FB Twitter

Gamekeepers Cottage

Gamekeepers Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Gamekeeper's Cottage has a stunning riverside location. With an extensive private south facing garden there is plenty of space for 8 people to relax and enjoy. All four bedrooms have their own bathroom or en-suite with the first floor bedroom having its own roll top bath in the room with views of the river. The living space is large and bright and steps straight out onto the outside patio area with access to its own private hot tub. Gamekeeper's Cottage has 2 fixed double beds with an option to turn the other 2 doubles into twins.

A cottage you really won't want to leave!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gamekeepers Cottage is a truly delightful place to unwind away from it all. Every thing has been thoughtfully put in place to ensure that all three generations had a wonderfully relaxing holiday.
From gazing at the stars from the fabulous hot tub or fishing in the beautiful River Dee, to playing table tennis and chess in The Lodge, we couldn't have enjoyed our time more!
Andy and the staff were so helpful, thanks so much.




It’s Our Home from Home !

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to GameKeepers Cottage in 7 months and have booked again for next Jan. The cottage is really cozy with good quality furniture and a well equipped kitchen. There is good quality WiFi and Netflix and Amazon Tv is available too. The scenery is stunning and viewing it from the hot tub in the back garden is amazing. Although Rivercatcher consists of 5 cottages and 4 log cabins, all of them are very private and you hardly hear any noise from the other properties. I would certainly recommend Rivercatcher for a holiday or a weekend break .



Family Holiday June 2018

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous summer holiday with the family. Beautiful peaceful location, excellent facilities and high standard of accommodation. The whole family and the dog enjoyed the facilities at the cottage, the garden, BBQ and hot tub all added to a lovely experience. Nice touch with welcome pack for the dog and local products for guests. As the weather was exceptionally good, we didn't get the opportunity to use the woodburner, maybe next time.



A lovely week in Gamekeepers cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole family enjoyed our week at Rivercatcher. The location was idyllic and we laughed so much at the antics of the new born lambs in the adjoining fields. Gamekeepers Cottage met our needs perfectly and we couldn't think of anything that would improve it! Evenings watching the snow on the hills and the river rushing past from the comfort of the hot tub, then drying out around the log burner...perfect.
The owners and staff were all really friendly and helpful, and we loved our tour of the wonderful new cabins, which we are all very tempted to visit in the future. We'll certainly be back...




Fantastic cottage with beautiful scenery

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was absolutely stunning and exactly as pictures showed. Very clean with lots of attention to detail, everything you could possibly need for a family of 7 for the 7 nights. Even managed to add another night on as we didn't want to leave! Beautiful views, and facilties, cannot recommend highly enough. Hot tub so clean and with a view of hills and the river 7 nights is just not long enough.



Great Property and Wonderful Location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and it certainly won’t be the last. The cottage was spotlessly clean and extremely well maintained and comfortable. The view of the Welsh hills from the back garden with the River Dee running alongside the property is amazing and the addition of a hot tub to sit in makes it all the more relaxing.The kitchen has all the equipment you need and if you want to stay in on a winters evening, there is underfloor heating plus a log burner in the living room. Most rooms have a tv and have a huge choice of channels including Netflix. The village of Llandrillo is just a few mins drive away and has a cozy pub and a good restaurant. I would highly recommend this property for a Uk cottage holiday and look forward to returning again.



Couldn't fault it!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent!
From the moment we all arrived we felt at home.
All our rooms were on-suite and all very comfortable indeed, every detail was thought of.
The whole place is just so relaxing from the personal Jacuzzi in the garden, from which the views were spectacular to just enjoying the comfort of the cottage.
I would recommend this place to anyway who is after a relaxing break, or a base with amazing views and surrounding walks. Suitable for all ages.
We ventured away from the garden and Jacuzzi to enjoy some trips out to the zip wire (about 45 minutes away) and a 'lock in puzzle room' (about 1 hour away)- great things to do, but we also purchased a fishing license as the River Dee is amazing and runs across the bottom of the garden - how perfect is that!
We were a family party of eight and all reluctant to leave - we couldn't fault it - 10 out of 10
We took a dog and a baby and had the packages to go with it - it was just perfect for all of us.




