy to knoe you have enjoyed staying in all three of our sites

Wonderful accommodation for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing break had by all. Lovely surroundings, home from home accommodation and excellent service



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you all enjoyed your stay.

First-class holiday home.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost is one of several charming cottages, tucked away inside Field House Farm. It is newly refurbished to a high standard and the rooms are very stylish and comfortable. A great base from which to explore the beautiful coastline and countryside. Angela and her family were very welcoming.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Roost.

Stay at the Roost

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly beautiful converted barn. Comfortable, warm and excellent facilities. The welcome tray was a nice touch and the story of the conversion along with photos was very interesting. The kids loved being on the farm, and a really good base to get out and explore the coastline. Great for families. 10/10.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for yur lovely comments. It's always nice to be rated 10/10!

Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxing break in quality accommodation. Thanks to all concerned (including Ambrose and Jess)



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We were delighted that you enjoyed your short break with us.

Absolutely first class

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault this cottage finished to a high standard excellent location near many attractions with plenty to do during are stay



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's lovely to receive comments like yours because we aim to be 'absolutely 1st class' and we hope we achieve that standard every time.

A Christmas welcome!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The beautifully decorated cottage welcomed us. Tree lights shining brightly and other decorations made our time there so special. The 'family and team' work so hard to provide us with a special time there. We so enjoyed the goodies left for us - Christmas card, wine and cake, and biscuits and the essentials for our stay. Thank you!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Its always a pleasure to have you stay with us.

A lovely luxury cottage in a beautiful part of England

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would definitely recommend The Roost at Field House Farm. It was very cosy and welcoming. When we arrived it the place was warm and milk, tea, coffee and wine were waiting for us. The wood stove was fabulous with an endless supply of wood to burn provided.

The cottage was immaculate and the owners were friendly - we have two young children and they had enough room to play in the cottage. It was child friendly with the playground onsite and the chickens to visit.

There were lots of walks available around the huge acres of farmland that we would have taken advantage of had we not got two little ones with us and these were well mapped out in the information book.

The area is lovely with beautiful beaches and lots of places to explore - this was the perfect base.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your generous praise of our cottages at Field House. We're absoulutely delighted that you had such a happy stay.

Good kitchen - great base

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely place - highly recommended.....................................................................................................................................




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It's very pleasing to know that you would recommend our cottages to others.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned here every year for the past 8 years. Why? Because it ticks all the boxes. Beautiful cottages, wonderful scenery, peaceful atmosphere, and extremely convenient location as a base for day trips across E & N Yorkshire. The Roost is definitely our favourite & the two resident cats who came to visit us every night are an additional bonus, Beabea especially. We adore her. Needless to say we will be back again next year at the latest



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I looked at your review as soon as it was posted and just forgot to respond. Thank you for continuing to stay with us and thank you also for giving us such a wonderful write up!

First Class Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best accommodation we have ever stopped in and will defiantly be back next year, and the year after etc. etc.
Perfect for the less mobile.
Everything you require is in the cottage from a lovely welcome tray of with all you need for your first couple of tea or coffee.
Excellent TV and DAB radio in the lounge with additional TV's in the Bedrooms.
Last but not least John, Angela and all the staff First Class.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very kind review. We hope to see you again.

A very pleasant week.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property, spotlessly clean, warm, with all you could need. Rare to find such good disabled facilities. Extremely pleasant and helpful owners, and plenty to do in the local area.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay with us was a success.

Wonderful coastal holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage very high standard lovely garden comfortable beds ,enjoyed our stay very peaceful, well equipped every thing you needed Would definitely go again .
Home from home




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted that The Roost provided you with a comfotable base for a lovley holiday

Grandparents/grandchildren

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an ideal place for grandparents and their 6- and 2-year old grandchildren. The accommodation was clean, warm and spacious enough for the children to move around in. The swings outside were used daily. The bedrooms were perfect, as were the cooking facilities. This visit was during the February half-term holiday and although it was bitterly cold quick trips to the RSPB site at Bempton Cliffs and to Danes Dike were made, with a play-barn providing warm indoor fun. There were no negatives!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
All positives from a granny and grandad with grandchildren in February- what more can we ask for?

Top notch

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another fabulous stay at The Roost. Spotlessly clean with high quality finish and very spacious. John and Angela let us have a sneaky look around Garden Cottage whilst we were there. It is almost ready to let out now. We had already booked to stay for Christmas at Garden Cottage as it was one of our favourite cottages at before being renovated. Wow! it is out of this world! It's absolutely gorgeous. Very modern but yet still retained character. The conservatory gives the place a real sense of space and brings lots of light into the kitchen and living space. The bedrooms and en suite bathrooms really do have the wow factor. As always John and Angela were perfect hosts and have definitely spent a lot of time, (and I imagine money) and effort into making Garden Cottage really stand out from the crowd. It's more like 10 star accommodation rather than 5 star. Can't wait for Christmas now and just wish we hadn't already booked elsewhere for out September holiday. We've stayed in different cottages at Field House Farm cottages at least 15 times over a period of 5 years and we certainly don't intend to stop going now.



A replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your wonderful review.

Another fabulous stay at one of Field House Farm Cottages (The Roost)

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've lost count of the number of times we've stayed in one of the cottages at Field House Farm since our discovery of the place 5 years ago. We certainly wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when visiting the east coast. The location is excellent especially for the walk into Brid from the car park in Sewerby and for visiting Bempton Rocks which is a must for anyone who loves bird watching.
Over the years we have stayed in Garden Cottage ( currently being renovated and we can't wait to stay there when it's finished) Turnip House, The Hind and this Christmas we stayed in The Roost. Each cottage is superb and quite different and have their own unique style but all are extremely well presented and have lovely character. They are spotlessly clean and well equipped with very comfortable beds. Our stay first time in The Roost this Christmas was fabulous and the Christmas tree in the window that faced us as we drove into the courtyard was awesome.
Thank you once again John and Angela for the lovely welcome and the little touches that make all the difference.
Your customer service and cottages are second to none.
Happy New Year. We will see you again in 2018 for sure!




Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a glowing review. It's lovely to hear that our cottages are so appreciated by our visitors.

New Year at the Roost

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost was a brilliant place to stay. The interiors are beautifully created with a sense of the places historic past. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. We had a fantastic New Year stay and would highly recommend it to anyone. Tim, Mel and Family.




Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased your stay in The Roost over New Year pleased you and your family.

Luxurious and accessible

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost is a lovely, one-story cottage near Bempton in East Yorkshire which sleeps four in two bedrooms with two bathrooms.
The house is wheelchair accessible, although my power chair needed an extra shove to get it over the threshold of the front door, and although the internal doors are not wide, I was able to get around without any problem.
Outside the front door there was a table and chairs, a little the worse for the weather, but on a warm day it would be lovely to sit out in the courtyard which is block paved.
There is a double bedroom with an ensuite bathroom which has a shower over the bath and the other room can be configured as a twin or a king-size double and the ensuite bathroom is a wet room with space to manoeuvre a wheelchair.
The furnishings are all really good quality and it was very comfortable, although a little chilly as the weather was very cold and the cottage had not been booked for a while but we were able to turn the heating up and get the wood burning stove going so it was lovely and cosy the next day. This is virtually always the case with cottages so we did expect it but of course if you’re only staying a weekend it means it’s not so warm for more of your stay! There was plenty of wood and they told us we could help ourselves if we needed more. The only trouble with getting this is nice and warm was that it made the thermostat go off so the bedroom and bathroom weren’t so warm. I don’t really know what the answer is to having the perfectly warm cottage!
It’s a really well-equipped cottage and there was a welcome tray with tea, coffee, biscuits and a bottle of wine. The decor is lovely with original features from its former life as a farm building and there was an interesting history of farm in the cottage information folder.
The cottages also have impeccable green credentials, using a wind turbine and rainwater capture, encouraging recycling and using local products.
The friendly, helpful owners have other cottages at nearby High Barn, where we had stayed last year and on both occasions we were really lucky with the weather, so as last time we had a very sunny visit to the promenade Bridlington which is nice and smooth for wheel users with plenty of parking. The Blue Badge bays were all full but with this being off-season, there were loads of free spaces nearby.




Nice holidays in Yorkshire

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very nice accommodation for a family of four. Very clean, very comfortable with a warm welcome.