As wonderful as ever!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time our family have stayed at rivercatcher, but the first in gamekeepers cottage. Gamekeepers is really comfortable, with the log burning stove, lovely bath and shower rooms and beds to die for. We had the best nights sleep ever, it's just so peaceful. Aled and Andy are always on hand to help with any queries, they make sure that everything is in top class order, and Aled takes great pride in making sure the hot tubs are immaculate. We enjoyed sitting in the tub despite the cold, wind and rain. The scenery is beautiful, and some of our party enjoyed a variety of walks. We really can't fault this place, we will definitely be back.



Excellent

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have spent a lovely Christmas in the Gamekeepers Lodge. Wonderful facilities and attention to detail have made our stay a joy. Beautifully decorated for Christmas, lovely comfy furniture, a well equipped kitchen and a delicious hamper greeted us on our arrival. The views out of all the windows of the Welsh hills were stunning especially when sat in the hot tub. Highly recommended to everyone and we hope to be back soon.




Family get -together

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcome pack ( Food etc ) was unexpected and much appreciated. The quality and state of the cottage was exceptional - probably the best holiday accommodation we have experienced , and Aled the handyman was most helpful.



Gamekeepers Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The ambience, the cottage and surrounding natural beauty is a very pleasant breath of fresh air literally. The cottage has all that you need and the facilities are so good, you really do not have to think about anything. The riverbank is meditative, as is the beautiful environment it is all set in. The lodge was used wholeheartedly, especially the table tennis! We will be returning to this lovely place. Thank you to everyone at Rivercatcher who made our stay so enjoyable.




Gamekeepers cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gamekeepers cottage is a lovely cottage. We loved the views from the hot tub and the easy access to the river for the fisherman in the family. There were lots of helpful tips about things to do in the area and we would recommend the treatments from MyPersonalSanctuary.

A couple of small improvement points:
- The kitchens could have been a little better equipped (for example - sharper knives, a mixer, a few more pots)
- The overall temperature was a little chilly in the cottage and we would have preferred to have control

We had a great time and would definitely come back.




Jen & Andy replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! Also thank you for your comments. We have made sure all knives have been sharpened and added a new large saucepan. Hope to see you again. Regards, Jen

An idyllic location and an excellent standard of accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a different type of Holiday as we wanted to bring together our family and have a relaxing break.

The location of Rivercatcher could not be better as the views of the hills across the river provide such a calming backdrop. The silence was very noticeable and helped add to the relaxing atmosphere.

The Gameskeeper's cottage was very well equipped with modern kitchen, bathrooms and TVs etc. Some of the other carefully thought out items were a real pleasure. For example, the beds were super comfortable and the decoration, paintings and finishing touches were excellent.

The Hot Tub was a great way to relax after touring and visiting the area for the day. Again the location for vising North Wales' many attractions and towns of character created a great week's stay.

I would recommend Rivercatcher for anyone who is looking for something that bit different and a cut above the ordinary.

We plan to go back!




Other than the weather everything was first class.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
on arrival everything was perfect, other than the weather we could not have had a better location, the whole experience was marvellous, thank you rivercatcher.




A perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Rivercatcher but the first in Gamekeeper's Lodge.
We arrived to find the house absolutely spotless with everything we needed.
We had a glorious stay from start to finish. We all enjoyed the hot tub, my brother fished, the dogs thought the big and safe garden was the stuff of dreams, my husband built warm, cosy fires when it rained, my sister-in-law had long baths looking out over fields of green, and I slept better than I have done for months.
We booked a dog-sitter for our stay through Rivercatcher, and lovely Sam arrived and took great care of our dogs whilst we went off to Bounce Below at the Slate Caverns. There are so many beautiful places to visit; Wales really is spectacular.
In summary, Rivercatcher is really highly recommended. A luxurious treat, perfect for real relaxation. We can't wait to go back.