There are several nice beaches and places just a few miles from the cottage where we spent nice afternoons basking in the sun (yes in Yorkshire in October).

It is a good base for one-day trips and the nearby coast is a plus.




Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your week with us this half term

Top Notch

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well managed set-up with run by friendly and helpful people. Our accommodation was excellent.



a replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost. 'Top notch' is what we aim to be for all our guests.

Great holiday in 'The Roost'

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was very comfortable and clean with a range of toiletries, etc.

Our hosts, Angela and John, were very friendly. The welcome tray was appreciated after a long journey and a vase of fresh cut flowers was another nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, which was spent with family and friends in one of the other cottages. Would certainly recommend to anyone visiting East Yorkshire.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review.

Return Visit Fabulous Cottage, Nice Location

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Field House Farm but the first time we have stayed in Roost Cottage.
The cottage is suberbly presented with great facilities. When travelling with young children the washer and dryer provided are essential. It really helps that the cottage had good WIFI and a smart TV. The welcome tray was nice with enough for the washer/dishwasher to last the week.
The owners were friendly, it is nice to know they are near by but we didn't need them for anything.
The children loved the farm animals and small outdoor play area.

I would not hesitate to recommend Field House Farm as a great place to stay and Roost as a superb cottage. Next time we visit the area we will be back




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed our 2nd visit to Field House and hope you will come back to see us again.

The roost

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stay at the roost every year with my disabled daughter and every year we have a fantastic stay. There is nothing at all to complain about it's like a home from home.john and angela are most welcoming and we look forward every year to coming back. Couldn't wish for more



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We are always delighted to see your car drive into the courtyard. We couldn't wish for nicer guests.

Very comfortable, well equipped, clean cottage. We had a lovely holiday.Would definitely recommend.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 4, 2 girls aged 6 & 10 really enjoyed our holiday. The cottage had everything we needed and more. We had lots of trips out there are a lot of places within easy reach. Bridlington is closest and we enjoyed swimming at the Leisure Centre and the beach. We also liked Filey, Scarborough and Flamingo Land. Sewerby Village, Flamborough and Bempton Cliffs are all on the doorstep and really good to visit. It was really good to come back to such a nice, comfortable cottage, the girls enjoyed being on the farm seeing the cows and chickens and playing on the swings etc.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your two weeks in The Roost. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us.

What a lovely holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned for a third visit to this lovely complex on a working farm. From the characterful cats, the 'just ignore him' dog (little temperamental), to the lovely cows just outside. There was also a plethora of swifts giving magnificent acrobatic skills which made our time there again, fabulous. We can fully agree with the Five* Certificate and Gold Award on display. Every attention to detail ha been thought about - you just walk in and put your clothes away and your settled for your stay.

The Farm is an ideal base to visit all the many interesting places in the area with a little driving. We visited Flamborough and were priviledged to see a real life rescue which included the ambulance, lifeboat and the rescue helicopter. They air lifted a lady from a difficult spot down on the beach who had a badly broken leg. Made us thankful we have these brave people willing to risk all when help is needed. We also went to Whitby, Scarborough, Pickering and of course Bridlington. For the first time we also spent a full day in the nearby Sewerby Hall - what a lovely place and well worth visiting.

Thank you once again Field House Farm, Sewerby




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
How lovely to know you enjoyed your stay so much. We do hope you'll return.

Field House farm

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to stay and experience the local area, accommodation perfect, high standard, relaxing and great if you struggle with mobility issues.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost.

Wonderful relaxing holiday in superb accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had originally booked The Roost as we were bringing my 93 year old dad with us so needed ground floor accommodation. Unfortunately he died in March but the two of us stayed and enjoyed every minute. Blessed with super weather we were able to visit all our favourite local places such as Bempton Cliffs and Danes Dyke, plus lots of clifftop walking. The accommodation is excellent, very comfortable and with great attention to detail, including a welcome tray with bottle of wine. Lots of short walks available around the farm itself. We would certainly love to return, possibly with family.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad your holiday was a success and we certainly hope to see you again.

Outstanding

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic place to stay. From the nice courtyard setting surrounded by the farm. Really peaceful. Everything provided in the property that you would need and high quality furnishings, bedding and utensils. The owners have thought of everything to provide a comfortable stay.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Roost. Thank you for such a great review.

What is not to like about this lovely place

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After viewing the pictures of the farm and it's letting cottages I knew that this was the type of place I would like.
When I used to leave the door open as a child my dad used to say "Do you live in a barn?" Well now I have and the experience was exceptional. It was an ideal blend of old and new and as I had a farming background I could identify what was around me.
Traditional yorkshire farms are special and the restoration of this one was good.

Comfortable beds if not a touch hard for me (the other bed was softer) but as I had done the booking I got to choose the room and I had done so on the preference for a bath/shower (perfect) rather than a wet room. We booked as two couples and the biggest plus for me was that the bedrooms were not adjacent. ( I prefer only my wife to hear me snore).

Great log burner, excellent cooking facilities, comfortable lounge, loads of local info and very pleasant owners.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Roost.

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing stay at the Roost . Well equipped, comfortable and clean. Lovely area with lots to do. Close to sewerby hall for the Saturday park run . Also explored Sewerby hall , grounds and zoo. Filey coast unspoilt and enjoyed the visit/ walk on cliff top.
Children catered for on site with playground and pond to visit.
Would go again.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased your stay with us was a success. The Sewerby Park Sunday run is very popular locally and I think it's lovey that visitors like yourselves can take part too. We hpe to see you again sometime.

Wonderful cottage, lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent holiday cottage. Really comfortable, well laid out, and extremely well-equipped. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming. There is lots of outdoor space for kids to let off steam. Location is extremely handy for Flamborough/Bempton Cliffs and Bridlington.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay in The Roost this Easter.

4 nights nr Flamborough Head

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage perfectly located to explore the Yorkshire coast. Beach days in Bridlington and Filey were great despite the wind! A cliff top walk and a more local potter around the model village and Danes Dyke made the week a perfect family holiday-something for everyone. Hoasts we're fab and did everything to make sure we had a great time. Would definitely go back.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your Easter break in The Roost. We hope to see you again.

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and cosy cottage in an excellent location. We were made to feel very welcome. Cottage is very high spec and fully equipped, dishwasher, washer/dryer etc. Lots of lovely touches....fresh flowers, wine, dressing gowns. Fantastic stay. We will be back!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost and hope to see you all again. We're sure Ambrose feels that way too!

Charming, smart apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Roost is well appointed and comfortable, in a good location for Sewerby Hall, Danes Dyke, Bempton etc. As part of a bigger family group (others in Hinds Cottage) it was good to be able to cook in the better kitchen we had but eat at the larger table they had. Beware that although they give you tea, coffee, milk, pepper and salt, there isn't a cupboard of left over cooking staples such as you find in a lot of rentals, so you need to bring or buy everything you might need. This is a consideration, not a complaint. We had a great stay.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost. Tea, coffee, milk, sugar, biscuits, wine, condiments are our standard provision. We don't feel comfortable leaving 'Left over cooking staples' from one set of guests to the next.

A very cpmfortable 5 days despite the rain, wind and snow. We found the whole experience very relaxi

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
See above.
We were taken in a very short notice having decided that we could not stay another night at the Hotel we had originally booked into




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad we were able to help you and provide you with thr tranquil , restful holiday you were seeking.

Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely little cottage. Well stocked with utensils etc. Good location for walking. Would happily stay again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed staying in The Roost and that you would happily stay with us again.

Excellent short break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly, helpful owner and staff, all requests at time of booking were answered. Lovely welcome pack, with milk in the fridge, biscuits and a bottle of wine too. Heating was very good, always warm with an unlimited supply of logs for the wood burner. Lots of local attractions close to property.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your very kind review. We're delighted you found the cottage to be warm, comfortable and welcoming.

First class holiday cottage..

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Difficult to fault with anything regarding our stay at The Roost.
Booking was professional and easy.
Very friendly and helpful owners. We were welcomed by son, James, as Angela and John were away, returning later that day.
We caught up with them the following day. Must not forget dog, Jess, of course.
We immediately felt at home as soon as we stepped over the threshold of The Roost. Very comfortable and a joy to stay there.
Enjoyed seeing the cattle in the nearby field - what a big boy Harry is.!!!!
All in all a very enjoyable short stay - probably the best cottage/ apartment we have stayed at over the past 20/30 years.
We were so impressed we have already booked to stay at The Malt House, York, and have our eyes on High Barn for next year.
What more can I say.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your delightful and complimentary review. We look forward to your next visit and hope very much that you do follow up your intention to give High Barn a try.

The Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the roost at field house as the cake house at high barns was booked and needed all ground floor accomadation, as expected was all 1st class.
My dad needs oxygen and the owners make sure it's where it should be when it's delivered for and happy to help.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always good to welcome you back. We have Mobility 2 cottages at both Field House and High Barn.

A time spent in Yorkshire

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage met all our expectations and was excellent throughout. It was nice to find a welcoming tray when we arrived and our hosts were very friendly and helpful.





Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed you stay in The Roost, which is one of our most popular cottages.

The cottage at Field House Farm was excellent...

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage at Field House Farm was excellent and ideally located for exploring the fantastic East Yorkshire coast. Bridlington has done an amazing job with the promenade and the beaches were superb!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for posting your positive review. We're very glad The Roost ticked all the boxes for you and we agree that Bridlington's beaches and promenades are hard to beat.

Just perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come to the Fieldhouse cottages every year as they are perfect for relaxing as well as a base to explore E Yorks and surrounding area. Beautiful cottages, tranquil place with lots to see & do.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
It's always good to welcome you back. I'm glad you find Field House both tranquil and relaxing.

Amazing stay at The Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely top class stay at The Roost. Couldn't have asked for anything more. Excellent cottage in a great location. Plenty of beautiful scenery and places to visit. We would definitely go back 100%! Thanks Angela and John, oh and Jess the dog!!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in The Roost

Great cottage, Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost is a lovely cottage which is well equipped, comfortable and was a great base to see the surrounding area. The setting is good and the addition of the park was appreciated by my son. Would definitely recommend this cottage and we plan to return in the future.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for taking the trouble of writing your very positive review. Our play area, whilst small, has proved to be very popular with visiting children, which is pleasing. We hope you will return to field house in the future.

90/100

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
VERY COMFORTABLE, rooms full of character AND WELL EQUIPPED FOR VISITORS WITH MOBILITY ISSUES. NICE QUIET SETTING BUT EASILY ACCESSIBLE TO BRIDLINGTON AND TOURIST ATTRACTIONS



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased you and your husband found the cottage suitable for your needs and enjoyed the easy access to the surrounding attractions.

The Roost

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a shortbreak at The Roost. The accommodation is first class and is ideal for someone who is wheelchair reliant, it is all on one level and has the added benefit of a wheelchair accessible wet room. Fieldhouse Farm is located in a lovely rural position but ideal for Sewerby, Bridlington and the surrounding Yorkshire coastal area. All furnishings and equipment are of an excellent quality. It is without doubt the best self catering accommodation we have stayed in. Needless to say we booked a return visit before leaving . First class!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're delighted that The Roost suited your daughter's needs and of course, your own. Our aim is to provide top-quality accommodation, with the added bonus in The Roost and Ostler's Corner of catering for visitors with some mobility problems. Happily, we seem to be doing just that. We look forward to your return later this year.

Time on the farm

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at these beautiful cottages for our 5 days stay early this week . We had a wonderful time at field farm cottages.

The owner came over to introduce themselves and we're very friendly and welcoming.

The cottage was perfect it was clean, spacious and homely. My son loves the animals on the farm and play park, which kept him entertained whilst we were there.

I was surprised by all the little things the cottage had to make our stay that little bit easier, a cot and high chair was provided, along with milk in the fridge, a bottle of wine and biscuits.

We stayed in the roost, it's an absolute beautiful cottage and we can't wait to book again for next year.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost.

Lovely weekend away in The Roost

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Field House Farm in the Roost,took my sister away for the weekend, with my partner. My sister is in a wheelchair and the property was ideal, all accessible and easy to get around.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very pleased your sister in particular found The Roost to be a suitable place to stay.

"Relaxing Holiday"

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay at The Roost, our 5th visit to stay at Field House Farm. The cottage is very comfortable with everything you need, we are always made welcome by Angela & John and we are looking forward to our next visit.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank -you for your very positive review. We're delighted you enjoyed this last stay at Field House as much as the others.

beautifull barn conversion

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifull barn conversions with all the comfort you could wish for.very friendly and helpful staff,nothing was too much trouble
we enjoyed our stay at the roost




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Roost.