Another Fabulous Holiday at Rivercatcher

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rivercatcher is the most fabulous place to stay. The cottages are idyllic,set in fantastically maintained grounds. Truely luxuriously appointed cottages, we have now stayed in both Flyfishers and Gamekeepers, incredibly well equipped with many beautiful 5 star finishing touches. The gardens are fabulous, great if you are taking your dog with you as they are fully fenced with bins provided. The kitchen extremely well equipped, great for self catering, every possible thing you could need to cook full meals, just like a home form home.
We would highly recommend both Pale hall and Tyddyn Llan for a lovely meal out, also the Corn Mill in Llangollen was great for a good pub lunch. The Thai from the village shop is delicious, probably the best Thai we've ever had. Also well worth ordering the BBQ packs from the local butchers - high quality and good value for money.
The hot tub is the icing on the cake, immaculately maintained by the wonderful Aled, who along with the lovely Rivercatcher team really ensure you have a great holiday. Nothing is too much trouble and great recommendations for places to visit/walks/biking/meals out etc.
A little piece of paradise, have already booked again for next year. Would most definitely recommend to all!




Beyond Luxury - a fantastic retreat!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage truly exceeded our expectations. The team had thought of every last detail, from games in the cupboard, extensively stocked kitchen to designer soaps and gels in the bathrooms. We had a FANTASTIC weekend. Couldn't recommend it enough!



Magical location.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is set in the most wonderful location on the river Dee. In the evening you can sit in the hot tub sipping champagne and star gazing, as there is no light pollution. Lovely cottage with nearly all your home comforts. Only two of the cottages were occupied when we visited so it was very peaceful. A magical retreat!



4 day stay May 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous relaxing week with a group of friends in a beautiful cottage. Lovely views and walks.
Absolutely everything we could have wished for in a the most luxurious of cottages.
Staff were all extremely helpful and the service was great. Thank you so much for such an enjoyable time




What a find these beautiful cottages...........

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect........ wonderful property in a wonderful location....... fabulous.............. can't wait for a return visit.



A lovely place

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for over the weekend with my family, the cottage is great everything looks brand new and spotlessly clean, we didn't ever want to go home! Enjoyed walks around the countryside, dinner at one of the local pubs (Dudley arms) cosy nights in next to the fire and even though the weather was cold and rainy had a sit in the hot tub every night, a totally relaxing and chilled out holiday, well worth a visit .



Making memories

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Honestly cannot describe how wonderful and magical the Rivercatcher is. My now husband and I stayed in the Gamekeepers cottage with our wedding guests and pooches. We got married at Pistyll Rhaeadr waterfall and our stay at the Gamekeepers cottage made it perfect! We absolutely love Wales and our stay in Llandrillo did not disappoint. We have booked the Ghillie's cottage for our 1 year wedding anniversary next February. Would highly recommend to anyone!



A lovely place to spend New Year with friends.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a beautiful situation, Gamekeepers cottage was comfortable and roomy and the hot tub under the stars was a real bonus!



Jen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you had a lovely New Years saty with us. Hope to see you again sometime in the future. Kind regards, Jen & Andy

Amazing Stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You could ask for a anymore in a holiday cottage. Lovely decoration, comfy beds, fire and hot tub! Great stay as always and we will be back next year!



A fantastic location with fantastic accomodation and a fantastic service. 10/10. Need we say more.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely high standard of accommodation regarding its cleanliness, contemporary furnishings that still feel homely, and a service that exceeded our expectations. All our needs were catered for at this accommodation for the whole family and we were very impressed with everything, even with the communication before the holiday had started. If you like somewhere that's very quiet and peaceful, and has an opportunity to do some fishing or explore the surrounding area including Snowdon, Port Merion and the Isle of Anglesey, then this place to stay is in a word, "perfect".



Relaxing short break.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only thing I didn't like about this cottage was leaving it. Stunning cottage with location to match. Cant wait to return.



Perfect family accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family group of 8, with 3 couples, my elderly mum and my sister. The accommodation suited us perfectly. Everything was of the highest quality, both in and around the cottages, & the surrounding area was spectacularly beautiful. We have booked to return for a short break early next year. We really appreciate being able to take our dog too - thank you for making us all do comfortable and welcome.