Great place

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Highly recommend this for base location. Cottage complex very peaceful and good location for visits to local resorts. My wife Gaynor and me thought the accommodation was immaculate.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We aim to present all our cottages in pristine condition, so are delighted with your comments.

The Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice and comfortable cottage in a wonderful location. Owners very nice and helpful. Second visit will book again. ........................



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your second stay with us and hope very much to see you at Field House again.

The Roost

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a well equipped cottage with all facilities that you might need. The log burner adds an added extra in colder weather too. It is in a beautiful location, not least because it is so close to Bempton Cliffs. This is the second time we have stayed at The Roost, and look forward to our next visit. We have been warmly welcomed on each occasion and very much enjoy our breaks at Field House Farm. We would recommend it to all.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Fiona for your complimentary review of The Roost at Field House. We're always delighted to welcome returners and hope to see you again in the future.

A very comfy cottage relaxing with excellent amenities and good walking

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in all respects could not fault it .good location very good pub just round the corner brilliant landscapes and views hosts very polite and welcoming



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Roost a few days ago. We agree with you that this is an excellent spot for good walking- beaches, cliffs and countryside. We hope to see you again.

A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As first time holiday cottage people and going away in January we had a very open mind of what to expect so we were pleased beyond expectation at the standard of the accomodation and facilities at the cottage. Being extremely cold outside it was a real joy to go back in the evening where the cottage was already warm but to have the added luxury of a log burner and with all the cooking appliances and equipment we were happy to cook and stay in every evening.
We also found plenty of lovely places to visit and walk so we had a brilliant week




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so pleased you were happy, warm and comfortable in The Roost in January.

A fantastic property in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy cottage with every modern convenience. Set in a peaceful location yet within easy reach of local pub and town centre. We will definitely be booking a return visit.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your winter break in The Roost and were both comfortable and cosy. We very mush hope to see you again.

Autumn Half Term at Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Roost was very well equipped, extremely comfortable that it was sometimes hard to leave for a day out. Ideally located for Hull, Scarborough, Whitby and lots more. The owners are friendly and helpful.
We had one of our best holidays ever at The Roost and we will come back.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you had a good Autumn half term week in The Roost. It's a great cottage for a winter break. Thank-you for such a glowing review.

Wonderful cottage marvelous location.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was a high standard, comfortable and having all the home comforts we required. The location was excellent and central for all the holiday coast.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. Your write up was very positive, mentioning comfort and high standards, which we strive to achieve at all times. So pleased to see you have booked again already for March next year.

Spacious living.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Field House Farm cottages many times before.It just feels like we are coming home. John and Angela are wonderful hosts and supply everything a guest would need. Our cottage called the Roost was so spacious and luxurious.A perfect ccottage. A perfect destination.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you both for such a lovely review. We're always so pleased to see you, whichever cottage you choose!

The Roost

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The roost was advertised has suitable for disabled I brought some one from work I work with people with disabilities and found that the bedrooms were hard to negotiate a wheelchair in those rooms because of the carpets it would have been easier with either tiles or wood flooring also found that the shower come wet room was small for using a shower chair (which the adult had to bring her own). the place was beautiful .



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your review, giving us such good scores for cleanliness, service, comfort etc. In answer to your comments regarding visitors with a disability, The Roost carries a Visit England Mobility 2 Rating, which means it is suitable for a wheelchair user who has some mobility also. The Roost provides level access for a person in a wheelchair, wider doors and a wet room, with shower stool if requested, to the twin bedroom. When booking, we ask those visitors who are either disabled themselves or accompanying a disabled guest to inform us of their specific requirements, in order that both parties can be assured that the property will be suitable. Having double checked the booking form, no request was made for mobility aids and no indication was given that a member of the party was a wheelchair user. Had we known this, we would have wished to discuss your requirements fully when the booking was made.

A great week in Brid

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
very good ideally situated for visiting this area Bempton cliffs a must see with lots of different seabirds. Flamborogh and Bridlington nearby and Filey and Scarbough



A great week in Brid

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
very good ideally situated for visiting this area Bempton cliffs a must see with lots of different seabirds. Flamborogh and Bridlington nearby and Filey and Scarbough



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for taking the trouble to post a review of The Roost. We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would agree that Bempton Cliffs with it's magnificent seabird colony is truly a place not to be missed.

Our second visit to the Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As ever Angela and John and team most welcoming. The Roost is very well equipped with many extras. It is so quiet yet close to many places to visit including RSPB Bempton Cliffs which now has a new visitors centre. We will be visiting again.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Chris for your kind review of The Roost. We were delighted to have you return again this year and hope to see you in the future - maybe as you indicated at 'puffin time'.

Stress Free holiday with my minions!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant accommodation and more than the luxuries of home meant my family and I had a fabulous stay. What went that extra mile, for us, was finding our Gourmet food order from More, More, More safely tucked inside our porch rather than left outside. Thoughtful gesture from unobtrusive hosts.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your recent kind review. A holiday with very little ones can be stressful, so I'm delighted you were comfortable and found everything that you needed. We intend to follow up your Gourmet food order, as it seemed to work seamlessly. By the way, we like being labelled 'unobtrusive hosts', We will help whenever needed, but fade into the background when surplus to requirements!

Luxurious cottage in peaceful surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was such a find; our accommodation in the Roost was extremely comfortable, clean and fully equipped and accommodated the two of us and our young grandson for our weeks holiday. We were met with a warm welcome from our hosts Angela and John on arrival and found a delicious bottle of wine included on our welcome tray and fresh flowers in the spacious living room when we walked in. Situated near the coast (within walking distance of Sewerby Hall) and many other beauty spots, it was an ideal spot for our holiday providing a peaceful haven in beautiful surroundings. An exceptional place and somewhere we hope to return to soon.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Shelagh for such a lovely review. I would agree that our location takes some beating. Peaceful countryside, but really close to Sewerby Hall and the beaches. We hope you will return.

A really good holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really relaxing and excellent holiday at at the Roost. Weather initially was rubbish but there was plenty to do around Bridlington indoors to keep our two boisterous grandchildren occupied. Other holidaymakers at the farm were friendly and the owners could not have been more helpful, but in an unobtrusive way. The cottage itself was excellent with everything sparkling clean and equipped with all the necessities. I would certainly recommend this accommodation to others. (the cats were very friendly too).



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Ron for such a positive review. Wet weather activities will get even better next year when the town's long-awaited new Leisure Centre opens. It's looking good already.

fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in The Roost. The cottage was spacious and had great facilities. We had everything we needed to cook in the kitchen. The wetroom was great with a toddler while our bathroom was very high end.
The farm is well located with lots to do close by and some gorgeous beaches. The grounds were also well looked after with a lovely little play area too.
Overall a fantastic place, the only negative was the dog who did snarl when my daughter walked past and chased and bit the car when we drove out!




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I intended to reply to your review as soon as it was posted, but life got in the way and for that I apologise. I do hope our dog, Jess did not spoil your holiday. It's a problem that we find insoluble. With us, he is a lovely dog, a treasured family member and for most of the time he behaves with visitors. When we are full in the cottages, we try to keep him with us in cars, tractors, around the fields or indoors, but inevitably he will spend time roaming on his own, in what he considers to be his territory. If he frightened you, I am truly sorry. He can be unpredictable, we know and is just as likely to wag his tail and roll over to be stroked as he is to be unfriendly.

A calm haven

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a great find! First class facilities. A warm welcome from the owners and their team. Lived up to and surpassed expectations. Would love to go again!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
My apologies for the somewhat late response to your kind review. We really appreciate the fact that visitors, like yourselves, take the time to post a review and we thank-you for that. We sincerely hope you will return to holiday in our cottages.

A holiday in The Roost

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was most enjoyable inspite of the cool weather.
The cottage wss perfect for my brother who is a wheelchair user.
We found the tranquility most relaxing but were close enough tp visit a variety pf gardens country houses and of course the beaches.
We would certainly return.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you, Wendy for posting such a favourable review concerning The Roost. We hope we will see you again in the future.

Positive feedback

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic holiday really enjoyed ourself and your excellent accomodation, would recomend to others



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Susan for your review. we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday in The Roost